Doom 3 PC

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 868 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. AnonymousMC
    Jul 22, 2004
    0
    This is wasted throwback to the old days. Dont buy this. It will either bore you to death or make you wish you actually had all the money needed to buy the machine that can play this.
    JK

    Now go line up and make it sell out faster than the DVD version of UT2004
  2. BenjaminL.
    Mar 29, 2005
    0
    Least funny game to be released this year. what a joke, didnt make me laugh once. and all the cliches in the game really suck, like that gravity gun? what was up with that!? and there is only one boss fight, and it is waaaaay too easy. what a joke. go play halo 2, it is better written then this game will ever be.
  3. Jan 24, 2016
    2
    As much as I love the other Doom games, I could just never get into Doom 3. It's confusing, and it tries to be a survival-horror game mixed with a puzzle game. It doesn't sound too bad on paper, but in my OPINION (key word) it is executed very poorly. If they'd just stuck with the classic FPS formula and improved upon it with greatly improved graphics and feature possibilities thanks toAs much as I love the other Doom games, I could just never get into Doom 3. It's confusing, and it tries to be a survival-horror game mixed with a puzzle game. It doesn't sound too bad on paper, but in my OPINION (key word) it is executed very poorly. If they'd just stuck with the classic FPS formula and improved upon it with greatly improved graphics and feature possibilities thanks to improved hardware, this could've easily been a much better game than it turned out to be. Expand
  4. RodrigoG.
    Sep 7, 2008
    2
    When it comes to show off the power of the id Tech 4 engine, Doom 3 is a triumph. However, it is supposed to be a game, not a tech demo. And as a game, it is terrible. Enemies often spawn in manners that leave the player without a chance of reaction, unless he knows beforehand where they will appear; getting hit is too disorienting, although the enemies do not seem to get disoriented by When it comes to show off the power of the id Tech 4 engine, Doom 3 is a triumph. However, it is supposed to be a game, not a tech demo. And as a game, it is terrible. Enemies often spawn in manners that leave the player without a chance of reaction, unless he knows beforehand where they will appear; getting hit is too disorienting, although the enemies do not seem to get disoriented by the player's fire at all; the weapons take too long to reload, and the enemies take too much fire to die; the whole game is too bleak, repetitive, and frustrating to be enjoyable. One can even wonder if it was developed in the same mindset as the infamous "Takeshi's Challenge" - a game intended, not to amuse, but to frustrate and infuriate. That would make sense, the plot is about a journey into hell after all. Artistic, in a sense, I suppose. Fun? No. Expand
  5. ArmageddonP.
    Jun 5, 2006
    3
    Wow, this was a bad bad game. A total letdown from ID software. All graphics and no gameplay. I'm sure halo fans will enjoy this watered down shooter.
  6. DXO
    Aug 12, 2004
    2
    Gameplay is mediocre to the point of no redemption. There's nothing you can do except walk into a trigger point and wait to be attacked. I cant help but notice that the monsters can only run straight up to you to scratch you. I think id got too caught up with the engine and forgot about writing AI. Also, monsters still appear even after you've checked that there's nothing Gameplay is mediocre to the point of no redemption. There's nothing you can do except walk into a trigger point and wait to be attacked. I cant help but notice that the monsters can only run straight up to you to scratch you. I think id got too caught up with the engine and forgot about writing AI. Also, monsters still appear even after you've checked that there's nothing in the room. And the whole intro is ripped off STRAIGHT from half life. Worse still, you spend the whole time tryin 2 figure out whats happening in the dark. What kind of shooter does not allow you to see what you're shooting? Graphics are nice but...wait, i carn actually see them!! i run P2.6 512ram and Rad9600, with everything turned down at 1024res, and framerates are 20 max. What the hell is id thinking? Do they expect us to keep the game in our shelves until comp processin can run the game smoothly?? Gameplay receives a 0 due to zero replayability and cos' its entirely scripted. Its completely devoid of innovation. Also, the whole feel of the game is SO dark, claustrophobic and sick that its simply NOT FUN. Graphics could have gotten a 8 but since i cant see them, 2 would be sufficient. There you go, 2 pts for this f***ed up game. Expand
  7. JamesC.
    Aug 2, 2007
    4
    This is just simply a high graphics shooter with mediocre everything else. Mediocre gameplay, less than mediocre plot, and more than anything else mediocre level design. Unless you like your games shallow, this game will feel like a chore to play after you get 25% through the game.
  8. Jan 29, 2012
    2
    It has good graphics, but that is it!
    The gameplay sucks, you have to reload and you can't see a bloody thing!
    Wanna play a doom game? Buy Ultimate Doom and learn dosbox!
  9. AnonymousMC
    Aug 29, 2007
    1
    As other fellow users have already pointed out, this game can be seen as an example of what is wrong with the contemporary video game industry. Why do some think this is scary? You move, trigger a script, and ZAP! ONE Monster spawns before you, ready to be blasted into oblivion (After playing for some time, I always knew where I´d trigger a script). If you stand still, no script isAs other fellow users have already pointed out, this game can be seen as an example of what is wrong with the contemporary video game industry. Why do some think this is scary? You move, trigger a script, and ZAP! ONE Monster spawns before you, ready to be blasted into oblivion (After playing for some time, I always knew where I´d trigger a script). If you stand still, no script is triggered, nothing happens. Why were Doom 1 and 2 so fun to play? Oh yeah, because there was a ****load of creatures just waiting to be slaughtered in every friggin´ room! But no, today it´s all graphics and no substance. It is crystal clear that id was forced to release a game with superior (Are they even really superior to other games in that genre? I don´t know and I don´t really care much about that aspect) graphics, but at what price? I want to kill hordes of monsters, not just one or two (I believe there were five at maximum) at a time! I miss monster infighting! I miss the fun! What about replay value? Would anyone play through this whole experience again? Crawling through extremely repetitive, dark levels is not my idea of enjoying a game. I played through it once, uninstalled, and in the corner with the game. It would have to be the last game on earth before I´d consider reinstalling. Another classic franchise ruined, replay value is simply non-existent. That game so wants to be a Half-life but it ends up being a franchise-ruining dreck. Expand
  10. Patchy
    Nov 1, 2004
    2
    Considering all the hype this game was a real disappointment, zero AI, all the monsters are at fixed/trigger points ready to attack, no point in trying to stealth it - the graphics are cool but the maps are unnecessarily complicated and circuitous - a flop, sadly.
  11. AndreasM
    Aug 10, 2004
    2
    I don't really see the big deal. It has cool graphics and runs well with 800x600@high on my 2600+ & R9700, but it's boring as hell. And it's about as scary as a useless slasher movie ala Scream or Halloween.
  12. Gangleri
    Aug 18, 2004
    3
    I give the game 3 just because of the good engine. Actually I was not impressed. UT2004 looks better. The game is boring and lame. Nothing to do with the old Doom 2 a classic. What spoils the game : 1.Monsters AI -totally lame - they just run to you or shoot from a position . 2. Scripted situations . That make the game unplayable more than 1 time 3. Your character is mute and as it seemsI give the game 3 just because of the good engine. Actually I was not impressed. UT2004 looks better. The game is boring and lame. Nothing to do with the old Doom 2 a classic. What spoils the game : 1.Monsters AI -totally lame - they just run to you or shoot from a position . 2. Scripted situations . That make the game unplayable more than 1 time 3. Your character is mute and as it seems dumb as a rock. 4.The number of monsters does not increase 3-4 max at a time. boring 5. it is not scary at all. It is just dark . 6. no flashlight on the weapons. i think the idea was to shoot at the things in the dark but it is more annoying than scary. 7. Boring movies 8. Boring storyline. I actually tried to play the game for more than 3 days. I really try to like it . The conclusion is : !!!! THE ENGINE DOES NOT MAKE A GAME GREAT !!!! Expand
  13. AngusM.
    Sep 7, 2006
    3
    Seriously disappointing. Yes, the graphics are lovely. The game, however, is tedious. One long procession of entering dimly lit rooms then waiting for the monsters to spawn or jump out of cubbyholes. Sure, the first couple times that zombies or imps jump out at you from the dark are exciting, but after the 30th time in an hour, it's just annoying. Unfortunately, that's also the Seriously disappointing. Yes, the graphics are lovely. The game, however, is tedious. One long procession of entering dimly lit rooms then waiting for the monsters to spawn or jump out of cubbyholes. Sure, the first couple times that zombies or imps jump out at you from the dark are exciting, but after the 30th time in an hour, it's just annoying. Unfortunately, that's also the entire game. Expand
  14. MegatronDecepticon
    Dec 28, 2004
    0
    No plot,xbox makes better graphic visuals on riddick,no self -shadowing,no bullet stay,crapy wall textures reminding older doom versions,pretty boring after 2 hours,I "ve seen scarrier games.Far Cry and Riddick beat the s**t out of this poor and hyped game in terms of both gameplay and graphics!!Is anyone that blind to support the hype and not the game itself???This is a casual gamers No plot,xbox makes better graphic visuals on riddick,no self -shadowing,no bullet stay,crapy wall textures reminding older doom versions,pretty boring after 2 hours,I "ve seen scarrier games.Far Cry and Riddick beat the s**t out of this poor and hyped game in terms of both gameplay and graphics!!Is anyone that blind to support the hype and not the game itself???This is a casual gamers game,not for the truly hardcore!Support the hole expierience of the game ,not the hype!! Expand
  15. MonkeyDude
    Aug 16, 2004
    4
    Great looking linear FPS that plays like it was designed 10 years ago & gets really boring after 3-4 days. If you like running around in dark metallic hallways & blasting the same monsters over & over & over again, while looking for a button or keycard to progress to the next level, you will love D3. Looking forward to HL2.
  16. Jul 26, 2013
    4
    this game. First of i at one stage LOVED DOOM 3, sadly i never finished the game when I LOVED IT, I still haven't finished the game but i am getting very close to the end. BORING, doom 3 is boring, the level designs are dull, the character models look stiff and the same. Stupid story, i honesty don't care about doom story's because the game is supposed to be about mindless violence, but this game. First of i at one stage LOVED DOOM 3, sadly i never finished the game when I LOVED IT, I still haven't finished the game but i am getting very close to the end. BORING, doom 3 is boring, the level designs are dull, the character models look stiff and the same. Stupid story, i honesty don't care about doom story's because the game is supposed to be about mindless violence, but the story in doom 3 is absolutely Bonkers, its crazy, basically demons invade a space station on mars and GETS REAL. Graphics AWESOME, the graphics for doom 3 are honestly really good, especially considering the fact that the game was made in 2004-05. ITS NOT FUN, Doom 3 is not fun, its repetitive, dull and feels more like a chore trying to get past level after level, Doom 3 gets a 4/10 not because its the worst game I've ever played but Because it is amazingly dull and doesn't even feel like a doom game, THE GAME FEELS LIKE FEAR MIXED WITH SPACE DEMONS THAT IS FUELED BY COCAINE BABIES, 4/10, BTW i haven't finished the game yet and will eventually i'm like 2-3 hours away from finishing the game peace out Expand
  17. Mar 29, 2013
    3
    Very bad game. Empty levels, same monsters, not at all frightful horror. Dont waste your time, I feel really disappointed by spent time playing this. Only last boss kicks ass, but this does not worth it anyways.
  18. Oct 8, 2014
    4
    BOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOORING

    Walk with flashlight in the darkness -> monster jumps out of a closet after you pass by -> change to weapon and shoot -> wander around to find a audio record -> read the stupid audio file to find a password -> open the keylock -> repeat x10000000

    God.
    One of the most overrated game of all time.
  19. AnonymousMC
    Mar 30, 2005
    0
    whoa, this game is terrible! no wonder it's score is so low! i mean, c'mon, there is a part of the game where you have to stay in one spot for 30 minutes and shoot the same enemys over and over again. Is THAT Fun!? No, its boring and sh#tty, complete and utter crap. the level where you go to heaven is soo stupid. i mean, come on!? you turn out to be a angel!? how stupid is that.whoa, this game is terrible! no wonder it's score is so low! i mean, c'mon, there is a part of the game where you have to stay in one spot for 30 minutes and shoot the same enemys over and over again. Is THAT Fun!? No, its boring and sh#tty, complete and utter crap. the level where you go to heaven is soo stupid. i mean, come on!? you turn out to be a angel!? how stupid is that. Halo 2 rocks this game off of the planet. plain and simple Expand
  20. OpiateC.
    Oct 22, 2004
    2
    This game is boring. It's a pretty version of the old doom games. People are saying its great that it kept the doom fomula. Games are about evolving a concept. If we kept doing make overs of games we would have pretty side scrolling mario clones and nothing more. i can have the same experience with doom 2. Realistically this is an average, repetitive, boring pretty shooter. OMG like far cry.
  21. Razot1
    Mar 26, 2008
    2
    i have to say that it is a great environment but it is far to boring. I'm waking through the game , to dark to see shit listening to crap noises made my the zombies. it is very annoying trying to shoot something you cant see. the game would probably be 10 times better if it were brighter.
  22. [Anonymous]
    Aug 3, 2004
    0
    This is actually an engine without a game. Probably the most uninspired and overrated game ever. What a waste of time and money.
  23. Nov 30, 2011
    3
    Doom 3 fails is every aspect except graphics. But eye candy does not make a game great. The weapons are underpowered, demons spawning behind you gets old, very old, no ability to explore the surface of the planet, maps are confusing with lots of backtracking. In case id does not know, having to find a key to open a door is lame. That style of game might have been ok in the 1900s, butDoom 3 fails is every aspect except graphics. But eye candy does not make a game great. The weapons are underpowered, demons spawning behind you gets old, very old, no ability to explore the surface of the planet, maps are confusing with lots of backtracking. In case id does not know, having to find a key to open a door is lame. That style of game might have been ok in the 1900s, but today its just a dumb idea. If you want to play a real doom game, go play the Ultimate Doom. Expand
  24. IanF.
    Oct 24, 2004
    0
    This game is trash. Its fun for about 15 minutes until you realize that it is just a pretty version of the old game. I hate to break it to you id but games with no point, purpose, and with boring AI aren't what people are looking for anymore. What a dissapointment. Lets just hope that Half-Life 2 is better. Or maybe we should all just play Far Cry instead, because that game rocks.
  25. Aug 30, 2011
    4
    This game was just plain not fun. The first hour of gameplay can get pretty tense, and was flat-out awesome. After the demo levels are over though, you start to realize "Wait a second, have I just seen everything this game has to offer?" It's only once that sinking feeling sets in your stomach that you realize you wasted your money. This game has gorgeous graphics (especially for theThis game was just plain not fun. The first hour of gameplay can get pretty tense, and was flat-out awesome. After the demo levels are over though, you start to realize "Wait a second, have I just seen everything this game has to offer?" It's only once that sinking feeling sets in your stomach that you realize you wasted your money. This game has gorgeous graphics (especially for the time), horrendously underwhelming guns (they sound like toys, seriously), insanely frustrating enemies (whoever designed the screen to shake like a paint-mixer every time you're hit needs to be fired. Like communism, it's an interesting idea that just plain doesn't pan out), and let's not forget the ol' Monster-In-The-Closet trick. If there's ammo or armor on the floor, there's seriously a 95% chance a monster will jump out of the wall to attack. It's so ridiculously predictable that you start to plan out which wall you think they will come out of when you pick up the stuff. This game had a lot of potential to be scary, but playing it annoyed me so much that I was beyond scaring. I did complete it though, against my better judgement. Expand
  26. H.Raggende
    Aug 13, 2004
    3
    Am I blind or should I clean my glasses! Where are those beautiful graphics everyone talks about? I can agree that creatures and people look more realistic than in most other games. But the environment does not look good. You are not expected to have a resolution above 1024 x 768 which means that strait lines do not look like strait lines. Most of us have to get down to 800 x 600 and then Am I blind or should I clean my glasses! Where are those beautiful graphics everyone talks about? I can agree that creatures and people look more realistic than in most other games. But the environment does not look good. You are not expected to have a resolution above 1024 x 768 which means that strait lines do not look like strait lines. Most of us have to get down to 800 x 600 and then every line or edge looks like a saw-blade. I tried high quality at 1280 x 1024 just to look at the graphics. Anyone noticed that the contrast is too high, the shadows too black? Feels like wearing sunglasses at night. It is just stupid and does nothing to add to the experience. Very disappointing! Expand
  27. Skunk
    Aug 24, 2004
    4
    The most overrated game ever. Anyone who gave this game a score >6 is a retread.
  28. Col
    Aug 26, 2004
    3
    Big disappointment. Gorgeous bump mapped models (when you can see them) with ridiculously low rez silhouettes. The best way to describe playing this game is like waking up in the middle of the night and, in a half concious state, trying to stagger to the bathroom in the dark. It's just awful. And there is no gamma correction feature! How id could screw this franchise up so badly is Big disappointment. Gorgeous bump mapped models (when you can see them) with ridiculously low rez silhouettes. The best way to describe playing this game is like waking up in the middle of the night and, in a half concious state, trying to stagger to the bathroom in the dark. It's just awful. And there is no gamma correction feature! How id could screw this franchise up so badly is beyond me. This ain't a DOOM game at all - the other 2 were good... Expand
  29. May 20, 2012
    0
    Creators of Doom 3 never even played DooM 1 and DooM 2 and I dont want to talk about how and why Doom 1 and 2 are one of the best games ever created. DooM 3 in nothing like them the game is to Hollywood and try to be more serious trying to combine genres, the game speed is 5 times more slower then doom 1 and 2 for example, where is magic? fast gameplay? red blue keys? strange magic andCreators of Doom 3 never even played DooM 1 and DooM 2 and I dont want to talk about how and why Doom 1 and 2 are one of the best games ever created. DooM 3 in nothing like them the game is to Hollywood and try to be more serious trying to combine genres, the game speed is 5 times more slower then doom 1 and 2 for example, where is magic? fast gameplay? red blue keys? strange magic and gothic design the game sold out to hollywood kids just as Quake 4, Starcraft 2 and Diablo 3 Fun - 1/10
    Gameplay - 2/10
    Controls - 10/10
    Graphics Design - 0/10
    Story - 4/10
    All Time Graphics - 0/10
    Sound - 5/10
    Music - 0/10
    Replayability - 0/10
    Graphics for its time - 0/10
    22/100
    Expand
  30. JamieL.
    Aug 24, 2004
    0
    Boring and the satanic theme is ugly and its too predictable and you need a stupidly good PC to get any speed out of it. How can they justify advertising on the box such as min req: 384 MB ram ? Overmarketed hyped rubbish!
  31. KaitlynM.
    Mar 31, 2005
    0
    This game is horrible! i mean, holy crap, the guns are so friggin stupid! they are all basically the same thing, they just look and sound different. same damage and everything. and what is up with the AI? there is NONE! the enemies just run towards you in a straight line, it's friggin stupid! what were they thinking? and to think, they complained about only spending 4 years on it,This game is horrible! i mean, holy crap, the guns are so friggin stupid! they are all basically the same thing, they just look and sound different. same damage and everything. and what is up with the AI? there is NONE! the enemies just run towards you in a straight line, it's friggin stupid! what were they thinking? and to think, they complained about only spending 4 years on it, when a much better game spent 6 years on it, and beat the living shit outta it. if you like this game, you have never played a real first person shooter. Expand
  32. AnonymousMC
    Apr 3, 2005
    0
    This game is gawd awful. i cant even begin to describe how terrible it is. the weapons are constantly getting jmmed and you have to wait for 5 MINUTES just so they can get fixed and cleaned. i have never played a game as stupid as this. seriously, you have to fight god as the final boss. stupid as hell.
  33. AnonymousMC
    Apr 6, 2005
    0
    Graphics are god-awful and the ammount of leaks in the levels is enourmous. theres so many problems with it, i cant even begin to tell you. the enemies are all the same, attacks and health wise, and the games so easy, its stupid. no to mention the fact that the main character is homosexual is very uncomfortable. Prove your faith to god? wtf are you talking about! this is a GAME! You needGraphics are god-awful and the ammount of leaks in the levels is enourmous. theres so many problems with it, i cant even begin to tell you. the enemies are all the same, attacks and health wise, and the games so easy, its stupid. no to mention the fact that the main character is homosexual is very uncomfortable. Prove your faith to god? wtf are you talking about! this is a GAME! You need to get that into your head. you have no life if you take this game that seriously. Expand
  34. AnonymousMC
    Jul 29, 2006
    4
    great graphics, long, good-processed storylne. But dont plan on getting the epic adventure(s) we all got from half life(1). Like a few others said, this is just another diluted fps as seen on halo2 and battlefield. its the same as all the other dooms. you're a marine thatgets sent over to investigate a distress from this science team, youkill a few things, you go to hell and,great graphics, long, good-processed storylne. But dont plan on getting the epic adventure(s) we all got from half life(1). Like a few others said, this is just another diluted fps as seen on halo2 and battlefield. its the same as all the other dooms. you're a marine thatgets sent over to investigate a distress from this science team, youkill a few things, you go to hell and, you're the only survivor in the end. not to mention the fact the ID used the same engine for quake4. and finally the gameplay. what is the matter with the people that layout the game? the only legitamate way to beat the game is to use at least 1 of the ingame cheats or you have some bot to do it for you. bad call ID, bad call. Expand
  35. Mine
    Feb 1, 2008
    3
    Boring and dull game. The only color is black. Senseless game.
  36. LokeszHarm
    Aug 12, 2004
    4
    Ok, Europe speaking. Got this game 5 hours ago. After reading the US reviews i thought this could not be a bad purchase! Want to here more? I can hardly control my frustration and whipe this horrible game of me disk. It has the same visual qualities as the orignal Unreal game! But only after you pay 2000 $$$ for hardware! Otherwise, it is just has the same visual level as the original Ok, Europe speaking. Got this game 5 hours ago. After reading the US reviews i thought this could not be a bad purchase! Want to here more? I can hardly control my frustration and whipe this horrible game of me disk. It has the same visual qualities as the orignal Unreal game! But only after you pay 2000 $$$ for hardware! Otherwise, it is just has the same visual level as the original Unreal. Do your purse a favour and buy the original Unreal for 2 bucks! Expand
  37. AnonymousMC
    Aug 13, 2004
    3
    Am I blind or should I clean my glasses! Where are those beautiful graphics everyone talks about? I can agree that creatures and people look more realistic than in most other games. But the environment does not look good. You are not expected to have a resolution above 1024 x 768 which means that strait lines do not look like strait lines. Most of us have to get down to 800 x 600 and then Am I blind or should I clean my glasses! Where are those beautiful graphics everyone talks about? I can agree that creatures and people look more realistic than in most other games. But the environment does not look good. You are not expected to have a resolution above 1024 x 768 which means that strait lines do not look like strait lines. Most of us have to get down to 800 x 600 and then every line or edge looks like a saw-blade. I tried high quality at 1280 x 1024 just to look at the graphics. Anyone noticed that the contrast is too high, the shadows too black? Feels like wearing sunglasses at night. It is just stupid and does nothing to add to the experience. Very disappointing! Expand
  38. Mdssnake
    Aug 21, 2004
    2
    A big disappointment. Slow to get going like unreal II. Game play is very average and doesn't take much intelligence. Looks good but thats what you would expect with such a low level of interactivity. Also objects appear see through with my graphics card. All in all - a waste of money. Don't believe the hype! Roll on Duke Nukem Forever.
  39. AnonymousMC
    Aug 28, 2004
    2
    Utter Garbage!! What a useless over hyped up pile of junk, too Dark!!, too predictable!!, too boring, too Dark!!, too simple in level design, too Dark!!, too Dark!!, useless flashlight problems[although u can get duct tape mod], zombies are stupid, all the creatures are stupid!!....Too Dark!!!! oh whats the point......trust me its KRAAAPPPP!!!!!!!DARKLORD
  40. HenryK.
    Aug 4, 2004
    1
    Good graphics but they forgot the game! Almost no replayability, and you'll struggle to keep playing this one. 4 years in the making, what did they do?? I can't believe magazines are rating this thing so high. Do you guys even know what gameplay is anymore?
  41. Arkon
    Aug 8, 2004
    3
    A repetitive and boring techno-demo from ID. No intriguing story, no physical engine, and everything is coated with a "should look good" plastik-skin-appearance. I'm disappointed, but we all should be honest..what did we expect in the first place? A second Half-Life or System Shock? I think not...just a sequel to monster-spawn and shoot to kill...*yawn*
  42. AnonymousMC
    Apr 2, 2005
    0
    lol, prove your faith in god?! its just a friggin game! you idiot! this game is crap. there is no story, no AI, only 4 guns in the game, and 5 types of enemies, all with the same health. its stupid as crap. i beat the game in exactly 1 hour and 13 minutes. is that really worth it?! NO! its crap. plain and simple. stupid as can be. IT SUCKS!
  43. AnonymousMC
    Apr 2, 2005
    0
    this is thbe stupidiest game ever. at the end of the game, the two main guy characters kiss! what is up with that?! the demons all have penises that you can shoot off, and if you die, they ejaculate on you! thats disgusting! this game is sick and perverted!!! i never wanna hear the words "doom III" ever again!
  44. AnonymousMC
    Mar 25, 2006
    4
    Pretty meh, the beginning was nice, the kind of, "Somethings wrong, I just don't know what," feeling, but then as soon as you see your first zombie its ruined and Doom 3 quickly becomes Doom 1 with shiny graphics, and none of the old school charm, it becomes less and less frightening as the hordes get larger and larger. And hell was kind of pathetic, several dark cobblestonePretty meh, the beginning was nice, the kind of, "Somethings wrong, I just don't know what," feeling, but then as soon as you see your first zombie its ruined and Doom 3 quickly becomes Doom 1 with shiny graphics, and none of the old school charm, it becomes less and less frightening as the hordes get larger and larger. And hell was kind of pathetic, several dark cobblestone corridors and billions of demons which for some reason wield rocket launchers, and the odd candle or two, rather uninspired, and a great potential for "the walls are trying to kill me kind of traps" is completley wasted on an interestingway to get across a chasm. Also, why does hell look different in the mortal world? It looks like the demons, slimy and bloody and tentacley in the real world, why not in hell itself? Point is, Doom 3 is creepier when nothing is happening, when you are just wandering the corridors, unapposed, ungreeted by a half a million demons. It just devolves into another shooting gallery, one thing I must congratulate Doom 3 on is the computer screens, though. Suffice to say, Id has championed the same type of gameplay and the same two franchises for it's entire career, I sincerely doubt that they will change their ways any time soon, judging from Quake 4. Expand
  45. AdamM.
    May 10, 2006
    1
    This game is lucky to even get a 1 from me! It is not original, graphics are not that amazing, and the gameplay is nowhere near as good as games like Quake 4 and Half-Life 2. I do not recommend this game!
  46. AnsonG.
    Jul 7, 2006
    3
    Nice graphics, display, music and sound. Else it SUCKS: Disjointed story. Boring environments and enemies. Cliched weaponry. No style. If the id software so smart, let them play to themself. Cheers!
  47. SayreS.
    Jan 4, 2008
    0
    Too dark, maybe I'm being harsh but, did not play game for more then 5 minutes and shut it off.
  48. Kevin
    Dec 30, 2004
    1
    Most unstable piece of crap ever. This game is NOT made for a wide variety of computers, like other games (such as Half-life-2), and will ONLY work moderatly well for a few super computers. Story sucks, weapons are terrible and many you wont even use. The final boss is A FRIGGIN JOKE! He has one attack, a missile that moves at a snails pace and doesnt even home in on you. Even the Most unstable piece of crap ever. This game is NOT made for a wide variety of computers, like other games (such as Half-life-2), and will ONLY work moderatly well for a few super computers. Story sucks, weapons are terrible and many you wont even use. The final boss is A FRIGGIN JOKE! He has one attack, a missile that moves at a snails pace and doesnt even home in on you. Even the strategy guide admits the final boss is too easy. If you die or even get hurt on the final boss, you must really suck. the only highlight of the game was the 'Hell' level, al of the other levels felt like a chore as opposed to being fun. It's no wonder half-life 2 has won against doom 3 in every contest that they have been put together against. I'm a fan of the original doom, and I still hated this game with a bloody passion. If you liked doom 3, its only because its either your first horror game, first fps game, or just first game period. Theres a LOT of games out there better then this. Dont waste your time and money with this god-awful game. Go play Half-life 2 (NOT illegal, downloaded version, which is what alot of you have been playing and complaining about, OF COURSE its glitchy, its the friggin alpha version! Why not try and actually buy the game? I bet doom 3 was just as glitchy during its alpha stage :/ ) This review is based on the actual game, not the demo or downloaded one. I bought the game before I reviewed it, maybe you people should try the same thing with the other games out there. Expand
  49. DGM
    Aug 12, 2004
    4
    I can't believe how scared all those big-name reviewers are to tell the truth: after you look beyond the stunning visuals, or actually make that squint beyond the stunning visuals, since you can barely see anything most of the time, you realize that the gameplay has zero innovation. Even those reviewers who partially admit it, still gave the game 80 out of 100. What the hell is going I can't believe how scared all those big-name reviewers are to tell the truth: after you look beyond the stunning visuals, or actually make that squint beyond the stunning visuals, since you can barely see anything most of the time, you realize that the gameplay has zero innovation. Even those reviewers who partially admit it, still gave the game 80 out of 100. What the hell is going on? So the game has been in development for years, big deal. If it bites, it bites and that's the end of it. Anyone remember Master of Orion 3? Just admit it and move on. Expand
  50. VerminD.
    Jun 14, 2005
    4
    I would have to say that this title is the epitome of everything that is wrong with today
  51. TheMagicalHippieKiller
    Nov 29, 2006
    1
    The only reason this game got a single point from me was the fact I could kill things with a chainsaw, actually EVERYTHING easily with the chaisaw, which is riduclous. This game was just a huge rip off Half-Life: Oh no! We've been secretly experimenting with teleportaion! But instead of aliens the devil came out! They even put the stupid health chargers on the wall. And this is NOT The only reason this game got a single point from me was the fact I could kill things with a chainsaw, actually EVERYTHING easily with the chaisaw, which is riduclous. This game was just a huge rip off Half-Life: Oh no! We've been secretly experimenting with teleportaion! But instead of aliens the devil came out! They even put the stupid health chargers on the wall. And this is NOT scary. People who r afraid of this must cry during thunderstorms. Ooh! A zombie! Whack! Killed it with the flashlight. Monster! Boom! A single shot from the shottie. All you had to do was turn up your mouse speed and pretend you were playing and arcade shooter like Time crisis or something. Horribly lame and way to linear, this amped up game was very disapoining. And on the graphics, they were good, but the way they drew all the characters and messed with the lighting was really stupid looking. P.S (the game also performed better with the shadows turned off, like F.E.A.R. Unfortunately, like F.E.A.R, the shadows are the only exciting thing) Expand
  52. Jul 14, 2016
    1
    i play alot of first person shooters, and i love this kind of game puzzles are a real plus, but Doom3, no way, there is alot of stupid things in it, to sum them up, it's almost always dark if not pitch black, you don't know where you're going, you got a flashlight, but then they attack, when you swap to weapon, it has to reload exactly at that time when they attack, and when it's reloaded,i play alot of first person shooters, and i love this kind of game puzzles are a real plus, but Doom3, no way, there is alot of stupid things in it, to sum them up, it's almost always dark if not pitch black, you don't know where you're going, you got a flashlight, but then they attack, when you swap to weapon, it has to reload exactly at that time when they attack, and when it's reloaded, it seems that you got a waterpistol against monsters. when you finaly find your way after doing several times the same corridors, you wonder if it's the right place to be, but a key is missing go back to the start to find it and come back here if you don't get lost.
    when you reach the goal, you find the same kind of labyrinth again, no difference, as i said, the weapons are crap, the monsters are almost invincible, the play area is always dark or black; this game give's me a headache and is boring and pointless.
    My favorites are Unreal tournament, fallout, skyrim, deus ex, dead rising3, island riptide, these are good games.
    Expand
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 83 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 77 out of 83
  2. Negative: 0 out of 83
  1. The graphics are amazing (mind you, even on a mediocre system), the sound is amazing (if you don’t have a 5.1 system yet, consider it), and the game is downright scary.
  2. DOOM 3 smashes through all the hype and delivers a grand slam of action, story, atmosphere, and pure terror.
  3. So perfectly constructed, so deliciously immersive and downright elegant, that demands for more seem crass. It might not be the very best shooter out there, but it's the more visually stunning and successfully atmospheric than any game we've had the pleasure to play.