User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 739 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 94 out of 739

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 5, 2013
    9
    Not sure why this game has a mixed or average 7.3 as a user score and only an 87. This is by far one of the best survival horror games I have ever played. The game looks like a 2010 title yet its only a 2004 one. I never really paid much attention to Doom 3 when it first came out because I was never into scary games, but Doom 3 really pulled me into its atmosphere, something video gamesNot sure why this game has a mixed or average 7.3 as a user score and only an 87. This is by far one of the best survival horror games I have ever played. The game looks like a 2010 title yet its only a 2004 one. I never really paid much attention to Doom 3 when it first came out because I was never into scary games, but Doom 3 really pulled me into its atmosphere, something video games rarely do to me let alone one made nine years ago. Some silly design choices like not being able to hold a flashlight and a gun at the same time and a lack of enemy variety are some of the flaws this game has, but nevertheless is an amazing title. I hope this franchise's future is still intact, I really want to see Doom 4 on Id Tech 5. Expand
  2. JohnM.
    Aug 5, 2004
    9
    Cant believe sooo many people dont get the game, its classic Doom but 100 times better. How anyone can say it gets boring is beyond me, this game is the best FPS to come out in years, probably since half-life. The action is none stop plus the story gets driven by the PDA system brilliantly, I cant get enough of this game so far and I'm sure that mods that come out for it will be just Cant believe sooo many people dont get the game, its classic Doom but 100 times better. How anyone can say it gets boring is beyond me, this game is the best FPS to come out in years, probably since half-life. The action is none stop plus the story gets driven by the PDA system brilliantly, I cant get enough of this game so far and I'm sure that mods that come out for it will be just as good. Expand
  3. Jan 1, 2013
    9
    Must own game even in this age of gaming. Great shooting game that should be played by anyone that calls themselves an FPS fan, but don't think you can handle the graphics? There's a mod for that. Rather have the falshlight on your weapons? There's a mod for that, Want faster-paced gameplay closer to the original Doom? There's a mod for that. Rather have a medieval fantasy setting withMust own game even in this age of gaming. Great shooting game that should be played by anyone that calls themselves an FPS fan, but don't think you can handle the graphics? There's a mod for that. Rather have the falshlight on your weapons? There's a mod for that, Want faster-paced gameplay closer to the original Doom? There's a mod for that. Rather have a medieval fantasy setting with Shield and melee combat? There's a mod for that. Want a completely different, stealth based game a-like to the kinds of Thief, but with better graphics and 100's of community made maps and missions? There's a mod for that. Have a look for some examples here, gamefront.com/5-must-play-doom-3-mods/, and, moddb.com/games/doom-iii, for the examples given and use you trusty friend Google to find out more about these countless mods, many of which can improve any problems you personally have with the game, or that many have with it. I cannot think of a reson you should not buy it.

    Have fun
    Expand
  4. Nov 23, 2012
    10
    I have to be honest. DOOM3 BEST GAME EVER AND YOU SHOULD BE PLAYING IT RIGHT NOW NOT READING MY REVIEW ARE YOU STUPID WHY AM I WRITING THIS REVIEW I HAVE TO GO PLAY DOOM3 100000000000000000/10 GAME AT LEAST THE GRAPHICS REALLY PLEASURE MY EYES AND THE SOUND MAKES ME CRY FROM HAPPINESS GAMEPLAY GOT MY SOUL ITS AWESOME. ANOTHER SUCCESS FROM id software, our creator and ruler. AND YES THIS ISI have to be honest. DOOM3 BEST GAME EVER AND YOU SHOULD BE PLAYING IT RIGHT NOW NOT READING MY REVIEW ARE YOU STUPID WHY AM I WRITING THIS REVIEW I HAVE TO GO PLAY DOOM3 100000000000000000/10 GAME AT LEAST THE GRAPHICS REALLY PLEASURE MY EYES AND THE SOUND MAKES ME CRY FROM HAPPINESS GAMEPLAY GOT MY SOUL ITS AWESOME. ANOTHER SUCCESS FROM id software, our creator and ruler. AND YES THIS IS SCARY AS HELL! GOT IT? HELL?? heha Expand
  5. Feb 21, 2014
    9
    A great game even after a decade its a timeless master piece. If your looking for a good fun adventure with tons of violence gore and exploration. The story isn't good but the game sure is and for a cheap price of just ten dollars its worth it.
  6. AndrewW.
    Aug 7, 2004
    10
    This game is the epitome of a FPS. It is perfect in every way. The graphics are insane, it has the best single player campaign ever in a shooter, and 32 online deathmatchs kick major butt. Best shooter ever, possibly even best game.
  7. Mr.Somebody
    Aug 14, 2004
    9
    Okay...okay. All of you who have nothing better to do than complain about stuff can just shut it. This isn't the best game you'll ever play; I still have high hopes for HL2. However, this doesn't mean you can compare Doom to games like that and FarCry!! Id made the FPS genre!!! I believe "DXO" said that the beginning was ripped from Half-Life. Um...this game is a REMAKE of Okay...okay. All of you who have nothing better to do than complain about stuff can just shut it. This isn't the best game you'll ever play; I still have high hopes for HL2. However, this doesn't mean you can compare Doom to games like that and FarCry!! Id made the FPS genre!!! I believe "DXO" said that the beginning was ripped from Half-Life. Um...this game is a REMAKE of one from the EARLY 90s!!! If anything, Half-Life ripped from Doom!!!!! Others said this was "lacking innovation," "scripted," and "claustrophobic." Some complain that there's no built-in flashlights, and the one you carry forces you to be weaponless while using it. And still more complain about it being too dark. ...You know why??!?! Because all of this is meant for the player to have the CRAP SCARED OUT OF HIM!!!!!! And I believe that complaining about a base on MARS being "claustrophobic" is like complaining about the international space station not having a large reception room with couches and a television!! It wouldn't be practical! Besides, if there were large, shiny rooms everywhere with a dozen monsters in each, no computer on EARTH would be able to run this game aside from teh ones used by the five richest Kings of Europe or something. So play the game and have fun killing mindlessly. Otherwise, go play something else and smile some. You know, 'cause the zombie behind you is gonna rip off your lips. Expand
  8. Tybo
    Aug 2, 2004
    10
    Simply the most atmospheric game ever! a must buy!
  9. PatrickO.
    Aug 3, 2004
    9
    This game rocks! I've never been scared playing a video game before, but this game will make me afraid to go to bed tonight. Monsters jumping out from any and everywhere is one thing we are all familiar with, but hearing the constant screams of hapless victims over the comlink and oh so realistic graphics of this game makes this the scariest game of all time! Cool stuff!!!! The only This game rocks! I've never been scared playing a video game before, but this game will make me afraid to go to bed tonight. Monsters jumping out from any and everywhere is one thing we are all familiar with, but hearing the constant screams of hapless victims over the comlink and oh so realistic graphics of this game makes this the scariest game of all time! Cool stuff!!!! The only downside I see is that the gameplay of running and gunning can get a bit tiring. But that's what Doom is about, right? Expand
  10. PoteD.
    Aug 4, 2004
    9
    1? 0? Honestly, I don't know who these people think they are kidding. It might sound intelligent to speak of a lack of gameplay and of the critics lauding the game on a superficial basis, but it sure doesn't when what you're claiming is absolute backward nonsense. Everything from the design to the pacing to the art direction is positively unbelievable, and you're just 1? 0? Honestly, I don't know who these people think they are kidding. It might sound intelligent to speak of a lack of gameplay and of the critics lauding the game on a superficial basis, but it sure doesn't when what you're claiming is absolute backward nonsense. Everything from the design to the pacing to the art direction is positively unbelievable, and you're just going to sound like the silly, blinded and bitter fool that you are to suggest otherwise. Only a 9 because it takes a game of the scope and spectacle of say...Half-Life ;) to earn a 10. Expand
  11. Lyle
    Aug 6, 2004
    9
    Wow. 9.5 is my real score. What a shooter! I am normally not a fan of straightforward action games. This one I am a big fan of. I'm a hardcore RPG'er normally but I have to say that this game doesn't really need anymore story because it does the things it does so well. I actually think the PDA thing is pretty cool. The atmosphere sucks you in. And bottom line.. IT'S Wow. 9.5 is my real score. What a shooter! I am normally not a fan of straightforward action games. This one I am a big fan of. I'm a hardcore RPG'er normally but I have to say that this game doesn't really need anymore story because it does the things it does so well. I actually think the PDA thing is pretty cool. The atmosphere sucks you in. And bottom line.. IT'S VERY FUN TO PLAY!!! A great experience. Knocked off half a point for fishy AI. Beautiful game ID! Thanks! Expand
  12. Passive
    Dec 2, 2004
    10
    The most graphically accoomplished game ever, a real treat for people who want to die (of claustrophobia, fear, heart attack, etc.). This game's all about the atmosphere, not much to say about the gamelay except 'normal', lets see what the expansion pack has in store for us.
  13. BradT.
    Mar 12, 2005
    10
    Awesome game, and an absolute blast to play, and not as gimmicky as half life 2.
  14. Aug 18, 2012
    10
    One of the most excitin games I have ever played! The only problem I had was the dark setting. Given the length of the game, the darkness became somewhat tedious. All in all, great weapons, challenging enemies, and many surprises.
  15. Oct 7, 2013
    10
    A masterpiece. Deep atmosphere and immersion. You play the role of a space marine as you investigate some serious problems going on in mars base. The AI is brutal and the terrain can be confusing but that is just a test of your survival capabilities. I hope you have good reflexes.
  16. Oct 26, 2012
    9
    DOOM is a legendary game series. Now in its third major entry the series goes modern. Everyone knows the story to the DOOM games, your a marine who is on a space station when Hell literally breaks loose and its up to you to stop the demons. The gameplay is everything I want in an FPS and the game has an atmosphere so tense that I would almost call it a horror title too. The only gripe IDOOM is a legendary game series. Now in its third major entry the series goes modern. Everyone knows the story to the DOOM games, your a marine who is on a space station when Hell literally breaks loose and its up to you to stop the demons. The gameplay is everything I want in an FPS and the game has an atmosphere so tense that I would almost call it a horror title too. The only gripe I have with it...lack of story, but its DOOM so it cant help it. Expand
  17. Oct 14, 2012
    9
    This game scared the hell out of me in 2004 with my bada$$ setup and speakers. I couldn't even finish it because I was a baby, and the BFG edition still has the same great scary atmosphere after all these years! Can't wait until Doom 4!!!!!
  18. May 19, 2013
    9
    Frightening as hell and hard as hell. Many people have complained about the story... You cannot expect literary greatness from a series titled 'Doom.'
  19. Nov 7, 2013
    10
    When I first played this as a kid I was very scared of it for some reason. Now I go play it and enjoy the leap from 2.5D to 3D! One day there is going to be two super countries Valve and iD
  20. Apr 29, 2014
    9
    DOOM 3 is an amazing game. Back when it first came out, I was literally too scared to even play it. Even as an adult now, the game still has it's frightening moments. With a massive weapon selection and immerse story line, you can get lost for hours in Mars City killing demons and sending them back to Hell. A true work of art.
  21. D.Q.
    Aug 7, 2004
    10
    I amped up my machine for this game and it's worth it. I was blown away by the graphics, it's like actually being in there and that's 10x scarier than anything. When a game with this kind of evil pulls you right into it, it's definitely unsettling to say the least. I've been really limiting myself on when and how I play it. I only do a level per night and I go as I amped up my machine for this game and it's worth it. I was blown away by the graphics, it's like actually being in there and that's 10x scarier than anything. When a game with this kind of evil pulls you right into it, it's definitely unsettling to say the least. I've been really limiting myself on when and how I play it. I only do a level per night and I go as slow as humanly possible to let my nerves get the full load of adrenaline and terror that each corner, closed door and hidden place where evil lurks provides. I was surprised with the story, it's like being dropped right in there, I wasn't ready to be so immersed in this kind of world. Expand
  22. Sep 21, 2010
    10
    I loved playing this game, It was really scary and really in your face. It tries to scare you in the game by popping out instead of the chills down your spine scary you get in the F.E.A.R Series. It has alot of erie moments in the game. I loved all the detail they put in the game. It was one of my favorite. It is a must buy for any FPS shooter fan. Get it and you wont regret it!!
  23. Mar 12, 2012
    9
    Doom 3 is, and always will be, one of my favourite shooters around. It is very scary (no wonder it was packaged with a disclaimer to keep the volume down at night), as you can never see the enemies coming. The shooting is tough but fun, and is addictive to play. The graphics are good (the brains popping out are a little disturbing) and the story is simple but that isn't what Doom is allDoom 3 is, and always will be, one of my favourite shooters around. It is very scary (no wonder it was packaged with a disclaimer to keep the volume down at night), as you can never see the enemies coming. The shooting is tough but fun, and is addictive to play. The graphics are good (the brains popping out are a little disturbing) and the story is simple but that isn't what Doom is all about. Hopefully Doom 4 will be an excellent sequel in an excellent franchise. Expand
  24. DazX
    Jan 10, 2010
    10
    Scary, fun, José Luccioni on french voiceovers (xD), I can't think of anything bad in this game. I never met any bug, glitch or anything. The game's beautiful, even nowadays, AND fun as hell.
  25. Mar 26, 2011
    10
    This title was pretty controversial when it came out. Not because of the content, but because of te quality: many said that the final product failed to meet their expectations. This hwever was not the case with me. Furthermore, i consider it one of the best FPS games there is: I Actually still play it, so its up there with Quake and Doom 1. The graphics are lovely, and even though they noThis title was pretty controversial when it came out. Not because of the content, but because of te quality: many said that the final product failed to meet their expectations. This hwever was not the case with me. Furthermore, i consider it one of the best FPS games there is: I Actually still play it, so its up there with Quake and Doom 1. The graphics are lovely, and even though they no longer are as breathtaking as they were 7 years ago when the game came out, they still may impress. The game is painfully linear, but that's something I'm willing to look over for the sake of a good time spent playing. Expand
  26. Oct 4, 2010
    9
    While not as classy and genre defining as the original, Doom 3 contains a rich scary atmosphere, outstanding visuals and creepy sound effects. It's just a shame about the actual gameplay and the horrible multiplayer. But for a Doom fan this is a must.
  27. Nov 23, 2010
    9
    It is a game that you either love, or hate; and to me, it still holds up to this day. I can never get bored of it; maybe it makes me a freak in the gaming community. Gorgeous artwork, that if you invest the effort into to get 1440 by 900 resolution (or higher) working along with max settings, that really holds up even to this day despite it's somewhat retro status. Solid shooting elementsIt is a game that you either love, or hate; and to me, it still holds up to this day. I can never get bored of it; maybe it makes me a freak in the gaming community. Gorgeous artwork, that if you invest the effort into to get 1440 by 900 resolution (or higher) working along with max settings, that really holds up even to this day despite it's somewhat retro status. Solid shooting elements are complimented by near perfect pacing for each combat encounter in each room as you progress; accented by scary sound effects, and stellar sound design. The only flaw with the game is the horrid multiplayer, somewhat lackluster storyline, and the effort it takes to get the game to run on higher resolutions; you'll find the solution to THAT one is easier than you think! Otherwise, this game stands out in my Steam library as a true classic regardless of the divided Doom fan base and it's opinions on this game. Expand
  28. Nov 13, 2011
    9
    Trapped on that Hellish world known as Mars, which is in fact, under siege by the forces of hell, Doom guy finds himself in a bit of a pickle; all of the his companions are dead, and he has a machine gun. Getting right down to the point, Doom 3 is a great game, even with present day games, I find it harder and harder to find a game that has great action, and one that is also a challenge,Trapped on that Hellish world known as Mars, which is in fact, under siege by the forces of hell, Doom guy finds himself in a bit of a pickle; all of the his companions are dead, and he has a machine gun. Getting right down to the point, Doom 3 is a great game, even with present day games, I find it harder and harder to find a game that has great action, and one that is also a challenge, and Doom 3 was quite challenging. The story for Doom 3, it wasn't bad, but it certainly doesn't stand out , but you don't really play Doom for the story, you play it to kill demons! This is a game where monsters are plentiful, but medpacks are not, a game that makes you fight for any kind of reward, with no regenerating health. However, This is not a horror game, although the developers wanted to put a horror twist into the game, when it comes right down to it, not everyone will be scared by this game, although I sure was, this game kept me tense most of the way through, and although I could predict a few scares, it just depends on what scares you. All i can say is, this is a great shooter, and although the enemy AI has it's flaws, the large amount of enemy variety has always kept this game fresh for me, I would highly recommend Doom 3 for anyone who wants a fun and addictive shooter game. The game does make me a bit mad that you have to beat the game in order to unlock the night mare difficulty. but what ever : P Expand
  29. Sep 29, 2011
    10
    One of my favorite semi-classic FPS. First off, it's id software, the engine they have created is perfect. Unified shadows, and a new Doom. Beaufitul, period.
  30. Nov 14, 2011
    9
    I won't say it's a Game of the Year, but definitely worth to play. Great atmosphere and sound effect make every dark corner a source of fear. The graphic was outstanding even by today's standard. I love how it feel and sound when I use my shotgun to kill a devil, very satisfying. This was some id's classical great work during the old days and must give a try.
  31. Jan 8, 2012
    9
    6 years on this game still has some of the best visuals and sound around. Level design is gorgeous and interesting with countless creative touches and detail. Sound quality is also excellent and quite spooky. The monsters are fun to fight and a few parts made me jump in my seat, although they are a little too easy. I understand some people getting bored with it after a few levels but6 years on this game still has some of the best visuals and sound around. Level design is gorgeous and interesting with countless creative touches and detail. Sound quality is also excellent and quite spooky. The monsters are fun to fight and a few parts made me jump in my seat, although they are a little too easy. I understand some people getting bored with it after a few levels but overall it was a rewarding experience and one of my favorites. Expand
  32. Nov 24, 2012
    10
    Exactly what you expect from the Doom franchise. It's amazing in every way. Anyone complaining about it, is either a moron or has never played the other Doom games.
  33. Dec 12, 2010
    9
    After replaying this game, it has stricken me yet again just how masterful id Software is at crafting no-excuses video games. They took a simply story, tried and true since 1993, and crafted such a fantastically detailed, depressingly immersive world around it that you will understand exactly why the pioneer of the modern video game experience spent a full five years working on it. A lotAfter replaying this game, it has stricken me yet again just how masterful id Software is at crafting no-excuses video games. They took a simply story, tried and true since 1993, and crafted such a fantastically detailed, depressingly immersive world around it that you will understand exactly why the pioneer of the modern video game experience spent a full five years working on it. A lot of soul was poured into this game, with expansive, breathtaking, claustrophobic levels that clock in at nearly a day's worth of playtime -- not something that can be said of the shooters of 2010.

    While the antics of a deranged scientist might not be all that deep an contemplative, and while the scares might sometimes come across as cheap and closet-popping, the action for the last two-thirds of the game is absolutely frantic and paced very much like the Doom we all loved, while the demonic invasion pulls you in with no apologies for its themes. From the poorly-lit blood-soaked halls of the Delta Labs, to the awe-inspiring swathes of Martian landscape traversed on the Monorail, to the distinctly otherplanar and highly disturbing realm of Hell itself, there truly is no substitute for the world Doom 3 pulls you into with the crushing grip of a Hellknight.

    If you use a flashlight mod for your weapons, or complain about the stifling darkness of the locales, you really are missing the point. This is Mars, suffering a demonic invasion. If you want a well-lit seizure-inducing action-packed experience, the Call of Duty series might be for you. For the rest of us, this dark, disturbing romp will suffice.
    Expand
  34. Sep 21, 2010
    10
    Awesome visuals, terrifying environment make it the best horror FPS game till date. Darkness in the game is just perfect to engross you. The game also has a great repeat value.
  35. Sep 19, 2011
    10
    The first couple of levels scared me a bit. But then the game just dragged on. All of the environments look the same, the guns feel akward, and the scares just turn silly. Also, if your going to make a game where it is incredibly dark, be sure to add night vision, not a flash light that you have to hold instead of a weapon.
  36. KestasK
    Jan 4, 2010
    9
    First time I saw the demo it seemed like more of a tech demo than an actual game, but I recently got it cheap and decided to give it an honest go. It is produced very well, the story isn't just an excuse for the game to happen but is done very well. "Hell breaks loose on a Mars research outpost" sounds cliche, but they really run with it. It is scary, but only in the way Doom I&II First time I saw the demo it seemed like more of a tech demo than an actual game, but I recently got it cheap and decided to give it an honest go. It is produced very well, the story isn't just an excuse for the game to happen but is done very well. "Hell breaks loose on a Mars research outpost" sounds cliche, but they really run with it. It is scary, but only in the way Doom I&II were. The gameplay, enemies, and weapons are all very much like previous Doom games, as is the level design. The basic concepts behind Doom have been hugely modernized, some extras added to enrich the story, but really it's Doom gameplay executed brilliantly for mid-late 2000s hardware. If that appeals to you you should have already checked it out by now, if it doesn't then avoid, but either way this doesn't deserve the people who say this is just a tech demo, it really is a proper game. Expand
  37. JK
    Jul 30, 2005
    10
    Very intense game, full of non-stop action.
  38. MichaelO.
    Jul 15, 2008
    10
    If you like Scary game this game is for YOU It will scare the living out of you.
  39. DavidS.
    Oct 7, 2009
    9
    You know, I didn't pay full price for this game, so maybe my opinion is biased, but I'm actually having quite a lot of fun. It's not Penumbra: Overture terrifying, but the atmosphere is tense. The weapons aren't anything terribly unique, but they are actually quite well designed with nice little details (for instance, the SMG will leave smoke hovering in the air if You know, I didn't pay full price for this game, so maybe my opinion is biased, but I'm actually having quite a lot of fun. It's not Penumbra: Overture terrifying, but the atmosphere is tense. The weapons aren't anything terribly unique, but they are actually quite well designed with nice little details (for instance, the SMG will leave smoke hovering in the air if fired for an extended period of time). The actual action was, in my opinion, very fun and visceral. Although more destructible environments would have been a plus, and corpses staying on the ground after dying would have been nice too, I think I actually prefer the combat in Doom 3 to the combat in FEAR (yes, I said it). If you want an experience more akin to the original Dooms, pick up the amazing game 'Painkiller'. But if you want an evolved version of Doom, this is a great game to play. Expand
  40. TimC.
    Apr 2, 2008
    9
    An excellent reworking of a much loved classic. Weapons, enemies and level design are reminiscent to the old series of games, beautifully created the game generates a tense and gritty atmosphere of horror which will keep the player on the edge of the seat until the end. Once again ID show us that they are the leading developers of FPS's. Brilliant.
  41. Chandu
    Apr 2, 2008
    9
    Doom 3 is a fantastic game, but it might not appeal to everyone. The graphics are brilliant and its one of those few games that can rival the survival horror games to be found on the console.
  42. Doomed
    Jul 12, 2009
    10
    Doom 3 is absolutely great just as it's expansion pack Resurrection of Evil. I thought this game was so outstanding until I played System Shock 2 and I found that the similarities we pretty evident. I don't view Doom 3 as a rip-off of System Shock 2 because the gameplay is so different. The gameplay in System Shock 2 is very complex while the gameplay in Doom 3 is rather just Doom 3 is absolutely great just as it's expansion pack Resurrection of Evil. I thought this game was so outstanding until I played System Shock 2 and I found that the similarities we pretty evident. I don't view Doom 3 as a rip-off of System Shock 2 because the gameplay is so different. The gameplay in System Shock 2 is very complex while the gameplay in Doom 3 is rather just plain old school (at least the hero has been given the ability to jump!). I love both Doom 3 and System Shock 2 because they're great science fiction horror games. The old Doom games just suck. They're so old now and the only really memorable old shooters are Duke Nukem 3D and Blood. Doom 3 actually made me love a game from the Doom series. The game has superb graphics and sound - and these create a terryfying atmosphere. The new updated monster designs are just high quality and some monsters have been completely altered (like the hell knight). The imp I remember from the old games was just a pixelated brown thing that threw fireballs, but now it's a creepy beast that scares the shit out of me. The four bosses include a female spider mutant, a dragon who's actually blind and needs small "searchers" to navigate, a grotesque half flesh and half machine tank carrying a BFG and at the end you'll meet the boss you maybe already know: the cyber demon. I really recommend this game to everyone who loves first person shooters because this game is definitely worth the experience. I think [abc def] is pretty right with his statements. Give this game a try! Expand
  43. AlexD.
    Nov 2, 2008
    10
    This game is an icon. The first trully next-gen title. It knows 16:9 screen aspect ratio, it also knows 4:3; it can do correct 5.1 sound, one cand set the controls as one pleases, and can easily change the field of view. It's a PC game, a game played on a controller with a hundred buttons, and it's well aware of that. The story isn't something new, just plain old cheap This game is an icon. The first trully next-gen title. It knows 16:9 screen aspect ratio, it also knows 4:3; it can do correct 5.1 sound, one cand set the controls as one pleases, and can easily change the field of view. It's a PC game, a game played on a controller with a hundred buttons, and it's well aware of that. The story isn't something new, just plain old cheap scare; the idea is that you'll be so scared while playing, due to the proper use of the 3D video and audio engine, that you'll want out of the grim Mars environment depicted. Excellent use of lighting and positional sound, with eerie effects, good intuitive control, and memorable jump-off-your-seat corridor fights. A must get. Expand
  44. GeorgeL
    Oct 26, 2008
    9
    I love video games. If I don't, I wouldn't be writing this review right now. But overall, I have never experienced a game where I say that it's scary. I've played games that were awesome, but seldom do I even describe the game as scary. After Doom 3 came out, however, things suddenly changed. I heard from some friends that the game was just a freaking scary game I love video games. If I don't, I wouldn't be writing this review right now. But overall, I have never experienced a game where I say that it's scary. I've played games that were awesome, but seldom do I even describe the game as scary. After Doom 3 came out, however, things suddenly changed. I heard from some friends that the game was just a freaking scary game that'll make you crap in your pants. So, being skeptical as always, I decided to try it out. I first downloaded the demo, and after beating that, I went to sleep that night with a chill in my spine. That was the first time I actually felt fear from a video game. I was immediately hooked. I went out, bought a copy, plugged it in, and played. I could never play for more than an hour before the scary, dark atmosphere becomes too much. I took constant breaks. The graphics were great, the audio was exceptional, and overall, the gameplay was just plain unpredictable. Even when I played levels that I played before, I still move hesitantly, because, even though I expect them coming, they still feel frightening after they pop out. Sure, this game could become a really repetitive shooter, but the scary atmosphere and frightenly life like facility make this game one of my favorite First Person Shooters of all time, simply because of the chilling atmosphere and story, as well as the BFG 9000 (personally, my favorite weapon of all time in a video game). Expand
  45. MatthewGoad
    Aug 11, 2008
    10
    It really breathes life back into the Doom series.
  46. Ronin
    Aug 14, 2004
    10
    This game rules. the graphics are good, the shadows and the creatures that come out own. when you get hit you feel like your getting hit...bringing you more into the game. easy gameplay. and for all you haters out there you probably have a crap computer or you just suck.
  47. OrhanI.
    Aug 4, 2004
    9
    I think the guy who gave zero points to the game is someone from Valve or Crytek :).
  48. JohnnyJ.
    Aug 9, 2004
    10
    Perfect, absolutely flawless, stunning, and gruesome, excellent job id, well worth the wait.
  49. RobertB.
    Feb 2, 2008
    10
    Easily the best game for its time.
  50. MaxH.
    Dec 10, 2004
    10
    Very good and good graphics.
  51. iHam
    Aug 14, 2004
    9
    This is easily one of the best FPSs to date. A nice retelling of the original two, with all of the shinies that simply weren't possible in 1992. Anyone who dislikes this game yet holds the older two in high esteem is shamefully disconnected with the very concepts that make the games great. I have heard people complain about not being able to have a gun out while using the flashlight. This is easily one of the best FPSs to date. A nice retelling of the original two, with all of the shinies that simply weren't possible in 1992. Anyone who dislikes this game yet holds the older two in high esteem is shamefully disconnected with the very concepts that make the games great. I have heard people complain about not being able to have a gun out while using the flashlight. Also, that its 'claustrophobic', and that the gameplay is too linear, the contrast is too high, etc... These are how the original games were, just in case you forgot. Dark and scary. No gun while you've got your flashlight out? Nothing like feeling vulnerable while tip toeing through a pitch black corridor... its all supposed to (at least) try to scare you. And quite honestly, if this game doesn't make you jump, pull your legs out from under the desk, or get the willies, or even think twice before opening a door, then you have been desensitized beyond the point where anything but the real thing can please you. see you in 20 years... You are all entitled to your opinions. Its just some of your opinions happen to be wrong and invalid. Expand
  52. Kekojones
    Aug 4, 2004
    9
    Great game...it will make ya crap your pants.
  53. B.T.
    Aug 5, 2004
    9
    The last poster gave it a bad score because he has a piece of crap computer. Wow, that's fair. Just because you won't upgrade your PC doesn't mean the game is bad. For the record, Doom 3 may not be innovative, but the incredible level design, atmosphere, and attention to detail make it a very good FPS. Highly recommended.
  54. MarcW.
    Aug 8, 2004
    9
    The single most beautiful game I have ever played. The presentation level for this game is so astoundingly high...you won't be able to look any other game without feeling strangely empty. The sound is solid and the menus sport a degree of polish which is close to the standard of visuals. However, the gameplay simply is too linear and isn't innovative in the way games such as The single most beautiful game I have ever played. The presentation level for this game is so astoundingly high...you won't be able to look any other game without feeling strangely empty. The sound is solid and the menus sport a degree of polish which is close to the standard of visuals. However, the gameplay simply is too linear and isn't innovative in the way games such as Half-Life was. Overall though, this is the best single player 1st person shooter of the year. A milestone in the evolution of games from a technical standpoint. Expand
  55. Id
    Sep 23, 2004
    9
    Man this is one scary game. play it with the lights off and the sound up at night otherwise its pointless. very well executed but can be too dark and easy difficulty is too hard for "easy," it should be normal and there should be an even easier difficutly.
  56. AlB.
    May 16, 2005
    9
    Fantastic tense, and in the case of Hell, just plain jaw-droppingly amazing!
  57. AnonymousMC
    Oct 26, 2006
    9
    I give this game a 9. I loved the game very much although it was pretty much liniear (thats why minus 1 point). Monsters and zombies suddenly appear out of dark places scared me the first few times but afterwards you knew that they would be comming but still it still scared me sometimes. Now this is also a reaction too [Anonymous] who said that the only "legitamate" way to beat the game isI give this game a 9. I loved the game very much although it was pretty much liniear (thats why minus 1 point). Monsters and zombies suddenly appear out of dark places scared me the first few times but afterwards you knew that they would be comming but still it still scared me sometimes. Now this is also a reaction too [Anonymous] who said that the only "legitamate" way to beat the game is with an ingame cheat. Well you really DONT need cheats to beat this game and thats a fact. I also want to say something about the storyline since many people are saying its not worked out, not good etc etc. Doom 3 is a remake of Doom 1. And as most people know, Doom 1 didnt had much of a story line. But most people loved that game and so did I. Doom 3 doesnt have much as a storyline aswell but its defenitly better than the one from Doom 1. Expand
  58. ElfrancheT.
    Jun 10, 2006
    9
    A legend among suspense games. The cold, Sci-Fi decors are well done. Lots of detail. Above average monster design. Nice when played slowly and undisturbed.
  59. DonG.
    Sep 29, 2006
    9
    Loved it! Graphics are great!
  60. TomG.
    May 6, 2007
    10
    After 10 years of nothing but Quake, and Hexen releases from id Software, they perfect the tricks of the trade, and pump out Doom 3. The level of quality put into their graphics engine is just incredible, with the bump mapping, specular highlights, and the shadowing system, which is superior to F.E.A.R.'s, in that when you shine your light on the corner of an object, it casts a After 10 years of nothing but Quake, and Hexen releases from id Software, they perfect the tricks of the trade, and pump out Doom 3. The level of quality put into their graphics engine is just incredible, with the bump mapping, specular highlights, and the shadowing system, which is superior to F.E.A.R.'s, in that when you shine your light on the corner of an object, it casts a shadow, unlike F.E.A.R. The weapon effects are downright perfect, and does a damn good job of revitalizing an aging franchise. Expand
  61. FrikaseeJ.
    Aug 10, 2007
    9
    I'd just like to step in and save the day for Doom 3. Those of you giving this a crappy score obviously have no idea what doom is. Doom was created back in th 90's for the sole purpose of running around and shooting demons. We never asked Doom for a good storline, just for bigger guns. Just shutup and enjoy killing things on your gruesome crusade through a well-designed Hell. I'd just like to step in and save the day for Doom 3. Those of you giving this a crappy score obviously have no idea what doom is. Doom was created back in th 90's for the sole purpose of running around and shooting demons. We never asked Doom for a good storline, just for bigger guns. Just shutup and enjoy killing things on your gruesome crusade through a well-designed Hell. Also, for you absolute morons who whined about the lack of a sniper rifle... What!?! What are you gonna do? Zoom in on the fine hairs of the demons as they charge for you. There was no distance, it was all in your face fun. Expand
  62. SomeBody
    Aug 10, 2007
    10
    This is awesome! I'm a hardcore fan of the DooM series, and I think this lives up to that legacy. I couldn't care less if it was "revolutionary", because a game could have ultra-new crap and still suck (look at Halo :() A fun romp.
  63. MatthewB.
    Aug 26, 2007
    9
    Damn fun game. One of the creepiest atmospheres ever in a video game.
  64. JakeC.
    Aug 4, 2007
    10
    Perhaps one of the best games i have ever played doom goes all the way.
  65. NateM.
    Aug 7, 2007
    9
    Linear, but true to the doom series. Absolutely beautiful graphics, Intense gameplay, and scary to boot. Id has held true to the original series and then some, with a new installment. Anyone who has given this game an 7 or below is either opinionated, stupid, or flame bait.
  66. MattB.
    Oct 19, 2004
    10
    Great graphics, great sound, great atmosphere, great story. Enough said.
  67. HanMan
    Aug 13, 2004
    9
    Anyone who's reading this is obviously considering to buy this game. Now its this simple...Buy it. You have never played a game that looks like this before. It has to be played to be believed. That's reason 1. Reson 2: This is Doom for chrissake!! Just buy it. It's a great game with some amazing Design and programming to boot. Dont compare this game to Far Cry or Half Life. Anyone who's reading this is obviously considering to buy this game. Now its this simple...Buy it. You have never played a game that looks like this before. It has to be played to be believed. That's reason 1. Reson 2: This is Doom for chrissake!! Just buy it. It's a great game with some amazing Design and programming to boot. Dont compare this game to Far Cry or Half Life. ID created this genre. Expand
  68. BatmanMonkey
    Aug 14, 2004
    10
    "Ok, Europe speaking. Got this game 5 hours ago. After reading the US reviews i thought this could not be a bad purchase! Want to hear more? I can hardly control my frustration and whipe this horrible game of me disk. It has the same visual qualities as the orignal Unreal game! But only after you pay 2000 $$$ for hardware! Otherwise, it is just has the same visual level as the original "Ok, Europe speaking. Got this game 5 hours ago. After reading the US reviews i thought this could not be a bad purchase! Want to hear more? I can hardly control my frustration and whipe this horrible game of me disk. It has the same visual qualities as the orignal Unreal game! But only after you pay 2000 $$$ for hardware! Otherwise, it is just has the same visual level as the original Unreal. Do your purse a favour and buy the original Unreal for 2 bucks! " Either Europe doesnt have good graphic cards or a good version of Doom 3...or you are BLIND or have completely screwed up eyes Unreal and Unreal 2 suck!!!!!!!! but Unreal tournaments are cool... Expand
  69. HarmLokesz
    Aug 16, 2004
    10
    After a weekend of tuning I feel the need to explain the rather negative review I posted before. 1) This game is build on OpenGL graphics and seems to be more demanding on your processor for presenting graphics. 2) ATI was the second choice graphics card for the developers. The first evening I started the game on its recommended settings my P4 1.5 ( 512RIMM) and ATI 9600XT could not After a weekend of tuning I feel the need to explain the rather negative review I posted before. 1) This game is build on OpenGL graphics and seems to be more demanding on your processor for presenting graphics. 2) ATI was the second choice graphics card for the developers. The first evening I started the game on its recommended settings my P4 1.5 ( 512RIMM) and ATI 9600XT could not deliver a decent game, no matter what I tried. I had terrible frame rates AND the visual presentation was sad. One could say that a 'new generation' game should have offered more help by its manual. Tweakcom.com published a great guide with which I corrected the problems at my computer and now I am able to enjoy the game as it was intended! I am about halfway the game now and brings on memories of good old times. It just gives the same emotions as the first FPS I once played long ago: Quake 1. This must be a 10 in the category of First Person Shooters. I dont think this game should be recommended to everyone. Not the whole world is full of passionate diabolics. As I see it now I personally would rate it between 8 and 9. (I posted a 10 as compensation for the negative earlier rating, not that I am afraid of Batman, but the corners ARE a bit dark the last few days.) Expand
  70. Madmax
    Aug 3, 2004
    10
    Amazing the cutscenes are amazing you are in them like its a movie, awesome 10/10 can't be beaten. hl1 move over there's a new king DOOM3.
  71. EviLAnGeL
    Aug 4, 2004
    10
    I have never played a game before that has literally made me get a chill down my spine or goosebumps on my arms. Maybe the gameplay doesn't offer anything all that new but the graphics, sound, artwork, animations, lighting, environments etc etc are all second to none. It all combines to give you a feeling of depth and immersion that I've never had in any game before. Especially I have never played a game before that has literally made me get a chill down my spine or goosebumps on my arms. Maybe the gameplay doesn't offer anything all that new but the graphics, sound, artwork, animations, lighting, environments etc etc are all second to none. It all combines to give you a feeling of depth and immersion that I've never had in any game before. Especially if you play it at a high res with the highest settings with AA AF and on and 5.1 surround setup and in the dark. Very scary stuff. Expand
  72. CJRAPiD
    Aug 4, 2004
    10
    ANYONE marking this game under a 9 is TOTALLY missing the point of this STUNNiNGLY visual masterpiece. It is a valuable textbook lesson on creating damned good - solid gameplay and totally immersive atmosphere in every way. From its water tight level design, (who needs 30 miles of expansive lush exteriors when DOOM 3 captivates that essential immersive experience within its TOTALLY ANYONE marking this game under a 9 is TOTALLY missing the point of this STUNNiNGLY visual masterpiece. It is a valuable textbook lesson on creating damned good - solid gameplay and totally immersive atmosphere in every way. From its water tight level design, (who needs 30 miles of expansive lush exteriors when DOOM 3 captivates that essential immersive experience within its TOTALLY claustrophobic environments) to its sound design - which captivates the most cinematic feel I have ever heard in a game. The whole thing adds up to the finest single player and shockingly scary gaming experience ever. Its almost like being actually IN "ALIENS" the movie! Terrifyingly sweet! =) Expand
  73. BryanJ.
    Aug 4, 2004
    10
    It does everything I expected it to do, and @ 800x600 it still looks amazing. I hope they make an AvP game with this engine. For everyone that's giving it 1's and 0's, I have to say I don't think you are being fair. Sure, the gameplay hasn't evolved much past the original Doom, but that is part of the appeal IMO. Pure visceral action.
  74. KevinB.
    Aug 5, 2004
    10
    Everyone seems to be confused that this game is nothing but Doom 3. It is *Doom*, and ONLY Doom. It is not a game with incredible sideplots, it is not a game with intricate puzzles, it is not a game with incredible squad-based AI, it is not a game with varying themes. It is simply Doom. You run, you kill, you scream, you gawk at the pretty scenery, you basically do everything you did the Everyone seems to be confused that this game is nothing but Doom 3. It is *Doom*, and ONLY Doom. It is not a game with incredible sideplots, it is not a game with intricate puzzles, it is not a game with incredible squad-based AI, it is not a game with varying themes. It is simply Doom. You run, you kill, you scream, you gawk at the pretty scenery, you basically do everything you did the first time you played the original Doom. Enemies don't exist in real time, they spawn or they pop out of trap walls when you go to pick up that hidden medkit. It's classic Doom, revisited in a most striking manner. 10/10. Expand
  75. M.Nelson
    Aug 8, 2004
    9
    No, it is not revolutionary in its basic form, but Id has managed to take gameplay to a higher level by focusing on sound, ambiance, and execution. They have done what half life tried to do, they have created a believable environment and placed you right smack in the middle of it. If you you want new features or a new approach to a first person shooter, understand that some of the best No, it is not revolutionary in its basic form, but Id has managed to take gameplay to a higher level by focusing on sound, ambiance, and execution. They have done what half life tried to do, they have created a believable environment and placed you right smack in the middle of it. If you you want new features or a new approach to a first person shooter, understand that some of the best qualities of the game experience have been underestimated until doom3. Expand
  76. ThomasM.
    Aug 9, 2004
    10
    Bottom-line is that this game is better than all FPS' that lie before it. The expectations were ENORMOUS and .id. still kept up and delivered. Like always. Definitly worth fifty bucks for the 20-plus hours of hell-on-mars you'll go through.
  77. JohnD.
    Sep 4, 2004
    10
    A very good game.
  78. WesE.
    Nov 19, 2005
    9
    While not as masterful or brilliantly concieved as Resident Evil 4, Doom 3 is way mor tightly coiled and balls-to-the-wall scary. The graphics are some of the best around, and when you first see the Hellknight, you'll be a believer.
  79. JasonK.
    Oct 22, 2005
    10
    Enough with the pansy shooters , enough subtlity, enough with Half Life 2. Doom 3 ROCKS!!! Take a break from fresh air and be ready to be put back into the middle of terror, both physical and mental. Doom 3 will most positively overwhelm you, it'll test your nerves and sever your weak part out. This game is a piece of GREAT ART!!!
  80. AnonymousMC
    Jan 27, 2005
    9
    I dont know anything about computers but this game runs just about perfect on my pc. This game is very scaleable on most machines. People who say this is bad are quite wrong and this game ranks right up there with half life 2, far cry, and all those great fps. Though slightly repetitive at times, this is a great game and deserves your money.
  81. Billy-joeR.
    Feb 26, 2005
    9
    Pros: excellent graphics, simple but effective controls, fgreat lighting effects cons: not really that scary, because the zombies are so darn slooooow, so you see them comiing while their 20 feet away overview: an allaround good game but needs improvment in the scaryness area, where silent hill among others defeat it.
  82. DeanM.
    Apr 1, 2005
    9
    This I would say, to be the Apex of scripted gameplay. It's an awesome game, believe me. The fact that it is scripted might turn off no-brainers that still walk around the house with a bone club. If you just ignore all the obviously baised ratings and ALLOW the scripts to work as intended, it really makes you feel like you're in a movie, the only other game that does scripting This I would say, to be the Apex of scripted gameplay. It's an awesome game, believe me. The fact that it is scripted might turn off no-brainers that still walk around the house with a bone club. If you just ignore all the obviously baised ratings and ALLOW the scripts to work as intended, it really makes you feel like you're in a movie, the only other game that does scripting well is splinter cell, but the setting of that game doesn't allow the fullest to be displayed. The effects from normal stuff like firing your gun is great, the effects from the scripted points are astounding, disappearing footprints, whispers, children crying, you name it. If you're Christian, excellent for you, here's your chance to prove to God your faith against the Devil, otherwise even better, you're a space marine with no where to go except forward, towards the depths to wage with experimental weapons. The graphics are nothing less than how you see your own hands now, and when used to created a dark, deathly, claustrophobic, life consuming evironment, together with life-like audio... nuf said. the game requirements are also quite scalable to your machine specs, and high ended systems will create more realism. only dissatisfaction i have is the lenght of the game, and the end part of it, other than that, the game is scary, yet action-packed (trust me its good enough for fps vets). - Eagerly looking forward to the expansion. Expand
  83. Sotamarsu
    Dec 1, 2006
    10
    It's one of the best games in Linux. It's also easy and fast to install in Gentoo. This game makes you hate dark places and breaking walls. Last boss is quite easy.
  84. VictorU.
    Dec 1, 2007
    10
    It has an awesome atmosphere and a unique style of gameplay.
  85. JoumanJ.
    Aug 29, 2007
    10
    Amazing game.
  86. EazyC.
    Aug 3, 2007
    9
    Doom 3 is awesome. I still play it all the time.
  87. PaulL.
    Mar 15, 2008
    10
    Many say it defined a genre from day 1, and that is still true and frankly, I don't see it changing for many years to come.
  88. KevinD.
    Mar 2, 2008
    10
    This game was, the atmospheres playing it at night with headphone on was creepy and playing it on nightmare trying to kill the last boss was indeed hard.
  89. AnonymousMC
    Sep 11, 2008
    9
    One of the most frightening experiences you'll ever encounter in a PC or Xbox game. It should be understood, however, that Doom 3 delivers best in it's single-player and flops in its multiplayer. If you're expecting to relive the good ol' days of Doom's fast-paced, kill-em'-all style, then Doom 3 will disappoint.

    Worth playing through at least once, and if
    One of the most frightening experiences you'll ever encounter in a PC or Xbox game. It should be understood, however, that Doom 3 delivers best in it's single-player and flops in its multiplayer. If you're expecting to relive the good ol' days of Doom's fast-paced, kill-em'-all style, then Doom 3 will disappoint.

    Worth playing through at least once, and if you can handle it...twice.
    Expand
  90. DuncleP.
    Nov 10, 2004
    9
    Alright. Gather round. It's time for an important life lesson. Making a really inept attempt at disrespect regarding a game with a big budget from a big company like Id does not make you cooler. Becoming bitter and whiny because your PCs were not prepared for the graphics and you misspent your money does not make you cooler either. Ignoring the fact that Doom 3 does what it is meant Alright. Gather round. It's time for an important life lesson. Making a really inept attempt at disrespect regarding a game with a big budget from a big company like Id does not make you cooler. Becoming bitter and whiny because your PCs were not prepared for the graphics and you misspent your money does not make you cooler either. Ignoring the fact that Doom 3 does what it is meant to do FLAWLESSLY and instead joining a mass of unqualified morons in making lame insults that are meant to sound like something from a gaming magazine makes you much less cool. "Old game packaged in a new, shiny box"? For god's sake, take some anti-trite juice and wake the f*ck up. The actual professional game reviewers gave it OVERWHELMINGLY good scores. Stop wasting time trying to turn your dumbass stabs at cynicism into some sort of hip, anti-capitalist statement and buy a new video card. I'm finished here. Expand
  91. MarkH.
    Oct 13, 2004
    9
    DOOM 3 is simply, in a word, DOOM. It is as it advertises itself, simple, but visceral. There are no loops thrown. If you have come for major innovation, you have come to the wrong place. But if you seek a game that makes no excuses about simply being a video game, a game that honestly doesn't need to be consistent, true to life, and overly complicated, as long as you get to destroy DOOM 3 is simply, in a word, DOOM. It is as it advertises itself, simple, but visceral. There are no loops thrown. If you have come for major innovation, you have come to the wrong place. But if you seek a game that makes no excuses about simply being a video game, a game that honestly doesn't need to be consistent, true to life, and overly complicated, as long as you get to destroy some frigging demons, then you've come to the right place. Personally, i enjoy the absence of peeking around corners and vehicles and silly dual function complicated weapons. this is as visceral and intense as it gets. For the flaws in the game, there'll be a mod coming sooner or later to fix that. To the Half-Life 2 fanboys lurking every which way, play through the entire game and see why DOOM3 reminds me of Half-Life so damn much. Expand
  92. MysterE
    Oct 14, 2004
    9
    What can we say? It's Doom all over again, and it cant be a bad thing. Finally John Carmack has made the game he always wanted the original to be. It's nothing revoutionary, but who said it was going to be? Just a good old fashioned shooter with oodles of atmosphere, great story line as far as it goes and some of best enemies to grace the PC.
  93. kthuluTALESFROMMARS
    Aug 11, 2004
    10
    Excellent Graphics, loads of hardware demands though, i play on a 2.8 with 5900fx and 1k ram and i loose sometimes enough frames on 1024X768, still enjoy though. But other than this, graphics rock, but limited movement. I expected more, only because magazines made me to. I recon this game is worth playing and deserves respect. I expect my self to see new games using this awesome engine. Excellent Graphics, loads of hardware demands though, i play on a 2.8 with 5900fx and 1k ram and i loose sometimes enough frames on 1024X768, still enjoy though. But other than this, graphics rock, but limited movement. I expected more, only because magazines made me to. I recon this game is worth playing and deserves respect. I expect my self to see new games using this awesome engine. Also the PDA idea looks like stolen from Deus Ex, a game which its engine looks also similar to doom3, anyway im not that technichal to say excatly what looks the same but it has the same felling in its gameplay, and some dynamic lights, as well as graphics. I would love to play a game with Doom's3 Graphics and UNREAL 2004 gameplay. And i dont know if you read Carmacks review, but the guy said in the UKs pcgamer that in 10-20 years time the computers will have all the processing power they need to render games in proper photorealistic 3d environments. I agree with someone above that this game is the Engine. ISdefinatelly one step forwards. enjoy. Expand
  94. BitBurn
    Aug 11, 2004
    9
    I must say, I've just been playing my first 2-hour shift of Doom 3 and man it's pretty amazing to look at and, most importantly, to listen to! Graphic and audio alone blows away the competition. Gameplay, well, it's still pretty basic. Nothing new here and that's aiight. Typical FPS. Storyline so far is pretty cool. I dig it!
  95. TerryD.
    Aug 13, 2004
    10
    Man, I can't understand how anyone can give Doom3 anything less than a 10 rating! Everything is here - amazing visuals, outstanding sound, perfectly balanced game play, and the most twisted looking monsters ever, all in a totally immersive environment. So much so that I was playing the other night with the lights out and in full surround sound, creeping through a new area tactically Man, I can't understand how anyone can give Doom3 anything less than a 10 rating! Everything is here - amazing visuals, outstanding sound, perfectly balanced game play, and the most twisted looking monsters ever, all in a totally immersive environment. So much so that I was playing the other night with the lights out and in full surround sound, creeping through a new area tactically trying to figure out that the best approach would be when my wife stuck her head into the room and quietly said Expand
  96. GodGOD
    Aug 14, 2004
    10
    THIS GAME IS AWESOME!!!!!!!!!! what are people talking about...the performance is great... This is my computer: 1.2ghz Celeron(under requirements) 512mb Sdram pc133 ATI Radeon 9200 128mb ddr I can play with 800x600 res...medium quality and all the special effects on...there are slowdowns but none of the slowdowns make it unplayable... OMFG Thief 3(1-15)fps and Deus ex: IW(1-19fps) ran THIS GAME IS AWESOME!!!!!!!!!! what are people talking about...the performance is great... This is my computer: 1.2ghz Celeron(under requirements) 512mb Sdram pc133 ATI Radeon 9200 128mb ddr I can play with 800x600 res...medium quality and all the special effects on...there are slowdowns but none of the slowdowns make it unplayable... OMFG Thief 3(1-15)fps and Deus ex: IW(1-19fps) ran slower with low detail and 640x480 res and both those games graphics are crap compared to Doom 3!!! DOOM 3 IS AWESOME!!!!!! Expand
  97. BradG.
    Aug 18, 2004
    9
    Great game. Graphics are simply stunning. Ut2k4 DOES NOT look nearly this good. The single player is the real treat in this game. Great scares, good story, fun gameplay. I love this game. Multiplayer is lacking until more mods come out.
  98. AnonymousMC
    Nov 1, 2007
    9
    I don't know what is ppl thinking, this game owns
    When doom 1 got out, it was principally to scare people, in 1990 , when it got out, people got scared with those bloody demons trying to kill you.
    Doom 3 has fucken great graphics, which it makes it more scary / creepy. It has all the elements to have panic when demons getting near. People were talking about the story, who the hell
    I don't know what is ppl thinking, this game owns
    When doom 1 got out, it was principally to scare people, in 1990 , when it got out, people got scared with those bloody demons trying to kill you.

    Doom 3 has fucken great graphics, which it makes it more scary / creepy. It has all the elements to have panic when demons getting near. People were talking about the story, who the hell cares the story? This game was made to SCARE, understand? Scare u moronish shit, Its quite long too. And for people that thinks that this is repetitive and doom 2 not.... dunno what happen to em.
    I would give a 10 to this game, but i just give 10 to games that REALLY impact me
    Expand
  99. RodrigoK.
    Aug 14, 2007
    9
    It's a great game, great athmosphere. Doom 3 don't pretend to be inovative or revolutionary, just fun and it does!
  100. ChrisC.
    Feb 21, 2008
    10
    Awesome graphics. Amazingly dark, fear-drenched atmosphere. And fun. The set-pieces, while VERY repetitive, are fun to carry through nonetheless, with extremely visceral, "Oh my God how did I survive that" combat against some scary demons. Some of the most detailed level design ever, with a Martian-facility theme that manages to pump out some very unique, distinguishable locales. A great Awesome graphics. Amazingly dark, fear-drenched atmosphere. And fun. The set-pieces, while VERY repetitive, are fun to carry through nonetheless, with extremely visceral, "Oh my God how did I survive that" combat against some scary demons. Some of the most detailed level design ever, with a Martian-facility theme that manages to pump out some very unique, distinguishable locales. A great game, scary and epic the first time through. Remember to turn the lights off, close the blinds, crank up the 5.1, and be ready to crap your pants! Expand
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 83 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 77 out of 83
  2. Negative: 0 out of 83
  1. The graphics are amazing (mind you, even on a mediocre system), the sound is amazing (if you don’t have a 5.1 system yet, consider it), and the game is downright scary.
  2. DOOM 3 smashes through all the hype and delivers a grand slam of action, story, atmosphere, and pure terror.
  3. So perfectly constructed, so deliciously immersive and downright elegant, that demands for more seem crass. It might not be the very best shooter out there, but it's the more visually stunning and successfully atmospheric than any game we've had the pleasure to play.