Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 677 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Assume the role of Wilson, an intrepid Gentleman Scientist who has been trapped by a demon and transported to a mysterious wilderness world. Wilson must learn to utilize his environment and its inhabitants if he ever hopes to escape and find his way back home. Enter a strange and unexplored world full of strange creatures, dangers, and surprises. Collect resources to craft items and structures that match your survival style. Play your way as you unravel the mysteries of this strange land. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. Apr 29, 2013
    94
    If you like survival games, if you enjoy Tim Burton-esque artwork, or if you’re just looking for an unforgiving challenge of a game, pick up Don’t Starve immediately. Pretty much everything about this game is fantastic, and you’ll undoubtedly fall in love with it.
  2. 88
    Low price, enormous content, it’s a no-brainer. Fans of sandbox survival games, buy it with your eyes closed! [May 2013]
  3. Jun 4, 2013
    85
    One could think that a game that makes you cut down trees, shatter rocks and cook meals will get boring quickly, but it’s not the case with Don’t Starve. Each time you start in a freshly generated world and time and again encounter new things, monsters and events. Even after writing this review I’m convinced there’s still a lot for me to experience in Klei’s new game. [CD-Action 07/2013, p.60]
  4. Apr 30, 2013
    80
    Don’t Starve starts off slow and punishing and continues to get even harder as you play. Its merciless difficulty coupled with its monotonous gameplay can leave some players feeling frustrated and bored. Those who enjoy a good challenge, however, will relish in the satisfaction they’ll get when they manage to outlive their previous record or clear the game’s evil Adventure mode. It may not be for everyone, but if you’re looking for a roguelike game filled with charm and challenge, be sure not to miss Don’t Starve.
  5. Jun 28, 2013
    80
    It's a game that just keeps giving, even as it tears your life from you. [Issue#136, p.110]
  6. Apr 26, 2013
    75
    A small group of hardcore gamers will revel in Don't Starve's punishing difficulty, but without a better sense of overarching progression or purpose, there are more entertaining and rewarding gaming experiences to spend your time on. I'm interested to see what Klei introduces in promised future updates of the game, but even when playing in a world that's customized to your liking, the thrill of Don't Starve is fleeting.
  7. 50
    Unless there’s a major update in the near future, you’d be better off waiting until it inevitably becomes part of an indie bundle so that you can briefly jump in and enjoy its first few hours. Until then, your money and time should be spent elsewhere.

See all 33 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 10 out of 159
  1. Dec 29, 2013
    10
    This game is so fun! This game is survival hardcore game. Play like character willson, an intrepid Gentleman Scientist who has been trapped by a demon and transported to a mysterious wilderness world. Wilson must learn to exploit his environment and its inhabitants if he ever hopes to escape and find his way back home. Enter a strange and unexplored world full of strange creatures, dangers, and surprises. Gather resources to craft items and structures that match your survival style. Play it your own way as you unravel the mysteries of this strange land. Expand
  2. Jun 15, 2013
    10
    So as you can tell by the 10 given I absolutely love this game I have owned this game since December 1st when it was still in development and have well I would say wasted but I don't feel like I wasted time on this game since it is so much fun. The art is great controls are smooth its not glitchy and as long as you keep adventuring it doesn't get boring. The developers are very good too. The fact that they tell you how many days until the next update just brings joy to me. SO yes I would recommend this game. Expand
  3. May 1, 2013
    10
    Great game, I followed it since it first appeared on Steam, and loved all the updates it got. It was like Minecraft experience all over again. I love when I can see all the new things being added And now after the release it's not over yet The devs will still keep new updates coming! Expand
  4. Apr 26, 2013
    9
    Pros: +Art style is very reminiscent of something tim burton would do.
    +Fantastic character designs.
    +It's a very quirky and funny game
    overall.
    +Randomly generated worlds make every adventure feel different (to an extent).
    +Combat can be quite fun with a nice variety of ways to defeat enemies
    +You can farm, trap animals, fight, do magic, and fight against going insane among other things.

    Cons: -Not very noob-friendly in the beginning (if you're having trouble surviving then check out the forums on steam or klei's website).
    -The crafting system should be even deeper in my opinion.
    Expand
  5. Jul 15, 2013
    8
    I absolutely adore this game! It captures the survival feeling that its name implies perfectly and figuring out the best ways to survive as and perfecting your own unique style is extremely addicting. I've heard people complain about the lack of a tutorial or even any hints as to what to do and all I have to say to that is, "OF COURSE NOT!" It's a survival game and all of the instructions you need are given right there in the title "Don't Starve." If you were to crash and be stuck in the wilderness, there's nobody there to hold your hand as you fight for your life. The fact that there is no indication on what can harm you just encourages the slow-paced survival mentality as the game continues to throw curveballs at you that you'd never expect. I only hope that the game continues to expand without losing its difficult survival roots. Collapse
  6. Jul 11, 2013
    8
    Well, i have to say this game is a great survival game and has an interesting design and i love artistic games like this one. Personally i didn't complete the adventure mode yet but i plan to, to unlock the last characters and the best part of this game is that almost (if not) every month, Klei Entertainment release a new update with new and useful stuff and now mods are supported. There was only some disappointing things:
    1. Combat I didn't like the combat, the monsters just destroyed me, and i know that i didn't played that much to get great equipment but anyway, the enemies where to strong for me;
    2. Adventure mode I don't like the way it was done, not being able to carry your equipment through the worlds but i guess that raise the difficulty and challenge and the portal to travel between the worlds that need to be found and sometimes can't be found because your generated world is stupid and confusing.

    But overall the survival aspects, the hunger and the design of the game are awesome and deserve a 8. Maybe in some months i would give it a 9 if we get even better updates and i'm really hopping for multiplayer that was a big disappointment for me that the game didn't had one. I'm hoping the PS4 version brings one.
    Expand
  7. Dec 5, 2013
    0
    A failed experiment at game making, this game is repetitive and boring soon after the initial exploration and trail and error novelty wear off. Permadeath makes this game pointless to ever waste your time even trying to enjoy it. Its supposed to be hardcore but is laughably easy once you realize how to exploit the gameworld.

    The forums of the game makers are full of rude people that attack any member who doesnt believe the game is perfect, which is a good indication this game will never be changed for the better, as the developers coddle the dysfunctional few fans the game has.

    Save your money and get an actual fun game.
    Expand

See all 159 User Reviews