Doom 3 PC

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 867 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mr.No
    Aug 4, 2004
    7
    Graphics, graphics and graphics (with HUGE hardware demands). Game play is much more important and Doom3 offers nothing new in that department.
  2. G.F.
    Aug 5, 2004
    5
    Okay, given a workhorse of a gaming rig, this game looks & plays incredible. Unfortunately my P4 1.6 Ghz PC with 512MB RAM, a 64MB Geforce 4 MX card is unable to run the game very well at all. I disabled ALL eye-candy, disabled shadows, reduced the size to 640x480, and did everything I could to improve frame rates. In this config, in small rooms with no activity, the frame rate is in the Okay, given a workhorse of a gaming rig, this game looks & plays incredible. Unfortunately my P4 1.6 Ghz PC with 512MB RAM, a 64MB Geforce 4 MX card is unable to run the game very well at all. I disabled ALL eye-candy, disabled shadows, reduced the size to 640x480, and did everything I could to improve frame rates. In this config, in small rooms with no activity, the frame rate is in the upper 50s. Great. Once a baddie jumps out at me (or two), and I attempt to defend myself, the frame rate drops under 10 fps. This kills the experience, and I'm not prepared to purchase faster hardware right now. Gameplay: In my opinion, the ambient sound is effective, the mood is set well. But the overall gameplay is repetitive. Wonder through the base, pick up PDAs to help you through the labbrynth, oh yeah and kill the monsters, repeat, rinse. Honestly I'm reminded of Unreal. This game looked incredible for it's time, was single-player focused. Fought plenty of monsters. People struggled to get the most frames per sec out of it. I guess to give ID credit, or what they set out to achieve, for the specific sub-genre (Sci-fi demon horror scary shoot-em-up) they have accomplished that goal. I think personally I have outgrown this genre. Expand
  3. D.Railer
    Aug 6, 2004
    8
    Awesome graphics, an interesting story so far... realistic lighting... most of it is wonderful. Major kudos on the computer screen interfaces, my jaw has been on the floor for many levels. But a couple odd "game" rules interfere with the sense of... say... fairness. id has always been the king of cheap attacks, since Quake 2... closets/cubby holes for bad guys... ridiculous! The same Awesome graphics, an interesting story so far... realistic lighting... most of it is wonderful. Major kudos on the computer screen interfaces, my jaw has been on the floor for many levels. But a couple odd "game" rules interfere with the sense of... say... fairness. id has always been the king of cheap attacks, since Quake 2... closets/cubby holes for bad guys... ridiculous! The same thing happens here... I wouldn't even mind it if the bad guys came THROUGH the walls because they are "ghosts" or when they teleport in; grates lift up in floor? Perfect! But the idea that a creature from hell invaded the base and found a secret closet to hide in? Ridiculous. Also, why can't I duct tape my flashlight to my gun; hell, why isn't there a flashlight built into my gun? This is the future right? "It's for the sense of desparation we want you to feel." Yace, yace. Expand
  4. BuffaloBill
    Oct 22, 2004
    6
    I thought I
  5. Ronin
    Aug 14, 2004
    10
    This game rules. the graphics are good, the shadows and the creatures that come out own. when you get hit you feel like your getting hit...bringing you more into the game. easy gameplay. and for all you haters out there you probably have a crap computer or you just suck.
  6. Groundfisher
    Aug 10, 2004
    7
    Mediocre FPS. Great sound, great graphics. Doom 3's contribution to today's 'gaming' is its engine and that's all. No innovation here. In fact, game-play is repetitive. There aren't 20+ hours of gameplay here. There are 2-3 hours of gameplay repeated again and again. I give it a 7 for how it looks and sounds and because I'm sure its engine will be Mediocre FPS. Great sound, great graphics. Doom 3's contribution to today's 'gaming' is its engine and that's all. No innovation here. In fact, game-play is repetitive. There aren't 20+ hours of gameplay here. There are 2-3 hours of gameplay repeated again and again. I give it a 7 for how it looks and sounds and because I'm sure its engine will be licensed to other developers, who will make good games. If you haven't bought this game, wait until the price drops. Pick it up in 12 months or so. Expand
  7. Col
    Aug 26, 2004
    3
    Big disappointment. Gorgeous bump mapped models (when you can see them) with ridiculously low rez silhouettes. The best way to describe playing this game is like waking up in the middle of the night and, in a half concious state, trying to stagger to the bathroom in the dark. It's just awful. And there is no gamma correction feature! How id could screw this franchise up so badly is Big disappointment. Gorgeous bump mapped models (when you can see them) with ridiculously low rez silhouettes. The best way to describe playing this game is like waking up in the middle of the night and, in a half concious state, trying to stagger to the bathroom in the dark. It's just awful. And there is no gamma correction feature! How id could screw this franchise up so badly is beyond me. This ain't a DOOM game at all - the other 2 were good... Expand
  8. KarlD.
    Aug 3, 2004
    8
    Great graphics engine, great sound and awesome atmosphere. But what about some innovation in gameplay?
  9. OrhanI.
    Aug 4, 2004
    9
    I think the guy who gave zero points to the game is someone from Valve or Crytek :).
  10. JohnM.
    Aug 5, 2004
    9
    Cant believe sooo many people dont get the game, its classic Doom but 100 times better. How anyone can say it gets boring is beyond me, this game is the best FPS to come out in years, probably since half-life. The action is none stop plus the story gets driven by the PDA system brilliantly, I cant get enough of this game so far and I'm sure that mods that come out for it will be just Cant believe sooo many people dont get the game, its classic Doom but 100 times better. How anyone can say it gets boring is beyond me, this game is the best FPS to come out in years, probably since half-life. The action is none stop plus the story gets driven by the PDA system brilliantly, I cant get enough of this game so far and I'm sure that mods that come out for it will be just as good. Expand
  11. AndrewW.
    Aug 7, 2004
    10
    This game is the epitome of a FPS. It is perfect in every way. The graphics are insane, it has the best single player campaign ever in a shooter, and 32 online deathmatchs kick major butt. Best shooter ever, possibly even best game.
  12. D.Q.
    Aug 7, 2004
    10
    I amped up my machine for this game and it's worth it. I was blown away by the graphics, it's like actually being in there and that's 10x scarier than anything. When a game with this kind of evil pulls you right into it, it's definitely unsettling to say the least. I've been really limiting myself on when and how I play it. I only do a level per night and I go as I amped up my machine for this game and it's worth it. I was blown away by the graphics, it's like actually being in there and that's 10x scarier than anything. When a game with this kind of evil pulls you right into it, it's definitely unsettling to say the least. I've been really limiting myself on when and how I play it. I only do a level per night and I go as slow as humanly possible to let my nerves get the full load of adrenaline and terror that each corner, closed door and hidden place where evil lurks provides. I was surprised with the story, it's like being dropped right in there, I wasn't ready to be so immersed in this kind of world. Expand
  13. Full-Life
    Aug 8, 2004
    7
    Nice game. I knew what to expect from Doom III; old skool gameplay in a new pair of Gucci shoes. So unlike people that expected revolutionary gameplay and got disappointed...... i got disappointed because the old skool gameplay was not executed very well. Surely you would have at least expected more variety, interesting puzzles and a slight tactical touch in these days of gaming. It got Nice game. I knew what to expect from Doom III; old skool gameplay in a new pair of Gucci shoes. So unlike people that expected revolutionary gameplay and got disappointed...... i got disappointed because the old skool gameplay was not executed very well. Surely you would have at least expected more variety, interesting puzzles and a slight tactical touch in these days of gaming. It got predictable towards the ending. Also the AI was not good... it did not offer a challenge. Doom III is also really short. I mean, what 4 years in development and we get 10 hours of gameplay? Some replay value would have been nice... i guess Western Developers are not that replay value sensitive as Japanese developers. I wanted to count multiplayer as replay value but it is soooo boring. Sorry ID Software, you have not evolved with time and are still in the past. Expand
  14. JohnnyJ.
    Aug 9, 2004
    10
    Perfect, absolutely flawless, stunning, and gruesome, excellent job id, well worth the wait.
  15. AnonymousMC
    Mar 30, 2005
    0
    whoa, this game is terrible! no wonder it's score is so low! i mean, c'mon, there is a part of the game where you have to stay in one spot for 30 minutes and shoot the same enemys over and over again. Is THAT Fun!? No, its boring and sh#tty, complete and utter crap. the level where you go to heaven is soo stupid. i mean, come on!? you turn out to be a angel!? how stupid is that.whoa, this game is terrible! no wonder it's score is so low! i mean, c'mon, there is a part of the game where you have to stay in one spot for 30 minutes and shoot the same enemys over and over again. Is THAT Fun!? No, its boring and sh#tty, complete and utter crap. the level where you go to heaven is soo stupid. i mean, come on!? you turn out to be a angel!? how stupid is that. Halo 2 rocks this game off of the planet. plain and simple Expand
  16. Shawn
    Oct 2, 2006
    7
    Tends to repeat itself, characters get overly used, a bit too hyped up, good for entertainment.
  17. ArmageddonP.
    Jun 5, 2006
    3
    Wow, this was a bad bad game. A total letdown from ID software. All graphics and no gameplay. I'm sure halo fans will enjoy this watered down shooter.
  18. BradJ.
    Aug 1, 2007
    7
    DooM I and DooM II are the greatest first person shooters of all time. In my opinion, Doom 3 does not live up to the legacy. The omnipresent shadow and haunting audio make a superb atmosphere, though the game lacks in many other regards. All too often you will open a door to find an imp crouched in wait, ready to pounce, or a demon will be hiding in a canceled closet, only leaving after DooM I and DooM II are the greatest first person shooters of all time. In my opinion, Doom 3 does not live up to the legacy. The omnipresent shadow and haunting audio make a superb atmosphere, though the game lacks in many other regards. All too often you will open a door to find an imp crouched in wait, ready to pounce, or a demon will be hiding in a canceled closet, only leaving after you have passed by unsuspectingly. All too often you must decide between seeing, and shooting. The scares get tiresome after the first few levels, and the constant spawning of monsters becomes frustrating. When compared to the original DooM, DooM 3 is far easier to navigate. No longer is it necessary for you to wander around searching for 3 keycards hidden in the expansive level. Now, the goals are linear. It is much more enjoyable. This is also a downside, as there is nothing to provide padding between the endless scuffles with the invading forces. The combat in DooM I and DooM II is more enjoyable. It was fast paced and exhilarating, while in Doom 3, your foes tend to come in small quantities and hide in the shadows. I can say this: what Doom 3 does, it does very well. The graphics are great, the story is an improved version of the original DooM I (Contrary to popular belief, Half Life stole the story of DooM I, you would never know it unless you read the manual for DooM I), the atmosphere is great, and the gameplay lacks when compared to other FPS. That is not a fair comparison, as Doom 3 is not like the other shooters. It must be observed in its own artistic way. Because I found the gameplay repetitive, and not completely enjoyable, I give this game a 7. Expand
  19. jpkkez
    Aug 24, 2007
    6
    Good graphics but everythings so clunky and the only fights is someting jumps out of a dark corner not very fun.
  20. AnonymousMC
    Aug 29, 2007
    1
    As other fellow users have already pointed out, this game can be seen as an example of what is wrong with the contemporary video game industry. Why do some think this is scary? You move, trigger a script, and ZAP! ONE Monster spawns before you, ready to be blasted into oblivion (After playing for some time, I always knew where I´d trigger a script). If you stand still, no script isAs other fellow users have already pointed out, this game can be seen as an example of what is wrong with the contemporary video game industry. Why do some think this is scary? You move, trigger a script, and ZAP! ONE Monster spawns before you, ready to be blasted into oblivion (After playing for some time, I always knew where I´d trigger a script). If you stand still, no script is triggered, nothing happens. Why were Doom 1 and 2 so fun to play? Oh yeah, because there was a ****load of creatures just waiting to be slaughtered in every friggin´ room! But no, today it´s all graphics and no substance. It is crystal clear that id was forced to release a game with superior (Are they even really superior to other games in that genre? I don´t know and I don´t really care much about that aspect) graphics, but at what price? I want to kill hordes of monsters, not just one or two (I believe there were five at maximum) at a time! I miss monster infighting! I miss the fun! What about replay value? Would anyone play through this whole experience again? Crawling through extremely repetitive, dark levels is not my idea of enjoying a game. I played through it once, uninstalled, and in the corner with the game. It would have to be the last game on earth before I´d consider reinstalling. Another classic franchise ruined, replay value is simply non-existent. That game so wants to be a Half-life but it ends up being a franchise-ruining dreck. Expand
  21. RobertB.
    Feb 2, 2008
    10
    Easily the best game for its time.
  22. DazX
    Jan 10, 2010
    10
    Scary, fun, José Luccioni on french voiceovers (xD), I can't think of anything bad in this game. I never met any bug, glitch or anything. The game's beautiful, even nowadays, AND fun as hell.
  23. KestasK
    Jan 4, 2010
    9
    First time I saw the demo it seemed like more of a tech demo than an actual game, but I recently got it cheap and decided to give it an honest go. It is produced very well, the story isn't just an excuse for the game to happen but is done very well. "Hell breaks loose on a Mars research outpost" sounds cliche, but they really run with it. It is scary, but only in the way Doom I&II First time I saw the demo it seemed like more of a tech demo than an actual game, but I recently got it cheap and decided to give it an honest go. It is produced very well, the story isn't just an excuse for the game to happen but is done very well. "Hell breaks loose on a Mars research outpost" sounds cliche, but they really run with it. It is scary, but only in the way Doom I&II were. The gameplay, enemies, and weapons are all very much like previous Doom games, as is the level design. The basic concepts behind Doom have been hugely modernized, some extras added to enrich the story, but really it's Doom gameplay executed brilliantly for mid-late 2000s hardware. If that appeals to you you should have already checked it out by now, if it doesn't then avoid, but either way this doesn't deserve the people who say this is just a tech demo, it really is a proper game. Expand
  24. Patchy
    Nov 1, 2004
    2
    Considering all the hype this game was a real disappointment, zero AI, all the monsters are at fixed/trigger points ready to attack, no point in trying to stealth it - the graphics are cool but the maps are unnecessarily complicated and circuitous - a flop, sadly.
  25. MaxH.
    Dec 10, 2004
    10
    Very good and good graphics.
  26. WillB.
    Aug 11, 2004
    5
    This is a visually stunning game, without a doubt easily in the top 3 when it comes to looks, but when it comes to game play, it
  27. DXO
    Aug 12, 2004
    2
    Gameplay is mediocre to the point of no redemption. There's nothing you can do except walk into a trigger point and wait to be attacked. I cant help but notice that the monsters can only run straight up to you to scratch you. I think id got too caught up with the engine and forgot about writing AI. Also, monsters still appear even after you've checked that there's nothing Gameplay is mediocre to the point of no redemption. There's nothing you can do except walk into a trigger point and wait to be attacked. I cant help but notice that the monsters can only run straight up to you to scratch you. I think id got too caught up with the engine and forgot about writing AI. Also, monsters still appear even after you've checked that there's nothing in the room. And the whole intro is ripped off STRAIGHT from half life. Worse still, you spend the whole time tryin 2 figure out whats happening in the dark. What kind of shooter does not allow you to see what you're shooting? Graphics are nice but...wait, i carn actually see them!! i run P2.6 512ram and Rad9600, with everything turned down at 1024res, and framerates are 20 max. What the hell is id thinking? Do they expect us to keep the game in our shelves until comp processin can run the game smoothly?? Gameplay receives a 0 due to zero replayability and cos' its entirely scripted. Its completely devoid of innovation. Also, the whole feel of the game is SO dark, claustrophobic and sick that its simply NOT FUN. Graphics could have gotten a 8 but since i cant see them, 2 would be sufficient. There you go, 2 pts for this f***ed up game. Expand
  28. RichardT.
    Aug 13, 2004
    5
    As an original Doom fanatic just the thought of the new game brought back memories of late evenings spent with friends and two PC
  29. iHam
    Aug 14, 2004
    9
    This is easily one of the best FPSs to date. A nice retelling of the original two, with all of the shinies that simply weren't possible in 1992. Anyone who dislikes this game yet holds the older two in high esteem is shamefully disconnected with the very concepts that make the games great. I have heard people complain about not being able to have a gun out while using the flashlight. This is easily one of the best FPSs to date. A nice retelling of the original two, with all of the shinies that simply weren't possible in 1992. Anyone who dislikes this game yet holds the older two in high esteem is shamefully disconnected with the very concepts that make the games great. I have heard people complain about not being able to have a gun out while using the flashlight. Also, that its 'claustrophobic', and that the gameplay is too linear, the contrast is too high, etc... These are how the original games were, just in case you forgot. Dark and scary. No gun while you've got your flashlight out? Nothing like feeling vulnerable while tip toeing through a pitch black corridor... its all supposed to (at least) try to scare you. And quite honestly, if this game doesn't make you jump, pull your legs out from under the desk, or get the willies, or even think twice before opening a door, then you have been desensitized beyond the point where anything but the real thing can please you. see you in 20 years... You are all entitled to your opinions. Its just some of your opinions happen to be wrong and invalid. Expand
  30. Mr.Somebody
    Aug 14, 2004
    9
    Okay...okay. All of you who have nothing better to do than complain about stuff can just shut it. This isn't the best game you'll ever play; I still have high hopes for HL2. However, this doesn't mean you can compare Doom to games like that and FarCry!! Id made the FPS genre!!! I believe "DXO" said that the beginning was ripped from Half-Life. Um...this game is a REMAKE of Okay...okay. All of you who have nothing better to do than complain about stuff can just shut it. This isn't the best game you'll ever play; I still have high hopes for HL2. However, this doesn't mean you can compare Doom to games like that and FarCry!! Id made the FPS genre!!! I believe "DXO" said that the beginning was ripped from Half-Life. Um...this game is a REMAKE of one from the EARLY 90s!!! If anything, Half-Life ripped from Doom!!!!! Others said this was "lacking innovation," "scripted," and "claustrophobic." Some complain that there's no built-in flashlights, and the one you carry forces you to be weaponless while using it. And still more complain about it being too dark. ...You know why??!?! Because all of this is meant for the player to have the CRAP SCARED OUT OF HIM!!!!!! And I believe that complaining about a base on MARS being "claustrophobic" is like complaining about the international space station not having a large reception room with couches and a television!! It wouldn't be practical! Besides, if there were large, shiny rooms everywhere with a dozen monsters in each, no computer on EARTH would be able to run this game aside from teh ones used by the five richest Kings of Europe or something. So play the game and have fun killing mindlessly. Otherwise, go play something else and smile some. You know, 'cause the zombie behind you is gonna rip off your lips. Expand
  31. AndreasM
    Aug 10, 2004
    2
    I don't really see the big deal. It has cool graphics and runs well with 800x600@high on my 2600+ & R9700, but it's boring as hell. And it's about as scary as a useless slasher movie ala Scream or Halloween.
  32. Domicron
    Aug 15, 2004
    5
    If you've got the hardware, it definitely looks pretty - so hats off to Id again for releasing a state of the art game engine. But as far as gameplay goes, total let down. Sure, the first 2 hours of this game are intense, scary, and keep you coming back for more... but give it another 2 hours and you realize that the entire scare factor relies on teleporting in bad guys behind If you've got the hardware, it definitely looks pretty - so hats off to Id again for releasing a state of the art game engine. But as far as gameplay goes, total let down. Sure, the first 2 hours of this game are intense, scary, and keep you coming back for more... but give it another 2 hours and you realize that the entire scare factor relies on teleporting in bad guys behind you...or having a secret door open behind you releasing monsters...and while this isn't bad by in itself, the true problem lies in this game never realizing what it should have been. Doom 2 was about battles - wading through monsters in utter carnage. What this game really needed was some of that interspersed with the dark/scary. Instead, this game proves to be nothing but a stale one trick pony.... hope half life 2 turns out better. Expand
  33. J.S.
    Aug 10, 2004
    6
    I still remember the excitement I felt when I first played the original Doom. Actually I lie; I felt that when I played Wolfenstein 3D first. Here was a game that truly started the 3D revolution - it proved that an immersive, first-person experience was possible on the computer and in my eyes at the time, I saw a future of photorealistic environments obeying the laws of physics where a I still remember the excitement I felt when I first played the original Doom. Actually I lie; I felt that when I played Wolfenstein 3D first. Here was a game that truly started the 3D revolution - it proved that an immersive, first-person experience was possible on the computer and in my eyes at the time, I saw a future of photorealistic environments obeying the laws of physics where a story set in any world imaginable centred around you. As far as I was and are now, concerned this is where computer games will end up; the place where ordinary people can live extraordinary lives. Wolfy3D showed that the photorealism in computer games was going to be achievable, all it needed was a bit more beef under the hood of your PC. And so with relish (and not a little imagination) I ate up Wolfy. Then Doom. The sheer pleasure of exploring a basic, yet fundamentally believable environments - with guns - was every bit the revolution it deserved to be. Then came Doom 2, and I the magic was beginning to fade - I couldn't quite put my finger on it... the graphics were better, there were more demons... but I was enjoying it less... and not for the first time, I was reintroduced to the axiom; gameplay is king. Then came Quake, Quake 2 (fully 3D characters) and a multitude of followers. Every one improving on the previous one's graphics, making the world seem more real, but all forgetting the impetus that led them there. The search for the realistic world in your PC was continuing apace visually, but was neglecting the most importanct aspect; interactivity. Since then, the gaming community has periodically roused from it's creative slumber to give us the likes of Half-Life, Deus-Ex, Morrowind etc. Always we were waiting for what ID did next to point the industry back towards where it will eventually end up. And so we come to Doom 3. What are ID telling us now? Well for one thing, they are telling us that bump and specular mapping with polygon-heavy environs, dynamic lighting, physics, 5.1 sound, 2x antialiasing can run very fast on a moderate system (2.8G, 1G RAM, 9800PRO). To have created such a rich environment and have it run so well is truly impressive. And what they say about game 'polish' should be a lesson to all. Computer panel access, cut-scene integration, PDA, the use of positional sound and lighting - the whole game reeks of the time they took to make sure every last little experience is a cut above what has gone before - although I might have a small gripe about the quality of some bump and spec. maps (even on extreme) which are not always as detailed as some in Far Cry, or the heat effects which again are not always quite as realistic. But these are mere triffles when such a convincing world has been created as in Doom 3. But that is where the good ends. The only other thing to commend ID on is the name; this truly is the third Doom game. You walk into a room, you get attacked. Your press a button, you get attacked. You pick up armour; attacked. Don't look behind you? Attacked. New weapon lying on the ground? Attacked. Not been attacked for a while? Wall opens and you probably get the idea... Worse still, these aren't monsters that are waiting in corridors or ducts that you flush out or hear having an argument - you can't surprise these demons - they appear when you pass the pre-programmed point and not a moment before. Pass the point and you will no doubt hear the noise of a demon being conjured from an electric disturbance nearby (reminiscent of anything?) but even that is not needed. I once walked through a door backwards and saw two spiders literally appear out of nowhere. Okay you may say I am being picky, but that the designers could not have though of a better way to infest a world with shootables is very disappointing. You start to get the impression that ID spend the ENTIRE FIVE YEARS on the engine for this game but a week on the gameplay. Or maybe no time at all? All this really is is Doom 2004. If they took the time to copy the story of Half-Life (science installation goes wrong, opens portal from another dimension which infests installation with beasts), the beginning (walking round installation before disaster) and the method of beast appearance (ball of electricity) - you might as well just swap the word "Xen" with "Hell" - why did they leave out the friendly interaction and AI? Yes, there is NO AI in Doom 3 - demons see you as soon as they appear (i.e. you are close enough - even if hidden) and then go straight for you. The more I play thins game, the more it amazes me that they though so little about the games that have come before it (except Half-Life of course). There is no stealth, no headshots, no need for ammo conservation, no using friendlies, no branching routes, no branching story (you might think there is but there isn't), no respite from attack. No subtlety. Graphically, this game delivers as advertised; it is the benchmark. Concerning gameplay, it competes with the likes of Doom 1 and 2, Quake, Serious Sam etc. Quite how so many reviewers have ignored this is really quite amazing. But I guess there are many people out there who don't realise that gaming is about an immersive experience shaped by the player and the games where you run around shooting stuff that moves is a little... passe. This is a game has no brain and requires none from the player. For a game that took five years where we have lived as Freeman and Denton, I can only be disappointed in that. Expand
  34. Pixelator
    Aug 17, 2004
    6
    Out of this world graphics - even at the lowest setting with all the jazzy options turned off so that it can give me playable frame-rates on my GeForce 4 MX (sorry, I don't think I want to spend four times the price of a game just to be able to play the game). The only other positive thing I can write about this game is that i love the weapon reloading sounds. Apart from that, Out of this world graphics - even at the lowest setting with all the jazzy options turned off so that it can give me playable frame-rates on my GeForce 4 MX (sorry, I don't think I want to spend four times the price of a game just to be able to play the game). The only other positive thing I can write about this game is that i love the weapon reloading sounds. Apart from that, it's pretty much a 10 year old game in a pretty wrapper. Maybe I was dissapointed because I'd just finished Far Cry before starting with Doom3. But then hey, with all the hoopla around it, Doom 3 was supposed to be a better game than Far Cry. It just isn't!!! Expand
  35. Gangleri
    Aug 18, 2004
    3
    I give the game 3 just because of the good engine. Actually I was not impressed. UT2004 looks better. The game is boring and lame. Nothing to do with the old Doom 2 a classic. What spoils the game : 1.Monsters AI -totally lame - they just run to you or shoot from a position . 2. Scripted situations . That make the game unplayable more than 1 time 3. Your character is mute and as it seemsI give the game 3 just because of the good engine. Actually I was not impressed. UT2004 looks better. The game is boring and lame. Nothing to do with the old Doom 2 a classic. What spoils the game : 1.Monsters AI -totally lame - they just run to you or shoot from a position . 2. Scripted situations . That make the game unplayable more than 1 time 3. Your character is mute and as it seems dumb as a rock. 4.The number of monsters does not increase 3-4 max at a time. boring 5. it is not scary at all. It is just dark . 6. no flashlight on the weapons. i think the idea was to shoot at the things in the dark but it is more annoying than scary. 7. Boring movies 8. Boring storyline. I actually tried to play the game for more than 3 days. I really try to like it . The conclusion is : !!!! THE ENGINE DOES NOT MAKE A GAME GREAT !!!! Expand
  36. JeffB.
    Aug 18, 2004
    8
    I am pretty satisfied with the single player action. I think it's almost a little too dark all the time though. It's ok to have some darkness, but I'm not having too much fun being permanently attached to the flashlight. The multiplayer topic though...pretty unforgiveable. In a world where online play is critical to a FPS's survival, it's lucky for Doom that they I am pretty satisfied with the single player action. I think it's almost a little too dark all the time though. It's ok to have some darkness, but I'm not having too much fun being permanently attached to the flashlight. The multiplayer topic though...pretty unforgiveable. In a world where online play is critical to a FPS's survival, it's lucky for Doom that they hyped it up so well. The multiplayer is pretty pathetic. I'm sure that there are patches that will come out and new kinds of servers that will arise, but it's almost insulting to be forced to buy such a crappy multiplayer game ...isn't this supposed to be a "blockbuster"? Expand
  37. Tybo
    Aug 2, 2004
    10
    Simply the most atmospheric game ever! a must buy!
  38. Ryder
    Aug 30, 2004
    6
    Well first off Doom 3 looks amazing. Super detail, heaps of atmosphere, good lookin enemy movement animation's and good lookin enemies. But it also has stupid futuristic guns that are inferior to modern ones. They are balky, weak, (the flashlight does more damage pr hit then the pistol) and stupidly designed, i could have dun better(way better). O ya the physics are substandard and Well first off Doom 3 looks amazing. Super detail, heaps of atmosphere, good lookin enemy movement animation's and good lookin enemies. But it also has stupid futuristic guns that are inferior to modern ones. They are balky, weak, (the flashlight does more damage pr hit then the pistol) and stupidly designed, i could have dun better(way better). O ya the physics are substandard and you should spend more game in hell, hell was sweet. Expand
  39. [Anonymous]
    Aug 3, 2004
    0
    This is actually an engine without a game. Probably the most uninspired and overrated game ever. What a waste of time and money.
  40. PatrickO.
    Aug 3, 2004
    9
    This game rocks! I've never been scared playing a video game before, but this game will make me afraid to go to bed tonight. Monsters jumping out from any and everywhere is one thing we are all familiar with, but hearing the constant screams of hapless victims over the comlink and oh so realistic graphics of this game makes this the scariest game of all time! Cool stuff!!!! The only This game rocks! I've never been scared playing a video game before, but this game will make me afraid to go to bed tonight. Monsters jumping out from any and everywhere is one thing we are all familiar with, but hearing the constant screams of hapless victims over the comlink and oh so realistic graphics of this game makes this the scariest game of all time! Cool stuff!!!! The only downside I see is that the gameplay of running and gunning can get a bit tiring. But that's what Doom is about, right? Expand
  41. Fabre
    Aug 3, 2004
    8
    Higly overrated in my opinion, No real innovation, sadly it is only like the title suggest Doom II with better graphics. Had more Fun playing Far Cry. I give it a 8 for the beauty and for keeping me busy while I wait for Half-Life 2.
  42. PoteD.
    Aug 4, 2004
    9
    1? 0? Honestly, I don't know who these people think they are kidding. It might sound intelligent to speak of a lack of gameplay and of the critics lauding the game on a superficial basis, but it sure doesn't when what you're claiming is absolute backward nonsense. Everything from the design to the pacing to the art direction is positively unbelievable, and you're just 1? 0? Honestly, I don't know who these people think they are kidding. It might sound intelligent to speak of a lack of gameplay and of the critics lauding the game on a superficial basis, but it sure doesn't when what you're claiming is absolute backward nonsense. Everything from the design to the pacing to the art direction is positively unbelievable, and you're just going to sound like the silly, blinded and bitter fool that you are to suggest otherwise. Only a 9 because it takes a game of the scope and spectacle of say...Half-Life ;) to earn a 10. Expand
  43. Kekojones
    Aug 4, 2004
    9
    Great game...it will make ya crap your pants.
  44. B.T.
    Aug 5, 2004
    9
    The last poster gave it a bad score because he has a piece of crap computer. Wow, that's fair. Just because you won't upgrade your PC doesn't mean the game is bad. For the record, Doom 3 may not be innovative, but the incredible level design, atmosphere, and attention to detail make it a very good FPS. Highly recommended.
  45. GregA.
    Aug 5, 2004
    8
    WOW this game is drop dead beautiful. Its just a little too dark and scary for my taste. Can't to wait to play mods and other games based on the great engine.
  46. AndrewP.
    Aug 5, 2004
    7
    This game deserves an 11 in graphics, sounds, effects, etc..., but as for the story goes, its your typical shoot'm up Doom story. Chase the bad guy, find keys, back track, beat the Devil! I thought the AI could have been better. Creatures hiding in places the same time, ie behind bookshelves and walls, got to be old. I thought Call of Duty had better AI than this. But the up side to This game deserves an 11 in graphics, sounds, effects, etc..., but as for the story goes, its your typical shoot'm up Doom story. Chase the bad guy, find keys, back track, beat the Devil! I thought the AI could have been better. Creatures hiding in places the same time, ie behind bookshelves and walls, got to be old. I thought Call of Duty had better AI than this. But the up side to this game is there is a great game engine to work off of for better games finally. I expect HL2 to out due Doom 3. Expand
  47. AlanB.
    Aug 5, 2004
    7
    Sweet graphics, dated gameplay. And the design is stolen right out of Aliens the movie. Nothing new here just pretty visual and very predictable gameplay. For action play Unreal, for scrary play silent hill, for pretty play Doom3.
  48. Lyle
    Aug 6, 2004
    9
    Wow. 9.5 is my real score. What a shooter! I am normally not a fan of straightforward action games. This one I am a big fan of. I'm a hardcore RPG'er normally but I have to say that this game doesn't really need anymore story because it does the things it does so well. I actually think the PDA thing is pretty cool. The atmosphere sucks you in. And bottom line.. IT'S Wow. 9.5 is my real score. What a shooter! I am normally not a fan of straightforward action games. This one I am a big fan of. I'm a hardcore RPG'er normally but I have to say that this game doesn't really need anymore story because it does the things it does so well. I actually think the PDA thing is pretty cool. The atmosphere sucks you in. And bottom line.. IT'S VERY FUN TO PLAY!!! A great experience. Knocked off half a point for fishy AI. Beautiful game ID! Thanks! Expand
  49. Alen44
    Aug 6, 2004
    8
    Good, but it ain't Halo.
  50. LizaS.45
    Aug 6, 2004
    8
    Made all the less impressive by the graphics crown already belonging to the excellent Far Cry.
  51. BrianJ.
    Aug 7, 2004
    6
    I've just purchased the game and played through the first two levels. I'll admit, the creatures look scary as heck and they often do startle me when they jump out, growl, and attack. The visuals are stunning...really stunning. Using the flashlight and coming across a zombie or alien-thing is the creepiest. I don't get the sense that the AI is all that bright. So far its I've just purchased the game and played through the first two levels. I'll admit, the creatures look scary as heck and they often do startle me when they jump out, growl, and attack. The visuals are stunning...really stunning. Using the flashlight and coming across a zombie or alien-thing is the creepiest. I don't get the sense that the AI is all that bright. So far its mostly close quarters battling with the shotgun or the machine gun. You can pretty much march through the game and aim at the creatures faces with the shotgun. For me, this game is not as fun as the Jedi-Knight Academy game in which, even if the levels get repetiitive, you can find new ways to destroy everyone with force powers. With Doom, you still just run around looking for ammo, using your flashlight and shooting up stuff. Occasionally, you have to read other people's e-mail to get codes to open up their lock boxes to get, guess what, ammo, health, and body shields. It's an amusement park ride, pure and simple. It will probably entertain you if you know what you are getting into. If you want to be creeped out and startled, its a good buy. Is it worth 50 bucks? Well, not for the gameplay...perhaps for the visuals and audio. Expand
  52. MarcW.
    Aug 8, 2004
    9
    The single most beautiful game I have ever played. The presentation level for this game is so astoundingly high...you won't be able to look any other game without feeling strangely empty. The sound is solid and the menus sport a degree of polish which is close to the standard of visuals. However, the gameplay simply is too linear and isn't innovative in the way games such as The single most beautiful game I have ever played. The presentation level for this game is so astoundingly high...you won't be able to look any other game without feeling strangely empty. The sound is solid and the menus sport a degree of polish which is close to the standard of visuals. However, the gameplay simply is too linear and isn't innovative in the way games such as Half-Life was. Overall though, this is the best single player 1st person shooter of the year. A milestone in the evolution of games from a technical standpoint. Expand
  53. BobB.
    Aug 8, 2004
    5
    Too linear... a half life clone nice graphics and atmosphere though boring until the last quarter of the game.
  54. AaronG.
    Aug 9, 2004
    8
    Doom III is essentially doom with better graphics. Period! Yes the lighting engine makes the game spookier, but with the ability to save your game every 5 sec., there is no sense of danger and no sense of OH CRAP when you die. What REALLY bothers me is how professional review sights are gushing over the graphics. Yes the game has the best character models ever, but the environmental Doom III is essentially doom with better graphics. Period! Yes the lighting engine makes the game spookier, but with the ability to save your game every 5 sec., there is no sense of danger and no sense of OH CRAP when you die. What REALLY bothers me is how professional review sights are gushing over the graphics. Yes the game has the best character models ever, but the environmental textures are AWFUL. Try walking up to a wall or console. It looks workse than the original unreal tournament engine. Far Cry was a far superior game in terms of AI, gameplay, and even humor. The trigents freaked me out more than anything Doom 3 offered up because dying actually had consequences. AND while the character models aren't as good, the environment in Far Cry was infinitely superior. The fact that Doom III got a higher rating than Far Cry is just more proof that most reviewers are not doing their job. If you want more proof, just look at the reviews of Master of Orion III (which came out broken and was getting 9's and 10's). Expand
  55. LordYupa
    Aug 9, 2004
    8
    ID invented FPS and somehow got lost within its own skills. An excellent engine that is the most advanced tech-demo ever seen (until now) wraps the game that we all played more than 10 years ago. I have the deepest admiration for Carmack team achievements and they deserve respect. But simply they doesn't know anything about gameplay. Somebody should give them a GBA or gamecube as a ID invented FPS and somehow got lost within its own skills. An excellent engine that is the most advanced tech-demo ever seen (until now) wraps the game that we all played more than 10 years ago. I have the deepest admiration for Carmack team achievements and they deserve respect. But simply they doesn't know anything about gameplay. Somebody should give them a GBA or gamecube as a present. I give a 8 because Doom3 will push other publishers with great ideas to use THIS very technology to present their new products. The Doom heritage. Expand
  56. DaveH.
    Sep 18, 2004
    5
    Distinctly average. All looks and no substance. Another ID classic.
  57. Chimp
    Sep 19, 2004
    8
    First of all, let me point out that most people have this idea of doom 3 of being some amazing game that requires nothing less than a pentium 4 with a geforce 6800 or whatever to run on high settings with a good framerate. On my 2.0ghz amd athlon xp with 512 ram and a geforceFX5700(all of that didnt cost more than $500) it runs great on high setting with 1024 res. OK but now onto the First of all, let me point out that most people have this idea of doom 3 of being some amazing game that requires nothing less than a pentium 4 with a geforce 6800 or whatever to run on high settings with a good framerate. On my 2.0ghz amd athlon xp with 512 ram and a geforceFX5700(all of that didnt cost more than $500) it runs great on high setting with 1024 res. OK but now onto the game. Yes, yes, the graphics and sound is amazing. And i mean AMAZING. the shadows and reflections, the textures, the demonic howls and everything else really feels like your there. the atmosphere is great, and the many dark rooms are really cool at first, but then they do start getting a bit annoying. and yes if youre just the type of gamer who wants to walk through the game and take in the sights and sounds, too bad. even on easy enemies take several bullets to go down. the normal hand to hand zombies are easy, but once you start fighting faster, ranged enemies, it will get quite hard if your not experienced with shooters, especially since its so often hard to see. if youre used to shooters its not gonna give you to many headaches. but i think the developers should of put in a very easy setting for people who just want to see the game, not have to worry about getting shot in the dark every five seconds. Expand
  58. Id
    Sep 23, 2004
    9
    Man this is one scary game. play it with the lights off and the sound up at night otherwise its pointless. very well executed but can be too dark and easy difficulty is too hard for "easy," it should be normal and there should be an even easier difficutly.
  59. AnonymousMC
    Sep 6, 2004
    6
    The graphics are the only thing this game has going for itself. The gameplay seems average and the level designs are interesting but at time very hard to navigate. While I understand the dark levels in the game were supposed to create fear, but it really just left me in frustration more often than being scared. Also, the weapons are very WEAK!!! I started playing the game on easy justThe graphics are the only thing this game has going for itself. The gameplay seems average and the level designs are interesting but at time very hard to navigate. While I understand the dark levels in the game were supposed to create fear, but it really just left me in frustration more often than being scared. Also, the weapons are very WEAK!!! I started playing the game on easy just to have a fun blast fest... and instead I was cursing at the high difficulty level for easy. Playing Doom 3 on the internet also left me feeling disappointed because many of the maps were boring to play through. Return to Castle Wolfenstein was better. Expand
  60. BarryC.
    Sep 6, 2004
    8
    It's doom, what more can you say. some people obviously wanted more than that. the middle gets a bit repetitive i'd have to say but the initial hours of scares and then eventually travelling to hell more than make up for it. i had to laugh at the guy/girl proclaiming "don't believe the hype" and then "roll on duke nukem forever".
  61. SteveH.
    Jan 3, 2005
    5
    The game was bogged down by the constant need to listen to audio logs, watch video discs, and read e-mails. Additionally, the first 2/3rds of the levels were highly repetitive. I only persisted because I wanted to see the ending. But I don't want to be entirely negative. The last third was a lot of fun though. Graphics were nice too.
  62. AnonymousMC
    Apr 3, 2005
    0
    This game is gawd awful. i cant even begin to describe how terrible it is. the weapons are constantly getting jmmed and you have to wait for 5 MINUTES just so they can get fixed and cleaned. i have never played a game as stupid as this. seriously, you have to fight god as the final boss. stupid as hell.
  63. AnonymousMC
    Apr 6, 2005
    0
    Graphics are god-awful and the ammount of leaks in the levels is enourmous. theres so many problems with it, i cant even begin to tell you. the enemies are all the same, attacks and health wise, and the games so easy, its stupid. no to mention the fact that the main character is homosexual is very uncomfortable. Prove your faith to god? wtf are you talking about! this is a GAME! You needGraphics are god-awful and the ammount of leaks in the levels is enourmous. theres so many problems with it, i cant even begin to tell you. the enemies are all the same, attacks and health wise, and the games so easy, its stupid. no to mention the fact that the main character is homosexual is very uncomfortable. Prove your faith to god? wtf are you talking about! this is a GAME! You need to get that into your head. you have no life if you take this game that seriously. Expand
  64. AlB.
    May 16, 2005
    9
    Fantastic tense, and in the case of Hell, just plain jaw-droppingly amazing!
  65. JK
    Jul 30, 2005
    10
    Very intense game, full of non-stop action.
  66. AnonymousMC
    Oct 26, 2006
    9
    I give this game a 9. I loved the game very much although it was pretty much liniear (thats why minus 1 point). Monsters and zombies suddenly appear out of dark places scared me the first few times but afterwards you knew that they would be comming but still it still scared me sometimes. Now this is also a reaction too [Anonymous] who said that the only "legitamate" way to beat the game isI give this game a 9. I loved the game very much although it was pretty much liniear (thats why minus 1 point). Monsters and zombies suddenly appear out of dark places scared me the first few times but afterwards you knew that they would be comming but still it still scared me sometimes. Now this is also a reaction too [Anonymous] who said that the only "legitamate" way to beat the game is with an ingame cheat. Well you really DONT need cheats to beat this game and thats a fact. I also want to say something about the storyline since many people are saying its not worked out, not good etc etc. Doom 3 is a remake of Doom 1. And as most people know, Doom 1 didnt had much of a story line. But most people loved that game and so did I. Doom 3 doesnt have much as a storyline aswell but its defenitly better than the one from Doom 1. Expand
  67. ElfrancheT.
    Jun 10, 2006
    9
    A legend among suspense games. The cold, Sci-Fi decors are well done. Lots of detail. Above average monster design. Nice when played slowly and undisturbed.
  68. AnonymousMC
    Jul 29, 2006
    4
    great graphics, long, good-processed storylne. But dont plan on getting the epic adventure(s) we all got from half life(1). Like a few others said, this is just another diluted fps as seen on halo2 and battlefield. its the same as all the other dooms. you're a marine thatgets sent over to investigate a distress from this science team, youkill a few things, you go to hell and,great graphics, long, good-processed storylne. But dont plan on getting the epic adventure(s) we all got from half life(1). Like a few others said, this is just another diluted fps as seen on halo2 and battlefield. its the same as all the other dooms. you're a marine thatgets sent over to investigate a distress from this science team, youkill a few things, you go to hell and, you're the only survivor in the end. not to mention the fact the ID used the same engine for quake4. and finally the gameplay. what is the matter with the people that layout the game? the only legitamate way to beat the game is to use at least 1 of the ingame cheats or you have some bot to do it for you. bad call ID, bad call. Expand
  69. DonG.
    Sep 29, 2006
    9
    Loved it! Graphics are great!
  70. AngusM.
    Sep 7, 2006
    3
    Seriously disappointing. Yes, the graphics are lovely. The game, however, is tedious. One long procession of entering dimly lit rooms then waiting for the monsters to spawn or jump out of cubbyholes. Sure, the first couple times that zombies or imps jump out at you from the dark are exciting, but after the 30th time in an hour, it's just annoying. Unfortunately, that's also the Seriously disappointing. Yes, the graphics are lovely. The game, however, is tedious. One long procession of entering dimly lit rooms then waiting for the monsters to spawn or jump out of cubbyholes. Sure, the first couple times that zombies or imps jump out at you from the dark are exciting, but after the 30th time in an hour, it's just annoying. Unfortunately, that's also the entire game. Expand
  71. WilliamT.
    Nov 9, 2007
    8
    While it lacks most of the crazy blastiness that its forefathers so rightly hold, Doom 3 is still a game you should invest in. Not particulary scary or innovative but when you are shooting demons from Hell, it doesn't have to be.
  72. TomG.
    May 6, 2007
    10
    After 10 years of nothing but Quake, and Hexen releases from id Software, they perfect the tricks of the trade, and pump out Doom 3. The level of quality put into their graphics engine is just incredible, with the bump mapping, specular highlights, and the shadowing system, which is superior to F.E.A.R.'s, in that when you shine your light on the corner of an object, it casts a After 10 years of nothing but Quake, and Hexen releases from id Software, they perfect the tricks of the trade, and pump out Doom 3. The level of quality put into their graphics engine is just incredible, with the bump mapping, specular highlights, and the shadowing system, which is superior to F.E.A.R.'s, in that when you shine your light on the corner of an object, it casts a shadow, unlike F.E.A.R. The weapon effects are downright perfect, and does a damn good job of revitalizing an aging franchise. Expand
  73. FrikaseeJ.
    Aug 10, 2007
    9
    I'd just like to step in and save the day for Doom 3. Those of you giving this a crappy score obviously have no idea what doom is. Doom was created back in th 90's for the sole purpose of running around and shooting demons. We never asked Doom for a good storline, just for bigger guns. Just shutup and enjoy killing things on your gruesome crusade through a well-designed Hell. I'd just like to step in and save the day for Doom 3. Those of you giving this a crappy score obviously have no idea what doom is. Doom was created back in th 90's for the sole purpose of running around and shooting demons. We never asked Doom for a good storline, just for bigger guns. Just shutup and enjoy killing things on your gruesome crusade through a well-designed Hell. Also, for you absolute morons who whined about the lack of a sniper rifle... What!?! What are you gonna do? Zoom in on the fine hairs of the demons as they charge for you. There was no distance, it was all in your face fun. Expand
  74. SomeBody
    Aug 10, 2007
    10
    This is awesome! I'm a hardcore fan of the DooM series, and I think this lives up to that legacy. I couldn't care less if it was "revolutionary", because a game could have ultra-new crap and still suck (look at Halo :() A fun romp.
  75. AnthonyO.
    Aug 10, 2007
    7
    Before I say anything let me inform you that I have been an ID follower since Wolfenstein 3D and I don't mean since I first played it I mean since it's release. So you can imagine my excitement when Doom 3 came out. I basically got a new pc for the sole purpose of playing massive amounts of Doom 3 and future games. When I first played D3, I was blown away. I couldn't Before I say anything let me inform you that I have been an ID follower since Wolfenstein 3D and I don't mean since I first played it I mean since it's release. So you can imagine my excitement when Doom 3 came out. I basically got a new pc for the sole purpose of playing massive amounts of Doom 3 and future games. When I first played D3, I was blown away. I couldn't believe that the graphics were so incredible, and at first the gameplay seemed fantastic and mind blowing. I got scared out of my mind playing the first time and when playing again on veteran almost crapped myself a few times. Here comes the turn in my review. After playing the game through once and playing a few times and having the gloss fade off of my long awaited ID games fix, I realized the game for what it is. A large dissappointment to the Doom franchise and to ID games also. Sure the graphics kick ass, the guns are cool, and the game scares the bejeezus out of you, but that's pretty much it when it comes to depth. The plot had my held captive till about half way through when I started to completely ignore my PDA. Unlike Doom 1 and 2 I NEVER EVER had trouble finding where to go, and also unlike it's predescesors secrets that were required to progress through the level were nonexistant. I mean I still enjoyed progressing through the interesting areas of the base they designed but when i'd get to a new area I wouldn't really feel a sense of accomplishment. I am really torn when reviewing this game because part of me loves it and still plays it, but the biggest thing with me is that I would love it SO much more if it was released under a totally different name than the Doom franchise. Also WTF happened to Flynn Peter Taggart!?!?! Being a massive Doom nerd I even read all the books and became even more attached to our bloody-faced hero from D1 and 2 but then he is completely forgotten about in this game! Before I end my review the last thing I will say is this game would have gotten at least another point from me if it had an earth stage. I know that based on the plot that wouldn't make sense but being that the plot was shallow and unsubmersive I would have preffered they change the plot to cater for this. I still recommend the game after all of this simple because it is the ONLY game/movie/piece of media that has the ability to actually scare me. Also I find that the multiplayer can be very fun but certainly nothing new and does not even come close to the action available in DoD and CS. Again recommended but keep in mind this will not give you that fantastic feel the first time you played Doom 1. Hell when Doom 2 came out I felt more excited and they just threw in a few more monsters and a SINGLE new weapon that although useful was visually unspectacular. Just goes to show how far level creation can go. Expand
  76. JamesC.
    Aug 2, 2007
    4
    This is just simply a high graphics shooter with mediocre everything else. Mediocre gameplay, less than mediocre plot, and more than anything else mediocre level design. Unless you like your games shallow, this game will feel like a chore to play after you get 25% through the game.
  77. MatthewB.
    Aug 26, 2007
    9
    Damn fun game. One of the creepiest atmospheres ever in a video game.
  78. JakeC.
    Aug 4, 2007
    10
    Perhaps one of the best games i have ever played doom goes all the way.
  79. NateM.
    Aug 7, 2007
    9
    Linear, but true to the doom series. Absolutely beautiful graphics, Intense gameplay, and scary to boot. Id has held true to the original series and then some, with a new installment. Anyone who has given this game an 7 or below is either opinionated, stupid, or flame bait.
  80. Mine
    Feb 1, 2008
    3
    Boring and dull game. The only color is black. Senseless game.
  81. MichaelO.
    Jul 15, 2008
    10
    If you like Scary game this game is for YOU It will scare the living out of you.
  82. RodrigoG.
    Sep 7, 2008
    2
    When it comes to show off the power of the id Tech 4 engine, Doom 3 is a triumph. However, it is supposed to be a game, not a tech demo. And as a game, it is terrible. Enemies often spawn in manners that leave the player without a chance of reaction, unless he knows beforehand where they will appear; getting hit is too disorienting, although the enemies do not seem to get disoriented by When it comes to show off the power of the id Tech 4 engine, Doom 3 is a triumph. However, it is supposed to be a game, not a tech demo. And as a game, it is terrible. Enemies often spawn in manners that leave the player without a chance of reaction, unless he knows beforehand where they will appear; getting hit is too disorienting, although the enemies do not seem to get disoriented by the player's fire at all; the weapons take too long to reload, and the enemies take too much fire to die; the whole game is too bleak, repetitive, and frustrating to be enjoyable. One can even wonder if it was developed in the same mindset as the infamous "Takeshi's Challenge" - a game intended, not to amuse, but to frustrate and infuriate. That would make sense, the plot is about a journey into hell after all. Artistic, in a sense, I suppose. Fun? No. Expand
  83. abcdef
    Jan 6, 2009
    8
    OK this a more a review on these user reviews than Doom 3. First I think I should clear up a few things, as many of these user reviews are entirely wrong. So wrong in fact that it seems as if they've played another game, couldn't remember its name and then for some reason come to the conclusion that the game that they played was called Doom 3. For example, Andy D mentions a OK this a more a review on these user reviews than Doom 3. First I think I should clear up a few things, as many of these user reviews are entirely wrong. So wrong in fact that it seems as if they've played another game, couldn't remember its name and then for some reason come to the conclusion that the game that they played was called Doom 3. For example, Andy D mentions a level where you go to heaven and become an angel. Don't know what he's talking about as there's no such level. Benjamin L mentions a gravity gun. That's in the game's expansion pack and not in the game itself. He also complains that there's only one boss in the entire game, which is ridiculous considering that there's 4 very distinct bosses and some encounters which can be considered mini-boss battles. The list of inaccuracies goes on, as people who claim to have only played the game for 15 minutes reckon they can review it. I reckon it takes a while to really get into any game. Doom 3 is a very repetitive and basic FPS and it's not all that scary but it does have an eerie and tense environment and some very good moments. Most Doom fans wanted to see their favourite child hood game remade and that's exactly what ID have done and they've accomplished this very well. It allows fans to play the original Doom games but now it looks and plays much better. If Doom 3 had an extensive plot and a set of new weapons all with alternative ammo and firing modes it still would have been canned by gamers for destroying the Doom franchise. If you gave this game a 0 its because you don't like FPS horror survival games...so if you're not a fan of the genre why are you playing and reviewing this game. If you are fan of this genre and gave it a 0 then there's something wrong considering that this is much more fun than most horror survival FPS' and has a far simpler plot than all the others which attempt stories which are usually convoluted or undeveloped, like F.E.A.R or Condemned. Expand
  84. DavidS.
    Oct 7, 2009
    9
    You know, I didn't pay full price for this game, so maybe my opinion is biased, but I'm actually having quite a lot of fun. It's not Penumbra: Overture terrifying, but the atmosphere is tense. The weapons aren't anything terribly unique, but they are actually quite well designed with nice little details (for instance, the SMG will leave smoke hovering in the air if You know, I didn't pay full price for this game, so maybe my opinion is biased, but I'm actually having quite a lot of fun. It's not Penumbra: Overture terrifying, but the atmosphere is tense. The weapons aren't anything terribly unique, but they are actually quite well designed with nice little details (for instance, the SMG will leave smoke hovering in the air if fired for an extended period of time). The actual action was, in my opinion, very fun and visceral. Although more destructible environments would have been a plus, and corpses staying on the ground after dying would have been nice too, I think I actually prefer the combat in Doom 3 to the combat in FEAR (yes, I said it). If you want an experience more akin to the original Dooms, pick up the amazing game 'Painkiller'. But if you want an evolved version of Doom, this is a great game to play. Expand
  85. DanielC.
    Oct 13, 2004
    6
    As an avid FPS gamer I am disappointed. It's just another standard Id shooter; all looks and no substance and just feels like an old game packaged in a new, shiny box. Frankly, the only thing going for this game is the graphics. Doom 3 held a lot of promise but in the end falls flat on its face. Id may be a master of computer graphics but they couldn't make a good game to save As an avid FPS gamer I am disappointed. It's just another standard Id shooter; all looks and no substance and just feels like an old game packaged in a new, shiny box. Frankly, the only thing going for this game is the graphics. Doom 3 held a lot of promise but in the end falls flat on its face. Id may be a master of computer graphics but they couldn't make a good game to save their lives. Expand
  86. MattB.
    Oct 19, 2004
    10
    Great graphics, great sound, great atmosphere, great story. Enough said.
  87. OpiateC.
    Oct 22, 2004
    2
    This game is boring. It's a pretty version of the old doom games. People are saying its great that it kept the doom fomula. Games are about evolving a concept. If we kept doing make overs of games we would have pretty side scrolling mario clones and nothing more. i can have the same experience with doom 2. Realistically this is an average, repetitive, boring pretty shooter. OMG like far cry.
  88. Passive
    Dec 2, 2004
    10
    The most graphically accoomplished game ever, a real treat for people who want to die (of claustrophobia, fear, heart attack, etc.). This game's all about the atmosphere, not much to say about the gamelay except 'normal', lets see what the expansion pack has in store for us.
  89. MegatronDecepticon
    Dec 28, 2004
    0
    No plot,xbox makes better graphic visuals on riddick,no self -shadowing,no bullet stay,crapy wall textures reminding older doom versions,pretty boring after 2 hours,I "ve seen scarrier games.Far Cry and Riddick beat the s**t out of this poor and hyped game in terms of both gameplay and graphics!!Is anyone that blind to support the hype and not the game itself???This is a casual gamers No plot,xbox makes better graphic visuals on riddick,no self -shadowing,no bullet stay,crapy wall textures reminding older doom versions,pretty boring after 2 hours,I "ve seen scarrier games.Far Cry and Riddick beat the s**t out of this poor and hyped game in terms of both gameplay and graphics!!Is anyone that blind to support the hype and not the game itself???This is a casual gamers game,not for the truly hardcore!Support the hole expierience of the game ,not the hype!! Expand
  90. AnonymousMC
    Jul 22, 2004
    0
    This is wasted throwback to the old days. Dont buy this. It will either bore you to death or make you wish you actually had all the money needed to buy the machine that can play this.
    JK

    Now go line up and make it sell out faster than the DVD version of UT2004
  91. JohelV.
    Aug 10, 2004
    7
    Just as expected: doom3 doesn't beat the originals! Great graphics, sometimes absolutely stunning, though the surroundings' darkness is too omnipresent. Any way, beyond the eye candy, the game lacks the same thing EVERY FPS I've played lacks - excluding such classics as Wolfenstein and the original dooms (and maybe quake): unscripted surprises. Why can't they just Just as expected: doom3 doesn't beat the originals! Great graphics, sometimes absolutely stunning, though the surroundings' darkness is too omnipresent. Any way, beyond the eye candy, the game lacks the same thing EVERY FPS I've played lacks - excluding such classics as Wolfenstein and the original dooms (and maybe quake): unscripted surprises. Why can't they just concentrate on the gameplay? In doom 1 or 2, the whole level could be alive at some places, and the voices around weren't just scripted or an omen of an enemy behind the next corner. It could a voice of an enemy that has been following you for the latest 10 minutes, and just about to get to you! This DOES NOT exist in Doom3 nor any other modern eye-candy game, where all the effort is in the visuals and "cool" pre-determined scenes. Besides, these "scripted sequences" lack imagination in doom3 and with the combination of the whole game being so dark, it gets so damn repetitive. And a couple of other things: hits to a particular body part, especially head, should be more rewarding. Also,.there is NO way in hell the Doom3 boomstick could even nearly compare to the original shotgun in Doom1 & Doom2... Make a REAL Doom with modern graphics and effects, and then I'll be satisfied! This is not Doom, this is a mere Alien versus predator with Doom's enemies. As things are now, for me the original dooms still remain the absolute kings in the history of FPS games! Living environment, that's what I want!! Doom 1 & 2 Forever! Expand
  92. ChazD.
    Aug 11, 2004
    7
    Having just beat the game minutes ago, I felt it was time to chime in with my thoughts... To my disappointment as much as anyones, Doom 3 is not the revolution we had hoped for. It's been said in every post below, and I'll say it again - the game looks amazing. In fact, I often kept playing just because it was more enjoyable to watch than any of my other games, but that's Having just beat the game minutes ago, I felt it was time to chime in with my thoughts... To my disappointment as much as anyones, Doom 3 is not the revolution we had hoped for. It's been said in every post below, and I'll say it again - the game looks amazing. In fact, I often kept playing just because it was more enjoyable to watch than any of my other games, but that's where it stops. You start out the game and can't help but gawk at the scenery, but it soon becomes second nature, and but a few short hours later you will come to realize this game is mediocre at best. The plot (when present) is rather lackluster, but still interesting, and the gameplay is "boring as Hell" (ironic, no?). Plan accordingly... - Chaz Expand
  93. LokeszHarm
    Aug 12, 2004
    4
    Ok, Europe speaking. Got this game 5 hours ago. After reading the US reviews i thought this could not be a bad purchase! Want to here more? I can hardly control my frustration and whipe this horrible game of me disk. It has the same visual qualities as the orignal Unreal game! But only after you pay 2000 $$$ for hardware! Otherwise, it is just has the same visual level as the original Ok, Europe speaking. Got this game 5 hours ago. After reading the US reviews i thought this could not be a bad purchase! Want to here more? I can hardly control my frustration and whipe this horrible game of me disk. It has the same visual qualities as the orignal Unreal game! But only after you pay 2000 $$$ for hardware! Otherwise, it is just has the same visual level as the original Unreal. Do your purse a favour and buy the original Unreal for 2 bucks! Expand
  94. Signal
    Aug 12, 2004
    8
    Like everyone else has said so far: Amazing graphics, but basically the same as Doom 2. Only this time, instead of randomly running around a map until you find the exit, this game will guide you from point to point through a series of scripted events that unfold the plot. Also, about half the time you will be in complete darkness using your flashlight to light the way (this may be a turn Like everyone else has said so far: Amazing graphics, but basically the same as Doom 2. Only this time, instead of randomly running around a map until you find the exit, this game will guide you from point to point through a series of scripted events that unfold the plot. Also, about half the time you will be in complete darkness using your flashlight to light the way (this may be a turn off to many gamers). Other than that, the spooky atmosphere they created is amazing and very immersive. Also, it's important to note that graphics resolution is NOT important when playing this game. If the game is playing slowly on your mid-to-upper range system, drop the resolution to 640x480 while keeping all the other graphic options turned on. Trust me, the game will still look AMAZING. Or better yet, just hit the button that lets the game scan your hardware and determine the best settings FOR you. Expand
  95. Abdullah
    Aug 13, 2004
    8
    Great game. Good sound effects and the best grafix on earth. Wasnt that scary. A must buy for all the FPS fans.
  96. H.Raggende
    Aug 13, 2004
    3
    Am I blind or should I clean my glasses! Where are those beautiful graphics everyone talks about? I can agree that creatures and people look more realistic than in most other games. But the environment does not look good. You are not expected to have a resolution above 1024 x 768 which means that strait lines do not look like strait lines. Most of us have to get down to 800 x 600 and then Am I blind or should I clean my glasses! Where are those beautiful graphics everyone talks about? I can agree that creatures and people look more realistic than in most other games. But the environment does not look good. You are not expected to have a resolution above 1024 x 768 which means that strait lines do not look like strait lines. Most of us have to get down to 800 x 600 and then every line or edge looks like a saw-blade. I tried high quality at 1280 x 1024 just to look at the graphics. Anyone noticed that the contrast is too high, the shadows too black? Feels like wearing sunglasses at night. It is just stupid and does nothing to add to the experience. Very disappointing! Expand
  97. AnonymousMC
    Aug 13, 2004
    3
    Am I blind or should I clean my glasses! Where are those beautiful graphics everyone talks about? I can agree that creatures and people look more realistic than in most other games. But the environment does not look good. You are not expected to have a resolution above 1024 x 768 which means that strait lines do not look like strait lines. Most of us have to get down to 800 x 600 and then Am I blind or should I clean my glasses! Where are those beautiful graphics everyone talks about? I can agree that creatures and people look more realistic than in most other games. But the environment does not look good. You are not expected to have a resolution above 1024 x 768 which means that strait lines do not look like strait lines. Most of us have to get down to 800 x 600 and then every line or edge looks like a saw-blade. I tried high quality at 1280 x 1024 just to look at the graphics. Anyone noticed that the contrast is too high, the shadows too black? Feels like wearing sunglasses at night. It is just stupid and does nothing to add to the experience. Very disappointing! Expand
  98. HanMan
    Aug 13, 2004
    9
    Anyone who's reading this is obviously considering to buy this game. Now its this simple...Buy it. You have never played a game that looks like this before. It has to be played to be believed. That's reason 1. Reson 2: This is Doom for chrissake!! Just buy it. It's a great game with some amazing Design and programming to boot. Dont compare this game to Far Cry or Half Life. Anyone who's reading this is obviously considering to buy this game. Now its this simple...Buy it. You have never played a game that looks like this before. It has to be played to be believed. That's reason 1. Reson 2: This is Doom for chrissake!! Just buy it. It's a great game with some amazing Design and programming to boot. Dont compare this game to Far Cry or Half Life. ID created this genre. Expand
  99. BatmanMonkey
    Aug 14, 2004
    10
    "Ok, Europe speaking. Got this game 5 hours ago. After reading the US reviews i thought this could not be a bad purchase! Want to hear more? I can hardly control my frustration and whipe this horrible game of me disk. It has the same visual qualities as the orignal Unreal game! But only after you pay 2000 $$$ for hardware! Otherwise, it is just has the same visual level as the original "Ok, Europe speaking. Got this game 5 hours ago. After reading the US reviews i thought this could not be a bad purchase! Want to hear more? I can hardly control my frustration and whipe this horrible game of me disk. It has the same visual qualities as the orignal Unreal game! But only after you pay 2000 $$$ for hardware! Otherwise, it is just has the same visual level as the original Unreal. Do your purse a favour and buy the original Unreal for 2 bucks! " Either Europe doesnt have good graphic cards or a good version of Doom 3...or you are BLIND or have completely screwed up eyes Unreal and Unreal 2 suck!!!!!!!! but Unreal tournaments are cool... Expand
  100. HarmLokesz
    Aug 16, 2004
    10
    After a weekend of tuning I feel the need to explain the rather negative review I posted before. 1) This game is build on OpenGL graphics and seems to be more demanding on your processor for presenting graphics. 2) ATI was the second choice graphics card for the developers. The first evening I started the game on its recommended settings my P4 1.5 ( 512RIMM) and ATI 9600XT could not After a weekend of tuning I feel the need to explain the rather negative review I posted before. 1) This game is build on OpenGL graphics and seems to be more demanding on your processor for presenting graphics. 2) ATI was the second choice graphics card for the developers. The first evening I started the game on its recommended settings my P4 1.5 ( 512RIMM) and ATI 9600XT could not deliver a decent game, no matter what I tried. I had terrible frame rates AND the visual presentation was sad. One could say that a 'new generation' game should have offered more help by its manual. Tweakcom.com published a great guide with which I corrected the problems at my computer and now I am able to enjoy the game as it was intended! I am about halfway the game now and brings on memories of good old times. It just gives the same emotions as the first FPS I once played long ago: Quake 1. This must be a 10 in the category of First Person Shooters. I dont think this game should be recommended to everyone. Not the whole world is full of passionate diabolics. As I see it now I personally would rate it between 8 and 9. (I posted a 10 as compensation for the negative earlier rating, not that I am afraid of Batman, but the corners ARE a bit dark the last few days.) Expand
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 83 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 77 out of 83
  2. Negative: 0 out of 83
  1. The graphics are amazing (mind you, even on a mediocre system), the sound is amazing (if you don’t have a 5.1 system yet, consider it), and the game is downright scary.
  2. DOOM 3 smashes through all the hype and delivers a grand slam of action, story, atmosphere, and pure terror.
  3. So perfectly constructed, so deliciously immersive and downright elegant, that demands for more seem crass. It might not be the very best shooter out there, but it's the more visually stunning and successfully atmospheric than any game we've had the pleasure to play.