Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 59 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1934 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Gather your party and get ready for a new, back-to-the-roots RPG adventure. Discuss your decisions with companions; fight foes in turn-based combat; explore an open world and interact with everything and everyone you see. Join up with a friend to play online in co-op and make your ownGather your party and get ready for a new, back-to-the-roots RPG adventure. Discuss your decisions with companions; fight foes in turn-based combat; explore an open world and interact with everything and everyone you see. Join up with a friend to play online in co-op and make your own adventures with the powerful RPG toolkit. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 56 out of 59
  2. Negative: 0 out of 59
  1. 100
    Everything we loved about old RPGs in a complete, modern package. It's hard, it's well thought out, there's tons of options and most importantly, tons of fun. [Issue#244]
  2. Jul 26, 2014
    93
    Quotation forthcoming.
  3. Jul 9, 2014
    90
    Certainly, I have no hesitation in recommending Original Sin to RPG fans old and new, provided that you're up for a challenge from very early on and don't expect to romp through, Diablo-style.
  4. Aug 14, 2014
    90
    The classic RPG is making a comeback. After Shadowrun and Wasteland 2, this time it’s Divinity: Original Sin’s turn. This Kickstarter project from Belgium shows how fantasy elements can be used to their fullest extent. These developers understand what’s so great about magic and discovering a world. This is a tribute to the best Bioware, Obsidian, and D&D games that were produced with pen and paper over the last thirty years, had to offer.
  5. Jul 11, 2014
    87
    Thrilling old-school role playing game with total freedom and challenging battles.
  6. Jun 30, 2014
    82
    Divinity: Original Sin is able to both channel the roots of its old-school RPG ancestors such as Ultima and Baldur’s Gate, while also improving the genre as a whole in the process. From start to finish, Divinity: Original Sin is an incredible experience that is full of deep and engaging roleplaying. The true turn-based combat is a breath of fresh air in an industry obsessed with quick satisfaction and it brings you back to a time of tactics and thought. The roleplaying potential presented in quests and dialogue options puts Divinity: Original Sin decidedly above its peers in most aspects, but leaves room for improvement down the line. Larian Studios is on a strong path to returning their long-running franchise to the spotlight, for fans both new and old.
  7. Sep 4, 2014
    60
    It feels like there’s a very good game inside Divinity: Original Sin, but it’s hidden away behind a thousand glitches and gameplay problems.

See all 59 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 51 out of 463
  1. Jun 30, 2014
    10
    Most of the good things have been said alredy by previous reviewers. Literally the best RPG to come out in at least a decade.

    + Combat +
    Most of the good things have been said alredy by previous reviewers. Literally the best RPG to come out in at least a decade.

    + Combat
    + Story
    + Maps
    + Excessive dialogue
    + Playful environment
    + Mods
    Expand
  2. Jul 5, 2014
    10
    If I could I would rate this a 9.5.
    The only downside is that movement feels a bit slow, and there can be trouble with clicking to move in
    If I could I would rate this a 9.5.
    The only downside is that movement feels a bit slow, and there can be trouble with clicking to move in combat when instead you wanted to attack (which has to do with the monster's hit-boxes + camera angle being finicky)

    Aside from that, this game is perfect. If you want an RPG that will make you think during combat, conversations and will eat up all your time: choose this.

    Combat is great, the environment is pretty, and there are many choices to make.
    Customization is awesome, and I can only hope that the modding community will bring so much more to the table.

    Already the developer has released several patches, and aims to release many more, along with added content.

    Definitely get this game.
    Expand
  3. Jan 4, 2015
    10
    I love this game. It has it's challenges, but well worth all the efforts. This took me back to NWN but with added depth, visuals, and a newI love this game. It has it's challenges, but well worth all the efforts. This took me back to NWN but with added depth, visuals, and a new world to explore! Expand
  4. Jul 4, 2014
    10
    I clocked about 70 hours now in 4 days. **** amazing game ! Everything from crafting to systems in games is polished as ****

    Return of cRPG
    I clocked about 70 hours now in 4 days. **** amazing game ! Everything from crafting to systems in games is polished as ****

    Return of cRPG era !

    Get candle put in oil and watch as world burns !
    Expand
  5. Oct 3, 2014
    9
    Awesome game, easily one of best games released this year (only Dark souls 2 could beat it, but barely), and best team based rpg since BaldursAwesome game, easily one of best games released this year (only Dark souls 2 could beat it, but barely), and best team based rpg since Baldurs gate 2.
    This game has almost no flaws, maybe rock-paper-scissors could be done better, plot could be less "saving the world", inventory could be more user friendly (although sorting works well and helps finding items) and sometimes you want to click on enemy and your character would walk there, but besides that its almost perfect game.
    Graphics, combat, tactical options, dialogues, old school feeling mixed with modern vibe (spells interact with world, you can move objects etc.), great graphics, fantastic environments, quests with different outcomes, and many **** more. FANTASTIC. This is the game i wanted to play since Baldur and Planescape era- modern version of them. Legend of Bioware is dead, Larian is new king of team based awesomness.
    If you like real rpgs- buy it (and by rpg i dont mean slashers like Dragon age 2). if you like good games- buy it. If you are nostalgic- buy it. Hell you should be playing it already!
    Expand
  6. Jul 13, 2014
    8
    I'm not really fond of games with turn based battles, but as a KS backer, I jumped into D:OS to get value for my money. The game looksI'm not really fond of games with turn based battles, but as a KS backer, I jumped into D:OS to get value for my money. The game looks fantastic (and let's set the refresh rate as well; even with my high-end machine, I like it to be low on fan noise when it is unnecessary). I'm more like a casual gamer and never played the Baldur's Gate series, and the game difficulty was a bit odd for me; XP is scarce and enemies are 1-2 level above my characters. In order to gain XP, I need to kill them, but even +1 level makes the fight very difficult. To be better, one needs more XP and non-battle quests are limited in an area so one has to rely on luck, buffs, pre-cast effects to get by; almost a catch 22 situation. There were a few battle annoyances, such as sometimes instead of attacking, the click got interpeted as a move command because the enemy's pixels were in some animation phase. Weapon durability is also a bit low for my taste. The third annoyance was the slippery ice, my main character managed to knock himself out over and over for like 5 minutes until I got tired and teleported away. Fortunately, quicksaves can be used, but autosaves are scarce and uneven; I lost nearly an hour worth of exploration once because I forgot to save manually. The voiceover is limited, but I felt a little bad skipping through most dialogue: somehow, reading 6-7 screens of text becomes boring after a while and one starts to look for keywords only. The story is generally interesting, but the journal is way less helpful than in other games. Usually it registers things that happened and provides little to no clue where to go next and what to do. No wonder the forums are full of the questions about them. The game and script run stable for most of the time, except some puzzles at the end which glitched out, but I was able to skip ahead. Expand
  7. Dec 2, 2014
    0
    Terrible game. Buggy multiplayer - freezes every single time. The best RPG that has come out in a long time? Are you freaking kidding? ITerrible game. Buggy multiplayer - freezes every single time. The best RPG that has come out in a long time? Are you freaking kidding? I rarely spend the time to review, but I have to get my opinion out there - I didn't like this game at all, boring story, boring combat compared to other games (try Dragon Age series instead - they are much better). Expand

See all 463 User Reviews