Don't Starve PC

Don't Starve Image
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 956 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Assume the role of Wilson, an intrepid Gentleman Scientist who has been trapped by a demon and transported to a mysterious wilderness world. Wilson must learn to utilize his environment and its inhabitants if he ever hopes to escape and find his way back home. Enter a strange and unexploredAssume the role of Wilson, an intrepid Gentleman Scientist who has been trapped by a demon and transported to a mysterious wilderness world. Wilson must learn to utilize his environment and its inhabitants if he ever hopes to escape and find his way back home. Enter a strange and unexplored world full of strange creatures, dangers, and surprises. Collect resources to craft items and structures that match your survival style. Play your way as you unravel the mysteries of this strange land. Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. Apr 29, 2013
    94
    If you like survival games, if you enjoy Tim Burton-esque artwork, or if you’re just looking for an unforgiving challenge of a game, pick up Don’t Starve immediately. Pretty much everything about this game is fantastic, and you’ll undoubtedly fall in love with it.
  2. PC Master (Greece)
    Jun 5, 2013
    88
    Low price, enormous content, it’s a no-brainer. Fans of sandbox survival games, buy it with your eyes closed! [May 2013]
  3. CD-Action
    Jun 4, 2013
    85
    One could think that a game that makes you cut down trees, shatter rocks and cook meals will get boring quickly, but it’s not the case with Don’t Starve. Each time you start in a freshly generated world and time and again encounter new things, monsters and events. Even after writing this review I’m convinced there’s still a lot for me to experience in Klei’s new game. [CD-Action 07/2013, p.60]
  4. Apr 30, 2013
    80
    Don’t Starve starts off slow and punishing and continues to get even harder as you play. Its merciless difficulty coupled with its monotonous gameplay can leave some players feeling frustrated and bored. Those who enjoy a good challenge, however, will relish in the satisfaction they’ll get when they manage to outlive their previous record or clear the game’s evil Adventure mode. It may not be for everyone, but if you’re looking for a roguelike game filled with charm and challenge, be sure not to miss Don’t Starve.
  5. Jun 28, 2013
    80
    It's a game that just keeps giving, even as it tears your life from you. [Issue#136, p.110]
  6. Apr 26, 2013
    75
    A small group of hardcore gamers will revel in Don't Starve's punishing difficulty, but without a better sense of overarching progression or purpose, there are more entertaining and rewarding gaming experiences to spend your time on. I'm interested to see what Klei introduces in promised future updates of the game, but even when playing in a world that's customized to your liking, the thrill of Don't Starve is fleeting.
  7. Apr 28, 2013
    50
    Unless there’s a major update in the near future, you’d be better off waiting until it inevitably becomes part of an indie bundle so that you can briefly jump in and enjoy its first few hours. Until then, your money and time should be spent elsewhere.

See all 33 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 14 out of 200
  1. Jun 30, 2013
    10
    I have now played it for 72 hours this week. Its fantastic! I'm on a record (day 67) now, and i think i will survive forever now, but 100+I have now played it for 72 hours this week. Its fantastic! I'm on a record (day 67) now, and i think i will survive forever now, but 100+ hours for a indie game is good! Expand
  2. Jul 16, 2013
    10
    I really like roguelike games, and this also has some of the crafting/exploring element that Terraria has, but this game is the dark toI really like roguelike games, and this also has some of the crafting/exploring element that Terraria has, but this game is the dark to Terraria's light. While Terraria is fun, happy, and multiplayer, this game is fun but twisted and solitary.

    Keep in mind the game is about survival, obviously, but you also will be crafting things, collecting resources, exploring and adventuring on a randomly made creepy island that slowly drives your character, as well as you the player insane, but in a good way.
    Expand
  3. May 1, 2013
    10
    Great game, I followed it since it first appeared on Steam, and loved all the updates it got. It was like Minecraft experience all over again.Great game, I followed it since it first appeared on Steam, and loved all the updates it got. It was like Minecraft experience all over again. I love when I can see all the new things being added And now after the release it's not over yet The devs will still keep new updates coming! Expand
  4. Jul 31, 2016
    9
    I was torn up between giving this game a rating of 9 or 10. In the end though, the game has enough minor issues for it to miss out on aI was torn up between giving this game a rating of 9 or 10. In the end though, the game has enough minor issues for it to miss out on a perfect score. This game does everything right, the characters are varied and interesting, the art style is unique, and there is enough to do in the game to easily keep a new player entertained for weeks. The only thing I did not like about this game is that the worlds are random, for better or for worse. Sometimes, the world generation can be extremely weird or bad, and finding certain places in the world can be more time consuming due to the randomness. There are also a few glitches, albeit minor, that occur from time to time. Overall, I highly reccomend this game if you are a fan of roguelike or survival games. Expand
  5. May 2, 2013
    8
    A darker game in the style of Minecraft and Terraria. The art of the game is highly stylized and reminiscent of such things as 'The NightmareA darker game in the style of Minecraft and Terraria. The art of the game is highly stylized and reminiscent of such things as 'The Nightmare before Christmas.", moody and macabre but also quite pleasing and evocative, adding to the atmosphere of the game.

    So far I have actually not a problem with the games main theme, i.e., I've never starved, but I certainly have been done in many other ways. Not an easy game, at least at first, but patience and persistence will be rewarded with a deep and enjoyable experience.
    Expand
  6. Dec 8, 2013
    8
    I feel Don't Starve plays itself in 4 experiences of play. So I don't spoil anything, I won't go into too much details. Then again, a gameI feel Don't Starve plays itself in 4 experiences of play. So I don't spoil anything, I won't go into too much details. Then again, a game like this doesn't really have "spoilers," considering everything you can do in the game is basically spelled out in the game creation mode.

    When I first started, the struggle was making it through the night. "Oh great," I thought, "This is one of those "man I survived a whole 3 days in the horror" games where I brag about how hard it is. No thank you. Once I discovered how to start a fire and if you'll forgive the cliche, "didn't starve," the game became about figuring out how to build a settlement and where.

    Once I found that out, it became a combination of Harvest Moon and aspects of Dwarf Fortress (admittedly, much simpler than each). So, I was out hunting for the essential materials to make my perfect hovel where I could survive basically any encounter. Again, I won't spoil it, but there were several times when I was definitely caught off guard by the game introducing a new challenge. The whole "Once you die, you're dead, restart" aspect became especially frustrating here, especially when you can survive 40-50 days without as much as a scratch, only for an unexpected monster to end you with relative ease.

    This entered the 3rd phase: efficiency! I didn't need to get 50 of each item to survive, I could survive with far less. Heck, I could make multiple homes if I need to... there's plenty of resources if I know where to look. And I've now found a way to survive even if I get killed. I found more efficient foods, I can kill any monster that comes my way, and what's this adventure mode and cave mode I keep hearing about? I better check this out!

    And now I'm exploring caves and what's beneath caves, trying to find the final guy, unlocking every character, working through the challenges of adventure mode, and realizing that I've logged over 100 hours in this game already. Wait a minute, isn't this a casual indie game? Isn't this one of those things where I can just sit down for 20 minutes and be satisfied?

    If you're expecting casual, this is not your game. If you're looking for something that has the crafting and exploration complexity of Minecraft, but much more scaled down, then this may satisfy. I found myself often wanting to do more, and the exploration aspect only satisfies for a while. But like I said, I've put over 100 hours into this game, so it's doing something right... even if I've put it down out of boredom several times as well.
    Expand
  7. Jan 12, 2015
    0
    As is typical for survival games, completely retarded.

    It takes three weeks to starve to death, not a few days. Fresh water is much more
    As is typical for survival games, completely retarded.

    It takes three weeks to starve to death, not a few days. Fresh water is much more important. The rapidly dropping mental strength is also ridiculous. Mental strength typically increases in a survival situation over time as a person comes to accept their fate and simply begins working on necessities. Contrary to popular belief, humans are very good survivors.

    Science structure was also idiotic. What is so difficult about chopping down a tree, propping it up and then sleeping underneath it for shelter?

    Why is there no mental boost from fire?

    Total immersion loss at all times. Could not enjoy. Would not recommend.
    Expand

See all 200 User Reviews