User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 739 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 94 out of 739

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 5, 2013
    9
    Not sure why this game has a mixed or average 7.3 as a user score and only an 87. This is by far one of the best survival horror games I have ever played. The game looks like a 2010 title yet its only a 2004 one. I never really paid much attention to Doom 3 when it first came out because I was never into scary games, but Doom 3 really pulled me into its atmosphere, something video gamesNot sure why this game has a mixed or average 7.3 as a user score and only an 87. This is by far one of the best survival horror games I have ever played. The game looks like a 2010 title yet its only a 2004 one. I never really paid much attention to Doom 3 when it first came out because I was never into scary games, but Doom 3 really pulled me into its atmosphere, something video games rarely do to me let alone one made nine years ago. Some silly design choices like not being able to hold a flashlight and a gun at the same time and a lack of enemy variety are some of the flaws this game has, but nevertheless is an amazing title. I hope this franchise's future is still intact, I really want to see Doom 4 on Id Tech 5. Expand
  2. D.Railer
    Aug 6, 2004
    8
    Awesome graphics, an interesting story so far... realistic lighting... most of it is wonderful. Major kudos on the computer screen interfaces, my jaw has been on the floor for many levels. But a couple odd "game" rules interfere with the sense of... say... fairness. id has always been the king of cheap attacks, since Quake 2... closets/cubby holes for bad guys... ridiculous! The same Awesome graphics, an interesting story so far... realistic lighting... most of it is wonderful. Major kudos on the computer screen interfaces, my jaw has been on the floor for many levels. But a couple odd "game" rules interfere with the sense of... say... fairness. id has always been the king of cheap attacks, since Quake 2... closets/cubby holes for bad guys... ridiculous! The same thing happens here... I wouldn't even mind it if the bad guys came THROUGH the walls because they are "ghosts" or when they teleport in; grates lift up in floor? Perfect! But the idea that a creature from hell invaded the base and found a secret closet to hide in? Ridiculous. Also, why can't I duct tape my flashlight to my gun; hell, why isn't there a flashlight built into my gun? This is the future right? "It's for the sense of desparation we want you to feel." Yace, yace. Expand
  3. Sep 30, 2013
    8
    Linear game, with stunning visuals, and good weapons/monsters, and with acceptable story.
    So linear, and sometimes so boring, but for some reason, it keeps me hooked, and calls me back to play all over again.
  4. JohnM.
    Aug 5, 2004
    9
    Cant believe sooo many people dont get the game, its classic Doom but 100 times better. How anyone can say it gets boring is beyond me, this game is the best FPS to come out in years, probably since half-life. The action is none stop plus the story gets driven by the PDA system brilliantly, I cant get enough of this game so far and I'm sure that mods that come out for it will be just Cant believe sooo many people dont get the game, its classic Doom but 100 times better. How anyone can say it gets boring is beyond me, this game is the best FPS to come out in years, probably since half-life. The action is none stop plus the story gets driven by the PDA system brilliantly, I cant get enough of this game so far and I'm sure that mods that come out for it will be just as good. Expand
  5. Jan 1, 2013
    9
    Must own game even in this age of gaming. Great shooting game that should be played by anyone that calls themselves an FPS fan, but don't think you can handle the graphics? There's a mod for that. Rather have the falshlight on your weapons? There's a mod for that, Want faster-paced gameplay closer to the original Doom? There's a mod for that. Rather have a medieval fantasy setting withMust own game even in this age of gaming. Great shooting game that should be played by anyone that calls themselves an FPS fan, but don't think you can handle the graphics? There's a mod for that. Rather have the falshlight on your weapons? There's a mod for that, Want faster-paced gameplay closer to the original Doom? There's a mod for that. Rather have a medieval fantasy setting with Shield and melee combat? There's a mod for that. Want a completely different, stealth based game a-like to the kinds of Thief, but with better graphics and 100's of community made maps and missions? There's a mod for that. Have a look for some examples here, gamefront.com/5-must-play-doom-3-mods/, and, moddb.com/games/doom-iii, for the examples given and use you trusty friend Google to find out more about these countless mods, many of which can improve any problems you personally have with the game, or that many have with it. I cannot think of a reson you should not buy it.

    Have fun
    Expand
  6. Nov 23, 2012
    10
    I have to be honest. DOOM3 BEST GAME EVER AND YOU SHOULD BE PLAYING IT RIGHT NOW NOT READING MY REVIEW ARE YOU STUPID WHY AM I WRITING THIS REVIEW I HAVE TO GO PLAY DOOM3 100000000000000000/10 GAME AT LEAST THE GRAPHICS REALLY PLEASURE MY EYES AND THE SOUND MAKES ME CRY FROM HAPPINESS GAMEPLAY GOT MY SOUL ITS AWESOME. ANOTHER SUCCESS FROM id software, our creator and ruler. AND YES THIS ISI have to be honest. DOOM3 BEST GAME EVER AND YOU SHOULD BE PLAYING IT RIGHT NOW NOT READING MY REVIEW ARE YOU STUPID WHY AM I WRITING THIS REVIEW I HAVE TO GO PLAY DOOM3 100000000000000000/10 GAME AT LEAST THE GRAPHICS REALLY PLEASURE MY EYES AND THE SOUND MAKES ME CRY FROM HAPPINESS GAMEPLAY GOT MY SOUL ITS AWESOME. ANOTHER SUCCESS FROM id software, our creator and ruler. AND YES THIS IS SCARY AS HELL! GOT IT? HELL?? heha Expand
  7. Feb 21, 2014
    9
    A great game even after a decade its a timeless master piece. If your looking for a good fun adventure with tons of violence gore and exploration. The story isn't good but the game sure is and for a cheap price of just ten dollars its worth it.
  8. AndrewW.
    Aug 7, 2004
    10
    This game is the epitome of a FPS. It is perfect in every way. The graphics are insane, it has the best single player campaign ever in a shooter, and 32 online deathmatchs kick major butt. Best shooter ever, possibly even best game.
  9. Full-Life
    Aug 8, 2004
    7
    Nice game. I knew what to expect from Doom III; old skool gameplay in a new pair of Gucci shoes. So unlike people that expected revolutionary gameplay and got disappointed...... i got disappointed because the old skool gameplay was not executed very well. Surely you would have at least expected more variety, interesting puzzles and a slight tactical touch in these days of gaming. It got Nice game. I knew what to expect from Doom III; old skool gameplay in a new pair of Gucci shoes. So unlike people that expected revolutionary gameplay and got disappointed...... i got disappointed because the old skool gameplay was not executed very well. Surely you would have at least expected more variety, interesting puzzles and a slight tactical touch in these days of gaming. It got predictable towards the ending. Also the AI was not good... it did not offer a challenge. Doom III is also really short. I mean, what 4 years in development and we get 10 hours of gameplay? Some replay value would have been nice... i guess Western Developers are not that replay value sensitive as Japanese developers. I wanted to count multiplayer as replay value but it is soooo boring. Sorry ID Software, you have not evolved with time and are still in the past. Expand
  10. BradJ.
    Aug 1, 2007
    7
    DooM I and DooM II are the greatest first person shooters of all time. In my opinion, Doom 3 does not live up to the legacy. The omnipresent shadow and haunting audio make a superb atmosphere, though the game lacks in many other regards. All too often you will open a door to find an imp crouched in wait, ready to pounce, or a demon will be hiding in a canceled closet, only leaving after DooM I and DooM II are the greatest first person shooters of all time. In my opinion, Doom 3 does not live up to the legacy. The omnipresent shadow and haunting audio make a superb atmosphere, though the game lacks in many other regards. All too often you will open a door to find an imp crouched in wait, ready to pounce, or a demon will be hiding in a canceled closet, only leaving after you have passed by unsuspectingly. All too often you must decide between seeing, and shooting. The scares get tiresome after the first few levels, and the constant spawning of monsters becomes frustrating. When compared to the original DooM, DooM 3 is far easier to navigate. No longer is it necessary for you to wander around searching for 3 keycards hidden in the expansive level. Now, the goals are linear. It is much more enjoyable. This is also a downside, as there is nothing to provide padding between the endless scuffles with the invading forces. The combat in DooM I and DooM II is more enjoyable. It was fast paced and exhilarating, while in Doom 3, your foes tend to come in small quantities and hide in the shadows. I can say this: what Doom 3 does, it does very well. The graphics are great, the story is an improved version of the original DooM I (Contrary to popular belief, Half Life stole the story of DooM I, you would never know it unless you read the manual for DooM I), the atmosphere is great, and the gameplay lacks when compared to other FPS. That is not a fair comparison, as Doom 3 is not like the other shooters. It must be observed in its own artistic way. Because I found the gameplay repetitive, and not completely enjoyable, I give this game a 7. Expand
  11. WillB.
    Aug 11, 2004
    5
    This is a visually stunning game, without a doubt easily in the top 3 when it comes to looks, but when it comes to game play, it
  12. RichardT.
    Aug 13, 2004
    5
    As an original Doom fanatic just the thought of the new game brought back memories of late evenings spent with friends and two PC
  13. Mr.Somebody
    Aug 14, 2004
    9
    Okay...okay. All of you who have nothing better to do than complain about stuff can just shut it. This isn't the best game you'll ever play; I still have high hopes for HL2. However, this doesn't mean you can compare Doom to games like that and FarCry!! Id made the FPS genre!!! I believe "DXO" said that the beginning was ripped from Half-Life. Um...this game is a REMAKE of Okay...okay. All of you who have nothing better to do than complain about stuff can just shut it. This isn't the best game you'll ever play; I still have high hopes for HL2. However, this doesn't mean you can compare Doom to games like that and FarCry!! Id made the FPS genre!!! I believe "DXO" said that the beginning was ripped from Half-Life. Um...this game is a REMAKE of one from the EARLY 90s!!! If anything, Half-Life ripped from Doom!!!!! Others said this was "lacking innovation," "scripted," and "claustrophobic." Some complain that there's no built-in flashlights, and the one you carry forces you to be weaponless while using it. And still more complain about it being too dark. ...You know why??!?! Because all of this is meant for the player to have the CRAP SCARED OUT OF HIM!!!!!! And I believe that complaining about a base on MARS being "claustrophobic" is like complaining about the international space station not having a large reception room with couches and a television!! It wouldn't be practical! Besides, if there were large, shiny rooms everywhere with a dozen monsters in each, no computer on EARTH would be able to run this game aside from teh ones used by the five richest Kings of Europe or something. So play the game and have fun killing mindlessly. Otherwise, go play something else and smile some. You know, 'cause the zombie behind you is gonna rip off your lips. Expand
  14. Domicron
    Aug 15, 2004
    5
    If you've got the hardware, it definitely looks pretty - so hats off to Id again for releasing a state of the art game engine. But as far as gameplay goes, total let down. Sure, the first 2 hours of this game are intense, scary, and keep you coming back for more... but give it another 2 hours and you realize that the entire scare factor relies on teleporting in bad guys behind If you've got the hardware, it definitely looks pretty - so hats off to Id again for releasing a state of the art game engine. But as far as gameplay goes, total let down. Sure, the first 2 hours of this game are intense, scary, and keep you coming back for more... but give it another 2 hours and you realize that the entire scare factor relies on teleporting in bad guys behind you...or having a secret door open behind you releasing monsters...and while this isn't bad by in itself, the true problem lies in this game never realizing what it should have been. Doom 2 was about battles - wading through monsters in utter carnage. What this game really needed was some of that interspersed with the dark/scary. Instead, this game proves to be nothing but a stale one trick pony.... hope half life 2 turns out better. Expand
  15. J.S.
    Aug 10, 2004
    6
    I still remember the excitement I felt when I first played the original Doom. Actually I lie; I felt that when I played Wolfenstein 3D first. Here was a game that truly started the 3D revolution - it proved that an immersive, first-person experience was possible on the computer and in my eyes at the time, I saw a future of photorealistic environments obeying the laws of physics where a I still remember the excitement I felt when I first played the original Doom. Actually I lie; I felt that when I played Wolfenstein 3D first. Here was a game that truly started the 3D revolution - it proved that an immersive, first-person experience was possible on the computer and in my eyes at the time, I saw a future of photorealistic environments obeying the laws of physics where a story set in any world imaginable centred around you. As far as I was and are now, concerned this is where computer games will end up; the place where ordinary people can live extraordinary lives. Wolfy3D showed that the photorealism in computer games was going to be achievable, all it needed was a bit more beef under the hood of your PC. And so with relish (and not a little imagination) I ate up Wolfy. Then Doom. The sheer pleasure of exploring a basic, yet fundamentally believable environments - with guns - was every bit the revolution it deserved to be. Then came Doom 2, and I the magic was beginning to fade - I couldn't quite put my finger on it... the graphics were better, there were more demons... but I was enjoying it less... and not for the first time, I was reintroduced to the axiom; gameplay is king. Then came Quake, Quake 2 (fully 3D characters) and a multitude of followers. Every one improving on the previous one's graphics, making the world seem more real, but all forgetting the impetus that led them there. The search for the realistic world in your PC was continuing apace visually, but was neglecting the most importanct aspect; interactivity. Since then, the gaming community has periodically roused from it's creative slumber to give us the likes of Half-Life, Deus-Ex, Morrowind etc. Always we were waiting for what ID did next to point the industry back towards where it will eventually end up. And so we come to Doom 3. What are ID telling us now? Well for one thing, they are telling us that bump and specular mapping with polygon-heavy environs, dynamic lighting, physics, 5.1 sound, 2x antialiasing can run very fast on a moderate system (2.8G, 1G RAM, 9800PRO). To have created such a rich environment and have it run so well is truly impressive. And what they say about game 'polish' should be a lesson to all. Computer panel access, cut-scene integration, PDA, the use of positional sound and lighting - the whole game reeks of the time they took to make sure every last little experience is a cut above what has gone before - although I might have a small gripe about the quality of some bump and spec. maps (even on extreme) which are not always as detailed as some in Far Cry, or the heat effects which again are not always quite as realistic. But these are mere triffles when such a convincing world has been created as in Doom 3. But that is where the good ends. The only other thing to commend ID on is the name; this truly is the third Doom game. You walk into a room, you get attacked. Your press a button, you get attacked. You pick up armour; attacked. Don't look behind you? Attacked. New weapon lying on the ground? Attacked. Not been attacked for a while? Wall opens and you probably get the idea... Worse still, these aren't monsters that are waiting in corridors or ducts that you flush out or hear having an argument - you can't surprise these demons - they appear when you pass the pre-programmed point and not a moment before. Pass the point and you will no doubt hear the noise of a demon being conjured from an electric disturbance nearby (reminiscent of anything?) but even that is not needed. I once walked through a door backwards and saw two spiders literally appear out of nowhere. Okay you may say I am being picky, but that the designers could not have though of a better way to infest a world with shootables is very disappointing. You start to get the impression that ID spend the ENTIRE FIVE YEARS on the engine for this game but a week on the gameplay. Or maybe no time at all? All this really is is Doom 2004. If they took the time to copy the story of Half-Life (science installation goes wrong, opens portal from another dimension which infests installation with beasts), the beginning (walking round installation before disaster) and the method of beast appearance (ball of electricity) - you might as well just swap the word "Xen" with "Hell" - why did they leave out the friendly interaction and AI? Yes, there is NO AI in Doom 3 - demons see you as soon as they appear (i.e. you are close enough - even if hidden) and then go straight for you. The more I play thins game, the more it amazes me that they though so little about the games that have come before it (except Half-Life of course). There is no stealth, no headshots, no need for ammo conservation, no using friendlies, no branching routes, no branching story (you might think there is but there isn't), no respite from attack. No subtlety. Graphically, this game delivers as advertised; it is the benchmark. Concerning gameplay, it competes with the likes of Doom 1 and 2, Quake, Serious Sam etc. Quite how so many reviewers have ignored this is really quite amazing. But I guess there are many people out there who don't realise that gaming is about an immersive experience shaped by the player and the games where you run around shooting stuff that moves is a little... passe. This is a game has no brain and requires none from the player. For a game that took five years where we have lived as Freeman and Denton, I can only be disappointed in that. Expand
  16. Pixelator
    Aug 17, 2004
    6
    Out of this world graphics - even at the lowest setting with all the jazzy options turned off so that it can give me playable frame-rates on my GeForce 4 MX (sorry, I don't think I want to spend four times the price of a game just to be able to play the game). The only other positive thing I can write about this game is that i love the weapon reloading sounds. Apart from that, Out of this world graphics - even at the lowest setting with all the jazzy options turned off so that it can give me playable frame-rates on my GeForce 4 MX (sorry, I don't think I want to spend four times the price of a game just to be able to play the game). The only other positive thing I can write about this game is that i love the weapon reloading sounds. Apart from that, it's pretty much a 10 year old game in a pretty wrapper. Maybe I was dissapointed because I'd just finished Far Cry before starting with Doom3. But then hey, with all the hoopla around it, Doom 3 was supposed to be a better game than Far Cry. It just isn't!!! Expand
  17. JeffB.
    Aug 18, 2004
    8
    I am pretty satisfied with the single player action. I think it's almost a little too dark all the time though. It's ok to have some darkness, but I'm not having too much fun being permanently attached to the flashlight. The multiplayer topic though...pretty unforgiveable. In a world where online play is critical to a FPS's survival, it's lucky for Doom that they I am pretty satisfied with the single player action. I think it's almost a little too dark all the time though. It's ok to have some darkness, but I'm not having too much fun being permanently attached to the flashlight. The multiplayer topic though...pretty unforgiveable. In a world where online play is critical to a FPS's survival, it's lucky for Doom that they hyped it up so well. The multiplayer is pretty pathetic. I'm sure that there are patches that will come out and new kinds of servers that will arise, but it's almost insulting to be forced to buy such a crappy multiplayer game ...isn't this supposed to be a "blockbuster"? Expand
  18. Tybo
    Aug 2, 2004
    10
    Simply the most atmospheric game ever! a must buy!
  19. PatrickO.
    Aug 3, 2004
    9
    This game rocks! I've never been scared playing a video game before, but this game will make me afraid to go to bed tonight. Monsters jumping out from any and everywhere is one thing we are all familiar with, but hearing the constant screams of hapless victims over the comlink and oh so realistic graphics of this game makes this the scariest game of all time! Cool stuff!!!! The only This game rocks! I've never been scared playing a video game before, but this game will make me afraid to go to bed tonight. Monsters jumping out from any and everywhere is one thing we are all familiar with, but hearing the constant screams of hapless victims over the comlink and oh so realistic graphics of this game makes this the scariest game of all time! Cool stuff!!!! The only downside I see is that the gameplay of running and gunning can get a bit tiring. But that's what Doom is about, right? Expand
  20. PoteD.
    Aug 4, 2004
    9
    1? 0? Honestly, I don't know who these people think they are kidding. It might sound intelligent to speak of a lack of gameplay and of the critics lauding the game on a superficial basis, but it sure doesn't when what you're claiming is absolute backward nonsense. Everything from the design to the pacing to the art direction is positively unbelievable, and you're just 1? 0? Honestly, I don't know who these people think they are kidding. It might sound intelligent to speak of a lack of gameplay and of the critics lauding the game on a superficial basis, but it sure doesn't when what you're claiming is absolute backward nonsense. Everything from the design to the pacing to the art direction is positively unbelievable, and you're just going to sound like the silly, blinded and bitter fool that you are to suggest otherwise. Only a 9 because it takes a game of the scope and spectacle of say...Half-Life ;) to earn a 10. Expand
  21. GregA.
    Aug 5, 2004
    8
    WOW this game is drop dead beautiful. Its just a little too dark and scary for my taste. Can't to wait to play mods and other games based on the great engine.
  22. AndrewP.
    Aug 5, 2004
    7
    This game deserves an 11 in graphics, sounds, effects, etc..., but as for the story goes, its your typical shoot'm up Doom story. Chase the bad guy, find keys, back track, beat the Devil! I thought the AI could have been better. Creatures hiding in places the same time, ie behind bookshelves and walls, got to be old. I thought Call of Duty had better AI than this. But the up side to This game deserves an 11 in graphics, sounds, effects, etc..., but as for the story goes, its your typical shoot'm up Doom story. Chase the bad guy, find keys, back track, beat the Devil! I thought the AI could have been better. Creatures hiding in places the same time, ie behind bookshelves and walls, got to be old. I thought Call of Duty had better AI than this. But the up side to this game is there is a great game engine to work off of for better games finally. I expect HL2 to out due Doom 3. Expand
  23. Lyle
    Aug 6, 2004
    9
    Wow. 9.5 is my real score. What a shooter! I am normally not a fan of straightforward action games. This one I am a big fan of. I'm a hardcore RPG'er normally but I have to say that this game doesn't really need anymore story because it does the things it does so well. I actually think the PDA thing is pretty cool. The atmosphere sucks you in. And bottom line.. IT'S Wow. 9.5 is my real score. What a shooter! I am normally not a fan of straightforward action games. This one I am a big fan of. I'm a hardcore RPG'er normally but I have to say that this game doesn't really need anymore story because it does the things it does so well. I actually think the PDA thing is pretty cool. The atmosphere sucks you in. And bottom line.. IT'S VERY FUN TO PLAY!!! A great experience. Knocked off half a point for fishy AI. Beautiful game ID! Thanks! Expand
  24. Alen44
    Aug 6, 2004
    8
    Good, but it ain't Halo.
  25. LizaS.45
    Aug 6, 2004
    8
    Made all the less impressive by the graphics crown already belonging to the excellent Far Cry.
  26. BrianJ.
    Aug 7, 2004
    6
    I've just purchased the game and played through the first two levels. I'll admit, the creatures look scary as heck and they often do startle me when they jump out, growl, and attack. The visuals are stunning...really stunning. Using the flashlight and coming across a zombie or alien-thing is the creepiest. I don't get the sense that the AI is all that bright. So far its I've just purchased the game and played through the first two levels. I'll admit, the creatures look scary as heck and they often do startle me when they jump out, growl, and attack. The visuals are stunning...really stunning. Using the flashlight and coming across a zombie or alien-thing is the creepiest. I don't get the sense that the AI is all that bright. So far its mostly close quarters battling with the shotgun or the machine gun. You can pretty much march through the game and aim at the creatures faces with the shotgun. For me, this game is not as fun as the Jedi-Knight Academy game in which, even if the levels get repetiitive, you can find new ways to destroy everyone with force powers. With Doom, you still just run around looking for ammo, using your flashlight and shooting up stuff. Occasionally, you have to read other people's e-mail to get codes to open up their lock boxes to get, guess what, ammo, health, and body shields. It's an amusement park ride, pure and simple. It will probably entertain you if you know what you are getting into. If you want to be creeped out and startled, its a good buy. Is it worth 50 bucks? Well, not for the gameplay...perhaps for the visuals and audio. Expand
  27. AaronG.
    Aug 9, 2004
    8
    Doom III is essentially doom with better graphics. Period! Yes the lighting engine makes the game spookier, but with the ability to save your game every 5 sec., there is no sense of danger and no sense of OH CRAP when you die. What REALLY bothers me is how professional review sights are gushing over the graphics. Yes the game has the best character models ever, but the environmental Doom III is essentially doom with better graphics. Period! Yes the lighting engine makes the game spookier, but with the ability to save your game every 5 sec., there is no sense of danger and no sense of OH CRAP when you die. What REALLY bothers me is how professional review sights are gushing over the graphics. Yes the game has the best character models ever, but the environmental textures are AWFUL. Try walking up to a wall or console. It looks workse than the original unreal tournament engine. Far Cry was a far superior game in terms of AI, gameplay, and even humor. The trigents freaked me out more than anything Doom 3 offered up because dying actually had consequences. AND while the character models aren't as good, the environment in Far Cry was infinitely superior. The fact that Doom III got a higher rating than Far Cry is just more proof that most reviewers are not doing their job. If you want more proof, just look at the reviews of Master of Orion III (which came out broken and was getting 9's and 10's). Expand
  28. LordYupa
    Aug 9, 2004
    8
    ID invented FPS and somehow got lost within its own skills. An excellent engine that is the most advanced tech-demo ever seen (until now) wraps the game that we all played more than 10 years ago. I have the deepest admiration for Carmack team achievements and they deserve respect. But simply they doesn't know anything about gameplay. Somebody should give them a GBA or gamecube as a ID invented FPS and somehow got lost within its own skills. An excellent engine that is the most advanced tech-demo ever seen (until now) wraps the game that we all played more than 10 years ago. I have the deepest admiration for Carmack team achievements and they deserve respect. But simply they doesn't know anything about gameplay. Somebody should give them a GBA or gamecube as a present. I give a 8 because Doom3 will push other publishers with great ideas to use THIS very technology to present their new products. The Doom heritage. Expand
  29. DaveH.
    Sep 18, 2004
    5
    Distinctly average. All looks and no substance. Another ID classic.
  30. Chimp
    Sep 19, 2004
    8
    First of all, let me point out that most people have this idea of doom 3 of being some amazing game that requires nothing less than a pentium 4 with a geforce 6800 or whatever to run on high settings with a good framerate. On my 2.0ghz amd athlon xp with 512 ram and a geforceFX5700(all of that didnt cost more than $500) it runs great on high setting with 1024 res. OK but now onto the First of all, let me point out that most people have this idea of doom 3 of being some amazing game that requires nothing less than a pentium 4 with a geforce 6800 or whatever to run on high settings with a good framerate. On my 2.0ghz amd athlon xp with 512 ram and a geforceFX5700(all of that didnt cost more than $500) it runs great on high setting with 1024 res. OK but now onto the game. Yes, yes, the graphics and sound is amazing. And i mean AMAZING. the shadows and reflections, the textures, the demonic howls and everything else really feels like your there. the atmosphere is great, and the many dark rooms are really cool at first, but then they do start getting a bit annoying. and yes if youre just the type of gamer who wants to walk through the game and take in the sights and sounds, too bad. even on easy enemies take several bullets to go down. the normal hand to hand zombies are easy, but once you start fighting faster, ranged enemies, it will get quite hard if your not experienced with shooters, especially since its so often hard to see. if youre used to shooters its not gonna give you to many headaches. but i think the developers should of put in a very easy setting for people who just want to see the game, not have to worry about getting shot in the dark every five seconds. Expand
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 83 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 77 out of 83
  2. Negative: 0 out of 83
  1. The graphics are amazing (mind you, even on a mediocre system), the sound is amazing (if you don’t have a 5.1 system yet, consider it), and the game is downright scary.
  2. DOOM 3 smashes through all the hype and delivers a grand slam of action, story, atmosphere, and pure terror.
  3. So perfectly constructed, so deliciously immersive and downright elegant, that demands for more seem crass. It might not be the very best shooter out there, but it's the more visually stunning and successfully atmospheric than any game we've had the pleasure to play.