Don't Starve PC

Don't Starve Image
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 874 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Assume the role of Wilson, an intrepid Gentleman Scientist who has been trapped by a demon and transported to a mysterious wilderness world. Wilson must learn to utilize his environment and its inhabitants if he ever hopes to escape and find his way back home. Enter a strange and unexploredAssume the role of Wilson, an intrepid Gentleman Scientist who has been trapped by a demon and transported to a mysterious wilderness world. Wilson must learn to utilize his environment and its inhabitants if he ever hopes to escape and find his way back home. Enter a strange and unexplored world full of strange creatures, dangers, and surprises. Collect resources to craft items and structures that match your survival style. Play your way as you unravel the mysteries of this strange land. Expand

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. Apr 29, 2013
    94
    If you like survival games, if you enjoy Tim Burton-esque artwork, or if you’re just looking for an unforgiving challenge of a game, pick up Don’t Starve immediately. Pretty much everything about this game is fantastic, and you’ll undoubtedly fall in love with it.
  2. PC Master (Greece)
    Jun 5, 2013
    88
    Low price, enormous content, it’s a no-brainer. Fans of sandbox survival games, buy it with your eyes closed! [May 2013]
  3. CD-Action
    Jun 4, 2013
    85
    One could think that a game that makes you cut down trees, shatter rocks and cook meals will get boring quickly, but it’s not the case with Don’t Starve. Each time you start in a freshly generated world and time and again encounter new things, monsters and events. Even after writing this review I’m convinced there’s still a lot for me to experience in Klei’s new game. [CD-Action 07/2013, p.60]
  4. Apr 30, 2013
    80
    Don’t Starve starts off slow and punishing and continues to get even harder as you play. Its merciless difficulty coupled with its monotonous gameplay can leave some players feeling frustrated and bored. Those who enjoy a good challenge, however, will relish in the satisfaction they’ll get when they manage to outlive their previous record or clear the game’s evil Adventure mode. It may not be for everyone, but if you’re looking for a roguelike game filled with charm and challenge, be sure not to miss Don’t Starve.
  5. Jun 28, 2013
    80
    It's a game that just keeps giving, even as it tears your life from you. [Issue#136, p.110]
  6. Apr 26, 2013
    75
    A small group of hardcore gamers will revel in Don't Starve's punishing difficulty, but without a better sense of overarching progression or purpose, there are more entertaining and rewarding gaming experiences to spend your time on. I'm interested to see what Klei introduces in promised future updates of the game, but even when playing in a world that's customized to your liking, the thrill of Don't Starve is fleeting.
  7. Apr 28, 2013
    50
    Unless there’s a major update in the near future, you’d be better off waiting until it inevitably becomes part of an indie bundle so that you can briefly jump in and enjoy its first few hours. Until then, your money and time should be spent elsewhere.

See all 33 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 13 out of 188
  1. Oct 30, 2013
    10
    I have been playing this game since November last year off and on and I am really impressed how the developers improved the core gameplay andI have been playing this game since November last year off and on and I am really impressed how the developers improved the core gameplay and added new content. At the end it is about Wilderness Survival, which is a very interesting topic on its own, but Klei Entertainment added their own flavour which makes this game so great. Be it the art style, the easy controls and the overall feel of the game, this is something special. The core gameplay mechanics work very well and provide the basics to the success of Don't Starve. The game and its flow seem so natural that you think how noone before them had the idea to make that kind of game. I think it works very well and every new game you start is a new experience. Expand
  2. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    To all those who say there is no story, you obviously have not played enough. Inside the game there is an "adventure mode" which is basicallyTo all those who say there is no story, you obviously have not played enough. Inside the game there is an "adventure mode" which is basically story mode(and very challenging). I have logged well over 200 hours into this game and some of my best times were in the beginning when i had no idea what was coming next. The Developers are incredible. They put out over 6 months of content for free after the game was released. There will also be DLC in the future. This game has permadeath. If you cannot get over that fact, then this game is probably not for you. You WILL die. You WILL lose everything. That being said, that is my favorite aspect of the game. Expand
  3. May 1, 2013
    10
    Great game, I followed it since it first appeared on Steam, and loved all the updates it got. It was like Minecraft experience all over again.Great game, I followed it since it first appeared on Steam, and loved all the updates it got. It was like Minecraft experience all over again. I love when I can see all the new things being added And now after the release it's not over yet The devs will still keep new updates coming! Expand
  4. Jul 1, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A good game is from a good idea. Most people say that Don't Starve is similar to Minecraft. I must say yes, it is. But you don't have to say that it's a copy.

    In this game, you have to pick your own food, your own material, build, mix., try new things, discover more, be ready to a new adventure every minute, never be stop, avoid the darkness. Sometimes I keep hours and hours doing the same thing: playing Don't Starve.

    This is not a addicting game, but it is a nice game. I can fast feel tired of playing it because of the system of Don't Starve! Don't attack the shadows over there with low life! Don't be on the total darkness! I do like this game, but this little things make the game turns tiring.
    Expand
  5. May 11, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game has some very interesting concepts. I played it for a while, but I have a hard time sitting down, playing it for a while. I still like the wilderness survival genre. Expand
  6. Apr 29, 2014
    8
    A great game to play on the go. It's fun and addicting, I recommended this game to anyone who wants to have great time for a couple of hours.A great game to play on the go. It's fun and addicting, I recommended this game to anyone who wants to have great time for a couple of hours. It feels like Minecraft but it's not and thats a go thing.
    I give this game 8 out of 10.
    Expand
  7. Jan 12, 2015
    0
    As is typical for survival games, completely retarded.

    It takes three weeks to starve to death, not a few days. Fresh water is much more
    As is typical for survival games, completely retarded.

    It takes three weeks to starve to death, not a few days. Fresh water is much more important. The rapidly dropping mental strength is also ridiculous. Mental strength typically increases in a survival situation over time as a person comes to accept their fate and simply begins working on necessities. Contrary to popular belief, humans are very good survivors.

    Science structure was also idiotic. What is so difficult about chopping down a tree, propping it up and then sleeping underneath it for shelter?

    Why is there no mental boost from fire?

    Total immersion loss at all times. Could not enjoy. Would not recommend.
    Expand

See all 188 User Reviews