Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 4 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 4
  2. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Dec 13, 2012
    68
    The Dunwall City Trials are a bit like the Disneyland version of Dishonored. They've cut out some of the most compelling parts of the game, such as exploring the expansive levels and learning the secrets of Dunwall's citizens. There are no interesting moral choices to make and no lore-filled books to read, but there are some fun challenges that remain true to the spirit of the game.
  2. Dec 14, 2012
    70
    Perfectly capable, and perfectly enjoyable. But... well, it's not quite Dishonored.
  3. Feb 6, 2013
    80
    If you enjoyed Dishonored for its supernatural systems alone, Dunwall City Trials is worth its meagre price. [Feb 2013, p.79]
  4. Jan 30, 2013
    80
    What it does, however, is give you some nifty playgrounds in which to mess with Arkane's intriguing and sophisticated set of tools. This sort of thing is a skill player or a completionist's idea of a really good time. If you're like me, Dunwall City Trials will be a $5 investment that'll provide several hours of infuriating, but ultimately rewarding, entertainment.
User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 26 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 2 out of 5
  1. Jan 15, 2013
    8
    It is worth the low price! It is definitely not as good as the original game, but people should keep in mind that Dunwall City Trials is justIt is worth the low price! It is definitely not as good as the original game, but people should keep in mind that Dunwall City Trials is just a dlc that fills the gap between the main game, and the campaign dlc coming soon. The two stealth missions Mystery Foe and Burglary, and Bend Time Massacre are highlights of the dlc. There are 7 less interesting challenges in the game. I wish there would be more stealth based missions and less arcade elements. Full Review »
  2. May 17, 2013
    0
    It kills me to say this since I loved Dishonored, but Dunwall City Trials is easily the worst gaming experience I have ever had. Never in myIt kills me to say this since I loved Dishonored, but Dunwall City Trials is easily the worst gaming experience I have ever had. Never in my life has a game screwed me over, rewarded luck, and punished skill. Nothing about Dunwall City Trials is fair or fun. Arkane should be ashamed of themselves because this DLC is downright insulting to gamers. A complete and utter disgrace. In a total retard move, Arkane decided to make a DLC based purely around luck and chance rather than skill and cunning. Dishonored prided itself based around the stealth skill and the intelligent moves made by the player. In Dunwall City Trials, your play time is based solely around luck. Each challenge has a scoring system that rates (out of 3 stars) how well you did, and you have to get so many stars on each level to unlock harder versions of each and artwork. Herein lies the problem. For instance, there is a challenge where you have to run through the map getting to checkpoints as fast as you can. All of these checkpoints spawn randomly, so you'll get a different set of spawns each time you play. Unfortunately, the scoring system doesn't take this into account, so if you were to get a certain set of spawns, say ones on opposite sides of the map, it makes it 100% impossible to get a decent score, let alone 3 stars. The same thing goes for all but 2 of the challenges: Kill Cascade and Oil Drop. Every other challenge has a random element and if you have bad luck you'll find yourself having to restart over and over and over just so you have a CHANCE of completing the challenge. It's immensely infuriating and something that is absolutely no fun at all. If you're a completionist or achievement hunter, you'll be pulling your hair out for hours over this ridiculous DLC. I loved Dishonored (gave it a 10) but I absolutely loathe this DLC. Save your money and get Knife of Dunwall instead. Full Review »
  3. Jan 14, 2013
    2
    I gave Dishonored a 10... which is why this is such a dissapointment.

    There is no new campaign, no new.. anything really. They pretty much
    I gave Dishonored a 10... which is why this is such a dissapointment.

    There is no new campaign, no new.. anything really. They pretty much turned it into an arcade game, which to me devalues Dishonored in an almost disrespectful way. I was hooked to Dishonored from start to finish, but this add-on had me bored after 10 minutes.
    Full Review »