User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 161 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 10 out of 161

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 16, 2013
    9
    Very minor spoiler. The knife of Dunwall adds 3 big maps to the game.The first map is set in Rothchild Slaughterhouse, a huge factory where the not-so-good people of Dunwall process whale oil. I felt sorry for poor whales and fishes while I snaked my way through rooms filled with gutted sharks, meat hanging from hooks and blood everywhere. The whole map had a very inhumane and dark mood to it. You can also read books about the cruel methods of whaling here (Perfect anti whaling game). On this map you can fight with a new type of enemy that is hard to take down in combat. The second map is set on the wealthier city district, including a huge building which was fun to sneak through and rob. The third map is set on a map familiar from Dishonored: Daud's base. Every map is rather huge with many ways to approach every enemy and situation. Side quest, lethal or non-lethal mission are also present. There are some new weapons (electric mines, Choke Gas etc.) and some new powers and bone-charms. Overall I enjoyed the game, and will do a second play through. The story was good, but felt unfinished (I guess other campaign DLC's will explain and further develop some thing.) Overall Knife of Dunwall adds some memorable gaming hours to the original game, and further expand the lure of the world. Recommended. Collapse
  2. Apr 27, 2013
    9
    Now I had no problem with Corvo, but Daud was a much more interesting character to play. The claim of new powers is basically false, they are simply slightly altered versions of Corvo's powers. However the change to Blink added alot of fun and made up for it, imo. At 10 bucks for this DLC it is JUST worth the price, a dollar more and I would have had to down-rate it. Unlike when I ended Corvo's story, I found myself wanting more of Daud when I ended the DLC. Expand
  3. Dec 27, 2013
    9
    [DishonoredDLC KnifeOfDunwall BrigmoreWitches Steam PC 9/10]

    Dishonored takes the top honor as the best game I ever played…. and the DLCs are the best DLCs I have ever played. This is the same review for both DLCs The Knife of Dunwall and The Brigmore Witches and they should be played back to back.

    At first I was Sad to play the first DLC I started with a new character The
    Assassin Daud. I was Sad that all the character building and equipment was lost…. but this quickly changed I was still very good because of all the skill I picked up through the first campaign and Daud begins to level up…. and I chose different skill tree sets and then I was happy very happy…. The storyline and goals are as fun and the maps as great. KnifeOfDunwallBrigmoreWitches is really all one game. And be forewarned choices you made in the primary campaign come back to surprise you. Salivate you Pavlov dog Add to Cart and Enjoy.

    [MyPC 2011] i7-2600K 3.4GHz ASUS Z68 ProGen3 8G RAM Radeon 6870 W7 PRO SP1 Samsung 275T @1920x1200 Logitech G15 Kensington ExpertMouse

    [MyFavorites] [ExcitedAbout] BrokenAge [NowPlaying] TombRaider [Win7] Dishonored KnifeOfDunwall BrigmoreWitches TheDreamMachine Ep1-4 30FlightsOfLoving Fez BioshockInfinite Antichamber Stacking Metro2033 Rochard Crysis&Warhead&2 JustCause2 Rage [XP] Papo&Yo DeuxExHR&TheMissingLink DeadSpace1&2 Fallout3&NewVegas HalfLife1&2 Bordelands1&2 BatmanArkumAsylum AssassinsCreed Magicka RedFaction Portal1&2 FromDust MrRobot Sam&MaxSeasons1&2 CulpaInnata TheSecretOfMonkeyIsland DreamfallTheLongestJourney Syberia1&2 CrayonPhysicsDeluxe DefenseGridTheAwakening PlantsVsZombies Prototype Bioshock1&2 UnrealTournament3 Quake4 [360] AfroSamurai BrutalLegends [XBOX] HALO KOTOR1&2 Crackdown ArmedAndDangerous AggressiveInline BeyondGoodAndEvil DeadOrAlive1&2&3&ExtremeBeachVolleyball Psychonauts [AppleG4] FullThrottle DeusExMachina ONI ReturnToZork Suspended UnrealTournament TombRaiderSeries [Born] 1964 [PS: I do not know anybody who works in the game industry I just enjoy games
    Expand
  4. Apr 24, 2013
    10
    Definitely worth picking up if you enjoyed the original game. The new protagonist is awesome, specially his voice, and his story ties well with the rest of the game. More of the same awesome gameplay, engaging story, nice art design and everything. Really a nice addon, though a little short in length.
  5. Jul 8, 2013
    9
    This is more of the same but that is not a bad thing in my book! Added about 6 hours of game play to the Dishonored and advanced a story that I wanted to hear Daud is an interesting character. The DLC plays much the same as the main game but at least Daud talks.

    For $10, adding 6 hours to a 25 hour game is not bad, although I purchased the main game on sale for $25 on Steam when it
    was on sale.

    Truly a great stealth game and a good story.
    Expand
  6. Apr 20, 2013
    9
    The environment and IP will keep you hooked. The stealth and spell mechanics are well done. I had more fun not killing every enemy in sight than you might think.
  7. Apr 23, 2013
    9
    Loved it! More Dishonored! I've completed every achievements (so I did a violent high chaos run and then a perfect stealth run). It is definitely more challenging than the original game for a perfect stealth run. They have a lot more scenarios where you'll have to figure out a way to drop 3 or 4 men all standing next to each other. A very tricky thing to do. It was very satisfying to solve "the puzzle" of it. If you were a big fan of Dishonored, this is a no brainer. I'm taking off 1 point for the story. It is not as direct and easy to follow as the main game, but this DLC is all about the gameplay and it doesn't disappoint. Expand
  8. Apr 27, 2013
    9
    the DLC is significantly harder than the normal game due to stronger and more enemies and the level design isn't as good as the normal game. it's still very good and the story does end on THAT kind of ending that just directly tells you ''YEEEAAAAAH we're going to make more DLC'' which does make it less rewarding but for 800 microsoft points it's great. it has about 4 hours of gametime, 2 new districts and 3 missions based on the events between the assassination of the empress and corvos escape from coldridge. the story follows daud from the point of the empress death untill the take over of his base by the overseers. all around, you get alot for your money and it's also really good. if you liked dishonored, you have to get the DLC. Expand
  9. Apr 30, 2014
    10
    Well, I am a fan of Dishonored, and I decided to buy this DLC. And it's really awesome. This story about Daud is perfect. This DLC helps you to understand his actions. If you have some money and Dishonored, you should buy it.
  10. Apr 16, 2013
    0
    Very minor spoiler. The knife of Dunwall adds 3 big maps to the game.The first map is set in Rothchild Slaughterhouse, a huge factory where the not-so-good people of Dunwall process whale oil. I felt sorry for poor whales and fishes while I snaked my way through rooms filled with gutted sharks, meat hanging from hooks and blood everywhere. The whole map had a very inhumane and dark mood to it. You can also read books about the cruel methods of whaling here (Perfect anti whaling game). On this map you can fight with a new type of enemy that is hard to take down in combat. The second map is set on the wealthier city district, including a huge building which was fun to sneak through and rob. The third map is set on a map familiar from Dishonored: Daud's base. Every map is rather huge with many ways to approach every enemy and situation. Side quest, lethal or non-lethal mission are also present. There are some new weapons (electric mines, Choke Gas etc.) and some new powers and bone-charms. Overall I enjoyed the game, and will do a second play through. The story was good, but felt unfinished (I guess other campaign DLC's will explain and further develop some thing.) Overall Knife of Dunwall adds some memorable gaming hours to the original game, and further expand the lure of the world. Recommended. Collapse
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. Jun 10, 2013
    65
    Don’t expect to witness the events of the original game in a new light. Daud, the new player character, has a story of his own that is spread thin over three disappointingly short missions.
  2. Jun 4, 2013
    80
    Some great level design and new abilities await those who take this welcome return to Dunwall, but we wish the visit lasted longer. [June 2013, p.90]
  3. May 31, 2013
    73
    A disappointingly uneven offering. [June 2013, p.96]