Dishonored: The Knife of Dunwall Image
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 185 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In The Knife of Dunwall you assume the role of Daud, the legendary assassin who killed the Empress, and access his weapons, gadgets, allies and supernatural abilities. After assassinating the Empress, and forever changing the fate of Dunwall, you embark on a search for redemption. TheIn The Knife of Dunwall you assume the role of Daud, the legendary assassin who killed the Empress, and access his weapons, gadgets, allies and supernatural abilities. After assassinating the Empress, and forever changing the fate of Dunwall, you embark on a search for redemption. The Outsider reveals the key to your atonement, but who-or what-is Delilah? Accompanied by the Whalers, your loyal band of mercenary assassins, your search will take you through never-before-seen districts of Dunwall as you face off against new and terrible foes. Employ a unique arsenal of new weapons and powers that enhance Dishonored's dynamic combat, mobility and stealth systems. In the struggle to hang onto the last shred of your humanity, the choices you make will ultimately determine your fate. Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. Apr 23, 2013
    93
    If you enjoyed Dishonored you know exactly what you are in for here.
  2. Pelit (Finland)
    May 13, 2013
    89
    The Knife of Dunwall is a very good DLC for a great game! [May 2013]
  3. Apr 18, 2013
    86
    This episode is the beginning for the Daud character, and offers an enjoyable alternative for Dishonored's storyline.
  4. Apr 16, 2013
    80
    Dishonored has a good DLC in The Knife of Dunwall. Daud's story begins, with average length, but some adjustments that make it fun to kill and hide. It's more accurate, and very dark and challenging.
  5. CD-Action
    May 13, 2013
    80
    Revisiting Dunwall was very rewarding and also motivated me to complete the original campaign of this great game for the second time. [CD-Action 06/2013, p.77]
  6. Apr 22, 2013
    80
    After finishing Dishonored I wanted more, and The Knife of Dunwall gives me exactly that. Hell, at moments I even completely forgot that I was no longer playing Corvo, as both he and Daud do play in generally the same way.
  7. Jun 10, 2013
    65
    Don’t expect to witness the events of the original game in a new light. Daud, the new player character, has a story of his own that is spread thin over three disappointingly short missions.

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. Apr 24, 2013
    10
    Definitely worth picking up if you enjoyed the original game. The new protagonist is awesome, specially his voice, and his story ties wellDefinitely worth picking up if you enjoyed the original game. The new protagonist is awesome, specially his voice, and his story ties well with the rest of the game. More of the same awesome gameplay, engaging story, nice art design and everything. Really a nice addon, though a little short in length. Expand
  2. Jul 8, 2013
    9
    This is more of the same but that is not a bad thing in my book! Added about 6 hours of game play to the Dishonored and advanced a storyThis is more of the same but that is not a bad thing in my book! Added about 6 hours of game play to the Dishonored and advanced a story that I wanted to hear Daud is an interesting character. The DLC plays much the same as the main game but at least Daud talks.

    For $10, adding 6 hours to a 25 hour game is not bad, although I purchased the main game on sale for $25 on Steam when it was on sale.

    Truly a great stealth game and a good story.
    Expand
  3. Apr 16, 2013
    9
    Very minor spoiler. The knife of Dunwall adds 3 big maps to the game.The first map is set in Rothchild Slaughterhouse, a huge factory where Very minor spoiler. The knife of Dunwall adds 3 big maps to the game.The first map is set in Rothchild Slaughterhouse, a huge factory where the not-so-good people of Dunwall process whale oil. I felt sorry for poor whales and fishes while I snaked my way through rooms filled with gutted sharks, meat hanging from hooks and blood everywhere. The whole map had a very inhumane and dark mood to it. You can also read books about the cruel methods of whaling here (Perfect anti whaling game). On this map you can fight with a new type of enemy that is hard to take down in combat. The second map is set on the wealthier city district, including a huge building which was fun to sneak through and rob. The third map is set on a map familiar from Dishonored: Daud's base. Every map is rather huge with many ways to approach every enemy and situation. Side quest, lethal or non-lethal mission are also present. There are some new weapons (electric mines, Choke Gas etc.) and some new powers and bone-charms. Overall I enjoyed the game, and will do a second play through. The story was good, but felt unfinished (I guess other campaign DLC's will explain and further develop some thing.) Overall Knife of Dunwall adds some memorable gaming hours to the original game, and further expand the lure of the world. Recommended. Expand
  4. Apr 20, 2013
    8
    Knife of Dunwall is the second DLC for one of the best games ever released last year, Dishonered. Knife of dunwall is pretty much plays on theKnife of Dunwall is the second DLC for one of the best games ever released last year, Dishonered. Knife of dunwall is pretty much plays on the basis of the original campaign itself. you take control of the the person who assassinate the queen at the beginning of the original campaign and you will go through 3 maps where two of them are totally new and the third is just recycled from the original campaign where you kill Daud with Curvo. the game may be a little big short depend on the style you will chose to play but as a matter of fact it is nice to repeat the first two maps and try out new features or other ways to approach the objectives. The new powers added are somehow interesting addons but they arent amazing or overwhelming in comparison to the original protagonist of the game. finally i guess its worth 10 dollar for it, specially that u own the first game and you are thirsty for some fresh campaign i hope there will be more interesting improvements in the next DLC which will be the last one. Expand
  5. Jul 7, 2013
    8
    Dishonored: The Knife of Dunwall, where you play as master assassin Daud, is a nice experience, instead of playing Corvo, who seeks revengeDishonored: The Knife of Dunwall, where you play as master assassin Daud, is a nice experience, instead of playing Corvo, who seeks revenge and to complete his noble quest, you instead play as Daud, who works for his own benefit. His weapon of choice is his assassins blade, wristbow, his equipment and a hint of dark magic. The Knife of Dunwall is quite a nice little campaign even though it's only 3 maps. Daud's own spells and weaponry are so much better than Corvos, which gives it more enjoyment. I definately recommend. Expand
  6. Jun 13, 2013
    7
    Worth every penny, and very well priced. It's not mind-blowing or immensely spectacular, but the high fun factor of the base game is stillWorth every penny, and very well priced. It's not mind-blowing or immensely spectacular, but the high fun factor of the base game is still there, and some of the new powers and weapons add to that. And the writing is still very interesting and inviting. This expansion is very short, but it's easily replayable for those different chaos playthroughs. If you love or even just "kinda like" Dishonored, there's no good reason you won't like this DLC. I bet The Brigmore Witches will be even better. Expand
  7. Sep 18, 2013
    5
    Got this in the summer steam sale. I think I would have given this a higher score if I hadn't just beaten Bioshock Infinite right beforehand.Got this in the summer steam sale. I think I would have given this a higher score if I hadn't just beaten Bioshock Infinite right beforehand. Comparatively, this one nowhere near as compelling, especially where the story is concerned. I didn't finish the game out of boredom and having gone to play something else. Expand

See all 24 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings