Divinity II: The Dragon Knight Saga Image
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 186 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Divinity II - The Dragon Knight Saga includes the original adventure "Ego Draconis", and "Flames of Vengeance", the Dragon Knight's new adventure that continues the epic story and adds dozens of hours of additional gameplay. Divinity II - Ego Draconis appears here as anDivinity II - The Dragon Knight Saga includes the original adventure "Ego Draconis", and "Flames of Vengeance", the Dragon Knight's new adventure that continues the epic story and adds dozens of hours of additional gameplay. Divinity II - Ego Draconis appears here as an entirely new and re-mastered edition with improved graphics and content that make the game even more beautiful and more impressive than ever before! Expand

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Jan 11, 2011
    90
    The Dragon Knight Saga contains two great role-playing games in one brilliant package. These are games every fan of the genre should try, provided they do not mind action-based combat instead of virtual dice.
  2. Dec 20, 2010
    88
    Divinity II is simply a great game. While there might be some odd little shortfalls that pop up that keep it from the halls of true greatness, there really is just so much going for it in the way of immersive world and enjoyable gameplay that it is worth exploring.
  3. Jan 3, 2011
    88
    It is not only recommended for fans of the original game, but for anyone who want to embark into a new roleplaying adventure with a lot of intelligent humour.
  4. 80
    Judged on its own, Flames of Vengeance isn't that tempting, although the price is decent for an expansion pack. But the Dragon Knight Saga is a very good package, especially for those who didn't play the original in the first place.
  5. Jan 11, 2011
    80
    Dragon Knight Saga solves many of the problems of the original Ego Dragonis thanks to an updated engine, a heaviliy modified 360 version, and an expansion that completes the original title, letting shine many of the great things Larian achived with the original launch. The result is a fantastic Hack'n Slash with a surprising deepness, excellent mission design, great sense of humour, and tons of quality content.
  6. PC PowerPlay
    Dec 30, 2010
    80
    The diamond in the rough gleams more brightly, but still a chore to properly enjoy. [Jan 2010, p.56]
  7. Jan 3, 2011
    68
    The Dragon Knight Saga is a rare game that received massive fixes not from desperate fans, but from the developers themselves. The decent expansion pack improves things as well.

See all 9 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 50
  2. Negative: 5 out of 50
  1. Feb 7, 2016
    10
    Fantastic game, wuth a amazing history. Criminaly underrated by fanboys, by far the best game in Divinity saga (Original sin is a trash). IFantastic game, wuth a amazing history. Criminaly underrated by fanboys, by far the best game in Divinity saga (Original sin is a trash). I realy want the next Expand
  2. May 27, 2011
    10
    I found this game on steam during the Christmas sale and thought the content seemed interesting, though I was fairly sure that a game with asI found this game on steam during the Christmas sale and thought the content seemed interesting, though I was fairly sure that a game with as cool a premise as being a dragon that I had never even heard of would be little more than fodder. Still it was £14.99 and I was flush with cash, so I went for it..

    Its not something I regret, most often in RPGs you will be given a gimmick, that while it sounds cool has little practical effect beyond a few abilities. Such as being a Demigod in a popular Black Isle MMO, this never really threaded into the gameplay, but sure it was the whole reason behind the plot.

    In DKS it is regrettably similar, you won't just be chomping people as an enormous flying lizard, or at all for the most part, it is similar to a flying mount. But it is very cool, and really makes you feel powerful when you do use it.

    The plot itself is quite intresting, to a degree. It feels quite Dragon Agey to some degree at first, you are a Slayer looking to put an end to a Dragon, but that goes awry rather quickly and the real plot is revealed. There is alot of fine humor in the game, and the single thing that stands out is that it is not a party based game, where PC is guarded and supported by companions and only represents a small portion of the fighting power, yet takes full credit. You will be doing the fighting with your own hands or spells, and barring the slightly bumpy start really get the feeling you are an ancient, godlike being. Able to toast people, cast spells, shoot arrows, stab, read minds and whatever else you fancy.

    Its hard to credit the game with being non linear, what it can be credited with is being really, really good, and i'd heartily recommend it. Especially when it languishes in the shadow of the comparatively poorer Dragon Age II. This is how action RPG should be done, in this game you can and must dodge attacks using your characters great agility, rather than have your feet glued to the ground.

    Amazing game, I enjoyed it far far more than I expected.

    Another bonus I am really anal about is that you have some character customization options, such as gender, voice and hair, which can really break an RPG for me. I like a bit of, or a lot of choice.

    Being able to choose deliciously evil or snarky dialogue in nearly every conversation was something I liked, and I got to pick my own words. Not 'click here to reveal'.
    Expand
  3. May 19, 2014
    9
    The one thing to get into your head if you're considering picking this game up is this: Divinity II: DKS is not the perfect RPG, as far asThe one thing to get into your head if you're considering picking this game up is this: Divinity II: DKS is not the perfect RPG, as far as Western RPG's go. It has a few flaws that stand out and may put people off the game completely. However, the flaws are largely superficial, and hold no REAL bearing on how the game stand on it's own two feet.

    The main problems I have encountered have been graphical bugs here and there (a clipping texture or framerate dropping), and the combat system (a little lackluster). But the graphical bugs you learn to accept, and the combat, for all it's simplicity, did grow on me. I found myself fighting groups of goblins in a pack, with mages throwing fireballs at my face quite exhilarating after a little while.

    Aside from those main points, the game really does hold out well. Like I said at the very beginning, don't go into this expecting Skyrim. Go into it thinking Morrowind. Or Oblivion. Everyone had fun with those right? But the bugs were there and they were glaring at times. But in the end, it didn't detract from the game as a whole. Divinity II has the same feel for me. A large expansive world to explore, diverse characters to speak to and perform quest for. Really quite an interesting story to unfold, revolving around dragon slaying. And some really quite nice class customizing going on as well.

    A large focus is spent on upgrading your gear in the game, and it employs some nice touches from other RPG's out there, such as randomized effects on weapons and armor, or spells.

    Aside from a few graphics bugs here and there, the game is actually rather pretty. I would sooner recommend the PC version over the 360 though, simply for some better anti-aliasing on textures and nice HDR effect to make use of that the 360 version, unfortunately, suffers for a little bit.

    All in all, though, Divinity II: DKS is a nice solid RPG for fans of the genre, and it will certainly keep you occupied for nice amount of time too. Once you shake off the rocky start with combat and look past some of the more peculiar bugs that occur, this game should give you nice solid chunk of RPG to chew on.
    Expand
  4. Dec 6, 2010
    9
    I fancied this game a while back (Ego Draconis), but heard some poor reviews so I never played it. Having picked this up, I can only assumeI fancied this game a while back (Ego Draconis), but heard some poor reviews so I never played it. Having picked this up, I can only assume that the issues were fixed, as this is a thoroughly enjoyable game 25 hours in, and I have yet to play the expansion element, which I have heard is even better. The game is absolutely pack with things to do - I loved Fallout 3 and Oblivion, but the areas were so dauntingly large, with vast areas of nothing to do.. This has more of a Fable sense of scale, but with actually interesting quests with a more sophisticated and mature (not too mature) sense of humour.

    As for criticisms, whilst the graphics are mostly very attractive and the art direction is of a high quality, there are some texture drop-in issues. The character facial models you can choose from are a truly special kind of ugly, which is odd as the NPCs are often more attractive. Fortunately the in game armor is attractive, so you can cover your ugly mug with something impressive looking within a few hours. There is a slightly odd control issue - you map items to buttons by holding the button down for an extended amount of time - this is easy to do in the heat of combat. No gamebreaker though, it only happens occasionally.

    In summary, great graphics, great voice work, interesting quests, and a ton of interesting game mechanics (not gone into for the sake of avoiding spoilers, though the in game tips do give a lot away before you experience it) - its a little rough around the edges, but having just finished the big budget, high hype Fable 3, and I have enjoyed this a great deal more!
    Expand
  5. Jan 14, 2011
    8
    Divinity 2 is a really great find for any action/rpg fan.
    Pros â
  6. Apr 18, 2011
    8
    This one of these games that should be appreciated for being different and unique.A RPG that gives the player a very interesting feeling ofThis one of these games that should be appreciated for being different and unique.A RPG that gives the player a very interesting feeling of belonging there.The player is not spoon-fed, the game leaves lots of exploration freedom with many unique crafting , enchanting and NPC interaction features. A very interesting sense of humor, that pulls in the player and creates the feeling that something is accomplished . The Player Character is someone with impact, that is something that is becoming rare in modern RPG's where a cutscene defines the impact, instead of the players decision.There is lots of love in the detail, many interesting NPC's and player abilities that are actually fun. Combat is action heavy, a very rare case where the combat is doing exactly what I expect it to do-in this specific case to entertain me. The included expansion Flames of Vengeance is more character oriented, evolving around the player, and His decisions and is a welcome addition that adds more focus to the initial game.
    Overall lots of quests, funny dialogues with great voice overs ,great music and beautiful visuals that are just a expansion of the interesting atmosphere.
    A 8 as score only because I liked better the more difficult and even unpolished approach of Ego Draconis, namely some specific locations that are combat wise made simpler in DKS.
    Expand
  7. Jun 15, 2015
    0
    Got the game and tried both campaigns. Campaign one: you start in a small village. There was a waypoint, I went to the waypoint, and did notGot the game and tried both campaigns. Campaign one: you start in a small village. There was a waypoint, I went to the waypoint, and did not find the quest item/people. I was stuck in the village. No guidance, just running in circles. No combat, no action. I said screw it.

    Campaign two: you start in a city after a muddy intro. You talk to people in the city, they babble, and give you a meaningless side quest. I didn't know what the main quest was. There was no waypoint, no guidance. I had no clue what I needed to do, no action, no combat. I was confused at this stupid game. I found a talking tomato giving me a side-quest. The gentlemen's club in the town had no women, just locked doors and puzzles. Then I found a talking tree that zapped people. I died. The graphics can not redeem this pointless game. I gave up on this game.
    Expand

See all 50 User Reviews