Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 58 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1793 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Gather your party and get ready for a new, back-to-the-roots RPG adventure. Discuss your decisions with companions; fight foes in turn-based combat; explore an open world and interact with everything and everyone you see. Join up with a friend to play online in co-op and make your ownGather your party and get ready for a new, back-to-the-roots RPG adventure. Discuss your decisions with companions; fight foes in turn-based combat; explore an open world and interact with everything and everyone you see. Join up with a friend to play online in co-op and make your own adventures with the powerful RPG toolkit. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 58
  2. Negative: 0 out of 58
  1. 100
    Everything we loved about old RPGs in a complete, modern package. It's hard, it's well thought out, there's tons of options and most importantly, tons of fun. [Issue#244]
  2. Jul 26, 2014
    93
    Quotation forthcoming.
  3. Jul 8, 2014
    90
    Embrace the lack of handholding and complete freedom, and you have an incredible title that provides many hours of entertainment.
  4. Aug 12, 2014
    90
    Combines the best aspects of old-school RPG approach and modern mechanics. [Issue#251, p.76]
  5. Sep 8, 2014
    85
    An amazing RPG experience. It falls a bit flat on characterization and writing on occasion, but nails just about everything else. It does a great job of compelling players to roleplay their on-screen characters, putting the "RP" back into RPG.
  6. Oct 22, 2014
    80
    Relatively small Larian Studios finally managed to deliver a really significant game. Original Sin is brimming with ideas on how to bring back old school RPG vibe and make it fit modern times. [Sept 2014, p.50]
  7. Sep 4, 2014
    60
    It feels like there’s a very good game inside Divinity: Original Sin, but it’s hidden away behind a thousand glitches and gameplay problems.

See all 58 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 47 out of 435
  1. Jun 30, 2014
    10
    Most of the good things have been said alredy by previous reviewers. Literally the best RPG to come out in at least a decade.

    + Combat +
    Most of the good things have been said alredy by previous reviewers. Literally the best RPG to come out in at least a decade.

    + Combat
    + Story
    + Maps
    + Excessive dialogue
    + Playful environment
    + Mods
    Expand
  2. Jul 7, 2014
    10
    I was never a huge top down RPG guy and at times even found turn based combat in other games to be boring. This game has honestly blown awayI was never a huge top down RPG guy and at times even found turn based combat in other games to be boring. This game has honestly blown away the expectations I had for it. Its an excellent blend of hardcore features, no hand holding and excellent combat based on a classic RPG rule set. It is punishing in the right ways and rewards thinking and effort.

    Honestly with games like Skyrim and other RPGs being so linear and simple (albeit looking very nice) a game like this is a breath of fresh air to the genre. Hopefully it will inspire other developers to create good challenging RPGs for the PC in the future.
    Expand
  3. Aug 10, 2014
    10
    Following in the tradition of some of it's great predecessors, Divinity is simply a must for RPG fans. Everything in the game is pretty finelyFollowing in the tradition of some of it's great predecessors, Divinity is simply a must for RPG fans. Everything in the game is pretty finely tuned, but what I liked more are : 1) the ability to mix magic spells with the surrounding landscape (i.e. setting fire in oil or electrocuting water ponds). 2) the dialogue and text details in everything around you 3) the difficulty of some battles. All in all, for me it was a cool bomb for the summer ! Expand
  4. Jul 2, 2014
    10
    Finally a game worth registering to give it a score yes they deserve a 10 and yes you should buy it if you like old school RPG this is the oneFinally a game worth registering to give it a score yes they deserve a 10 and yes you should buy it if you like old school RPG this is the one for you and I hope they make more.

    The time detail and attention that has gone into this game is amazing it puts to shame the pretty but sadly mass produced rpgs we have be fed the last few years.
    Expand
  5. Jul 11, 2014
    9
    Well, if you're old enough (this really depends, but I guess 25+, because to be honest, this type of game is very old-school) and you'veWell, if you're old enough (this really depends, but I guess 25+, because to be honest, this type of game is very old-school) and you've always been a fan of RPG, then this is the game just designed for you. I had a LOT fun playing it. The most amazing thing is this game delivers what it promises in a high quality and the developers really pay attention to detail. Anyway, if you're fan of old-school RPG, definitely buy this one. It's honestly too cheap considering its such high quality. Expand
  6. Jul 3, 2014
    8
    Played sporadically before launch and now after launch this is the only thing I'm playing. The game is very reminiscent of Baldur's Gate, soPlayed sporadically before launch and now after launch this is the only thing I'm playing. The game is very reminiscent of Baldur's Gate, so I am enjoying it immensely, but there are still some bugs. Most bugs should be classified as annoyances and since I have not encountered any game breaking bugs as of yet, I'm content.

    Turn-based combat = great - I've missed this in RPGs, everyone wants real-time 3D, but this trumps a lot of game mechanics if you ask me
    Graphics = good - running things on the highest settings possible without any hitches and it looks good for this type of game

    Story = good- 3 days in and I'm still not sure what direction the story will take, which is a good thing for me

    Voiced dialogue = overall quality is good, but the repetitive nature of some of the NPCs' scripts is torture

    Written dialogue = good - think I've only seen one spelling error so far

    Interactive environment = good - not quite to the degree I was expecting, but not bad

    Stability = good - as noted, no game breaking bugs - way more stable than beta

    Leveling = okay - I honestly don't know about this one yet, it seems a bit slow at the start, but now that I'm a few levels in it seems to be speeding up, which seems backwards to me

    Game world = Considering how much content is crammed into the starting area, I have no idea since I haven't left there yet... I'm considering this a good thing though, as I can see you'll be able to jump around later on, which means you won't be limited to questing in a single area at a time

    Crafting = Probably the one thing that bugs me the most, you need to invest in the ability to craft and early on you'll accumulate a lot of things you won't be able to do anything with; however, this means that you will really weigh the value of that next combat skill upgrade versus a crafting/blacksmithing upgrade - tons of replay value right there alone.

    Overall this beats my expectations of an Kickstarter/Early Access game by quite a bit and since they're still working to improve it, I can't see a downside to owning it. The old school feel in a new skin is perfect, but just remember to save often, very often, and things should be okay.
    Expand
  7. Dec 2, 2014
    0
    Terrible game. Buggy multiplayer - freezes every single time. The best RPG that has come out in a long time? Are you freaking kidding? ITerrible game. Buggy multiplayer - freezes every single time. The best RPG that has come out in a long time? Are you freaking kidding? I rarely spend the time to review, but I have to get my opinion out there - I didn't like this game at all, boring story, boring combat compared to other games (try Dragon Age series instead - they are much better). Expand

See all 435 User Reviews