Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 170 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Divinity II - The Dragon Knight Saga includes the original adventure "Ego Draconis", and "Flames of Vengeance", the Dragon Knight's new adventure that continues the epic story and adds dozens of hours of additional gameplay. Divinity II - Ego Draconis appears here as anDivinity II - The Dragon Knight Saga includes the original adventure "Ego Draconis", and "Flames of Vengeance", the Dragon Knight's new adventure that continues the epic story and adds dozens of hours of additional gameplay. Divinity II - Ego Draconis appears here as an entirely new and re-mastered edition with improved graphics and content that make the game even more beautiful and more impressive than ever before! Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Jan 11, 2011
    90
    The Dragon Knight Saga contains two great role-playing games in one brilliant package. These are games every fan of the genre should try, provided they do not mind action-based combat instead of virtual dice.
  2. Dec 20, 2010
    88
    Divinity II is simply a great game. While there might be some odd little shortfalls that pop up that keep it from the halls of true greatness, there really is just so much going for it in the way of immersive world and enjoyable gameplay that it is worth exploring.
  3. Jan 3, 2011
    88
    It is not only recommended for fans of the original game, but for anyone who want to embark into a new roleplaying adventure with a lot of intelligent humour.
  4. 80
    Judged on its own, Flames of Vengeance isn't that tempting, although the price is decent for an expansion pack. But the Dragon Knight Saga is a very good package, especially for those who didn't play the original in the first place.
  5. Jan 11, 2011
    80
    Dragon Knight Saga solves many of the problems of the original Ego Dragonis thanks to an updated engine, a heaviliy modified 360 version, and an expansion that completes the original title, letting shine many of the great things Larian achived with the original launch. The result is a fantastic Hack'n Slash with a surprising deepness, excellent mission design, great sense of humour, and tons of quality content.
  6. Dec 30, 2010
    80
    The diamond in the rough gleams more brightly, but still a chore to properly enjoy. [Jan 2010, p.56]
  7. Jan 3, 2011
    68
    The Dragon Knight Saga is a rare game that received massive fixes not from desperate fans, but from the developers themselves. The decent expansion pack improves things as well.

See all 9 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 46
  2. Negative: 4 out of 46
  1. May 27, 2011
    10
    I found this game on steam during the Christmas sale and thought the content seemed interesting, though I was fairly sure that a game with asI found this game on steam during the Christmas sale and thought the content seemed interesting, though I was fairly sure that a game with as cool a premise as being a dragon that I had never even heard of would be little more than fodder. Still it was £14.99 and I was flush with cash, so I went for it..

    Its not something I regret, most often in RPGs you will be given a gimmick, that while it sounds cool has little practical effect beyond a few abilities. Such as being a Demigod in a popular Black Isle MMO, this never really threaded into the gameplay, but sure it was the whole reason behind the plot.

    In DKS it is regrettably similar, you won't just be chomping people as an enormous flying lizard, or at all for the most part, it is similar to a flying mount. But it is very cool, and really makes you feel powerful when you do use it.

    The plot itself is quite intresting, to a degree. It feels quite Dragon Agey to some degree at first, you are a Slayer looking to put an end to a Dragon, but that goes awry rather quickly and the real plot is revealed. There is alot of fine humor in the game, and the single thing that stands out is that it is not a party based game, where PC is guarded and supported by companions and only represents a small portion of the fighting power, yet takes full credit. You will be doing the fighting with your own hands or spells, and barring the slightly bumpy start really get the feeling you are an ancient, godlike being. Able to toast people, cast spells, shoot arrows, stab, read minds and whatever else you fancy.

    Its hard to credit the game with being non linear, what it can be credited with is being really, really good, and i'd heartily recommend it. Especially when it languishes in the shadow of the comparatively poorer Dragon Age II. This is how action RPG should be done, in this game you can and must dodge attacks using your characters great agility, rather than have your feet glued to the ground.

    Amazing game, I enjoyed it far far more than I expected.

    Another bonus I am really anal about is that you have some character customization options, such as gender, voice and hair, which can really break an RPG for me. I like a bit of, or a lot of choice.

    Being able to choose deliciously evil or snarky dialogue in nearly every conversation was something I liked, and I got to pick my own words. Not 'click here to reveal'.
    Expand
  2. Nov 1, 2012
    10
    BEST RPG !!!! :DDDDD
  3. May 24, 2012
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is surprisingly good and addictive. The story is interesting in itself, with memorable characters and engaging plot twists, fights are nice and require agility, a bit of planning and strategic thinking, and the world is lush and pretty. But not too pretty, mind you :) I didn't expect much of this one, and I was very pleasantly surprised. There are a lot of (meaningful!) dialogues, quests are good, and you can transform to a dragon. It is even more fun that it sounds, because you can practically freely fly around the map then - but still looking out for some things that can hurt you. I thorougly enjoyed this game. Expand
  4. Mar 23, 2012
    9
    This is a very good game indeed and it deserves a lot more attention than it gets. Can't say I'd heard much about it before I played it. GreatThis is a very good game indeed and it deserves a lot more attention than it gets. Can't say I'd heard much about it before I played it. Great fun from beginning to end and a lot of the game flies in the face of the modern paradigm of RPGs which is more than fine by me. For example, enemies are tougher by geographical area so they can be as challenging as you want them to be. Also, some quests are hard to find and the game has quirky humour and some obscure references (Pink Floyd anyone?). Again, all very welcome in my eyes. The second half of the game could easily have been a let down but certainly wasn't and you can customise your abilities in many ways. Very passable storyline, some memorable characters (together with personalities), good gear, a variety of enemies, solid combat, great landscapes, this game has an awful lot going for it. Here's to the next one, which, with a bit of effort could score even higher from me. I notice that this game currently has a higher average than Skyrim which restores my faith in the gaming community in general. I'm off to see how I get on as a mage. Have fun with this - I'm sure you will. Expand
  5. Dec 6, 2010
    9
    I fancied this game a while back (Ego Draconis), but heard some poor reviews so I never played it. Having picked this up, I can only assumeI fancied this game a while back (Ego Draconis), but heard some poor reviews so I never played it. Having picked this up, I can only assume that the issues were fixed, as this is a thoroughly enjoyable game 25 hours in, and I have yet to play the expansion element, which I have heard is even better. The game is absolutely pack with things to do - I loved Fallout 3 and Oblivion, but the areas were so dauntingly large, with vast areas of nothing to do.. This has more of a Fable sense of scale, but with actually interesting quests with a more sophisticated and mature (not too mature) sense of humour.

    As for criticisms, whilst the graphics are mostly very attractive and the art direction is of a high quality, there are some texture drop-in issues. The character facial models you can choose from are a truly special kind of ugly, which is odd as the NPCs are often more attractive. Fortunately the in game armor is attractive, so you can cover your ugly mug with something impressive looking within a few hours. There is a slightly odd control issue - you map items to buttons by holding the button down for an extended amount of time - this is easy to do in the heat of combat. No gamebreaker though, it only happens occasionally.

    In summary, great graphics, great voice work, interesting quests, and a ton of interesting game mechanics (not gone into for the sake of avoiding spoilers, though the in game tips do give a lot away before you experience it) - its a little rough around the edges, but having just finished the big budget, high hype Fable 3, and I have enjoyed this a great deal more!
    Expand
  6. Apr 19, 2011
    8
    Not to repeat everything the others have already pointed out I just wanted to say how surprised, very pleasantly, I was with this game. AfterNot to repeat everything the others have already pointed out I just wanted to say how surprised, very pleasantly, I was with this game. After what was a huge disappointment for me, Dragon Age II, where I expected a lot and got a fist in the face, this was quite the opposite. The graphics are simply spectacular for an RPG, and right up there for any genre. I've read that some people had problems, but I was simply amazed. As simple (or even ugly) as the characters can look the environments are amazing and lighting is some of the best of any game. The world is quite huge and varied, the quests plentiful, the storyline interesting, NPCs mostly very funny and/or engaging - what's not to like! Expand
  7. Oct 23, 2012
    1
    I´m glad i got this game for a cheap price on steam. It sucks in so many ways. But it all comes to the most boring combat i have everI´m glad i got this game for a cheap price on steam. It sucks in so many ways. But it all comes to the most boring combat i have ever seen in a game. It is like a hack n slash gameplay with mobs too low in numbers and too high in life to kill in a few blows. Boring to its very core. A few hours in the game and i deleted it from my pc. Don´t waste your time or money in such a bad game. Expand

See all 46 User Reviews