Divinity: Original Sin PC

Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 59 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1984 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Gather your party and get ready for a new, back-to-the-roots RPG adventure. Discuss your decisions with companions; fight foes in turn-based combat; explore an open world and interact with everything and everyone you see. Join up with a friend to play online in co-op and make your ownGather your party and get ready for a new, back-to-the-roots RPG adventure. Discuss your decisions with companions; fight foes in turn-based combat; explore an open world and interact with everything and everyone you see. Join up with a friend to play online in co-op and make your own adventures with the powerful RPG toolkit. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 56 out of 59
  2. Negative: 0 out of 59
  1. 100
    Everything we loved about old RPGs in a complete, modern package. It's hard, it's well thought out, there's tons of options and most importantly, tons of fun. [Issue#244]
  2. Jul 26, 2014
    93
    Quotation forthcoming.
  3. Jul 9, 2014
    90
    Certainly, I have no hesitation in recommending Original Sin to RPG fans old and new, provided that you're up for a challenge from very early on and don't expect to romp through, Diablo-style.
  4. Aug 14, 2014
    90
    The classic RPG is making a comeback. After Shadowrun and Wasteland 2, this time it’s Divinity: Original Sin’s turn. This Kickstarter project from Belgium shows how fantasy elements can be used to their fullest extent. These developers understand what’s so great about magic and discovering a world. This is a tribute to the best Bioware, Obsidian, and D&D games that were produced with pen and paper over the last thirty years, had to offer.
  5. Jul 11, 2014
    87
    Thrilling old-school role playing game with total freedom and challenging battles.
  6. Jun 30, 2014
    82
    Divinity: Original Sin is able to both channel the roots of its old-school RPG ancestors such as Ultima and Baldur’s Gate, while also improving the genre as a whole in the process. From start to finish, Divinity: Original Sin is an incredible experience that is full of deep and engaging roleplaying. The true turn-based combat is a breath of fresh air in an industry obsessed with quick satisfaction and it brings you back to a time of tactics and thought. The roleplaying potential presented in quests and dialogue options puts Divinity: Original Sin decidedly above its peers in most aspects, but leaves room for improvement down the line. Larian Studios is on a strong path to returning their long-running franchise to the spotlight, for fans both new and old.
  7. Sep 4, 2014
    60
    It feels like there’s a very good game inside Divinity: Original Sin, but it’s hidden away behind a thousand glitches and gameplay problems.

See all 59 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 52 out of 470
  1. Jun 30, 2014
    10
    Most of the good things have been said alredy by previous reviewers. Literally the best RPG to come out in at least a decade.

    + Combat +
    Most of the good things have been said alredy by previous reviewers. Literally the best RPG to come out in at least a decade.

    + Combat
    + Story
    + Maps
    + Excessive dialogue
    + Playful environment
    + Mods
    Expand
  2. Jul 5, 2014
    10
    I really like this game, there is a lot to explore and multiple ways to play it. Singleplayer and multiplayer are very different experiences.I really like this game, there is a lot to explore and multiple ways to play it. Singleplayer and multiplayer are very different experiences. I should have backed it, but I didn't, however I am happy that the game has exceeded my expectations and bought it at full price. Expand
  3. Aug 16, 2014
    10
    I gave this game 10/10, because honestly, so far it is just about perfect. I have not finished it yet, but it is exactly what I have alwaysI gave this game 10/10, because honestly, so far it is just about perfect. I have not finished it yet, but it is exactly what I have always loved about roleplaying games. If you go outside of the starting city too early, the enemies are not scaled down, and instead you get killed. The game can be PUNISHINGLY hard if you don't do a few side quests now and then. There's a lot of humor to the game. For example, when you go into "stealth mode" you diguise yourself as a part of the environment. Undergound you might disguise yourself as a stone. Inside, as a barrel, etc. There's a lot of fun to be had and a lot of content to explore. If you're expecting visual spectacles the likes of which you have never seen or spectacular voice acting, then this isn't the game for you. But if you want a good, old-fashioned RPG like Baldur's gate or Morrowind, then you've come to the right place. The game doesn't coddle you. It doesn't adjust the levels of enemies. The first time I played, I made some unfortunate mistakes leveling up, but I don't object to the fact that it cost me a little. Now I've learned and I'm trying it over again.

    And the best thing about it is that I don't feel the ten hours I spent before I restarted were wasted at all. No, I learned in the school of hard knocks. I'd elaborate more, but I'm going to go play a little bit more.
    Expand
  4. Jul 4, 2014
    10
    I wish more people knew about this game. It has great graphics, steadily pumping at a high frame rate with max settings.Divinity is excitingI wish more people knew about this game. It has great graphics, steadily pumping at a high frame rate with max settings.Divinity is exciting and fun, while still being turn-based. The crazy thing is that I haven't even played this game yet! Expand
  5. Jul 17, 2014
    9
    It says I've played 112 hours... and if I calculate in my head that may be about right, but it has seemed like 40 through sheer fun, and IIt says I've played 112 hours... and if I calculate in my head that may be about right, but it has seemed like 40 through sheer fun, and I have no idea how much of the main story is left.

    The game helps as little as possible without being frustrating, which is an incredibly hard thing to pull off. It makes you feel like an adventurer again... instead of a button smasher.

    This is a 9.4 and it creeps up almost every day. I honestly do not want to find its end.
    Expand
  6. Sep 10, 2014
    8
    After 2 very thorough playthroughs and with 172 hours on record, I guess I must clearly recommend this game :-)

    It is a HUGE, wonderfully
    After 2 very thorough playthroughs and with 172 hours on record, I guess I must clearly recommend this game :-)

    It is a HUGE, wonderfully modernized but still refreshingly old-school rpg, with an incredible attention to detail, great humor, a decent story and an amazingly deep, turn-based tactical combat system that allows for countless approaches and combinations.
    It looks georgeous, is surprisingly bug-free for a project this size (and it's patched regularly and fast as well), and it runs well even on older systems. The crafting system is fun and intuitive, and some of the puzzles are very well done.

    For all the praise, however, I also have to mention the downsides. And there are definitely those:
    The balance, in general, could use an overhaul. The game has a pretty steep learning curve in the beginning, but once you know the system, the fights are actually very, very simple. Note that I say simple, not easy.

    The fights, especially boss fights, tend to be long, repetitive, tedious, and, yes, even boring. The enemies usually have a TON of hitpoints, unlimited special abilities and everyone and their mothers, - of the same level or a bit higher than the party - is pretty much immune to special abilities - and thus, most tactical choices. They do, however, do pretty pathetic amounts of damage while keeping your party stunned, crippled, knocked down, frozen and generally annoyed but alive.
    I would highly prefer shorter, more challenging battles against enemies that are actually affected by all the special arrows I can craft and all those abilities - foes that are much faster to kill or disable but a lot more likely to kill ME.

    The numbers/RPG mechanics are yet another problem. Larian follows the old JRPG-style of insane number exaggeration. You start with a weapon that does 10 damage and you'll end with some monstrous obscentiy that can easily exceed 1000 damage on a critical hit or with a special maneuver. Enemies hitpoints and resistances grow accordingly, and the interesting enemies are thus always within about 2 levels of yours. Higher enemies are pretty much untouchable, lower ones pathetically helpless.

    And, finally, many quests and puzzles are just too damn obscure. I commend Larian to go against the mainstream, and skip all the quest markers, map markers, signs above a quest giver's head etc. But sometimes they fall to the other extreme and there is simply no way to continue with a quest but to randomly walk evereywhere, try everything and finally check the internet, only to learn that you missed some random item 4 hours ago... ;-P
    More logic and sensible hints, please!

    But this is all just criticizing on a VERY high level, and it doesn't diminish the fun at all. And, hands down, you won't get a better deal for your money anywhere atm.
    Expand
  7. Jun 15, 2015
    0
    Tried game for one hour. The combat is insipid, slow, and thoughtless. Combat is turn based. If this game played like Dungeon Siege, it wouldTried game for one hour. The combat is insipid, slow, and thoughtless. Combat is turn based. If this game played like Dungeon Siege, it would have been awesome, but, it does not. The good graphics does not save this game. As a hero, you feel pretty weak and the characters are fragile compared to the enemies. The combat is painfully slow, it takes 10-15 minutes to fight 3 -6 skeletons! Your spells and abilities seem only to pinch the enemies and the enemies heal 2 turns worth of your attacks in one turn. The enemies are also very spread out so you are walking around a lot with nothing to look at except the map. This game absolutely is a chore to play, and is not fun. Don't listen to the hype, this game sucks. Expand

See all 470 User Reviews