User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2473 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 13, 2012
    7
    Look, its a good game.. but its not the best example out there, Deus Ex Human revolution was better executed, longer and had a far more involved story. Its an original world, but not a particularly clever one. Its good, but its not great, and its not worth £30. If you fancy it wait till the Christmas sales.
  2. Nov 11, 2012
    6
    Not worth $60. I would like to take a puff off what some of these reviewers are smoking (or getting paid by developers to smoke). The game is decent as far a most games go, but where can I get some of that sweet video game payola?
  3. Nov 10, 2012
    5
    Gameplay is pretty fun but nothing special. The port however, is poorly optimized and the bloated menus and UI testify to the game's origin. The environments are beautiful and artform is very nice but this is all shot down by the awful graphics. It's 2012 but I guess making games for six year old hardware is all the rage nowadays.
  4. Jan 2, 2013
    10
    Probably one of the best games in a long while. Beautifully crafted in all areas. Visually stunning, fantastic audio, great level design and excellent gameplay mechanics. This game is what gaming should be all about: a good story, well told and the player able to influence the world based on actions. The game truely gives the player the choice on how to get through. It's not just about stealth or combat, but just as much about reading the environment, planning the best path through it and dealing with various scenarios. Patience often pays off, but is not necessary. You can play this game like hitman, or you can play it like call of duty - it's up to you. Must have game. Expand
  5. Oct 14, 2012
    9
    It's a good game, while it lasts. The game is pretty short (took about 10 hours to finish). The length wouldn't be as much of a problem if you could restart with all of your powers, upgrades, etc. Maybe they will add that feature eventually. Going through the game without killing is insanely hard especially when you get to the later levels, with the only way to knock someone out is to choke (Not do-able in combat) use sleep dart( which is almost ineffective in combat). There needs to be more ways to knock people out, and make people be able do it in combat. Combat is great, so are graphics. Expand
  6. Oct 14, 2012
    9
    A great game. I counted Deus Ex: Human Revolution as my favourite game of last year, and this is a better game in many ways. The story could have been better and less generic, because the setting is utterly amazing and I feel that they kinda dropped the ball on that but it serves its purpose well enough. The gameplay is great, it does stealth better than any first person game in years and I don't think the game is as linear as people purport it to be.

    So what stops the game from being a 10/10 for me? The story, which wasn't all that interesting, it gave me this Assassin's Creed 1 vibe in its simplicity. And then the length of the game. To make this game long you have to play it with the mindset of making it so yourself. The game doesn't present itself well in this regard, many players will undoubtedly rush through the game chasing objectives and then stand there with 6-10 hours played wondering where their money went. Me? My first playthrough clocked in at 22 hours. I'm working on my second "chaos" playthrough now which without doubt will go quicker but I still feel the game is worth the money.

    9/10, because what the game actually has you do is utterly delicious, though it falls short in the length and main story despite that it is set in a unique, dystopian victorianesque steampunk setting with lovecraftian tendencies which I find highly interesting and want more of.
    Expand
  7. Nov 1, 2012
    6
    This game had a rather poor storyline. Quite uninteresting. The gameplay does redeem the game over time, but it also has some flaws unfortunatly. It's pretty much a blend of thief 1-2 with a more action type of roleplay like bioshock. They try to convince you that your actions have consequences but the different paths you can take a truly dim, you won't find Deus Ex 1 or Baldur's gate type of choices in this one. Expand
  8. Jan 29, 2013
    10
    Its like playing Thief in Half Life 2's city, but better! the game adapts to your playing style. also looks a whole lot better than those 2 games one of the best games of 2012, well worth getting
  9. Oct 27, 2012
    8
    The entire game brings much more than just impressive atmosphere and graphics. The game style is really good, the interface is superb, nice although really easy maps.

    I would definitively recommend this game to anyone if it wasnt so damn short. Its just a few hours of gameplay. I would expect at least twice the number of missions.
  10. Nov 14, 2012
    8
    It's a shame really, Dishonored is not bad. And merely not bad. The stealth "system" is sadly not a patch on the ancient Thief games and the selection of weapons is quite good but not really anything new. The steampunk setting and artistic style is interesting but plotwise there were no surprises. I am intrigued to play it a second time to find all the secrets but sadly this game didn't live up to the hype. Close but no cigar. Had they made light make more of a difference in stealth I might have really enjoyed this. Expand
  11. Oct 11, 2012
    9
    This game has a lot going for it, but isn't perfect. The game gives the player a lot of freedom in how to deal with a mission. The game's story is somewhat linear, however you do get to make some big choices. The game's strength is in how many branching paths are able to be taken in a mission to get to that somewhat-linear story (an obvious example being the path of stealth versus the combative approach; but even within those two broad approaches there are so many different ways to reach the objective), which separates it from a lot of the competition. The Steampunk setting suits the theme of the game. With that said, the game isn't a graphical marvel, but the way the art-style is done makes up for that: in other words, the game doesn't have the graphical fidelity of Battlefield 3 or the Witcher 2, but the Steampunk, gloomy and 'pasty' (don't know how else to describe it!) style more than makes up for it. When you interact with NPC's in dialogue they are always doing something rather than standing still and it is very refreshing to see. For example, quite a lot of characters enjoy having a drink while talking, it's a minor thing but it imports personality into a virtual world. The weapons feel visceral, especially the pistol. Combat is pretty fun, but I always feel more satisfied taking the non-lethal stealth approach (personal preference), and it's incredibly rewarding to do so. Stealth is done very well in Dishonoured: the enemy AI isn't completely retarded, shadows allow you to stay hidden, hiding bodies is just as important as taking down your mark, etc. However the AI has a particular problem with looking up in many situations (I don't think I've ever seen a patrolling guard look up - it would add a significant layer of challenge if they did). The gadgets available are very cool and allow for an array of combinations to do away with enemies, though the possibilities aren't as expansive as to be infinite (however, we'll have to see what the community does -- there's obviously more creative people than myself that will be able to figure out some very interesting combo's) they are definitely there. Additionally, the game allows you to use hazards for your own device (e.g. reprogramming an electrical field to target enemies rather than intruders like yourself). The PC port itself is great: you have a host of options available to you including FOV (it's capped at 85, BUT you can edit the .ini files and increase it further), disabling mouse smoothing (thank GOD, I hated how Skyrim forced it on without a .ini edit), AA (choice of two), re-bindable keys, etc. The menu and hotkey system work well on PC and I'm very happy we get to use the number keys to change through weapons/gadgets instead of having to cycle through them individually, using a radial menu to equip them, or use an inventory screen to equip them. Overall a great game. One caveat however and it relates to the length of the game: If you are a person that DOES NOT like exploration AND would rather blast through the game as quickly as possible then this probably isn't worth your money (get it on sale?). If you rush you're probably only going to get like 5 hours out of it (maybe less?). I took the stealth approach, explored a ton and kept reloading saves to see if I could approach a mission differently, and in the end I clocked up about 14 hours. I'm replaying the game as we speak with a lethal approach to see how the story changes now so there's definite replayability, but my warning still stands: if you are the type of person that doesn't care about testing different approaches to missions, or exploration, or trying both lethal and non-lethal styles then I would avoid this game at full price.I for one wholeheartedly recommend this game. Expand
  12. Nov 13, 2012
    9
    For me this is one of the best games of the year! Its open sandbax areas make it a breathe of fresh air after all the gorridor based, hand holding games of late. Choices, decisions and actions all pull together to give a unique experience, offering various play styles the ability to influence the outcome. There are a few minor niggles i experienced with AI and especially the 'blink' ability but they were few and far between and didn't tarnish my enjoyable experience. Thoroughly worth spending a few of your hard earned pennies on Expand
  13. Nov 15, 2012
    9
    At the time of writing I have 106 games on Steam AFTER being a console gamer since the birth of them - please believe me when I say that this is (for me) simply the best game released up to this point on this planet.
    Graphics are lovely, controls are solid and fluid, story is epic, world is beautiful...I could go on and on.
    To give maybe purchasers my opinion on what you are getting
    would be to most closely associate with Bioshock. It has that kind of feel about it but with a bit of Thief and Splinter Cell thrown in for good measure.
    There are so many worse things you could do with you hard earned money - but not a lot better - trust me. A solid 9.5 pushing a 10 (always room for a pinch more). This is up with the Skyrims of this world as a masterpiece
    Expand
  14. May 9, 2013
    10
    The best game I've played in almost 8 years. The art style is wonderful, the story is gripping, and the controls are very fluid. It's also an amazing PC game, the options menu is plentiful and the controls are spot on, i experienced about 2 or 3 bugs, none of which were game breaking and never had a problem with the controls. There is so much depth and lore poured into this game, it's hard not to get pulled in. I loved it. Expand
  15. Dec 27, 2012
    10
    The best game I played all year. I got the game a little late, but I don't regret it since it gave me the time to enjoy the game instead of rushing through it. The lore is fantastic, and the amount of side hints make the game a joy to explore fully. The options the game presents are fantastic. Stealth is not limited to one route or to one way of completing the objective. Some of the later levels are very engaging and interesting. One of them in particular was really fun. Playing full stealth I completed the level by bypassing 3 quarters of the entire map, and it was awesome. The story is a bit thin, and there are occasional hiccups but neither detract from an amazing game. Can't wait for the sequel. Expand
  16. Oct 12, 2012
    9
    I expected less of this game, but I was surprised in the beginning, this game is very similar to the "Commandos" where you can choose kill all the enemies without making a noise using the knife or kill all the weapon and make a tremendous noise, very good its engine, congratulations Bethesda
  17. Oct 19, 2012
    8
    I enjoyed the game. Gameplay is a combination of Might and Magic: Dark Messiah and Bioshock, with a Bioshock and Half-Life 2 environmental aesthetic. A couple of the characters were a little weak due to bad voice acting and/or just falling flat. A lot of them were well done and rounded out, though, interesting to talk and listen to. Also, The Heart.. that was an excellent and immersive mechanic to add, spent quite a bit of the game just listening to it. More then willing to play it a couple more times for the different endings. It isn't an industry changer, it probably won't stand the test of time, but it was more than worth the money, and I would love to visit the world again in the future. Expand
  18. Oct 21, 2012
    8
    It has been quite some time since a game really caught my attention. The number of options available to meet an objective is amazing but unfortunately I felt that the game was too short. Overall its well worth the time and money.
  19. Oct 17, 2012
    9
    This game has so many moving parts, I am amazed it came together as well as it did. Arkane's pedigree didn't exactly leave me high in expectation. They delivered with some beautiful, understated art, characters and setting I remember after putting the mouse down hours later, and greatest off all, a set of abilities and options that are all handled with a fine degree of precision. In the span of 4 seconds, I can teleport to the top of a fire escape, leap down and silently snuff the life out of one poor soul, then subdue his partner, while maybe alerting three other soldiers. You can then decide to stop time, assassinating all three with your blade/pistol/crossbow, create a gust of wind to knock them all back, or simply cook a grenade to explode in their faces. The moment to moment action is an interlocking chain of checks and balances. My only possible gripe with the encounters is that later on (After 'the twist') the player is forced by sheer design of some of the foes into a more deliberate and brutal (and less creative) form of interactive expression. On the whole, a fantastic new IP, one I hope to see more of. Expand
  20. Jan 28, 2013
    6
    Dishonored in a unique stealth game that has very good parts to it but I never got sucked into the game. The use of your various powers makes the game unique to each player as there are many different ways to complete a mission. I have to admit that I did not a much attention to the storyline as I wanted to get to the action as quick as possible. The graphics are great but I did have an issue with some of the face designs, some of the people in the game look flat out terrible and creepy. If you were a fan of the thief games then I would give this one a shot. If you are looking for a more action based game then look elsewhere, this is a stealth based game and getting into combat is not the focus. Expand
  21. Oct 13, 2012
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Just finished it, and I got to say this game just blew all my expectations away. Great art style, genius map layout and an overall good feel that fits right inn. The whole stealth system is very well made and there is a huge amount of possibilities on how you go forwards, one fine example is the last mission where you have to get up the light tower, Samuel says that there is only one way inn and that it is extremely well guarded. But just by looking around you can see many possible ways to get inn, and no they are not just there for making the level more appealing and they are not blocked by invincible walls or anything.. So yes you guessed it, you CAN actually go on them and use them to your advantage, and this goes for all the levels without the first mission as you don't have gotten the "Blink" spell yet. But... as always there is one thing that breaks the game a little bit.. And that is the story, it is just to short... 9 missions is just to little for a game of this magnitude. I felt that there could have been much more, the story was a little to thin for me, I completed the game in about 12 hours on Normal difficulty, by stealthily going trough every inch of the maps before finishing the missions. So I give it a solid 8/10, for brilliant art style, great map designs, godlike ideas and gameplay. Expand
  22. Oct 24, 2012
    9
    I was so excited for this game when it was announced, I couldn't wait. And I was not disappointed with the game. At first I thought it was a little too short, but then realized I wasn't at the end yet. There are so many different ways into your target areas, multiple ways to accomplish a mission, and numerous ways to combine your powers into great combos. The scenery is beautiful, although a little washed out looking. But when they tell you you will not be seen while leaning, it's a lie. Because I did so many times. Of course it has its kinks and its bugs, but what game doesn't? Whether Bethesda decides to make a sequel to this or leave it as a stand-alone game, I will be happy either way. I can't wait for the DLC! Expand
  23. Oct 13, 2012
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Dishonored is a game that requires you to make your own fun almost. If you approach this game meaning just to finish it,don't buy it. You need to spend your time in each level, finding all the nooks and crannies, uncovering some of the lore reading those books that are scattered around the levels, it simply adds so much more to the experience. And that's what this game is, an experience. The stealth is a bit simple, the same can be said for the combat but together with the beautiful world that has been created, it is much more than the sum of its parts. I distinctly remember when in the second mission I was dealing with the High Overseer and I had knocked him out and the uncle of a girl that she had asked me to save. I was doing great when I went around the corner to find an overseer with this back turned. So I knock him out and then return to my plotting to get this uncle guy to a safe location and the High Overseer to the interrogation room. Then I ran in to another overseer, and another and another until I had basically knocked out every overseer on the floor that I was in. So I rushed away when I saw that I had missed a rune, already seeing the way that I could do it better next time. I can definitely see myself re-playing this game as a ruthless, kill everybody, kind of character, which is different from the, I will not kill my targets but if s**t goes down I will kill the guards type of character that I have been playing. I would also suggest at least playing on hard if you are going stealthy, as well as turning most of the user interface off. Finding bone charms and runes by remembering the direction the heart was beating and the how frequent it was, with a faint red glow indicating the object, is much more enjoyable than seeing a sign telling you what it was, where it was, even though you weren't putting your heart near the direction, and the amount of meters you need to travel to reach it, is way over simplified. So basically, in summary, if you are one to squeeze out every morsel of a game, then this is definitely a game for you, and will provide plenty of motivation to do so. If you simply were interested in this game because the some of the kill cams look cool then you will be disappointed and I recommend that you stay away from this game. So what if you are in the middle of the spectrum? Well, I was there too and I found that if play this game with an open mind, you will enjoy the game. I can also honestly say this is one of the only games that have actually motivated me to spend 2 hours on a level finding that last obscure rune or bone charm, the only rune that I missed was on the second mission and I am still kicking myself for letting it go. Expand
  24. Mar 16, 2013
    7
    Not a bad game, not bad game mechanics, and not a bad story. The problem with the game is everything is decent and predictable. Although the ending is quite enjoyable and I loved the characters.
  25. Jul 11, 2013
    5
    so i played the game in the "hard mode" (forgot what its called) and went chaos path and was soso. Very tidios and repetitive and it seems you spend 75 percent of the game in dark vision (which was super tidios switching back and forth. Would've enjoyed the game so much more if it that was done differently. I ended up beating it but it seemed every level after a certain point felt like just another stupid twist and kept dragging on through the end.... my thoughts. Expand
  26. Nov 3, 2012
    9
    Varying situations, non-linear levels with more than two options, loads of ways to eliminate your targets - all of this basically makes Dishonored an exemplary stealth-action game. When I saw the trailers, I expected it to be some kind of a first-person Assassin's Creed, but I was wrong - the game itself is closer to the Hitman series - it's not open-world, but each level is a sandbox where you are free to do whatever you wish. The tools of the trade are pretty damn impressive - you'll have a lot of fun combining the teleportation, time stopping and possession. Dishonored's only flaws are its shortness and the main plot. First one is neglected by the game's replay value - you'll definitely want to use all the gadgets and adopt the aggressive playstyle after you beat the game in a semi-nonlethal way. The quite lame plot is a bigger problem - the twists (the only one, actually) is predictable, and the whole story is too cliche and serves merely as a connection between the missions themselves. Which is a shame, because Dishonored is set in a very well-detailed world with its own mythology. Arkane Studios 's Dishonored is probably the only original (not a sequel, not licenced, not a reboot) AAA title this year, it delivers a refreshing experience, doesn't put the player in any limits and is overall a great game. Don't miss this out. Expand
  27. Oct 15, 2012
    9
    Поздравляю всех любителей stealth с выходом достойного проекта, что бывает довольно редко в нашем жанре. Любители гранат(тм) могут смело проходить мимо. Expand
  28. Oct 21, 2012
    9
    Before I start, let me just say Dishonored may very well be my vote for Game of the Year. First of all, the game is quite simply beautiful, even though texture resolution may be a bit low in places. The art style is just that good. Furthermore, the levels are all beautifully fleshed out and almost flawlessly convey the game's rather horrifying mood. The levels are also wonderful from a gameplay perspective: there are multiple ways to accomplish all objectives, and almost all of them feel natural and balanced. The game world will also react in many ways to your actions; this can range from changes in each character's story arc to simple changes in notes and wanted posters. I'd like a little more of the former and less of the latter, but that's something a lot of games struggle with and Dishonored does it better than most. A couple of the levels also drag on a bit, and as a whole you can blow through the game in a handful of hours if you want to. But if you do, you're really doing yourself a disservice. And like most stealth games, the AI can seem blind, stupid, and melodramatic at times, even on the maximum difficulty. But all in all, I really wish there were more games that were trying to do what Dishonored tries. It's not quite perfect in many respects, but the developers deserve huge success for making such a beautiful and multi-faceted game, and getting the majority of it right. Expand
  29. Avi
    Dec 8, 2012
    9
    Definitely worth playing. The level design is excellent, with a multitude of different ways to accomplish goals and reach certain areas. Developing a certain skill will open up different options for getting a task done. The magic skills that you can acquire are pretty interesting too - teleportation, possessing animals and people, slowing/stopping time, etc.

    The atmosphere of the
    world is probably the best part of this game - it has a gritty, steam-punk feel with Victorian era style technology and magic. The graphics are done in a manner that makes it look sort of like an oil painting - a very nice effect. My one major complaint is the that the stealth mechanics could have been done better. Hiding in shadows doesn't always keep you from being seen, even if you're also obscured by a thick bush or something. But it's not a deal-breaker, and so I only knocked one point off my score because of it. Expand
  30. Nov 3, 2012
    8
    an overpriced game considering its relatively low replay value and length. however, many players will find solace in the multiple endings and loose plan of action in completing the mission. the real challenge in Dishonored comes in keeping your low profile throughout and getting the only satisfying ending (finishing with high chaos ultimately leaves you with a sour taste in your mouth). there's also something to be said about the methods of killing within the power wheel, something that's both refreshing and creative. the story is pretty good on its own and at times unexpected. the side quests don't even feel like side quests due to their unique nature and characters, which is a big plus. one thing that bugged me occasionally was how some characters' heads seemed too small, but this is a very minor complaint and has no real impact on the game's image. overall, a great ride, an excellent boredom beater, and highly recommended Expand
  31. Nov 19, 2012
    9
    Once again, I am appaled by the seemingly rediculous amount of negative reviews the PC version got compared to the console versions. It is set in stone that the PC crowd in general seems to be a whiny bunch of elitist piss pants, that would go and vote 10 for an obscure indie game and give a mainstream game a zero, just because it's mainstream. This is a truly great game, with one of it's only faults being it's short length.How could people say it's unoriginal? What other FPS/Steampunk/Assassination games have you guys played? The combat is very fluid and challenging if you get a couple enemies at once (I played on Hard). The enemies don't take turns attacking (Assassin's Creed) and block and counter your attacks well. Each mission can be approached in a variety of ways, you can choose the non-lethal route, the stealth assassin route, or the kill everything that moves route. Obviously, you can have a mix of all three. The powers, for the most part, are fun to use and have more utility than first meets the eye. For instance, you can freeze time just as a guard shoots, then mind control the guard, move him in front of the bullet path and then press play. PC gamers are such a whiny dissatisfied bunch that it makes me ashamed to say I love gaming on the PC the most. No wonder developer's don't focus on the PC anymore, they have spoiled **** to deal with. Expand
  32. Nov 3, 2012
    9
    Absolutely amazing game overall. AI patterns can be kind of annoying, the graphics probably aren't as good as they should be, but those are the only faults I can come up with. I love how this game plays out, and It should be a definite buy for you
  33. Nov 4, 2012
    8
    The main plus and the best thing in this game is the atmosphere/setting, this is what keeps you thrilled during your journey to Dunwall. Great visual style and locations/characters/machines design. As for the gameplay: I preferred do make it through in a stealthy way (because I wanted to have a nice ending!!), so I crawled at first but when I was bored I used the tranquilizer bolts to neutralize the enemies or just used the "cheating" teleport to run away. At the beginning of the game it was all a bit chaotic. but later I got used to it and even got some fun. About the "Chaos system", which affects the ending - I don't like it, because it causes you not to use creative killings, bombs, mines, grenades, guns, rats, electricity...you name it! to get rid of the enemies because you just should not kill them if you want a good ending, and thats why you lose a lot of fun. In total the game is nice, and I'll repeat myself, mostly because of the Atmosphere. Expand
  34. Apr 5, 2013
    3
    Huge disapointment for me. i didnt like the story, the gameplay is pretty boring i thought this game would be something special but nah.. its just a overhyped good advertised game i still think a lot of people will like it
  35. Nov 22, 2012
    9
    I just finished the game and I can say it's simply fantastic. Ignore all of the people saying it's "just hype" or "nothing new" because I honestly have no idea what these people are talking about. Dishonored offers it's own feel with a taste of cartoony graphics in a gritty steam punk world, with excellent and complex gameplay to compliment it. The story is good and though the missions are linear, the missions themselves are a sort of open area where there are many side missions. If you rush through the game like a lunatic you'll probably finish the game quick like a good number of foolish reviewers...but if you actually take your time and play the game it'll last a fair amount of time, maybe just a tad short. Make sure to note that the "choose your own way to do the mission" holds true throughout the entire game, Dishonored does this extremely well. It's not about making some original amazing breakthrough game that'll make you go insane with astonishment like many seem to think, it's about making a fun game. All in all, no what you say about how original or good it is, it's definitely a very fun game that's worth your time. Expand
  36. Nov 5, 2012
    6
    Great stealth game but the plot is too predictable. The characters are unique but the endings are too linear. The graphics is good & framerate is very smooth though.
  37. Oct 20, 2012
    7
    i enjoyed this game alot, its not something i usually play but it looked interesting after finishing the game which i just have, i wanted to share my review pros great story,voices/actors makes you want to carry on playing strategic cons graphics feel dated, sometimes you can stand right next to someone look them in the face and yet your still not seen, game felt like it went on far too long,

    i liked the game alot and it was hard to criticize it on its faults
    although it had its faults the gameplay felt purposeful and fun
    until i got towards the end,then it just seemed as though it went on way longer then the game should have and nothing seemed original to what i had already seen prior, just same old same old.
    great game none the less, would and have reccomend(ed)
    Expand
  38. Oct 11, 2012
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. ฉันชอบเกมนี้มากเลยระบบการเล่นสะใจมาก และมันทำให้ฉันนึกย้อนถึงเกมเก่า ๆ หลาย ๆ เกมที่ฉันคิดถึงมาตลอด Expand
  39. Oct 12, 2012
    10
    I am having a really good time with this game. It reminds me of System Shock and Deus Ex but definnitely has its own personality and style. You have so much control over how you proceed with your objectives its crazy. This is a game that demands exploration and experimentation. I definitely recommend it.
  40. Oct 12, 2012
    8
    Good game, is an entertaining title at the hands of the guys at Bethesda (arkand) but with some errors to correct give my point of view.

    A very weak fighting system, which have been fixed with a little mix of action role, skill system that softens a little thing, to cover the little DEPTH at the interface and use of weapons.

    Very good soundtrack for my taste and no bugs (at least for
    PC)

    I hope that work well in some DLC "well done" rather quickly that the game is short. But overall it's a good game and highly recommended to buy especially for PC which is a bit cheaper.

    And to put an end, the city would have to be a little more lively as always repeat the lepers and the guards (I know that history says no sickness and all that) but with a great decoration and design art environment and low points with repetition and shallow characters and some cinematics

    A greeting from Spain
    Expand
  41. Oct 12, 2012
    10
    If your going to play this game understand it does not tell you the best way to complete its tasks. I have pleasantly been surprised how much I can complete by not doing what the mission tells me to do and then finding another solution. Currently I Am trying to beat the game without a single death of myself nor of a Enemy. SO HARD TO DO but I love the challenge The game is worth a few playthrough's and Try to beat it deathless on max difficulty will def keep my time occupied. If you play on casual and just chop through the main storyline then never pick up the game again then You have missed what this game is all about. Expand
  42. Oct 13, 2012
    10
    This game is totally awesome , ı have never played a game like that , ı mean ı dunno what to say , game is perfect , story ,atmosphere , game-play , graphics (could be better), when ı'm playing the game ı feel like ı'm kinda inside of it , it's not something which you can tell , you have to live , 10/10 -sorry for my bad ing-
  43. Oct 13, 2012
    10
    While this game was hyped up a lot, I still think it's underrated at only a 91%. I went into this game quite skeptical that it could live up to its advertising, but it has done that and more. HOWEVER. This game is a reflection of your creativity as a gamer, as it uses manifold ways to reach your objectives. If you are an unimaginitive person then the story you live out will be an unimaginitive one. So if you want mindless action look elsewhere. This is a game for people who enjoy thinking.

    Dishonored is a fantastic piece of art that values creativity and choice and plunges you into an amazingly immersive environment. I am a very involved gamer and have played and beaten countless games, both on PC and on standalone consoles, and I can say without a doubt that this is honestly the best game I have ever played. The immersive atmosphere of Half-Life and Bioshock mixed with the stealth of Thief and Deus Ex are an amazing combination. The graphics, while simple, are beautifully done in painting-like tones, and the lighting engine is phenomenal. The soundtrack is both breathtaking and adrenaline-inducing. The storyline is quite solid and very dark, the world expansive and deep, and the game can clock you 23+ hours on higher difficulty if you explore a little. The controls are extremely responsive, and the fighting mechanics, contrary to some peoples' beliefs, are solid and difficult to master, although intuitive enough to learn. The voice acting is marvellous. Almost constantly you'll overhear guards or civilians having conversations, but it's almost always a unique, scripted dialogue made specially just for those two NPCs, that can last for upwards of two minutes in many cases, which adds incredible depth to the already intriguing environments. AND THE CHOICE - You can do anything, from combat, to stealth. Be lethal or non-lethal. Exploration is key. Multiple passageways always exist to reach your goal, and your actions will always result in different outcomes. Simply fantastic. 10/10.
    Expand
  44. Oct 13, 2012
    10
    Anyone who listens to the negative reviews for this game deserves what they get.....nothing.This is by far the BEST first person,stealth and story game I have ever played....period!I am a SENIOR gamer and have seen many games since 1982.(Atari)I personally own over 400 PC games,over 200 of which are on Steam.The game mechanics,graphics,and smothness of the game are second to none.Those complaining of choppy graphics have puter problems.My Q9650 is over 4 years old and the game runs OUTSTANDING with NO slowups anywhere.If you take the time to visit everywhere and do all the side quests you will get upwards of 30-40 hours of game play.Those who breeze through it in 12 hours are missing the point.I have not done ALL the quests and I am at about 20 hours and am at the start of the last chapter.Thsi THE benchmark for FPS,Stealth games in the future in my book.Do not miss this one kiddies. Expand
  45. Oct 14, 2012
    10
    Amazing! For me this is the best game in the last few years! I did not expect that it would delay me so much. But now I'm playing and I can not tear myself away from it.
  46. Oct 19, 2012
    7
    Graphics : - 1 Plot : - 1 Music : - 0.5 (They didnt really put that much effort into music) Game play : - 1.5 (Stealth with FPS is just lame, it should've had RPG option too / The game was not that challenging though / I didnt have the chance to try all the powers of the character !!! ) Experience : + 1 (It was fun for me after all with the plague/rats theme, early 90's is a good era to be video gamed)

    " Revenge doesnt solve everything BTW "
    Expand
  47. Oct 14, 2012
    10
    Only few games live up to the hype that has been built around them and Dishonored is one them. Both stealth and combat mechanics are absolute blast to play with and level design makes great use of them. Its lot of fun to jump around the roofs or crawl through sewers as a rat whenever you fell like it, but biggest surprise for me was how incredibly the game looks. Art direction is amazing. Characters have memorable faces and stylish clothes. Weapons, buildings, vehicles, everything is extremely well designed and together with rich color pallet create Illusion of city which is dark and corrupt, but is joy to explore. Expand
  48. Oct 15, 2012
    10
    Just started this game yesterday and I LOVE IT! I've always been a big fan of stealth games like Thief, but was missing the action factor. Bethesda really took the best stealth elements from Thief and augmented them with powers and awesome weapons. I highly recommend this to any fans of stealth and action alike.
  49. Oct 15, 2012
    8
    Whether or not you will like Dishonored depends on what you expect from it. Despite being a Bethesda title, it is not the "steam-punk Skyrim" many had come to expect. Dishonored goes to the same school as Bioshock and Half Life 2 in that it is a first person shooter with an interesting toolbox of abilities to help you out. The biggest complaint I keep seeing about Dishonored is that people flew through it in under 5 hours. While this is certainly possible, this actually demonstrates one of the greatest qualities of this game; it plays however you want it to. At the start of each area, you are given an objective, a large area, and your trusty toolbox of supernatural abilities. The game then leaves you to determine the best way to approach your target, and believe me, there are a lot of different ways you can get it done. In addition, your decision on how to approach each level (especially in terms of body count) has a very tangible effect on how the rest of the game plays out. If you make a point to run as fast as you can from objective to objective, never stopping to do side quests, explore, or talk to the characters, then I can see how you would come out disappointed at the end. This is a game the encourages you to stop and think, and the results of a little creativity can leave you feeling like a real badass. Dishonored is not without it's flaws of course. The controls take some getting used to, the designers went a little crazy with the head bob (thank god you can turn it down), and some of the later enemies can see you from what seems like a mile away, but these are small problems overall. I have yet to finish my first playthrough so I can't comment on how the story rounds out, but I'm already looking forward to playing it again just as soon as I am done. Ultimately, Dishonored is whatever you make of it. If you take the time to let it show you everything it has to offer, I don't see any way you can walk away unhappy. Buy or rent, this is definitely one you don't want to miss Expand
  50. Feb 6, 2013
    10
    There aren't enough games like Dishonored. It's balanced, beautiful, challenging, addictive and so unfathomably deep I can't even think of a metaphor. Fantastically crafted stealth mechanic, clever and engaging AI and a story that is one of the best I've encountered. The single issue i have with this game is the length of the campaign, but the challenge of getting every mission with the Ghost (not detected) achievement and not kills for the entire game more than makes up for it. Expand
  51. Oct 26, 2012
    8
    I'm more a shooty FPS guy, but I was intrigued by the high scoring reviews and memories of playing Thief all those years ago. Dishonored isn't vastly different from its ancestor 'Thief', you are given a goal to accomplish, some tools and a map populated by guards and zombies. You're then left alone to figure out your own way in and out and in your own time.

    The graphics aren't
    brilliant, its the relatively old Unreal engine reworked, but the gameplay can be fun as you try to get inventive getting past guards. You can hack your way in and out, but the levels get tougher security if you do so it rewards sneaking. You end up playing like a combination Thief and Batman, staying high on buildings and dropping down to knock out guards as chance permits.

    The maps are not large, but they are stiched together to make long levels with loads at certain doors. With the multiple routes and tactics available to you, plus the time it takes to clamber around, you get a lot of gameplay time and high replay value. Its a diverting and quite challenging game, if not inventive or good looking.
    Expand
  52. Oct 29, 2012
    9
    Dishonored = "Thief" remade, and I am so glad to see it back in this way. It has that same "Steampunk" look and feel, the sneaking around everywhere, the various arrow types for the crossbow, eye zoom, pickpocket and item-theft, place-able mines, silent kill/knockouts, even the sounds and music - it's all there. Certain guard NPC types even remind me of the "Hammerites". This is a very well-executed game. I noticed zero technical issues. The game gives the player a sense of being on his own with few boundaries to contend with. Linear play is noticeable, to a degree, but not so much so that it detracts from the fun and interest. When I'm in game, I am consumed with the experience and I cannot say that about many games. What a splendid break from all the run-n-gun, bust-in-and-blow-everyone's-face-off type games. There is some thinking to do here if you want to get past that guard point unnoticed. You'll need to move that body out of the way, and quickly, unless you'd like to attract more heat than you can handle. Very good. One man shouldn't be able to take on more than two others, and yet even Dishonored will forgive you, to an extent, if you try. I'm glad I bought this game. But, ah, I will say this: I'm giving it a 9 instead of 10 because I don't like to be penalized for killing. In Dishonored, if you choose to kill your way through, you'll have to deal with more of the carnivorous rats, than if you had chosen to merely knock people unconscious (and by choking???.... that takes more than 2 seconds). Minor annoyance I suppose. The game is still a fabulous work, to me anyway. I'd definitely buy a Part II. Expand
  53. Nov 4, 2012
    9
    Dishonored is an incredibly original game which brings up the fight or flight instinct that you have. I would have given this amazing title a 10 but the ending felt a little sudden.
  54. Nov 7, 2012
    7
    I was really hyped about this game, like i think everyone was.. Im a hardcore gamer and i always try to get best score. In this game that meens you need to go non-lethal on enemies and that make game ubber boring. After getting my hi-score i went true game second time , this time killing everything and going kinda loud. It was so much more fun... And here is my problem, becouse that game supose 2 be stealth game, which meens killing silently should give you more fun and satisfaction. It definetly didn't and more, this isnt stealth game at all, it could be if designers wouldn't fail on making it so... Enemys AI is just redeciolusly stupid, and game have many bugs which makes it ubber easy even on hardest difficulty. It' FUN game to play but NOT a stealth game like it was advertised... Expand
  55. Nov 9, 2012
    9
    Who likes stealth games, they will probably enjoy Dishonored! . What the game gets right is the gameplay. I was having fun killing enemies silently with a sharp blade and a crossbow. The power of teletransportation works well, but sometimes gives annoyances. The upgrades of weapons and powers are included and placed perfectly. Graphics artistically are phenomenal in Dishonored, and the characters are interesting. What about the story? Was It any good? Well, It was mediocre. It has some intense moments, but It is predictable. Despite of the mediocre story, Dishonored doesn't disappoint with the gameplay. Worth playing. (9.0) Expand
  56. Nov 9, 2012
    7
    Finished the game with some mixed feelings. A big PC gamer but this is my first stealth game so takes this review for what it is.
    The Bad: I know graphics aren't everything but immediately upon playing I thought I had gone back in time. For a 2012 game the aging graphics hit me pretty hard, true or not I blame it on the current console manufacturers for that one. Bring out a new console
    already so I can get better PC games. The environment was decent but the characters were rather poorly done in parts. Pendleton's repeated horrible animation for taking a hit of whisky from the flash ... errr.
    The storyline was just acceptable til about halfway through and from here there seemed to be little to no effort to produce any kind of enticing plot to grip me.
    As I played the game as stealthy as I could and hence only bought upgrades related to and found I had about 7,000 gold + to spare by the end that I didnt have anything to spend on... a better money sink would have been nice but not a big deal.
    The Good: again first time stealth game but I loved the mechanics. The powers to invest in were thrilling to engage in and defeating your enemies in whichever way you wished.
    I enjoyed that you could play the game in so many ways. In the fact that you could smash through the mission with arrows flying or complete stealth (and many variations in between). Also that you could could complete missions in a few different ways.
    I played the game on the 2nd hardest difficulty and found the direct brutal way far to easy so I'm going through again on the hardest difficulty with the aim to kill anything moving !
    Overall a good game minus the poor graphics and average plot line. Not disappointed I bought it not but impressed either
    Expand
  57. Feb 3, 2013
    5
    What can I say? What should have been the best game of the decade in my opinion was really a let down by the end. This is not an open world. Yes you have choices to make but, you are constantly reigned in by the invisible walls and set missions. Don't get me wrong, they have a fun game here just looses appeal quick. When you start you expect this deep story line and it can really be summed up like this. "Important lady gets killed, you get blamed for it even though you didn't do it and then a quest for revenge of some convoluted sorts." Expand
  58. Jan 7, 2014
    9
    Absolutely brilliant game. Combines intuitive mechanics and exciting gameplay with an enthralling story and strong graphics, Everything a game should be. This comes very highly recommended.
  59. Nov 15, 2012
    7
    To keep this short this game was a lot of fun, I really enjoyed the game play and had a blast playing through it 2 times. However it lacks in story and depth so if you are looking to be entertained for a few days then I highly recommend giving this game a play through! However don't be disappointed if this game doesn't fully reach your expectations.
  60. Nov 30, 2012
    6
    This game advertisment,trailer,user comment,and review does not met what it really meant.The game is not as good it was advertised.The combat system have really improve a lot.The maneuverability of the combat system is really big.Every action you've done effects the game.The storyline is deep and exciting,although most game have the same storyline.Got deranked,work with traitors,try to have revenge.Overall the game combine all the old storyline which make it a brand new story with old mixup.I love it.What really made me down is the amount of power you have is only 6.I think the game should have more power to improve the magic combat system.Like making the enemy crazy.The idea of the bonecharm is really nice.It's like some kind of perk.I'm not saying this game sucks,I'm just saying that the advertisement are saying like it's the best game in the world.News is better then the game itself. Expand
  61. Dec 3, 2012
    5
    I have extremely mix reviews about this game, I feel when i play it I am somewhat engaged however, I rather play any other game. I felt the storyline was not very good and strangely I felt the best part of the game was the ending where (i had the bad ending) Emily has such an ominous sound in her voice. But the entire game felt like I was grinding all the way around the game to find the bone charms (which are useless) or runes to make the game seem longer than it actually is (and still beat it in 12 hrs on hard) and you can also cheese through the game with stop time beating everything in your way. Stealth was incredibly difficult and I felt like I had to save every 5 seconds to accomplish anything. The wall of light makes absolutely no sense killing only the player and not anybody else. The game did not make the player think at all and it was simply "run in, freeze time, and kill everyone." This game received way too much praise by critic and does not deserve to be a $60 game (I would recommend waiting for a sale of maybe $25) Expand
  62. May 20, 2013
    7
    Really nice game, with a stunning amount of detail in it's world, but really, once you master Blink and Dark Sight the only challenge remaining is to find all the content in the highly detailed levels.

    A fun, lightweight game, with a hint of epicness, but not quite realised.
  63. Dec 22, 2012
    8
    Now lets get one thing straight, this game is not perfect, it is not a 10/10 and does have some flaws however, Everyone who is giving this game silly low scores obviously haven't played any games in the last 2 years or even longer since nothing has really been released that is as engaging or rich than Dishonored.

    I'll start off with the Graphics, sure, they are not the highest end
    graphics, but that's not a bad thing, It means it runs fine even on laptops, besides, the artwork and design is so good, the atmosphere really takes hold which brings me nicely to the sound and noise of this game, Bone charms have "songs" and everything makes some kind of noise all of which, are usually very UN-nerving, creepy almost, in sound, this adds a lot to the atmosphere, for the people saying the atmosphere was rubbish, are you using £1.99 speakers? or iPod headphones?

    Now to the story, I like the way it has been told, Most games kind of just plonk you in the game and explain itself all at the start so you play through a part of it, In dishonored, you kind of have to explorer different paths, listen to conversations between NPC's and read the books, notes and simply listen to everything to get the full story, it makes a change compared to the usual way games tend to tell a story and for that, Dishonored should be given some kind of award for trying something new in a recession.

    Now the actual game play and powers, the Assassin skills have been done before admit-ably, but in Dishonored, I don't have to go through some silly button bashing or "press-this-sequence-of-buttons-to-do-a-cool-melee-move" its just a simple matter of good timing and returning enemy blows. I like this as it makes it far more engaging to fight and the enemy are quick to fight back.

    The game rarely challenges the player due to the powers making it easier than normal to go through the world but I think that's the point, if you use no powers at all, damn it's difficult!

    Anyway bottom line is, sure, it has issues, but when compared to the competition in the last 2-3 years, its absolutely brilliant.
    Expand
  64. Feb 14, 2013
    9
    I really enjoyed this game. I played through it right through again right after I finished it. If you like stealth-espionage games, this one follows in those footsteps pretty well and I recommend it. The gameplay is challenging, engaging and tactical and the world is interesting and has it's own character. The graphics aren't top notch but the game is attractive and immersing enough that it held my attention. And the level design I'd have to say this is about the best level design I've seen in a while kudos to the level designers. I do, of course, have a few minor nits. The narrative is not all that great. Not that the plot and the story is bad, I just found the dialogue and the characters to be on the bland side. That and I wish that Corvo was actually a character with dialogue of his own. To me it felt like there was a missing component to the game in that he was silent. The gameplay, while quite engaging, didn't really feel especially groundbreaking. If you've played thief and deus ex, the gameplay will feel very very familiar. Having said that, if you're stepping up to a stealth-espionage game, you know ahead of time that you're picking up a thief-deus ex progeny so what the hell. Anyways, the magic, especially blink, makes a nice little twist in the gameplay that's fun and interesting without feeling excessively overpowered. I know alot of people think it is, but to that I say: how many times when you used it were you not thinking about your situation and using timing to use it properly? Kinda the point of the game??? Despite the familiar feeling of the gameplay it is a refinement over older instalments, though I hope the next stealth-espionage game I play feels fresher. Collapse
  65. Feb 3, 2013
    10
    So I have just completed the game again, but this time in a stealthy tactical way and the ending was totally different and defintly a lot more enjoyable, I would still recommend this game to anyone
  66. Feb 13, 2013
    9
    Dishonored is best described as a combination of Tenchu, Fallout and Splinter Cell yes, it's a technological ninja RPG. It is easily one of the best games to come out for PC this year. The graphics are not up to snuff for a PC title though. Otherwise I would have given this game a 10.
  67. Jan 1, 2013
    6
    I enjoyed Dishonored and I am glad I purchased it and played it through twice (no replay value after the 2nd go through because the game is not good enough) given some of the ridiculously high (imho) marks and reviews the professionals have given this when I now think Dishonored the first thought that comes into my head is Overrated.

    Critics some giving it 100% (LOL) or high 90s (again
    LOL). Reviews from critics (who must have been bribed) hailing the game 'a masterpiece'. Lies!!! The game is not even close to being a masterpiece.

    The game is ok and the mix of action, stealth but other games previous to this have done action and stealth a hell of a lot better. The storyline is good but not immersive enough (again previous games have had much better storylines). I am rubbish at games so I can definitely say the game is far to easy (the AI is terrible). The graphics for a 2012 game are nothing special, no part in the game did I think wow that looks amazing.

    Maybe because of the reviews it has got my expectations were to high. I think Dishonoured tries to be a mix of Thief: Deadly Shadows, BioShock's, Half Life's and Deus Ex's but it is not even close to being as good as any of these imho.

    Summary of Dishonoured: an ok game worth playing if you can buy it cheap but overhyped and overrated.
    Expand
  68. Jan 1, 2013
    6
    To all the people saying the stealth combat is limited and boring... that is the way you chose to play the game, i would not however pay 60 dollars on it... the steam price is much reasonable compared to the console price... I played through the whole game without killing anyone and found the game to be quite challenging. Having said that, after completing the game i have little desire to replay the game. BEWARE if you go in killing everyone and blow through the game you WILL BE DISAPPOINTED. the game would be short and the payoff would suck... (big buggaboo about the ending it kinda is between bad and medium it was enough to take away from the game).... your choices do not effect the game's ending...All in All; Dishonored will be ass good of a game as you play it out to be. Expand
  69. May 13, 2013
    7
    Reminiscent of Thief and Bioshock, this game is enjoyable only to those who choose to play it "properly". Those who enjoy to run in guns blazing aren't likely to have a lot of fun here, or would be better suited in just playing Bioshock Infinite instead. However, those who like to stealthily avoid conflict and explore the world before them will have a blast.
    I myself enjoyed this game,
    but I do have a few issues with it.
    For one, it's far too short. Can't really expand much on this. I'm the kind of guy who likes to find everything as well, but I still found this to be a far too short story.
    Secondly, some of the textures just don't look right. I love the hand-painted style of the textures in the game, but some of them just look muddy and bland, which detracts from the otherwise superb style.
    Finally, I don't think character development is done well enough for a game like this.
    However, fans of Deus Ex Human Revolution, Bioshock and the old Thief games should definitely give this a look.
    A final note is that this game is very well optimized, meaning it'll run even on a moderately weak PC splendid!
    Expand
  70. Jan 4, 2013
    10
    This game is just one of those ground-breaking games that comes around every now and then. You can beat it, play it again, and then play it again, even though you are still following the same story, with variations here and there. It is a fine mix of skill, story, and choice, which is very, very rare in today's gaming world. And to hajducek, you should try playing the expert mode. Not so easy eh? I am so glad this game was created and hope to see more of it in the future. I would probably give it a 98/100. Expand
  71. Jan 6, 2013
    10
    This is my first review on metacritic, and really my first review of a video game at all. I've been a gamer for the last 20 yrs and rarely has a game sparked my enjoyment as much as this game has. I am primarily a pc gamer and recently have been using steam to purchase games for a discount. Most games I feel are not worth the $50-60 price tag for a variety of reasons. Dishonored is one of those games I feel is worse the full price. What it does it does really well. The controls are smooth, on the pc I haven't encountered any bugs, and the gameplay is phenomenal. I think the look and feel is really similar to bioshock and that Expand
  72. Jan 6, 2013
    7
    It is unbelievable, as many have stated, that critics alike are giving this game such terrific overall scoring. This game does many things well, but as you proceed into it's rather thin an uninspiring story, we start to notice that the game is incredibly one sided in the sense that presentation and atmosphere are the standalone achievements of this development, not the story nor the game play. While the faults of this title are not the worst in the genre, they do stand out enough to make DIshonored a 6 or 7, in my book. Even with the RUSHED ending, so so characters, the lack of tangled character twists, Dishonored is still worth checking out for the graphical experience. While the game play is not very involved, Dishonored still lets you (but never forces) create your own ways to go about infiltrating monstrous environments that are crawling with foes. Always fun, even if you can't help but think how other titles did it better than Dishonored. Pick it up at a budget price (19.99) but, please, don't listen to the hype on this one. Expand
  73. Jan 20, 2013
    9
    Dishonored .... what an awesome game it's like a combination of Bioshock and AC3 making this into a FPS in a strange world of magic and chaos. It also has that Deus ex stealth experience or you just can kill everybody that comes in your way.
  74. Jan 20, 2013
    5
    this game its great if you like those stealth games.

    i like stealth games like AC3 and those but in this case they made the game really close.

    i mean with close that you need to do the quest or nothing will happen.
  75. Jan 21, 2013
    6
    I bought this game in a sale, and I'm glad... Full price is too much for this very linear restricted game. It's well build, music is great but it lacks. It's sometimes a bit boring, story is shallow. So only buy at a sale, it's overpriced.
  76. Feb 4, 2013
    8
    Dishonored is a blast to play. It's not your topical stealth game; it's an unique stealth game, that succeeds with it's gameplay. Having many unique options to kill an enemy, stealthy or detectable, is remarkable, by using some magical powers. And the open-world environments are entertaining to explore However, the story is dull, the characters are forgettable and the game is short. Dishonored is a great game, but far from perfect. Expand
  77. Feb 5, 2013
    9
    Its between Dishonored and Far Cry 3 for game of 2012. Dishonored had such a unique theme, level design and it was a great take on a genetically modified Victorian England. There were so many ways/routes to complete a mission and traverse the streets and buildings. This sense of freedom really appealed to me. Never did I feel stuck in a 'corridor shooter'. The runes/powerups were similar to the plasmids of Bioshock however they all had their own feel and were interesting to combine and upgrade. I loved Dishonored and when I have time will play through again. 9/10 Expand
  78. Feb 12, 2013
    7
    A flawed masterpiece. There are many engaging elements to this game, I'm not going to list them all because it is well worth you finding out for yourself. The stealth mechanic works well, enabling the player to assume the persona of Dishonored with ease. Characters are well presented, well written, the only flaw here is that some of the more important ones could have done with a bit more back story before being dissolved into the plot. Completionists will find there is plenty to do with collecting coins and treasure, but therein lies another flaw. The game drives you forward, often leaving you uncertain as to whether you can or will return to an area where side quests and goodies lie in wait. There is an emphasis on being merciful rather than lethal but this is contradicted by the plethora of deadly weapons and gadgets available to you, if you favour not killing everything then you will only have two weapons (well one of them is a 'move') at your disposal during the entire game. The spell powers you get are again well designed and implemented however, again, most are geared towards killing, not subduing. Overall the desire to push on is strong, and all flaws aside Dishonored creates a thoroughly absorbing and memorable new universe in which to lose yourself. I highly recommend adding this game to your library! Expand
  79. Feb 13, 2013
    8
    Dishonored stands out against the current crop of games with a very high level of polish, accessibility and atmosphere. Its one of the few games that upon completion I've immediately begun to consider replaying with a different style. Its not however great at everything it does. If like me you experienced the tension of sneaking around castles in the original thief games then Dishonored's stealth is not going to impress as its far too simplistic and not remotely convincing.

    Dishonored is a relatively linear FPS with options. To describe it as an RPG or in any way open or infinite would be wrong. That said, its solid entertainment, good story and set in a beautifully visualized environment.
    Expand
  80. Feb 13, 2013
    8
    A lot of effort was spent in creating the art for the game as the graphics and atmosphere are pretty cool looking. A lot of the visuals seem reminiscent of watercolor paintings which I thought was unique. The game mechanics are geared for and indeed rewarded the use of stealth and non-violent resolutions to game situations. What you do throughout the game affects the rest of the game in a *mostly* common-sense way changing the overall game "chaos," e.g.: more kills causes more guards to appear later in the game. The sword fighting mechanics are okay, not great, but are irrelevant if your goal is to use stealth to achieve the Ghost/Shadow achievements. The special abilities were pretty neat and some even demoniacally fun such as the possession ability. The game also includes some "mini-games" such as finding objects to enhance your abilities, although I found that most of the bone charms were pretty irrelevant to game play. Every level has several ways to achieve goals both violent and non-violently.

    I am a big fan of stealth shooters such as the original Deus Ex and Deus Ex Human Revolution. Also, I think games like Far Cry 2 Max Payne 3 are too repetitious and boring. I never found Dishonored boring in this manner and I thought that the game length was a good match for the uniqueness of the game content. I'm the kind of person who likes taking some time finding the stealthy way through so this game appealed to me.
    Expand
  81. Feb 16, 2013
    6
    Dishonored was a game that I had high hopes for, but like many other titles of the last twelve months, it let me down. The game has a heavy focus on stealth which just didn't quite play out as the developers said it would. There is very little stealth elements that actually work. The AI become too aware too easily both in daylight and night.

    The 'skills' felts too much borrowed from
    that of Bioshock, as is many other gameplay mechanics, including picking items up, health, weapon use etc. I did however like the art style. It feels fresh and exciting while the story is not what I expected, yet it was entertaining enough to play the game through. However there are many flaws in Dishonored for me to recommend it. The missions are repetitive and the game just feels like I am playing Bioshock other than something new and original. Expand
  82. Apr 13, 2013
    10
    One of the best games I have ever played. Everything in it is so great that You would like to spend with it every single minute of Your free time. Music, plot, climate, NPC, main character are awesome. It is only a peaty that game isn't very long. If You ever imagined what will come from matching Bioshock and Deus Ex You don't have to do this anymore, because answer is simple Dishonored.
  83. Apr 28, 2013
    8
    So it took me a long time to finish my very first play through of Dishonored, I think thats partly down to my play style. I knew stealth would be too easy, and just fighting through the enemies offers little challenge unless I was playing on a harder mode. However as with most games that try to walk this black and white line of do good/bad I decided to try and be the most stealthy serial killer. Essentially imagine being Ezio from Assassins Creed but having the violent tendencies of Mr. Hyde ripping through enemies and you'd get a general idea. The main game mechanic at play here is the Good vs Evil debate of how you choose to play and for me there was one particular bit that made up my mind. You play Corvo, a man wrongly imprisoned for a crime he didn't commit, very much a wrong place, wrong time cliche, but thats fine. Your first act as Corvo is to break out of prison and this involves getting past all the guards. Its your choice obviously kill/sneak past. Initially I chose kill given that I was to be executed for a crime that I obviously didn't commit, yes unfortunately vengeance was in the forefront of my mind. So I hacked and slashed my way through. This posed very little of a moral quandary until I got to part 2 of the break out; escaping through the sewer. This is where I found one of the many notes you're bound to find spread across Dunwall. In this note a man told a short story of how he and his wife couldn't buy enough elixir to live on and that hopefully the fire they lit would keep the rats at bay. Very sad, I'm sure you'll agree. However what really got me was that when I put the note down and turned to leave there I found huddled together as lovers would these 2 people. I knew the more I killed people the more the disease would spread and I would be subjecting the innocent civilians of Dunwall to a plague that would kill them en mass. However after a quick peek at the achievements I realised that I'd already discounted myself from several of the available challenges and thought to myself "Screw it, onward and downward in my spiral of death and depravity but, this couple warrant a 2nd, peaceful playthrough". In that moment the writers had already convinced me to play peacefully but the real world satisfaction of achievements meant I had to do this twice... So be it.
    The game does have many fun little minor changes between good and evil choices made by the player. Its a wonderful system that pays off, but maybe you won't realise until you too have played a 2nd more drastically different playthrough. However before I jump into some of the fun facets of the Good v Evil outcomes, one of the things the game does is something that even larger developers with bigger games have done and it never works. At the beginning before you're imprisonment you must meet the Empress and her Daughter Emily. Through reasons that are later explained the Empress is killed and her daughter kidnapped right in front of you and you are left to take the blame. Now I have a problem with this. As a player I'm meant to have some sort of attachment to the Empress and Emily, these 2 women I hardly know and they instantly go and kill one and remove another. Why should I care? I don't know these people, I haven't had time to build an actual immersive relationship with these people enough to care that they're gone. It comes across as more of a "...Oh, tough scenario not a "Oh my god NO!" moment that the writers clearly want me to have (fallout 3 did this with the Users Dad). Its unfortunate that writers keep seeming to think that I'll care if someone I don't know but am supposed to, dies. It just brings me out of the experience. However you do build an emotional bond to Emily through the game later as you see her change with what's gone on, but the fact that I'm punished so unfairly is a better emotional hot poker in order to get me taking action.
    So the repercussions of Good vs Evil are one of my favourite tiny mechanics at work here. For instance if you kill everyone you come across when you do talk to Emily later in the game she's far more dark and emo, at one point she draws a picture and on an Evil playthrough you see something that I'd imagine Damien the Devil Child would create, however on a Good playthrough Emily draws sweet child crap like Rainbows (Don't think any of the writers stretched their imaginations there, but still its a nice touch). Also part of the Game involves your use of magical mystic powers given to you by some spectral being called simply "The Outsider" (which does sound like a nickname given to the weird kid at school with a snot bubble). On a Good playthrough he appears as he did the very first time you saw him, however after slaughtering your way through Dunwall for the 5th time he appears more darkened and a scarier being overall which is probably the most appropriate thing.

    See my full review at willza99.wordpress.com, thanks for reading
    Expand
  84. Jun 25, 2013
    6
    If Dishonored was a drink it would be Arizona Sweet Tea. It has the good taste of stealth and nice level design but has the bad aftertaste of bland as cheerioes characters and an awful story. The Stealth Element Of The Game IS very innovative bringing fantasy elements to running around and stabbing people with supernatural powers and cool weapon mechanics. Sadly though it makes the game as easy as clicking a mouse. Even on the hardest difficulty it took me 12 hours. Dishonored has great level design with sprawling epic buildings and many ways to see tomato juice come out of you foes. You can jump around buildings or just run and stab them or place traps everywhere or.......there is a lot! The problem here is In a LINEAR game such as Absolution you still have endless ways to kill someone while being in the laws of physics. You would think with an open sand box you can just find awesome ways to stab things. Now with the Good Out here comes the bad aftertaste. THE NPC's are just bad............... They have no emotion like robots. I would get the same order Corvo go kill the man he is bad and we don't like him beep boop" its like if i tried to stab them there would be an electric shock. Stealth games i have seen have bad stories but come on just get some film writer and make a nice script. Absolution and Deus Ex HR had lovely stories but here its just wrong. The Ending without spoiling it is bad in both ways. Its either everything is good or everything is bad. It isnt 2000 we need to focus a lot on a game now because we progressed. Dishonored has the charm of the immersive and awesome city. Stealth= Awesome Upgrades= Sweet Everything Else= Shant. Luckily the awesome is in a lot more then the bad. So wait for a discount. Dishonored gets a 6/10 Expand
  85. Sep 15, 2013
    3
    HEY! its Dishonored you know there's a reason for that name because it dishonors the thief series with this new Thief game coming out people have been stupid enough to say its a rip off of Dishonored well the fact is that the first Thief game came out in 1998 the second one was 2000 and the third was 2004 so as you see its much older then this garbage, also lets talk about how you have to go to someone to take you to a location Thief doesn't do that you have to get there your self, the only thing i liked about this game was a bit of its story when your getting framed for the murder of the queen (but it doesn't help his case if he turns into a murderer afterwards tho) but still in this the hiding is rubbish, Thief did it right by letting you hiding in the shadows but come on Dishonored if your going to copy everything from Thief why not that!it's a really good mechanic you get in tensed because they could be standing in front of you and your just panicking that they don't see you, it just makes the game fun also people would sneak more then just run and kill everything, we need something to get us away from all the call of duty kids at the moment and this game will not do it... BUT MAYBE THIEF WILL! Expand
  86. Apr 15, 2013
    10
    The best single player first person experience I had since Half Life 1. Yes, I think it's even better than Half Life 2! It's a masterpiece. It took me 2 hours to finish the first mission I just wandered around, feasting my eyes on freaking best art direction ever. And the game-play is amazing too! It's not a shooter like so many other average games, it gives the player plenty of equally attractive choices.

    One of the best games I've ever played.
    Expand
  87. Nov 16, 2012
    8
    It took me awhile to get into this game. The first two missions were meh and I hate the Unreal graphics engine - the gfx look about 10 years old in some ways. However, the game really picks up afterwards. The plot was very interesting and it was all around a good stealth shooter.
  88. Dec 29, 2012
    10
    Right away I knew this game was going to be good, it is a great mix of Thief, Bioshock and Assassin's Creed, but you can also go all guns blazing, completely your choice, defiantly worth a look.
  89. Jun 8, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Dishonored is a great adventure. From start to finish, the game packs an incredible amount of action and stealth that can perfectly be mixed up to a point where you swap from one to another nicely with no interference.

    The game puts you in the place of a betrayed guardian who is entitled to work out his reputation back by helping the rebellion to rescue the empress daughter, and to take back the throne. Most (if not all) of the missions encompass a set of goals, which ultimately take you to the assassination of a key character. At the end, you're an assassin, and killing is a key gameplay part of this game.

    Though this could be considered as repetitive at first, the game's design and plot makes it pretty interesting and worth to look out, specially considering all the ways you have at your disposal to achieve your goal, and Bethesda has proven that they are very skilled at providing a good dose of variety for this.

    Although the story is somewhat empty at first, evolving along the main character is a rewarding experience, just as much as the silent kills. Using the special powers is a very entertaining feat, and the AI is well-developed, responsive and interactive at any given time.

    In resume, I have found that Dishonored is a great experience for the fans of Splinter Cell, Thief, Deus Ex and the Matrix, and it packs enough action to get FPS fans into its arena, and enough creativity to entertain while never disappointing. If you have yet to play it, go and grab a copy. You won't regret it.
    Expand
  90. Nov 9, 2013
    9
    I cannot deny my love for this game, and it's been a long time coming for a review. Also, I am not being paid to do favorable reviews FOR ANY GAME. That is the most garbage, disgustingly cynical, and annoying thing any gamer would think about other people. It's strange too, because Dishonored is exactly what cynical gamers wanted, but apparently even that is not good enough, so let them drown in their own sea of irony they created themselves by crying about how games are awful now compared to retro or older games. Moronic retro hippies, gosh darn it! I bet if this was a sidescroller pixel game, they'd think it was amazing. Idiots.

    Alright, now I got that off of my chest, let's talk Dishonored. I had this game for awhile already, but it earns some of my highest accolades for being the only stealth game I enjoy immensely. I don't like stealth games, for the most part, but this somehow reeled me in. First, I was immediately drawn in by the beautifully rendered setting. A dark sort of steampunk setting where instead of steam as a powersource, it's whale oil. Within this setting, you have absolute freedom to choose where you want to go, and when. There are hidden items everywhere in these places, and loot lovers like me eat that right up! However, it is mostly in a controlled, smaller environment that never feels too linear. Each mission within these areas can be completed in any way you want as you have so many awesome abilities, equipment, and accessories to help you with them. The combat is annoying and honestly far too difficult, even with my favorite spell, Slow Time, but you have that choice! I just hope you find a better way to deal with foes if you want to go on a murder spree. Otherwise, prepare for annoying cheapshots every second during combat!

    Also, your choices do matter in these environments. It makes you think hard about killing, and whether or not it is the right thing to do. You can change the course of the game by these decisions, with some choices causing more of the zombies called "Weepers" to appear in later areas, or security to greatly tighten in other areas. Each area, by the way, being a mission. But even then, you can take a break from the tough decision making and go on plenty of side missions, which is an awesome bonus! You can even spend your hard earned money on upgrades, which is also great as well. I am a fan of that kind of game mechanic!

    Anyways, Dishonored, as well as all of its DLC, is amazing. If you don't like it, then so be it. Just be careful, because Corvo might be in the dark, waiting to punish the haters.
    Expand
  91. Jul 20, 2013
    9
    I honestly thought 2012 was a bad year in gaming, but I explored some additional releases that slipped by me recently, and Dishonored left me astonished with its phenomenal gameplay, an engrossing story and some unforgettable characters. The silent protagonist Corvo, the innocent little Emily, and the spooky Outsider are some remarkably interesting characters. Unfortunately though, that’s where the list of memorable characters ends. There’s no distinguishable antagonist and we’re given little to no background information on Corvo’s assassination targets. Besides the bizarre chaos system, the gameplay feels like a hybrid of Deus Ex and Bioshock, and it’s literally flawless. Gameplay is very smooth and hotkeys allow fluid transitions between secondary weapons/powers during combat. Players can collect unique equipment called bone charms and use them to fit their playing style.

    Throughout the game, I was reluctant to kill *everyone* because not all of Corvo’s targets were necessarily evil and corrupt aristocrats, so I wanted to deviate from the ordinary assassination tactic, and thanks to Dishonored’s versatile gameplay mechanics, I got to. During a mission, you’re given “Lethal” and “Non-Lethal” methods of dealing with your target. In addition to the replay value, the versatile gameplay mechanics immerses you into Dishonored and enhances its story.

    The chaos system itself isn’t the problem, it’s how this new feature was implemented into the game. Simply killing a hostile enemy will raise the overall chaos rating and ultimately make Dunwall a gloomier city. It’s not necessarily “difficult” to maintain a low chaos rating, but I did pass up on some awesome combat opportunities in effort to keep my chaos rating at bay. Fortunately, Dishonored gives the player leeway and won’t punish you for taking advantage of some fun assassination opportunities.
    Expand
  92. Jan 18, 2014
    10
    [DISHONORED SteamPC Score10] One of the best games I have ever played. Play as a Master Assassin and Bodyguard framed for the death of the Queen. Get thrown into the dungeon, escape, take revenge. Play with Stealth or Action, Level up and choose Skills for Magic and others. Released Oct 2012 and played 9 months later. Add to cart with all the DLC. Enjoy this game smoothie….

    [DRM] Steam
    only, thank goodness there is no GamesForWindowsLive on this title, nor Uplay, nor Origin. I did not have to create an alternative account.

    [MyPC 2011] i7-2600K 3.4GHz / ASUS Z68 ProGen3 / 8G RAM / Radeon 6870 / W7 PRO SP1 / Samsung 275T @1920x1200 / Logitech G15 / Kensington ExpertMouse / Sennheiser HD600

    [NowPlaying] BrokenAge [MyFavorites] [Win7] TombRaider Dishonored TheKnifeOfDunwall TheBrigmoreWitches TheDreamMachine Ep1-4 30FlightsOfLoving Fez BioshockInfinite Antichamber Stacking Metro2033 Rochard Crysis&Warhead&2 JustCause2 Rage [XP] Papo&Yo DeuxExHR&TheMissingLink DeadSpace1&2 Fallout3&NewVegas HalfLife1&2 Bordelands1&2 BatmanArkumAsylum AssassinsCreed Magicka RedFaction Portal1&2 FromDust MrRobot Sam&MaxSeasons1&2 CulpaInnata TheSecretOfMonkeyIsland DreamfallTheLongestJourney Syberia1&2 CrayonPhysicsDeluxe DefenseGridTheAwakening PlantsVsZombies Prototype Bioshock1&2 UnrealTournament3 Quake4 [360] AfroSamurai BrutalLegends [XBOX] HALO KOTOR1&2 Crackdown ArmedAndDangerous AggressiveInline BeyondGoodAndEvil DeadOrAlive1&2&3&ExtremeBeachVolleyball Psychonauts [AppleG4] FullThrottle DeusExMachina ONI ReturnToZork Suspended UnrealTournament TombRaiderSeries [Born 1964 I do not know anybody who works in the game industry ~ I just enjoy games : - ]
    Expand
  93. Nov 23, 2012
    9
    Lovely stealth game that presents great challenge on precision and execution. The story is good too but I can't really say I played it for that, but I will play through it again just to see what the other ending is and see what other ways I can go about completing my missions.
  94. Oct 15, 2012
    9
    I'll just keep this brief, everything about this game is awesome, except the story, which is in no way interesting, it has no climax, and has an abrupt ending. What this game really has, is options, for every obstacle their can be 2-7 different ways to defeat or bypass it, while also offering an adequate stealth aspect to the game, its not shadow stealth like the older Splinter Cell games, but Line of sight stealth, its decent, what more could be said. The game also provides you with many different weapons, gadgets and powers to sneak or kill with, its just plain fun, while having a moderate amount of replay-ability. Expand
  95. Apr 8, 2013
    7
    There are some very good and some very bad decisions behind this game.
    The good:
    The background, the environment, is top notch. You can clearly see bethesda at its best in the small details, a very good steampunk, grimdark environment gaining some depth with every book you find. The plot is believable, even tough nothing new, and thankfully it's about one city and its government, not
    another "save the universe" cheap crappy plot. Music and graphics are also very good, and you can see that a lot of work went into this game. In fact, while horrible messes like Mass Effect 3 are probably mistakes to blame on a corporate timetable imposed on the developers, the problems of Dishonored are mostly about the game mechanics themselves.
    The bad:
    The stealth is quite shallow, being built around skills that allow you to blink around and stop time. It is in fact a better game if you simply refrain from using such skills most of the time, but you will come across some section which will force you to do that. Going for a killing spree is just plain boring, and I wouldn't recommend that, in the same way I wouldn't recommend it in Deus Ex HR.
    The game also has pretty much no replay value. Maybe I'll pick it up again in some months, and then forget it forever.
    Expand
  96. Jan 25, 2014
    8
    You can tell there's a lot of work behind this game. Very good graphic with its "comic book" style and so "dark" you will really immerse in this plagued world. Level design and non-linear ways of completing missions is the best part of this title. But ... at the end it's not that long and even it the game authors think you will replay it a lot of times... i think you won't. Buy it if it comes cheap. You will have fun. Expand
  97. Aug 8, 2013
    10
    An amazing game. Stealth, action and narrative are all top notch here, Having played through the base game I literally can't understand some of these low score reviews they make no sense to me. The combat is fluid and with the various magic powers at your disposal, fun and varied. The stealth works intuitively and is one of the better examples of the genre. The world is amazing and deeply intriguing, if the game has a flaw it is compared to how interesting the world is some of the characters seem shallow and that at some points near the end the games limited funding shows (but just barely)

    I usually reserve a 10 for games I feel people are unfairly bashing en-mass. Not so this time, a true gem of a game definitely worth experiencing.
    Expand
  98. Mar 2, 2013
    10
    Probably best game i have been playing last time. This awesome piece of software is no way near Bioshock like some people say. It feels more like mix of Dark Messsiah and Thief with its own great atmosphere and creative level design. Cartoon-like graphics isn't brilliant but definitely stylish. Simple story isn't about revenge cold served only. Noticeable moral choices make gameplay even more interesting. Summary: there is no perfect game and Dishonored was made as good as could be made. Developers efforts are visible and should be appreciated. Expand
  99. Dec 3, 2012
    7
    Definitely not what I expected. I'm not quite sure what, exactly, I was expecting... Certainly more of an open-world approach, coming from Bethesda. Maybe something more like Fallout 3 or Skyrim, but in a whalepunk setting.

    That's not what I got. But the game is still fun.

    The game is very strongly mission-based and very linear. No roaming the countryside, taking up random
    quests, discovering interesting new locations. This game is focused on a single storyline, a single goal.

    You may have different paths through any given mission... Able to choose between slaughtering everyone or stealthily sneaking through an area... But you can't complete the missions out of order. And after you've finished with a mission area, you're done with it. Even if a later mission sends you to the same area - it's actually a new location that just looks the same.

    It also feels like stealth isn't given nearly as much focus as the gameplay trailers led me to believe. None of the magical abilities you can earn do anything to improve your stealthiness. No invisibility or cloud of shadows or anything like that. Lots of fast-travel stuff... Lots of combat-oriented stuff... But stealth is limited to simply hiding behind boxes and remaining out of sight.

    The whalepunk setting, for lack of a better term, is absolutely terrific. The architecture, characters, costuming, ambient sounds... All mesh to create a downright haunting experience. I found myself, on a number of occasions, just hanging out on a rooftop and listening to civilians complain about the plague... Or listening to a guard whistle as he went about his patrol.

    The controls were solid, responsive, behaved basically as I expected they should.

    The graphics were decent. Looked nice. No obvious issues or corners-cut.

    I find myself wishing there was more to the game... A more expansive storyline, a more open world. It's fun, but it just isn't as epic in scale as most of Bethesda's games. And I wish it was. I want to see more of the world.

    Hopefully there'll be a sequel, or some DLC, or something like that.
    Expand
  100. stg
    Dec 30, 2012
    9
    Pretty awesome. The graphics are just good, but the gameplay is great fun. This game is very much structure toward stealth, so don't buy it unless you like the genre.

    The universe of Dishonored is a steampunk city half destroyed by plague, and is fairly well executed.

    You can go around killing everyone (but you better keep it stealthy because you won't survive being attacked by
    several enemies at once), slip around, or put them to sleep. You can also upgrade several magical powers, such as teleporting sort distances, slowing or freezing time, having enemies turn to ashes as you kill, and much more. Expand
  101. Feb 14, 2013
    0
    I really enjoyed this game. I played through it right through again right after I finished it. If you like stealth-espionage games, this one follows in those footsteps pretty well and I recommend it. The gameplay is challenging, engaging and tactical and the world is interesting and has it's own character. The graphics aren't top notch but the game is attractive and immersing enough that it held my attention. And the level design I'd have to say this is about the best level design I've seen in a while kudos to the level designers. I do, of course, have a few minor nits. The narrative is not all that great. Not that the plot and the story is bad, I just found the dialogue and the characters to be on the bland side. That and I wish that Corvo was actually a character with dialogue of his own. To me it felt like there was a missing component to the game in that he was silent. The gameplay, while quite engaging, didn't really feel especially groundbreaking. If you've played thief and deus ex, the gameplay will feel very very familiar. Having said that, if you're stepping up to a stealth-espionage game, you know ahead of time that you're picking up a thief-deus ex progeny so what the hell. Anyways, the magic, especially blink, makes a nice little twist in the gameplay that's fun and interesting without feeling excessively overpowered. I know alot of people think it is, but to that I say: how many times when you used it were you not thinking about your situation and using timing to use it properly? Kinda the point of the game??? Despite the familiar feeling of the gameplay it is a refinement over older instalments, though I hope the next stealth-espionage game I play feels fresher. Collapse
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 29
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 29
  3. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. 90
    We can draw comparisons with other titles all day, but everything is based on something. Dishonored remains a unique gem in a beautiful, yet chaotic world, with flawless gameplay. [December 2012]
  2. Nov 9, 2012
    75
    Dishonored rarely challenges the players, but it doesn't take them for fools, either, so that's an achievement compared to other games in the genre. Just don't expect strokes of genius like the Shalebridge Cradle level from Thief: Deadly Shadows.
  3. 100
    Dishonored injects new life into stealth actions and their sophisticated worlds. Awesome work in every detail. [Nov 2012]