Doom 3 PC

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 919 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Full-Life
    Aug 8, 2004
    7
    Nice game. I knew what to expect from Doom III; old skool gameplay in a new pair of Gucci shoes. So unlike people that expected revolutionary gameplay and got disappointed...... i got disappointed because the old skool gameplay was not executed very well. Surely you would have at least expected more variety, interesting puzzles and a slight tactical touch in these days of gaming. It got Nice game. I knew what to expect from Doom III; old skool gameplay in a new pair of Gucci shoes. So unlike people that expected revolutionary gameplay and got disappointed...... i got disappointed because the old skool gameplay was not executed very well. Surely you would have at least expected more variety, interesting puzzles and a slight tactical touch in these days of gaming. It got predictable towards the ending. Also the AI was not good... it did not offer a challenge. Doom III is also really short. I mean, what 4 years in development and we get 10 hours of gameplay? Some replay value would have been nice... i guess Western Developers are not that replay value sensitive as Japanese developers. I wanted to count multiplayer as replay value but it is soooo boring. Sorry ID Software, you have not evolved with time and are still in the past. Expand
  2. BradJ.
    Aug 1, 2007
    7
    DooM I and DooM II are the greatest first person shooters of all time. In my opinion, Doom 3 does not live up to the legacy. The omnipresent shadow and haunting audio make a superb atmosphere, though the game lacks in many other regards. All too often you will open a door to find an imp crouched in wait, ready to pounce, or a demon will be hiding in a canceled closet, only leaving after DooM I and DooM II are the greatest first person shooters of all time. In my opinion, Doom 3 does not live up to the legacy. The omnipresent shadow and haunting audio make a superb atmosphere, though the game lacks in many other regards. All too often you will open a door to find an imp crouched in wait, ready to pounce, or a demon will be hiding in a canceled closet, only leaving after you have passed by unsuspectingly. All too often you must decide between seeing, and shooting. The scares get tiresome after the first few levels, and the constant spawning of monsters becomes frustrating. When compared to the original DooM, DooM 3 is far easier to navigate. No longer is it necessary for you to wander around searching for 3 keycards hidden in the expansive level. Now, the goals are linear. It is much more enjoyable. This is also a downside, as there is nothing to provide padding between the endless scuffles with the invading forces. The combat in DooM I and DooM II is more enjoyable. It was fast paced and exhilarating, while in Doom 3, your foes tend to come in small quantities and hide in the shadows. I can say this: what Doom 3 does, it does very well. The graphics are great, the story is an improved version of the original DooM I (Contrary to popular belief, Half Life stole the story of DooM I, you would never know it unless you read the manual for DooM I), the atmosphere is great, and the gameplay lacks when compared to other FPS. That is not a fair comparison, as Doom 3 is not like the other shooters. It must be observed in its own artistic way. Because I found the gameplay repetitive, and not completely enjoyable, I give this game a 7. Expand
  3. WillB.
    Aug 11, 2004
    5
    This is a visually stunning game, without a doubt easily in the top 3 when it comes to looks, but when it comes to game play, it
  4. RichardT.
    Aug 13, 2004
    5
    As an original Doom fanatic just the thought of the new game brought back memories of late evenings spent with friends and two PC
  5. Domicron
    Aug 15, 2004
    5
    If you've got the hardware, it definitely looks pretty - so hats off to Id again for releasing a state of the art game engine. But as far as gameplay goes, total let down. Sure, the first 2 hours of this game are intense, scary, and keep you coming back for more... but give it another 2 hours and you realize that the entire scare factor relies on teleporting in bad guys behind If you've got the hardware, it definitely looks pretty - so hats off to Id again for releasing a state of the art game engine. But as far as gameplay goes, total let down. Sure, the first 2 hours of this game are intense, scary, and keep you coming back for more... but give it another 2 hours and you realize that the entire scare factor relies on teleporting in bad guys behind you...or having a secret door open behind you releasing monsters...and while this isn't bad by in itself, the true problem lies in this game never realizing what it should have been. Doom 2 was about battles - wading through monsters in utter carnage. What this game really needed was some of that interspersed with the dark/scary. Instead, this game proves to be nothing but a stale one trick pony.... hope half life 2 turns out better. Expand
  6. J.S.
    Aug 10, 2004
    6
    I still remember the excitement I felt when I first played the original Doom. Actually I lie; I felt that when I played Wolfenstein 3D first. Here was a game that truly started the 3D revolution - it proved that an immersive, first-person experience was possible on the computer and in my eyes at the time, I saw a future of photorealistic environments obeying the laws of physics where a I still remember the excitement I felt when I first played the original Doom. Actually I lie; I felt that when I played Wolfenstein 3D first. Here was a game that truly started the 3D revolution - it proved that an immersive, first-person experience was possible on the computer and in my eyes at the time, I saw a future of photorealistic environments obeying the laws of physics where a story set in any world imaginable centred around you. As far as I was and are now, concerned this is where computer games will end up; the place where ordinary people can live extraordinary lives. Wolfy3D showed that the photorealism in computer games was going to be achievable, all it needed was a bit more beef under the hood of your PC. And so with relish (and not a little imagination) I ate up Wolfy. Then Doom. The sheer pleasure of exploring a basic, yet fundamentally believable environments - with guns - was every bit the revolution it deserved to be. Then came Doom 2, and I the magic was beginning to fade - I couldn't quite put my finger on it... the graphics were better, there were more demons... but I was enjoying it less... and not for the first time, I was reintroduced to the axiom; gameplay is king. Then came Quake, Quake 2 (fully 3D characters) and a multitude of followers. Every one improving on the previous one's graphics, making the world seem more real, but all forgetting the impetus that led them there. The search for the realistic world in your PC was continuing apace visually, but was neglecting the most importanct aspect; interactivity. Since then, the gaming community has periodically roused from it's creative slumber to give us the likes of Half-Life, Deus-Ex, Morrowind etc. Always we were waiting for what ID did next to point the industry back towards where it will eventually end up. And so we come to Doom 3. What are ID telling us now? Well for one thing, they are telling us that bump and specular mapping with polygon-heavy environs, dynamic lighting, physics, 5.1 sound, 2x antialiasing can run very fast on a moderate system (2.8G, 1G RAM, 9800PRO). To have created such a rich environment and have it run so well is truly impressive. And what they say about game 'polish' should be a lesson to all. Computer panel access, cut-scene integration, PDA, the use of positional sound and lighting - the whole game reeks of the time they took to make sure every last little experience is a cut above what has gone before - although I might have a small gripe about the quality of some bump and spec. maps (even on extreme) which are not always as detailed as some in Far Cry, or the heat effects which again are not always quite as realistic. But these are mere triffles when such a convincing world has been created as in Doom 3. But that is where the good ends. The only other thing to commend ID on is the name; this truly is the third Doom game. You walk into a room, you get attacked. Your press a button, you get attacked. You pick up armour; attacked. Don't look behind you? Attacked. New weapon lying on the ground? Attacked. Not been attacked for a while? Wall opens and you probably get the idea... Worse still, these aren't monsters that are waiting in corridors or ducts that you flush out or hear having an argument - you can't surprise these demons - they appear when you pass the pre-programmed point and not a moment before. Pass the point and you will no doubt hear the noise of a demon being conjured from an electric disturbance nearby (reminiscent of anything?) but even that is not needed. I once walked through a door backwards and saw two spiders literally appear out of nowhere. Okay you may say I am being picky, but that the designers could not have though of a better way to infest a world with shootables is very disappointing. You start to get the impression that ID spend the ENTIRE FIVE YEARS on the engine for this game but a week on the gameplay. Or maybe no time at all? All this really is is Doom 2004. If they took the time to copy the story of Half-Life (science installation goes wrong, opens portal from another dimension which infests installation with beasts), the beginning (walking round installation before disaster) and the method of beast appearance (ball of electricity) - you might as well just swap the word "Xen" with "Hell" - why did they leave out the friendly interaction and AI? Yes, there is NO AI in Doom 3 - demons see you as soon as they appear (i.e. you are close enough - even if hidden) and then go straight for you. The more I play thins game, the more it amazes me that they though so little about the games that have come before it (except Half-Life of course). There is no stealth, no headshots, no need for ammo conservation, no using friendlies, no branching routes, no branching story (you might think there is but there isn't), no respite from attack. No subtlety. Graphically, this game delivers as advertised; it is the benchmark. Concerning gameplay, it competes with the likes of Doom 1 and 2, Quake, Serious Sam etc. Quite how so many reviewers have ignored this is really quite amazing. But I guess there are many people out there who don't realise that gaming is about an immersive experience shaped by the player and the games where you run around shooting stuff that moves is a little... passe. This is a game has no brain and requires none from the player. For a game that took five years where we have lived as Freeman and Denton, I can only be disappointed in that. Expand
  7. Pixelator
    Aug 17, 2004
    6
    Out of this world graphics - even at the lowest setting with all the jazzy options turned off so that it can give me playable frame-rates on my GeForce 4 MX (sorry, I don't think I want to spend four times the price of a game just to be able to play the game). The only other positive thing I can write about this game is that i love the weapon reloading sounds. Apart from that, Out of this world graphics - even at the lowest setting with all the jazzy options turned off so that it can give me playable frame-rates on my GeForce 4 MX (sorry, I don't think I want to spend four times the price of a game just to be able to play the game). The only other positive thing I can write about this game is that i love the weapon reloading sounds. Apart from that, it's pretty much a 10 year old game in a pretty wrapper. Maybe I was dissapointed because I'd just finished Far Cry before starting with Doom3. But then hey, with all the hoopla around it, Doom 3 was supposed to be a better game than Far Cry. It just isn't!!! Expand
  8. AndrewP.
    Aug 5, 2004
    7
    This game deserves an 11 in graphics, sounds, effects, etc..., but as for the story goes, its your typical shoot'm up Doom story. Chase the bad guy, find keys, back track, beat the Devil! I thought the AI could have been better. Creatures hiding in places the same time, ie behind bookshelves and walls, got to be old. I thought Call of Duty had better AI than this. But the up side to This game deserves an 11 in graphics, sounds, effects, etc..., but as for the story goes, its your typical shoot'm up Doom story. Chase the bad guy, find keys, back track, beat the Devil! I thought the AI could have been better. Creatures hiding in places the same time, ie behind bookshelves and walls, got to be old. I thought Call of Duty had better AI than this. But the up side to this game is there is a great game engine to work off of for better games finally. I expect HL2 to out due Doom 3. Expand
  9. BrianJ.
    Aug 7, 2004
    6
    I've just purchased the game and played through the first two levels. I'll admit, the creatures look scary as heck and they often do startle me when they jump out, growl, and attack. The visuals are stunning...really stunning. Using the flashlight and coming across a zombie or alien-thing is the creepiest. I don't get the sense that the AI is all that bright. So far its I've just purchased the game and played through the first two levels. I'll admit, the creatures look scary as heck and they often do startle me when they jump out, growl, and attack. The visuals are stunning...really stunning. Using the flashlight and coming across a zombie or alien-thing is the creepiest. I don't get the sense that the AI is all that bright. So far its mostly close quarters battling with the shotgun or the machine gun. You can pretty much march through the game and aim at the creatures faces with the shotgun. For me, this game is not as fun as the Jedi-Knight Academy game in which, even if the levels get repetiitive, you can find new ways to destroy everyone with force powers. With Doom, you still just run around looking for ammo, using your flashlight and shooting up stuff. Occasionally, you have to read other people's e-mail to get codes to open up their lock boxes to get, guess what, ammo, health, and body shields. It's an amusement park ride, pure and simple. It will probably entertain you if you know what you are getting into. If you want to be creeped out and startled, its a good buy. Is it worth 50 bucks? Well, not for the gameplay...perhaps for the visuals and audio. Expand
  10. DaveH.
    Sep 18, 2004
    5
    Distinctly average. All looks and no substance. Another ID classic.
  11. SteveH.
    Jan 3, 2005
    5
    The game was bogged down by the constant need to listen to audio logs, watch video discs, and read e-mails. Additionally, the first 2/3rds of the levels were highly repetitive. I only persisted because I wanted to see the ending. But I don't want to be entirely negative. The last third was a lot of fun though. Graphics were nice too.
  12. JohelV.
    Aug 10, 2004
    7
    Just as expected: doom3 doesn't beat the originals! Great graphics, sometimes absolutely stunning, though the surroundings' darkness is too omnipresent. Any way, beyond the eye candy, the game lacks the same thing EVERY FPS I've played lacks - excluding such classics as Wolfenstein and the original dooms (and maybe quake): unscripted surprises. Why can't they just Just as expected: doom3 doesn't beat the originals! Great graphics, sometimes absolutely stunning, though the surroundings' darkness is too omnipresent. Any way, beyond the eye candy, the game lacks the same thing EVERY FPS I've played lacks - excluding such classics as Wolfenstein and the original dooms (and maybe quake): unscripted surprises. Why can't they just concentrate on the gameplay? In doom 1 or 2, the whole level could be alive at some places, and the voices around weren't just scripted or an omen of an enemy behind the next corner. It could a voice of an enemy that has been following you for the latest 10 minutes, and just about to get to you! This DOES NOT exist in Doom3 nor any other modern eye-candy game, where all the effort is in the visuals and "cool" pre-determined scenes. Besides, these "scripted sequences" lack imagination in doom3 and with the combination of the whole game being so dark, it gets so damn repetitive. And a couple of other things: hits to a particular body part, especially head, should be more rewarding. Also,.there is NO way in hell the Doom3 boomstick could even nearly compare to the original shotgun in Doom1 & Doom2... Make a REAL Doom with modern graphics and effects, and then I'll be satisfied! This is not Doom, this is a mere Alien versus predator with Doom's enemies. As things are now, for me the original dooms still remain the absolute kings in the history of FPS games! Living environment, that's what I want!! Doom 1 & 2 Forever! Expand
  13. DaveyDJ
    Aug 16, 2004
    6
    Yep... it's pretty good fun... and scary in places... But, man... the hardware you must need to run it decently... I'm sure it looks lovely on 2 grands worth of kit, but for average Joe Public, it's graphics are going to be pretty average. It's also way too dark. I'd agree with 'Raggende' review in that respect. They really need to get the contrast Yep... it's pretty good fun... and scary in places... But, man... the hardware you must need to run it decently... I'm sure it looks lovely on 2 grands worth of kit, but for average Joe Public, it's graphics are going to be pretty average. It's also way too dark. I'd agree with 'Raggende' review in that respect. They really need to get the contrast sorted. Shame. Expand
  14. JoeD.
    Jun 29, 2005
    7
    This game is more than the sum of its parts. For some reason I found it had just enough to keep me coming back to complete it on the first run-through. I even went back to replay the entire game. However, just like Half-Life 2, the game is far too linear. There really is hardly any reason to come back and play it again, aside from the gorgeous graphics. Doom 3 has to be commended for This game is more than the sum of its parts. For some reason I found it had just enough to keep me coming back to complete it on the first run-through. I even went back to replay the entire game. However, just like Half-Life 2, the game is far too linear. There really is hardly any reason to come back and play it again, aside from the gorgeous graphics. Doom 3 has to be commended for generating a really chilling atmosphere, which does add to the enjoyment first time through. The graphics (especially the intricate and detailed level design) and sound effects are superb. The story isn't too bad, just not very original with no twists. The enemy A.I. should have been improved before this was released. All the enemies attack mindlessly. I mean come on! It is about time developers offered us some decent A.I in games these days (I'm looking at you Doom3 and Half-Life 2). All in all Doom 3 looks and sounds great, but doesn't offer much in the way of interesting or vaired gameplay, which of course means it has a very short shelf-life. Expand
  15. Oct 27, 2013
    6
    Doom 3 does a lot of things right. However the story is not one of them. Doom 3 is a game set on the surface of mars, you play an unnamed space marine coming to mars for security reasons. the game takes of well and the action is fun for a while but about 4 or 5 hours in you notice that the level development is not very varying and the AI is basic and boring after about 100 of the same 8Doom 3 does a lot of things right. However the story is not one of them. Doom 3 is a game set on the surface of mars, you play an unnamed space marine coming to mars for security reasons. the game takes of well and the action is fun for a while but about 4 or 5 hours in you notice that the level development is not very varying and the AI is basic and boring after about 100 of the same 8 enemies. Luckily you get to go to hell and the game takes off again. after that the game is more than fun.

    The graphics were stellar for the time of 2004 but does not hold up too well. The music consists of the title music but the sound effects are Eire and the games tone is nice and dark. The story is almost non existent taking a back seat to the action. The levels are largely the same and the multiplayer is lack luster. Doom 3 is a nice action horror game but the AI, Story and Variety need a little bit of tweaking.

    I give this game a 6/10

    Anybody exited for DOOM 4?
    Expand
  16. Jan 5, 2013
    7
    The only thing "Doom" about this game are the classical Imps and Hellknights and a glorified Hell level towards the end, homaging Doom II's art style. Cramped hallway style gameplay that tires after 4 of the 12 hours of gameplay, with the same old tricks of enemies jumping out from secret compartments or darkened corners whilst you tediously search for keycards in order to progress toThe only thing "Doom" about this game are the classical Imps and Hellknights and a glorified Hell level towards the end, homaging Doom II's art style. Cramped hallway style gameplay that tires after 4 of the 12 hours of gameplay, with the same old tricks of enemies jumping out from secret compartments or darkened corners whilst you tediously search for keycards in order to progress to something more interesting. Even on hard mode you trip over health and ammo which i guess is OK only in the context of the fact that this is DOOM and not a survival horror.

    The enemies aren't much of a threat when you realise they can barely hit you when you get inside their shooting arc, but not too close to melee; although i guess most players wont figure that out since they are scarey enough to try to avoid getting too close too. Although they do have this nasty habit of trapping you against a bulkhead and smacking your lower region to pieces just below your FoV which would be annoying if it wasn't for the fact this'll probably be the only time they take seasoned FPS players below 75% HP.

    The shotgun is the staple weapon of the game as you will always have ammo for it, unfortunately the infamous BFG feels a little lack luster when you can carry 328 shells but only 38 BFG rounds and it only takes 8 shotgun shells to take out a Hellknight compared to 4 BFG rounds. The BFG was famous for its room clearing capacity but in the extremely linear hallways of DOOM 3 you're more likely to have an enemy marine detonate the round in your face than use it effectively in anything but the rarest of circumstances.

    The game would have felt more classical DOOM like if there was more open space to strafe enemies and less time spent dropping into your PDA to read employee emails and audio logs. It's basically DOOM with all the corners cut off and the narrative shoved down your throat.

    In the context of its time it is a pretty game and the weapons are generally fun in that you can shoot to your hearts content without fear of needing that ammunition for something important later. There is also a traditional shooter feel in regards to how curiosity is often rewarded, such as the discovery of vents or spaces under stairs hiding some armour shards or ammo or other goodies like easter eggs.

    The final boss is a little disappointing however and ironically probably the easiest part of the game. I scored it a little higher than what i felt like because the game has obviously aged in the past 9 years and it deserves a score relative to its release date. The game was OK, but it does just make me want to play the originals.
    Expand
  17. Jan 2, 2013
    7
    Amazing game. This is a freaking good game with competitive gameplay and a lot of weapons. It was, later, dumbed dom with "Doom 3 BFG Edition". Mind blowing graphics for its time, but which are still good now. Amazing plot. Good longevity. This is a real game. 7/10
  18. Feb 14, 2016
    5
    Doom 3
    Average User Score: 7.5
    Mar 16, 2015 5 Doom 3 ImageAfter ten years break I can finally play this game again... Just to understand why it failed. First thing you see is that it aged really, really bad. Even more so than Far Cry, not to mention Half Life 2, which still stays fresh - no matter when you play HL, it plays like it came out yesterday. Levels in Doom 3 are abysmal,
    Doom 3
    Average User Score: 7.5
    Mar 16, 2015
    5
    Doom 3 ImageAfter ten years break I can finally play this game again... Just to understand why it failed.

    First thing you see is that it aged really, really bad. Even more so than Far Cry, not to mention Half Life 2, which still stays fresh - no matter when you play HL, it plays like it came out yesterday.
    Levels in Doom 3 are abysmal, graphics are bad and the only reasons it impressed people at first was shadowing. Which aged really bad as well. The game tried to hide its awfulness in design department by taking away as much ligh as it could, taking away flashlight from an every weapon. Some people called it "a feature", but it was just an excuse, because having or not having flashlight doesn't affect gameplay at all (thanks to mods you can test it yourself). Game itself is really, really slow and claustrophobic. Enough said that all levels up to the first boss are really just an introduction, where rarely we will be attacked by more than 2 or 3 enemies. The pacing is really off. Compared to classic Doom games it feels pathetic, unfortunately. There are no secrets, no puzzles whatsoever. Don't tell me that listening to badly recorded audio books for boxes' codes or finding a bonus ammo behind a crate are puzzles. The atmosphere could be good (visuals are there), but the overall voice department is mindboggling bad. Every weapons sounds (and indeed is) underpowered. Which leads us to the worst part: gameplay. The shooting is not exciting, most enemies are slow, unthreatening and I wonder who designed some of them. He/she should be fired (and I hope he/she was).
    It has its moments, but overall Doom 3 is just disappointing.
    Expand
  19. Jul 5, 2011
    6
    I have to be honest here i didn't like the game i liked the classic better there was no story just killing demons. anyway it was a good attempt so i have to give them some credit hopefully doom 4 will be better.
  20. Oct 9, 2010
    5
    Good graphics amazingly boring gameplay campaign storyline and i don't get scared by a mutant jumping on my face.
  21. BobB.
    Aug 8, 2004
    5
    Too linear... a half life clone nice graphics and atmosphere though boring until the last quarter of the game.
  22. Groundfisher
    Aug 10, 2004
    7
    Mediocre FPS. Great sound, great graphics. Doom 3's contribution to today's 'gaming' is its engine and that's all. No innovation here. In fact, game-play is repetitive. There aren't 20+ hours of gameplay here. There are 2-3 hours of gameplay repeated again and again. I give it a 7 for how it looks and sounds and because I'm sure its engine will be Mediocre FPS. Great sound, great graphics. Doom 3's contribution to today's 'gaming' is its engine and that's all. No innovation here. In fact, game-play is repetitive. There aren't 20+ hours of gameplay here. There are 2-3 hours of gameplay repeated again and again. I give it a 7 for how it looks and sounds and because I'm sure its engine will be licensed to other developers, who will make good games. If you haven't bought this game, wait until the price drops. Pick it up in 12 months or so. Expand
  23. jpkkez
    Aug 24, 2007
    6
    Good graphics but everythings so clunky and the only fights is someting jumps out of a dark corner not very fun.
  24. Ryder
    Aug 30, 2004
    6
    Well first off Doom 3 looks amazing. Super detail, heaps of atmosphere, good lookin enemy movement animation's and good lookin enemies. But it also has stupid futuristic guns that are inferior to modern ones. They are balky, weak, (the flashlight does more damage pr hit then the pistol) and stupidly designed, i could have dun better(way better). O ya the physics are substandard and Well first off Doom 3 looks amazing. Super detail, heaps of atmosphere, good lookin enemy movement animation's and good lookin enemies. But it also has stupid futuristic guns that are inferior to modern ones. They are balky, weak, (the flashlight does more damage pr hit then the pistol) and stupidly designed, i could have dun better(way better). O ya the physics are substandard and you should spend more game in hell, hell was sweet. Expand
  25. Sep 4, 2011
    6
    My review and score is based entirely on the singleplayer portion of the game.

    Doom 3 both has a lot in common with previous Doom games and differs in other areas. In terms of similarities, like its predecessors, Doom 3 features a great arsenal of the familiar weapons used against a variety of pure evil enemies. Players will often find themselves searching for that key (or in Doom 3's
    My review and score is based entirely on the singleplayer portion of the game.

    Doom 3 both has a lot in common with previous Doom games and differs in other areas. In terms of similarities, like its predecessors, Doom 3 features a great arsenal of the familiar weapons used against a variety of pure evil enemies. Players will often find themselves searching for that key (or in Doom 3's case, PDA) in order to unlock that nagging door and progress through the game. Unlike previous Doom games, players in Doom 3 will fight far fewer enemies at once, level design is incredibly cramped and far more linear, and the game attempts to deliver (somewhat successfully) more substance in terms of story.

    id really likes to show off their new engine in this game, too - especially the lighting effects. Every room you enter is either dimly lit or pitch black. Computer screens or impressive industrial technology in the background often provide the only illumination. You have a flashlight, but equipping it to see what's going on means you can't use any weapons. Switch back to your weapons and depending on how well lit the area is it's like fighting blind folded. Constantly switching between your flashlight and weapons got so annoying I downloaded a mod that adds a narrower beam flashlight to the shotgun and assault rifle. I felt this provided a nice balance between the tense atmosphere the developers were going for and actually being able to see what the hell was going on.

    Along the way, you can interact with various screens and keypads. PDAs along the way may contain codes for storage lockers for those careful enough to scour the emails and audio logs. These PDAs also advance the story as you gain slivers of information in piecing together the already painfully obvious plot. While it isn't necessary to read or listen to everything you come across, it helps you fill in some gaps when considering the big picture.

    Exploring every inch of the levels often triggers secret doors or walls revealing secret items and enemies alike. In fact, entering a new area almost always triggers some sort of trap behind your back where a possessed worker will attempt to sneak up on you or some demon will teleport in. Rather than appearing in hordes, enemies in Doom 3 often appear in waves. Dispatch two or three enemies, and a few more will usually appear. Eventually, you defeat them all and are able to advance. This does not describe every encounter, as sometimes encounters will only trigger if you explore certain areas and enemies can also be found in plain sight. But the lack of variety often becomes tedious. When you look behind you after hearing that demon teleport sound or door opening, the process becomes formulaic rather than tense or genuinely frightening as it does the first few times. The enemies are familiar to anyone who has played a Doom game before with a few exceptions. The pacing is good and the shooting is fun, but the level design and nature of the encounters gets repetitive to the point of being irritating. If you can see past the overdone darkness gimmick and super cramped rooms you'll have a good time blowing heads off bodies like I did. But once the ride's over, there's little redeeming value aside from a Nightmare run for masochistic.
    Expand
  26. Jul 25, 2011
    7
    I remember this was amazing-looking when it first came out and actually the lighting and environments are still brilliant, the opening when all hell breaks loose (literally) still makes me jump at times. I recommend playing Doom 3 late at night with all the lights turned off, at full volume on headphones (try it), somehow the game gets ten times better. Doesn't hold up well to most modernI remember this was amazing-looking when it first came out and actually the lighting and environments are still brilliant, the opening when all hell breaks loose (literally) still makes me jump at times. I recommend playing Doom 3 late at night with all the lights turned off, at full volume on headphones (try it), somehow the game gets ten times better. Doesn't hold up well to most modern FPS titles but it's a great benchmark in the evolution of the genre, as is its predecessor. Expand
  27. G.F.
    Aug 5, 2004
    5
    Okay, given a workhorse of a gaming rig, this game looks & plays incredible. Unfortunately my P4 1.6 Ghz PC with 512MB RAM, a 64MB Geforce 4 MX card is unable to run the game very well at all. I disabled ALL eye-candy, disabled shadows, reduced the size to 640x480, and did everything I could to improve frame rates. In this config, in small rooms with no activity, the frame rate is in the Okay, given a workhorse of a gaming rig, this game looks & plays incredible. Unfortunately my P4 1.6 Ghz PC with 512MB RAM, a 64MB Geforce 4 MX card is unable to run the game very well at all. I disabled ALL eye-candy, disabled shadows, reduced the size to 640x480, and did everything I could to improve frame rates. In this config, in small rooms with no activity, the frame rate is in the upper 50s. Great. Once a baddie jumps out at me (or two), and I attempt to defend myself, the frame rate drops under 10 fps. This kills the experience, and I'm not prepared to purchase faster hardware right now. Gameplay: In my opinion, the ambient sound is effective, the mood is set well. But the overall gameplay is repetitive. Wonder through the base, pick up PDAs to help you through the labbrynth, oh yeah and kill the monsters, repeat, rinse. Honestly I'm reminded of Unreal. This game looked incredible for it's time, was single-player focused. Fought plenty of monsters. People struggled to get the most frames per sec out of it. I guess to give ID credit, or what they set out to achieve, for the specific sub-genre (Sci-fi demon horror scary shoot-em-up) they have accomplished that goal. I think personally I have outgrown this genre. Expand
  28. BuffaloBill
    Oct 22, 2004
    6
    I thought I
  29. JarettE.
    Apr 13, 2008
    6
    I have to say i love this game, because it's different, but i was reading the other reviews and some of them were right. The script triggering got annoying and you can kind of tell when your going to trigger something. The only benefit is the fact that the action changes so it keeps a little interesting. I still jump sometimes when i'm playing, mostly because i'm not paying I have to say i love this game, because it's different, but i was reading the other reviews and some of them were right. The script triggering got annoying and you can kind of tell when your going to trigger something. The only benefit is the fact that the action changes so it keeps a little interesting. I still jump sometimes when i'm playing, mostly because i'm not paying attention, and for the best effect just start running through the levels...it works. I like the storyline too, but i wish there was more development of it. The best part though was when you could send or cancel the transmission, which is about the only non-linear part of the game. I think if you have 20 bucks to throw away and want a cheep thrill that lasts a while then buy the game for sure, even if you don't like these types of games. And FYI to the other reviewers the darkness is to make it harder, thats why you have a flashlight, and this is not copying half life it's been around forever...and it's probably as good as half life 2 if not better, and my personal opinion HL2 is really boring compared to this, but probably because it's less interesting and requires more puzzle solving. Expand
  30. Nov 9, 2011
    7
    Graphics 10/10
    Gameplay 8/10
    Controls 9/10
    Story 6/10
    Characters 5/10
    Level design 8/10
    Weapons 8/10
    AI 4/10
    Presentation 6/10
    User Interface 8/10
    Sounds 7/10
    Music 4/10
  31. Nov 13, 2012
    7
    Doom 3 is graphically phenomenal. The graphics are incredible, even by today's standards. The game is scary- demons will teleport in when you least expect it. The environments are great as well- I loved the utility in activating switches and interacting with computers. These are the strengths- the weaknesses are the repetitive gameplay (when you feel like you should be done with the game,Doom 3 is graphically phenomenal. The graphics are incredible, even by today's standards. The game is scary- demons will teleport in when you least expect it. The environments are great as well- I loved the utility in activating switches and interacting with computers. These are the strengths- the weaknesses are the repetitive gameplay (when you feel like you should be done with the game, you're only halfway through), weak guns (I feel like the weapons had very little oomph to them at all), and storyline (it is nonexistant. You go from point A to point B with no reason for it at all). Doom 3 is great but repetitive. Expand
  32. Feb 24, 2014
    7
    This game is ok. It does have very good atmosphere and setting. It is immersive and fun. It does create fear and claustrophobic feelings. Not many games can do it to such an extent. Yet there is something that does not feel right. It seems to be made of pieces that does not fit very well together. One of which is textures that seem to have variable depth of graphic detail. It feelsThis game is ok. It does have very good atmosphere and setting. It is immersive and fun. It does create fear and claustrophobic feelings. Not many games can do it to such an extent. Yet there is something that does not feel right. It seems to be made of pieces that does not fit very well together. One of which is textures that seem to have variable depth of graphic detail. It feels fragmented somehow. In terms of difficulty it does not scale very well either. Overall however, the game was pretty good. Expand
  33. Mr.No
    Aug 4, 2004
    7
    Graphics, graphics and graphics (with HUGE hardware demands). Game play is much more important and Doom3 offers nothing new in that department.
  34. Shawn
    Oct 2, 2006
    7
    Tends to repeat itself, characters get overly used, a bit too hyped up, good for entertainment.
  35. AlanB.
    Aug 5, 2004
    7
    Sweet graphics, dated gameplay. And the design is stolen right out of Aliens the movie. Nothing new here just pretty visual and very predictable gameplay. For action play Unreal, for scrary play silent hill, for pretty play Doom3.
  36. AnonymousMC
    Sep 6, 2004
    6
    The graphics are the only thing this game has going for itself. The gameplay seems average and the level designs are interesting but at time very hard to navigate. While I understand the dark levels in the game were supposed to create fear, but it really just left me in frustration more often than being scared. Also, the weapons are very WEAK!!! I started playing the game on easy justThe graphics are the only thing this game has going for itself. The gameplay seems average and the level designs are interesting but at time very hard to navigate. While I understand the dark levels in the game were supposed to create fear, but it really just left me in frustration more often than being scared. Also, the weapons are very WEAK!!! I started playing the game on easy just to have a fun blast fest... and instead I was cursing at the high difficulty level for easy. Playing Doom 3 on the internet also left me feeling disappointed because many of the maps were boring to play through. Return to Castle Wolfenstein was better. Expand
  37. AnthonyO.
    Aug 10, 2007
    7
    Before I say anything let me inform you that I have been an ID follower since Wolfenstein 3D and I don't mean since I first played it I mean since it's release. So you can imagine my excitement when Doom 3 came out. I basically got a new pc for the sole purpose of playing massive amounts of Doom 3 and future games. When I first played D3, I was blown away. I couldn't Before I say anything let me inform you that I have been an ID follower since Wolfenstein 3D and I don't mean since I first played it I mean since it's release. So you can imagine my excitement when Doom 3 came out. I basically got a new pc for the sole purpose of playing massive amounts of Doom 3 and future games. When I first played D3, I was blown away. I couldn't believe that the graphics were so incredible, and at first the gameplay seemed fantastic and mind blowing. I got scared out of my mind playing the first time and when playing again on veteran almost crapped myself a few times. Here comes the turn in my review. After playing the game through once and playing a few times and having the gloss fade off of my long awaited ID games fix, I realized the game for what it is. A large dissappointment to the Doom franchise and to ID games also. Sure the graphics kick ass, the guns are cool, and the game scares the bejeezus out of you, but that's pretty much it when it comes to depth. The plot had my held captive till about half way through when I started to completely ignore my PDA. Unlike Doom 1 and 2 I NEVER EVER had trouble finding where to go, and also unlike it's predescesors secrets that were required to progress through the level were nonexistant. I mean I still enjoyed progressing through the interesting areas of the base they designed but when i'd get to a new area I wouldn't really feel a sense of accomplishment. I am really torn when reviewing this game because part of me loves it and still plays it, but the biggest thing with me is that I would love it SO much more if it was released under a totally different name than the Doom franchise. Also WTF happened to Flynn Peter Taggart!?!?! Being a massive Doom nerd I even read all the books and became even more attached to our bloody-faced hero from D1 and 2 but then he is completely forgotten about in this game! Before I end my review the last thing I will say is this game would have gotten at least another point from me if it had an earth stage. I know that based on the plot that wouldn't make sense but being that the plot was shallow and unsubmersive I would have preffered they change the plot to cater for this. I still recommend the game after all of this simple because it is the ONLY game/movie/piece of media that has the ability to actually scare me. Also I find that the multiplayer can be very fun but certainly nothing new and does not even come close to the action available in DoD and CS. Again recommended but keep in mind this will not give you that fantastic feel the first time you played Doom 1. Hell when Doom 2 came out I felt more excited and they just threw in a few more monsters and a SINGLE new weapon that although useful was visually unspectacular. Just goes to show how far level creation can go. Expand
  38. DanielC.
    Oct 13, 2004
    6
    As an avid FPS gamer I am disappointed. It's just another standard Id shooter; all looks and no substance and just feels like an old game packaged in a new, shiny box. Frankly, the only thing going for this game is the graphics. Doom 3 held a lot of promise but in the end falls flat on its face. Id may be a master of computer graphics but they couldn't make a good game to save As an avid FPS gamer I am disappointed. It's just another standard Id shooter; all looks and no substance and just feels like an old game packaged in a new, shiny box. Frankly, the only thing going for this game is the graphics. Doom 3 held a lot of promise but in the end falls flat on its face. Id may be a master of computer graphics but they couldn't make a good game to save their lives. Expand
  39. ChazD.
    Aug 11, 2004
    7
    Having just beat the game minutes ago, I felt it was time to chime in with my thoughts... To my disappointment as much as anyones, Doom 3 is not the revolution we had hoped for. It's been said in every post below, and I'll say it again - the game looks amazing. In fact, I often kept playing just because it was more enjoyable to watch than any of my other games, but that's Having just beat the game minutes ago, I felt it was time to chime in with my thoughts... To my disappointment as much as anyones, Doom 3 is not the revolution we had hoped for. It's been said in every post below, and I'll say it again - the game looks amazing. In fact, I often kept playing just because it was more enjoyable to watch than any of my other games, but that's where it stops. You start out the game and can't help but gawk at the scenery, but it soon becomes second nature, and but a few short hours later you will come to realize this game is mediocre at best. The plot (when present) is rather lackluster, but still interesting, and the gameplay is "boring as Hell" (ironic, no?). Plan accordingly... - Chaz Expand
  40. GregP.
    Aug 16, 2004
    7
    Well here it is, the game so many people have waited forever for, no, not Duke Nukem Forever, that game is still in production, but Doom 3. If you play this game unaware of the hype, you will see it as a very good FPS with probably the best graphics ever made for a videogame. But for those who have a subscription to say, PC Gamer, like me and have read all about this revolutionary game, Well here it is, the game so many people have waited forever for, no, not Duke Nukem Forever, that game is still in production, but Doom 3. If you play this game unaware of the hype, you will see it as a very good FPS with probably the best graphics ever made for a videogame. But for those who have a subscription to say, PC Gamer, like me and have read all about this revolutionary game, you will be sadly disappointed. There just isn't enough here to really push the boundaries of video games, graphics aside. As many other people have said, the gameplay gets pretty dull after a couple plays and you are almost tempted to go back to your shareware version of the original doom. While the game has it's scary moments, the scare tactics become too predictable, to the point where you can guess where the critters or baddies, whatever you call them, are. You can walk into a room and just pull out your trusty grenades and throw them into the dark corners of the room and watch as body parts come flying into the dimly lit floor ahead of you. So the game has a great first impression, but runs a little dry, and maybe runs a little slow, considering your computer. Expand
  41. DanielB.
    Aug 16, 2004
    7
    Graphics over gameplay I feel. Playing through Far Cry at the same time and I have to say I'm not motivated to play Doom as its gameplay aint great. Probably come back to it later but after all the hype I'm disapointed. The really low scores are wrong, I think these reflect people's disappointment as this is a good game when we all wanted it to be so great.
  42. Cyberxero
    Aug 20, 2004
    7
    Okay to get down to the bottom line, Doom3 is a good game but not exactly perfect. For one thing the graphics are probably the best ive seen ever to appear in a FPS, and the sound is just wonderful. In terms of this game being scary i'd have to say it can't be.Its really just like a little fright and a mini jump of your chair sort of scary, but as the game goes on it becomes Okay to get down to the bottom line, Doom3 is a good game but not exactly perfect. For one thing the graphics are probably the best ive seen ever to appear in a FPS, and the sound is just wonderful. In terms of this game being scary i'd have to say it can't be.Its really just like a little fright and a mini jump of your chair sort of scary, but as the game goes on it becomes predictable what the monsters will do next.Basically the only fear you have to over come in the game is its darkness. Basically what makes it a little frightning is the sound because its dolby surround sound which sounds like the monsters are coming from every corner. Its especially spooky in the dark because you cant see what's there but you can hear it breathing which certainly gives you little chills. The reason I took away 3 marks is because of the gameplay alone. The first couple of hours might seem great but then it gets predictable and just repetitive. Then when you finally go to hell (after the same old corridors of darkness in the mars facility) all the excitement returns! Then when you beat the hell level then it just goes back to the same mars facility and then all goes boring again. Anyway to finish off this review i would say that you should be carful before buying this game, you might regret it. But in some categories it is probably worth to buy it just for the graphics and sound. Anyway Doom3 is a good game that could have been better. I still consider it the best FPS game out so far but i am hoping that Half life 2 will change my mind. CAnt wait for half life 2 :) , l8er Expand
  43. JustinP.
    Aug 4, 2004
    6
    For all the hype, I was left quite disappointed with the outcome. The graphics are brilliant, make no mistake - they surpass anything made to date. The sound is also very good, the ambient effects make you feel like you are in the middle of the original 'Aliens' movie set - Screams, cries for help, footsteps all around you... it really plays on your senses! The entire single For all the hype, I was left quite disappointed with the outcome. The graphics are brilliant, make no mistake - they surpass anything made to date. The sound is also very good, the ambient effects make you feel like you are in the middle of the original 'Aliens' movie set - Screams, cries for help, footsteps all around you... it really plays on your senses! The entire single player experience is based on scripted events, which isnt bad except for the fact that every time you play this game, it will be the same. The problem is that the gameplay, whilst wonderful and scary at first, becomes very stale and repetetive after about an hour or two. You will spend the entire game wandering through small corridors into small rooms, have a few nasties jump out at you which you'll, and then repeat as necessary until you defeat the final boss. I'm sure once some decent mods are released, the Doom 3 engine will be used for a much greater cause, but the current out of box experience is wonderful to see, but boring to play. Let's hope Half-Life 2 makes up the shortfall in playability. Expand
  44. JoshuaR.
    Aug 5, 2004
    5
    This game was obviously designed for top-of-the-curve machines. When I spend big money for a game, I expect it to either play well on a mid-level machine, or be scalable to play well on my machine when I turn various effects off. Doom 3 did neither, and I don't plan on spending another $300+ so it will. I'm running easily in the mid-range requirements based on the box and the This game was obviously designed for top-of-the-curve machines. When I spend big money for a game, I expect it to either play well on a mid-level machine, or be scalable to play well on my machine when I turn various effects off. Doom 3 did neither, and I don't plan on spending another $300+ so it will. I'm running easily in the mid-range requirements based on the box and the lag is disappointing. I'm more scared by the constant lock-ups when I walk into a room than any fire-throwing imp. And that is sad because ID got the atmosphere right, both visually and audibly. Gameplay is mediocre. It is an average shoot'em up and the PDA info system doesn't add much for me. There is little replay value. The story does mirror the original Doom credibly. Honestly, I don't know if that is good or bad, since I already know this story and might have enjoyed a fresh take. This is Doom 3 after all, not just an upgraded Doom Trilogy. In my opinion, if you want a FPS that looks good, works well on most systems, has an interesting story, and has replay value, buy Painkiller. ID should have done better with Doom 3. Expand
  45. KuunoA.
    Aug 6, 2004
    5
    Overhyped technology demo. Looks awesome, but feels crap and has zero replayability. I just can't be arsed to kill 20000 monsters just to see the alternate ending. Oh well, hopefully we'll be seeing actually a good game with this engine soon. Critics, how about actually playing this game a bit further and see that this game is definately not worth of 100 points.
  46. Carey
    Aug 7, 2004
    7
    The first five hours were terrifying. Then it started getting predictable, and then it started getting frustrating. Now all that keeps me playing is the graphics and the (sad?) desire to see everything the game has to offer. Gameplay-wise, it's miles behind Far Cry and Painkiller. But hey, the graphics are great.
  47. ISAACA.
    Sep 22, 2004
    5
    I am glad the way doom 3 turned out. because half life 2 is ging to have NO competition at all. so here is a fast guide to beat doom 3 level 1 :run in dark metallic hallways killing imps. the rest of the levels are the same . enjoy the boring game.
  48. AndyT.
    Sep 23, 2004
    6
    Fantastic visuals, awesome sound, stupendous atmosphere, but hugely repetitive gameplay. I have to admit that I have essentially lost interest and moved on after 7-8 hours or so of blundering around in the dark to the next encounter point to have yet another hellspawn jump out of a hidden compartment, drop on me or otherwise ambush me. Great for the first half dozen times, but after Fantastic visuals, awesome sound, stupendous atmosphere, but hugely repetitive gameplay. I have to admit that I have essentially lost interest and moved on after 7-8 hours or so of blundering around in the dark to the next encounter point to have yet another hellspawn jump out of a hidden compartment, drop on me or otherwise ambush me. Great for the first half dozen times, but after that.... It has none of the classic encounters of other titles in this genre where you can get involved in a good old stand up fight. Maybe that was all still to come, but to be worth a good score the game needs to carry my interest through to that point. Expand
  49. SamC.
    Apr 25, 2005
    6
    A great realistic game it was so scary i had to save every frigen second. But eventualy it was so scary i had to stop. Come on i'm only ten!!!
  50. AB
    Apr 28, 2005
    5
    It's surprising that such a highly anticipated game could be so disappointing (well, maybe not, I have played Enter the Matrix, Driv3r, and Metal Gear Solid 2). Doom 3 is a seriously underwhelming experience, especially after considering the fact that it took id so long to create it. The graphics are definitely its strongest point, but Half-Life 2 supplies graphics of an even higher It's surprising that such a highly anticipated game could be so disappointing (well, maybe not, I have played Enter the Matrix, Driv3r, and Metal Gear Solid 2). Doom 3 is a seriously underwhelming experience, especially after considering the fact that it took id so long to create it. The graphics are definitely its strongest point, but Half-Life 2 supplies graphics of an even higher caliber, and with great gameplay. The sound is nice, but not perfect at all. Also, there aren't enough enemies, but when they do finally jump out of some senseless place it can be a surprise. Even so, when I encountered most of the enemies, I had the flashlight equipped, so I had to switch to a gun. Doom 3 is fun for about 45 minutes, but after that time it's just repetitious and frustrating. Expand
  51. BalazsS.
    May 28, 2006
    6
    The graphics are awesome, but the story is ridiculous and the whole game is a mix of Half Life and System Shock.
  52. ChrisK.
    May 29, 2006
    7
    When you hear, "You can't have a flashlight out at the same time with your weapon," you immediately think, "Oh, that's not cool." You can't shut out a game simply because of one little minor inconvenience. The graphics are also a prequisite to Quake IV, more or less the same game engine. So please, don't differentiate the two. The story is probably the most common one When you hear, "You can't have a flashlight out at the same time with your weapon," you immediately think, "Oh, that's not cool." You can't shut out a game simply because of one little minor inconvenience. The graphics are also a prequisite to Quake IV, more or less the same game engine. So please, don't differentiate the two. The story is probably the most common one everyone's been up to date about, hell's broken loose and you're out to stop it or kill lucifer or so on. The story isn't original but the gameplay is actually well done. If you're out to find a good story, don't look to Doom 3 or any of the previous Doom series. If you're out to just kill or die fighting giant spiders, then Doom 3 is your game. Please check out the demo before buying and then complaining. What I love about this game is that it keeps that meaning, "You can run but you can' t hide." You think you're safe in that corner, be my bloody guest. Expand
  53. SimonB.
    Aug 16, 2006
    7
    Alright, alright. Now what went wrong with this game in particular? After a long arse install (quite short compared to Half-Life 2's install), Doom 3 opens on a rather classic menu with the classic game modes for the game. Depending on your level of skill , you will either play "Recruit", "Marine" or "Veteran". The game will therefore adjust itself to your skill. It will only do it Alright, alright. Now what went wrong with this game in particular? After a long arse install (quite short compared to Half-Life 2's install), Doom 3 opens on a rather classic menu with the classic game modes for the game. Depending on your level of skill , you will either play "Recruit", "Marine" or "Veteran". The game will therefore adjust itself to your skill. It will only do it once, so that you are constantly under the pressure of your skill. What makes the game hard in some points is that particular instinct of survival. If you play on "Recruit", you'll have a lesser feeling of survival. If you play on "Nightmare" (unlocked after beating the game), you will be much more interested on making quick and short meat of your ennemies than you would in easier modes. Of course, the game's story-line only makes you pissed at times, as it cuts the action thoroughly to make you shift through some audio logs and listen to some dead man's speech. Other times, you fiddle around rooms to know what you should be doing: A great hint, whenever there are ennemies, you're in the right place. A thing that helped a lot in ancient Doom games was the fact you could remember certain corpses layout according to places you went and came from. In Doom 3, aside from blood patches, you have no idea if you already went this way or are coming back from there. Though, that is a very rare case, unless you are the kind to get lost in all the generic environments of Doom 3. This game is very linear and should pose no threat to your brain's function, aside from thinking: "Should I dodge this guy?" or "Should I press the button?". Your brain is slightly a bit more turned on than Painkiller's level of IQ-requisite.(which is very low, I'm sure you'll agree)You get a bunch of weapons around you, counting from your "Marine-Fists" to the chunky and effective BFG. Monsters equally range from slow and overly dumb zombies to slow and overly dumb Hell Knights. What REALLY works about those big Knights is that they take a lot of place. So , the only stress about them is getting cornered because you weren't quick enough to kill them. Other monsters rush at you with speed or not. If they do not, they rush en masse. Okay, so... Good action at times, somewhat shy on the sides, Doom 3's BIGGEST troubles? A.I, storyline and gameplay. Isn't it wrong to see soldiers like those in Counter-Strike able to turn on a flashlight while wielding a PARA or a shotgun (both of which take two hands) or any other weapon... While Doom 3's idiotic mute Marine (whom grunts every now and then) can't even strap his flashlight to his machinegun? It's understandable that the UAC's base uses latest technology, but I'm certain that at some point... Technology would make sure that every marine unit would have some sort of night-seeing device or a flashlight that has no need to be wielded while there's an arsenal at your disposal? It adds to the atmosphere was an excuse, I think , that was used because some people forgot that most weapons nowadays have secondary fire options and flashlights attached to them. 7 For what looked like a possible great game, which was weighed down due to some incredibly big turn-offs. Expand
  54. PatrickS.
    Sep 17, 2006
    7
    It was good for an FPS, but, it just had a lot of disappointments. Overall, it was pretty good.
  55. LisacT.
    Jan 19, 2007
    5
    The first two parts of the famous serial were milestones in definition of the FPS genre. However, the third sequel didn't make it into the "hall of fame". Instead of bringing up the revolution (which the FPS genre needed for a long time), all it offers us is the good ol' rudimentary shootin' of everything that moves. Of course, it can be amusing to do that sometimes, but it The first two parts of the famous serial were milestones in definition of the FPS genre. However, the third sequel didn't make it into the "hall of fame". Instead of bringing up the revolution (which the FPS genre needed for a long time), all it offers us is the good ol' rudimentary shootin' of everything that moves. Of course, it can be amusing to do that sometimes, but it becomes boring soon. Scaring scenes are just another cliché, and the story sounds rather watered-down. All it counts are the candy-eye graphics and the sound effects, but the claustrophobic and repeating parts of levels combined with the repeating screaming sounds are just the way to make the game even more boring. Released in the year 2004 along with Far Cry, Chronicles of Riddick and Half-Life 2, the competitiveness of the Doom 3 against those games can be considered of a sheep thrown in front of the lions. Expand
  56. Caverna
    Nov 16, 2004
    7
    Good grafics..nice sound..but on-line sucks..!! Very disapointed..I was waiting more that that title.!
  57. JustinR.
    Nov 6, 2004
    6
    The visuals in this game are amazing, however the gameplay is not. It leaves alot to be desired. Poor AI and repetitive gameplay set the game back. It had a lot of potential, however the game falls short.
  58. SpelareX.
    Dec 11, 2004
    5
    This game may be good looking if you have a monster computer. But man is it booooring! I downloaded the demo to see if my computer could handle the grafix. Not quite satisfying in that department, but what was worse, I found it so terribly boring I didn't even want to complete the demo-levels. Very unlike me when it comes to FPS and that's how useless the game is. All that hype This game may be good looking if you have a monster computer. But man is it booooring! I downloaded the demo to see if my computer could handle the grafix. Not quite satisfying in that department, but what was worse, I found it so terribly boring I didn't even want to complete the demo-levels. Very unlike me when it comes to FPS and that's how useless the game is. All that hype for nothing. I found it very disappointing. Expand
  59. AnonymousMC
    Aug 11, 2004
    6
    I still remember the excitement I felt when I first played the original Doom. Actually I lie; I felt that when I played Wolfenstein 3D first. Here was a game that truly started the 3D revolution - it proved that an immersive, first-person experience was possible on the computer and in my eyes at the time, I saw a future of photorealistic environments obeying the laws of physics where a I still remember the excitement I felt when I first played the original Doom. Actually I lie; I felt that when I played Wolfenstein 3D first. Here was a game that truly started the 3D revolution - it proved that an immersive, first-person experience was possible on the computer and in my eyes at the time, I saw a future of photorealistic environments obeying the laws of physics where a story set in any world imaginable centred around you. As far as I was and are now, concerned this is where computer games will end up; the place where ordinary people can live extraordinary lives. Wolfy3D showed that the photorealism in computer games was going to be achievable, all it needed was a bit more beef under the hood of your PC. And so with relish (and not a little imagination) I ate up Wolfy. Then Doom. The sheer pleasure of exploring a basic, yet fundamentally believable environments - with guns - was every bit the revolution it deserved to be. Then came Doom 2, and I the magic was beginning to fade - I couldn't quite put my finger on it... the graphics were better, there were more demons... but I was enjoying it less... and not for the first time, I was reintroduced to the axiom; gameplay is king. Then came Quake, Quake 2 (fully 3D characters) and a multitude of followers. Every one improving on the previous one's graphics, making the world seem more real, but all forgetting the impetus that led them there. The search for the realistic world in your PC was continuing apace visually, but was neglecting the most importanct aspect; interactivity. Since then, the gaming community has periodically roused from it's creative slumber to give us the likes of Half-Life, Deus-Ex, Morrowind etc. Always we were waiting for what ID did next to point the industry back towards where it will eventually end up. And so we come to Doom 3. What are ID telling us now? Well for one thing, they are telling us that bump and specular mapping with polygon-heavy environs, dynamic lighting, physics, 5.1 sound, 2x antialiasing can run very fast on a moderate system (2.8G, 1G RAM, 9800PRO). To have created such a rich environment and have it run so well is truly impressive. And what they say about game 'polish' should be a lesson to all. Computer panel access, cut-scene integration, PDA, the use of positional sound and lighting - the whole game reeks of the time they took to make sure every last little experience is a cut above what has gone before - although I might have a small gripe about the quality of some bump and spec. maps (even on extreme) which are not always as detailed as some in Far Cry, or the heat effects which again are not always quite as realistic. But these are mere triffles when such a convincing world has been created as in Doom 3. But that is where the good ends. The only other thing to commend ID on is the name; this truly is the third Doom game. You walk into a room, you get attacked. Your press a button, you get attacked. You pick up armour; attacked. Don't look behind you? Attacked. New weapon lying on the ground? Attacked. Not been attacked for a while? Wall opens and you probably get the idea... Worse still, these aren't monsters that are waiting in corridors or ducts that you flush out or hear having an argument - you can't surprise these demons - they appear when you pass the pre-programmed point and not a moment before. Pass the point and you will no doubt hear the noise of a demon being conjured from an electric disturbance nearby (reminiscent of anything?) but even that is not needed. I once walked through a door backwards and saw two spiders literally appear out of nowhere. Okay you may say I am being picky, but that the designers could not have though of a better way to infest a world with shootables is very disappointing. You start to get the impression that ID spend the ENTIRE FIVE YEARS on the engine for this game but a week on the gameplay. Or maybe no time at all? All this really is is Doom 2004. If they took the time to copy the story of Half-Life (science installation goes wrong, opens portal from another dimension which infests installation with beasts), the beginning (walking round installation before disaster) and the method of beast appearance (ball of electricity) - you might as well just swap the word "Xen" with "Hell" - why did they leave out the friendly interaction and AI? Yes, there is NO AI in Doom 3 - demons see you as soon as they appear (i.e. you are close enough - even if hidden) and then go straight for you. The more I play thins game, the more it amazes me that they though so little about the games that have come before it (except Half-Life of course). There is no stealth, no headshots, no need for ammo conservation, no using friendlies, no branching routes, no branching story (you might think there is but there isn't), no respite from attack. No subtlety. Graphically, this game delivers as advertised; it is the benchmark. Concerning gameplay, it competes with the likes of Doom 1 and 2, Quake, Serious Sam etc. Quite how so many reviewers have ignored this is really quite amazing. But I guess there are many people out there who don't realise that gaming is about an immersive experience shaped by the player and the games where you run around shooting stuff that moves is a little... passe. This is a game has no brain and requires none from the player. For a game that took five years where we have lived as Freeman and Denton, I can only be disappointed in that. Expand
  60. AnonymousMC
    Aug 27, 2004
    6
    I still remember the excitement I felt when I first played the original Doom. Actually I lie; I felt that when I played Wolfenstein 3D first. Here was a game that truly started the 3D revolution - it proved that an immersive, first-person experience was possible on the computer and in my eyes at the time, I saw a future of photorealistic environments obeying the laws of physics where a I still remember the excitement I felt when I first played the original Doom. Actually I lie; I felt that when I played Wolfenstein 3D first. Here was a game that truly started the 3D revolution - it proved that an immersive, first-person experience was possible on the computer and in my eyes at the time, I saw a future of photorealistic environments obeying the laws of physics where a story set in any world imaginable centred around you. As far as I was and are now, concerned this is where computer games will end up; the place where ordinary people can live extraordinary lives. Wolfy3D showed that the photorealism in computer games was going to be achievable, all it needed was a bit more beef under the hood of your PC. And so with relish (and not a little imagination) I ate up Wolfy. Then Doom. The sheer pleasure of exploring a basic, yet fundamentally believable environments - with guns - was every bit the revolution it deserved to be. Then came Doom 2, and I the magic was beginning to fade - I couldn't quite put my finger on it... the graphics were better, there were more demons... but I was enjoying it less... and not for the first time, I was reintroduced to the axiom; gameplay is king. Then came Quake, Quake 2 (fully 3D characters) and a multitude of followers. Every one improving on the previous one's graphics, making the world seem more real, but all forgetting the impetus that led them there. The search for the realistic world in your PC was continuing apace visually, but was neglecting the most importanct aspect; interactivity. Since then, the gaming community has periodically roused from it's creative slumber to give us the likes of Half-Life, Deus-Ex, Morrowind etc. Always we were waiting for what ID did next to point the industry back towards where it will eventually end up. And so we come to Doom 3. What are ID telling us now? Well for one thing, they are telling us that bump and specular mapping with polygon-heavy environs, dynamic lighting, physics, 5.1 sound, 2x antialiasing can run very fast on a moderate system (2.8G, 1G RAM, 9800PRO). To have created such a rich environment and have it run so well is truly impressive. And what they say about game 'polish' should be a lesson to all. Computer panel access, cut-scene integration, PDA, the use of positional sound and lighting - the whole game reeks of the time they took to make sure every last little experience is a cut above what has gone before - although I might have a small gripe about the quality of some bump and spec. maps (even on extreme) which are not always as detailed as some in Far Cry, or the heat effects which again are not always quite as realistic. But these are mere triffles when such a convincing world has been created as in Doom 3. But that is where the good ends. The only other thing to commend ID on is the name; this truly is the third Doom game. You walk into a room, you get attacked. Your press a button, you get attacked. You pick up armour; attacked. Don't look behind you? Attacked. New weapon lying on the ground? Attacked. Not been attacked for a while? Wall opens and you probably get the idea... Worse still, these aren't monsters that are waiting in corridors or ducts that you flush out or hear having an argument - you can't surprise these demons - they appear when you pass the pre-programmed point and not a moment before. Pass the point and you will no doubt hear the noise of a demon being conjured from an electric disturbance nearby (reminiscent of anything?) but even that is not needed. I once walked through a door backwards and saw two spiders literally appear out of nowhere. Okay you may say I am being picky, but that the designers could not have though of a better way to infest a world with shootables is very disappointing. You start to get the impression that ID spend the ENTIRE FIVE YEARS on the engine for this game but a week on the gameplay. Or maybe no time at all? All this really is is Doom 2004. If they took the time to copy the story of Half-Life (science installation goes wrong, opens portal from another dimension which infests installation with beasts), the beginning (walking round installation before disaster) and the method of beast appearance (ball of electricity) - you might as well just swap the word "Xen" with "Hell" - why did they leave out the friendly interaction and AI? Yes, there is NO AI in Doom 3 - demons see you as soon as they appear (i.e. you are close enough - even if hidden) and then go straight for you. The more I play thins game, the more it amazes me that they though so little about the games that have come before it (except Half-Life of course). There is no stealth, no headshots, no need for ammo conservation, no using friendlies, no branching routes, no branching story (you might think there is but there isn't), no respite from attack. No subtlety. Graphically, this game delivers as advertised; it is the benchmark. Concerning gameplay, it competes with the likes of Doom 1 and 2, Quake, Serious Sam etc. Quite how so many reviewers have ignored this is really quite amazing. But I guess there are many people out there who don't realise that gaming is about an immersive experience shaped by the player and the games where you run around shooting stuff that moves is a little... passe. This is a game has no brain and requires none from the player. For a game that took five years where we have lived as Freeman and Denton, I can only be disappointed in that. Expand
  61. DemonicAngel
    Sep 25, 2004
    7
    A classic example, to plagiarise from CVG, of a "British Rail pie" game - all puffy crust and sod all inside. The "puffy crust" being the wonderful graphics, sound and scary atmosphere; and the "sod all" being the hideously repetitious gameplay. Play for a couple of hours and you will have about exhausted everything this game has to offer.
  62. NickH.
    Oct 21, 2005
    6
    Let me say this right now, up front. I won't pussyfoot around this - Doom 3 was frightening, tense experience. The graphics engine worked wonders, all while supported by great sound. The atmosphere worked. So, why the 6? Well, it's what was waiting in the dark, spooky atmosphere that hurt the gaming experience for me. I can really articulate it... so, picture this: you wander Let me say this right now, up front. I won't pussyfoot around this - Doom 3 was frightening, tense experience. The graphics engine worked wonders, all while supported by great sound. The atmosphere worked. So, why the 6? Well, it's what was waiting in the dark, spooky atmosphere that hurt the gaming experience for me. I can really articulate it... so, picture this: you wander into a dark room, there's a single light fixture swinging lighting your path every few seconds. The building is creaking and moaning, you can hear something moving about - near you. You have your flashlight out, sacrificing defense for sight. You begin moving down the hallway. The lights give out and all that's left is your flashlight. You keep moving, what ever has been moving around you has stopped... for some reason. You can hear a heartbeat. Then there's a hissing sound and you whip around to meet your foe. And what is your foe? A plastic-y looking burn victim who shoots fireballs out of his hands and yelps. Woooo! That's my problem with Doom 3, everything this game does to build up the scare factor is let down by uninspired monsters, scares, and plot. Everything looses it's novelty about 5-7 hours in. You fight the same 3 or 4 monsters for nearly 6 hours before meeting something new, and what's new is so bland and silly that you don't care about it. The scares, just like the monsters, fall flat. Sure you'll keep jumping for all 20 hours, but that's just human reflexes doing their job. If you think about it, it's not scary at all. The cliched "walk into a dark room to be ambushed by bad guys" thing looses it's charm rather quickly and eventually becomes annoying. The plot? The plot... eh, yeah: Satan escaped Hell through some strange experiment, you've been separated from your squad, and you have to save everyone. Got that? Now forget it and go kill Imps. A neat effect used to move this story along - Sarge talking to you via your radio - is grossly underused. I think it would have been something to have a guide through hell. But that would have rendered the "I'm so a-cared to be alone!" ploy. All in all, Doom 3's atmosphere is it's strongest point. It manages to cover-up the games obvious short comings - until you encounter those short comings head on. What happened id? Why did you make such an average, cliched (this game actually has you fighting generic marines in a laboratory) videogame? And why did it take so long to make? Oh, that graphics engine, time consuming you say - ah, I see. No style but sh*tloads of substance. You had all the pieces, id, to make a great game... but you didn't, you messed up guys. Nice try, though. == SCORE == Graphics: 9.1/10 - Sound: 9.2/10 - Control: 8.9/10 - Gameplay: 5.1/10 - Story: 5.2/10 - Originality: 3.9/10 - Value: 6.9/10 (if you get MP and the 'Last Man Standing' mod) == Overall: 6.4/10, My bottom line is that this is a game you can play for about an hour - and then stop for two because it's so damn uninspiring. Expand
  63. AlexJ.
    Apr 17, 2005
    6
    What took so long? Surely not the music or enemy AI!? No no no, first off what's up w/ the other reviews, there's no gravity gun and the plot is exactly what it says on the box? Anyway, the story is basically the same as the first game, only the writing is MUCH worse, seriously, how could the story of the original, (told through TEXT interludes) go downhill to such utter What took so long? Surely not the music or enemy AI!? No no no, first off what's up w/ the other reviews, there's no gravity gun and the plot is exactly what it says on the box? Anyway, the story is basically the same as the first game, only the writing is MUCH worse, seriously, how could the story of the original, (told through TEXT interludes) go downhill to such utter cliche-ridden mediocrity?! I mean, the back of the box tells the whole plot, that's it, no twists, no turns, betrayals, friends dying, SO linear!! Also, what on earth happend to having MUSIC!!?? Even Quake had some good creepy techno/industrial tracks. Doom 3 has precisely ONE audio track, yes that's why on every demo, movie, commerical, its always the same crappy over-compressed guitar thingy. THAT'S IT FOR MUSIC, not even a different track for credits!! Quake 2 kicked D3's butt for music, and no "we wanted it to be immersive" because there is no ambient track either like that in Quake1, which in that game really boosted the fear. Aren't there leaky pipes? Aren't the monsters walking around? Shouldn't you be hearing SOMETHING more than the obvious sounds of objects within your viewing range? Phew, very very sub-par in everything except graphics, and even then there's very little in the way of true innovation or challenging artistic limits like in the original... I could have done without Doom 3, which is sad as the original was and is truly a uniquely exciting experience. Expand
  64. AnonymousMC
    Aug 26, 2007
    7
    idiots... You people are saying Graphics arent as good as quake 4 and hl2 well duh. Doom 3 came out in 2003, hl2came out in 04 with a new engine, and quake 4 in 05 and its the doom 3 engine so it wont be much of a change, It was exciting at first, but than the game does the same thing over and over. But a fun game
  65. Mar 28, 2013
    7
    I made the mistake of waiting too long before playing Doom 3, but that didn't seem to drastically change my opinion of it. The graphics weren't mindblowing, but they were still extremely good. The weapons and gameplay are alright, and even by today's standards, I think still the game retains some original gameplay elements not yet seen in newer games (that I know of). I kept hearing theI made the mistake of waiting too long before playing Doom 3, but that didn't seem to drastically change my opinion of it. The graphics weren't mindblowing, but they were still extremely good. The weapons and gameplay are alright, and even by today's standards, I think still the game retains some original gameplay elements not yet seen in newer games (that I know of). I kept hearing the hype about how scary this game was, and come to find out, the hype was quite accurate. The game held up some great atmospheres and delivered the scares quite nicely. On the negative side, I found the controls a little awkward, the character development is a little weak and unoriginal and some things just drag on. That includes the audio diaries you can collect, and go on for like 2 minutes before you finally hear the access code you wanted so bad to some mechanical box or locker. It's really no secret that Doom 1 and 2 will live on while Doom 3 kinda fades into the gray void. Still, it's a good game from start to finish, but it doesn't fall into the "games that ALL types of gamers should try out!" category, but I still consider giving it a play if you happen to come across it. Expand
  66. Nov 2, 2013
    7
    When this originally came out it blew my mind. Unfortunately since then other people have took similar mechanics and ideas and took them to the next level so this is no longer an essential purchase. It is however worth it, especially for the atmosphere.
  67. Aug 5, 2012
    7
    I played for a total of 3 hours and stopped. Had no interest to play again. Great Graphics but not enough exploring feature to engauge the player. Seems ike a beef up graphics of the orginial story.
  68. Mar 21, 2013
    6
    Doom 3 is a fast paced old style first person horror shooter with exciting gameplay and will constantly remind you to be aware of your surroundings as you progress through the game. I had never played Doom 3 till now and the first thing I noticed is that the graphics although not great, are still remarkably good even in today's standards. Furthermore the lighting effects from the flashDoom 3 is a fast paced old style first person horror shooter with exciting gameplay and will constantly remind you to be aware of your surroundings as you progress through the game. I had never played Doom 3 till now and the first thing I noticed is that the graphics although not great, are still remarkably good even in today's standards. Furthermore the lighting effects from the flash light helped make the game look great and an all more fun experience when entered into rooms of pure darkness. The gameplay for Doom 3 is solid with a nice variety of weapons and enemies. As you get further into the game you will find yourself picking up new weapons and being entered into a cutscene to introduce a new mob you will be fighting throughout the game. The weapons themselves are great however I found myself only sticking to a minority of weapons due the play through since some were greatly more powerful and efficient than others. The enemies in Doom 3 are somewhat unique in there own ways and provide an enjoyable experience throughout the game as you learn how to avoid their attacks and learn their weaknesses however I found some enemies to be impossible to get around such as the mini gun enemies which give no opportunity to avoid getting damaged. Bonuses such as collecting PDA's is a nice touch in Doom as it allowed you to search through peoples PDA's to unlock bonuses in the game and find items earlier. This also increased the urge to explore as it would benefit you hugely as you progressed through a level. The occasion encounters of bosses are OK (except the final boss) and I found myself defeating the bosses on the first try on the medium difficulty which shows the lack of skill required since I usually just found myself spamming a rocket launcher in the bosses faces. Whilst the bosses do look cool, they didn't seem to do much other than run at you and smack you in the face or throw balls of poison, fire or whatever at you. For example in the final boss I found myself kiting the boss around in circles firing a launcher and another weapon for about 5 minutes. In general the level design is good however I found myself not knowing where to go and a lack of indication of where to go which in some ways I agree is good as it allows the game to seem less linear and allow for exploration, however are a few minutes or wandering around cluelessly it does get a little frustrating. The levels towards the end also to me became repetitive and spawning of enemies became extremely predictable. However there are some issues which I really did not like about Doom 3. The lack of an auto save feature. As you get really immersed into the game and die, you find yourself having to repeat half a level because of no autosave even in cut scenes or in boss encounters. Secondly were the small things such as dieing because a door closed when you were standing between it which I thought was unnessary. Finally I found the story was extremely weak which to be honest I don't really care about however a good storyline would have been a nice touch. In short Doom 3 is a fun action packed shooter and will have you always needing to be aware as mobs spawn in all directions as you progress though a level. The campaign is at a fine length, graphics are acceptable in today's standards and in general is longer than most of the latest FPS releases. However the lack of exciting bosses, predictable repetitive enemies, minor frustrating game elements and repetitive maze like levels really held the game back from getting a higher score than 7 in my eyes. The war between the 2004 FPS hits Half Life 2 and Doom 3 leads me to declare that Half Life 2 won this little battle however Doom 3 is still a great game and if given the opportunity, you should give Doom 3 a go. Expand
  69. Dec 14, 2015
    7
    It was a good shooter game for its time. The graphics were excellent by 2004 standards, with real-time shadows (they look too black and too sharp by today's standards). The gameplay feels very linear, and enemies often appear from thin air behind you - since that's frequently too deadly you would find yourself saving/reloading all the time.
  70. Sep 10, 2013
    7
    Coming back to Doom 3 in 2013 I was surprised by how little I enjoyed iD's biggest title of last decade. The graphics still looked crisp but the shooting mechanics and physics have aged horribly. The storyline is delivered well but the fast-paced combat tended to nullify the game's attempts at horror segments.
    Compared to other heavyweight titles of the same year, like Half-Life 2, Doom 3
    Coming back to Doom 3 in 2013 I was surprised by how little I enjoyed iD's biggest title of last decade. The graphics still looked crisp but the shooting mechanics and physics have aged horribly. The storyline is delivered well but the fast-paced combat tended to nullify the game's attempts at horror segments.
    Compared to other heavyweight titles of the same year, like Half-Life 2, Doom 3 is not a classic game.
    Expand
  71. Jun 18, 2013
    7
    Definitely short of a few missions compared to the originals however it was a great adaption and had what the old dooms did not have. although some of the creatures were quite disappointing in appearance, and some of the missions were quite boring. I still enjoyed the game but just wouldn't pick this over the originals.
  72. Jun 25, 2014
    5
    Regardless of how suitable a sequel this game is, it's a mediocre FPS.

    Combat lacks challenge & nuance. It's unsatisfying as practically all enemies are bullet sponges, and stunning/suppressing enemies (an FPS staple- see Doom's "pain chance" mechanic) is almost nonexistent. The latter leads to goofy cartoon-gag pursuits around columns and such as the only means of avoiding damage.
    Regardless of how suitable a sequel this game is, it's a mediocre FPS.

    Combat lacks challenge & nuance. It's unsatisfying as practically all enemies are bullet sponges, and stunning/suppressing enemies (an FPS staple- see Doom's "pain chance" mechanic) is almost nonexistent. The latter leads to goofy cartoon-gag pursuits around columns and such as the only means of avoiding damage.

    Happily, sprinting is fast & doesn't prohibit gunfire. Mobility alone has a nice feel, and it might've redeemed the combat, but for the way it's framed. Namely: ambush after ambush. You are NEVER on the offensive in Doom 3. All good FPSes have a mix of offensive & defensive gameplay, while this one is hideously lopsided. The worst part is once you learn the handful of tricks used over and over by the level designers, you may as well have played the entire game. Not scary. Very obnoxious.

    Some high points are superlative ambient audio design, lots of good lighting design, nice texturework. Shame about the game.
    Expand
  73. Dec 3, 2013
    7
    This game is an old classic. its good horror and fun to play. i recommend this game for the fans of scary games. Now days this game is a little old fashioned and wont look that good i guess, but i think this game is great in any other way.
  74. Nov 15, 2013
    7
    I was somewhat dissapointed that they pushed Graphics beyond Gameplay. Sure it was nice to see familiar monsters with great textures. But the tight/tiny corridor feeling just wasnt Doom. 90s run and shoot action game turned into 20s stealth horror game. Remember when you pumped your shotgun into the monsters body thus screaming in agony and falling into the ground? Not anymore. They simplyI was somewhat dissapointed that they pushed Graphics beyond Gameplay. Sure it was nice to see familiar monsters with great textures. But the tight/tiny corridor feeling just wasnt Doom. 90s run and shoot action game turned into 20s stealth horror game. Remember when you pumped your shotgun into the monsters body thus screaming in agony and falling into the ground? Not anymore. They simply fall and vanish. Remember the kick ass music that got your adrenaline pumped? Well you dont need any music in this just listen to voice records, thats your music what you get b1tch! Remember the chaing gun and rocket launcher where you could go rambo? Well fyck you reload reload reload. Remember the DoomGuy that could fall from an skyscraper and dont feel a thing? Well this is a Marine that brokes hes legs when jumping off an two feet ladder. And what a joke the Cyberdemon was...What i liked about it was the lenght of the game but thats basically it. Expand
  75. Dec 12, 2014
    5
    I have the Steam UK version of Doom 3: BFG Edition and sometimes play the game as well as the expansions: Resurrection of Evil and the Lost Missions but as I still have the original CD's for The Ultimate Doom, Doom 2: Hell on Earth, Final Doom: Plutonia Experiment and Final Doom: TNT - Evilution games I can legally play these games via GZ Doom. I actually prefer to play the old Doom gamesI have the Steam UK version of Doom 3: BFG Edition and sometimes play the game as well as the expansions: Resurrection of Evil and the Lost Missions but as I still have the original CD's for The Ultimate Doom, Doom 2: Hell on Earth, Final Doom: Plutonia Experiment and Final Doom: TNT - Evilution games I can legally play these games via GZ Doom. I actually prefer to play the old Doom games via GZ Doom as I feel they have better gameplay than Doom3 and were truly groundbreaking for their time. Expand
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 83 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 77 out of 83
  2. Negative: 0 out of 83
  1. The graphics are amazing (mind you, even on a mediocre system), the sound is amazing (if you don’t have a 5.1 system yet, consider it), and the game is downright scary.
  2. DOOM 3 smashes through all the hype and delivers a grand slam of action, story, atmosphere, and pure terror.
  3. 90
    So perfectly constructed, so deliciously immersive and downright elegant, that demands for more seem crass. It might not be the very best shooter out there, but it's the more visually stunning and successfully atmospheric than any game we've had the pleasure to play.