Doom 3 BFG Edition PC

Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 12 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 181 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Re-mastered for Xbox 360 and PlayStation 3, this genre defining game and its expansion pack offers greatly enhanced graphics, deeply immersing the player in the demonic world of this terrifying horror masterpiece. Players will also experience a never-before-seen single-player story, 'TheRe-mastered for Xbox 360 and PlayStation 3, this genre defining game and its expansion pack offers greatly enhanced graphics, deeply immersing the player in the demonic world of this terrifying horror masterpiece. Players will also experience a never-before-seen single-player story, 'The Lost Mission,' featuring seven heart-pounding levels that will once again have them on the edge of their seats. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 12
  2. Negative: 3 out of 12
  1. Oct 25, 2012
    76
    Doom 3 is a very good game, probably better than you remember. For PS3 owners who've never gotten any of this content, it's a particularly great deal. BFG Edition is a tough sell for the PC crowd.
  2. Oct 22, 2012
    75
    The new torch surely makes the gameplay more fluid, but the horror component takes a hit from the augmented illumination. Still, this edition is chock-full of content and decently refined. Fans of the series will definitely appreciate it.
  3. Oct 23, 2012
    74
    Quotation forthcoming.
  4. Oct 23, 2012
    60
    Ιncluding Doom and Doom II, the remastered version of Doom III is a very good opportunity mostly for home console gamers to see what the forefathers of the FPS genre is all about, although stiff competition and natural evolution of the genre may put off a large chunk of modern day gamers.
  5. Nov 9, 2012
    56
    What is the point of this "improved" edition if it looks much worse than the original DOOM 3 with the fan-made Sikkmod installed?
  6. Oct 30, 2012
    50
    We have been spoilt in subsequent years, which isn't Doom 3's fault. The unfortunate truth remains that it is more of a chore to revisit than a joy.
  7. Oct 25, 2012
    20
    It may be dubbed the ultimate collection but even on consoles the BFG Edition is far from ideal. As a PC game its existence is highly questionable; any esoteric changes made on id's part have already been done better by a dedicated modding community.

See all 12 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 45
  2. Negative: 15 out of 45
  1. Oct 21, 2012
    10
    While I understand that a lot of people are angry that this game is essentially the same game that was released in 2004 (and without majorWhile I understand that a lot of people are angry that this game is essentially the same game that was released in 2004 (and without major changes), I highly question whether or not most of these user reviews are from true customers or just a bunch of butthurt communists angry that ID Software is making money on Doom 3 again. With that said, I would be reluctant to recommend this version to someone who already owns all the Doom games. However, for someone who doesn't own Doom 3 and/or the early Doom games, Doom 3 BFG is an excellent choice. I guess whether or not one can give this game a good review depends entirely on whether or not they liked Doom 3 - which the Doom community is split down the middle on. I loved Doom 3 - and I love this game. The extra content and improved lighting make Doom 3 BFG a great deal. About the only thing that keeps me from giving this game a perfect 10 is the fact that it currently lacks mod support - so all of the great Doom 3 mods cannot be enjoyed with this version - yet. That is apt to change soon, however, it's still somewhat of a bummer that these mods can't be used immediately. I am still awarding it a perfect 10, however, just to counter the butthurt communists. Expand
  2. Jul 18, 2014
    9
    Truly a valuable collection of games. You get the DOOM trilogy for $20 (or $5 if u wait for a sale) and remastered sound, and good MP. ThisTruly a valuable collection of games. You get the DOOM trilogy for $20 (or $5 if u wait for a sale) and remastered sound, and good MP. This game is one of the best ever. It also has a lot of trophies. Expand
  3. Oct 18, 2012
    9
    Grimdandelo a obvious troll. Going to each and every system release and rating it 0? get out fo here. I picked it up for PC and 360... its aGrimdandelo a obvious troll. Going to each and every system release and rating it 0? get out fo here. I picked it up for PC and 360... its a great bundle on PC if youve never played the original games, and its well polished. But it really shines on the console, especially for those of us who played the Xbox original Doom 3 that was watered down from its PC counterpart.... this one really should make you smile and see what you missed if your into modding, then i'd say stick with the original releases on PC. If not, then this release is for you, and is one nicely polished bundle collection

    If your on console, definetely don't miss this release... go buy it.

    Also, the 3D effects are great... some of the best I've seen in a game that supports 3D. A definete must buy!
    Expand
  4. Jan 2, 2013
    6
    They at least deliver what is advertised in this game pack. This edition is exclusive to the Steam network and it seems these Doom gamesThey at least deliver what is advertised in this game pack. This edition is exclusive to the Steam network and it seems these Doom games cannot be played on my Sharp HDTV in full screen without clipping the edges of the screen. I am forced to play in windowed mode, but at least the game window fills up most of my TV monitor. This is not usually an issue with modern games... Moving on: the Doom 3 expansions are present and work just fine. As far as parts of the game being 'remastered' I couldn't really tell since I was forced to play in windowed mode so the improved lighting effects didn't really jump out at me. Speaking of which- the inclusion of the shoulder mounted flashlight sort of negates any cool looking shadows and lighting effects to begin with and I suspect most people will use it constantly while playing. Personally I thought the shoulder flashlight was a bit cheap, since it severely reduced the difficulty of the game. Weapon mounted flashlights would have been an acceptable compromise but that is just my opinion. For delivering Doom 1, 2, and 3 with expansions with few issues, I think Bethesda delivered what was advertised. It is what is it, essentially a thowback to linear shooters that contain mindless shooting. To be frank, modern games blow the Doom genre out of the water. Expand
  5. Oct 16, 2012
    5
    I would recommend this for someone who likes old school games, because even with small improvements in graphics, BFG edition still looks veryI would recommend this for someone who likes old school games, because even with small improvements in graphics, BFG edition still looks very old and choppy. But if you like to kill monsters and have little bit of jump scare, then this probably will be fun, especially with Resurrection of Evil, Lost mission additions.

    If you have played or own Doom 3, then not much new here, and its probably not even worth the money.
    Expand
  6. Jun 8, 2015
    4
    Overall it's a good package. I'd really really want to recommend this to people but numerous small issues just bring quality of the releaseOverall it's a good package. I'd really really want to recommend this to people but numerous small issues just bring quality of the release down. The core problem here is that they've standardised majority of the things and all the changes they've made, they've them with HDTVs and game consoles in mind. That causes issues in the Windows-PC release of the game.

    I'd recommend this package for people who have never played all the Doom games. The rest are probably better off with the 1993, 1994 and 2004 releases of the games in the package. I mean, they censored Doom 2 for example. Who in the right mind would do that?

    Not to mention that they've not fixed any of the major bugs in the Doom 3's BFG version compared to the original 2004 release. There's just zero reasons to own the BFG version instead of the original.

    Cost for the package seem ok. For 30€ player gets about 50~60 hours of single-player fun. That's pretty good. Additionally there's some extra single-player content too. Doom 2's "No Rest for the Living" is a good fun experience. And "The Lost Mission" for Doom 3 is ok even if it recycles lots of content from the main game.
    Expand
  7. Jul 1, 2015
    0
    - This Version is NOT moddable! (!)
    - Cutscenes are unskippable.
    - there is NO Editor! - sound-design is very, very bad! Everything sounds
    - This Version is NOT moddable! (!)
    - Cutscenes are unskippable.
    - there is NO Editor!
    - sound-design is very, very bad!
    Everything sounds like an old kitchen-radio.
    - The weapons, especially the shotgun sound like a plastic-gun. (the most iconic doom-gun, the Shotgun ! sounds so poorly recorded that it's a shame!).
    - Killed enemies dissapear (!)
    - Less gore than in Doom 1 & 2.
    - It's too dark. I know it wants to create a "spooky" and dark atmosphere. But imho it fails and can't deliver much more then cheap Jumpscares (and hides many well build and textured assets in the world)
    - less enemies than the predecessors
    - much slower gameplay than the first two games!
    - boring dark hallways with the same linear leveldesign from the beginning to the end!

    I personally wouldn't recommend the BFG-Edition and would rather say: Go buy doom 1 & 2 instead, install the Brutal Doom-mod and have the fun of your lifetime (especially with some of the enhanced and remixed soundtracks like DoomMetal!) It has even a coop-mode!
    Expand

See all 45 User Reviews