Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Jan 11, 2011
    90
    The Dragon Knight Saga contains two great role-playing games in one brilliant package. These are games every fan of the genre should try, provided they do not mind action-based combat instead of virtual dice.
  2. Jan 3, 2011
    88
    It is not only recommended for fans of the original game, but for anyone who want to embark into a new roleplaying adventure with a lot of intelligent humour.
  3. Dec 20, 2010
    88
    Divinity II is simply a great game. While there might be some odd little shortfalls that pop up that keep it from the halls of true greatness, there really is just so much going for it in the way of immersive world and enjoyable gameplay that it is worth exploring.
  4. Jan 4, 2011
    82
    The Dragon Knight Saga is a solid RPG with a funny gameplay and a nice proposal.
  5. Jan 11, 2011
    80
    Dragon Knight Saga solves many of the problems of the original Ego Dragonis thanks to an updated engine, a heaviliy modified 360 version, and an expansion that completes the original title, letting shine many of the great things Larian achived with the original launch. The result is a fantastic Hack'n Slash with a surprising deepness, excellent mission design, great sense of humour, and tons of quality content.
  6. Dec 30, 2010
    80
    The diamond in the rough gleams more brightly, but still a chore to properly enjoy. [Jan 2010, p.56]
  7. 80
    Judged on its own, Flames of Vengeance isn't that tempting, although the price is decent for an expansion pack. But the Dragon Knight Saga is a very good package, especially for those who didn't play the original in the first place.
  8. Dec 16, 2010
    80
    Still, this is definitely an improved version over the original, so kudos to Larian for the extra work they've put in.
  9. Jan 3, 2011
    68
    The Dragon Knight Saga is a rare game that received massive fixes not from desperate fans, but from the developers themselves. The decent expansion pack improves things as well.
User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 172 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 47
  2. Negative: 4 out of 47
  1. Sep 3, 2011
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. At first i thought this would be a good game, but then... There were a fet good appandages but i got bored very fast and so i cannot agree with the positiv scores all around here. So i want to write what destroys a game that could have been a good one, but failed in many points. At first the Graphic: All things are looking sterile and every place seems to have the (almost) the same fittings. The same amphoras are almost everywhere and it all looks to clean and shiny. But furthermore.. The Monsters: I hate the monsters in this game and that's why: They look different but are countless in numbers, are dumb like bread and have all the same skills. The skeleton mage hast the same skill like the goblin mage and the demon mage and so on and on.. there seems to be no really difference apart from the level. And you can nuke them away with a single...

    -> Skill of yours. So thats the next problem.. you have dozens of skills but you need only one or two on the highest level to simply nuke all enemys away. It works (almost) everywhere and thats no fun at all. But.. in contradiction therefore if you took points into a wrong skill the enemys can defeat you easily and it was impossible to get through the game till the developer made a patch for that problem. Now you can reskill your char for quiet a bit money and that is a system which is ok in a MMORPG but not in a Single-Player Game were you eventually spent all your money before and cant get anymore cause the all enemys on your level are defeatet already. But the biggest drawback in this game is the story. Thats the mainpoint i did not like. At first i have to tell that there are many many good apandages but they are all destroyed by the speed you are pulled through the story. This speed feels like you are handcuffed in a rollercoaster without the possibility to realy enjoy the ride. There is no time for character depths neither yours nor the enemy. You only get some little ruins of story if you met one of them or get some of the many books you can find all around the game but its still very very less information and nothing that could create some action. You get the feeling you did not really know why you kill dozens of stupid enemys and bosses and whats it all about.
    That happens very early in the game. Its like you are there and whoaaa.. you have to kill the last dragens because of some things really far ago and then... whooaa.. you are a dragonknight instead which seems to change nothing at all (ok you have a few new enemys to kill which were your friends before- but thats accented my point of view cause it destroys the possibility of charackter depth once more)

    Ok you could say.. : "Yes, the game has no charakter depth and very funny stupid monsters which re-enact all over ( like diablo monsters?)

    but i say: The skill system is really bad, so the game cant get a point..
    you probably could say: Ok, the story is really really bad but look at games like gothic and so on.. that games storys are bad too. and they are fun anyway..

    Yes, but Divinity 2 sucks in that point too, cause there is no interesting world around you, you could explore.. the world is really, really small and sterile..

    Last but not Least: The dragon form: It is no fun at all to fly around as a dragon at getting attacked by roughly 100 turrets that don't get one hit on you. The big number of that turrets seems to be really absurd and points on the weak AI of the game. But thats not all. You cannot destroy anything else besides this turrets or enemy dragons (or flys-whatever) cause the engine sucks at that point. The area is static and indestructable even small doors can withstand your dragon power and all the enemy on the ground get invisible when you are in this form, so you cannot attack them, but still change to human to see them appear again which is (also again) very very laughable. Whats the point beeing a dragon if you cannot use your power anyway? It really sucks and looks like the games long back in the past of computer gaming. i wouldn't care if divinity2 was an indie game but it isn't
    instead it is a game i payd plenty of money for and all i get is a really bad state of quality (even worse than my english and thats very bad)
    So i got to the point i stopped playing the game cause i get to bored to play furthermore. I get stucked in one of that billion monster fights and asked myself what my charakter had for a reason to do that. But then i knew what i had to do. Changing my charakter into a dragon and fly anway from this game that was only a waste of time. Cause thats what dragons do.. searching for a real challenge and they could not find it in Divinity 2 (and they also like to destroy things others then turrets and probably goblin hoods or demon flys) At the end there is not much to say. If you are new to Action-RP-Games you could probably like this game but i recommend others like baldurs gate 1+2, gothic and even oblivion (still the Monster system there sucks)
    Full Review »
  2. Mar 9, 2011
    9
    I have tried the Ego Draconis demo (twice), but despite having liked the original Divine Divinity, it failed to impress me. After hearing goodI have tried the Ego Draconis demo (twice), but despite having liked the original Divine Divinity, it failed to impress me. After hearing good things about the DKS, I tried it one more time, and it clicked. It takes a while to get used to the slightly over-the-top fantasy world and the game's special sense of humour; moreover, the combat system in the starting areas appears deceptively simple. It definitely pays not to give up early, as the game only gets better as it progresses (the "Flames of Vengeance" part is especially great). Overall, a very fun game and the best action RPG I have played in ages. It's got good quests, excellent exploration, surprisingly good writing and voice acting, and interesting mechanics (mindreading). I recommend playing on "nightmare" (which is nowhere as difficult as the name would suggest), otherwise the game might become too easy relatively soon. Full Review »
  3. Nov 23, 2010
    9
    The art direction and writing in this game really shine, especially in the expansion that comes bundled with it. While the combat can beThe art direction and writing in this game really shine, especially in the expansion that comes bundled with it. While the combat can be hectic, the wide variety of skills leaves open plenty of options to make your character the way you want them. It lacks some of the polish of big-budget RPGs, but is packed with things to do in every nook and cranny. Unlike games which seem almost embarrassed to be fantasy games, as if they feel they have to make up for being fantastical with a serious mood, DKS just takes fantasy and runs with it. It's packed full of dry humor and subtle references, and I would recommend it to just about anyone looking for a action-RPG that doesn't hold their hand. Full Review »