Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 89 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In The Brigmore Witches, continue your journey as the legendary assassin, Daud, and bring his twisted narrative that began with The Knife of Dunwall to a close. After discovering the identity and intentions of Delilah, the leader of the Brigmore Witch coven, you set out to disrupt her from completing a powerful ritual that will spell your doom. Having already been betrayed by your lieutenant, Billie Lurk, you must rely on feuding gang factions-the Dead Eels and the Hatters-to negotiate your way through previously unseen districts of Dunwall en route to Delilah's stronghold. Regardless of the way you reach your destination, one thing is for certain - you will finally answer for your treacherous actions and fall before the mercy, or punishment, of the Royal Bodyguard and Assassin, Corvo Attano. Additionally, your power, weapon and item upgrades, Chaos level, and player actions from The Knife of Dunwall will carry over via a compatible save file option. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Aug 16, 2013
    90
    All I really wanted was more Dishonored, but what I got was something that surpasses it. Intricate level design, nuanced worldbuilding, and gameplay that demands a thoughtful approach even when resulting in flashy, bloody violence -- The Brigmore Witches is setting the bar very high for future stealth romps.
  2. Aug 19, 2013
    90
    Brigmore Witches brings about a satisfying conclusion to the Dishonored narrative, and like Knife of Dunwall before it, not only augments the over-arching story, but stands on its own. If you can pick up a copy of the game at some point with all the DLC in tow, I’d highly recommend it for Daud’s two DLC tales alone.
  3. Aug 20, 2013
    90
    If you liked Dishonored, but always thought it could have done with a more interesting protagonist and a dash more mystery, you're not only right, but also in luck: The Brigmore Witches delivers just that!
  4. Sep 16, 2013
    83
    A fine finale, which more than makes up for the failings of the first DLC and tells a great side-story of its own.
  5. Oct 16, 2013
    80
    Expands Dishonored’s lore and provides three missions that are not overly extensive but provide enough content to keep you occupied for an hour each. [11/2013, p.79]
  6. Aug 23, 2013
    80
    It might lack the brisk sense of mystery that propelled the first half of Daud’s story, but it ends on a far more satisfying and conclusive note that both expands upon the possibilities of the universe and sheds new light onto the events of the main game.
  7. Aug 13, 2013
    65
    The Brigmore Witches ignores the tension and build-up that its predecessor established, both narratively and mechanically. Instead of continuing from where Knife left off tonally, Brigmore starts a few feet back and to the left, and it suffers until it manages to find design ideas to call its own.

See all 15 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Aug 18, 2013
    10
    This story is absolutely fantastic !
    Best of all Dishonored stories. It has a moral, it has emotions, it made me start original Dishonored
    game once again, just to be part of all that. I adore the choices game let you make. This and Deus Ex series are my favorites. Period. Expand
  2. Sep 14, 2013
    10
    The Brigmore Witches takes place after the Knife of Dunwall DLC. You still play Dowd. The new DLC's premise is that Dowd is trying to bring down the society of Brigmore witches, they don't show up in the entire game but are the main enemy. The campaign is split up into three different levels. The first level you visit the prison of the original game, the second is a new area we haven't seen before that is gangster overrun streets. And the third level is the Brigmore manor, the witches home. It is an overgrown garden filled with different plants. New elements have been introduced like new powers, sadly they didn't use all the powers from the original game. They would have been useful, it was sad they left them out. You still have RPG perks to unlock that give you different abilities. Levels look beautiful and are very open and there are a few new enemy types. Now to get to the important part. The confrontation between Dowd and Corvo has multiple enemies and the decisions you made as Dowd affected the ending not the decisions you made as Corvo. Because if it was the other way around then everything you did would have a purposeless ending. Overall, the DLC is $15 and it took me about 3 hours to complete. If you took more time to look around it would take longer. The DLC is great and I highly recommend it. Expand
  3. Aug 20, 2013
    10
    I rarely will ever give a 10 much less to a DLC. That 10 comes with a caveat if you have not played or did not enjoy The Knife of Dunwall, or you did not think highly of Dishonored period, please avoid this as it is much more of the same, which to me is fantastic. While the game play stays the same, the story is really well told. The dialogue is very well done and really well delivered. The sound is great, the graphics are top notch and the game play continues to be rewarding and addictive. With Knife I got around 5 to 6 hours of game play and Witches gave me an additional 8 hours for a total of 40 hours for the full game and DLC for a single play through. Considering I got the game on sale for $20 and spent $20 on the DLCs, a dollar an hour for extremely enjoyable entertainment is very worth it. Expand
  4. Sep 21, 2013
    9
    The Brigmore Witches is well made DLC to the phenomenal game. You continue to play as Daud with possibility to unlock a brand new power distinct to these from the previous DLC the Knife of Dunwall. The second level of the power is fun to use in combat and I invite you to try it even you are hard-core stealth player. You will find it really entertaining. The story of Duad itself is not a simple addition to the original game. Daud brings to it more personal touch as your hero is not silent anymore. The DLC takes places in three locations (note that I do not count Daud's hideout here). The first is a recyclations of the old one from the game but it offers a very unique experience. The second locations is the best designed and the most complex. There are two very different ways how to deal with the situation in the mill-factory which adds some depth to the mission. The last misson adds a new combat experience but unfortunately you feel that some of the potential of this location have not been used. In overall this is a decent conclusion of Daud story which will not dissapoint you. I personaly recomend you to download an ultimate difficulty mod as without it the game is way to easy even on the ultra hard setting. It makes you feel that the stealty approach is not just a choice you made but on contrary it is a must in order to success. Collapse
  5. Dec 27, 2013
    9
    [DishonoredDLC KnifeOfDunwall BrigmoreWitches Steam PC 9/10]

    Dishonored takes the top honor as the best game I ever played…. and the DLCs
    are the best DLCs I have ever played. This is the same review for both DLCs The Knife of Dunwall and The Brigmore Witches and they should be played back to back.

    At first I was Sad to play the first DLC I started with a new character The Assassin Daud. I was Sad that all the character building and equipment was lost…. but this quickly changed I was still very good because of all the skill I picked up through the first campaign and Daud begins to level up…. and I chose different skill tree sets and then I was happy very happy…. The storyline and goals are as fun and the maps as great. KnifeOfDunwallBrigmoreWitches is really all one game. And be forewarned choices you made in the primary campaign come back to surprise you. Salivate you Pavlov dog Add to Cart and Enjoy.

    [MyPC 2011] i7-2600K 3.4GHz ASUS Z68 ProGen3 8G RAM Radeon 6870 W7 PRO SP1 Samsung 275T @1920x1200 Logitech G15 Kensington ExpertMouse

    [MyFavorites] [ExcitedAbout] BrokenAge [NowPlaying] TombRaider [Win7] Dishonored KnifeOfDunwall BrigmoreWitches TheDreamMachine Ep1-4 30FlightsOfLoving Fez BioshockInfinite Antichamber Stacking Metro2033 Rochard Crysis&Warhead&2 JustCause2 Rage [XP] Papo&Yo DeuxExHR&TheMissingLink DeadSpace1&2 Fallout3&NewVegas HalfLife1&2 Bordelands1&2 BatmanArkumAsylum AssassinsCreed Magicka RedFaction Portal1&2 FromDust MrRobot Sam&MaxSeasons1&2 CulpaInnata TheSecretOfMonkeyIsland DreamfallTheLongestJourney Syberia1&2 CrayonPhysicsDeluxe DefenseGridTheAwakening PlantsVsZombies Prototype Bioshock1&2 UnrealTournament3 Quake4 [360] AfroSamurai BrutalLegends [XBOX] HALO KOTOR1&2 Crackdown ArmedAndDangerous AggressiveInline BeyondGoodAndEvil DeadOrAlive1&2&3&ExtremeBeachVolleyball Psychonauts [AppleG4] FullThrottle DeusExMachina ONI ReturnToZork Suspended UnrealTournament TombRaiderSeries [Born] 1964 [PS: I do not know anybody who works in the game industry I just enjoy games
    Expand
  6. Aug 13, 2013
    8
    Brigmore Witches is a fine DLC for Dishonored. It is basically the same as Knife of Dunwall, so if you enjoyed that, then you'll enjoy this too. You once again get 3 areas to explore, 1 of which is a return to a level from the first game Coldridge Prison. The Prison level (which is also the first level) is extremely short and I was quite disappointed with it. The second level puts you in the middle of a gang war and it is easily the longest level in the DLC. The final level, Brigmore Manor, is of moderate length and is the hardest level yet (including the main game and both DLCs). Brigmore Manor is probably my favorite of the levels because of how different it is from any previous level in Dishonored. Instead of prowling around in city streets, you're at a single manor and you can explore the grounds around the manor as well as inside it.

    There are a host of new enemies, weapons, and powers to use which helps to get you to try new things. You also get to continue from your save in KoD so you can continue with all the powers and upgrades you already earned, which is great. I was once again disappointed with the length of the DLC. I had hopes it would be longer, but my first playthough (on high chaos) took about 3.5 hours. My second playthrough on low chaos (including not killing anyone, and not alerting anyone) took only 2.5 hours. Also, i did run into a few minor bugs, but nothing game-breaking. Sometimes characters were supposed to be talking, but they didn't actually talk (luckily i had subtitles on so i could see what they were saying nonetheless). Also about 2 or 3 times when i was talking to a fellow assassin or the outsider they would appear off screen when they were intended to be in the middle of the screen, which was a bit strange.

    Ultimately, Brigmore Witches is just more of the Dishonored we know and love, with a few added bonuses. It will take you a good number of playthroughs to find everything, every passage, every secret, etc. And the playtime you get from all oft those playthroughs combined will easily make Brigmore Witches worth the purchase. But, if you're someone who is only interested in playing through once, then you may want to hold off until it's on sale.
    Expand
  7. Sep 10, 2013
    5
    A good finale to the series, I hope there is a Dishonored 2 in the works. Without giving anything away the ending is very well done, one of the best endings to a game I've played, however, the positives of my rating is purely from the ending itself, I found the gameplay of this DLC (someone who loves Dishonored and the other DLCs) to be lacking.
    I would describe the maps as dark and dingy with somewhat horror undertones throughout the game (not really a surprise given the title, witches); I miss the classy mansions, like the mascaraed party, I liked exploring those rather than exploring decrepit buildings, however, they are done well for what they are, just not environments I want to explore again. I finished the DLC a month ago and have not wanted to play it since.
    Con: Watch out for the strange bone charms, I think the "invisibility" one absolutely ruined the enjoyment, the AI would seem retarded because I'm wearing it (they can't see you when you don't move, making stealth kills laughably easy) it was like playing with a cheat code entered so I disabled it, I don't think it should even be available as it makes stealth achievements far too easy.
    If you liked Dishonored and already have the other DLC's you'll want to see the ending to complete the story; certainly not the best missions or maps in the series.
    Expand

See all 10 User Reviews