Doom 3 PC

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 807 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 98 out of 807
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 25, 2011
    7
    I remember this was amazing-looking when it first came out and actually the lighting and environments are still brilliant, the opening when all hell breaks loose (literally) still makes me jump at times. I recommend playing Doom 3 late at night with all the lights turned off, at full volume on headphones (try it), somehow the game gets ten times better. Doesn't hold up well to most modernI remember this was amazing-looking when it first came out and actually the lighting and environments are still brilliant, the opening when all hell breaks loose (literally) still makes me jump at times. I recommend playing Doom 3 late at night with all the lights turned off, at full volume on headphones (try it), somehow the game gets ten times better. Doesn't hold up well to most modern FPS titles but it's a great benchmark in the evolution of the genre, as is its predecessor. Expand
  2. Nov 2, 2013
    7
    When this originally came out it blew my mind. Unfortunately since then other people have took similar mechanics and ideas and took them to the next level so this is no longer an essential purchase. It is however worth it, especially for the atmosphere.
  3. Nov 22, 2015
    8
    Wow! Pretty scary game. I crapped my pants couple of times :)) nothing major, but still an inconvenience. Anyway, was fun playing this one. Awesome graphics, really atmospheric environment, cool weapons, good action movie style story, claustrophobic feeling of loneliness and someone watching you. . . BAM! U dead son! :))
  4. Jul 26, 2013
    4
    this game. First of i at one stage LOVED DOOM 3, sadly i never finished the game when I LOVED IT, I still haven't finished the game but i am getting very close to the end. BORING, doom 3 is boring, the level designs are dull, the character models look stiff and the same. Stupid story, i honesty don't care about doom story's because the game is supposed to be about mindless violence, but this game. First of i at one stage LOVED DOOM 3, sadly i never finished the game when I LOVED IT, I still haven't finished the game but i am getting very close to the end. BORING, doom 3 is boring, the level designs are dull, the character models look stiff and the same. Stupid story, i honesty don't care about doom story's because the game is supposed to be about mindless violence, but the story in doom 3 is absolutely Bonkers, its crazy, basically demons invade a space station on mars and GETS REAL. Graphics AWESOME, the graphics for doom 3 are honestly really good, especially considering the fact that the game was made in 2004-05. ITS NOT FUN, Doom 3 is not fun, its repetitive, dull and feels more like a chore trying to get past level after level, Doom 3 gets a 4/10 not because its the worst game I've ever played but Because it is amazingly dull and doesn't even feel like a doom game, THE GAME FEELS LIKE FEAR MIXED WITH SPACE DEMONS THAT IS FUELED BY COCAINE BABIES, 4/10, BTW i haven't finished the game yet and will eventually i'm like 2-3 hours away from finishing the game peace out Expand
  5. Oct 26, 2012
    9
    DOOM is a legendary game series. Now in its third major entry the series goes modern. Everyone knows the story to the DOOM games, your a marine who is on a space station when Hell literally breaks loose and its up to you to stop the demons. The gameplay is everything I want in an FPS and the game has an atmosphere so tense that I would almost call it a horror title too. The only gripe IDOOM is a legendary game series. Now in its third major entry the series goes modern. Everyone knows the story to the DOOM games, your a marine who is on a space station when Hell literally breaks loose and its up to you to stop the demons. The gameplay is everything I want in an FPS and the game has an atmosphere so tense that I would almost call it a horror title too. The only gripe I have with it...lack of story, but its DOOM so it cant help it. Expand
  6. Dec 14, 2015
    7
    It was a good shooter game for its time. The graphics were excellent by 2004 standards, with real-time shadows (they look too black and too sharp by today's standards). The gameplay feels very linear, and enemies often appear from thin air behind you - since that's frequently too deadly you would find yourself saving/reloading all the time.
  7. Nov 24, 2012
    10
    Exactly what you expect from the Doom franchise. It's amazing in every way. Anyone complaining about it, is either a moron or has never played the other Doom games.
  8. Sep 27, 2011
    8
    Having completed Doom 3 twice on Xbox and once on PC, I'd give it a solid 9. In my opinion one of the better FPS games around. Doom 3 is very intense and atmospheric and would keep you on the edge from start to finish. Should you let your guard down for a second and an enemy would pop out of nowhere and damage you greatly. Doom 3 manages to place enemies in all the right spots. Even laterHaving completed Doom 3 twice on Xbox and once on PC, I'd give it a solid 9. In my opinion one of the better FPS games around. Doom 3 is very intense and atmospheric and would keep you on the edge from start to finish. Should you let your guard down for a second and an enemy would pop out of nowhere and damage you greatly. Doom 3 manages to place enemies in all the right spots. Even later on into the game once you get used to monsters doing that, it still manages to make you jump. With some FPS games all you do is just shoot as many monsters coming your way as fast as you possibly can. No brain cells involved, just let all the ammo loose. *coughPainkillercough* With Doom 3 it's not like that. Enemies come out at unexpected moments, they ambush you, they actually use various attacks (as opposed to just plainly charging head on towards you). Now admittedly Doom 3 can get repetitive, because majority of areas and levels look very much alike. However the game at least puts effort in varying the gameplay slightly by introducing new monsters every now and then, which get tougher further into the game, and also you find a lot of new guns, such as minigun, plasma gun, rocket launcher, chainsaw and even the good ol BFG. And all this is done in fantastic graphics, which are truly mindblowing, managing to engross you. Apart from just going and shooting monsters, you do need to pay attention to things such as PDAs which you pick up from dead guards and scientists, and read through the emails and listen to audio logs, for they often have valuable information, such as cabinet codes and such. Although mostly linear, and lacking in bonus content, Doom 3 is still a solid game. Expand
  9. Mar 29, 2013
    3
    Very bad game. Empty levels, same monsters, not at all frightful horror. Dont waste your time, I feel really disappointed by spent time playing this. Only last boss kicks ass, but this does not worth it anyways.
  10. Jan 2, 2013
    7
    Amazing game. This is a freaking good game with competitive gameplay and a lot of weapons. It was, later, dumbed dom with "Doom 3 BFG Edition". Mind blowing graphics for its time, but which are still good now. Amazing plot. Good longevity. This is a real game. 7/10
  11. Jan 24, 2016
    2
    As much as I love the other Doom games, I could just never get into Doom 3. It's confusing, and it tries to be a survival-horror game mixed with a puzzle game. It doesn't sound too bad on paper, but in my OPINION (key word) it is executed very poorly. If they'd just stuck with the classic FPS formula and improved upon it with greatly improved graphics and feature possibilities thanks toAs much as I love the other Doom games, I could just never get into Doom 3. It's confusing, and it tries to be a survival-horror game mixed with a puzzle game. It doesn't sound too bad on paper, but in my OPINION (key word) it is executed very poorly. If they'd just stuck with the classic FPS formula and improved upon it with greatly improved graphics and feature possibilities thanks to improved hardware, this could've easily been a much better game than it turned out to be. Expand
  12. Mar 25, 2015
    8
    doom 3 combines elements of survival horror and traditional fps games very well. this game is truly quite scary for the majority of its run time and is bloody fun to play. I feel that it starts to get a little bit boring after you've gotten atleast halfway through because the story doesn't really add anything to the game and there is no variety to the gameplay besides shooting which isdoom 3 combines elements of survival horror and traditional fps games very well. this game is truly quite scary for the majority of its run time and is bloody fun to play. I feel that it starts to get a little bit boring after you've gotten atleast halfway through because the story doesn't really add anything to the game and there is no variety to the gameplay besides shooting which is fine I just wish that they could of incorporated some situations that acquired you to change tactics but you pretty much just want to strafe and shoot. besides the story being only acceptable and the gameplay getting a bit old near the last bit of the game doom is a great game and I can imagine it being a big deal during its time of release Expand
  13. Nov 13, 2012
    7
    Doom 3 is graphically phenomenal. The graphics are incredible, even by today's standards. The game is scary- demons will teleport in when you least expect it. The environments are great as well- I loved the utility in activating switches and interacting with computers. These are the strengths- the weaknesses are the repetitive gameplay (when you feel like you should be done with the game,Doom 3 is graphically phenomenal. The graphics are incredible, even by today's standards. The game is scary- demons will teleport in when you least expect it. The environments are great as well- I loved the utility in activating switches and interacting with computers. These are the strengths- the weaknesses are the repetitive gameplay (when you feel like you should be done with the game, you're only halfway through), weak guns (I feel like the weapons had very little oomph to them at all), and storyline (it is nonexistant. You go from point A to point B with no reason for it at all). Doom 3 is great but repetitive. Expand
  14. Mar 28, 2013
    7
    I made the mistake of waiting too long before playing Doom 3, but that didn't seem to drastically change my opinion of it. The graphics weren't mindblowing, but they were still extremely good. The weapons and gameplay are alright, and even by today's standards, I think still the game retains some original gameplay elements not yet seen in newer games (that I know of). I kept hearing theI made the mistake of waiting too long before playing Doom 3, but that didn't seem to drastically change my opinion of it. The graphics weren't mindblowing, but they were still extremely good. The weapons and gameplay are alright, and even by today's standards, I think still the game retains some original gameplay elements not yet seen in newer games (that I know of). I kept hearing the hype about how scary this game was, and come to find out, the hype was quite accurate. The game held up some great atmospheres and delivered the scares quite nicely. On the negative side, I found the controls a little awkward, the character development is a little weak and unoriginal and some things just drag on. That includes the audio diaries you can collect, and go on for like 2 minutes before you finally hear the access code you wanted so bad to some mechanical box or locker. It's really no secret that Doom 1 and 2 will live on while Doom 3 kinda fades into the gray void. Still, it's a good game from start to finish, but it doesn't fall into the "games that ALL types of gamers should try out!" category, but I still consider giving it a play if you happen to come across it. Expand
  15. Oct 9, 2010
    5
    Good graphics amazingly boring gameplay campaign storyline and i don't get scared by a mutant jumping on my face.
  16. Apr 30, 2011
    8
    I don't mean to be a gushing fanboy, but Doom 3, in my opinion, is the best PC FPS I have ever played (next to the original Quake) and certainly the best looking also. The plot is the same as every Doom before it, you play as a nameless space marine who must make it out alive after the demons of hell overrun the base you reside in. What follows are scary moments, epic boss battles and aI don't mean to be a gushing fanboy, but Doom 3, in my opinion, is the best PC FPS I have ever played (next to the original Quake) and certainly the best looking also. The plot is the same as every Doom before it, you play as a nameless space marine who must make it out alive after the demons of hell overrun the base you reside in. What follows are scary moments, epic boss battles and a sh*tload of guns to play around with. The folks at ID really pulled out all the stops on this one, and serve up a game that entertains just as much as it frightens. One of my favorite games of all time. Expand
  17. Sep 4, 2011
    6
    My review and score is based entirely on the singleplayer portion of the game.

    Doom 3 both has a lot in common with previous Doom games and differs in other areas. In terms of similarities, like its predecessors, Doom 3 features a great arsenal of the familiar weapons used against a variety of pure evil enemies. Players will often find themselves searching for that key (or in Doom 3's
    My review and score is based entirely on the singleplayer portion of the game.

    Doom 3 both has a lot in common with previous Doom games and differs in other areas. In terms of similarities, like its predecessors, Doom 3 features a great arsenal of the familiar weapons used against a variety of pure evil enemies. Players will often find themselves searching for that key (or in Doom 3's case, PDA) in order to unlock that nagging door and progress through the game. Unlike previous Doom games, players in Doom 3 will fight far fewer enemies at once, level design is incredibly cramped and far more linear, and the game attempts to deliver (somewhat successfully) more substance in terms of story.

    id really likes to show off their new engine in this game, too - especially the lighting effects. Every room you enter is either dimly lit or pitch black. Computer screens or impressive industrial technology in the background often provide the only illumination. You have a flashlight, but equipping it to see what's going on means you can't use any weapons. Switch back to your weapons and depending on how well lit the area is it's like fighting blind folded. Constantly switching between your flashlight and weapons got so annoying I downloaded a mod that adds a narrower beam flashlight to the shotgun and assault rifle. I felt this provided a nice balance between the tense atmosphere the developers were going for and actually being able to see what the hell was going on.

    Along the way, you can interact with various screens and keypads. PDAs along the way may contain codes for storage lockers for those careful enough to scour the emails and audio logs. These PDAs also advance the story as you gain slivers of information in piecing together the already painfully obvious plot. While it isn't necessary to read or listen to everything you come across, it helps you fill in some gaps when considering the big picture.

    Exploring every inch of the levels often triggers secret doors or walls revealing secret items and enemies alike. In fact, entering a new area almost always triggers some sort of trap behind your back where a possessed worker will attempt to sneak up on you or some demon will teleport in. Rather than appearing in hordes, enemies in Doom 3 often appear in waves. Dispatch two or three enemies, and a few more will usually appear. Eventually, you defeat them all and are able to advance. This does not describe every encounter, as sometimes encounters will only trigger if you explore certain areas and enemies can also be found in plain sight. But the lack of variety often becomes tedious. When you look behind you after hearing that demon teleport sound or door opening, the process becomes formulaic rather than tense or genuinely frightening as it does the first few times. The enemies are familiar to anyone who has played a Doom game before with a few exceptions. The pacing is good and the shooting is fun, but the level design and nature of the encounters gets repetitive to the point of being irritating. If you can see past the overdone darkness gimmick and super cramped rooms you'll have a good time blowing heads off bodies like I did. But once the ride's over, there's little redeeming value aside from a Nightmare run for masochistic.
    Expand
  18. Aug 18, 2012
    10
    One of the most excitin games I have ever played! The only problem I had was the dark setting. Given the length of the game, the darkness became somewhat tedious. All in all, great weapons, challenging enemies, and many surprises.
  19. Mar 16, 2015
    5
    After ten years break I can finally play this game again... Just to understand why it failed.

    First thing you see is that it aged really, really bad. Even more so than Far Cry, not to mention Half Life 2, which still stays fresh - no matter when you play HL, it plays like it came out yesterday. Levels in Doom 3 are abysmal, graphics are bad and the only reasons it impressed people at
    After ten years break I can finally play this game again... Just to understand why it failed.

    First thing you see is that it aged really, really bad. Even more so than Far Cry, not to mention Half Life 2, which still stays fresh - no matter when you play HL, it plays like it came out yesterday.
    Levels in Doom 3 are abysmal, graphics are bad and the only reasons it impressed people at first was shadowing. Which aged really bad as well. The game tried to hide it's awfulness in design department by taking away as much ligh as it could, taking away flashlight from an every weapon. Some people called it "a feature", but it was just an excuse, because having or not having flashlight doesn't affect gameplay at all (thanks to mods you can test it yourself). Game itself is really, really slow and claustrophobic. Enough said that all levels up to the first boss are really just an introduction, where rarely we will be attacked by more than 2 or 3 enemies. The pacing is really off. Compared to classic Doom games it feels pathetic, unfortunately. There are no secrets, no puzzles whatsoever. Don't tell me that listening to badly recorded audio books for boxes' codes or finding a bonus ammo behind a crate are puzzles. The atmosphere could be good (visuals are there), but the overall voice department is mindboggling bad. Every weapons sounds (and indeed is) underpowered. Which leads us to the worst part: gameplay. The shooting is not exciting, most enemies are slow, unthreatening and I wonder who designed some of them. He/she should be fired (and I hope he/she was).
    It has its moments, but overall Doom 3 is just disappointing.

    I hope that Doom 4 will redeem the awful 3rd game. The recent renaissance in FPS genre (Hard reset, shadow warrior remake, less so wolfenstein) really gives me the hope.
    Expand
  20. Nov 15, 2013
    7
    I was somewhat dissapointed that they pushed Graphics beyond Gameplay. Sure it was nice to see familiar monsters with great textures. But the tight/tiny corridor feeling just wasnt Doom. 90s run and shoot action game turned into 20s stealth horror game. Remember when you pumped your shotgun into the monsters body thus screaming in agony and falling into the ground? Not anymore. They simplyI was somewhat dissapointed that they pushed Graphics beyond Gameplay. Sure it was nice to see familiar monsters with great textures. But the tight/tiny corridor feeling just wasnt Doom. 90s run and shoot action game turned into 20s stealth horror game. Remember when you pumped your shotgun into the monsters body thus screaming in agony and falling into the ground? Not anymore. They simply fall and vanish. Remember the kick ass music that got your adrenaline pumped? Well you dont need any music in this just listen to voice records, thats your music what you get b1tch! Remember the chaing gun and rocket launcher where you could go rambo? Well fyck you reload reload reload. Remember the DoomGuy that could fall from an skyscraper and dont feel a thing? Well this is a Marine that brokes hes legs when jumping off an two feet ladder. And what a joke the Cyberdemon was...What i liked about it was the lenght of the game but thats basically it. Expand
  21. Mar 12, 2012
    9
    Doom 3 is, and always will be, one of my favourite shooters around. It is very scary (no wonder it was packaged with a disclaimer to keep the volume down at night), as you can never see the enemies coming. The shooting is tough but fun, and is addictive to play. The graphics are good (the brains popping out are a little disturbing) and the story is simple but that isn't what Doom is allDoom 3 is, and always will be, one of my favourite shooters around. It is very scary (no wonder it was packaged with a disclaimer to keep the volume down at night), as you can never see the enemies coming. The shooting is tough but fun, and is addictive to play. The graphics are good (the brains popping out are a little disturbing) and the story is simple but that isn't what Doom is all about. Hopefully Doom 4 will be an excellent sequel in an excellent franchise. Expand
  22. Sep 10, 2013
    7
    Coming back to Doom 3 in 2013 I was surprised by how little I enjoyed iD's biggest title of last decade. The graphics still looked crisp but the shooting mechanics and physics have aged horribly. The storyline is delivered well but the fast-paced combat tended to nullify the game's attempts at horror segments.
    Compared to other heavyweight titles of the same year, like Half-Life 2, Doom 3
    Coming back to Doom 3 in 2013 I was surprised by how little I enjoyed iD's biggest title of last decade. The graphics still looked crisp but the shooting mechanics and physics have aged horribly. The storyline is delivered well but the fast-paced combat tended to nullify the game's attempts at horror segments.
    Compared to other heavyweight titles of the same year, like Half-Life 2, Doom 3 is not a classic game.
    Expand
  23. Jul 5, 2011
    6
    I have to be honest here i didn't like the game i liked the classic better there was no story just killing demons. anyway it was a good attempt so i have to give them some credit hopefully doom 4 will be better.
  24. Mar 26, 2011
    10
    This title was pretty controversial when it came out. Not because of the content, but because of te quality: many said that the final product failed to meet their expectations. This hwever was not the case with me. Furthermore, i consider it one of the best FPS games there is: I Actually still play it, so its up there with Quake and Doom 1. The graphics are lovely, and even though they noThis title was pretty controversial when it came out. Not because of the content, but because of te quality: many said that the final product failed to meet their expectations. This hwever was not the case with me. Furthermore, i consider it one of the best FPS games there is: I Actually still play it, so its up there with Quake and Doom 1. The graphics are lovely, and even though they no longer are as breathtaking as they were 7 years ago when the game came out, they still may impress. The game is painfully linear, but that's something I'm willing to look over for the sake of a good time spent playing. Expand
  25. Oct 4, 2010
    9
    While not as classy and genre defining as the original, Doom 3 contains a rich scary atmosphere, outstanding visuals and creepy sound effects. It's just a shame about the actual gameplay and the horrible multiplayer. But for a Doom fan this is a must.
  26. Aug 30, 2011
    4
    This game was just plain not fun. The first hour of gameplay can get pretty tense, and was flat-out awesome. After the demo levels are over though, you start to realize "Wait a second, have I just seen everything this game has to offer?" It's only once that sinking feeling sets in your stomach that you realize you wasted your money. This game has gorgeous graphics (especially for theThis game was just plain not fun. The first hour of gameplay can get pretty tense, and was flat-out awesome. After the demo levels are over though, you start to realize "Wait a second, have I just seen everything this game has to offer?" It's only once that sinking feeling sets in your stomach that you realize you wasted your money. This game has gorgeous graphics (especially for the time), horrendously underwhelming guns (they sound like toys, seriously), insanely frustrating enemies (whoever designed the screen to shake like a paint-mixer every time you're hit needs to be fired. Like communism, it's an interesting idea that just plain doesn't pan out), and let's not forget the ol' Monster-In-The-Closet trick. If there's ammo or armor on the floor, there's seriously a 95% chance a monster will jump out of the wall to attack. It's so ridiculously predictable that you start to plan out which wall you think they will come out of when you pick up the stuff. This game had a lot of potential to be scary, but playing it annoyed me so much that I was beyond scaring. I did complete it though, against my better judgement. Expand
  27. May 19, 2013
    9
    Frightening as hell and hard as hell. Many people have complained about the story... You cannot expect literary greatness from a series titled 'Doom.'
  28. Oct 14, 2012
    9
    This game scared the hell out of me in 2004 with my bada$$ setup and speakers. I couldn't even finish it because I was a baby, and the BFG edition still has the same great scary atmosphere after all these years! Can't wait until Doom 4!!!!!
  29. Nov 23, 2010
    9
    It is a game that you either love, or hate; and to me, it still holds up to this day. I can never get bored of it; maybe it makes me a freak in the gaming community. Gorgeous artwork, that if you invest the effort into to get 1440 by 900 resolution (or higher) working along with max settings, that really holds up even to this day despite it's somewhat retro status. Solid shooting elementsIt is a game that you either love, or hate; and to me, it still holds up to this day. I can never get bored of it; maybe it makes me a freak in the gaming community. Gorgeous artwork, that if you invest the effort into to get 1440 by 900 resolution (or higher) working along with max settings, that really holds up even to this day despite it's somewhat retro status. Solid shooting elements are complimented by near perfect pacing for each combat encounter in each room as you progress; accented by scary sound effects, and stellar sound design. The only flaw with the game is the horrid multiplayer, somewhat lackluster storyline, and the effort it takes to get the game to run on higher resolutions; you'll find the solution to THAT one is easier than you think! Otherwise, this game stands out in my Steam library as a true classic regardless of the divided Doom fan base and it's opinions on this game. Expand
  30. Feb 24, 2014
    7
    This game is ok. It does have very good atmosphere and setting. It is immersive and fun. It does create fear and claustrophobic feelings. Not many games can do it to such an extent. Yet there is something that does not feel right. It seems to be made of pieces that does not fit very well together. One of which is textures that seem to have variable depth of graphic detail. It feelsThis game is ok. It does have very good atmosphere and setting. It is immersive and fun. It does create fear and claustrophobic feelings. Not many games can do it to such an extent. Yet there is something that does not feel right. It seems to be made of pieces that does not fit very well together. One of which is textures that seem to have variable depth of graphic detail. It feels fragmented somehow. In terms of difficulty it does not scale very well either. Overall however, the game was pretty good. Expand
  31. Nov 30, 2011
    3
    Doom 3 fails is every aspect except graphics. But eye candy does not make a game great. The weapons are underpowered, demons spawning behind you gets old, very old, no ability to explore the surface of the planet, maps are confusing with lots of backtracking. In case id does not know, having to find a key to open a door is lame. That style of game might have been ok in the 1900s, butDoom 3 fails is every aspect except graphics. But eye candy does not make a game great. The weapons are underpowered, demons spawning behind you gets old, very old, no ability to explore the surface of the planet, maps are confusing with lots of backtracking. In case id does not know, having to find a key to open a door is lame. That style of game might have been ok in the 1900s, but today its just a dumb idea. If you want to play a real doom game, go play the Ultimate Doom. Expand
  32. Nov 9, 2011
    7
    Graphics 10/10
    Gameplay 8/10
    Controls 9/10
    Story 6/10
    Characters 5/10
    Level design 8/10
    Weapons 8/10
    AI 4/10
    Presentation 6/10
    User Interface 8/10
    Sounds 7/10
    Music 4/10
  33. Dec 17, 2015
    9
    A phenomenal shooter with plenty of scary sequences. One of the best games of 2004 IMO. A must play in my opinion. The graphics in this game, even in 2015, are still great and take advantage of the atmosphere. I prefer the originals a lot more than DOOM 3, but this is still a great modern FPS.
  34. Jan 10, 2011
    8
    This game may be repetitive but its still enjoyable. For the time it must of had some very good graphics. The story could of been better but the dialogue is just ok. This is good game worth checking out.
  35. Oct 26, 2011
    8
    Let me get this out of the way, just so many of you are clear on the fact. A generic shooter IS NOT A BAD shooter, it simply means that that is really the focus of the game, as it is with 90% of all top-quality shooters today (even CoD can be called a generic shooter). This games is incredibly scary throughout its expanse, sure it uses cheap monster-door tricks, but that only helps keepLet me get this out of the way, just so many of you are clear on the fact. A generic shooter IS NOT A BAD shooter, it simply means that that is really the focus of the game, as it is with 90% of all top-quality shooters today (even CoD can be called a generic shooter). This games is incredibly scary throughout its expanse, sure it uses cheap monster-door tricks, but that only helps keep you on your toes and the situation tense. They are not spammed as some reviews mention and are sometimes easy to spot as they lay next to an essential healthkit, but in what it strives to do, it succeeds and dominates all competition. Ground breaking graphics for its time and still okay even now in 2011, it provides one with some of the most intense and nerve-wrecking experiences possible in a horror focused shooter. The level design can become tedious towards the end but you'll be to busy trying to survive and scavenging for health and ammo caches to even notice. It has a great length for the asking price and what I consider to be one of the scariest and intense games of all time. The immersion, audio and monster design are top-notch, the voice acting may seem iffy at times but this is so few and far between it really doesn't affect you. And lastly the story, which unfolds through cut-scenes and the many hundreds of emails and audio logs you come across in the game and are as a whole expertly executed. I truly recommend this to anyone looking for a good scare mixed with some great classic shooting and a deep story, all the while surrounded by one of the most immersive environments ever designed. Expand
  36. Apr 29, 2014
    9
    DOOM 3 is an amazing game. Back when it first came out, I was literally too scared to even play it. Even as an adult now, the game still has it's frightening moments. With a massive weapon selection and immerse story line, you can get lost for hours in Mars City killing demons and sending them back to Hell. A true work of art.
  37. Jun 28, 2014
    8
    This is a modern-version of the classic DooM.
    The enemies are familiar and so are the weapons
    The characters you encounter are quite decent and you can get along with their ways. The cut-scenes put you on the edge and make you exited for the next event however, the only problem i have encountered are the difficulty settings... To me there's "Very easy" "Easy" "Hard" and "impossible"
    This is a modern-version of the classic DooM.
    The enemies are familiar and so are the weapons
    The characters you encounter are quite decent and you can get along with their ways.
    The cut-scenes put you on the edge and make you exited for the next event
    however, the only problem i have encountered are the difficulty settings...
    To me there's "Very easy" "Easy" "Hard" and "impossible"
    I want something in between the "Easy" and "hard"

    Still, Great game.
    Expand
  38. May 20, 2012
    0
    Creators of Doom 3 never even played DooM 1 and DooM 2 and I dont want to talk about how and why Doom 1 and 2 are one of the best games ever created. DooM 3 in nothing like them the game is to Hollywood and try to be more serious trying to combine genres, the game speed is 5 times more slower then doom 1 and 2 for example, where is magic? fast gameplay? red blue keys? strange magic andCreators of Doom 3 never even played DooM 1 and DooM 2 and I dont want to talk about how and why Doom 1 and 2 are one of the best games ever created. DooM 3 in nothing like them the game is to Hollywood and try to be more serious trying to combine genres, the game speed is 5 times more slower then doom 1 and 2 for example, where is magic? fast gameplay? red blue keys? strange magic and gothic design the game sold out to hollywood kids just as Quake 4, Starcraft 2 and Diablo 3 Fun - 1/10
    Gameplay - 2/10
    Controls - 10/10
    Graphics Design - 0/10
    Story - 4/10
    All Time Graphics - 0/10
    Sound - 5/10
    Music - 0/10
    Replayability - 0/10
    Graphics for its time - 0/10
    22/100
    Expand
  39. Jan 5, 2013
    7
    The only thing "Doom" about this game are the classical Imps and Hellknights and a glorified Hell level towards the end, homaging Doom II's art style. Cramped hallway style gameplay that tires after 4 of the 12 hours of gameplay, with the same old tricks of enemies jumping out from secret compartments or darkened corners whilst you tediously search for keycards in order to progress toThe only thing "Doom" about this game are the classical Imps and Hellknights and a glorified Hell level towards the end, homaging Doom II's art style. Cramped hallway style gameplay that tires after 4 of the 12 hours of gameplay, with the same old tricks of enemies jumping out from secret compartments or darkened corners whilst you tediously search for keycards in order to progress to something more interesting. Even on hard mode you trip over health and ammo which i guess is OK only in the context of the fact that this is DOOM and not a survival horror.

    The enemies aren't much of a threat when you realise they can barely hit you when you get inside their shooting arc, but not too close to melee; although i guess most players wont figure that out since they are scarey enough to try to avoid getting too close too. Although they do have this nasty habit of trapping you against a bulkhead and smacking your lower region to pieces just below your FoV which would be annoying if it wasn't for the fact this'll probably be the only time they take seasoned FPS players below 75% HP.

    The shotgun is the staple weapon of the game as you will always have ammo for it, unfortunately the infamous BFG feels a little lack luster when you can carry 328 shells but only 38 BFG rounds and it only takes 8 shotgun shells to take out a Hellknight compared to 4 BFG rounds. The BFG was famous for its room clearing capacity but in the extremely linear hallways of DOOM 3 you're more likely to have an enemy marine detonate the round in your face than use it effectively in anything but the rarest of circumstances.

    The game would have felt more classical DOOM like if there was more open space to strafe enemies and less time spent dropping into your PDA to read employee emails and audio logs. It's basically DOOM with all the corners cut off and the narrative shoved down your throat.

    In the context of its time it is a pretty game and the weapons are generally fun in that you can shoot to your hearts content without fear of needing that ammunition for something important later. There is also a traditional shooter feel in regards to how curiosity is often rewarded, such as the discovery of vents or spaces under stairs hiding some armour shards or ammo or other goodies like easter eggs.

    The final boss is a little disappointing however and ironically probably the easiest part of the game. I scored it a little higher than what i felt like because the game has obviously aged in the past 9 years and it deserves a score relative to its release date. The game was OK, but it does just make me want to play the originals.
    Expand
  40. Jan 29, 2012
    2
    It has good graphics, but that is it!
    The gameplay sucks, you have to reload and you can't see a bloody thing!
    Wanna play a doom game? Buy Ultimate Doom and learn dosbox!
  41. Dec 12, 2014
    5
    I have the Steam UK version of Doom 3: BFG Edition and sometimes play the game as well as the expansions: Resurrection of Evil and the Lost Missions but as I still have the original CD's for The Ultimate Doom, Doom 2: Hell on Earth, Final Doom: Plutonia Experiment and Final Doom: TNT - Evilution games I can legally play these games via GZ Doom. I actually prefer to play the old Doom gamesI have the Steam UK version of Doom 3: BFG Edition and sometimes play the game as well as the expansions: Resurrection of Evil and the Lost Missions but as I still have the original CD's for The Ultimate Doom, Doom 2: Hell on Earth, Final Doom: Plutonia Experiment and Final Doom: TNT - Evilution games I can legally play these games via GZ Doom. I actually prefer to play the old Doom games via GZ Doom as I feel they have better gameplay than Doom3 and were truly groundbreaking for their time. Expand
  42. Jan 1, 2013
    9
    Must own game even in this age of gaming. Great shooting game that should be played by anyone that calls themselves an FPS fan, but don't think you can handle the graphics? There's a mod for that. Rather have the falshlight on your weapons? There's a mod for that, Want faster-paced gameplay closer to the original Doom? There's a mod for that. Rather have a medieval fantasy setting withMust own game even in this age of gaming. Great shooting game that should be played by anyone that calls themselves an FPS fan, but don't think you can handle the graphics? There's a mod for that. Rather have the falshlight on your weapons? There's a mod for that, Want faster-paced gameplay closer to the original Doom? There's a mod for that. Rather have a medieval fantasy setting with Shield and melee combat? There's a mod for that. Want a completely different, stealth based game a-like to the kinds of Thief, but with better graphics and 100's of community made maps and missions? There's a mod for that. Have a look for some examples here, gamefront.com/5-must-play-doom-3-mods/, and, moddb.com/games/doom-iii, for the examples given and use you trusty friend Google to find out more about these countless mods, many of which can improve any problems you personally have with the game, or that many have with it. I cannot think of a reson you should not buy it.

    Have fun
    Expand
  43. Sep 21, 2010
    10
    I loved playing this game, It was really scary and really in your face. It tries to scare you in the game by popping out instead of the chills down your spine scary you get in the F.E.A.R Series. It has alot of erie moments in the game. I loved all the detail they put in the game. It was one of my favorite. It is a must buy for any FPS shooter fan. Get it and you wont regret it!!
  44. Oct 27, 2013
    6
    Doom 3 does a lot of things right. However the story is not one of them. Doom 3 is a game set on the surface of mars, you play an unnamed space marine coming to mars for security reasons. the game takes of well and the action is fun for a while but about 4 or 5 hours in you notice that the level development is not very varying and the AI is basic and boring after about 100 of the same 8Doom 3 does a lot of things right. However the story is not one of them. Doom 3 is a game set on the surface of mars, you play an unnamed space marine coming to mars for security reasons. the game takes of well and the action is fun for a while but about 4 or 5 hours in you notice that the level development is not very varying and the AI is basic and boring after about 100 of the same 8 enemies. Luckily you get to go to hell and the game takes off again. after that the game is more than fun.

    The graphics were stellar for the time of 2004 but does not hold up too well. The music consists of the title music but the sound effects are Eire and the games tone is nice and dark. The story is almost non existent taking a back seat to the action. The levels are largely the same and the multiplayer is lack luster. Doom 3 is a nice action horror game but the AI, Story and Variety need a little bit of tweaking.

    I give this game a 6/10

    Anybody exited for DOOM 4?
    Expand
  45. Aug 5, 2013
    9
    Not sure why this game has a mixed or average 7.3 as a user score and only an 87. This is by far one of the best survival horror games I have ever played. The game looks like a 2010 title yet its only a 2004 one. I never really paid much attention to Doom 3 when it first came out because I was never into scary games, but Doom 3 really pulled me into its atmosphere, something video gamesNot sure why this game has a mixed or average 7.3 as a user score and only an 87. This is by far one of the best survival horror games I have ever played. The game looks like a 2010 title yet its only a 2004 one. I never really paid much attention to Doom 3 when it first came out because I was never into scary games, but Doom 3 really pulled me into its atmosphere, something video games rarely do to me let alone one made nine years ago. Some silly design choices like not being able to hold a flashlight and a gun at the same time and a lack of enemy variety are some of the flaws this game has, but nevertheless is an amazing title. I hope this franchise's future is still intact, I really want to see Doom 4 on Id Tech 5. Expand
  46. Dec 3, 2013
    7
    This game is an old classic. its good horror and fun to play. i recommend this game for the fans of scary games. Now days this game is a little old fashioned and wont look that good i guess, but i think this game is great in any other way.
  47. Nov 13, 2011
    9
    Trapped on that Hellish world known as Mars, which is in fact, under siege by the forces of hell, Doom guy finds himself in a bit of a pickle; all of the his companions are dead, and he has a machine gun. Getting right down to the point, Doom 3 is a great game, even with present day games, I find it harder and harder to find a game that has great action, and one that is also a challenge,Trapped on that Hellish world known as Mars, which is in fact, under siege by the forces of hell, Doom guy finds himself in a bit of a pickle; all of the his companions are dead, and he has a machine gun. Getting right down to the point, Doom 3 is a great game, even with present day games, I find it harder and harder to find a game that has great action, and one that is also a challenge, and Doom 3 was quite challenging. The story for Doom 3, it wasn't bad, but it certainly doesn't stand out , but you don't really play Doom for the story, you play it to kill demons! This is a game where monsters are plentiful, but medpacks are not, a game that makes you fight for any kind of reward, with no regenerating health. However, This is not a horror game, although the developers wanted to put a horror twist into the game, when it comes right down to it, not everyone will be scared by this game, although I sure was, this game kept me tense most of the way through, and although I could predict a few scares, it just depends on what scares you. All i can say is, this is a great shooter, and although the enemy AI has it's flaws, the large amount of enemy variety has always kept this game fresh for me, I would highly recommend Doom 3 for anyone who wants a fun and addictive shooter game. The game does make me a bit mad that you have to beat the game in order to unlock the night mare difficulty. but what ever : P Expand
  48. Nov 23, 2012
    10
    I have to be honest. DOOM3 BEST GAME EVER AND YOU SHOULD BE PLAYING IT RIGHT NOW NOT READING MY REVIEW ARE YOU STUPID WHY AM I WRITING THIS REVIEW I HAVE TO GO PLAY DOOM3 100000000000000000/10 GAME AT LEAST THE GRAPHICS REALLY PLEASURE MY EYES AND THE SOUND MAKES ME CRY FROM HAPPINESS GAMEPLAY GOT MY SOUL ITS AWESOME. ANOTHER SUCCESS FROM id software, our creator and ruler. AND YES THIS ISI have to be honest. DOOM3 BEST GAME EVER AND YOU SHOULD BE PLAYING IT RIGHT NOW NOT READING MY REVIEW ARE YOU STUPID WHY AM I WRITING THIS REVIEW I HAVE TO GO PLAY DOOM3 100000000000000000/10 GAME AT LEAST THE GRAPHICS REALLY PLEASURE MY EYES AND THE SOUND MAKES ME CRY FROM HAPPINESS GAMEPLAY GOT MY SOUL ITS AWESOME. ANOTHER SUCCESS FROM id software, our creator and ruler. AND YES THIS IS SCARY AS HELL! GOT IT? HELL?? heha Expand
  49. Oct 8, 2014
    4
    BOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOORING

    Walk with flashlight in the darkness -> monster jumps out of a closet after you pass by -> change to weapon and shoot -> wander around to find a audio record -> read the stupid audio file to find a password -> open the keylock -> repeat x10000000

    God.
    One of the most overrated game of all time.
  50. Nov 14, 2011
    9
    I won't say it's a Game of the Year, but definitely worth to play. Great atmosphere and sound effect make every dark corner a source of fear. The graphic was outstanding even by today's standard. I love how it feel and sound when I use my shotgun to kill a devil, very satisfying. This was some id's classical great work during the old days and must give a try.
  51. Sep 30, 2013
    8
    Linear game, with stunning visuals, and good weapons/monsters, and with acceptable story.
    So linear, and sometimes so boring, but for some reason, it keeps me hooked, and calls me back to play all over again.
  52. Jun 12, 2011
    8
    Good shooter, unfortunetly sometimes too hard, which leads you to play same level 50 times. It create awsome atmosphere of dark and scary Mars base with monsters and other mysteries. Graphics is good, with awsome shading and shadows, as well models. Unfortunetly often textures are of poor quality. It is also unacassarly too linear, if there is any non-linearity, then if you choise one ofGood shooter, unfortunetly sometimes too hard, which leads you to play same level 50 times. It create awsome atmosphere of dark and scary Mars base with monsters and other mysteries. Graphics is good, with awsome shading and shadows, as well models. Unfortunetly often textures are of poor quality. It is also unacassarly too linear, if there is any non-linearity, then if you choise one of the way, you will definietly will need to go back and go using "good" path, somehow stupid. Expand
  53. Jun 18, 2013
    7
    Definitely short of a few missions compared to the originals however it was a great adaption and had what the old dooms did not have. although some of the creatures were quite disappointing in appearance, and some of the missions were quite boring. I still enjoyed the game but just wouldn't pick this over the originals.
  54. Jun 25, 2014
    5
    Regardless of how suitable a sequel this game is, it's a mediocre FPS.

    Combat lacks challenge & nuance. It's unsatisfying as practically all enemies are bullet sponges, and stunning/suppressing enemies (an FPS staple- see Doom's "pain chance" mechanic) is almost nonexistent. The latter leads to goofy cartoon-gag pursuits around columns and such as the only means of avoiding damage.
    Regardless of how suitable a sequel this game is, it's a mediocre FPS.

    Combat lacks challenge & nuance. It's unsatisfying as practically all enemies are bullet sponges, and stunning/suppressing enemies (an FPS staple- see Doom's "pain chance" mechanic) is almost nonexistent. The latter leads to goofy cartoon-gag pursuits around columns and such as the only means of avoiding damage.

    Happily, sprinting is fast & doesn't prohibit gunfire. Mobility alone has a nice feel, and it might've redeemed the combat, but for the way it's framed. Namely: ambush after ambush. You are NEVER on the offensive in Doom 3. All good FPSes have a mix of offensive & defensive gameplay, while this one is hideously lopsided. The worst part is once you learn the handful of tricks used over and over by the level designers, you may as well have played the entire game. Not scary. Very obnoxious.

    Some high points are superlative ambient audio design, lots of good lighting design, nice texturework. Shame about the game.
    Expand
  55. May 9, 2014
    8
    Gory, Dark, Demonic themes, Scary enough, Great graphics for it´s time but still being good to date and a good enemies design, perfect for a true FPS survival horror experience.
  56. Sep 29, 2011
    10
    One of my favorite semi-classic FPS. First off, it's id software, the engine they have created is perfect. Unified shadows, and a new Doom. Beaufitul, period.
  57. Nov 3, 2011
    8
    Good Doom action, lenghty game (over 20 hours). The action gets exhaustive later in the game, there's too little varying, seeing same kind of corridors over and over again. Still, I enjoyed this game but it does lack those memorable moments you always remember afterwards like some parts of HL.
  58. Mar 21, 2013
    6
    Doom 3 is a fast paced old style first person horror shooter with exciting gameplay and will constantly remind you to be aware of your surroundings as you progress through the game. I had never played Doom 3 till now and the first thing I noticed is that the graphics although not great, are still remarkably good even in today's standards. Furthermore the lighting effects from the flashDoom 3 is a fast paced old style first person horror shooter with exciting gameplay and will constantly remind you to be aware of your surroundings as you progress through the game. I had never played Doom 3 till now and the first thing I noticed is that the graphics although not great, are still remarkably good even in today's standards. Furthermore the lighting effects from the flash light helped make the game look great and an all more fun experience when entered into rooms of pure darkness. The gameplay for Doom 3 is solid with a nice variety of weapons and enemies. As you get further into the game you will find yourself picking up new weapons and being entered into a cutscene to introduce a new mob you will be fighting throughout the game. The weapons themselves are great however I found myself only sticking to a minority of weapons due the play through since some were greatly more powerful and efficient than others. The enemies in Doom 3 are somewhat unique in there own ways and provide an enjoyable experience throughout the game as you learn how to avoid their attacks and learn their weaknesses however I found some enemies to be impossible to get around such as the mini gun enemies which give no opportunity to avoid getting damaged. Bonuses such as collecting PDA's is a nice touch in Doom as it allowed you to search through peoples PDA's to unlock bonuses in the game and find items earlier. This also increased the urge to explore as it would benefit you hugely as you progressed through a level. The occasion encounters of bosses are OK (except the final boss) and I found myself defeating the bosses on the first try on the medium difficulty which shows the lack of skill required since I usually just found myself spamming a rocket launcher in the bosses faces. Whilst the bosses do look cool, they didn't seem to do much other than run at you and smack you in the face or throw balls of poison, fire or whatever at you. For example in the final boss I found myself kiting the boss around in circles firing a launcher and another weapon for about 5 minutes. In general the level design is good however I found myself not knowing where to go and a lack of indication of where to go which in some ways I agree is good as it allows the game to seem less linear and allow for exploration, however are a few minutes or wandering around cluelessly it does get a little frustrating. The levels towards the end also to me became repetitive and spawning of enemies became extremely predictable. However there are some issues which I really did not like about Doom 3. The lack of an auto save feature. As you get really immersed into the game and die, you find yourself having to repeat half a level because of no autosave even in cut scenes or in boss encounters. Secondly were the small things such as dieing because a door closed when you were standing between it which I thought was unnessary. Finally I found the story was extremely weak which to be honest I don't really care about however a good storyline would have been a nice touch. In short Doom 3 is a fun action packed shooter and will have you always needing to be aware as mobs spawn in all directions as you progress though a level. The campaign is at a fine length, graphics are acceptable in today's standards and in general is longer than most of the latest FPS releases. However the lack of exciting bosses, predictable repetitive enemies, minor frustrating game elements and repetitive maze like levels really held the game back from getting a higher score than 7 in my eyes. The war between the 2004 FPS hits Half Life 2 and Doom 3 leads me to declare that Half Life 2 won this little battle however Doom 3 is still a great game and if given the opportunity, you should give Doom 3 a go. Expand
  59. Dec 12, 2010
    9
    After replaying this game, it has stricken me yet again just how masterful id Software is at crafting no-excuses video games. They took a simply story, tried and true since 1993, and crafted such a fantastically detailed, depressingly immersive world around it that you will understand exactly why the pioneer of the modern video game experience spent a full five years working on it. A lotAfter replaying this game, it has stricken me yet again just how masterful id Software is at crafting no-excuses video games. They took a simply story, tried and true since 1993, and crafted such a fantastically detailed, depressingly immersive world around it that you will understand exactly why the pioneer of the modern video game experience spent a full five years working on it. A lot of soul was poured into this game, with expansive, breathtaking, claustrophobic levels that clock in at nearly a day's worth of playtime -- not something that can be said of the shooters of 2010.

    While the antics of a deranged scientist might not be all that deep an contemplative, and while the scares might sometimes come across as cheap and closet-popping, the action for the last two-thirds of the game is absolutely frantic and paced very much like the Doom we all loved, while the demonic invasion pulls you in with no apologies for its themes. From the poorly-lit blood-soaked halls of the Delta Labs, to the awe-inspiring swathes of Martian landscape traversed on the Monorail, to the distinctly otherplanar and highly disturbing realm of Hell itself, there truly is no substitute for the world Doom 3 pulls you into with the crushing grip of a Hellknight.

    If you use a flashlight mod for your weapons, or complain about the stifling darkness of the locales, you really are missing the point. This is Mars, suffering a demonic invasion. If you want a well-lit seizure-inducing action-packed experience, the Call of Duty series might be for you. For the rest of us, this dark, disturbing romp will suffice.
    Expand
  60. Feb 21, 2014
    9
    A great game even after a decade its a timeless master piece. If your looking for a good fun adventure with tons of violence gore and exploration. The story isn't good but the game sure is and for a cheap price of just ten dollars its worth it.
  61. Sep 21, 2010
    10
    Awesome visuals, terrifying environment make it the best horror FPS game till date. Darkness in the game is just perfect to engross you. The game also has a great repeat value.
  62. Sep 19, 2011
    10
    The first couple of levels scared me a bit. But then the game just dragged on. All of the environments look the same, the guns feel akward, and the scares just turn silly. Also, if your going to make a game where it is incredibly dark, be sure to add night vision, not a flash light that you have to hold instead of a weapon.
  63. Oct 7, 2013
    10
    A masterpiece. Deep atmosphere and immersion. You play the role of a space marine as you investigate some serious problems going on in mars base. The AI is brutal and the terrain can be confusing but that is just a test of your survival capabilities. I hope you have good reflexes.
  64. Aug 7, 2014
    10
    This game is the **** **** 8/8 m8 .
  65. May 31, 2014
    8
    Regardless of its repetetive nature, this is the only game I have ever played that gave me a scare... in broad daylight... in a room full of people... The atmosphere makes up for other less competent parts of the game.
  66. Mr.No
    Aug 4, 2004
    7
    Graphics, graphics and graphics (with HUGE hardware demands). Game play is much more important and Doom3 offers nothing new in that department.
  67. G.F.
    Aug 5, 2004
    5
    Okay, given a workhorse of a gaming rig, this game looks & plays incredible. Unfortunately my P4 1.6 Ghz PC with 512MB RAM, a 64MB Geforce 4 MX card is unable to run the game very well at all. I disabled ALL eye-candy, disabled shadows, reduced the size to 640x480, and did everything I could to improve frame rates. In this config, in small rooms with no activity, the frame rate is in the Okay, given a workhorse of a gaming rig, this game looks & plays incredible. Unfortunately my P4 1.6 Ghz PC with 512MB RAM, a 64MB Geforce 4 MX card is unable to run the game very well at all. I disabled ALL eye-candy, disabled shadows, reduced the size to 640x480, and did everything I could to improve frame rates. In this config, in small rooms with no activity, the frame rate is in the upper 50s. Great. Once a baddie jumps out at me (or two), and I attempt to defend myself, the frame rate drops under 10 fps. This kills the experience, and I'm not prepared to purchase faster hardware right now. Gameplay: In my opinion, the ambient sound is effective, the mood is set well. But the overall gameplay is repetitive. Wonder through the base, pick up PDAs to help you through the labbrynth, oh yeah and kill the monsters, repeat, rinse. Honestly I'm reminded of Unreal. This game looked incredible for it's time, was single-player focused. Fought plenty of monsters. People struggled to get the most frames per sec out of it. I guess to give ID credit, or what they set out to achieve, for the specific sub-genre (Sci-fi demon horror scary shoot-em-up) they have accomplished that goal. I think personally I have outgrown this genre. Expand
  68. D.Railer
    Aug 6, 2004
    8
    Awesome graphics, an interesting story so far... realistic lighting... most of it is wonderful. Major kudos on the computer screen interfaces, my jaw has been on the floor for many levels. But a couple odd "game" rules interfere with the sense of... say... fairness. id has always been the king of cheap attacks, since Quake 2... closets/cubby holes for bad guys... ridiculous! The same Awesome graphics, an interesting story so far... realistic lighting... most of it is wonderful. Major kudos on the computer screen interfaces, my jaw has been on the floor for many levels. But a couple odd "game" rules interfere with the sense of... say... fairness. id has always been the king of cheap attacks, since Quake 2... closets/cubby holes for bad guys... ridiculous! The same thing happens here... I wouldn't even mind it if the bad guys came THROUGH the walls because they are "ghosts" or when they teleport in; grates lift up in floor? Perfect! But the idea that a creature from hell invaded the base and found a secret closet to hide in? Ridiculous. Also, why can't I duct tape my flashlight to my gun; hell, why isn't there a flashlight built into my gun? This is the future right? "It's for the sense of desparation we want you to feel." Yace, yace. Expand
  69. BuffaloBill
    Oct 22, 2004
    6
    I thought I
  70. Ronin
    Aug 14, 2004
    10
    This game rules. the graphics are good, the shadows and the creatures that come out own. when you get hit you feel like your getting hit...bringing you more into the game. easy gameplay. and for all you haters out there you probably have a crap computer or you just suck.
  71. Groundfisher
    Aug 10, 2004
    7
    Mediocre FPS. Great sound, great graphics. Doom 3's contribution to today's 'gaming' is its engine and that's all. No innovation here. In fact, game-play is repetitive. There aren't 20+ hours of gameplay here. There are 2-3 hours of gameplay repeated again and again. I give it a 7 for how it looks and sounds and because I'm sure its engine will be Mediocre FPS. Great sound, great graphics. Doom 3's contribution to today's 'gaming' is its engine and that's all. No innovation here. In fact, game-play is repetitive. There aren't 20+ hours of gameplay here. There are 2-3 hours of gameplay repeated again and again. I give it a 7 for how it looks and sounds and because I'm sure its engine will be licensed to other developers, who will make good games. If you haven't bought this game, wait until the price drops. Pick it up in 12 months or so. Expand
  72. Col
    Aug 26, 2004
    3
    Big disappointment. Gorgeous bump mapped models (when you can see them) with ridiculously low rez silhouettes. The best way to describe playing this game is like waking up in the middle of the night and, in a half concious state, trying to stagger to the bathroom in the dark. It's just awful. And there is no gamma correction feature! How id could screw this franchise up so badly is Big disappointment. Gorgeous bump mapped models (when you can see them) with ridiculously low rez silhouettes. The best way to describe playing this game is like waking up in the middle of the night and, in a half concious state, trying to stagger to the bathroom in the dark. It's just awful. And there is no gamma correction feature! How id could screw this franchise up so badly is beyond me. This ain't a DOOM game at all - the other 2 were good... Expand
  73. KarlD.
    Aug 3, 2004
    8
    Great graphics engine, great sound and awesome atmosphere. But what about some innovation in gameplay?
  74. OrhanI.
    Aug 4, 2004
    9
    I think the guy who gave zero points to the game is someone from Valve or Crytek :).
  75. JohnM.
    Aug 5, 2004
    9
    Cant believe sooo many people dont get the game, its classic Doom but 100 times better. How anyone can say it gets boring is beyond me, this game is the best FPS to come out in years, probably since half-life. The action is none stop plus the story gets driven by the PDA system brilliantly, I cant get enough of this game so far and I'm sure that mods that come out for it will be just Cant believe sooo many people dont get the game, its classic Doom but 100 times better. How anyone can say it gets boring is beyond me, this game is the best FPS to come out in years, probably since half-life. The action is none stop plus the story gets driven by the PDA system brilliantly, I cant get enough of this game so far and I'm sure that mods that come out for it will be just as good. Expand
  76. AndrewW.
    Aug 7, 2004
    10
    This game is the epitome of a FPS. It is perfect in every way. The graphics are insane, it has the best single player campaign ever in a shooter, and 32 online deathmatchs kick major butt. Best shooter ever, possibly even best game.
  77. D.Q.
    Aug 7, 2004
    10
    I amped up my machine for this game and it's worth it. I was blown away by the graphics, it's like actually being in there and that's 10x scarier than anything. When a game with this kind of evil pulls you right into it, it's definitely unsettling to say the least. I've been really limiting myself on when and how I play it. I only do a level per night and I go as I amped up my machine for this game and it's worth it. I was blown away by the graphics, it's like actually being in there and that's 10x scarier than anything. When a game with this kind of evil pulls you right into it, it's definitely unsettling to say the least. I've been really limiting myself on when and how I play it. I only do a level per night and I go as slow as humanly possible to let my nerves get the full load of adrenaline and terror that each corner, closed door and hidden place where evil lurks provides. I was surprised with the story, it's like being dropped right in there, I wasn't ready to be so immersed in this kind of world. Expand
  78. Full-Life
    Aug 8, 2004
    7
    Nice game. I knew what to expect from Doom III; old skool gameplay in a new pair of Gucci shoes. So unlike people that expected revolutionary gameplay and got disappointed...... i got disappointed because the old skool gameplay was not executed very well. Surely you would have at least expected more variety, interesting puzzles and a slight tactical touch in these days of gaming. It got Nice game. I knew what to expect from Doom III; old skool gameplay in a new pair of Gucci shoes. So unlike people that expected revolutionary gameplay and got disappointed...... i got disappointed because the old skool gameplay was not executed very well. Surely you would have at least expected more variety, interesting puzzles and a slight tactical touch in these days of gaming. It got predictable towards the ending. Also the AI was not good... it did not offer a challenge. Doom III is also really short. I mean, what 4 years in development and we get 10 hours of gameplay? Some replay value would have been nice... i guess Western Developers are not that replay value sensitive as Japanese developers. I wanted to count multiplayer as replay value but it is soooo boring. Sorry ID Software, you have not evolved with time and are still in the past. Expand
  79. JohnnyJ.
    Aug 9, 2004
    10
    Perfect, absolutely flawless, stunning, and gruesome, excellent job id, well worth the wait.
  80. AnonymousMC
    Mar 30, 2005
    0
    whoa, this game is terrible! no wonder it's score is so low! i mean, c'mon, there is a part of the game where you have to stay in one spot for 30 minutes and shoot the same enemys over and over again. Is THAT Fun!? No, its boring and sh#tty, complete and utter crap. the level where you go to heaven is soo stupid. i mean, come on!? you turn out to be a angel!? how stupid is that.whoa, this game is terrible! no wonder it's score is so low! i mean, c'mon, there is a part of the game where you have to stay in one spot for 30 minutes and shoot the same enemys over and over again. Is THAT Fun!? No, its boring and sh#tty, complete and utter crap. the level where you go to heaven is soo stupid. i mean, come on!? you turn out to be a angel!? how stupid is that. Halo 2 rocks this game off of the planet. plain and simple Expand
  81. Shawn
    Oct 2, 2006
    7
    Tends to repeat itself, characters get overly used, a bit too hyped up, good for entertainment.
  82. ArmageddonP.
    Jun 5, 2006
    3
    Wow, this was a bad bad game. A total letdown from ID software. All graphics and no gameplay. I'm sure halo fans will enjoy this watered down shooter.
  83. BradJ.
    Aug 1, 2007
    7
    DooM I and DooM II are the greatest first person shooters of all time. In my opinion, Doom 3 does not live up to the legacy. The omnipresent shadow and haunting audio make a superb atmosphere, though the game lacks in many other regards. All too often you will open a door to find an imp crouched in wait, ready to pounce, or a demon will be hiding in a canceled closet, only leaving after DooM I and DooM II are the greatest first person shooters of all time. In my opinion, Doom 3 does not live up to the legacy. The omnipresent shadow and haunting audio make a superb atmosphere, though the game lacks in many other regards. All too often you will open a door to find an imp crouched in wait, ready to pounce, or a demon will be hiding in a canceled closet, only leaving after you have passed by unsuspectingly. All too often you must decide between seeing, and shooting. The scares get tiresome after the first few levels, and the constant spawning of monsters becomes frustrating. When compared to the original DooM, DooM 3 is far easier to navigate. No longer is it necessary for you to wander around searching for 3 keycards hidden in the expansive level. Now, the goals are linear. It is much more enjoyable. This is also a downside, as there is nothing to provide padding between the endless scuffles with the invading forces. The combat in DooM I and DooM II is more enjoyable. It was fast paced and exhilarating, while in Doom 3, your foes tend to come in small quantities and hide in the shadows. I can say this: what Doom 3 does, it does very well. The graphics are great, the story is an improved version of the original DooM I (Contrary to popular belief, Half Life stole the story of DooM I, you would never know it unless you read the manual for DooM I), the atmosphere is great, and the gameplay lacks when compared to other FPS. That is not a fair comparison, as Doom 3 is not like the other shooters. It must be observed in its own artistic way. Because I found the gameplay repetitive, and not completely enjoyable, I give this game a 7. Expand
  84. jpkkez
    Aug 24, 2007
    6
    Good graphics but everythings so clunky and the only fights is someting jumps out of a dark corner not very fun.
  85. AnonymousMC
    Aug 29, 2007
    1
    As other fellow users have already pointed out, this game can be seen as an example of what is wrong with the contemporary video game industry. Why do some think this is scary? You move, trigger a script, and ZAP! ONE Monster spawns before you, ready to be blasted into oblivion (After playing for some time, I always knew where I´d trigger a script). If you stand still, no script isAs other fellow users have already pointed out, this game can be seen as an example of what is wrong with the contemporary video game industry. Why do some think this is scary? You move, trigger a script, and ZAP! ONE Monster spawns before you, ready to be blasted into oblivion (After playing for some time, I always knew where I´d trigger a script). If you stand still, no script is triggered, nothing happens. Why were Doom 1 and 2 so fun to play? Oh yeah, because there was a ****load of creatures just waiting to be slaughtered in every friggin´ room! But no, today it´s all graphics and no substance. It is crystal clear that id was forced to release a game with superior (Are they even really superior to other games in that genre? I don´t know and I don´t really care much about that aspect) graphics, but at what price? I want to kill hordes of monsters, not just one or two (I believe there were five at maximum) at a time! I miss monster infighting! I miss the fun! What about replay value? Would anyone play through this whole experience again? Crawling through extremely repetitive, dark levels is not my idea of enjoying a game. I played through it once, uninstalled, and in the corner with the game. It would have to be the last game on earth before I´d consider reinstalling. Another classic franchise ruined, replay value is simply non-existent. That game so wants to be a Half-life but it ends up being a franchise-ruining dreck. Expand
  86. RobertB.
    Feb 2, 2008
    10
    Easily the best game for its time.
  87. DazX
    Jan 10, 2010
    10
    Scary, fun, José Luccioni on french voiceovers (xD), I can't think of anything bad in this game. I never met any bug, glitch or anything. The game's beautiful, even nowadays, AND fun as hell.
  88. KestasK
    Jan 4, 2010
    9
    First time I saw the demo it seemed like more of a tech demo than an actual game, but I recently got it cheap and decided to give it an honest go. It is produced very well, the story isn't just an excuse for the game to happen but is done very well. "Hell breaks loose on a Mars research outpost" sounds cliche, but they really run with it. It is scary, but only in the way Doom I&II First time I saw the demo it seemed like more of a tech demo than an actual game, but I recently got it cheap and decided to give it an honest go. It is produced very well, the story isn't just an excuse for the game to happen but is done very well. "Hell breaks loose on a Mars research outpost" sounds cliche, but they really run with it. It is scary, but only in the way Doom I&II were. The gameplay, enemies, and weapons are all very much like previous Doom games, as is the level design. The basic concepts behind Doom have been hugely modernized, some extras added to enrich the story, but really it's Doom gameplay executed brilliantly for mid-late 2000s hardware. If that appeals to you you should have already checked it out by now, if it doesn't then avoid, but either way this doesn't deserve the people who say this is just a tech demo, it really is a proper game. Expand
  89. Patchy
    Nov 1, 2004
    2
    Considering all the hype this game was a real disappointment, zero AI, all the monsters are at fixed/trigger points ready to attack, no point in trying to stealth it - the graphics are cool but the maps are unnecessarily complicated and circuitous - a flop, sadly.
  90. MaxH.
    Dec 10, 2004
    10
    Very good and good graphics.
  91. WillB.
    Aug 11, 2004
    5
    This is a visually stunning game, without a doubt easily in the top 3 when it comes to looks, but when it comes to game play, it
  92. DXO
    Aug 12, 2004
    2
    Gameplay is mediocre to the point of no redemption. There's nothing you can do except walk into a trigger point and wait to be attacked. I cant help but notice that the monsters can only run straight up to you to scratch you. I think id got too caught up with the engine and forgot about writing AI. Also, monsters still appear even after you've checked that there's nothing Gameplay is mediocre to the point of no redemption. There's nothing you can do except walk into a trigger point and wait to be attacked. I cant help but notice that the monsters can only run straight up to you to scratch you. I think id got too caught up with the engine and forgot about writing AI. Also, monsters still appear even after you've checked that there's nothing in the room. And the whole intro is ripped off STRAIGHT from half life. Worse still, you spend the whole time tryin 2 figure out whats happening in the dark. What kind of shooter does not allow you to see what you're shooting? Graphics are nice but...wait, i carn actually see them!! i run P2.6 512ram and Rad9600, with everything turned down at 1024res, and framerates are 20 max. What the hell is id thinking? Do they expect us to keep the game in our shelves until comp processin can run the game smoothly?? Gameplay receives a 0 due to zero replayability and cos' its entirely scripted. Its completely devoid of innovation. Also, the whole feel of the game is SO dark, claustrophobic and sick that its simply NOT FUN. Graphics could have gotten a 8 but since i cant see them, 2 would be sufficient. There you go, 2 pts for this f***ed up game. Expand
  93. RichardT.
    Aug 13, 2004
    5
    As an original Doom fanatic just the thought of the new game brought back memories of late evenings spent with friends and two PC
  94. iHam
    Aug 14, 2004
    9
    This is easily one of the best FPSs to date. A nice retelling of the original two, with all of the shinies that simply weren't possible in 1992. Anyone who dislikes this game yet holds the older two in high esteem is shamefully disconnected with the very concepts that make the games great. I have heard people complain about not being able to have a gun out while using the flashlight. This is easily one of the best FPSs to date. A nice retelling of the original two, with all of the shinies that simply weren't possible in 1992. Anyone who dislikes this game yet holds the older two in high esteem is shamefully disconnected with the very concepts that make the games great. I have heard people complain about not being able to have a gun out while using the flashlight. Also, that its 'claustrophobic', and that the gameplay is too linear, the contrast is too high, etc... These are how the original games were, just in case you forgot. Dark and scary. No gun while you've got your flashlight out? Nothing like feeling vulnerable while tip toeing through a pitch black corridor... its all supposed to (at least) try to scare you. And quite honestly, if this game doesn't make you jump, pull your legs out from under the desk, or get the willies, or even think twice before opening a door, then you have been desensitized beyond the point where anything but the real thing can please you. see you in 20 years... You are all entitled to your opinions. Its just some of your opinions happen to be wrong and invalid. Expand
  95. Mr.Somebody
    Aug 14, 2004
    9
    Okay...okay. All of you who have nothing better to do than complain about stuff can just shut it. This isn't the best game you'll ever play; I still have high hopes for HL2. However, this doesn't mean you can compare Doom to games like that and FarCry!! Id made the FPS genre!!! I believe "DXO" said that the beginning was ripped from Half-Life. Um...this game is a REMAKE of Okay...okay. All of you who have nothing better to do than complain about stuff can just shut it. This isn't the best game you'll ever play; I still have high hopes for HL2. However, this doesn't mean you can compare Doom to games like that and FarCry!! Id made the FPS genre!!! I believe "DXO" said that the beginning was ripped from Half-Life. Um...this game is a REMAKE of one from the EARLY 90s!!! If anything, Half-Life ripped from Doom!!!!! Others said this was "lacking innovation," "scripted," and "claustrophobic." Some complain that there's no built-in flashlights, and the one you carry forces you to be weaponless while using it. And still more complain about it being too dark. ...You know why??!?! Because all of this is meant for the player to have the CRAP SCARED OUT OF HIM!!!!!! And I believe that complaining about a base on MARS being "claustrophobic" is like complaining about the international space station not having a large reception room with couches and a television!! It wouldn't be practical! Besides, if there were large, shiny rooms everywhere with a dozen monsters in each, no computer on EARTH would be able to run this game aside from teh ones used by the five richest Kings of Europe or something. So play the game and have fun killing mindlessly. Otherwise, go play something else and smile some. You know, 'cause the zombie behind you is gonna rip off your lips. Expand
  96. AndreasM
    Aug 10, 2004
    2
    I don't really see the big deal. It has cool graphics and runs well with 800x600@high on my 2600+ & R9700, but it's boring as hell. And it's about as scary as a useless slasher movie ala Scream or Halloween.
  97. Domicron
    Aug 15, 2004
    5
    If you've got the hardware, it definitely looks pretty - so hats off to Id again for releasing a state of the art game engine. But as far as gameplay goes, total let down. Sure, the first 2 hours of this game are intense, scary, and keep you coming back for more... but give it another 2 hours and you realize that the entire scare factor relies on teleporting in bad guys behind If you've got the hardware, it definitely looks pretty - so hats off to Id again for releasing a state of the art game engine. But as far as gameplay goes, total let down. Sure, the first 2 hours of this game are intense, scary, and keep you coming back for more... but give it another 2 hours and you realize that the entire scare factor relies on teleporting in bad guys behind you...or having a secret door open behind you releasing monsters...and while this isn't bad by in itself, the true problem lies in this game never realizing what it should have been. Doom 2 was about battles - wading through monsters in utter carnage. What this game really needed was some of that interspersed with the dark/scary. Instead, this game proves to be nothing but a stale one trick pony.... hope half life 2 turns out better. Expand
  98. J.S.
    Aug 10, 2004
    6
    I still remember the excitement I felt when I first played the original Doom. Actually I lie; I felt that when I played Wolfenstein 3D first. Here was a game that truly started the 3D revolution - it proved that an immersive, first-person experience was possible on the computer and in my eyes at the time, I saw a future of photorealistic environments obeying the laws of physics where a I still remember the excitement I felt when I first played the original Doom. Actually I lie; I felt that when I played Wolfenstein 3D first. Here was a game that truly started the 3D revolution - it proved that an immersive, first-person experience was possible on the computer and in my eyes at the time, I saw a future of photorealistic environments obeying the laws of physics where a story set in any world imaginable centred around you. As far as I was and are now, concerned this is where computer games will end up; the place where ordinary people can live extraordinary lives. Wolfy3D showed that the photorealism in computer games was going to be achievable, all it needed was a bit more beef under the hood of your PC. And so with relish (and not a little imagination) I ate up Wolfy. Then Doom. The sheer pleasure of exploring a basic, yet fundamentally believable environments - with guns - was every bit the revolution it deserved to be. Then came Doom 2, and I the magic was beginning to fade - I couldn't quite put my finger on it... the graphics were better, there were more demons... but I was enjoying it less... and not for the first time, I was reintroduced to the axiom; gameplay is king. Then came Quake, Quake 2 (fully 3D characters) and a multitude of followers. Every one improving on the previous one's graphics, making the world seem more real, but all forgetting the impetus that led them there. The search for the realistic world in your PC was continuing apace visually, but was neglecting the most importanct aspect; interactivity. Since then, the gaming community has periodically roused from it's creative slumber to give us the likes of Half-Life, Deus-Ex, Morrowind etc. Always we were waiting for what ID did next to point the industry back towards where it will eventually end up. And so we come to Doom 3. What are ID telling us now? Well for one thing, they are telling us that bump and specular mapping with polygon-heavy environs, dynamic lighting, physics, 5.1 sound, 2x antialiasing can run very fast on a moderate system (2.8G, 1G RAM, 9800PRO). To have created such a rich environment and have it run so well is truly impressive. And what they say about game 'polish' should be a lesson to all. Computer panel access, cut-scene integration, PDA, the use of positional sound and lighting - the whole game reeks of the time they took to make sure every last little experience is a cut above what has gone before - although I might have a small gripe about the quality of some bump and spec. maps (even on extreme) which are not always as detailed as some in Far Cry, or the heat effects which again are not always quite as realistic. But these are mere triffles when such a convincing world has been created as in Doom 3. But that is where the good ends. The only other thing to commend ID on is the name; this truly is the third Doom game. You walk into a room, you get attacked. Your press a button, you get attacked. You pick up armour; attacked. Don't look behind you? Attacked. New weapon lying on the ground? Attacked. Not been attacked for a while? Wall opens and you probably get the idea... Worse still, these aren't monsters that are waiting in corridors or ducts that you flush out or hear having an argument - you can't surprise these demons - they appear when you pass the pre-programmed point and not a moment before. Pass the point and you will no doubt hear the noise of a demon being conjured from an electric disturbance nearby (reminiscent of anything?) but even that is not needed. I once walked through a door backwards and saw two spiders literally appear out of nowhere. Okay you may say I am being picky, but that the designers could not have though of a better way to infest a world with shootables is very disappointing. You start to get the impression that ID spend the ENTIRE FIVE YEARS on the engine for this game but a week on the gameplay. Or maybe no time at all? All this really is is Doom 2004. If they took the time to copy the story of Half-Life (science installation goes wrong, opens portal from another dimension which infests installation with beasts), the beginning (walking round installation before disaster) and the method of beast appearance (ball of electricity) - you might as well just swap the word "Xen" with "Hell" - why did they leave out the friendly interaction and AI? Yes, there is NO AI in Doom 3 - demons see you as soon as they appear (i.e. you are close enough - even if hidden) and then go straight for you. The more I play thins game, the more it amazes me that they though so little about the games that have come before it (except Half-Life of course). There is no stealth, no headshots, no need for ammo conservation, no using friendlies, no branching routes, no branching story (you might think there is but there isn't), no respite from attack. No subtlety. Graphically, this game delivers as advertised; it is the benchmark. Concerning gameplay, it competes with the likes of Doom 1 and 2, Quake, Serious Sam etc. Quite how so many reviewers have ignored this is really quite amazing. But I guess there are many people out there who don't realise that gaming is about an immersive experience shaped by the player and the games where you run around shooting stuff that moves is a little... passe. This is a game has no brain and requires none from the player. For a game that took five years where we have lived as Freeman and Denton, I can only be disappointed in that. Expand
  99. Pixelator
    Aug 17, 2004
    6
    Out of this world graphics - even at the lowest setting with all the jazzy options turned off so that it can give me playable frame-rates on my GeForce 4 MX (sorry, I don't think I want to spend four times the price of a game just to be able to play the game). The only other positive thing I can write about this game is that i love the weapon reloading sounds. Apart from that, Out of this world graphics - even at the lowest setting with all the jazzy options turned off so that it can give me playable frame-rates on my GeForce 4 MX (sorry, I don't think I want to spend four times the price of a game just to be able to play the game). The only other positive thing I can write about this game is that i love the weapon reloading sounds. Apart from that, it's pretty much a 10 year old game in a pretty wrapper. Maybe I was dissapointed because I'd just finished Far Cry before starting with Doom3. But then hey, with all the hoopla around it, Doom 3 was supposed to be a better game than Far Cry. It just isn't!!! Expand
  100. Gangleri
    Aug 18, 2004
    3
    I give the game 3 just because of the good engine. Actually I was not impressed. UT2004 looks better. The game is boring and lame. Nothing to do with the old Doom 2 a classic. What spoils the game : 1.Monsters AI -totally lame - they just run to you or shoot from a position . 2. Scripted situations . That make the game unplayable more than 1 time 3. Your character is mute and as it seemsI give the game 3 just because of the good engine. Actually I was not impressed. UT2004 looks better. The game is boring and lame. Nothing to do with the old Doom 2 a classic. What spoils the game : 1.Monsters AI -totally lame - they just run to you or shoot from a position . 2. Scripted situations . That make the game unplayable more than 1 time 3. Your character is mute and as it seems dumb as a rock. 4.The number of monsters does not increase 3-4 max at a time. boring 5. it is not scary at all. It is just dark . 6. no flashlight on the weapons. i think the idea was to shoot at the things in the dark but it is more annoying than scary. 7. Boring movies 8. Boring storyline. I actually tried to play the game for more than 3 days. I really try to like it . The conclusion is : !!!! THE ENGINE DOES NOT MAKE A GAME GREAT !!!! Expand
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 83 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 77 out of 83
  2. Negative: 0 out of 83
  1. The graphics are amazing (mind you, even on a mediocre system), the sound is amazing (if you don’t have a 5.1 system yet, consider it), and the game is downright scary.
  2. DOOM 3 smashes through all the hype and delivers a grand slam of action, story, atmosphere, and pure terror.
  3. So perfectly constructed, so deliciously immersive and downright elegant, that demands for more seem crass. It might not be the very best shooter out there, but it's the more visually stunning and successfully atmospheric than any game we've had the pleasure to play.