Doom 3 PC

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 943 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. D.Railer
    Aug 6, 2004
    8
    Awesome graphics, an interesting story so far... realistic lighting... most of it is wonderful. Major kudos on the computer screen interfaces, my jaw has been on the floor for many levels. But a couple odd "game" rules interfere with the sense of... say... fairness. id has always been the king of cheap attacks, since Quake 2... closets/cubby holes for bad guys... ridiculous! The same Awesome graphics, an interesting story so far... realistic lighting... most of it is wonderful. Major kudos on the computer screen interfaces, my jaw has been on the floor for many levels. But a couple odd "game" rules interfere with the sense of... say... fairness. id has always been the king of cheap attacks, since Quake 2... closets/cubby holes for bad guys... ridiculous! The same thing happens here... I wouldn't even mind it if the bad guys came THROUGH the walls because they are "ghosts" or when they teleport in; grates lift up in floor? Perfect! But the idea that a creature from hell invaded the base and found a secret closet to hide in? Ridiculous. Also, why can't I duct tape my flashlight to my gun; hell, why isn't there a flashlight built into my gun? This is the future right? "It's for the sense of desparation we want you to feel." Yace, yace. Expand
  2. Ronin
    Aug 14, 2004
    10
    This game rules. the graphics are good, the shadows and the creatures that come out own. when you get hit you feel like your getting hit...bringing you more into the game. easy gameplay. and for all you haters out there you probably have a crap computer or you just suck.
  3. KarlD.
    Aug 3, 2004
    8
    Great graphics engine, great sound and awesome atmosphere. But what about some innovation in gameplay?
  4. OrhanI.
    Aug 4, 2004
    9
    I think the guy who gave zero points to the game is someone from Valve or Crytek :).
  5. JohnM.
    Aug 5, 2004
    9
    Cant believe sooo many people dont get the game, its classic Doom but 100 times better. How anyone can say it gets boring is beyond me, this game is the best FPS to come out in years, probably since half-life. The action is none stop plus the story gets driven by the PDA system brilliantly, I cant get enough of this game so far and I'm sure that mods that come out for it will be just Cant believe sooo many people dont get the game, its classic Doom but 100 times better. How anyone can say it gets boring is beyond me, this game is the best FPS to come out in years, probably since half-life. The action is none stop plus the story gets driven by the PDA system brilliantly, I cant get enough of this game so far and I'm sure that mods that come out for it will be just as good. Expand
  6. AndrewW.
    Aug 7, 2004
    10
    This game is the epitome of a FPS. It is perfect in every way. The graphics are insane, it has the best single player campaign ever in a shooter, and 32 online deathmatchs kick major butt. Best shooter ever, possibly even best game.
  7. D.Q.
    Aug 7, 2004
    10
    I amped up my machine for this game and it's worth it. I was blown away by the graphics, it's like actually being in there and that's 10x scarier than anything. When a game with this kind of evil pulls you right into it, it's definitely unsettling to say the least. I've been really limiting myself on when and how I play it. I only do a level per night and I go as I amped up my machine for this game and it's worth it. I was blown away by the graphics, it's like actually being in there and that's 10x scarier than anything. When a game with this kind of evil pulls you right into it, it's definitely unsettling to say the least. I've been really limiting myself on when and how I play it. I only do a level per night and I go as slow as humanly possible to let my nerves get the full load of adrenaline and terror that each corner, closed door and hidden place where evil lurks provides. I was surprised with the story, it's like being dropped right in there, I wasn't ready to be so immersed in this kind of world. Expand
  8. JohnnyJ.
    Aug 9, 2004
    10
    Perfect, absolutely flawless, stunning, and gruesome, excellent job id, well worth the wait.
  9. RobertB.
    Feb 2, 2008
    10
    Easily the best game for its time.
  10. DazX
    Jan 10, 2010
    10
    Scary, fun, José Luccioni on french voiceovers (xD), I can't think of anything bad in this game. I never met any bug, glitch or anything. The game's beautiful, even nowadays, AND fun as hell.
  11. KestasK
    Jan 4, 2010
    9
    First time I saw the demo it seemed like more of a tech demo than an actual game, but I recently got it cheap and decided to give it an honest go. It is produced very well, the story isn't just an excuse for the game to happen but is done very well. "Hell breaks loose on a Mars research outpost" sounds cliche, but they really run with it. It is scary, but only in the way Doom I&II First time I saw the demo it seemed like more of a tech demo than an actual game, but I recently got it cheap and decided to give it an honest go. It is produced very well, the story isn't just an excuse for the game to happen but is done very well. "Hell breaks loose on a Mars research outpost" sounds cliche, but they really run with it. It is scary, but only in the way Doom I&II were. The gameplay, enemies, and weapons are all very much like previous Doom games, as is the level design. The basic concepts behind Doom have been hugely modernized, some extras added to enrich the story, but really it's Doom gameplay executed brilliantly for mid-late 2000s hardware. If that appeals to you you should have already checked it out by now, if it doesn't then avoid, but either way this doesn't deserve the people who say this is just a tech demo, it really is a proper game. Expand
  12. MaxH.
    Dec 10, 2004
    10
    Very good and good graphics.
  13. iHam
    Aug 14, 2004
    9
    This is easily one of the best FPSs to date. A nice retelling of the original two, with all of the shinies that simply weren't possible in 1992. Anyone who dislikes this game yet holds the older two in high esteem is shamefully disconnected with the very concepts that make the games great. I have heard people complain about not being able to have a gun out while using the flashlight. This is easily one of the best FPSs to date. A nice retelling of the original two, with all of the shinies that simply weren't possible in 1992. Anyone who dislikes this game yet holds the older two in high esteem is shamefully disconnected with the very concepts that make the games great. I have heard people complain about not being able to have a gun out while using the flashlight. Also, that its 'claustrophobic', and that the gameplay is too linear, the contrast is too high, etc... These are how the original games were, just in case you forgot. Dark and scary. No gun while you've got your flashlight out? Nothing like feeling vulnerable while tip toeing through a pitch black corridor... its all supposed to (at least) try to scare you. And quite honestly, if this game doesn't make you jump, pull your legs out from under the desk, or get the willies, or even think twice before opening a door, then you have been desensitized beyond the point where anything but the real thing can please you. see you in 20 years... You are all entitled to your opinions. Its just some of your opinions happen to be wrong and invalid. Expand
  14. Mr.Somebody
    Aug 14, 2004
    9
    Okay...okay. All of you who have nothing better to do than complain about stuff can just shut it. This isn't the best game you'll ever play; I still have high hopes for HL2. However, this doesn't mean you can compare Doom to games like that and FarCry!! Id made the FPS genre!!! I believe "DXO" said that the beginning was ripped from Half-Life. Um...this game is a REMAKE of Okay...okay. All of you who have nothing better to do than complain about stuff can just shut it. This isn't the best game you'll ever play; I still have high hopes for HL2. However, this doesn't mean you can compare Doom to games like that and FarCry!! Id made the FPS genre!!! I believe "DXO" said that the beginning was ripped from Half-Life. Um...this game is a REMAKE of one from the EARLY 90s!!! If anything, Half-Life ripped from Doom!!!!! Others said this was "lacking innovation," "scripted," and "claustrophobic." Some complain that there's no built-in flashlights, and the one you carry forces you to be weaponless while using it. And still more complain about it being too dark. ...You know why??!?! Because all of this is meant for the player to have the CRAP SCARED OUT OF HIM!!!!!! And I believe that complaining about a base on MARS being "claustrophobic" is like complaining about the international space station not having a large reception room with couches and a television!! It wouldn't be practical! Besides, if there were large, shiny rooms everywhere with a dozen monsters in each, no computer on EARTH would be able to run this game aside from teh ones used by the five richest Kings of Europe or something. So play the game and have fun killing mindlessly. Otherwise, go play something else and smile some. You know, 'cause the zombie behind you is gonna rip off your lips. Expand
  15. JeffB.
    Aug 18, 2004
    8
    I am pretty satisfied with the single player action. I think it's almost a little too dark all the time though. It's ok to have some darkness, but I'm not having too much fun being permanently attached to the flashlight. The multiplayer topic though...pretty unforgiveable. In a world where online play is critical to a FPS's survival, it's lucky for Doom that they I am pretty satisfied with the single player action. I think it's almost a little too dark all the time though. It's ok to have some darkness, but I'm not having too much fun being permanently attached to the flashlight. The multiplayer topic though...pretty unforgiveable. In a world where online play is critical to a FPS's survival, it's lucky for Doom that they hyped it up so well. The multiplayer is pretty pathetic. I'm sure that there are patches that will come out and new kinds of servers that will arise, but it's almost insulting to be forced to buy such a crappy multiplayer game ...isn't this supposed to be a "blockbuster"? Expand
  16. Tybo
    Aug 2, 2004
    10
    Simply the most atmospheric game ever! a must buy!
  17. PatrickO.
    Aug 3, 2004
    9
    This game rocks! I've never been scared playing a video game before, but this game will make me afraid to go to bed tonight. Monsters jumping out from any and everywhere is one thing we are all familiar with, but hearing the constant screams of hapless victims over the comlink and oh so realistic graphics of this game makes this the scariest game of all time! Cool stuff!!!! The only This game rocks! I've never been scared playing a video game before, but this game will make me afraid to go to bed tonight. Monsters jumping out from any and everywhere is one thing we are all familiar with, but hearing the constant screams of hapless victims over the comlink and oh so realistic graphics of this game makes this the scariest game of all time! Cool stuff!!!! The only downside I see is that the gameplay of running and gunning can get a bit tiring. But that's what Doom is about, right? Expand
  18. Fabre
    Aug 3, 2004
    8
    Higly overrated in my opinion, No real innovation, sadly it is only like the title suggest Doom II with better graphics. Had more Fun playing Far Cry. I give it a 8 for the beauty and for keeping me busy while I wait for Half-Life 2.
  19. PoteD.
    Aug 4, 2004
    9
    1? 0? Honestly, I don't know who these people think they are kidding. It might sound intelligent to speak of a lack of gameplay and of the critics lauding the game on a superficial basis, but it sure doesn't when what you're claiming is absolute backward nonsense. Everything from the design to the pacing to the art direction is positively unbelievable, and you're just 1? 0? Honestly, I don't know who these people think they are kidding. It might sound intelligent to speak of a lack of gameplay and of the critics lauding the game on a superficial basis, but it sure doesn't when what you're claiming is absolute backward nonsense. Everything from the design to the pacing to the art direction is positively unbelievable, and you're just going to sound like the silly, blinded and bitter fool that you are to suggest otherwise. Only a 9 because it takes a game of the scope and spectacle of say...Half-Life ;) to earn a 10. Expand
  20. Kekojones
    Aug 4, 2004
    9
    Great game...it will make ya crap your pants.
  21. B.T.
    Aug 5, 2004
    9
    The last poster gave it a bad score because he has a piece of crap computer. Wow, that's fair. Just because you won't upgrade your PC doesn't mean the game is bad. For the record, Doom 3 may not be innovative, but the incredible level design, atmosphere, and attention to detail make it a very good FPS. Highly recommended.
  22. GregA.
    Aug 5, 2004
    8
    WOW this game is drop dead beautiful. Its just a little too dark and scary for my taste. Can't to wait to play mods and other games based on the great engine.
  23. Lyle
    Aug 6, 2004
    9
    Wow. 9.5 is my real score. What a shooter! I am normally not a fan of straightforward action games. This one I am a big fan of. I'm a hardcore RPG'er normally but I have to say that this game doesn't really need anymore story because it does the things it does so well. I actually think the PDA thing is pretty cool. The atmosphere sucks you in. And bottom line.. IT'S Wow. 9.5 is my real score. What a shooter! I am normally not a fan of straightforward action games. This one I am a big fan of. I'm a hardcore RPG'er normally but I have to say that this game doesn't really need anymore story because it does the things it does so well. I actually think the PDA thing is pretty cool. The atmosphere sucks you in. And bottom line.. IT'S VERY FUN TO PLAY!!! A great experience. Knocked off half a point for fishy AI. Beautiful game ID! Thanks! Expand
  24. Alen44
    Aug 6, 2004
    8
    Good, but it ain't Halo.
  25. LizaS.45
    Aug 6, 2004
    8
    Made all the less impressive by the graphics crown already belonging to the excellent Far Cry.
  26. MarcW.
    Aug 8, 2004
    9
    The single most beautiful game I have ever played. The presentation level for this game is so astoundingly high...you won't be able to look any other game without feeling strangely empty. The sound is solid and the menus sport a degree of polish which is close to the standard of visuals. However, the gameplay simply is too linear and isn't innovative in the way games such as The single most beautiful game I have ever played. The presentation level for this game is so astoundingly high...you won't be able to look any other game without feeling strangely empty. The sound is solid and the menus sport a degree of polish which is close to the standard of visuals. However, the gameplay simply is too linear and isn't innovative in the way games such as Half-Life was. Overall though, this is the best single player 1st person shooter of the year. A milestone in the evolution of games from a technical standpoint. Expand
  27. AaronG.
    Aug 9, 2004
    8
    Doom III is essentially doom with better graphics. Period! Yes the lighting engine makes the game spookier, but with the ability to save your game every 5 sec., there is no sense of danger and no sense of OH CRAP when you die. What REALLY bothers me is how professional review sights are gushing over the graphics. Yes the game has the best character models ever, but the environmental Doom III is essentially doom with better graphics. Period! Yes the lighting engine makes the game spookier, but with the ability to save your game every 5 sec., there is no sense of danger and no sense of OH CRAP when you die. What REALLY bothers me is how professional review sights are gushing over the graphics. Yes the game has the best character models ever, but the environmental textures are AWFUL. Try walking up to a wall or console. It looks workse than the original unreal tournament engine. Far Cry was a far superior game in terms of AI, gameplay, and even humor. The trigents freaked me out more than anything Doom 3 offered up because dying actually had consequences. AND while the character models aren't as good, the environment in Far Cry was infinitely superior. The fact that Doom III got a higher rating than Far Cry is just more proof that most reviewers are not doing their job. If you want more proof, just look at the reviews of Master of Orion III (which came out broken and was getting 9's and 10's). Expand
  28. LordYupa
    Aug 9, 2004
    8
    ID invented FPS and somehow got lost within its own skills. An excellent engine that is the most advanced tech-demo ever seen (until now) wraps the game that we all played more than 10 years ago. I have the deepest admiration for Carmack team achievements and they deserve respect. But simply they doesn't know anything about gameplay. Somebody should give them a GBA or gamecube as a ID invented FPS and somehow got lost within its own skills. An excellent engine that is the most advanced tech-demo ever seen (until now) wraps the game that we all played more than 10 years ago. I have the deepest admiration for Carmack team achievements and they deserve respect. But simply they doesn't know anything about gameplay. Somebody should give them a GBA or gamecube as a present. I give a 8 because Doom3 will push other publishers with great ideas to use THIS very technology to present their new products. The Doom heritage. Expand
  29. Chimp
    Sep 19, 2004
    8
    First of all, let me point out that most people have this idea of doom 3 of being some amazing game that requires nothing less than a pentium 4 with a geforce 6800 or whatever to run on high settings with a good framerate. On my 2.0ghz amd athlon xp with 512 ram and a geforceFX5700(all of that didnt cost more than $500) it runs great on high setting with 1024 res. OK but now onto the First of all, let me point out that most people have this idea of doom 3 of being some amazing game that requires nothing less than a pentium 4 with a geforce 6800 or whatever to run on high settings with a good framerate. On my 2.0ghz amd athlon xp with 512 ram and a geforceFX5700(all of that didnt cost more than $500) it runs great on high setting with 1024 res. OK but now onto the game. Yes, yes, the graphics and sound is amazing. And i mean AMAZING. the shadows and reflections, the textures, the demonic howls and everything else really feels like your there. the atmosphere is great, and the many dark rooms are really cool at first, but then they do start getting a bit annoying. and yes if youre just the type of gamer who wants to walk through the game and take in the sights and sounds, too bad. even on easy enemies take several bullets to go down. the normal hand to hand zombies are easy, but once you start fighting faster, ranged enemies, it will get quite hard if your not experienced with shooters, especially since its so often hard to see. if youre used to shooters its not gonna give you to many headaches. but i think the developers should of put in a very easy setting for people who just want to see the game, not have to worry about getting shot in the dark every five seconds. Expand
  30. Id
    Sep 23, 2004
    9
    Man this is one scary game. play it with the lights off and the sound up at night otherwise its pointless. very well executed but can be too dark and easy difficulty is too hard for "easy," it should be normal and there should be an even easier difficutly.
  31. BarryC.
    Sep 6, 2004
    8
    It's doom, what more can you say. some people obviously wanted more than that. the middle gets a bit repetitive i'd have to say but the initial hours of scares and then eventually travelling to hell more than make up for it. i had to laugh at the guy/girl proclaiming "don't believe the hype" and then "roll on duke nukem forever".
  32. AlB.
    May 16, 2005
    9
    Fantastic tense, and in the case of Hell, just plain jaw-droppingly amazing!
  33. JK
    Jul 30, 2005
    10
    Very intense game, full of non-stop action.
  34. AnonymousMC
    Oct 26, 2006
    9
    I give this game a 9. I loved the game very much although it was pretty much liniear (thats why minus 1 point). Monsters and zombies suddenly appear out of dark places scared me the first few times but afterwards you knew that they would be comming but still it still scared me sometimes. Now this is also a reaction too [Anonymous] who said that the only "legitamate" way to beat the game isI give this game a 9. I loved the game very much although it was pretty much liniear (thats why minus 1 point). Monsters and zombies suddenly appear out of dark places scared me the first few times but afterwards you knew that they would be comming but still it still scared me sometimes. Now this is also a reaction too [Anonymous] who said that the only "legitamate" way to beat the game is with an ingame cheat. Well you really DONT need cheats to beat this game and thats a fact. I also want to say something about the storyline since many people are saying its not worked out, not good etc etc. Doom 3 is a remake of Doom 1. And as most people know, Doom 1 didnt had much of a story line. But most people loved that game and so did I. Doom 3 doesnt have much as a storyline aswell but its defenitly better than the one from Doom 1. Expand
  35. ElfrancheT.
    Jun 10, 2006
    9
    A legend among suspense games. The cold, Sci-Fi decors are well done. Lots of detail. Above average monster design. Nice when played slowly and undisturbed.
  36. DonG.
    Sep 29, 2006
    9
    Loved it! Graphics are great!
  37. WilliamT.
    Nov 9, 2007
    8
    While it lacks most of the crazy blastiness that its forefathers so rightly hold, Doom 3 is still a game you should invest in. Not particulary scary or innovative but when you are shooting demons from Hell, it doesn't have to be.
  38. TomG.
    May 6, 2007
    10
    After 10 years of nothing but Quake, and Hexen releases from id Software, they perfect the tricks of the trade, and pump out Doom 3. The level of quality put into their graphics engine is just incredible, with the bump mapping, specular highlights, and the shadowing system, which is superior to F.E.A.R.'s, in that when you shine your light on the corner of an object, it casts a After 10 years of nothing but Quake, and Hexen releases from id Software, they perfect the tricks of the trade, and pump out Doom 3. The level of quality put into their graphics engine is just incredible, with the bump mapping, specular highlights, and the shadowing system, which is superior to F.E.A.R.'s, in that when you shine your light on the corner of an object, it casts a shadow, unlike F.E.A.R. The weapon effects are downright perfect, and does a damn good job of revitalizing an aging franchise. Expand
  39. FrikaseeJ.
    Aug 10, 2007
    9
    I'd just like to step in and save the day for Doom 3. Those of you giving this a crappy score obviously have no idea what doom is. Doom was created back in th 90's for the sole purpose of running around and shooting demons. We never asked Doom for a good storline, just for bigger guns. Just shutup and enjoy killing things on your gruesome crusade through a well-designed Hell. I'd just like to step in and save the day for Doom 3. Those of you giving this a crappy score obviously have no idea what doom is. Doom was created back in th 90's for the sole purpose of running around and shooting demons. We never asked Doom for a good storline, just for bigger guns. Just shutup and enjoy killing things on your gruesome crusade through a well-designed Hell. Also, for you absolute morons who whined about the lack of a sniper rifle... What!?! What are you gonna do? Zoom in on the fine hairs of the demons as they charge for you. There was no distance, it was all in your face fun. Expand
  40. SomeBody
    Aug 10, 2007
    10
    This is awesome! I'm a hardcore fan of the DooM series, and I think this lives up to that legacy. I couldn't care less if it was "revolutionary", because a game could have ultra-new crap and still suck (look at Halo :() A fun romp.
  41. MatthewB.
    Aug 26, 2007
    9
    Damn fun game. One of the creepiest atmospheres ever in a video game.
  42. JakeC.
    Aug 4, 2007
    10
    Perhaps one of the best games i have ever played doom goes all the way.
  43. NateM.
    Aug 7, 2007
    9
    Linear, but true to the doom series. Absolutely beautiful graphics, Intense gameplay, and scary to boot. Id has held true to the original series and then some, with a new installment. Anyone who has given this game an 7 or below is either opinionated, stupid, or flame bait.
  44. MichaelO.
    Jul 15, 2008
    10
    If you like Scary game this game is for YOU It will scare the living out of you.
  45. abcdef
    Jan 6, 2009
    8
    OK this a more a review on these user reviews than Doom 3. First I think I should clear up a few things, as many of these user reviews are entirely wrong. So wrong in fact that it seems as if they've played another game, couldn't remember its name and then for some reason come to the conclusion that the game that they played was called Doom 3. For example, Andy D mentions a OK this a more a review on these user reviews than Doom 3. First I think I should clear up a few things, as many of these user reviews are entirely wrong. So wrong in fact that it seems as if they've played another game, couldn't remember its name and then for some reason come to the conclusion that the game that they played was called Doom 3. For example, Andy D mentions a level where you go to heaven and become an angel. Don't know what he's talking about as there's no such level. Benjamin L mentions a gravity gun. That's in the game's expansion pack and not in the game itself. He also complains that there's only one boss in the entire game, which is ridiculous considering that there's 4 very distinct bosses and some encounters which can be considered mini-boss battles. The list of inaccuracies goes on, as people who claim to have only played the game for 15 minutes reckon they can review it. I reckon it takes a while to really get into any game. Doom 3 is a very repetitive and basic FPS and it's not all that scary but it does have an eerie and tense environment and some very good moments. Most Doom fans wanted to see their favourite child hood game remade and that's exactly what ID have done and they've accomplished this very well. It allows fans to play the original Doom games but now it looks and plays much better. If Doom 3 had an extensive plot and a set of new weapons all with alternative ammo and firing modes it still would have been canned by gamers for destroying the Doom franchise. If you gave this game a 0 its because you don't like FPS horror survival games...so if you're not a fan of the genre why are you playing and reviewing this game. If you are fan of this genre and gave it a 0 then there's something wrong considering that this is much more fun than most horror survival FPS' and has a far simpler plot than all the others which attempt stories which are usually convoluted or undeveloped, like F.E.A.R or Condemned. Expand
  46. DavidS.
    Oct 7, 2009
    9
    You know, I didn't pay full price for this game, so maybe my opinion is biased, but I'm actually having quite a lot of fun. It's not Penumbra: Overture terrifying, but the atmosphere is tense. The weapons aren't anything terribly unique, but they are actually quite well designed with nice little details (for instance, the SMG will leave smoke hovering in the air if You know, I didn't pay full price for this game, so maybe my opinion is biased, but I'm actually having quite a lot of fun. It's not Penumbra: Overture terrifying, but the atmosphere is tense. The weapons aren't anything terribly unique, but they are actually quite well designed with nice little details (for instance, the SMG will leave smoke hovering in the air if fired for an extended period of time). The actual action was, in my opinion, very fun and visceral. Although more destructible environments would have been a plus, and corpses staying on the ground after dying would have been nice too, I think I actually prefer the combat in Doom 3 to the combat in FEAR (yes, I said it). If you want an experience more akin to the original Dooms, pick up the amazing game 'Painkiller'. But if you want an evolved version of Doom, this is a great game to play. Expand
  47. MattB.
    Oct 19, 2004
    10
    Great graphics, great sound, great atmosphere, great story. Enough said.
  48. Passive
    Dec 2, 2004
    10
    The most graphically accoomplished game ever, a real treat for people who want to die (of claustrophobia, fear, heart attack, etc.). This game's all about the atmosphere, not much to say about the gamelay except 'normal', lets see what the expansion pack has in store for us.
  49. Signal
    Aug 12, 2004
    8
    Like everyone else has said so far: Amazing graphics, but basically the same as Doom 2. Only this time, instead of randomly running around a map until you find the exit, this game will guide you from point to point through a series of scripted events that unfold the plot. Also, about half the time you will be in complete darkness using your flashlight to light the way (this may be a turn Like everyone else has said so far: Amazing graphics, but basically the same as Doom 2. Only this time, instead of randomly running around a map until you find the exit, this game will guide you from point to point through a series of scripted events that unfold the plot. Also, about half the time you will be in complete darkness using your flashlight to light the way (this may be a turn off to many gamers). Other than that, the spooky atmosphere they created is amazing and very immersive. Also, it's important to note that graphics resolution is NOT important when playing this game. If the game is playing slowly on your mid-to-upper range system, drop the resolution to 640x480 while keeping all the other graphic options turned on. Trust me, the game will still look AMAZING. Or better yet, just hit the button that lets the game scan your hardware and determine the best settings FOR you. Expand
  50. Abdullah
    Aug 13, 2004
    8
    Great game. Good sound effects and the best grafix on earth. Wasnt that scary. A must buy for all the FPS fans.
  51. HanMan
    Aug 13, 2004
    9
    Anyone who's reading this is obviously considering to buy this game. Now its this simple...Buy it. You have never played a game that looks like this before. It has to be played to be believed. That's reason 1. Reson 2: This is Doom for chrissake!! Just buy it. It's a great game with some amazing Design and programming to boot. Dont compare this game to Far Cry or Half Life. Anyone who's reading this is obviously considering to buy this game. Now its this simple...Buy it. You have never played a game that looks like this before. It has to be played to be believed. That's reason 1. Reson 2: This is Doom for chrissake!! Just buy it. It's a great game with some amazing Design and programming to boot. Dont compare this game to Far Cry or Half Life. ID created this genre. Expand
  52. BatmanMonkey
    Aug 14, 2004
    10
    "Ok, Europe speaking. Got this game 5 hours ago. After reading the US reviews i thought this could not be a bad purchase! Want to hear more? I can hardly control my frustration and whipe this horrible game of me disk. It has the same visual qualities as the orignal Unreal game! But only after you pay 2000 $$$ for hardware! Otherwise, it is just has the same visual level as the original "Ok, Europe speaking. Got this game 5 hours ago. After reading the US reviews i thought this could not be a bad purchase! Want to hear more? I can hardly control my frustration and whipe this horrible game of me disk. It has the same visual qualities as the orignal Unreal game! But only after you pay 2000 $$$ for hardware! Otherwise, it is just has the same visual level as the original Unreal. Do your purse a favour and buy the original Unreal for 2 bucks! " Either Europe doesnt have good graphic cards or a good version of Doom 3...or you are BLIND or have completely screwed up eyes Unreal and Unreal 2 suck!!!!!!!! but Unreal tournaments are cool... Expand
  53. HarmLokesz
    Aug 16, 2004
    10
    After a weekend of tuning I feel the need to explain the rather negative review I posted before. 1) This game is build on OpenGL graphics and seems to be more demanding on your processor for presenting graphics. 2) ATI was the second choice graphics card for the developers. The first evening I started the game on its recommended settings my P4 1.5 ( 512RIMM) and ATI 9600XT could not After a weekend of tuning I feel the need to explain the rather negative review I posted before. 1) This game is build on OpenGL graphics and seems to be more demanding on your processor for presenting graphics. 2) ATI was the second choice graphics card for the developers. The first evening I started the game on its recommended settings my P4 1.5 ( 512RIMM) and ATI 9600XT could not deliver a decent game, no matter what I tried. I had terrible frame rates AND the visual presentation was sad. One could say that a 'new generation' game should have offered more help by its manual. Tweakcom.com published a great guide with which I corrected the problems at my computer and now I am able to enjoy the game as it was intended! I am about halfway the game now and brings on memories of good old times. It just gives the same emotions as the first FPS I once played long ago: Quake 1. This must be a 10 in the category of First Person Shooters. I dont think this game should be recommended to everyone. Not the whole world is full of passionate diabolics. As I see it now I personally would rate it between 8 and 9. (I posted a 10 as compensation for the negative earlier rating, not that I am afraid of Batman, but the corners ARE a bit dark the last few days.) Expand
  54. Zamp
    Aug 19, 2004
    8
    First experience with Doom3 was amazing, the graphics, the excitement, nice fantasy that humankind has bases on Mars. But :P after hour playing or so i noticed that doom3 is just repetitive 'shoot n load' game. Flaslight and the darkness are very nice add though in my opinion. 8 because its still quite damn exciting and beautiful game.
  55. Madmax
    Aug 3, 2004
    10
    Amazing the cutscenes are amazing you are in them like its a movie, awesome 10/10 can't be beaten. hl1 move over there's a new king DOOM3.
  56. EviLAnGeL
    Aug 4, 2004
    10
    I have never played a game before that has literally made me get a chill down my spine or goosebumps on my arms. Maybe the gameplay doesn't offer anything all that new but the graphics, sound, artwork, animations, lighting, environments etc etc are all second to none. It all combines to give you a feeling of depth and immersion that I've never had in any game before. Especially I have never played a game before that has literally made me get a chill down my spine or goosebumps on my arms. Maybe the gameplay doesn't offer anything all that new but the graphics, sound, artwork, animations, lighting, environments etc etc are all second to none. It all combines to give you a feeling of depth and immersion that I've never had in any game before. Especially if you play it at a high res with the highest settings with AA AF and on and 5.1 surround setup and in the dark. Very scary stuff. Expand
  57. BobP.
    Aug 4, 2004
    8
    A good game, but nothing revolutionary, as its been hyped to be. The graphics, level design, and sound work together wonderfully. Its a single player game (I dont count 4-player multiplayer deathmatch) - Comparing it to something like hl, which has lead multiplayer gaming for years, just doesnt make sense. Try Far Cry. The engine is inferior to that in parts (no vast outdoors, vehicles, A good game, but nothing revolutionary, as its been hyped to be. The graphics, level design, and sound work together wonderfully. Its a single player game (I dont count 4-player multiplayer deathmatch) - Comparing it to something like hl, which has lead multiplayer gaming for years, just doesnt make sense. Try Far Cry. The engine is inferior to that in parts (no vast outdoors, vehicles, ai teamwork), and better in others (lighting, more pixel shaders and other effects). 15 hours of mediocre gameplay with pretty graphics and sound worth the price? Though the sound and level design are second to none, Undying was more frightening to me. Expand
  58. CJRAPiD
    Aug 4, 2004
    10
    ANYONE marking this game under a 9 is TOTALLY missing the point of this STUNNiNGLY visual masterpiece. It is a valuable textbook lesson on creating damned good - solid gameplay and totally immersive atmosphere in every way. From its water tight level design, (who needs 30 miles of expansive lush exteriors when DOOM 3 captivates that essential immersive experience within its TOTALLY ANYONE marking this game under a 9 is TOTALLY missing the point of this STUNNiNGLY visual masterpiece. It is a valuable textbook lesson on creating damned good - solid gameplay and totally immersive atmosphere in every way. From its water tight level design, (who needs 30 miles of expansive lush exteriors when DOOM 3 captivates that essential immersive experience within its TOTALLY claustrophobic environments) to its sound design - which captivates the most cinematic feel I have ever heard in a game. The whole thing adds up to the finest single player and shockingly scary gaming experience ever. Its almost like being actually IN "ALIENS" the movie! Terrifyingly sweet! =) Expand
  59. BryanJ.
    Aug 4, 2004
    10
    It does everything I expected it to do, and @ 800x600 it still looks amazing. I hope they make an AvP game with this engine. For everyone that's giving it 1's and 0's, I have to say I don't think you are being fair. Sure, the gameplay hasn't evolved much past the original Doom, but that is part of the appeal IMO. Pure visceral action.
  60. KevinB.
    Aug 5, 2004
    10
    Everyone seems to be confused that this game is nothing but Doom 3. It is *Doom*, and ONLY Doom. It is not a game with incredible sideplots, it is not a game with intricate puzzles, it is not a game with incredible squad-based AI, it is not a game with varying themes. It is simply Doom. You run, you kill, you scream, you gawk at the pretty scenery, you basically do everything you did the Everyone seems to be confused that this game is nothing but Doom 3. It is *Doom*, and ONLY Doom. It is not a game with incredible sideplots, it is not a game with intricate puzzles, it is not a game with incredible squad-based AI, it is not a game with varying themes. It is simply Doom. You run, you kill, you scream, you gawk at the pretty scenery, you basically do everything you did the first time you played the original Doom. Enemies don't exist in real time, they spawn or they pop out of trap walls when you go to pick up that hidden medkit. It's classic Doom, revisited in a most striking manner. 10/10. Expand
  61. AE
    Aug 5, 2004
    8
    8.5 actually the graphics are great and it runs wonderfully, but WHERE is the drama, where is the truly appocalyptic premise, where is even the MUSIC/AI!!!. No problems running it though, even on my 3 year old Rad9700 machine at 'Highest' quality. Actually, downloading the 8/2/04 Ati Beta driver release fixed all initial graphic problems, (which where numerous, but now 8.5 actually the graphics are great and it runs wonderfully, but WHERE is the drama, where is the truly appocalyptic premise, where is even the MUSIC/AI!!!. No problems running it though, even on my 3 year old Rad9700 machine at 'Highest' quality. Actually, downloading the 8/2/04 Ati Beta driver release fixed all initial graphic problems, (which where numerous, but now gone,)I've not since had any problems with the game whatsoever. The main problem with the game is that there really is no story to speak of, no DRAMA, no compelling reason to keep playing other than sheer visuals (don't think Halo, or even Riddick...) I mean Doom II had a way better story line, atleast your actions clearly would decide the fate of the orbiting remainder mankind... and the lack of music, really any kind of dramatic music whatsoever save the 1 title track at the menu, really really detracts from the game as a whole. It feels like a wierd twist of Resident evil and Quake 3, with Max Payne style gameplay. Doom was my favorite game ever until Halo came along. Doom 3 fails to best Halo, or even Quake, frankly EITHER Quake, in single player or (obviously) in multiplayer. Like the graphics, disappointed by the experience as a whole though. Stick to a simpler, clearer, more dramatic plot + Trent Reznor for the music. Oh -and make the enemies way smarter, I was truly inclined to believe they had eaten each other's brains. Expand
  62. M.Nelson
    Aug 8, 2004
    9
    No, it is not revolutionary in its basic form, but Id has managed to take gameplay to a higher level by focusing on sound, ambiance, and execution. They have done what half life tried to do, they have created a believable environment and placed you right smack in the middle of it. If you you want new features or a new approach to a first person shooter, understand that some of the best No, it is not revolutionary in its basic form, but Id has managed to take gameplay to a higher level by focusing on sound, ambiance, and execution. They have done what half life tried to do, they have created a believable environment and placed you right smack in the middle of it. If you you want new features or a new approach to a first person shooter, understand that some of the best qualities of the game experience have been underestimated until doom3. Expand
  63. ThomasM.
    Aug 9, 2004
    10
    Bottom-line is that this game is better than all FPS' that lie before it. The expectations were ENORMOUS and .id. still kept up and delivered. Like always. Definitly worth fifty bucks for the 20-plus hours of hell-on-mars you'll go through.
  64. JohnD.
    Sep 4, 2004
    10
    A very good game.
  65. WesE.
    Nov 19, 2005
    9
    While not as masterful or brilliantly concieved as Resident Evil 4, Doom 3 is way mor tightly coiled and balls-to-the-wall scary. The graphics are some of the best around, and when you first see the Hellknight, you'll be a believer.
  66. JasonK.
    Oct 22, 2005
    10
    Enough with the pansy shooters , enough subtlity, enough with Half Life 2. Doom 3 ROCKS!!! Take a break from fresh air and be ready to be put back into the middle of terror, both physical and mental. Doom 3 will most positively overwhelm you, it'll test your nerves and sever your weak part out. This game is a piece of GREAT ART!!!
  67. AnonymousMC
    Jan 27, 2005
    9
    I dont know anything about computers but this game runs just about perfect on my pc. This game is very scaleable on most machines. People who say this is bad are quite wrong and this game ranks right up there with half life 2, far cry, and all those great fps. Though slightly repetitive at times, this is a great game and deserves your money.
  68. Billy-joeR.
    Feb 26, 2005
    9
    Pros: excellent graphics, simple but effective controls, fgreat lighting effects cons: not really that scary, because the zombies are so darn slooooow, so you see them comiing while their 20 feet away overview: an allaround good game but needs improvment in the scaryness area, where silent hill among others defeat it.
  69. DeanM.
    Apr 1, 2005
    9
    This I would say, to be the Apex of scripted gameplay. It's an awesome game, believe me. The fact that it is scripted might turn off no-brainers that still walk around the house with a bone club. If you just ignore all the obviously baised ratings and ALLOW the scripts to work as intended, it really makes you feel like you're in a movie, the only other game that does scripting This I would say, to be the Apex of scripted gameplay. It's an awesome game, believe me. The fact that it is scripted might turn off no-brainers that still walk around the house with a bone club. If you just ignore all the obviously baised ratings and ALLOW the scripts to work as intended, it really makes you feel like you're in a movie, the only other game that does scripting well is splinter cell, but the setting of that game doesn't allow the fullest to be displayed. The effects from normal stuff like firing your gun is great, the effects from the scripted points are astounding, disappearing footprints, whispers, children crying, you name it. If you're Christian, excellent for you, here's your chance to prove to God your faith against the Devil, otherwise even better, you're a space marine with no where to go except forward, towards the depths to wage with experimental weapons. The graphics are nothing less than how you see your own hands now, and when used to created a dark, deathly, claustrophobic, life consuming evironment, together with life-like audio... nuf said. the game requirements are also quite scalable to your machine specs, and high ended systems will create more realism. only dissatisfaction i have is the lenght of the game, and the end part of it, other than that, the game is scary, yet action-packed (trust me its good enough for fps vets). - Eagerly looking forward to the expansion. Expand
  70. Sotamarsu
    Dec 1, 2006
    10
    It's one of the best games in Linux. It's also easy and fast to install in Gentoo. This game makes you hate dark places and breaking walls. Last boss is quite easy.
  71. A.H.
    Aug 17, 2006
    8
    i grew up playing the original doom games and this is not a sequel but a scary but slighltly repitive legacy to the orignals.
  72. VictorU.
    Dec 1, 2007
    10
    It has an awesome atmosphere and a unique style of gameplay.
  73. Pete
    Aug 11, 2007
    8
    Great game, just need to have more and updated online content.
  74. PeterB.
    Aug 21, 2007
    8
    While somewhat repetitive, Doom 3 not only has a great atmosphere but, like every id game, has helped move the technology bar higher in gaming.
  75. JoumanJ.
    Aug 29, 2007
    10
    Amazing game.
  76. EazyC.
    Aug 3, 2007
    9
    Doom 3 is awesome. I still play it all the time.
  77. KyleS
    Dec 24, 2008
    8
    This game was amazing for it's time. Even today I play it. You can make the game change to any resolution to anything you want through the .cfg files but a lot of people didn't know that so it was hard to change it. It does support 5.1 Surround sound witch comes in handy for people with surround sounds. It actually makes the game scary because you know were they are but cant This game was amazing for it's time. Even today I play it. You can make the game change to any resolution to anything you want through the .cfg files but a lot of people didn't know that so it was hard to change it. It does support 5.1 Surround sound witch comes in handy for people with surround sounds. It actually makes the game scary because you know were they are but cant find them to realize they will jump out into your face. The weapons didn't look the best but still had some good choices. The adventure of finding PDA's to get into doors made it more then just a run a shoot game. The light though is the problem. Running around with a flashlight then having to switch back into another weapon made it hard but wasn't a total disaster. Over all a good games with some little miner flaws. Expand
  78. PaulL.
    Mar 15, 2008
    10
    Many say it defined a genre from day 1, and that is still true and frankly, I don't see it changing for many years to come.
  79. KevinD.
    Mar 2, 2008
    10
    This game was, the atmospheres playing it at night with headphone on was creepy and playing it on nightmare trying to kill the last boss was indeed hard.
  80. TimC.
    Apr 2, 2008
    9
    An excellent reworking of a much loved classic. Weapons, enemies and level design are reminiscent to the old series of games, beautifully created the game generates a tense and gritty atmosphere of horror which will keep the player on the edge of the seat until the end. Once again ID show us that they are the leading developers of FPS's. Brilliant.
  81. Chandu
    Apr 2, 2008
    9
    Doom 3 is a fantastic game, but it might not appeal to everyone. The graphics are brilliant and its one of those few games that can rival the survival horror games to be found on the console.
  82. AnonymousMC
    Sep 11, 2008
    9
    One of the most frightening experiences you'll ever encounter in a PC or Xbox game. It should be understood, however, that Doom 3 delivers best in it's single-player and flops in its multiplayer. If you're expecting to relive the good ol' days of Doom's fast-paced, kill-em'-all style, then Doom 3 will disappoint.

    Worth playing through at least once, and if
    One of the most frightening experiences you'll ever encounter in a PC or Xbox game. It should be understood, however, that Doom 3 delivers best in it's single-player and flops in its multiplayer. If you're expecting to relive the good ol' days of Doom's fast-paced, kill-em'-all style, then Doom 3 will disappoint.

    Worth playing through at least once, and if you can handle it...twice.
    Expand
  83. Doomed
    Jul 12, 2009
    10
    Doom 3 is absolutely great just as it's expansion pack Resurrection of Evil. I thought this game was so outstanding until I played System Shock 2 and I found that the similarities we pretty evident. I don't view Doom 3 as a rip-off of System Shock 2 because the gameplay is so different. The gameplay in System Shock 2 is very complex while the gameplay in Doom 3 is rather just Doom 3 is absolutely great just as it's expansion pack Resurrection of Evil. I thought this game was so outstanding until I played System Shock 2 and I found that the similarities we pretty evident. I don't view Doom 3 as a rip-off of System Shock 2 because the gameplay is so different. The gameplay in System Shock 2 is very complex while the gameplay in Doom 3 is rather just plain old school (at least the hero has been given the ability to jump!). I love both Doom 3 and System Shock 2 because they're great science fiction horror games. The old Doom games just suck. They're so old now and the only really memorable old shooters are Duke Nukem 3D and Blood. Doom 3 actually made me love a game from the Doom series. The game has superb graphics and sound - and these create a terryfying atmosphere. The new updated monster designs are just high quality and some monsters have been completely altered (like the hell knight). The imp I remember from the old games was just a pixelated brown thing that threw fireballs, but now it's a creepy beast that scares the shit out of me. The four bosses include a female spider mutant, a dragon who's actually blind and needs small "searchers" to navigate, a grotesque half flesh and half machine tank carrying a BFG and at the end you'll meet the boss you maybe already know: the cyber demon. I really recommend this game to everyone who loves first person shooters because this game is definitely worth the experience. I think [abc def] is pretty right with his statements. Give this game a try! Expand
  84. DuncleP.
    Nov 10, 2004
    9
    Alright. Gather round. It's time for an important life lesson. Making a really inept attempt at disrespect regarding a game with a big budget from a big company like Id does not make you cooler. Becoming bitter and whiny because your PCs were not prepared for the graphics and you misspent your money does not make you cooler either. Ignoring the fact that Doom 3 does what it is meant Alright. Gather round. It's time for an important life lesson. Making a really inept attempt at disrespect regarding a game with a big budget from a big company like Id does not make you cooler. Becoming bitter and whiny because your PCs were not prepared for the graphics and you misspent your money does not make you cooler either. Ignoring the fact that Doom 3 does what it is meant to do FLAWLESSLY and instead joining a mass of unqualified morons in making lame insults that are meant to sound like something from a gaming magazine makes you much less cool. "Old game packaged in a new, shiny box"? For god's sake, take some anti-trite juice and wake the f*ck up. The actual professional game reviewers gave it OVERWHELMINGLY good scores. Stop wasting time trying to turn your dumbass stabs at cynicism into some sort of hip, anti-capitalist statement and buy a new video card. I'm finished here. Expand
  85. MarkH.
    Oct 13, 2004
    9
    DOOM 3 is simply, in a word, DOOM. It is as it advertises itself, simple, but visceral. There are no loops thrown. If you have come for major innovation, you have come to the wrong place. But if you seek a game that makes no excuses about simply being a video game, a game that honestly doesn't need to be consistent, true to life, and overly complicated, as long as you get to destroy DOOM 3 is simply, in a word, DOOM. It is as it advertises itself, simple, but visceral. There are no loops thrown. If you have come for major innovation, you have come to the wrong place. But if you seek a game that makes no excuses about simply being a video game, a game that honestly doesn't need to be consistent, true to life, and overly complicated, as long as you get to destroy some frigging demons, then you've come to the right place. Personally, i enjoy the absence of peeking around corners and vehicles and silly dual function complicated weapons. this is as visceral and intense as it gets. For the flaws in the game, there'll be a mod coming sooner or later to fix that. To the Half-Life 2 fanboys lurking every which way, play through the entire game and see why DOOM3 reminds me of Half-Life so damn much. Expand
  86. MysterE
    Oct 14, 2004
    9
    What can we say? It's Doom all over again, and it cant be a bad thing. Finally John Carmack has made the game he always wanted the original to be. It's nothing revoutionary, but who said it was going to be? Just a good old fashioned shooter with oodles of atmosphere, great story line as far as it goes and some of best enemies to grace the PC.
  87. kthuluTALESFROMMARS
    Aug 11, 2004
    10
    Excellent Graphics, loads of hardware demands though, i play on a 2.8 with 5900fx and 1k ram and i loose sometimes enough frames on 1024X768, still enjoy though. But other than this, graphics rock, but limited movement. I expected more, only because magazines made me to. I recon this game is worth playing and deserves respect. I expect my self to see new games using this awesome engine. Excellent Graphics, loads of hardware demands though, i play on a 2.8 with 5900fx and 1k ram and i loose sometimes enough frames on 1024X768, still enjoy though. But other than this, graphics rock, but limited movement. I expected more, only because magazines made me to. I recon this game is worth playing and deserves respect. I expect my self to see new games using this awesome engine. Also the PDA idea looks like stolen from Deus Ex, a game which its engine looks also similar to doom3, anyway im not that technichal to say excatly what looks the same but it has the same felling in its gameplay, and some dynamic lights, as well as graphics. I would love to play a game with Doom's3 Graphics and UNREAL 2004 gameplay. And i dont know if you read Carmacks review, but the guy said in the UKs pcgamer that in 10-20 years time the computers will have all the processing power they need to render games in proper photorealistic 3d environments. I agree with someone above that this game is the Engine. ISdefinatelly one step forwards. enjoy. Expand
  88. BitBurn
    Aug 11, 2004
    9
    I must say, I've just been playing my first 2-hour shift of Doom 3 and man it's pretty amazing to look at and, most importantly, to listen to! Graphic and audio alone blows away the competition. Gameplay, well, it's still pretty basic. Nothing new here and that's aiight. Typical FPS. Storyline so far is pretty cool. I dig it!
  89. TerryD.
    Aug 13, 2004
    10
    Man, I can't understand how anyone can give Doom3 anything less than a 10 rating! Everything is here - amazing visuals, outstanding sound, perfectly balanced game play, and the most twisted looking monsters ever, all in a totally immersive environment. So much so that I was playing the other night with the lights out and in full surround sound, creeping through a new area tactically Man, I can't understand how anyone can give Doom3 anything less than a 10 rating! Everything is here - amazing visuals, outstanding sound, perfectly balanced game play, and the most twisted looking monsters ever, all in a totally immersive environment. So much so that I was playing the other night with the lights out and in full surround sound, creeping through a new area tactically trying to figure out that the best approach would be when my wife stuck her head into the room and quietly said Expand
  90. GodGOD
    Aug 14, 2004
    10
    THIS GAME IS AWESOME!!!!!!!!!! what are people talking about...the performance is great... This is my computer: 1.2ghz Celeron(under requirements) 512mb Sdram pc133 ATI Radeon 9200 128mb ddr I can play with 800x600 res...medium quality and all the special effects on...there are slowdowns but none of the slowdowns make it unplayable... OMFG Thief 3(1-15)fps and Deus ex: IW(1-19fps) ran THIS GAME IS AWESOME!!!!!!!!!! what are people talking about...the performance is great... This is my computer: 1.2ghz Celeron(under requirements) 512mb Sdram pc133 ATI Radeon 9200 128mb ddr I can play with 800x600 res...medium quality and all the special effects on...there are slowdowns but none of the slowdowns make it unplayable... OMFG Thief 3(1-15)fps and Deus ex: IW(1-19fps) ran slower with low detail and 640x480 res and both those games graphics are crap compared to Doom 3!!! DOOM 3 IS AWESOME!!!!!! Expand
  91. BradG.
    Aug 18, 2004
    9
    Great game. Graphics are simply stunning. Ut2k4 DOES NOT look nearly this good. The single player is the real treat in this game. Great scares, good story, fun gameplay. I love this game. Multiplayer is lacking until more mods come out.
  92. BradT.
    Mar 12, 2005
    10
    Awesome game, and an absolute blast to play, and not as gimmicky as half life 2.
  93. CraigS.
    Apr 15, 2005
    8
    This game was strangely compelling, calling me back to complete another level, but at the same time, exhasuting me after 1-2 hours. I enjoyed the throw back to simpler shooter fun (same appeal as Serious Sam). Only complaints are the cheap kills as monsters spawn behind you or jump out of closets, and the insessant need to find PDAs to access secured areas - I had 4 pages of notes in case This game was strangely compelling, calling me back to complete another level, but at the same time, exhasuting me after 1-2 hours. I enjoyed the throw back to simpler shooter fun (same appeal as Serious Sam). Only complaints are the cheap kills as monsters spawn behind you or jump out of closets, and the insessant need to find PDAs to access secured areas - I had 4 pages of notes in case I had to go back! Otherwise, an exciting and addictive ride to Hell and back. Expand
  94. AnonymousMC
    Nov 1, 2007
    9
    I don't know what is ppl thinking, this game owns
    When doom 1 got out, it was principally to scare people, in 1990 , when it got out, people got scared with those bloody demons trying to kill you.
    Doom 3 has fucken great graphics, which it makes it more scary / creepy. It has all the elements to have panic when demons getting near. People were talking about the story, who the hell
    I don't know what is ppl thinking, this game owns
    When doom 1 got out, it was principally to scare people, in 1990 , when it got out, people got scared with those bloody demons trying to kill you.

    Doom 3 has fucken great graphics, which it makes it more scary / creepy. It has all the elements to have panic when demons getting near. People were talking about the story, who the hell cares the story? This game was made to SCARE, understand? Scare u moronish shit, Its quite long too. And for people that thinks that this is repetitive and doom 2 not.... dunno what happen to em.
    I would give a 10 to this game, but i just give 10 to games that REALLY impact me
    Expand
  95. RodrigoK.
    Aug 14, 2007
    9
    It's a great game, great athmosphere. Doom 3 don't pretend to be inovative or revolutionary, just fun and it does!
  96. AlexD.
    Nov 2, 2008
    10
    This game is an icon. The first trully next-gen title. It knows 16:9 screen aspect ratio, it also knows 4:3; it can do correct 5.1 sound, one cand set the controls as one pleases, and can easily change the field of view. It's a PC game, a game played on a controller with a hundred buttons, and it's well aware of that. The story isn't something new, just plain old cheap This game is an icon. The first trully next-gen title. It knows 16:9 screen aspect ratio, it also knows 4:3; it can do correct 5.1 sound, one cand set the controls as one pleases, and can easily change the field of view. It's a PC game, a game played on a controller with a hundred buttons, and it's well aware of that. The story isn't something new, just plain old cheap scare; the idea is that you'll be so scared while playing, due to the proper use of the 3D video and audio engine, that you'll want out of the grim Mars environment depicted. Excellent use of lighting and positional sound, with eerie effects, good intuitive control, and memorable jump-off-your-seat corridor fights. A must get. Expand
  97. GeorgeL
    Oct 26, 2008
    9
    I love video games. If I don't, I wouldn't be writing this review right now. But overall, I have never experienced a game where I say that it's scary. I've played games that were awesome, but seldom do I even describe the game as scary. After Doom 3 came out, however, things suddenly changed. I heard from some friends that the game was just a freaking scary game I love video games. If I don't, I wouldn't be writing this review right now. But overall, I have never experienced a game where I say that it's scary. I've played games that were awesome, but seldom do I even describe the game as scary. After Doom 3 came out, however, things suddenly changed. I heard from some friends that the game was just a freaking scary game that'll make you crap in your pants. So, being skeptical as always, I decided to try it out. I first downloaded the demo, and after beating that, I went to sleep that night with a chill in my spine. That was the first time I actually felt fear from a video game. I was immediately hooked. I went out, bought a copy, plugged it in, and played. I could never play for more than an hour before the scary, dark atmosphere becomes too much. I took constant breaks. The graphics were great, the audio was exceptional, and overall, the gameplay was just plain unpredictable. Even when I played levels that I played before, I still move hesitantly, because, even though I expect them coming, they still feel frightening after they pop out. Sure, this game could become a really repetitive shooter, but the scary atmosphere and frightenly life like facility make this game one of my favorite First Person Shooters of all time, simply because of the chilling atmosphere and story, as well as the BFG 9000 (personally, my favorite weapon of all time in a video game). Expand
  98. ChrisC.
    Feb 21, 2008
    10
    Awesome graphics. Amazingly dark, fear-drenched atmosphere. And fun. The set-pieces, while VERY repetitive, are fun to carry through nonetheless, with extremely visceral, "Oh my God how did I survive that" combat against some scary demons. Some of the most detailed level design ever, with a Martian-facility theme that manages to pump out some very unique, distinguishable locales. A great Awesome graphics. Amazingly dark, fear-drenched atmosphere. And fun. The set-pieces, while VERY repetitive, are fun to carry through nonetheless, with extremely visceral, "Oh my God how did I survive that" combat against some scary demons. Some of the most detailed level design ever, with a Martian-facility theme that manages to pump out some very unique, distinguishable locales. A great game, scary and epic the first time through. Remember to turn the lights off, close the blinds, crank up the 5.1, and be ready to crap your pants! Expand
  99. AgulH.
    Feb 28, 2008
    9
    The graphics of this game were groundbraking. But I don't like the graphical Style in this game. But still this game is made to scare you. And it will. At least if you have a good Soundcard. The Music is brilliant and the Sounds are excellent.
  100. MatthewGoad
    Aug 11, 2008
    10
    It really breathes life back into the Doom series.
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 83 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 77 out of 83
  2. Negative: 0 out of 83
  1. The graphics are amazing (mind you, even on a mediocre system), the sound is amazing (if you don’t have a 5.1 system yet, consider it), and the game is downright scary.
  2. DOOM 3 smashes through all the hype and delivers a grand slam of action, story, atmosphere, and pure terror.
  3. 90
    So perfectly constructed, so deliciously immersive and downright elegant, that demands for more seem crass. It might not be the very best shooter out there, but it's the more visually stunning and successfully atmospheric than any game we've had the pleasure to play.