Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 58 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1790 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Gather your party and get ready for a new, back-to-the-roots RPG adventure. Discuss your decisions with companions; fight foes in turn-based combat; explore an open world and interact with everything and everyone you see. Join up with a friend to play online in co-op and make your ownGather your party and get ready for a new, back-to-the-roots RPG adventure. Discuss your decisions with companions; fight foes in turn-based combat; explore an open world and interact with everything and everyone you see. Join up with a friend to play online in co-op and make your own adventures with the powerful RPG toolkit. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 58
  2. Negative: 0 out of 58
  1. 100
    Everything we loved about old RPGs in a complete, modern package. It's hard, it's well thought out, there's tons of options and most importantly, tons of fun. [Issue#244]
  2. Jul 26, 2014
    93
    Quotation forthcoming.
  3. Jul 8, 2014
    90
    Embrace the lack of handholding and complete freedom, and you have an incredible title that provides many hours of entertainment.
  4. Aug 12, 2014
    90
    Combines the best aspects of old-school RPG approach and modern mechanics. [Issue#251, p.76]
  5. Sep 8, 2014
    85
    An amazing RPG experience. It falls a bit flat on characterization and writing on occasion, but nails just about everything else. It does a great job of compelling players to roleplay their on-screen characters, putting the "RP" back into RPG.
  6. Oct 22, 2014
    80
    Relatively small Larian Studios finally managed to deliver a really significant game. Original Sin is brimming with ideas on how to bring back old school RPG vibe and make it fit modern times. [Sept 2014, p.50]
  7. Sep 4, 2014
    60
    It feels like there’s a very good game inside Divinity: Original Sin, but it’s hidden away behind a thousand glitches and gameplay problems.

See all 58 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 47 out of 435
  1. Jun 30, 2014
    10
    Most of the good things have been said alredy by previous reviewers. Literally the best RPG to come out in at least a decade.

    + Combat +
    Most of the good things have been said alredy by previous reviewers. Literally the best RPG to come out in at least a decade.

    + Combat
    + Story
    + Maps
    + Excessive dialogue
    + Playful environment
    + Mods
    Expand
  2. Jul 5, 2014
    10
    You know those games where it feels like the devs took time to make sure even the little aspects of the games had significant time spent onYou know those games where it feels like the devs took time to make sure even the little aspects of the games had significant time spent on them? This is one of those games.

    One common flaw in turn based tactical games is the combat is just not tactical enough. D:OS does an amazing job with their skill system combined with the environmental dangers on the battlefield. I found wasn't doing well until I was utilizing the environment in almost every battle, and it is awesome.

    Co-op games are so easy to set up! I had 0 issues getting my friend in my game and its fast every game. If I had one issue with the game it comes in this category though. Conversations started by one person is difficult and sometimes not observable by the other player. I want to see that amazing story too!

    Are there bugs? Yes, but nothing gamebreaking and not many considering it just released. The one bug I kept encountering they fixed in one of their 4 small patches in 4 days anyways. I love knowing the devs won't wait forever to patch this game.
    Expand
  3. Aug 4, 2014
    10
    A remarkable RPG experience with a fun and lighthearted approach. I do not want to compare this game to the RPG greats because I firmlyA remarkable RPG experience with a fun and lighthearted approach. I do not want to compare this game to the RPG greats because I firmly believe it deserves a place among them. It takes everything that the classic RPG's had and pushes it into a new age with new and improved features.

    My favourite features:
    - Turn-Based Combat
    - Deep character skills, talents and abilities system
    - Fun dialogue with a rock/paper/scissors mini-game to handle disagreements

    Cons: Starts of a bit slow and can be overly complex for simplistic gamers that aren't used to all the stats and abilities. By no means would I take a point off my score because of this because I also consider it to be a defining feature.
    Expand
  4. Jul 4, 2014
    10
    I wish more people knew about this game. It has great graphics, steadily pumping at a high frame rate with max settings.Divinity is excitingI wish more people knew about this game. It has great graphics, steadily pumping at a high frame rate with max settings.Divinity is exciting and fun, while still being turn-based. The crazy thing is that I haven't even played this game yet! Expand
  5. Jul 8, 2014
    9
    The game, its content, the combat system, the character creation and customization system, the wild and wacky science kit that is the craftingThe game, its content, the combat system, the character creation and customization system, the wild and wacky science kit that is the crafting system, and the wonderful musical score that keeps everything emotionally engaging are quite simply, all perfect.

    I haven't been this engaged by or engrossed in a game in a very very long time. Truly a fantastic release, and hopefully the first of many. The only thing that drops my score from a perfect 10 are technical issues. Save often, it's not the most stable game currently, and if you're playing co-op you can expect desync and disconnection issues fairly often. These issues are a minor annoyance though, and do nothing to diminish the awesome time that this game provides.
    Expand
  6. Oct 14, 2014
    8
    Since certain issues that I had with the game have been fixed, I just wanted to update my score. My biggest issue with the game were theSince certain issues that I had with the game have been fixed, I just wanted to update my score. My biggest issue with the game were the dialogue choices which were based on rock, paper, scissor minigame. Since then, the developers have added skill checks, which is what I always wanted. Therefore, the game is no longer 7/10 for me. Expand
  7. Dec 16, 2014
    0
    The king is naked. Honorouble try for catching the wind of the classics but i do not expect anything from a game that does not respect itselfThe king is naked. Honorouble try for catching the wind of the classics but i do not expect anything from a game that does not respect itself or even the genre it is supposed to belong. You think childish design which assumes leaving players dark in a universe where not a single f.ck could be given is supposed to be the way to go for resurrecting classics ? Go back to drawing board and start by respecting the genre and the people who will play in it. Expand

See all 435 User Reviews