User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 168 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 11 out of 168

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 13, 2013
    7
    Worth every penny, and very well priced. It's not mind-blowing or immensely spectacular, but the high fun factor of the base game is still there, and some of the new powers and weapons add to that. And the writing is still very interesting and inviting. This expansion is very short, but it's easily replayable for those different chaos playthroughs. If you love or even just "kinda like"Worth every penny, and very well priced. It's not mind-blowing or immensely spectacular, but the high fun factor of the base game is still there, and some of the new powers and weapons add to that. And the writing is still very interesting and inviting. This expansion is very short, but it's easily replayable for those different chaos playthroughs. If you love or even just "kinda like" Dishonored, there's no good reason you won't like this DLC. I bet The Brigmore Witches will be even better. Expand
  2. Apr 17, 2013
    5
    For a DLC, this one doesn't really give a big difference with the original game

    it only gives you 3 levels, but only 2 different places and 2 of them gives you the same "Objective" it's huge, well.. kinda, but if you play it focus on "Main objective" and leave all runes and every side activities, may be it only takes you 1 hour to beat this DLC Storyline, i feel it's not really
    For a DLC, this one doesn't really give a big difference with the original game

    it only gives you 3 levels, but only 2 different places and 2 of them gives you the same "Objective" it's huge, well.. kinda, but if you play it focus on "Main objective" and leave all runes and every side activities, may be it only takes you 1 hour to beat this DLC

    Storyline, i feel it's not really interesting and predictable,so predictable.

    Corvo and daud is not really different, almost he same skills and abilities from 2 of them, so you'll play the same way as corvo with different personality. and btw, Daud's character is boring and voice acting sounds bad to me

    for $10 DLC, well i dont this this is pretty good one, may be if you're big fans of this game, you'll like to buy this. but i personally think this one doesn't really worth it
    Expand
  3. Apr 29, 2014
    7
    The Knife of Dunwall is a great expansion of this rather interesting universe that puts together an interesting, if a bit of a half baked story. Daud is also a great character who is voiced by the always excellent Mr Blonde (Michael Madsen).
  4. Jun 10, 2013
    6
    This DLC is very much "more of the same". I like the decision to tell a little side story and I enjoyed playing as Daud, but it's difficult to present an interesting narrative over three missions and the ending is very anticlimactic. The gameplay is fun and overall the DLC maintains the quality of Dishonored, but I feel there's not enough new content here. There's a couple new abilitiesThis DLC is very much "more of the same". I like the decision to tell a little side story and I enjoyed playing as Daud, but it's difficult to present an interesting narrative over three missions and the ending is very anticlimactic. The gameplay is fun and overall the DLC maintains the quality of Dishonored, but I feel there's not enough new content here. There's a couple new abilities and items that don't have any substantial impact on non-lethal players and the levels themselves are disappointingly familiar. Half of the first mission and most of the second one takes place on the streets and back alleys of Dunwall and there was already more than enough of that in the main game. What's worse, the third mission revisits a location from the main story (guess which one), so only the slaughterhouse actually fells new (it's very good though). It was a fun few hours but in the end it doesn't add much to the overall experience. Expand
  5. Sep 18, 2013
    5
    Got this in the summer steam sale. I think I would have given this a higher score if I hadn't just beaten Bioshock Infinite right beforehand. Comparatively, this one nowhere near as compelling, especially where the story is concerned. I didn't finish the game out of boredom and having gone to play something else.
  6. Apr 21, 2013
    7
    fun but still having many elements from dishonored just makes it seem unoriginal at times and not worth it, the story is also not as interesting as in the original game, giving the fact that you're playing with the empress killer just makes the history a huge waste of time when it could have been an amazing experience in conclusion the gameplay of The Knife of Dunwall dlc is still a funfun but still having many elements from dishonored just makes it seem unoriginal at times and not worth it, the story is also not as interesting as in the original game, giving the fact that you're playing with the empress killer just makes the history a huge waste of time when it could have been an amazing experience in conclusion the gameplay of The Knife of Dunwall dlc is still a fun experience but it just let you thinking that it could've been better than it was, much much better Expand
  7. Apr 16, 2013
    0
    Very minor spoiler. The knife of Dunwall adds 3 big maps to the game.The first map is set in Rothchild Slaughterhouse, a huge factory where the not-so-good people of Dunwall process whale oil. I felt sorry for poor whales and fishes while I snaked my way through rooms filled with gutted sharks, meat hanging from hooks and blood everywhere. The whole map had a very inhumane and dark mood Very minor spoiler. The knife of Dunwall adds 3 big maps to the game.The first map is set in Rothchild Slaughterhouse, a huge factory where the not-so-good people of Dunwall process whale oil. I felt sorry for poor whales and fishes while I snaked my way through rooms filled with gutted sharks, meat hanging from hooks and blood everywhere. The whole map had a very inhumane and dark mood to it. You can also read books about the cruel methods of whaling here (Perfect anti whaling game). On this map you can fight with a new type of enemy that is hard to take down in combat. The second map is set on the wealthier city district, including a huge building which was fun to sneak through and rob. The third map is set on a map familiar from Dishonored: Daud's base. Every map is rather huge with many ways to approach every enemy and situation. Side quest, lethal or non-lethal mission are also present. There are some new weapons (electric mines, Choke Gas etc.) and some new powers and bone-charms. Overall I enjoyed the game, and will do a second play through. The story was good, but felt unfinished (I guess other campaign DLC's will explain and further develop some thing.) Overall Knife of Dunwall adds some memorable gaming hours to the original game, and further expand the lure of the world. Recommended. Collapse
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. Jun 10, 2013
    65
    Don’t expect to witness the events of the original game in a new light. Daud, the new player character, has a story of his own that is spread thin over three disappointingly short missions.
  2. Jun 4, 2013
    80
    Some great level design and new abilities await those who take this welcome return to Dunwall, but we wish the visit lasted longer. [June 2013, p.90]
  3. May 31, 2013
    73
    A disappointingly uneven offering. [June 2013, p.96]