DogFighter PC

DogFighter Image
Metascore
  1. First Review
  2. Second Review
  3. Third Review
  4. Fourth Review

No score yet - based on 2 Critics Awaiting 2 more reviews What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 28 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: DogFighter is a fast paced, arcade aerial combat game with arena style gameplay values. Players can compete against up to 7 opponents in 3 multiplayer modes, or go solo in 6 single player game modes, using beefed up biplanes sporting over 20 different offensive and defensive weapons.
    Using
    DogFighter is a fast paced, arcade aerial combat game with arena style gameplay values. Players can compete against up to 7 opponents in 3 multiplayer modes, or go solo in 6 single player game modes, using beefed up biplanes sporting over 20 different offensive and defensive weapons.
    Using a state-of-the-art flight model and controls, ensure that players will have unprecedented command of DogFighters craft. Complete control of the craft, combined with easily executed advanced manoeuvres such as the Barrel Roll, give DogFighter players the tools they need to master the skies.
    With environments built to both slay and save you, the environments in DogFighter offer the player a more interactive experience than is usual for the genre. Players can enjoy piloting their craft down mining tunnels, through pyramids and active volcanoes, in environments designed to deliver a more varied, more interactive gaming experience. Fly low, fly fast!
    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 2
  2. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. May 31, 2011
    80
    The lack of a single-player campaign aside, the game is strong evidence that independent developers take more risks than the big boys. It's a daredevil act to put out a game in a genre that's long out of fashion and it's even more impressive that Dark Water Studios made the game so well-balanced and fun. It's a steal at $10 and a great throwback to the glory days of flight and fighting.
  2. May 15, 2011
    70
    It's a game for fast and funny multiplayer action, if you find players. Aside that, there's no campaign, no pretty effects, no sense of flying.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 22
  2. Negative: 3 out of 22
  1. Nov 18, 2010
    10
    This game was great fun, especially for it's price... a few weekends ago I got 4 for about £3.50. There is also game pad support,This game was great fun, especially for it's price... a few weekends ago I got 4 for about £3.50. There is also game pad support, at very least for Xbox360 Controllers. Expand
  2. Dec 3, 2010
    10
    This game has so much potential for a decent deathmatch game (which in itself isn't too attractive) but it's plagued with little bugs and iffyThis game has so much potential for a decent deathmatch game (which in itself isn't too attractive) but it's plagued with little bugs and iffy physics. The graphics and UI is nice and flashy, if not a bit rough on the edges, and the gameplay is arcady and quick, but I had some issues: My boost meter glitched out, I flipped my plane upside down and there was no roll keys to right it, I finished a level and it gave me gold, then took it away afterwards without explanation. I played it for a total of 10 minutes, declared it broken, and left it. I'm sure there's fun to be found, but there's easier less frustrating ways to amuse yourself. Expand
  3. Oct 26, 2010
    10
    I bought Dogfighter from Steam when is was released in June, since then I've played it numerous times online as I do prefer multiplayer.I bought Dogfighter from Steam when is was released in June, since then I've played it numerous times online as I do prefer multiplayer. Singleplayer is available but I find MP a lot more fun.

    It's a bright colourful game that is a lot of fun to play with a few friends or you can join a game with other players in one of the dedicated servers, various game modes are available to choose from, capture the flag, team deathmatch, lonewolf, etc.

    There are great maps to play on and some of those maps really will test your skill as a pilot if you're being chased by another fighter, if you prefer closer combat then you have tunnel areas that really do put your flying skills to the test, combine those close combat tunnels with a fast aircraft and it's a challenge to follow another fighter into these tunnels but so rewarding if you can take the kill :)

    The aircraft (numerous to choose from) handle smoothly and are quick and responsive when you need it the most. Keyboard and mouse/joystick/gamepad work fine so it's up to you which you decide to use.

    Nice clean menus and leaderboards too if you want to see how you're doing against other pilots that play or just challenge your friends to a game and brag about your flying skills and you'll have stats to prove it.

    A recent patch 'Call to Arms' was released and this included various tweaks to the game, a new map and a new aircraft (The Mongoose). I've flown this a few times and it is very quick in a dive but sometimes you'll need that speed to get out of trouble quickly especially if you have someone on your tail.

    The new map is great to fly on and a pier you can fly under if need be to get away from another fighter, failing that you can try going high but you do become more of a target to the other fighters so deciding what tactic to use and when is important.

    If you are being chased you do have defensive weapons too, laying mines in certain spots can be beneficial but you also have rear rockets so any chasing fighter has to be careful how close they get to you, their are other numerous defensive weapons but you'll have to buy the game to find out what they are :P

    What's the support for the game like? First class in my opinion!!

    The devs are on the Steam forums daily asking for the communities suggestions for things we'd like to see in the game, some of those suggestions have already been included in the game, joystick support is one such thing but they also ask about any new game modes we'd like or ideas for new maps so the community provides a lot of feedback for the devs so they can take that information and bring into the game, the devs also give the community feedback about any new patches that might be released and what those patches include, as they did with the recent patch containing the new aircraft and new map. We had sneaky peeks of the map and aircraft and several posts by the devs informing us how the patch was progressing.

    I can't really criticise this game, it's got dedicated servers, a good choice of maps and aircraft to choose from, a new tutorial mode (included in the latest patch), it runs well, loads quickly, has good support from the devs and it's fun to play.

    The game is currently on a special deal on Steam, it costs a whopping £1.05 (yes you did read that correctly) it's cheaper than a loaf of bread here in the UK, awesome!!

    I think we're going to see a lot more additions to this game, new game modes (which the devs have already asked about), new aircraft and new maps.

    I'm looking forward to see what more it has to offer, I'll see you in the air, preferably in my sights :P
    Expand
  4. Nov 9, 2010
    9
    Simplistic, fast, and easy to pick up. The graphic are gorgeous. Fresh from those "me too" FPS multiplayer game.Stories? Who need em?

    Need
    Simplistic, fast, and easy to pick up. The graphic are gorgeous. Fresh from those "me too" FPS multiplayer game.Stories? Who need em?

    Need some polishing, but the developer listen to the players from the steam forum.
    Expand
  5. Oct 30, 2010
    8
    I bough the game recently when I saw it was on offer on Steam. I did not expect much to be honest, but I was wrong. This game is pureI bough the game recently when I saw it was on offer on Steam. I did not expect much to be honest, but I was wrong. This game is pure addiction. It is exactly what the title says. Many people in a map dogfighting! Of course do not expect accurate physics, the game is arcade. A good variety of power-ups and maps is available to keep the game interesting. There are still some glitches in the game but the developer team is very active fixing and adding things frequently. Expand
  6. Oct 30, 2010
    8
    Crazy indie game fun. Only £8.99 on Steam and just total fun. Totally arcade shooter. Plays brilliant with an Xbox controller butCrazy indie game fun. Only £8.99 on Steam and just total fun. Totally arcade shooter. Plays brilliant with an Xbox controller but keyboard and joystick work just as well. Take to the skies in deathmatch, team death match, capture the flag and other game modes. About 6 different planes all with their own characteristics from heavy slow armored to zippy scout planes with low armour. You whizz around grabbing pickups that are weapons. There are also 'special' pickups such as secondary weapons or cool stuff like invisibility. It's hosted by matchmaking or dedicated server. Create your own game or join a server. You can have 8-16 players and given you're in a relatively smallish area so it makes for some crazy fun. It's not complicated just a total arcade shooter that's really good fun. this game was HIGHLY addictive!!! Its rather a brilliant but simple game and you will not find a better time sink for the price. Expand
  7. Nov 6, 2010
    2
    A lot of bugs and lags during the game. No game pad support. Often problems to connect to dedicated servers. It feels more like a beta versionA lot of bugs and lags during the game. No game pad support. Often problems to connect to dedicated servers. It feels more like a beta version than a finished product. Expand

See all 22 User Reviews