User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 162 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 10 out of 162

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 16, 2013
    8
    Knife of Dunwall is more or less the same as the base game of Dishonored; well put together, but can be short depending on your playstyle. The only area that felt 'new' to me was the slaughterhouse, and the abilities/items added didn't really do a good job of differentiating Daud from Corvo. Still, a story about Dunwall is always welcome.
  2. Apr 16, 2013
    9
    Very minor spoiler. The knife of Dunwall adds 3 big maps to the game.The first map is set in Rothchild Slaughterhouse, a huge factory where the not-so-good people of Dunwall process whale oil. I felt sorry for poor whales and fishes while I snaked my way through rooms filled with gutted sharks, meat hanging from hooks and blood everywhere. The whole map had a very inhumane and dark mood to it. You can also read books about the cruel methods of whaling here (Perfect anti whaling game). On this map you can fight with a new type of enemy that is hard to take down in combat. The second map is set on the wealthier city district, including a huge building which was fun to sneak through and rob. The third map is set on a map familiar from Dishonored: Daud's base. Every map is rather huge with many ways to approach every enemy and situation. Side quest, lethal or non-lethal mission are also present. There are some new weapons (electric mines, Choke Gas etc.) and some new powers and bone-charms. Overall I enjoyed the game, and will do a second play through. The story was good, but felt unfinished (I guess other campaign DLC's will explain and further develop some thing.) Overall Knife of Dunwall adds some memorable gaming hours to the original game, and further expand the lure of the world. Recommended. Expand
  3. Apr 27, 2013
    9
    Now I had no problem with Corvo, but Daud was a much more interesting character to play. The claim of new powers is basically false, they are simply slightly altered versions of Corvo's powers. However the change to Blink added alot of fun and made up for it, imo. At 10 bucks for this DLC it is JUST worth the price, a dollar more and I would have had to down-rate it. Unlike when I ended Corvo's story, I found myself wanting more of Daud when I ended the DLC. Expand
  4. Apr 17, 2013
    5
    For a DLC, this one doesn't really give a big difference with the original game

    it only gives you 3 levels, but only 2 different places and 2 of them gives you the same "Objective" it's huge, well.. kinda, but if you play it focus on "Main objective" and leave all runes and every side activities, may be it only takes you 1 hour to beat this DLC

    Storyline, i feel it's not really
    interesting and predictable,so predictable.

    Corvo and daud is not really different, almost he same skills and abilities from 2 of them, so you'll play the same way as corvo with different personality. and btw, Daud's character is boring and voice acting sounds bad to me

    for $10 DLC, well i dont this this is pretty good one, may be if you're big fans of this game, you'll like to buy this. but i personally think this one doesn't really worth it
    Expand
  5. Dec 27, 2013
    9
    [DishonoredDLC KnifeOfDunwall BrigmoreWitches Steam PC 9/10]

    Dishonored takes the top honor as the best game I ever played…. and the DLCs are the best DLCs I have ever played. This is the same review for both DLCs The Knife of Dunwall and The Brigmore Witches and they should be played back to back.

    At first I was Sad to play the first DLC I started with a new character The
    Assassin Daud. I was Sad that all the character building and equipment was lost…. but this quickly changed I was still very good because of all the skill I picked up through the first campaign and Daud begins to level up…. and I chose different skill tree sets and then I was happy very happy…. The storyline and goals are as fun and the maps as great. KnifeOfDunwallBrigmoreWitches is really all one game. And be forewarned choices you made in the primary campaign come back to surprise you. Salivate you Pavlov dog Add to Cart and Enjoy.

    [MyPC 2011] i7-2600K 3.4GHz ASUS Z68 ProGen3 8G RAM Radeon 6870 W7 PRO SP1 Samsung 275T @1920x1200 Logitech G15 Kensington ExpertMouse

    [MyFavorites] [ExcitedAbout] BrokenAge [NowPlaying] TombRaider [Win7] Dishonored KnifeOfDunwall BrigmoreWitches TheDreamMachine Ep1-4 30FlightsOfLoving Fez BioshockInfinite Antichamber Stacking Metro2033 Rochard Crysis&Warhead&2 JustCause2 Rage [XP] Papo&Yo DeuxExHR&TheMissingLink DeadSpace1&2 Fallout3&NewVegas HalfLife1&2 Bordelands1&2 BatmanArkumAsylum AssassinsCreed Magicka RedFaction Portal1&2 FromDust MrRobot Sam&MaxSeasons1&2 CulpaInnata TheSecretOfMonkeyIsland DreamfallTheLongestJourney Syberia1&2 CrayonPhysicsDeluxe DefenseGridTheAwakening PlantsVsZombies Prototype Bioshock1&2 UnrealTournament3 Quake4 [360] AfroSamurai BrutalLegends [XBOX] HALO KOTOR1&2 Crackdown ArmedAndDangerous AggressiveInline BeyondGoodAndEvil DeadOrAlive1&2&3&ExtremeBeachVolleyball Psychonauts [AppleG4] FullThrottle DeusExMachina ONI ReturnToZork Suspended UnrealTournament TombRaiderSeries [Born] 1964 [PS: I do not know anybody who works in the game industry I just enjoy games
    Expand
  6. May 11, 2013
    8
    A solid DLC, but a bit short. It will take you probably around 3 hours to complete. The first two levels are very fun and interesting, on par with levels from the original game. The final level is a completely recycled level from the base game and is extremely short. They justify it by making a couple very minor changes and packing it full of enemies to slow your progress. Basically you're paying for 2 new missions and a reskin of a previous mission. The story is interesting and there is a good amount of lore created to tell the story of Daud. It's short, but if you enjoyed the core game, you will enjoy this too. Expand
  7. Jun 13, 2013
    7
    Worth every penny, and very well priced. It's not mind-blowing or immensely spectacular, but the high fun factor of the base game is still there, and some of the new powers and weapons add to that. And the writing is still very interesting and inviting. This expansion is very short, but it's easily replayable for those different chaos playthroughs. If you love or even just "kinda like" Dishonored, there's no good reason you won't like this DLC. I bet The Brigmore Witches will be even better. Collapse
  8. Apr 29, 2014
    7
    The Knife of Dunwall is a great expansion of this rather interesting universe that puts together an interesting, if a bit of a half baked story. Daud is also a great character who is voiced by the always excellent Mr Blonde (Michael Madsen).
  9. May 25, 2013
    8
    A very good expansion, if you liked the original game you should enjoy this one too. But what I didn't like much was the Ending Nothing wrong with that fight but this simply is not what I would call a complete story it is premature ending.
  10. Apr 24, 2013
    10
    Definitely worth picking up if you enjoyed the original game. The new protagonist is awesome, specially his voice, and his story ties well with the rest of the game. More of the same awesome gameplay, engaging story, nice art design and everything. Really a nice addon, though a little short in length.
  11. Jul 8, 2013
    9
    This is more of the same but that is not a bad thing in my book! Added about 6 hours of game play to the Dishonored and advanced a story that I wanted to hear Daud is an interesting character. The DLC plays much the same as the main game but at least Daud talks.

    For $10, adding 6 hours to a 25 hour game is not bad, although I purchased the main game on sale for $25 on Steam when it
    was on sale.

    Truly a great stealth game and a good story.
    Expand
  12. Jun 10, 2013
    6
    This DLC is very much "more of the same". I like the decision to tell a little side story and I enjoyed playing as Daud, but it's difficult to present an interesting narrative over three missions and the ending is very anticlimactic. The gameplay is fun and overall the DLC maintains the quality of Dishonored, but I feel there's not enough new content here. There's a couple new abilities and items that don't have any substantial impact on non-lethal players and the levels themselves are disappointingly familiar. Half of the first mission and most of the second one takes place on the streets and back alleys of Dunwall and there was already more than enough of that in the main game. What's worse, the third mission revisits a location from the main story (guess which one), so only the slaughterhouse actually fells new (it's very good though). It was a fun few hours but in the end it doesn't add much to the overall experience. Expand
  13. Apr 20, 2013
    8
    Knife of Dunwall is the second DLC for one of the best games ever released last year, Dishonered. Knife of dunwall is pretty much plays on the basis of the original campaign itself. you take control of the the person who assassinate the queen at the beginning of the original campaign and you will go through 3 maps where two of them are totally new and the third is just recycled from the original campaign where you kill Daud with Curvo. the game may be a little big short depend on the style you will chose to play but as a matter of fact it is nice to repeat the first two maps and try out new features or other ways to approach the objectives. The new powers added are somehow interesting addons but they arent amazing or overwhelming in comparison to the original protagonist of the game. finally i guess its worth 10 dollar for it, specially that u own the first game and you are thirsty for some fresh campaign i hope there will be more interesting improvements in the next DLC which will be the last one. Expand
  14. Apr 20, 2013
    8
    If you've been wanting more Dishonroed, and you weren't really interested in the Dunwall City Trials Pack like i was, then Knife of Dunwall is for you. I wish I could say that this DLC is perfect, but it isn't. For as many things as it does right, it does quite a few wrong. The story, for one, is a bit lacking in narrative. The main character you'll be playing as, Daud, is a bit flat. He doesn't seem quite as fleshed out as I was hoping he would be. They start off the story with him being a bit remorseful over the killing of the Empress but they quickly drop that. I won't go any further than that, but suffice it to say the story is every bit as flat and uninteresting as the main story's was. However, the DLC does do qutie a number of things right. For one, it's more Dishonored. So you can expect more fantastic and awe-inspiring locales to visit. The first place, called "Rothschild Slaughterhouse", is probably the best in the pack of 3 places you'll visit. The second, the "Legal District", is pretty interesting if not a bit recycled. The third, which is "Daud's Hideout", is completely recycled. Im hoping the next pack, which will be entitled "Bridgmoore Witches", will have more locales like "Rothschild Slaughterhouse". The gameplay is pretty much the same with the exception of a couple more gadgets which are unfortunately essentially useless if you plan on playing this full stealth. Hopefully the next pack can give us stealth players a few more options other than the sleep dart and the choking option. Suffice it to say, though, that this pack is worth picking up for $10. It should give you about 10 hours or so if you plan on sucking it all in and playing on stealth. If you like to go full bore and shoot everything up, expect maybe 2 or 3 hours. Expand
  15. Sep 18, 2013
    5
    Got this in the summer steam sale. I think I would have given this a higher score if I hadn't just beaten Bioshock Infinite right beforehand. Comparatively, this one nowhere near as compelling, especially where the story is concerned. I didn't finish the game out of boredom and having gone to play something else.
  16. Apr 21, 2013
    7
    fun but still having many elements from dishonored just makes it seem unoriginal at times and not worth it, the story is also not as interesting as in the original game, giving the fact that you're playing with the empress killer just makes the history a huge waste of time when it could have been an amazing experience in conclusion the gameplay of The Knife of Dunwall dlc is still a fun experience but it just let you thinking that it could've been better than it was, much much better Expand
  17. Apr 20, 2013
    9
    The environment and IP will keep you hooked. The stealth and spell mechanics are well done. I had more fun not killing every enemy in sight than you might think.
  18. Apr 23, 2013
    9
    Loved it! More Dishonored! I've completed every achievements (so I did a violent high chaos run and then a perfect stealth run). It is definitely more challenging than the original game for a perfect stealth run. They have a lot more scenarios where you'll have to figure out a way to drop 3 or 4 men all standing next to each other. A very tricky thing to do. It was very satisfying to solve "the puzzle" of it. If you were a big fan of Dishonored, this is a no brainer. I'm taking off 1 point for the story. It is not as direct and easy to follow as the main game, but this DLC is all about the gameplay and it doesn't disappoint. Expand
  19. Apr 25, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is a love letter to fans of Dishonored who really liked Daud and was interested in who and what the Outsider is to others, The way the game starts *minor spoiler* with Jessamine Kaldwin's assassination from Daud's perspective really draws you in and just doesn't let you down! Expand
  20. Apr 27, 2013
    9
    the DLC is significantly harder than the normal game due to stronger and more enemies and the level design isn't as good as the normal game. it's still very good and the story does end on THAT kind of ending that just directly tells you ''YEEEAAAAAH we're going to make more DLC'' which does make it less rewarding but for 800 microsoft points it's great. it has about 4 hours of gametime, 2 new districts and 3 missions based on the events between the assassination of the empress and corvos escape from coldridge. the story follows daud from the point of the empress death untill the take over of his base by the overseers. all around, you get alot for your money and it's also really good. if you liked dishonored, you have to get the DLC. Expand
  21. Jul 7, 2013
    8
    Dishonored: The Knife of Dunwall, where you play as master assassin Daud, is a nice experience, instead of playing Corvo, who seeks revenge and to complete his noble quest, you instead play as Daud, who works for his own benefit. His weapon of choice is his assassins blade, wristbow, his equipment and a hint of dark magic. The Knife of Dunwall is quite a nice little campaign even though it's only 3 maps. Daud's own spells and weaponry are so much better than Corvos, which gives it more enjoyment. I definately recommend. Expand
  22. Apr 30, 2014
    10
    Well, I am a fan of Dishonored, and I decided to buy this DLC. And it's really awesome. This story about Daud is perfect. This DLC helps you to understand his actions. If you have some money and Dishonored, you should buy it.
  23. Jun 13, 2013
    0
    Worth every penny, and very well priced. It's not mind-blowing or immensely spectacular, but the high fun factor of the base game is still there, and some of the new powers and weapons add to that. And the writing is still very interesting and inviting. This expansion is very short, but it's easily replayable for those different chaos playthroughs. If you love or even just "kinda like" Dishonored, there's no good reason you won't like this DLC. I bet The Brigmore Witches will be even better. Collapse
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. Jun 10, 2013
    65
    Don’t expect to witness the events of the original game in a new light. Daud, the new player character, has a story of his own that is spread thin over three disappointingly short missions.
  2. Jun 4, 2013
    80
    Some great level design and new abilities await those who take this welcome return to Dunwall, but we wish the visit lasted longer. [June 2013, p.90]
  3. May 31, 2013
    73
    A disappointingly uneven offering. [June 2013, p.96]