Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 57 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1474 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Gather your party and get ready for a new, back-to-the-roots RPG adventure. Discuss your decisions with companions; fight foes in turn-based combat; explore an open world and interact with everything and everyone you see. Join up with a friend to play online in co-op and make your own adventures with the powerful RPG toolkit. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 57
  2. Negative: 0 out of 57
  1. 100
    Everything we loved about old RPGs in a complete, modern package. It's hard, it's well thought out, there's tons of options and most importantly, tons of fun. [Issue#244]
  2. Jul 26, 2014
    93
    Quotation forthcoming.
  3. Jul 9, 2014
    90
    Certainly, I have no hesitation in recommending Original Sin to RPG fans old and new, provided that you're up for a challenge from very early on and don't expect to romp through, Diablo-style.
  4. Aug 12, 2014
    90
    Combines the best aspects of old-school RPG approach and modern mechanics. [Issue#251, p.76]
  5. Jul 11, 2014
    87
    Quotation forthcoming
  6. Jun 30, 2014
    82
    Divinity: Original Sin is able to both channel the roots of its old-school RPG ancestors such as Ultima and Baldur’s Gate, while also improving the genre as a whole in the process. From start to finish, Divinity: Original Sin is an incredible experience that is full of deep and engaging roleplaying. The true turn-based combat is a breath of fresh air in an industry obsessed with quick satisfaction and it brings you back to a time of tactics and thought. The roleplaying potential presented in quests and dialogue options puts Divinity: Original Sin decidedly above its peers in most aspects, but leaves room for improvement down the line. Larian Studios is on a strong path to returning their long-running franchise to the spotlight, for fans both new and old.
  7. Sep 4, 2014
    60
    It feels like there’s a very good game inside Divinity: Original Sin, but it’s hidden away behind a thousand glitches and gameplay problems.

See all 57 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 37 out of 379
  1. Apr 12, 2014
    10
    What Joebreeze690 failed to mention is that this game is still in beta (as of this post), and things are still subject to change. Yes there are bugs, but that is to be expected in beta games. The game itself was greatly inspired by Ultima 7, the developers even said so during the kickstarter.

    If you're a fan of rich and engaging worlds, then this should be on your list of games to purchase. As of this post I've spent 88 hours in the beta, in comparison I've spent about 100 hours in Dragon Age Origins. I love my RPGs, action and turn based alike.

    The game has a nice drop-in co-op gaming experience, and a well thought out and planned dialogue system. The battles are challenging, but there's ways that you can get around tackling enemies head on if you so wished. The NPCs are engaging and it doesn't feel like talking to them is like quest grabbing with markers over their heads. The game doesn't lead you by the hand with markers dotted all over the map.

    There is no set classes, instead the game gives you general prebuilt classes to choose from which you can modify. In that way you're a lot more free to decide your character than most modern RPGs allow. At the moment the prebuilt classes number 11 in total, with them being a mix between melee, ranged and spell casters. You have five initial schools of magic (earth, fire, water, air and witchcraft), with another likely to be added later in the game (the mysterious Source that you are meant to be hunting down). The music is written and composed by Larian's in-house composer, and is excellent, fitting the scenes it plays in well.

    This game will be good for fans of Dragon Age Origins, less so for fans of Dragon Age 2. Even in beta, this game is in my top 5 games of all time.
    Expand
  2. Jul 6, 2014
    10
    Long awaited masterpiece for every true oldschool RPG entusiast. Don't mind haters opinions, as they are nothing more than youngsters that find Fallout 3 the ULTIMATE RPG EXPERIENCE, and can't stand anything that is not ridiculously action packed. Expand
  3. Jul 20, 2014
    10
    If you have any affinity at all for their first and second rpg -> check this one out
    If you like a world where you are almost solely held
    back by the lack of your own imagination while crafting and combatting -> try this one
    If you like well written dialogues so full of humor you're laughing out loud behind your machine, sometimes whilst in co-op with your friends -> get this one

    If your idea of a good rpg is skyrim or diablo 3 -> inform yourself better to be sure not to be disappointed
    Expand
  4. Jul 3, 2014
    10
    After playing for 3 days now I can say this is the cRPG that RPG lovers have been waiting years for. I'm fairly new to the RPG genre, (as in Dragon Age Origins was the first RPG I played, since have played BG2, Planescape Torment, Fallout 2, NWN). This game is so much fun and has so much depth, it's awesome to see a studio bring something like this out in 2014. A few minor hick-ups make this a solid 9/10, but it's gets a 10/10 on the slider to off-set the couple of 0/10 cry baby rage quitters on here : ) Get the game, support the studio, and don't go online looking stuff up, you'll spoil the awesome surprises waiting for you in D:OS! Expand
  5. Jul 31, 2014
    9
    Well I'd give it a 9-9.5/10 but metacritic doesn't let you do that. So what to say? Game time played from start to finish gave me 87 hours, and I missed at least 6 quests that I could have completed.

    How does the game feel? Pretty good, it has excellent combat and spell combinations. You can use the environment to control your enemies movements. You can pick them off by funneling them down a tunnel with the environment. Bait them into traps of your own making as well. It has plenty of dialog, not as much as say Planescape Torment, but still enough for a good novel. The overall story is excellent, though at times jarring. You can easily get lost if you decide to go off and do side quests, and then come back to the main story. There's plenty of places to explore, and the game lacks some of the more annoying aspect of modern gaming. "Social justice," "conveying a message of intent," "pressing the moral ideas of someone else." It lacks all of that, and gives you a simple, and good story.

    You have mod support. Probably the greatest thing with modern gaming allowing you to expand the original game, beyond the scope of the original. Make it more difficult, make it easier it's all there for you.

    So what's wrong? Well, I found load times even off a SSD to be sluggish at times. Patches have fixed this. "Friendly fire" against companions, and then them breaking dialog in very rare cases, though this has 99% of the time been fixed since patch 1.08. Issues with the main character in slot 1, defaulting to slot 2, was an issue for a bit, but seems to have been fixed as well.

    Overall, it's worth the money, I just wished I'd backed it like Pillars of Eternity, and Planescape: Tides of Numenera.
    Expand
  6. Jul 2, 2014
    9
    One of the best classical RPG made in recent years.

    I've sinked 15 hours for early beta, and the final version is already a quite polished
    game since then.

    Pros: 1. Classical isomatric view with authentic art direction and neat graphic.
    2. Depth in story, puzzle and mystery, the 1st murder case is complex and can be solved in multiple ways. A lot of intriguing side quests.
    3. classic and smooth turn based combat using action points. Smart use of elemental magic that counters each other e.g. electrocute enemies if they stand on water, use ice or rain to put out fire.
    4. rich in loot, random status of loot, and a ton of ingredients.
    5. attention to detail, variety of skills to use, complex but not complicated, similar to fallout 1,2.
    6. Online COOP for the campaign!

    Cons: 1. still some bugs, such as by-stand NPC repeating just 1 dialog over and over while you are concentrating to read thru a real conversation.
    2. no dialog voice over (due to small budget)
    3. just 1 skill point after level up is not really useful after high level, because you need to save up more points for specialization. This is quite redundant.
    4. the quests can be very difficult and sometimes misleading with the clues, you might lose your orientation, I am afraid in later stages the quest gets overwhelming and some players just drop out of the game.

    Conclusion, if you enjoys BG1,2 fallout 1,2 you would love this game. totally worth the price.
    Expand
  7. Aug 29, 2014
    0
    Finally beat the game. Finished every side-quest (No Guides Used). This game has a few horrible horrible horrible horrible problems. First of all, the slowness of the game, and I have no problem with slow games... until they pass the point of no return... Some of the casting animations literally take 8+ seconds.... seriously... there is NO need for this. Bugs are ridiculous, some game breaking. I had to restart the entire game TWICE because of it. I waited btw, until the most recent patch to play. It is a broken game atm. There are only 2 FOLLOWERS. AND..... ROCK PAPER SCISSORS? REALLY? I will wait 2 months, and see how it has developed. But until then, this slow... broken... and unfinished game gets a 0. Expand

See all 379 User Reviews