User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2472 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 21, 2014
    10
    Based in a fictional setting of Dunwall, Dishonored tells us an interesting story of political corruption, betrayal, oppression and resistance, and of course lots and lots of death, whether it’s at the hands of the plague or the never-ending conflict that goes on. The immersive setting and nice story-telling are then assisted with gameplay that gives the player a chance to tackle every challenge in their own way.

    What I greatly enjoyed about Dishonored is the diversity in which it allows you to approach its challenges. It’s a similar style of gameplay as the Deus Ex games. The player can go in with stealth, or they can go guns blazing, or maybe to try some diplomacy, or even to mix and match all of those. Even the primary targets can be handled in ways other than violence. That’s right – it is possible to complete the game without killing any major antagonist.

    Depending on how the player handles each mission, they will acquire either high chaos or low chaos. Being merciful, using non-lethal ways of taking down regular enemies, and not triggering alarms all lead to low chaos, which in turn leads to a good ending. The opposite leads to high chaos and hence a bad ending. This greatly adds to the replayability of the game and makes it interesting to complete it at least twice.

    Apart from standard weapons and equipment used in each mission, the player also learns supernatural powers throughout the gameplay. They can do so by acquiring special runes which are found in many areas of the game. Many of these powers are very interesting and provide excellent opportunities to try out new and creative ways of getting past a challenge at hand. Perhaps the most commonly used power is Blink, which allows the player to quickly teleport short distances from one cover to another, which is extremely useful for stealthy gameplay. There are several great powers to use, but the ones that stood out the most to me were Possession, which allows the protagonist to possess rats and other small animals and to get through small crawlspaces this way, Dark Vision, which allows the player to see nearby enemies through walls, and Bend Time, with which the player can temporarily slow, and with an upgrade completely stop, the time.

    There are few minor things to criticise about Dishonored, like the lack of ways to take out the enemies non-lethally (sleep darts and upclose seem like the only ways), or how sometimes enemy AI and behaviour can be a bit unpredictable. The ending also felt a bit rushed, but once I got to the end of the game, I realised that it’s not so much the ending that’s important in games like these, but the journey itself. All those are just small drawbacks and were nothing compared to the unforgettable experience the game as a whole provided to me. A single playthrough may go for only 15-20 hours, but each minute of that playthrough keeps you fully immersed in the game’s rich and somewhat gloomy steampunk setting, not to mention its great replay value.
    Expand
  2. Oct 17, 2012
    8
    Very good game overall, one of the better ones to be released this year. It's held back from true greatness by some minor flaws however. The good: choice. There are so many different ways to play this game it's ridiculous. You can be stealthy and go through the game without killing a single soul, or you can be an instrument of chaos, slaughtering innocents and hostiles alike. This difference in play styles can influence the ending that you receive, similar to Bioshock. The powers and equipment that you receive throughout are fun to use and make you feel like a badass. The art style and art direction are phenomenal, also similar to Bioshock. It's a mesmerizing world. Most of the voice acting is decent, and the replay value is through the roof. Combat is visceral and strategic, with an emphasis on parrying and countering. The bad: the story isn't as great as I would like it to be. I felt that I just didn't' care enough the about the characters, and the empress' assassination at the beginning just didn't hit home. I personally would have rather seen a lengthier introduction to give us a feel for the characters, which would allow for a more emotional investment in the story. Also, the graphics, from a technological aspect, aren't really up to snuff, even on PC. Textures are murky and blurry up close, and the animations are a bit stiff. The art direction previously mentioned makes the game still look decent though, Overall, a good contribution to my gaming library. If you want a blend of Assassin's Creed and Bioshock, look no further. Expand
  3. Nov 8, 2012
    8
    A game that is absolutely wonderful and quite long if played stealthy and possibly without killing anyone, but also rather frustrating, since while the developers pushed for a stealth approach, actual stealth mechanics are stripped to a few options, compared to the wide range of powers and gadgets aiming towards direct assaults or killing galore. The graphics are fantastic: sure they're not hyper-realistic, but they have a very personal style, which makes it way more fascinating than the usually dull AAA 3D. The story is ok: predictable but nice, though it lacks some emotional power. Expand
  4. Jan 13, 2014
    10
    Fantastic game. Real gem.

    +story, atmosphere, design (of everything from costumes to levels),gameplay, world changes and reacts to your actions (reminds me of first Deus Ex).

    -sometimes too easy with all the powers player have
  5. Dec 20, 2012
    9
    Fantastic game, game of the year. Loads of options on how to approach each level and some awesome spells and abilities an real immersive game world with great characters.
  6. Dec 23, 2012
    7
    I know that this game has been acclaimed by reviewers ... I see many reviewers giving good ratings for this game while being quite negative in their review. I guess it's because this game has some really nice features but at the same time, a lot of improvements could be done. My opinion : it's not a bad game but it's not really worth playing. My advice to players : play with the supernatural powers and check videos on youtube, it might help you to enjoy the game Here are the things I would change to make it better : 0- Improve stealth killing mechanism How many times, I was behind an opponent, but because I was not perfectly aligned or at perfect distance, I could not "stealth kill" and got detected instead. By stealth kill, I mean non-lethal : choke-out holds 1- Improve "see through walls" It's working fine BUT what's the point of making a good looking game, if players use X-RAY vision (aka Dark Vision) which makes everything looks yellow ... 2- Improve graphics Yeah sometimes it looked great, but for example, faces/visages were not that great 3- Make it easier to have the "good ending" At least, make it more obvious, at the start of the game, that it's important to kill as less opponents as possible. Let the player knows how many kills (or some kind of indication) he needs to move to the dark side or to get back to the bright side 4- Make a less dark atmosphere Is it life not enough dark already ? Personal preference. 5- Improve load/save time 6- Make it easier to fight with opponents standing near 7- More original Yeah, I felt like playing a mix of Bioshock, Batman and AC. 8- Put less items to "loot" As much as I liked to find where were the Runes, I disliked to spend so much time taking money/items everywhere. Well, I could have just let the money there, which I did often but when you start a game, you never know if you gonna need all that money, etc. 9- Improve "lifetime" I know many will disagree but multiplayer gives you one reason to not rent or resell the game 10- Let us see/hear the hero !!! Maybe the biggest flaw 11- Improve translation (french) Ok I should have played it in English. But for people who can't, the voice of Horatio Caine from CSI Miami for all the guards, seriously ? 12- Let us kill instead of playing stealth and still have the good end By playing stealth all the time (or almost), you're missing out on interesting techniques/abilities/strategy. 13- Improve the Blink power Too hard to tell if the distance is too far to be reached via Blink 14- Give the powers earlier in the game Expand
  7. Jan 5, 2013
    10
    Great game, stealth actions like hiding under tables - ingenious. Graphic is beautiful, sound - very nice, moving - very smooth, zero any, tiny technical problems, and what's most important, game-play is enjoyable, story is fine and time to finish is very good - about 16-20 hours for me. And there is a tempting to play one more time, but another style, because game see your actions and show really different endings.
    Game is really worth any penny.
    Expand
  8. Mar 17, 2013
    8
    A truly well-written game with a high fun factor. With this game, you really get the whole package in terms of gameplay mechanics. Whether you take the low profile stealth road, chaotic brute force combat road or anything in between, it's all very enjoyable and addicting. The same goes for the setting and atmosphere. The amount and combination of awesome weapons, powers and many player-determined plot directions add to the replay value immensely. However, I do have a few issues with the game. First off, there could have been so much more. I thought the game was a bit short, and given the many creative gameplay mechanics, I felt there was acres of room the game could have used up to be better. It was like a child receiving an amazing new toy, but had very limited time to play with it. Second, the dialogue. The dialogue in the game is well done, but it's easy to notice that it's also a little lazy. For a game with such great gameplay and atmosphere, some of the voice acting comes off as rushed and emotionless. This is noticed the most by the dialogue given by enemies, where it gets repetitive and senseless. Lastly, the characters. Whether the characters are enemies, allies or neutral, not too many of them have uniqueness and can come off as characters that are there just for the sake of just being there and not establishing much connection. I didn't find myself having intended dispositions of some characters when I was intended to. Overall, a brilliant game and definitely falls into the "something every kind of gamer should play" category. Expand
  9. Nov 15, 2012
    8
    I think the most unique part of this game is that you get to choose the level of violence or stealth that you will use to complete the game. The main story in the game is sort of interesting, but nothing new; i.e., hero saving the damsel at the end of the game. Also, you aren't overwhelmed with hundreds of side missions--there are some, but the amount is manageable. Some may disagree with me, but I get confused when there are too many side mission. All in all, this is a good game, but I would suggest waiting until the price drops before buying this one. Expand
  10. Dec 28, 2012
    10
    This game is a real gem in a world full of recycled material and plots. It takes stealth play and ambush tactics to a new level. It's linear in objective but the options for getting to point B are vast and make for great replay. It's like each board is a giant puzzle. The play time is about 10 to 15 hours for the campaign. I've gone through it twice choosing a different way to do things each time and played a few of the missions several times just for kicks. I noticed each time I played that different options arose for upgrading too which made for a unique experience as well. It's like going through it once was like "being an assassin 101" after you realize your potential then the fun really begins. The A.I. is really good too. So watch out and don't be seen or heard they will find you in a heartbeat. Expand
  11. Mar 27, 2013
    9
    "History repeats itself". Dishonored, a "new word" in stealth-action games is just old book in buatiful new cover. But it still good book. "Thief" for this generation
  12. Nov 29, 2012
    8
    Dishonored is great in a lot of ways, but mediocre in a few. It has an excellent setting and level design, and there are many ways to accomplish objectives, whether by sneaking over rooftops, disabling alarm systems or just brute forcing your way though. That said, the enemy AI is pretty bad and stealth is rather simplistic, depending mainly on line of sight, not light level. The story is just... eh. I never really hated any of the antagonists, even in the last few missions, but maybe that's the point. I had heard a playthrough is pretty short, but if you explore or enjoy the stealth aspect you can expect about 15 hours. Expand
  13. Dec 28, 2012
    8
    This game is great. It's a tonne of fun and I recommend it to anyone who likes stealth games. The only problem I have with this game is that killing everyone and your targets gets you a bad ending and doing everything the non lethal way gets you a good ending. This would be fine if the game didn't seem to be so tailored to you killing people. While there's a million different way to kill targets (And it's probably not lot more fun if you get creative) there's only a couple of ways to non-lethally dispatch enemies, sleep darts and choking them, rendering most powers and upgrades almost useless. This doesn't stop the game from being hella fun though, so buy it. Expand
  14. Nov 16, 2012
    8
    This is a really good game with lots of freedom on user's hands. Not only you can choose between hack and slash or stealth mode, but both ways of playing are well done and nicely balanced. What's more, you usually have half a dozen completely different ways to penetrate a heavily fortified building.
    The only drawback is the lack of longevity, but that's become a usual problem in modern
    gaming industry.
    All in all, the game is worth your time.
    Expand
  15. Aug 3, 2013
    10
    I'm a bit late in playing this title, but I felt compelled to write this review, as I have just completed Dishonored. Dishonored puts you in the role of Corvo, royal protector of the Empress of a fictional kingdom. The Empress is murdered early into the story and you are blamed for her death, and sent to be executed. You must escape from execution, and find the real killers of the Empress and ensure that her daughter becomes the new Empress. As the royal protector, you are versed in various forms of weaponry including swords, guns, bombs, and sabotage equipment. Additionally, you gain supernatural powers such as teleporting, x-ray vision, and various other very cool powers that help you traverse the world. Your enemies include plague victims that have gone mad, as well as royal soldiers, and a few creatures. There's tesla coils that you must either disable or sabotage so that they kill your enemies, and other like contraptions designed to keep order. Dishonored uses the Unreal Engine, so it is very beautiful to look at, and very stable. The art style is sort of a cartoony Victorian steampunk style, and works nicely with the game engine. Sound and music are nice, and the voice work is top notch. This game feels a lot like Dark Messiah Might and Magic, which incidentally was made by the same people, and although that game was not very well received due to bugs and technical problems it had right out of the gate. I feel like this game is the spiritual successor to Dark Messiah Might and Magic, but with all of the flaws worked out. I would definitely recommend this game for anyone who likes stealth action or first person shooters. Expand
  16. Mar 10, 2013
    5
    The story is thin, short. The skills are good, but the game is boring after a time. The combat is so buggy, often you get hit by a swordsman from 1 kilometre. The graphics are not the best, and the sounds should be better. Gameplay 2/3; Warranty 2/3; Graphics 1/2; Sounds 1/2; Bugs -1; Overall 5/10
  17. Nov 27, 2012
    8
    As a Thief fan, I will honestly say that I was slightly disappointed by Dishonored. First of all, let me say that Dishonored's visual aesthetics and world design is astounding; the city of Dunwall feels like a real place and a lot of effort has gone into its history. The gameplay itself is a mixed bag: the powers are generally quite useful and never feel unnecessary (except for the possibly game breaking Dark Vision), the sword combat is challenging although unsophisticated and movement is smooth and intuitive, but I don't feel they make the most of the rooftops through use of blink and the levels in general feel somewhat restrictive compared to Thief. Despite some good uses of environmental & emergent storytelling, the actual plot is fairly poor in Dishonored. The plot is predictable and the silent protagonist actually cripples the storytelling and characterisation; with characters all having great visual design, but mostly bland personalities. Technically, the game is quite a good port; with a good amount of customisation and an FOV slider, plus the option to disable smoothing. Overall though, Dishonored is a bold attempt to mix stealth and action with some great mechinics and setting, but it's let down by a lack of depth in the story or characters, some AI issues and the limitations of both the levels and the powers available. Still well worth a purchase, and an excellent introduction to stealth games. Expand
  18. Apr 17, 2013
    8
    4/17/2013
    Picked this game up as it was on sale. A lot of fun, not sure I would have paid full price, but as long as you play the game with what it presents, it is well worth the time you take to put into it. I enjoyed it a lot, but you can play in two ways, from point A to B, or checking all the areas and really trying to kill no one and remain hidden and get all the goals.
    Althought,
    it is lacking in a lot of areas such as abilities and weapons, it is well worth $30. Expand
  19. Mar 25, 2013
    7
    Dishonored is an odd game to review. I love it and enjoyed most of my time with it, yet the flaws are there and really hold me back from giving a positive review. The game isn't quite as open as it promotes and the choices come down to Action Route A or Stealth Route B. Storytelling is all over the place and none of the characters are really memorable or interesting. Buy this for the gameplay and the atmosphere the world creates. You will enjoy your time with this game, but the more you play, the more you wish it was better. Expand
  20. Oct 18, 2012
    7
    This game is not anything special but in comparison to other games released this year this is a masterpiece. It reminds me on oldschool games and i enjoyed playing it. I hope they will make more games like that in the future.
  21. Nov 15, 2012
    8
    Dishonored is an interesting game. Nice artistically done environments. Great voice overs. Multi point access to the areas and objectives. Two ways to play game. And over all believable world with a lot of details and back story's. I wish we would see more games like this than clone FPS games.
  22. Nov 11, 2012
    8
    Aun me queda la ultima mision pero este juego es una de las mayores sorpresas del año
    Es desafiante, divertido y esta lleno de posibilidades.
    Quizas hubiera venido bien la inclusion de un mapa de los niveles en vez de que te marquen los objetivos a lo Call of Duty.
    GRAFICOS: 8,5 SONIDO:8,5 JUGABILIDAD: 8,5 DURACION: 8
    TOTAL: 8,4
  23. Jan 1, 2014
    2
    Boring and tedious. Picked it up on a Steam Sale for $7.50 and I can't keep playing it. Switching powers is a pain, the auto-save checkpoint system is kind of a mess (expect to go back and get runes again and reassign them to powers when you die before the next checkpoint), and the game is just not that interesting. It's a burden to pick up and play, I didn't find it engaging at all. The game looks and sounds good, but that's all. The only game on the market today with rogue-like elements that nails it from alpha to omega is Assassin's Creed 4. Expand
  24. Feb 1, 2013
    7
    A very enjoyable game, but also somewhat of disappointment. I probably wanted it to be like Thief more than I should have, and although there are many similarities to Thief, the game-play just doesn't live up to it. The story, design and characters are all superb, and it's proof that a new idea, and a different approach to the typical shooter, can be successful.
    By the time I'd finished
    the game, trying to keep the death-count as low as possible, I felt like I'd missed out on taking a more savage approach to the missions. So I replayed the whole game, and tried to kill as many of the bad-guys as possible (and even a few innocents along the way), and it was like a different game. I'm all for choice within game, and a flexibility to how missions can be approached, but I think the game would have been slightly improved by, once in a while, forcing you to take either a stealthy approach or a guns-blazing approach (similar to the Thief games). This would have meant that someone like me, who's default approach would always be stealth, would have had the chance to let-loose once in a while. I know that choice was always there, and I could have done exactly that at any point, but I didn't really believe that the bad-guys really deserved to die. They were just following whomever was in command, after all. My immersion in the game's narrative was actually preventing me from having a bit of fun. Maybe if some of the levels contained baddies who really deserved getting blown-up or an arrow to the head I would have had more chance to use more of my weaponry on my first play-though. There were times when a stealthy approach was the best way to avoid being killed, so these situations forced you to use more softly-softly tactics, but there was no point when a more action-packed method was essential. Sometimes, too much choice is a bad thing.
    Once I did decided to replay the game and in a more gung-ho fashion, I noticed how much EASIER the game had become. I could breeze through some of the levels in a fraction of the time I did when I was trying not to kill anyone, and I started to understand the criticism of those who took this approach on their first play-though and felt short-changed.
    Also, I appreciate the fact that the developers spent a lot of time to make sure each platform was given individual focus, but it still felt as if the PC version retained too many aspects of the console version. The ability to turn off most of the HUD elements, for example, is proof of this, but it took so long for me to figure-out which I needed and which I didn't that it probably spoiled the opening chapter. This is a probably a separate discussion, but you've got to ask yourself why do developers need to add so many HUD elements to make the game easier? If you can turn them off, and are still be able to play the game, then why have them in the first place? If the game needs them then why not just find other ways to offer clues to the player? Glowing objects, a compass and a map with objective indicators are usually more than enough, and have been a staple of FPS games since the Doom-era, so why introduce more clutter on the screen and destroy the immersion? Is it because they think console gamers are generally stupid, or perhaps it's because they're catering to gamers who are too young to play the game, but who they know inevitably will? This seems a far more reasonable explanation, and it's a real shame that a game's rating (18 in this case) shouldn't also reflect the intellect of the age-range it's aimed at. There's no evidence (despite what some may believe) that PC gamers over the age of 18 are any more intelligent than console gamers over the age of 18, so introducing ways to make the game easier, beyond the usual difficulty levels; which generally affect combat rather than game-play; can only be catering to younger players. And that is just WRONG. Anyway, I digress.
    Despite all this, Dishonored was like a breath of fresh-air, and I hope it gives more developers the courage to try something different with the common FPS. And I eagerly look forward to the inevitable sequel. Instead of filling the Thief-void, though, it just made me want Thief 4 to come sooner!
    Expand
  25. Jan 3, 2013
    8
    Great game, one of my all time favorite FPS-games for PC, and probably the only one I've started over the second I finished it the first time. What keeps it from scoring higher than 8 is the lack of multiplayer and rather short story-mode.
  26. Dec 25, 2012
    9
    After the first hour of this game, I was very disappointed. I thought it was tedious, linear, and a complete waste of money. The trailers and and media made it seem as if the game was nonlinear and offered freedom of choice; indeed, one trailer even made it look like there'd be parkour involved. I was quite excited, and after playing through the beginning, I found the reality to be utterly disgraceful. Boring, easy enemies and a completely linear path made the gameplay a grind. Intrusive objective markers and a huge HUD floated on my screen, and poor controls made me wonder if this was really a terrible console port.

    However, since I try to withhold judgment on games until I've played for at least two or three hours, I kept playing. Shortly after the first hour, the game really opened up quickly. I started discovering how useful the jump/grab system was, and I started getting into the meat of Dishonored. I messed around in the options menu, and realized I could turn off the bits of the HUD that I didn't like. I mapped the misplaced block key to one of my gaming mouse thumb buttons, which really helped the gameplay. I got out of the beginner phase, and realized the game is far from linear. Deus Ex is similar, but Dishonored is actually more open, with more realistic ways to climb over stuff in the environment.

    There's no parkour, sadly, but Dishonored comes very close. You have a long reach when jumping, and you can pull yourself fluidly up on almost any plausible surface. The combat is a little sluggish, but it's nowhere near as bad as Deus Ex or Killzone 2 in that regard. Both of those are great games in their own right, but I don't think anyone could play them without thinking that the combat is kind of unresponsive.

    About an hour into the game, you get into areas with a lot of alternate paths. Really, I don't even want to call them paths. You're set loose in a city district, and you can jump, slide, and climb your way to most areas within the district. You generally hold a sword in one hand and a special weapon like a pistol, crossbow, tool, or spell in the other hand.

    The graphics are decidedly meh. The art direction is good, and they make use of lighting effects such as ambient occlusion and sun shafts, but overall the polygon counts and texture resolutions are a little on the low side. Having said that, most of the time the game is really quite pretty, though I don't think it ever really looks realistic. It's easy to run smoothly as well, and that's not just because of the mediocre graphics. It's well optimized, like most Unreal 3 Engine games are, and my GTX 460 and Phenom II x4 run it well above 60 fps on ultra at 1080p.

    So, in short, if you only play the first hour or two of this game, you'll probably be disgusted. The tutorial and beginner mission is really not interesting at all, and it makes the game seem like a generic, linear stealth shooter. If you play past the first hour or two, however, Dishonored becomes awesome, and completely lives up to the trailers and hype. There are relatively wide and unique open areas, the lore becomes interesting, and the stealth is world-class. I'm very glad I didn't ditch the game after the first hour, because it has a real shot at becoming my favorite game ever. I deduct one point because the intro is lackluster, and it probably turns off a lot of people since it's not an accurate representation of the game. Arkane should probably work on their first impressions. Everything of theirs that I've played since Arx Fatalis has had a very weak first hour.
    Expand
  27. Oct 17, 2012
    9
    A very strong title, Lots possibilities to complete your missions, But i have one major complaint, IT'S TOO SHORT! Seriously, I took my time doing a lot of exploring and doing side objectives through the missions and i squeezed 13 hours out of it, But considering the fact that the replay value is pretty high in this game because of the Low/High Chaos system i can't really complain that much. And i think that this game is kind of easy as well, I played on Very Hard the first time and i had to Quick load and Quick save pretty often because i wanted to experiment with some ways to approach an objective. But other than that the enemies are not that tough and usually you can blink your way out of combat if you so desire. Despite all that, This game rocks! Expand
  28. Jul 23, 2013
    10
    An absolute 10; best game I've ever played.
    My game style: I love playing spy in TF2, I like Portal, and I like some elements of Hitman. This game has all those elements and then some. Thank you to the team who built this piece of art, a lot of thought was put into everything, the powers, the maps, etc.. .it is VERY well thought out and the user experience is greatly benefited from
    this.
    It was easily the most immersive gaming experience I've had, this was the first time I played a game and felt like I really was there, especially the mansions. The art direction was done so well, I took my time in some maps just to admire the buildings, they were so fun to explore (I only wish more variety in the paintings, why would there be copies of the same painting in one mansion?). And I love that there's secrets to find, the maps can often be done however you want, stealth or guns blazing you are not forced to play a certain way, while not open world, it's certainly not rigid linear.
    The game took me about 9 hours to beat. I have started the DLCs and they are already worth getting. I hope they produce more and hope there is some sort of sequel. I would actually recommend playing the City Trials DLC FIRST so you understand how the powers work and know which ones you want to upgrade, if I had known I would have played it a little differently.
    My only regret is that I waited for this to come on sale, it's worth the full price, don't wait!!
    Expand
  29. Jan 1, 2013
    7
    Is a good game and I true what it states, you can play it like you want either as an accion game killing everyone or using stealth aproach, the problem in this game is the stealth is Ok but It could be much better Corvo only has one non leathal take down and it only can be used when you are facing a enemy in the back in frontal assault your only option are sleep darts but you can only carry 10 and you cant increase the sleep dart capacity so if you run out the only alternative is escaping asuming you don´t want to kill anybody in the game. Don´t take me wrong is a good accion game an a decent stealth game that could be better in the sneaking aspect Expand
  30. Apr 13, 2013
    8
    Dishonored is a first-person stealth oriented action adventure that takes place in the steampunk inspired city of Dunwall. Playing as Corvo Attano, the game does a great job in allowing you freedom in how you can complete your objectives. In addition to this, there are numerous places to explore in search of money, items, collectibles and such. Because of this, I have to disagree with the reviewers who believe the game is very linear. The story is pretty easy to understand and books are everywhere for those who wish to know about Dunwall amongst other things. The game also throws in a plot twist to keep the plot engaging, though I found the ending rushed and a tad disappointing as I was hoping for something more conclusive and explanatory. Graphics wise, the aesthetic choices made complement the setting well, though there are still some low res textures here and there. The sound quality is quite good however where excellent voice acting, sound effects and soundtrack coincide to enhance the experience. Gameplay is also quite good, offering two distinctly different playstyles stealth and combat, though personally I think the best way to play is a mixture of both. You also choose whether to use non-lethal or lethal methods to take care of enemies. I would recommend lethal despite the high chaos as non-lethal restricts your arsenal to simply sleep darts and knocking people out from behind though feel free to play it that way if you wish. Just some other pros and cons of the game: Made with the PC platform in mind Very fast loading times Some degree of replayability A good length I think the game would get boring if it continued for much longer, took me around 12-16 hours) I thought the powers were kinda unbalanced. Expand
  31. Sep 24, 2013
    10
    I cannot think of a single bad thing to say about this game. It's the perfect blend of Deus Ex and Bioshock, within a detailed, immersive world with its own interesting backstory told throughout the game. Playing as an agressive gunsligner is fun. Playing as a sealthy backstabber/choker is fun. The designers took great care to make both playstyles viable and a blast to play.
  32. Vex
    Jul 27, 2013
    9
    Easily one of the best stealth FPS games I've played in years. Unlike predictable on-rails shooters that seem to be everywhere these days, this game provides you with amazing freedom as to how to approach various situations and problems. Want to go in guns blazing and destroying your enemies by invoking swarms of rats that are going to eat them alive? No problem. Want to possess a fish in a river and enter the complex through the sewer system? The game supports that. There is an enormous amount of latitude the player is allowed when it comes to dealing with various scenarios.

    The writing is really good and the storyline has some awesome twists and turns. The game employs the so called "chaos system" that keeps track of how much chaos you inflict on the world and dynamically adjusts the way the world responds to your actions. If you murder a lot of people, there are going to be more rats, plague, violent responses from guards and the world is just going to be a more miserable place. If you take a more merciful approach, it leads to a more stable world. What you do in the world also determines what game ending you will get.

    The music and art are superb and really contribute to the feeling of being in a dystopic steampunk world overrun by plague and oppressive government.

    If you liked Deus Ex Human Revolution, you don't want to miss out on this game.
    Expand
  33. Apr 10, 2013
    10
    Dishonored is proof that there is hope that the video game industry can pull off something new and exciting. While not exactly groundbreaking, Dishonored is one helluva fun game. The setting is awesome, the characters are great and the abilities and weaponry are also really cool, especially Corvo's balisong-like sword. The main complaint with the game is that while the stealth approach does make the storyline less depressing, its quite boring. You go around choking people to unconsciousness and then hiding their bodies, it gets really old fast. It IS however, worth it storywise. As for the all out violent approach, while more fun it is not advisable. Corvo while an expert fighter and assassin is quite fragile and you should not try taking on more than three guards if you can. One would distract you into a swordfight while the others would take potshots out of you with their pistols which pack quite a punch. I also have problems with the powers as some are obviously more useful than others like the Blink ability. In fact, its probably the only one you'll ever need. Nonetheless, Dishonored is unique and while I wished the story was a little bit better, its easily my favourite game of 2012, fully deserving of the awards and recognition it gained. Expand
  34. Nov 14, 2012
    8
    A great game that was engaging and solid to a T in gameplay. Then ending is... awful and is what gives it an 8.5 in my books. It truly is bland and unmoving which is a terrible shame. I really wanted to see more about the 'outsider' and several other aspects that get completely glossed over or forgotten. They should not have made three separate endings, there should be only one strong ending despite the branching game-play. It really has no point in the end. I truly love the game and the world and it is totally worth playing, but man.. its a trend with games now to end with a wimper, mostly due to cut funding or strict timelines, really is sad. Expand
  35. Nov 16, 2012
    8
    This is a really good game and Im glad I purchased it. On the down sides it is a fairly short game even when doing every side quest and collecting every item, also the story isn't really anything special pretty predictable and kind of silly. But on the plus side it has great re-playability because of the small but fun variety of powers. The options in this game unlike others are actually widely varied and you feel accomplished when you find the new path where you didn't expect to find one. After the 3rd run through in a 3 week period I was still finding new ways time after time to accomplish tasks in different was utilizing different powers. Melee combat is also improved over your typical slash block with shield gameplay of most sword wielding games. Expand
  36. Jan 2, 2013
    7
    It's not a bad game, it certainly shows a lot of potential, but falls short in some aspects. The story is a little cliche' and a little short, I finished it in 17 hours on hard without killing anyone or being spotted, getting the low chaos ending, I couldn't pull myself trough another gameplay to see the high chaos ending, maybe someday. Usually you get multiple ways of infiltrating and disposing of your target, but when you aim for perfection the game becomes quite linear, especially in the non lethal part, but there is still some fair choice involved, especially in the infiltration, with you being able to blink almost where you want, possess an animal, a person, stop time, etc. The powers are nice and original, as I said the possess ability can open new paths, you can pass check points as guards or get inside some small holes as a rat. I like the setting, which is trying to give you the steam punk vibe but not always succeeds, and sometimes it's more post apocalyptic, yes the general "lore" is definitely nice and interesting, like the weepers. I say this is a nice game, but nowhere near the best of the year or the best assassination one. In short, good fun for the first playthrough, but definitely overrated. Expand
  37. Dec 18, 2012
    9
    Fantastic game. the gameplay is a blast, there are many ways to go about each level, good progression and a compelling story. The ending is a little "meh", being a lame slideshow of half a dozen~ "what happened in the years to come" images. The game is also a tad easy unless you take the stealth/no kill approach, even on hard difficulty. Don't let that discourage you from the game, however. You will fully enjoy this game and almost everything it has to offer. Even hunting for bone charms for upgrades, or doing petty side quests, are entertaining and not so overly out-of-the-way that they take away from the experience. 9/10, would've gotten a 10 if the ending was on par with the rest of the game, but in all fairness, not many games being put out have very good endings, not even the great games like Dishonored. Expand
  38. Mar 24, 2013
    10
    This game is so much fun The story is pretty good itself, the world is original, but at this point it wouldn't be worth 10/10. What makes Dishonored strenght is liberty not like in a GTA (open world, etc), but you can find your own way to reach your goal, there is always several paths to reach it, and depending on your powers and you personal goals (ghost each path can be played several ways.
    In the end of the 15 hours of play, I've never felt so urged to start a new game to try other powers (you won't have all of them !)
    The only bad point would be that there are only a small set of powers available, if you add that to the fact you won't have all of them, you end up with a very limited set of skills. Hopefully there very well used, and you'll want to start another game to try the other ones.
    Expand
  39. Sep 9, 2013
    9
    Unlike the overrated Bioshock Infinite, or really any game released in the past 7 or 8 years, Dishonored is a real video game. This is what people expected back in the '90s, this is like Deus Ex, System Shock, all the games that weren't shallow and didn't use fancy gimmicks to lure the masses in. Dishonored is a short game, you can run through it about an hour if you really wanted to. But why would you? There's a world here, a story here, a living breathing setting that's like an open book. You can breeze through it without a care in the world, or you can peel through the pages one by one carefully absorbing every detail. If you're like me, you fall somewhere in the middle, like an average gamer would. The problem with Dishonored is that it was released too late. Gamers today expect action, linear corridors and lots of hand holding that tell them where to go and what to do. They expect games to keep this hand holding up for hours on end, so they can get their money's worth and call it a day. Dishonored doesn't do that. It's not your babysitter. It throws you into a world and doesn't say a word. You can explore every detail, or you can slaughter everything you see. The playstyles here are endless. Sneak through unseen? Why not slaughter every living creature on a rampage? Choke everyone out? Why not stealthily slit their throats and hide the bodies? Something for everyone, I assure you. Dishonored is a magical game. Almost perfect in the context of "video game". It engages the player to assume the role of a virtual character and interact with a world, it's entertaining and wholesome, you just have to believe it, and then find it. The gamers of today are too used to linear corridors, they should broaden their horizons, explore a little and experiment. I clocked in 25 hours of this game, without the 2 major DLC. With those, you're looking at about another 8 hours each. Dishonored is a terrific, near-perfect game. If the story wasn't complete garbage, it would be the epitome of gaming. Expand
  40. Feb 23, 2013
    7
    Dishonored is beautiful, but a bit shallow. Although immersive and stylish as a stealth game it fails at a very important thing grey stealth state. If you are ever noticed good luck, everyone in the immediate vicinity knows where you are (and extra soldiers magically appear out of thin air, too). If you approach everyone individually and stack bodies somewhere none of the enemies will ever suspect anything. Also, the dark sight skill is pretty much a necessity as it gives you the second best utility out of all, outshined only by the blink. Unless you go for the no magic achievement, in which case good luck to you... It is not a bad game by any means, it just lacks freedom margin there's usually more than one way to reach your objective unnoticed, but the only effective ones involve blink and high ledges. There's more than one way to kill a bunch of enemies, but, again, the effective ones are based on time stop and explosives. And, maybe, the occasional time stop and possession, if you are eager to waste mana. That's the entire game process there's the one boring but effective way of doing things and then there are a number of exciting but time consuming ways prone to failure. Choke him carry him drop him. Repeat N times, where N is the number of patrolmen. Or you can quicksave and try to do stage a mass casualty with rats, razorwire traps, grenades, et cetera. And actually pull it off on your third or fourth quickload. Oh, and Callista takes baths fully clothed... Expand
  41. Aug 28, 2013
    10
    This has to be one of the best Waste of time I have ever spent my Computer. I have enjoyed this one to the Max.

    I know some will say Graphics could be improved, but I say to them game play is more important that Graphics, and there is nothing wrong with the Graphics of this game in any way that detours from the story or immersion.

    [ I will say the Girls in the game are some very ugly
    choices in graphics design, but this is more of an artistic choice of the makers I believe than there actual talents at making pretty girls.]

    1. If you like stealth games this is near if not at the top of the list.

    2. If you like aggressive play, melee, ranged, explosive. again this is near or at the top of the list.

    3. if you like plot twists, and optional choices in how to do a level, then this is at the top of the list.

    4. if you like having some alternate ending's according to your choices, this one has that. Which makes replaying it a must
    not only for the choice's in endings, but also for the many, many optional ways to beat a level.

    5.The DLC's are actually worth the money, and as good as the original, with many twists.

    6. Hands down one of the best games I have played in years. I wish I could give it a higher score
    Expand
  42. Sep 8, 2013
    9
    Dishonored. What a story, what a game. It seems that anything Bethesda issues becomes success.
    In order to keep it short. Story is fantastic, diluted in beginning but later on shines like a diamond. I started the game on very hard mode with an objective to finish a game without killing hostile or civilian. However, the kidnapping of little girl and betrayal by your ''allies'' changed my
    mood from stealth thief to stealth assassin. I wanted justice. And that is what happens when the game is good. It changes your objectives and affects your gameplay. Like a good book. Once you finish it, you feel sorry there is no extra page somewhere hidden or you hope for a sequel.
    I will give 9,0 to Dishonored. The graphics is not top notch, and characters should have been better detailed, however everything else is pure 10.
    Expand
  43. Jan 7, 2013
    9
    Nearly a perfect execution for this genre (Superpower FPS like Bioshock or Crysis). Borrows heavily from some of the best games of the past 10 years. Artistic style inspired by Borderlands, superpower system inspired by Bioshock, architecture...think Victorian Half-Life 2. Allows you to play in a way that suits you, but primarily limited to stealth/non-lethal and aggressive/lethal. Aggressive approach can be a bit too easy and one-note. Stealth can get frustrating at times when the availability of take-downs gets nit-picky about exact position relative to adversaries and makes you feel more like an assassin robot than a fluid ninja. It was entertaining enough that after first completion (stealth/good guy) I immediately started my second play-through (aggressive/bad guy). Doesn't bring anything new to the genre, but brings some polish to some old and proven elements. Expand
  44. Nov 10, 2012
    10
    If the AI aren't talking of plot lines, the text tends to become the same "shall we meet for whiskey?" "yes, I believe so" and "do you think the city is getting any worse" almost as much as arrow to the knee. But all is forgiven for such an enticing story. If you play high chaos, you miss the best of the game. sneak like a mother **** Trust me, you'll be thankful you were good at the ending...
  45. Dec 27, 2012
    10
    I had high expectations for this game but it is far better than I believed a game could be. The number of ways to approach any situation is limitless. You can kill everyone or not touch anyone at all throughout the entire game. The city of Dunwall is masterfully sculpted with the incredible art direction. The character design is very creative. Dishonored is truly a breath of fresh air from the tonne of dumb shooters out today and truly demonstrates what a game can be and is the benchmark of what every developer should aim for. 10/10 Expand
  46. Feb 11, 2014
    10
    This game is probably one of the most enjoyable I've played in a while. The world they made for this game is extremely interesting, and the atmosphere easily makes half the game. The missions are extremely detailed with multiple routes to take to the objective, although I'll have to point out that in a way the game black mails you into nonlethal solutions by giving you a "worse" ending the more people you kill. While the high chaos ending where you killed a lot of people isn't happy, it's in my opinion the best one since I feel it fits with the overall theme of the game. The game is very polished, I only encountered a bug after 30 hours of playing. It's also very replayable, I was amazed at how much I over looked in the game when I played it the second time. The stealth and combat are very good and you have a great variety of abilities which let you do a lot of creative ways to get through things, and it's true variety, not just 30 weapons that all do the same thing. The only ability that's bad is dark vision, not because it's not useful, but because it's too useful and it feels like cheating to be able see basically everything of interest through walls at such a low mana usage. Otherwise the gameplay is great, but not hard enough. The guards can easily kill you if you insist on only using sword, but if you mix things up it's not very difficult, with some exceptions. I gave this game a 10/10 not because it was perfect but because there was nothing more you could really expect out of it that would significantly improve it. Hopefully in the next game they make it a little harder, because right now it's way to easy to get out of combat once you're in it most times, and they should remove dark vision and replace it with something else like telekinesis to pull things to you or something. Expand
  47. Dec 29, 2012
    8
    At first I thought this game was boring, it took awhile for me to get into it. This is defiantly a stealth game so if you like stealth games I highly suggest it, if your like me and like at least some action it will take awhile for you to get into it. Regardless this was still a great game and a pretty good story.
  48. Aug 21, 2013
    9
    A surprisingly good game. I was afraid of sneaking and those sneak-achievements, but after playing a while, it became a nice experience. Now, I can hardly imagine to play it violently.

    The graphics is acceptable, the mechanics is good and the music is non-intrusive, except when it sounds too similar to the "you have been detected" sound. The music brought up some nice Fallout 3/NW
    memories.

    One thing I kind of missed is the in-game progress on the collectibles and kill/detected counts; the collectibles show up temporarily, but the counts are shown only between missions, that is, hourly long missions.

    Once played through, the locations can be easily memorized; in a achievement-hunter-friendly way, but what annoyed me somewhat were the unskippable boat-landing sequences.

    I would give it 8.5
    Expand
  49. Jul 5, 2013
    9
    I will preface this with the fact that I am a big stealth/action story driven game fan. Dishonored is an incredible game in many ways. The lore of the world that Arkane has created is deep and well fleshed out in this moderately long gem. There were times where I would do a beautiful stealth run and the next mission blow it but recover and simply go about killing and giving up much of the stealth approach. The game leans toward a more stealthy and non-lethal approach with the level of chaos determining just how rough the world is for you to survive.

    The graphics are gorgeous and the art style is very Steam Punk, which I happen to enjoy. Corvo is unfortunately a silent protagonist which is a shame but I can live with it. The story is deep and VERY dark. Well written dialogue and limited but impactful cut scenes really help to carry the story without getting in the way.

    If you like gadgets, a sort of limited magic, stealth and action with a design that allows for either or both within a single mission and a truly unique and engaging but not very attractive grungy steam punk world you will love Dunwall and enjoy Corvo and all that Dishonored has to offer.

    At this point you can find Dishonored for as little as $24 and its a steal. There are only 9 missions but I played it and completed all of the optional mission objectives and got 21 hours of solid play time.
    Expand
  50. Aug 5, 2013
    9
    What i really love about this game is that it gives you the freedom to choose how to kill your enemies or not(stealth approach).The game is very good at storytelling,combat and at last but not least establishing a steampunk Victorian London look a like(Dunwall city).I think that when it came out it was and it still is a a breath of fresh air in videogame industry.
  51. Nov 27, 2012
    9
    I am puzzled to see 86 negative reviews. I read about 10 of them and most of these started with being oversold on the hype by the press. I mean, wtf, there are trailers, youtube videos, forums, user reviews and critic reviews and yet, people still can't made a judgement and had a very different expectation. And when it didn't meet, the game bet punished.

    I went into this game without
    seeing a video. I read forums impression. I know of the names behind this game: Harvey Smith and the guy who did City 17 in Half Life 2. These are strong designers. So, I went into the game expecting stealth, expecting strong story. And I was blown away by the graphics, atmosphere and the gameplay! This is a GoTY for me... and yet, I got bored with Syrim pretty fast. So my suggestion is read users reviews, watch youtube videos. Judge for yourself. Don't penalize a game because you had high expectation! Expand
  52. Jan 10, 2013
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I found this game experience to be a lot like LA Noire, where at first I was impressed and then half way through found everything to be redundant (gameplay and mission wise). I like the setting, characters, and some gameplay aspects of this title. On the downside, it was incredibly predictable. It doesn't help that the characters look about as evil as the men that they were asking you to assassinate. Graphics were not jaw dropping but not too different from the quality of a lot of other Unreal engine games. If I had to sum it all up, I would say it is a mixed between Hitman and Assassin's Creed (Makes sense since it is the same genre), but in Elder Scrolls: Oblivion experience of first person view. Then minus some points for predictability, and redundant gamplay and mission experience. Expand
  53. Jun 22, 2013
    8
    Game feels and looks great! Love the visual and artistic style of it, gameplay feels fresh and makes it replayable for several times with new outcomes and assassinations. Recommend for every assassin out there!
  54. Jan 11, 2013
    7
    Dishonored feels like Thief with cool magic abilities, a similar equipment and much less likeable characters.
    I admit I've had some fun with this game, but not as much as I expected. The powers are the most interesting aspect to toy around with, along with the equipment which is more or less a steampunk version of the weapons from Thief (bow, dagger, mines). I am not entirely happy with
    the graphic compartment, which has good level design but it seems a little dated in quality terms; especially the dark vision is incredibly dull, with those boring plain color items and enemies. The one thing I hated most were the characters; the protagonist is silent, lacking the personality of some Garrett or Azio Auditore; the NPCs are simply unpleasant to interact with and don't add much to the gameplay, I can't really connect or care about any one of them, even princess Emily, because the game doesn't allow you any real chances for conversation. I dislike especially their design, with deformed heads and huge hands they seem like caricatures more than regular human characters. The steampunk setting in general is interesting and... weird... though not as involving as my experience with Thief (sorry I keep bringing it up but it's clearly the older brother of this game, with sneanking around, loot and all!). Unfortunately the story itself hasn't much to offer, I could tell all the plot "twists", predictable as they are, hours before they actually happened.
    Oddly enough, the game gives you a homicidal arsenal to play with but rewards you more for a non-lethal approach, which doesn't make much sense to me. In Thief you were a thief, not a killer, so it made sense the game rewarded you for NOT killing people, but in Dishonored you ARE an assassin, so why make the player feel punished for killing enemies? It's what the game is about!
    Overrall, the game builds up a lot of tension and sadness in the player, with the plagued city, the rats and the sick people everywhere; it does it so well, I actually felt anguished in real life after playing Dishonored for several hours. Unless you decide to take out your weapons and crack some heads, you don't have much chance to let that tension out. I missed, in fact, some moments of adrenaline rush, when the stealth approach is off and you have to punch your way through enemy lines with brute force. I also missed a few simple things here and there, such as maps of the city in your inventory to get around, and highlights on the rat tunnels which are hard to spot.
    Dishonored is a nice game, but it could have turned out much better. It has good mechanics but not so well implemented, and sorely lacks bright moments, character interaction, surprises and in general, a deeper player involvement. I hope in a sequel to give it a higher rating, it's a 7- in this review.
    Expand
  55. Nov 28, 2012
    8
    Fist off, I would like to say that gimmethatsanwitch CLEARLY did not play the whole game. The plot is amazing,and the game is fun. My only qualm is that it takes awhile to get used to the controls.
  56. Jan 8, 2013
    7
    If you have a high end gaming pc and want a high end experience do not get this game. The water color textures are terrible. Just to get this game to look good takes build prop edits and a course in Nvidia Inspector. But other than the terrible visuals the game play by itself is really fun and the sound is awesome. I got 10hrs into the game before I uninstalled it.
  57. Jul 31, 2013
    9
    Dishonored features a great environment. The city of Dunwall is well built and the graphic style works well. Gameplay suffers somewhat from linearity both in the story and in the missions, but this is saved by the fun of the various gadgets and powers which grant the player a lot of ways to "mess about" in the levels. I don't really see the plot to be that weak, or the levels to be too small. The game feels and plays like a pretty GOOD console port. Definitely worth buying and a couple of play-throughs. While nothing is really outstanding or surprising, it's a solid game with an interesting setting and definitely will give some good memories. Expand
  58. Aug 19, 2013
    10
    wow i really loved the entire game, and i'm just done with the 3 DLC i hope for a fourth one haha. The game is awesome and always you'll want to walk for differents roads to get at the point.
  59. Oct 18, 2012
    8
    I have to say i'm underwhelmed given all the great reviews. Those who said before me that the stealth mechanics are rubbish are absolutely spot on. They had better stealth mechanics in the 'Riddick' games. I have never been a big fan of FPS stealth games, I feel stealth is best served in the third person where you get to see your character hiding behind objects and get a feel for exactly where they are in the environment. Deus Ex HR was quite good where it was First person but switched into 3rd so you could see the character and the enemies in relation to each other. The gameplay is fluid however and there is fun to be had with the different ways you can take people out or indeed avoid them completely. In that aspect it is a little too easy but I have yet to play it on the hardest setting. The games tour de force is Dunwall itself and the art direction which is very nicely done. With the plague and dead bodies dumped everywhere the game still makes it a rather nice experience to be in that environment. Its quirky and sinister at the same time, an air of unpleasantness always hanging yet never imposing. In general though it feels like there could have been a lot more to the game especially in its narrative. I'd give it an 8 because I think they could have done a lot more with it. No doubt there will be a sequel of some description. Expand
  60. Jul 25, 2013
    10
    Really, really good game. Be creative with your approach to the objective. Be stealthy and non-lethal or highly lethal playthrough, but with various tactics and weapons, traps, etc.
  61. Dec 21, 2012
    8
    While still a great game, it suffered from over-hype which made the end product slightly disappointing. I still enjoyed it, but I thought it had more potential.
  62. Mar 14, 2013
    10
    this game is solid,interesting and fun.bethesda has done a great job(again).the gameplay is good and fun.the graphics are good.the sthealth is very good.this game is the best game of 2012.
  63. Nov 11, 2012
    9
    This game is awesome, the story is very interesting, the characters are very believable, the stealth system is very fun. I gave it 9 because of the combat system, it's the worst thing in the game, if you want to play the game you should try being sneaky, it's way more fun.
  64. Nov 22, 2012
    8
    I would have to give this game an 8.5 Let me tell you whats wrong first...I brought it down to a 9 because I hate to say it....repetitive...repetitive game play... Yes there are different ways to do each mission but there just are not enough powers to make it not seem repetitive. What brought it down to an 8.5 from a 9 is the fact that the ending was poorly put together. All the decision you made, chose not to make, people you saved chose not to save... Doesn't matter there are only three endings that really differ from each other...Stilll great game... Really fun ...and the story is engrossing....hopefully some DLC will spruce it up! Expand
  65. Oct 31, 2012
    8
    Gameplay is very good with a mix of stealth and action. The ability to choose how missions play out is deserving of a high score itself. On the technical side however, graphics may look slightly disappointing as it has adopted a much more art style than photo realism. This is just a personal preference as if they went for realism it might have set a darker and more mysterious kind of tone. However, this sets the tone for the game well enough. Lighting effects look great as it's powered by unreal engine 3 and overall is an impressive pc game. Expand
  66. Oct 31, 2012
    8
    Wonderful, creative game mechanics and visuals based on stretching the Unreal engine. A joy to play and while ending wasn't incredible, the story was nice as a whole! Would recommend to anyone.
  67. Jul 29, 2013
    5
    I dropped this game after 1 hour playing. The story was not appealing to me at all. Work as a guard of your wife? I wasn't fond of the artistic setting. The gameplay is nothing new. And it's definitely more linear than the games used to be in this genre.
  68. Nov 16, 2012
    8
    I really enjoyed this game, the story was good, not the best, but I was engaged. I really like the charms and runes twist to it, if you like the run and shoot, give him perks that'll take advantage of that, if you like stealth, theres perks for that too, it really caters to your liking, The run and shoot isn't my cup of tea, and it really falls flat in this game, and it makes the game far too short. I did the stealthy playthough, whilst only killing a few guys, and I also did a tonne of side missions, took me about 12 hours to complete, a bit on the short end if you ask me, but those were some great 12 hours that left me wanting more. It really did remind me of Deus Ex mixed with Thief & Half-Life 2, but its not as great as any of those games, but if you like those games, I highly doubt you wouldn't enjoy this. Expand
  69. Nov 5, 2012
    9
    Awesome stealth/frontal assault game. All you need is patience and timing, and you can complete every mission with little to no deaths, or just go in guns blazing and killing everyone in your path. All the different abilities let you get creative about how you want to do each mission. The only thing i wish they had added was a button to hide your weapon/put your weapon away (there may be one, but after looking through the settings and keyboard binds, i haven't spotted it). Expand
  70. Nov 9, 2012
    10
    After reading the negative reviews, I'll say this: be the stealthy assassin, not the blast-everything-in-his-path guy. Better yet, try to get through the game without killing. That's where this game really shines.

    Doshonored is extremely well done and polished. Before playing, I thought it would be Skyrim-esk, but the game world is more Deus Ex, in that you have mission areas to
    explore & clear. I generally like open-ended words like Skyrim, but for some reason, the ambiance in Dishonored makes it 100% enjoyable anyway. This might be the first game I have ever played twice.

    Dishonored is, you know, "that game" that gets you feeling like you can't wait to get back to it. Hell, I created a Metacritic account just to vote on this one.
    Expand
  71. Nov 10, 2012
    9
    Dishonored if a very pleasing game that includes lots of things you would want in a game like it. You are able to play it with loads of different game types such as stealth, just going all out and killing everyone or just doing anything to beat the game and there are probably more + if you wanna play with those than you can play with those without changing, it is even possible to not kill anyone in the game. I myself do not enjoy the map design as much as other might. If you want to play stealth its one of the best stealth i have seen in a game, so it is more enjoyable and challenging while playing stealth. The graphics are alright but if they were better it would not hurt. Overall i love the game and all the game types to play it with. The mappings a bit worse than expected, but you can play with any game type and take different paths on the map to fulfill your game type. Expand
  72. Nov 10, 2012
    8
    This is a very good game, but DO NOT expect a full sandbox game. This feels like less secrets and exploration than the BioShock series IMO, which it clearly takes a lot of inspiration from.

    What you can expect, is a top-notch adventure title with a lot of twists. The setting and feeling of the game quickly turns very dark, the graphics is great, and the skills to use are really
    satisfying and useful.

    Also, you do not need to worry too much about the quad-core recommendation. I run this on a C2D e8400 at stock settings (e.g. 3.06 GHz because my mobo just won't let me move it even an inch). What you do need, is a good graphics card. I use a GeForce 660, currently at stock, and it runs great, everything maxed out on the highest resolution on a 24" widescreen monitor.

    The story was satisfying, felt legit, but if they do make a second game, I would expect more exploration and replayability, cause this game feels far too linear, A to B fashion, to suit its own style.
    Expand
  73. Dec 21, 2012
    9
    Ever since I became an adult, I've seen games for what they are, but primarily focus on the gameplay. 2012 was a really **** year as a gamer. I mean, REALLY ****. I thought I became cynical like Stan on that one episode of South Park. Then I see Dishonored comes out, and very quickly picked it up for 50% off on a Steam sale. Holy **** **** do I love this game. There's so many different ways you can approach this game: killing people, sneaking around, knocking them unconscious; so many side-quests/optional stuff to do, so many collectables, customization, oh god is there a lot to do. It does have a few small flaws though, like Blinking all over the place (Blink really shouldn't have been in the game, or at least made way less powerful), and the story is just so... bleh. Having the rat plague was just dumb to me, and essentially, the Story and overpowered Blink is what keeps this game from getting a 10 from me, but don't let those two minor things stop you from playing what is most definitely the best game of 2012. With all the other garbage that's come out this year, this game TOTALLY deserves the GOTY 2012 award. Expand
  74. Nov 20, 2012
    9
    This game didn't made to the tops for many reasons but it deserves to be in your library.
  75. Nov 21, 2012
    8
    Nice game, not many glitches, put together well. Definitely better buying this then buying another assassins creed. It is not worth the $59.99 asked, but if it goes on sale for $30.00, you should buy it.
  76. Nov 21, 2012
    8
    When I saw trailers for the game and watched videos from E3 the first thing that went into my mind was Freaking Finally! A stealth game that is based completely around stealth. I have played Skyrim and I really like creating a stealth character but Skyrim isn't built for stealth like Dishonored is. The AI is very sophisticated and won't automatically see you if you hide under something. When they go into alert mode they will look under things and poke around looking for. When I played i was on top of a lamp post and in some games the AI might not see you and just have a flat type of cone of vision, in Dishonored they have a cone and will look up to see you. In some cases like when I run across a pipe in direct sunlight they don't see me and that doesn't really make sense, but all in all they AI are very well done. The graphics are good, but necessarily realistic they have a sort of cartoony feel to them but with some realism. They look good from a distance, but as you get closer they start to get muddy and pixelated. The character design is very good and their graphics are well done even up close. The story is very short and took me only a week to beat it. Then I went and replayed it without killing anyone and beat it in a day. But what I really love about the game is how many times you can play it. I'm playing it a third time and I have already found hiding places and routes to my objective I never saw in my last play throughs. If you love stealth games and different ways to play a game every time and the feeling of discovery this is a great game for you. I'm looking forward for any DLCs and a sequel if their ever will be. Expand
  77. Dec 13, 2012
    10
    My Game of the Year. The gameplay is some of the best this year. It's unique and satisfying. The amount of options you have to choose from while playing through the gripping story is mind boggling. You can play the whole game sneaking or go all out and kill everyone. Graphics aren't realistic and gorgeous but they're still amazing (on max) and fit the game very well.
  78. Nov 25, 2012
    10
    I am a veteran of the Thief franchise. I played all 3, and they are easily the best stealth games out there on the market, even now. But this game, this wonderful game, took me back to the days of starting the second Thief. I did not expect anything when i first tried it, but within an hour i was blowing peoples heads off, throwing spike traps at people and watching them explode, and sleep darting dogs.I did not realize that I got to this point. I blinked around, first in front of someone, and then behind them to plant a bullet in the back of the head. Horridly grotesque, but amazing feeling when you blow a guy to bits. Oh yea, good story too. Expand
  79. Dec 21, 2012
    8
    Good game but it's just nothing especial, at all. Everything that this game does, other games already did ( and they did it better). Magics and perks that can be upgraded = plasmids and tonics from Bioshock. First person stealth gameplay with swords, theft of enemie's gold and possibility of knock them out = Thief all along the way. Steampunk style = Thief and Bioshock. Alternative routes = guess what ? Thief again. Pretty good open-world but just not interesting. So it's innovative as the little kids that call themselves gamers are saying ? F#CK NO! Beyond those aspects, the AI is bad and story is non existent. A solid 7.5. The game works good but it just lacks personality. I really didn't care about the characters, the missions and the world that were presented to me in the game. If you want a stealth open-world oriented game with alternative sytles of gameplay, you should buy it. If you want anything new or creative, better look somewhere else. Expand
  80. Dec 1, 2012
    7
    its not the bomb as the gamesites/mags say and it doesnt suck as bad as the spoiled CoD kids say it is i dont wanna make a big write up because a)none pays me ^^ b)see for yourself
    The game is solid yet still a mixed bag , Visuals are cool (unless youre a spoiled CoD kid with a 4k PC) Game is very stable , i havent encountered any bugs ,glitches yet.
    Gameplay is a mixed bag .
  81. Dec 1, 2012
    9
    This how video games should be made. You can tell a lot of work went into it. Too short? Hardly. I would rather play a quick fun game than a long tedious bore fest.
  82. Dec 4, 2012
    8
    I bought this game on release, and i just got hooked right away. In the beginning when you know what happens I got chills running down my back. You feel that you want to stop the bad guys in this game. The graphics are adorable, but it would be much better if the game actually were a open world. It would actually be ten times better. But the fact that you make choices about what you want to be. Like assassin style or just rush in them at once. Personally i play assassin style, i remember this one battle were I was in this room, turned on "wall hack" and just assassinated them when they entered the room. A must try game if you like single-player. Expand
  83. Jul 9, 2013
    10
    Perfection

    Story and world Fully developed and interesting!! Dunwall is like a tangible place in history. Interesting visual design and machines in the game (if maybe not enough of em). The story is average at best but gets the job done doesn't matter too me.

    Gamplay The first game in YEARS to truly deliver on promises of gameplay choice! You can truly play your way. Assualt
    gameplay tends to be more favoured but it still plays as a great sneak em up title!! Interesting gadgets and unique powers not seen in other games! Climbing and movement is smooth as can be, blinking around is super badass. Possession and entry is fun. Slow time kill combos are epic.

    Sound Great voice acting very good sound design. Music is a bit of a let down not enough variety, and what is there is boring at best. Some orchestral scores will go a long way.

    Graphics Great looking 'oil painting style" never seen before. Textures range from average to mind blowing. Great lighting work. Character models are amazing. Animations are qualit and use of physics in the game on enemies and objects help sell the immersion.

    Maps Maps are not very diverse, but all interesting filled with enemies side quests and fun to do and see. Mission types could use a little more variety!

    Replay value I have played through three times and loved each time, simply fantastic

    DLC The knife of dunwall is excellent DLC that adds 3 more missions to the game, with a second expansion on the way.

    BUY THIS GAME BRETHREN
    Expand
  84. Dec 7, 2012
    10
    Sadly I bought into the hype for this game, again. I never seem to learn. Having had a bit of a hiatus from games for a year the press this game was getting finally got me to dust off my (gaming) mouse and get stuck in. The way the (paid?) reviews talk you'd think this was the second coming, you'd think it was the best game of the last 5 years. Unfortunately it's not. Not even close. Once again we find ourselves traipsing through a dreary, hackneyed and clichéd world with everything, and I mean everything, from Game X,Y,Z thrown in for good measure but executed with such dullness that it's hard not to fall asleep while playing. Yes we have the weird bioshock-esque format (that was another over-hyped game in it's day that fell mega short on good gameplay and THIS game is far worse as far as gunplay is concerned) yes we have the dreary Half Life 2 atmosphere (but again nothing has beaten HL2 on that atmosphere yet and this game isn't going to), it even has bits from old cult classics such as 'Undying' in there - you'll know when you get to this (early) part what I mean. The feeling I'm left with is a game trying to be another 5 different games from history, and while it isn't 'bad' it is NOWHERE near these 10/10 'amazing' ratings it is getting! I guess standards have slipped over the years if this is supposed to be the new gaming nirvana? I won't mention any good points - just read the 100+ 10/10 reviews for that. I will mention: Terrible voice acting, static environments, no feel of dynamics to gameplay/gunplay, no sense of pacing, no atmosphere (though it seems to think it has), OLD graphics technology (not even a hint of depth of field, object blur etc all the stuff that is now standard practice, this game art direction aside which is good, looks like a game from 2004!), too MANY pick up items (Bioshock suffered a bit from this but this game is terrible!) TOO MUCH hand holding (every waypoint highlighted by default, every item/gate/door flashing and telling you exactly what you need which leads too...), no sense of self discovery, very linear feeling (the reviews made it sound like and older fashioned GTA done right!?? no way!) Aw man I could go on and on but this game already sucked up enough time from my life that I can never get back, all I'm trying to do is warn others to go in with LOWER expectations than the reviews may give you. It is NOT anywhere near as good as old classics like Theif or Deus Ex were in their day! And It doesn't hold a candle gameplay wise or graphics wise to many other games from the past 5 years. Also the human characters are terrible, poorly proportioned (I get this is part of the art direction), ugly ugly faces (do they have to be?), poor textures, poor lighting. Overall the worst thing for me was the feeling of how static everything seemed, not just the levels but the characters, the gameplay, the conversations... oh man those conversations make the laughable stuff from the adventure game Black Mirror (one) seem like works of art! It just has a very old-fashioned (In a bad way) feel about it. A very average game with a nice enough art direction missing out on what makes games FUN. Others may rate me down, seems people hate criticism about a game they love but sorry, these are my genuine feelings I'm left with from a game that made me feel glad to go play any other game than this! I actually felt depressed while playing the thing! a combination of plodding gameplay and overly linear hand holding. I don't know WHY this game is getting so highly rated but it's a shame if people really are thinking this is the best the industry can achieve in 2012? I have a fast PC have it on full settings (though it is still console nerfed even then) and it does nothing for me. it feels flat and boring. And relies far too much on the cheap version of 'stealth' (basically DO as you are told, and sneak up on everyone - boring, stealth has been done a million times better than this in anything from the uncharted series to splinter cell!) do NOT buy this game if you are hoping for real stealth gameplay that feels visceral and exciting. It's not here. It is by the numbers. The game is decently enough presented with more options than a typical console port at least but I just can't shake the feeling i've played THIS game before, over and over in so many other games that did it first and did it better. I swear you would be better off playing HL2+episodes as old as it is than touching this game. Honest final opinion? I'd rather go read a book! Expand
  85. Dec 11, 2012
    9
    This game really impressed me, I read the reviews saying how good it is, but I had to check it myself. And it was worth it, this is a great game! Great gameplay mechanics, great memorable characters and a good story.
    It has its flaws of course, I found it frustrating that some levels didn't let you use the powers as you wish, for example, "blink", you can't use it on all roofs (even if
    they are very close to you), making you adopt other paths. The graphics aren't amazing, but they are decent and its part of the game's own style.
    I think there will be a sequel, and I'm certainly looking forward to it.
    Expand
  86. Jan 4, 2013
    10
    Amazing game. I like the visuals, I like the voice acting, I like the plot, I like the killing animations. I like to be a puppeteer. I can choose if I want to be an angel of death or mercy. I never felt so much like an assassin in a game ever before. I like eavesdropping on my enemies. I like using my powers because they are actually useful. I like experimenting with my weapons and pushing my skills to the limit. I like Dishonored. Expand
  87. Dec 18, 2012
    9
    That is awesome. Sometimes it's like an Hitman, other-times it's like Assassins Creed and of course this is FPS and action as well. Incredible mix of gaming genres, interesting story line. I like it very much.
  88. Dec 20, 2012
    9
    This was a highly enjoyable game, i have finished it a couple times and I am considering starting up a new one. The player abilities and gear allows you to play the game multiple ways with different results.
  89. Dec 24, 2012
    9
    A little jewel this one. Beautiful atmosphere and setting. Story takes a couple of twist and turns, nothing to fancy, but it definitely isn't bad. Graphics are a bit outdated, but if you ask me, it only adds to the scenery and world of Dishonored. I found the combat enjoyable and all the different kind of spells you can utilize really add something to the game. Whether you want to sneak around, undetected or just run in and slaughter everybody, everything is possible. The only thing this game is missing is more of a sandbox mode, as now you are pretty tied to whatever zone your current mission throws you in. Nonetheless, I really had a good time playing this game and I hope they make some sort of sequel, as the entire world does have some potential in my opinion. Expand
  90. Dec 19, 2012
    9
    I feel that the people who read user reviews on Metacritic are usually casual gamers, as if you want information about the game/mechanics/story you would read a critic. So I think what you are here for is whether or not I feel my money was well spent. I payed $79 for this game, and it was the most enjoyable time I've had with a game all year. Well worth it.
  91. Apr 15, 2013
    10
    For years, I expect a title so addictive, and the guys at Arkane have succeeded in their aim. Dishonored is a title that everyone should play, well-articulated plot that puts you in front of important choices also have the chance to reach the target in multiple ways, stealth or solver of the situation while having fun with the various methods of killing. The quests are a pure fun, do not get bored and offers the opportunity to explore in depth the background of this title. Technically there is to say that Dishonored is not, graphically speaking, like today's headlines, but fortunately this is not a flaw in my view, in fact, despite the good quality graphics, you can play it even on systems that do not necessarily generation, winking to those who can not afford graphics cards on the market today. A round of applause also to the dubbing, which makes it very complete and fascinating. What else to say? Buy it and enjoy it, partly because the replay value is assured Expand
  92. Dec 22, 2012
    10
    Just freaking awesome!

    No better games of this genre this year, so much action and intensity throughout the entire game, couldnt get enough of it!!!!!
  93. Dec 23, 2012
    10
    Ce jeu est magnifique et jouissif à tous les égards : Possibilités énormes, jeu de haute volée, unique en son genre. Gameplay 10/10 graphismes ( j'adore ) 10/10 scénario 10/10 rejouabilité 10/10. Le jeu est tellement addictif que le temps n'existe plus ! Des jeux comme cela ( une perle rare ) on en redemande !
    Bravo à Arkane Studio (
    dev ) & Bethesda ( Editeur et aides ). Expand
  94. Dec 24, 2012
    10
    OMG, one of the best games out there. I've never written a review in my lifetime, but this game is worth every cent, I played non stop for 2 days, so it turned out too short for me, wish it was longer
    Awesome awesome
  95. Dec 29, 2012
    8
    Dishonored is actually pretty good and can be actually better than Far Cry. Most of these PC games are actually are "dishonored" but this one is great. The graphics are 10/10 and the missions are 8/10 and the gameplay is 9/10 which means its like a 8/10 game.
  96. Dec 26, 2012
    10
    Wonderful, I have rarely seen a game as good a quality!

    Graphically, it has a style that matches the soundtrack is good, but this game is most remarkable for its gameplay, universe and scenario, all original and rather Exc.

    To do and recommend
    Arkane studio thank you!
  97. Dec 27, 2012
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. forgive my strange english, i'm a chinese.

    I cost $30+5 buying this game and its DLC and i have spent 60h playing it so I think it worth my money. First, Dishonored has a comfortable control with keyboard and mouse, unlike other first person game this game's "jump" is awesome, at least you find you have arms and hands when climbing, seems not so cool in first person game before i played it, but when i fall from the light house and perform my leap of faith on an enemy i feel so cool!!! I can perform this simple move for 100 times. But the most wonderful thing in this game is its artistic designing, beautiful machinary and complex environment make Dunwall a interesting place for my jouney.

    So i felt very disappointed when i reach the ending and I need more chapters. unlike other bethesda's game, dishonored is not so free as I thought, even it is free to complete your mission on different ways, but for a beautiful world its not enough. But maybe we ask to much because it's published by Bethesda. Just play dishonored as a linear game make me feel better but it should me more difficult as a linear game.

    I played four rounds and try different ways to play this game. Yes its interesting, at the final round I play under hardest and no super power upgrade, no choke except 1 or 2 enemy, no kill and ghost (no detection) but it's still not so difficult to stealth, enemy's move is simple, not good. The story is somehow old-fashioned and easy to predict. But maybe I was overboard, I don't feel too bad about its story. My first round is low chaos and I feel nothing. My second round is high chaos and many details are different. not just environment, characters' dialogue and fates are changed. Emily's "how many people you kill tonight" and "I was going to have them killed anyway" in cold voice really make me feel bad. Samuel the boatman's final words also make me feel be utterly isolated. So I played the third round in low chaos to hear them.

    I give it 8 because it can be better, its still far away from those true great game like skyrim and dark souls even bioshock if you agree it's a great game, the story need to be deeper and its system needs improvement to find a balance between difficulty and superpower. despite its story, the control and game system is worth playing. but if you just want to seek excitement, borrow it from your friends or get it when has a 50% discount
    Expand
  98. May 2, 2013
    9
    You have to play this game at least twice to really maximize gameplay experience. It's a bit limited in that once you complete a mission you can't return to that section of town to continue exploring or get any treasure left behind, however, the game is very tactical and thoroughly enjoyable.
  99. Dec 29, 2012
    7
    Casts you into a world full of ugly yet beautiful chaos. Combat is engaging and fun. Graphics are spot on, the hands are amazing. Seriously, the hands are so well done. The lack of diversity is what sort of turned me off though. I found myself blinking to a roof top and falling onto my opponent for a stealth kill. If no one was around I would choke them. Repetitive stealth moves and little satisfaction for assassinations makes this game hard to pick up after you leave off. Expand
  100. May 18, 2013
    8
    I'm a fan of the first Deus Ex, I still remember nights spent thrilled by the plot of illuminatis, templars and men in black, picking up phones with exquisite entities on the other side, finding easter eggs, this kind of thing.
    Sadly there is an utter lack of games like Deus Ex, games that feel like you are reading a book, games that present you with a coherent and thrilling story and an
    innovative game play at the same time.
    Dishonored offers this, not with all the glory and deepness possible, but it offers a plot, dialogues and a different combat system. Indeed it is repetitive one time or the other, or it presents you with a forced and non-sense way, but overall is enjoyable.
    Also the design was great and they were very successful in creating a british victorian inspired world.
    Expand
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 29
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 29
  3. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. 90
    We can draw comparisons with other titles all day, but everything is based on something. Dishonored remains a unique gem in a beautiful, yet chaotic world, with flawless gameplay. [December 2012]
  2. Nov 9, 2012
    75
    Dishonored rarely challenges the players, but it doesn't take them for fools, either, so that's an achievement compared to other games in the genre. Just don't expect strokes of genius like the Shalebridge Cradle level from Thief: Deadly Shadows.
  3. 100
    Dishonored injects new life into stealth actions and their sophisticated worlds. Awesome work in every detail. [Nov 2012]