Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 29 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2743 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Approach each assassination with your own unique style. Use shadow and sound to your advantage to traverse silently through levels unseen by enemies, or attack foes head-on as they react to your aggression. The malleable combat system allows you to creatively synthesize your abilities, supernatural powers and gadgets as you negotiate your way through the levels and dispatch your targets. Improvise and adapt to define your modus operandi. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 29
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 29
  3. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. 100
    Dishonored injects new life into stealth actions and their sophisticated worlds. Awesome work in every detail. [Nov 2012]
  2. 100
    Dishonored made me feel like a person struggling to retain the things that were important to me in a world gone mad. It goes beyond "role-playing" to challenge players to draw their own personal moral line in the sand, but does so without being preachy or judgmental.
  3. Oct 8, 2012
    95
    If you can buy one game in 2012, it should be Dishonored. From production to its ingenious gameplay, Arkhane Studios' title is outstanding, with its multiple references to many games such as Deus Ex, Thief, Bioshock or Half Life 2. It's simple, Dishonored is a 2-in-1 game you can finish either with violence and lots of action sequences, or with discretion, applying stealth strategies to kill your enemies without being seen.
  4. Oct 7, 2012
    90
    It's a rare game that feels so compulsively replayable, but Dishonored is such a game. The compelling abilities, the bold artistic design, the colorful characters, and above all, the freedom of choice--these are the things that mark Dishonored as one of the truly remarkable games of this year.
  5. Oct 27, 2012
    90
    Dishonored is a love letter to everyone who has longed for more stealth action games in the vein of Thief. With its vast levels, openness, and its plethora of different ways of play this is a game that should be a great fit for practically everyone.
  6. Oct 8, 2012
    90
    The guys at Arkane crafted a fine gem. It's been a while since we had so much freedom and such an amazing gameplay in a title. Chapeau.
  7. Nov 9, 2012
    75
    Dishonored rarely challenges the players, but it doesn't take them for fools, either, so that's an achievement compared to other games in the genre. Just don't expect strokes of genius like the Shalebridge Cradle level from Thief: Deadly Shadows.

See all 29 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 54 out of 564
  1. Apr 10, 2013
    10
    Dishonored is proof that there is hope that the video game industry can pull off something new and exciting. While not exactly groundbreaking, Dishonored is one helluva fun game. The setting is awesome, the characters are great and the abilities and weaponry are also really cool, especially Corvo's balisong-like sword. The main complaint with the game is that while the stealth approach does make the storyline less depressing, its quite boring. You go around choking people to unconsciousness and then hiding their bodies, it gets really old fast. It IS however, worth it storywise. As for the all out violent approach, while more fun it is not advisable. Corvo while an expert fighter and assassin is quite fragile and you should not try taking on more than three guards if you can. One would distract you into a swordfight while the others would take potshots out of you with their pistols which pack quite a punch. I also have problems with the powers as some are obviously more useful than others like the Blink ability. In fact, its probably the only one you'll ever need. Nonetheless, Dishonored is unique and while I wished the story was a little bit better, its easily my favourite game of 2012, fully deserving of the awards and recognition it gained. Expand
  2. Mar 9, 2013
    10
    Dishonored is the perfect mix between old games and new games. The game is presented with some old gameplay stiles. The first one which we can see is Thief's stealth system based on sounds and on darkness. The second is surely the "Bioshock Superpowers" that the main character has. The third one is a city very similar to City 17 (Half Life 2), in facts the city has been designed by Antonov, Half Life's designer. If we consider main quest's length, we could see that is very short, but the levels could be repeated a lot of times, using different action methods and changing the difficult. The main character, Corvo Attano, is muted like Gordon Freeman and Mario due the developers who would to made silent character to have a better representation of themselves in the game. The other character, anyway, Emily, is very important for the game and for Corvo, in facts the two people will be united by an affection link, and this relationship will be very visible and moving. So, Dishonored is one of the best game I ever play, considered I played other big games like Bioshock, Deus Ex, Thief, Half Life and a lot of Elder Scrolls. If you love this games too, so you should absolutely try Dishonored. Expand
  3. Oct 9, 2012
    10
    I haven't quite completed the game yet, but after 15 hours in (i'm quite close to the end, on normal difficulty with all ui elements disabled) I have more or less come to a conclusion about the game.

    It's **** fantastic. Very well may be the best money I spent all year on games.

    The stealth is engaging, the combat is visceral, the story is interesting, the visuals (i.e. environment design, art direction) are phenomenal -- probably the best I've seen since say, Bioshock. I wish I could give it a 10, but there's minor issues here and there that keep it from being perfect -- but it's definitely above a 9. 9.5 maybe.

    Wow!
    Expand
  4. Dec 18, 2012
    9
    That is awesome. Sometimes it's like an Hitman, other-times it's like Assassins Creed and of course this is FPS and action as well. Incredible mix of gaming genres, interesting story line. I like it very much. Expand
  5. Sep 25, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Now,many people have touched upon the good elements of this game,so I won't go into any detail with those. The stealth and action elements,your abilities, all of them are well designed. I would also like to point out that this is one of the few games that makes first person platforming enjoyable for me. Textures may be a bit low res,but the visual design is very good. But that's not why I'm writing this review.The reason for that is massive flaw in this game,which prevents me from rating it at 10/10, and so far I haven't seen many reviewers touch upon it. "Dishonored" tracks your "chaos" as you complete your missions.Now,as I started playing I was not exactly sure how this worked,but I had heard from friends,that the less people you kill,the better the ending will be.And that's what I did.I have not killed a single assassination a target,except for Lady Boyle and in the end I still get the sh*tty,depressing f*ck you ending.So I looked up this chaos system on the game';s wiki and guess what. It doesn't matter that much if you've chosen to neutralize your target in a non-lethal fashion,it's all about how many guards you kill.Okay,that has got to be the most retarded idea in the history of mankind.First of all,the city is in complete chaos.There are killer rats,infected people that have gone insane and gang members that attack anyone on sight.People would know If I killed,for example,the high overseer,but how in the name of f*ck would they know how many guards I killed how.It makes no sense.Secondly,if you want to follow this path you're pretty much screwed.It says in the wiki,that you need to kill less than 20% of the guards in the are if you want to have low chaos,and beleive me,that's easier said than done.I never started any major massacres or something,just killed guards that were directly in my way and nearly impossible to sneak by.Now there is a way knock your enemies unconcious,but it's a pain in the a**.The first way to do it is to sneak up on them and strangle them,but that takes like five seconds and makes it very easy for you to be detected doing so.There wasn't bullsh*t like this in "Deus Ex:Human Revolution",hell there it was actually more quiet to perform a non lethal takedown.The second way is to use sleeping darts,but those are not that common,so you are forced to spend your money on them and to save them for enemies,which are hard to get behind.This whole system is flawed beyond belief.They could have atleast given you some kind of neutral ending,but no,if you want the good ening,you either have to be very patient or play the game on easy.This really,really spoiled the experience for me. Expand
  6. Nov 9, 2012
    7
    Finished the game with some mixed feelings. A big PC gamer but this is my first stealth game so takes this review for what it is.
    The Bad: I
    know graphics aren't everything but immediately upon playing I thought I had gone back in time. For a 2012 game the aging graphics hit me pretty hard, true or not I blame it on the current console manufacturers for that one. Bring out a new console already so I can get better PC games. The environment was decent but the characters were rather poorly done in parts. Pendleton's repeated horrible animation for taking a hit of whisky from the flash ... errr.
    The storyline was just acceptable til about halfway through and from here there seemed to be little to no effort to produce any kind of enticing plot to grip me.
    As I played the game as stealthy as I could and hence only bought upgrades related to and found I had about 7,000 gold + to spare by the end that I didnt have anything to spend on... a better money sink would have been nice but not a big deal.
    The Good: again first time stealth game but I loved the mechanics. The powers to invest in were thrilling to engage in and defeating your enemies in whichever way you wished.
    I enjoyed that you could play the game in so many ways. In the fact that you could smash through the mission with arrows flying or complete stealth (and many variations in between). Also that you could could complete missions in a few different ways.
    I played the game on the 2nd hardest difficulty and found the direct brutal way far to easy so I'm going through again on the hardest difficulty with the aim to kill anything moving !
    Overall a good game minus the poor graphics and average plot line. Not disappointed I bought it not but impressed either
    Expand
  7. Nov 2, 2013
    0
    Sadly, I can only join the detractors and critics of this game, and maybe also go further...

    I have rarely seen such a wasted opportunity,
    a great setting, many charming ideas, all finished in such disappointing performance, so poor and fragile.

    The game is flat, boring, loses in almost every point of view with the best of the actual adventure/stealth market.

    Playing it after finishing "Bioshock Infinite" is a sort of pain, and quite a shock...

    And this is not the worst part!

    I give 0, because in one of the first missions, a serious bug (found and reported by the community several months ago) has still not been resolved!
    I've lost 5 hours of play on it!

    I will try to get a refund, because have been years, since something of this has happen to me, and frankly I feel cheated.

    There are not other words...
    Expand

See all 564 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2012

    The Best Videogames of 2012 Image
    Published: December 31, 2012
    As our Best of 2012 series continues, we reveal the year's best video games for each platform.