Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1545 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: DmC is the next installment in the Devil May Cry series, set in the present day, with new weapons and a new setting for Dante. Chain together combo after combo with panache and dispatch demonic spawn back to hell.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 22
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 22
  3. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. Feb 6, 2013
    95
    The game really is just pure fun to play. On a high end PC, the game looks amazing in cut scenes and in the fast-paced combat. If you are an action game fan, you owe it to yourself to own DmC. You will not be disappointed.
  2. Jan 27, 2013
    90
    In what seems like commonplace lately, the PC version of DmC: Devil May Cry is the definitive version to play. While the mouse and keyboard controls aren't as precise as playing with a controller, the graphical upgrades and increase in frame rate make an already impressive game even more stunning.
  3. Feb 4, 2013
    90
    It may not be for hardcore fans of the series who are attuned to a particular playstyle, but for everyone else DmC: Devil May Cry is a highly accomplished character action game with a lot to love. It’s a different type of game than its predecessors but one that’s wholly successful at what it does, bringing relevancy back to the Devil May Cry name.
  4. Feb 5, 2013
    85
    Ninja Theory's last game is an amazing experience. This is the most complete version of DMC Devil May Cry, although there is no support for DirectX 11 and the game suffer from some minor technical issues.
  5. Feb 20, 2013
    85
    DMC: Devil May Cry sublimates the best of the genre and conquest PC user with a fast-paced and eye-catching title, made of pure action.
  6. Jan 29, 2013
    83
    Whatever your thoughts on the redesigned Dante, this is a worthy entry in the series with a marvellous combat system at its core.
  7. Feb 14, 2013
    78
    Graphical flaws and overly linear gameplay aside, DmC is a solid first installment in the relaunched franchise.

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 54 out of 288
  1. Jan 25, 2013
    10
    I played all DMC games before, I loved them all, personally I loved most first and third.
    At first I was very angry about reboot. Turned
    I played all DMC games before, I loved them all, personally I loved most first and third.
    At first I was very angry about reboot. Turned blind eye to a game and my opinion was full of hatred... But then... Well it's stupid compare reboot to a old games. I mean story and writting isn't best really, but gameplay, environments, concept is really nice. And music isn't very monotonic. To be fair it's something new in gaming, some fresh air.... It might not a some deep masterpiece, but it's a good game to have fun, and games supposed to be fun. Also I'm happy with good PC performance, nice to eye graphics and smooth gameplay.
    Thanks for creating something new, I'm sorry fot those closed minded guys who can't enjoy anything and must act like mindless fanatics. No one forces play it, and I saw a game as a new game. It is nothing like old one, but it's better than repeating old stuff.
    Expand
  2. Jan 30, 2014
    10
    a very good game the combat is what i liked most,if u play it on a keyboard u are gonna have some problems but if u get a controller the gamea very good game the combat is what i liked most,if u play it on a keyboard u are gonna have some problems but if u get a controller the game becomes pretty fun u just get to deal easily a ton of flashy kills with style and it feels awesome,i just wanna go on bloody palace mode and kill for hours Expand
  3. Jan 26, 2013
    9
    Great game and one of the best PC ports ever. I think that fanboys of older DMC should calm down, this game is not even named DMC5. Even MGSGreat game and one of the best PC ports ever. I think that fanboys of older DMC should calm down, this game is not even named DMC5. Even MGS fans are less worried about that new MGR spin-off. Expand
  4. Apr 8, 2013
    8
    Just because of a change in style does not make a game bad. Dmc is a very fun game, it really engages you trying to keep that combo and makingJust because of a change in style does not make a game bad. Dmc is a very fun game, it really engages you trying to keep that combo and making your fights stylish. Dante carries a very wide range of weapons, each with their own unique abilities. I also like how some enemies are vulnerable to only certain abilities, making you have to switch. The story feels much more creative and unique than the previous devil may cry games. Camera controls feel less quirky than in Dmc 4.
    I would like to see some harder difficulty levels though. DmC would be better than the previous dmcs if it could match its difficulty level, which made the previous versions very intense.
    Expand
  5. Jan 26, 2013
    8
    Overall it's a really fun action game. Controls are good, sound design and most of the voice acting is rather good. Script falls flat a littleOverall it's a really fun action game. Controls are good, sound design and most of the voice acting is rather good. Script falls flat a little too often for the story to be particularly engaging or well... Good. Despite an overall lackluster story some really cool ideas are thrown in and they set up some great level design. Graphics are rather good for a multiplatform title. The combat system is very good overall. Tons of options regarding how you play due to having 8 weapons available at all times by the end of the game, and each weapon having several upgradeable/learn-able abilities. Certainly not classic DMC action, but there are 4 games that hold up perfectly fine if that's what you're looking for. If you're a fan of the series (like me) or a newcomer to action games there's a lot of fun to be had here, so long as you're willing to put up with a lackluster story. But I don't really know anyone who plays action games, let alone Devil May Cry, for the story. Expand
  6. Jan 26, 2013
    6
    In short: Great action game, I like the style and everything, but a bad Devil May Cry. In Detail: The thing is, if you have never playedIn short: Great action game, I like the style and everything, but a bad Devil May Cry. In Detail: The thing is, if you have never played another dmc or just played it because your friend had a copy and you gave it a try, you will not be disappointed with the new one. But I always liked the Old Dante and loved the Games, not only because of the action and the white hair, but because of the whole over the top coolness. Dante is supposed to be a smooth dude who always finds the write words to make you grin, he is not supposed to feel like "a real guy" with "real feelings" that Expand
  7. Nov 24, 2014
    0
    Pathetic excuse to use the DMC name. 30fps no difficulty and no styles make this a gigantic step backwards from the previous games. The storyPathetic excuse to use the DMC name. 30fps no difficulty and no styles make this a gigantic step backwards from the previous games. The story is a rip off of "They Live" and the dialogue is something that would make a grade-school bully cringe in embarrassment. And last of all the characters...oh the characters...they are a walking insult to the old incarnations and a constant middle finger to all the true fans of Devil May Cry. Expand

See all 288 User Reviews