Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. Jun 10, 2013
    65
    Don’t expect to witness the events of the original game in a new light. Daud, the new player character, has a story of his own that is spread thin over three disappointingly short missions.
  2. May 31, 2013
    73
    A disappointingly uneven offering. [June 2013, p.96]
  3. May 6, 2013
    70
    Still, if you loved Dishonored as much as I did, The Knife of Dunwall is worth your time; just be prepared for more of the same and less of the extraordinary. Except for Daud. Daud’s cool.
  4. Apr 22, 2013
    70
    Who would say no to more background for Dishonored ? Especially if it's about taking control of a character as interesting as Daud, master assassin... There is not so much new stuff in The Knife of Dunwall, but more difficult levels that stealth fans will love.
User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 169 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. Apr 16, 2013
    8
    Knife of Dunwall is more or less the same as the base game of Dishonored; well put together, but can be short depending on your playstyle.Knife of Dunwall is more or less the same as the base game of Dishonored; well put together, but can be short depending on your playstyle. The only area that felt 'new' to me was the slaughterhouse, and the abilities/items added didn't really do a good job of differentiating Daud from Corvo. Still, a story about Dunwall is always welcome. Full Review »
  2. Apr 16, 2013
    9
    Very minor spoiler. The knife of Dunwall adds 3 big maps to the game.The first map is set in Rothchild Slaughterhouse, a huge factory where Very minor spoiler. The knife of Dunwall adds 3 big maps to the game.The first map is set in Rothchild Slaughterhouse, a huge factory where the not-so-good people of Dunwall process whale oil. I felt sorry for poor whales and fishes while I snaked my way through rooms filled with gutted sharks, meat hanging from hooks and blood everywhere. The whole map had a very inhumane and dark mood to it. You can also read books about the cruel methods of whaling here (Perfect anti whaling game). On this map you can fight with a new type of enemy that is hard to take down in combat. The second map is set on the wealthier city district, including a huge building which was fun to sneak through and rob. The third map is set on a map familiar from Dishonored: Daud's base. Every map is rather huge with many ways to approach every enemy and situation. Side quest, lethal or non-lethal mission are also present. There are some new weapons (electric mines, Choke Gas etc.) and some new powers and bone-charms. Overall I enjoyed the game, and will do a second play through. The story was good, but felt unfinished (I guess other campaign DLC's will explain and further develop some thing.) Overall Knife of Dunwall adds some memorable gaming hours to the original game, and further expand the lure of the world. Recommended. Full Review »
  3. Apr 27, 2013
    9
    Now I had no problem with Corvo, but Daud was a much more interesting character to play. The claim of new powers is basically false, they areNow I had no problem with Corvo, but Daud was a much more interesting character to play. The claim of new powers is basically false, they are simply slightly altered versions of Corvo's powers. However the change to Blink added alot of fun and made up for it, imo. At 10 bucks for this DLC it is JUST worth the price, a dollar more and I would have had to down-rate it. Unlike when I ended Corvo's story, I found myself wanting more of Daud when I ended the DLC. Full Review »