Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 12 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.7

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 143 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Re-mastered for Xbox 360 and PlayStation 3, this genre defining game and its expansion pack offers greatly enhanced graphics, deeply immersing the player in the demonic world of this terrifying horror masterpiece. Players will also experience a never-before-seen single-player story, 'The Lost Mission,' featuring seven heart-pounding levels that will once again have them on the edge of their seats. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 12
  2. Negative: 3 out of 12
  1. Oct 25, 2012
    76
    Doom 3 is a very good game, probably better than you remember. For PS3 owners who've never gotten any of this content, it's a particularly great deal. BFG Edition is a tough sell for the PC crowd.
  2. Oct 22, 2012
    75
    The new torch surely makes the gameplay more fluid, but the horror component takes a hit from the augmented illumination. Still, this edition is chock-full of content and decently refined. Fans of the series will definitely appreciate it.
  3. Oct 23, 2012
    74
    Quotation forthcoming.
  4. Oct 23, 2012
    60
    Ιncluding Doom and Doom II, the remastered version of Doom III is a very good opportunity mostly for home console gamers to see what the forefathers of the FPS genre is all about, although stiff competition and natural evolution of the genre may put off a large chunk of modern day gamers.
  5. Nov 9, 2012
    56
    What is the point of this "improved" edition if it looks much worse than the original DOOM 3 with the fan-made Sikkmod installed?
  6. Oct 30, 2012
    50
    We have been spoilt in subsequent years, which isn't Doom 3's fault. The unfortunate truth remains that it is more of a chore to revisit than a joy.
  7. Oct 25, 2012
    20
    It may be dubbed the ultimate collection but even on consoles the BFG Edition is far from ideal. As a PC game its existence is highly questionable; any esoteric changes made on id's part have already been done better by a dedicated modding community.

See all 12 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 39
  2. Negative: 12 out of 39
  1. Oct 21, 2012
    10
    While I understand that a lot of people are angry that this game is essentially the same game that was released in 2004 (and without major changes), I highly question whether or not most of these user reviews are from true customers or just a bunch of butthurt communists angry that ID Software is making money on Doom 3 again. With that said, I would be reluctant to recommend this version to someone who already owns all the Doom games. However, for someone who doesn't own Doom 3 and/or the early Doom games, Doom 3 BFG is an excellent choice. I guess whether or not one can give this game a good review depends entirely on whether or not they liked Doom 3 - which the Doom community is split down the middle on. I loved Doom 3 - and I love this game. The extra content and improved lighting make Doom 3 BFG a great deal. About the only thing that keeps me from giving this game a perfect 10 is the fact that it currently lacks mod support - so all of the great Doom 3 mods cannot be enjoyed with this version - yet. That is apt to change soon, however, it's still somewhat of a bummer that these mods can't be used immediately. I am still awarding it a perfect 10, however, just to counter the butthurt communists. Expand
  2. Oct 18, 2012
    9
    Doom 3: BFG Edition is possibly one of the best releases from id Software in a while. I don't quite like to think of it as just a re-release of Doom 3, but rather a collection of some of the finest games from id. Think about it, a large portion of this current generation of gamers never got to experience the awe of Doom, but now, they can! BFG Edition includes the original Doom, Doom II, and a remastered version of Doom 3.

    First things first, the classic Doom games that the PC version comes with are running under a proprietary source port from id; multiplayer and mods are not accessible, visuals are a little blurry, and the framerate is capped at 35 FPS. If you really don't care for any of the awesome mods and fan-made levels, or classic Doom multiplayer, this version of Doom will be fine. It is very playable. However, I would highly recommend getting a source port such as ZDoom to run the games better. The WAD files for the Doom and Doom II can be found in the 'wads' folder in the Doom 3: BFG Edition steam folder. One thing I think is pretty cool is that id included the new Doom II episode, No Rest For the Living (which was originally only available in the XBLA version of Doom II), in BFG Edition. It can be played on other source ports if you load it as a PWAD for Doom II (the name of it is called NERVE.wad).

    Now for Doom 3. The visuals have definitely been updated, and the game looks better, but still not up to current games standards. Now, I really wasn't expecting current gen graphics, but I was still a little let down. Overall, it still looks dated, but I personally rate a game more based on gameplay than graphics. The main differences between the original Doom 3 and the BFG Edition is that you now have a chest-mounted flashlight that allows you to see in dark areas without you having to switch to your flashlight. This allows for more action-oriented, faster and smoother overall gameplay. Ammo, shielding, and health is also more plentiful. id wants to focus less on surviving, and more on shooting tons of demon spawn. I personally like this; it makes Doom 3 more like the original games. These updates are subtle, but very welcome. The multiplayer has not changed much, except now you can have 8 people playing in a game rather than just 4. I joined a game of Team Deathmatch, and swiftly got my butt kicked. People seem to be enjoying themselves. BFG also includes the Doom 3 expansion pack, Resurrection of Evil, and an all new expansion titled The Lost Missions. These new levels are very enjoyable, and add a lot to the Doom 3 experience.

    Some things I do not particularly like about the BFG Edtion of Doom 3 is that all previous mods for the original Doom 3 do not work for BFG. There were some pretty great mods available. Another thing I don't like is that there is no co-op mode. The original Doom 3 didn't have co-op either (except for the Xbox version), but there was a mod that allowed it. Now, with no mods, there is no co-op. Despite these shortcomings, Doom 3: BFG Edition is still a solid package. If you have never played Doom, or do not own the games, you really should get this collection. Doom is one of the most influential games of all time, and practically spawned the first-person-shooter genre. All three of the games are awesome. If you already have Doom 3, this might not be an absolute MUST BUY. Still, its only 30 dollars, and the new stuff is pretty enjoyable. Is it worth 30 bucks? You decide.
    Expand
  3. Oct 18, 2012
    9
    Grimdandelo a obvious troll. Going to each and every system release and rating it 0? get out fo here. I picked it up for PC and 360... its a great bundle on PC if youve never played the original games, and its well polished. But it really shines on the console, especially for those of us who played the Xbox original Doom 3 that was watered down from its PC counterpart.... this one really should make you smile and see what you missed if your into modding, then i'd say stick with the original releases on PC. If not, then this release is for you, and is one nicely polished bundle collection

    If your on console, definetely don't miss this release... go buy it.

    Also, the 3D effects are great... some of the best I've seen in a game that supports 3D. A definete must buy!
    Expand
  4. Nov 3, 2012
    6
    I played through the original Doom 3 on PC and loved it - especially after the duct tape mod (The one where you can use your flashlight and weapon at the same time). The BFG edition lets you do this at the get go. Other than that, the graphics look about the same. Again, they may have been updated, but nothing too outrageous. If you are a horror FPS gamer then this is a must play. However, as of the time of this writing, this game is $30 on Steam. I believe this is way too over priced. I would have given this game an "8" but because of the price it has earned a 6. A fair price for this game would be $15 IMO. If you haven't checked this one out yet, it is not too dated to still be enjoyable. Even if you have played this game before, it is worth another visit. This collection does contain Doom 1 + 2. While these are classics, I do feel that they are too dated to be really great by today's standards. Just my opinion. Check this out when the price comes down a bit. Expand
  5. Oct 20, 2012
    5
    Owning every Doom game and being a Doom fan doesn't even make this good. Classic Doom port, tough better than older game reissues, is still sub par vs existing source ports, and removing all nazi references from the secrets levels from doom2 (and even the red crosses from the medkits (wtf?)), doesn't make it any better. As for Doom3, they made it substantially brighter, updated the UI, and tuned the engine for todays standards (widescreen, 3d)... on the bad side: no graphics options, horrid console fov, no mod support... in this case it is also better to run old Doom3 with all the awesome graphics addon and you'll get what BFG should have been. The new "Lost Mission" contains 2 hours of gameplay made up of refurbished Doom3 content, and even tough the new Hell level is nice, it is not worth the price of admission, it should be your usual 4$ DLC. VEREDICT: Worthwhile only if you are a hardcore doom fan and don't care the price tag, haven't played doom ever OR if you own a PS3 and want to get a taste of it. Expand
  6. Jul 25, 2013
    5
    If u dont have the original Doom 3 with RoE then its worth it, if u do have it, there is no reason to buy this edition just for new 1,5 hours campaing. Expand
  7. Jul 27, 2013
    0
    The same game, but graphics here looks WORSE than in game from 2004. Consoles power, yeah. Who need it on Personal Computers? With graphics-mod the classic Doom 3 looks much better. Expand

See all 39 User Reviews