Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 57 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1435 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Gather your party and get ready for a new, back-to-the-roots RPG adventure. Discuss your decisions with companions; fight foes in turn-based combat; explore an open world and interact with everything and everyone you see. Join up with a friend to play online in co-op and make your own adventures with the powerful RPG toolkit. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 57
  2. Negative: 0 out of 57
  1. 100
    Everything we loved about old RPGs in a complete, modern package. It's hard, it's well thought out, there's tons of options and most importantly, tons of fun. [Issue#244]
  2. Jul 26, 2014
    93
    Quotation forthcoming.
  3. Jul 9, 2014
    90
    Certainly, I have no hesitation in recommending Original Sin to RPG fans old and new, provided that you're up for a challenge from very early on and don't expect to romp through, Diablo-style.
  4. Aug 12, 2014
    90
    Combines the best aspects of old-school RPG approach and modern mechanics. [Issue#251, p.76]
  5. Jul 11, 2014
    87
    Quotation forthcoming
  6. Jun 30, 2014
    82
    Divinity: Original Sin is able to both channel the roots of its old-school RPG ancestors such as Ultima and Baldur’s Gate, while also improving the genre as a whole in the process. From start to finish, Divinity: Original Sin is an incredible experience that is full of deep and engaging roleplaying. The true turn-based combat is a breath of fresh air in an industry obsessed with quick satisfaction and it brings you back to a time of tactics and thought. The roleplaying potential presented in quests and dialogue options puts Divinity: Original Sin decidedly above its peers in most aspects, but leaves room for improvement down the line. Larian Studios is on a strong path to returning their long-running franchise to the spotlight, for fans both new and old.
  7. Sep 4, 2014
    60
    It feels like there’s a very good game inside Divinity: Original Sin, but it’s hidden away behind a thousand glitches and gameplay problems.

See all 57 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 37 out of 378
  1. Apr 12, 2014
    10
    What Joebreeze690 failed to mention is that this game is still in beta (as of this post), and things are still subject to change. Yes there are bugs, but that is to be expected in beta games. The game itself was greatly inspired by Ultima 7, the developers even said so during the kickstarter.

    If you're a fan of rich and engaging worlds, then this should be on your list of games to purchase. As of this post I've spent 88 hours in the beta, in comparison I've spent about 100 hours in Dragon Age Origins. I love my RPGs, action and turn based alike.

    The game has a nice drop-in co-op gaming experience, and a well thought out and planned dialogue system. The battles are challenging, but there's ways that you can get around tackling enemies head on if you so wished. The NPCs are engaging and it doesn't feel like talking to them is like quest grabbing with markers over their heads. The game doesn't lead you by the hand with markers dotted all over the map.

    There is no set classes, instead the game gives you general prebuilt classes to choose from which you can modify. In that way you're a lot more free to decide your character than most modern RPGs allow. At the moment the prebuilt classes number 11 in total, with them being a mix between melee, ranged and spell casters. You have five initial schools of magic (earth, fire, water, air and witchcraft), with another likely to be added later in the game (the mysterious Source that you are meant to be hunting down). The music is written and composed by Larian's in-house composer, and is excellent, fitting the scenes it plays in well.

    This game will be good for fans of Dragon Age Origins, less so for fans of Dragon Age 2. Even in beta, this game is in my top 5 games of all time.
    Expand
  2. Jul 6, 2014
    10
    Long awaited masterpiece for every true oldschool RPG entusiast. Don't mind haters opinions, as they are nothing more than youngsters that find Fallout 3 the ULTIMATE RPG EXPERIENCE, and can't stand anything that is not ridiculously action packed. Expand
  3. Jul 21, 2014
    10
    This is what RPGs should be like. Tactical, immersive, open, not pull-you-by-the-nose affairs or cinematic extravaganzas. BioWare used to know this better than anyone, but they lost their way. We have seen far too many RPGs where the full weight falls on characters and story, but where gameplay falls short. Original Sin, however, is much more about the game itself, than anything else. It keeps you hooked not because you want to see what happens next, but because you want to brave the next challenge, explore the world and improve your character. In order to progress you will not just use your best skills in cooldown order and repeat, but you have to think about your tactics and adjust them to the situation. It is not perfect, but it is refreshing and interesting to the extreme. Collapse
  4. Jul 3, 2014
    10
    This is one of the best games I have played in a long time, an unbelievable time sink that you enjoy every moment of. As you play new depths to the game are revealed. It's one of those games where not everything can be mentioned because there is just so much game. The first map alone can take 37 hours to complete then you still have 3 more big maps plus 6 smaller maps and that doesnt include dungeons. Combat is fun but challenging, interactivity with the world is incredible.

    More patches with new content is also coming. Comes with a mod kit (which is actually simple to use), so expect some crazy mods in the future on steamworks. Well done Larian you surpassed my expectations.

    This is a release impression
    Expand
  5. Aug 2, 2014
    9
    Divinity Original Sin is a great game with several issues which could easily be fixed with future patches. The Good: Combat: The combat is some of the best rpg combat I have played in a very long time if not ever. Element interaction for combat makes every fight interesting.

    Music: The music is very well done. Unfortunately some of the music does not create immersion/ repetitive.

    Story: The story is not the most original story ever created but it still intriguing enough to keep you playing through the game.

    The Bad:

    Lack of Characters:
    There are only two characters that you are able to get for your party are bland, and the mercenaries you are able to get from your homestead are just the same except no boring/ uncreative back stories.

    The game is easily the best RPG I have seen for years, since the age of Baldur's Gate. I have been incredibly satisfied with the game overall. With future fixes and Mods this game could be one of the best RPGs ever.
    Expand
  6. Jul 2, 2014
    9
    Was a kickstarter backer and very glad I was. The amount of depth in this game is amazing. All the different skills, the dialogue, the crazy amount of quests. And it's not just linear, or one way to do quests. A lot of quests have different ways to complete them, different outcomes. The combat is beautiful, all the skills are so varied and amazing to use. The customization is intense. You can just pick and choose whatever you want. Want to start out with a fire mage/ranger? Sure! Witchcraft/Rogue/Water mage? Why not? The only thing I have to say negative is it is a bit glitchy and buggy, and the way to get skills is a bit annoying, buying the skillbooks from merchants. Also wish the 2 other companions were in the game currently, but there are tons of henchmen of all different classes. This is a party game mostly, you control at least 2-4 members. Highly recommended, you will be totally immersed and won't have your hand held at all! Expand
  7. Aug 29, 2014
    0
    Finally beat the game. Finished every side-quest (No Guides Used). This game has a few horrible horrible horrible horrible problems. First of all, the slowness of the game, and I have no problem with slow games... until they pass the point of no return... Some of the casting animations literally take 8+ seconds.... seriously... there is NO need for this. Bugs are ridiculous, some game breaking. I had to restart the entire game TWICE because of it. I waited btw, until the most recent patch to play. It is a broken game atm. There are only 2 FOLLOWERS. AND..... ROCK PAPER SCISSORS? REALLY? I will wait 2 months, and see how it has developed. But until then, this slow... broken... and unfinished game gets a 0. Expand

See all 378 User Reviews