Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 59 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1887 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Gather your party and get ready for a new, back-to-the-roots RPG adventure. Discuss your decisions with companions; fight foes in turn-based combat; explore an open world and interact with everything and everyone you see. Join up with a friend to play online in co-op and make your ownGather your party and get ready for a new, back-to-the-roots RPG adventure. Discuss your decisions with companions; fight foes in turn-based combat; explore an open world and interact with everything and everyone you see. Join up with a friend to play online in co-op and make your own adventures with the powerful RPG toolkit. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 56 out of 59
  2. Negative: 0 out of 59
  1. 100
    Everything we loved about old RPGs in a complete, modern package. It's hard, it's well thought out, there's tons of options and most importantly, tons of fun. [Issue#244]
  2. Jul 26, 2014
    93
    Quotation forthcoming.
  3. Jul 9, 2014
    90
    Certainly, I have no hesitation in recommending Original Sin to RPG fans old and new, provided that you're up for a challenge from very early on and don't expect to romp through, Diablo-style.
  4. Aug 14, 2014
    90
    The classic RPG is making a comeback. After Shadowrun and Wasteland 2, this time it’s Divinity: Original Sin’s turn. This Kickstarter project from Belgium shows how fantasy elements can be used to their fullest extent. These developers understand what’s so great about magic and discovering a world. This is a tribute to the best Bioware, Obsidian, and D&D games that were produced with pen and paper over the last thirty years, had to offer.
  5. Jul 11, 2014
    87
    Thrilling old-school role playing game with total freedom and challenging battles.
  6. Jun 30, 2014
    82
    Divinity: Original Sin is able to both channel the roots of its old-school RPG ancestors such as Ultima and Baldur’s Gate, while also improving the genre as a whole in the process. From start to finish, Divinity: Original Sin is an incredible experience that is full of deep and engaging roleplaying. The true turn-based combat is a breath of fresh air in an industry obsessed with quick satisfaction and it brings you back to a time of tactics and thought. The roleplaying potential presented in quests and dialogue options puts Divinity: Original Sin decidedly above its peers in most aspects, but leaves room for improvement down the line. Larian Studios is on a strong path to returning their long-running franchise to the spotlight, for fans both new and old.
  7. Sep 4, 2014
    60
    It feels like there’s a very good game inside Divinity: Original Sin, but it’s hidden away behind a thousand glitches and gameplay problems.

See all 59 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 50 out of 456
  1. Jun 30, 2014
    10
    Most of the good things have been said alredy by previous reviewers. Literally the best RPG to come out in at least a decade.

    + Combat +
    Most of the good things have been said alredy by previous reviewers. Literally the best RPG to come out in at least a decade.

    + Combat
    + Story
    + Maps
    + Excessive dialogue
    + Playful environment
    + Mods
    Expand
  2. Jul 5, 2014
    10
    Lovely game. Very deep, conversations are interesting to read and the game does not hold your hand - it allows you to explore and discover.Lovely game. Very deep, conversations are interesting to read and the game does not hold your hand - it allows you to explore and discover. Combat is a lot more fun than I thought it would be, you need to keep your head at it. I imagine reviews will be late to this game as it's simply that big. Expand
  3. Oct 6, 2014
    10
    Divinity: Original Sin is what Baldurs Gate 3 should be!!!
    +Graphic!!!
    +Ablosute THE BEST turn base system in games! +MUSIC!!! LOVE THIS
    Divinity: Original Sin is what Baldurs Gate 3 should be!!!
    +Graphic!!!
    +Ablosute THE BEST turn base system in games!
    +MUSIC!!!
    LOVE THIS GAME!!!
    528
    Expand
  4. Jul 4, 2014
    10
    One realy pleasant surprise this gem of a game. It had a somewhat sketchy launch at 30-06-2014, but as of right now (04-07-2014), 5 days laterOne realy pleasant surprise this gem of a game. It had a somewhat sketchy launch at 30-06-2014, but as of right now (04-07-2014), 5 days later of launch, it already received a large number of hotfixes and updates to make the game even more polished and realy feels 100% as an AAA title in full right.

    Game is funny, full of exploration surprises, RPG elements realy interesting but not boring, combat is turned based but surprisingly fast and fun.

    I do believe that most (if not all) people complaining of negative ratings on this game must either have terribly optimized PC software/hardware or realy hate true RPGs not feeling them "action" enough.

    This game does not hand-hold you telling everytime where to go. There is no skyrim-like button you can press to know to way to go nor a mapmarker to tell you where to go next. There is no giant popups on screen telling you that an NPC wants to give you a quest on the next corner nor a glowing UI telling there is an object that needs to be picked up. Everything is done by exploring, conversating with NPCs, having "feelings" and "suspicious" that something is strange there and investigate.

    If you are used to games like diablo3 that is loot, loot, loot, kill, kill, kill, you will be disapointed with this game, it's more like older games that realy rewarded you for being inteligent, inquisitive, explorer and curious. In a sense it's not an interactive movie, but a treasure-finding game in every corner.

    Unfortunately, this latest gamming generation of people is more about easy and quick satisfaction instead of working towards a hidden goal that needs to use the brain, so probably you will find a lot of negative people saying that its "slow" or "non-intuitive" or "no quest markers, zomg!" or "no full voice textz, i need to readz, it's so 10 years ago, zomgz!".

    Don't play this game as an easy hack-n-slash expecting to end the game in 10 hours and get over with it, this is a game that will probably take you over 40hours if you are new to the (real)RPG elements and if you enjoy exploring and experiencing most of the hidden stuff.

    Also, there is the toolkit for the game engine that the developer released with the game, basically meaning that fans can build free content, mods that will probably change anything you might not fully enjoy in the game, etc. At the launch price with all this stuff, it's a given good value.

    As of now, i'm over 10 hours in the game, but i keep going back to see if i missed some corner unexplored and i still have some quests i', not sure how to proceed, but i'm folowing "gut-feelings" of where they might be.

    Bottom line: For an RPGer, i believe this is probably the best game launched in the last 10 years, probably only Dragon Age: Origins might be close behind.
    For a non-RPGer, it's harder to predict if you'll like it. You might love it, you might not. But if you have cash i highly recomend you try it because it's a potential "life-remembering" game.
    Expand
  5. Jul 29, 2014
    9
    This is the RPG that I've been waiting for. It takes me back to the good old day of Baldur's gate and Neverwinter. I just love this game. ItThis is the RPG that I've been waiting for. It takes me back to the good old day of Baldur's gate and Neverwinter. I just love this game. It forces you to read and understand the books and quests you find. No more endlessly clicking past every line to blast through the content. You do that and you will become lost and have no clue what is going on.

    An outstanding part of this game is the interaction with the environment. You can make it rain and electrocute enemies who are standing in a puddle. Or teleport an enemy into lava.

    The most important part about this game is that it rewards exploration. To all those game developers who think it's fun to run from quest marker to quest marker, take a good look at this game. This is how it should be. You only have an idea where you need to go. The rest you have to discover yourself. And when you do, it's freaking awesome. That's what exploration is about, set out into the unknown and be in awe of what you find along the way. Good or bad.
    Expand
  6. Jul 3, 2014
    8
    All I will say is this: If you want to get the most out of this game, you need to approach it right.

    Don't approach it as a modern video
    All I will say is this: If you want to get the most out of this game, you need to approach it right.

    Don't approach it as a modern video game, cause it won't meet your expectations. It doesn't mark every little NPC on your map, or write out in minute detail every step you need to do to complete a quest.

    It gives you the info you need, says, "figure it out!" and then kicks you out the door.

    90% of the time, I'll be thinking "This is stupid..." then realize i missed something that was right in front of me, and it becomes "Oh...that actually makes sense now"

    The game, doesn't even play like a modern game, It plays like an old-school D&D game. and I'm not talking Neverwinter Nights, we're talking Baldur's Gate meets Temple of Elemental Evil.

    and that's probably the best way to play it. Don't go expecting crazy action like NWN or Dungeon Siege. Go in expecting to play a nice old-school d20 type game. Just with easier to understand stats.
    Expand
  7. Feb 14, 2015
    0
    OMG, probably the most overrated game I have ever played. I have been waiting to buy this game for months hoping for a big Steam sale and wasOMG, probably the most overrated game I have ever played. I have been waiting to buy this game for months hoping for a big Steam sale and was finally able to get it at 40% off but I still feel like I got ripped off. This game is nothing compared to Wasteland 2! Many problems with the game: Terrible AI, they walk right into mines even though you have clearly ID them. The inventory system is painful, especially when you are trying to sell items through vendors. Tons of reading pointless narrative, you have to read two or 3 paragraphs of crap just to get the to lines of information you want. I would usually end up skipping through the crap and then reading my journal to figure out what if anything was important. Weapons have crap durability. NOT open World because monster only a few levels above your characters will whoop you butt. So you have to go around the world looking for the one spot where the monsters are weak in order to level up you team. Only 4 characters allowed in you party at one time. Picking up loot is a pain. Loot usually sucks. Dork humor that doesn't fit. Limited conversation options. Requires micromanagement of your entire party at all times. You have to buy overpriced lockpicks and trap disarming tools constantly. Just because this game isn't by a big publisher doesn't mean they should get away with this crap. A 8.8 rating for a game where character don't speak their lines and you have to read everything, where you have to micromanage each characters movements so they don't step on a mine or walk into a trap cmon! This game is crap! Expand

See all 456 User Reviews