User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 760 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 95 out of 760

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 5, 2013
    9
    Not sure why this game has a mixed or average 7.3 as a user score and only an 87. This is by far one of the best survival horror games I have ever played. The game looks like a 2010 title yet its only a 2004 one. I never really paid much attention to Doom 3 when it first came out because I was never into scary games, but Doom 3 really pulled me into its atmosphere, something video gamesNot sure why this game has a mixed or average 7.3 as a user score and only an 87. This is by far one of the best survival horror games I have ever played. The game looks like a 2010 title yet its only a 2004 one. I never really paid much attention to Doom 3 when it first came out because I was never into scary games, but Doom 3 really pulled me into its atmosphere, something video games rarely do to me let alone one made nine years ago. Some silly design choices like not being able to hold a flashlight and a gun at the same time and a lack of enemy variety are some of the flaws this game has, but nevertheless is an amazing title. I hope this franchise's future is still intact, I really want to see Doom 4 on Id Tech 5. Expand
  2. D.Railer
    Aug 6, 2004
    8
    Awesome graphics, an interesting story so far... realistic lighting... most of it is wonderful. Major kudos on the computer screen interfaces, my jaw has been on the floor for many levels. But a couple odd "game" rules interfere with the sense of... say... fairness. id has always been the king of cheap attacks, since Quake 2... closets/cubby holes for bad guys... ridiculous! The same Awesome graphics, an interesting story so far... realistic lighting... most of it is wonderful. Major kudos on the computer screen interfaces, my jaw has been on the floor for many levels. But a couple odd "game" rules interfere with the sense of... say... fairness. id has always been the king of cheap attacks, since Quake 2... closets/cubby holes for bad guys... ridiculous! The same thing happens here... I wouldn't even mind it if the bad guys came THROUGH the walls because they are "ghosts" or when they teleport in; grates lift up in floor? Perfect! But the idea that a creature from hell invaded the base and found a secret closet to hide in? Ridiculous. Also, why can't I duct tape my flashlight to my gun; hell, why isn't there a flashlight built into my gun? This is the future right? "It's for the sense of desparation we want you to feel." Yace, yace. Expand
  3. Sep 30, 2013
    8
    Linear game, with stunning visuals, and good weapons/monsters, and with acceptable story.
    So linear, and sometimes so boring, but for some reason, it keeps me hooked, and calls me back to play all over again.
  4. JohnM.
    Aug 5, 2004
    9
    Cant believe sooo many people dont get the game, its classic Doom but 100 times better. How anyone can say it gets boring is beyond me, this game is the best FPS to come out in years, probably since half-life. The action is none stop plus the story gets driven by the PDA system brilliantly, I cant get enough of this game so far and I'm sure that mods that come out for it will be just Cant believe sooo many people dont get the game, its classic Doom but 100 times better. How anyone can say it gets boring is beyond me, this game is the best FPS to come out in years, probably since half-life. The action is none stop plus the story gets driven by the PDA system brilliantly, I cant get enough of this game so far and I'm sure that mods that come out for it will be just as good. Expand
  5. Jan 1, 2013
    9
    Must own game even in this age of gaming. Great shooting game that should be played by anyone that calls themselves an FPS fan, but don't think you can handle the graphics? There's a mod for that. Rather have the falshlight on your weapons? There's a mod for that, Want faster-paced gameplay closer to the original Doom? There's a mod for that. Rather have a medieval fantasy setting withMust own game even in this age of gaming. Great shooting game that should be played by anyone that calls themselves an FPS fan, but don't think you can handle the graphics? There's a mod for that. Rather have the falshlight on your weapons? There's a mod for that, Want faster-paced gameplay closer to the original Doom? There's a mod for that. Rather have a medieval fantasy setting with Shield and melee combat? There's a mod for that. Want a completely different, stealth based game a-like to the kinds of Thief, but with better graphics and 100's of community made maps and missions? There's a mod for that. Have a look for some examples here, gamefront.com/5-must-play-doom-3-mods/, and, moddb.com/games/doom-iii, for the examples given and use you trusty friend Google to find out more about these countless mods, many of which can improve any problems you personally have with the game, or that many have with it. I cannot think of a reson you should not buy it.

    Have fun
    Expand
  6. Nov 23, 2012
    10
    I have to be honest. DOOM3 BEST GAME EVER AND YOU SHOULD BE PLAYING IT RIGHT NOW NOT READING MY REVIEW ARE YOU STUPID WHY AM I WRITING THIS REVIEW I HAVE TO GO PLAY DOOM3 100000000000000000/10 GAME AT LEAST THE GRAPHICS REALLY PLEASURE MY EYES AND THE SOUND MAKES ME CRY FROM HAPPINESS GAMEPLAY GOT MY SOUL ITS AWESOME. ANOTHER SUCCESS FROM id software, our creator and ruler. AND YES THIS ISI have to be honest. DOOM3 BEST GAME EVER AND YOU SHOULD BE PLAYING IT RIGHT NOW NOT READING MY REVIEW ARE YOU STUPID WHY AM I WRITING THIS REVIEW I HAVE TO GO PLAY DOOM3 100000000000000000/10 GAME AT LEAST THE GRAPHICS REALLY PLEASURE MY EYES AND THE SOUND MAKES ME CRY FROM HAPPINESS GAMEPLAY GOT MY SOUL ITS AWESOME. ANOTHER SUCCESS FROM id software, our creator and ruler. AND YES THIS IS SCARY AS HELL! GOT IT? HELL?? heha Expand
  7. Feb 21, 2014
    9
    A great game even after a decade its a timeless master piece. If your looking for a good fun adventure with tons of violence gore and exploration. The story isn't good but the game sure is and for a cheap price of just ten dollars its worth it.
  8. AndrewW.
    Aug 7, 2004
    10
    This game is the epitome of a FPS. It is perfect in every way. The graphics are insane, it has the best single player campaign ever in a shooter, and 32 online deathmatchs kick major butt. Best shooter ever, possibly even best game.
  9. Full-Life
    Aug 8, 2004
    7
    Nice game. I knew what to expect from Doom III; old skool gameplay in a new pair of Gucci shoes. So unlike people that expected revolutionary gameplay and got disappointed...... i got disappointed because the old skool gameplay was not executed very well. Surely you would have at least expected more variety, interesting puzzles and a slight tactical touch in these days of gaming. It got Nice game. I knew what to expect from Doom III; old skool gameplay in a new pair of Gucci shoes. So unlike people that expected revolutionary gameplay and got disappointed...... i got disappointed because the old skool gameplay was not executed very well. Surely you would have at least expected more variety, interesting puzzles and a slight tactical touch in these days of gaming. It got predictable towards the ending. Also the AI was not good... it did not offer a challenge. Doom III is also really short. I mean, what 4 years in development and we get 10 hours of gameplay? Some replay value would have been nice... i guess Western Developers are not that replay value sensitive as Japanese developers. I wanted to count multiplayer as replay value but it is soooo boring. Sorry ID Software, you have not evolved with time and are still in the past. Expand
  10. BradJ.
    Aug 1, 2007
    7
    DooM I and DooM II are the greatest first person shooters of all time. In my opinion, Doom 3 does not live up to the legacy. The omnipresent shadow and haunting audio make a superb atmosphere, though the game lacks in many other regards. All too often you will open a door to find an imp crouched in wait, ready to pounce, or a demon will be hiding in a canceled closet, only leaving after DooM I and DooM II are the greatest first person shooters of all time. In my opinion, Doom 3 does not live up to the legacy. The omnipresent shadow and haunting audio make a superb atmosphere, though the game lacks in many other regards. All too often you will open a door to find an imp crouched in wait, ready to pounce, or a demon will be hiding in a canceled closet, only leaving after you have passed by unsuspectingly. All too often you must decide between seeing, and shooting. The scares get tiresome after the first few levels, and the constant spawning of monsters becomes frustrating. When compared to the original DooM, DooM 3 is far easier to navigate. No longer is it necessary for you to wander around searching for 3 keycards hidden in the expansive level. Now, the goals are linear. It is much more enjoyable. This is also a downside, as there is nothing to provide padding between the endless scuffles with the invading forces. The combat in DooM I and DooM II is more enjoyable. It was fast paced and exhilarating, while in Doom 3, your foes tend to come in small quantities and hide in the shadows. I can say this: what Doom 3 does, it does very well. The graphics are great, the story is an improved version of the original DooM I (Contrary to popular belief, Half Life stole the story of DooM I, you would never know it unless you read the manual for DooM I), the atmosphere is great, and the gameplay lacks when compared to other FPS. That is not a fair comparison, as Doom 3 is not like the other shooters. It must be observed in its own artistic way. Because I found the gameplay repetitive, and not completely enjoyable, I give this game a 7. Expand
  11. WillB.
    Aug 11, 2004
    5
    This is a visually stunning game, without a doubt easily in the top 3 when it comes to looks, but when it comes to game play, it
  12. RichardT.
    Aug 13, 2004
    5
    As an original Doom fanatic just the thought of the new game brought back memories of late evenings spent with friends and two PC
  13. Mr.Somebody
    Aug 14, 2004
    9
    Okay...okay. All of you who have nothing better to do than complain about stuff can just shut it. This isn't the best game you'll ever play; I still have high hopes for HL2. However, this doesn't mean you can compare Doom to games like that and FarCry!! Id made the FPS genre!!! I believe "DXO" said that the beginning was ripped from Half-Life. Um...this game is a REMAKE of Okay...okay. All of you who have nothing better to do than complain about stuff can just shut it. This isn't the best game you'll ever play; I still have high hopes for HL2. However, this doesn't mean you can compare Doom to games like that and FarCry!! Id made the FPS genre!!! I believe "DXO" said that the beginning was ripped from Half-Life. Um...this game is a REMAKE of one from the EARLY 90s!!! If anything, Half-Life ripped from Doom!!!!! Others said this was "lacking innovation," "scripted," and "claustrophobic." Some complain that there's no built-in flashlights, and the one you carry forces you to be weaponless while using it. And still more complain about it being too dark. ...You know why??!?! Because all of this is meant for the player to have the CRAP SCARED OUT OF HIM!!!!!! And I believe that complaining about a base on MARS being "claustrophobic" is like complaining about the international space station not having a large reception room with couches and a television!! It wouldn't be practical! Besides, if there were large, shiny rooms everywhere with a dozen monsters in each, no computer on EARTH would be able to run this game aside from teh ones used by the five richest Kings of Europe or something. So play the game and have fun killing mindlessly. Otherwise, go play something else and smile some. You know, 'cause the zombie behind you is gonna rip off your lips. Expand
  14. Domicron
    Aug 15, 2004
    5
    If you've got the hardware, it definitely looks pretty - so hats off to Id again for releasing a state of the art game engine. But as far as gameplay goes, total let down. Sure, the first 2 hours of this game are intense, scary, and keep you coming back for more... but give it another 2 hours and you realize that the entire scare factor relies on teleporting in bad guys behind If you've got the hardware, it definitely looks pretty - so hats off to Id again for releasing a state of the art game engine. But as far as gameplay goes, total let down. Sure, the first 2 hours of this game are intense, scary, and keep you coming back for more... but give it another 2 hours and you realize that the entire scare factor relies on teleporting in bad guys behind you...or having a secret door open behind you releasing monsters...and while this isn't bad by in itself, the true problem lies in this game never realizing what it should have been. Doom 2 was about battles - wading through monsters in utter carnage. What this game really needed was some of that interspersed with the dark/scary. Instead, this game proves to be nothing but a stale one trick pony.... hope half life 2 turns out better. Expand
  15. J.S.
    Aug 10, 2004
    6
    I still remember the excitement I felt when I first played the original Doom. Actually I lie; I felt that when I played Wolfenstein 3D first. Here was a game that truly started the 3D revolution - it proved that an immersive, first-person experience was possible on the computer and in my eyes at the time, I saw a future of photorealistic environments obeying the laws of physics where a I still remember the excitement I felt when I first played the original Doom. Actually I lie; I felt that when I played Wolfenstein 3D first. Here was a game that truly started the 3D revolution - it proved that an immersive, first-person experience was possible on the computer and in my eyes at the time, I saw a future of photorealistic environments obeying the laws of physics where a story set in any world imaginable centred around you. As far as I was and are now, concerned this is where computer games will end up; the place where ordinary people can live extraordinary lives. Wolfy3D showed that the photorealism in computer games was going to be achievable, all it needed was a bit more beef under the hood of your PC. And so with relish (and not a little imagination) I ate up Wolfy. Then Doom. The sheer pleasure of exploring a basic, yet fundamentally believable environments - with guns - was every bit the revolution it deserved to be. Then came Doom 2, and I the magic was beginning to fade - I couldn't quite put my finger on it... the graphics were better, there were more demons... but I was enjoying it less... and not for the first time, I was reintroduced to the axiom; gameplay is king. Then came Quake, Quake 2 (fully 3D characters) and a multitude of followers. Every one improving on the previous one's graphics, making the world seem more real, but all forgetting the impetus that led them there. The search for the realistic world in your PC was continuing apace visually, but was neglecting the most importanct aspect; interactivity. Since then, the gaming community has periodically roused from it's creative slumber to give us the likes of Half-Life, Deus-Ex, Morrowind etc. Always we were waiting for what ID did next to point the industry back towards where it will eventually end up. And so we come to Doom 3. What are ID telling us now? Well for one thing, they are telling us that bump and specular mapping with polygon-heavy environs, dynamic lighting, physics, 5.1 sound, 2x antialiasing can run very fast on a moderate system (2.8G, 1G RAM, 9800PRO). To have created such a rich environment and have it run so well is truly impressive. And what they say about game 'polish' should be a lesson to all. Computer panel access, cut-scene integration, PDA, the use of positional sound and lighting - the whole game reeks of the time they took to make sure every last little experience is a cut above what has gone before - although I might have a small gripe about the quality of some bump and spec. maps (even on extreme) which are not always as detailed as some in Far Cry, or the heat effects which again are not always quite as realistic. But these are mere triffles when such a convincing world has been created as in Doom 3. But that is where the good ends. The only other thing to commend ID on is the name; this truly is the third Doom game. You walk into a room, you get attacked. Your press a button, you get attacked. You pick up armour; attacked. Don't look behind you? Attacked. New weapon lying on the ground? Attacked. Not been attacked for a while? Wall opens and you probably get the idea... Worse still, these aren't monsters that are waiting in corridors or ducts that you flush out or hear having an argument - you can't surprise these demons - they appear when you pass the pre-programmed point and not a moment before. Pass the point and you will no doubt hear the noise of a demon being conjured from an electric disturbance nearby (reminiscent of anything?) but even that is not needed. I once walked through a door backwards and saw two spiders literally appear out of nowhere. Okay you may say I am being picky, but that the designers could not have though of a better way to infest a world with shootables is very disappointing. You start to get the impression that ID spend the ENTIRE FIVE YEARS on the engine for this game but a week on the gameplay. Or maybe no time at all? All this really is is Doom 2004. If they took the time to copy the story of Half-Life (science installation goes wrong, opens portal from another dimension which infests installation with beasts), the beginning (walking round installation before disaster) and the method of beast appearance (ball of electricity) - you might as well just swap the word "Xen" with "Hell" - why did they leave out the friendly interaction and AI? Yes, there is NO AI in Doom 3 - demons see you as soon as they appear (i.e. you are close enough - even if hidden) and then go straight for you. The more I play thins game, the more it amazes me that they though so little about the games that have come before it (except Half-Life of course). There is no stealth, no headshots, no need for ammo conservation, no using friendlies, no branching routes, no branching story (you might think there is but there isn't), no respite from attack. No subtlety. Graphically, this game delivers as advertised; it is the benchmark. Concerning gameplay, it competes with the likes of Doom 1 and 2, Quake, Serious Sam etc. Quite how so many reviewers have ignored this is really quite amazing. But I guess there are many people out there who don't realise that gaming is about an immersive experience shaped by the player and the games where you run around shooting stuff that moves is a little... passe. This is a game has no brain and requires none from the player. For a game that took five years where we have lived as Freeman and Denton, I can only be disappointed in that. Expand
  16. Pixelator
    Aug 17, 2004
    6
    Out of this world graphics - even at the lowest setting with all the jazzy options turned off so that it can give me playable frame-rates on my GeForce 4 MX (sorry, I don't think I want to spend four times the price of a game just to be able to play the game). The only other positive thing I can write about this game is that i love the weapon reloading sounds. Apart from that, Out of this world graphics - even at the lowest setting with all the jazzy options turned off so that it can give me playable frame-rates on my GeForce 4 MX (sorry, I don't think I want to spend four times the price of a game just to be able to play the game). The only other positive thing I can write about this game is that i love the weapon reloading sounds. Apart from that, it's pretty much a 10 year old game in a pretty wrapper. Maybe I was dissapointed because I'd just finished Far Cry before starting with Doom3. But then hey, with all the hoopla around it, Doom 3 was supposed to be a better game than Far Cry. It just isn't!!! Expand
  17. JeffB.
    Aug 18, 2004
    8
    I am pretty satisfied with the single player action. I think it's almost a little too dark all the time though. It's ok to have some darkness, but I'm not having too much fun being permanently attached to the flashlight. The multiplayer topic though...pretty unforgiveable. In a world where online play is critical to a FPS's survival, it's lucky for Doom that they I am pretty satisfied with the single player action. I think it's almost a little too dark all the time though. It's ok to have some darkness, but I'm not having too much fun being permanently attached to the flashlight. The multiplayer topic though...pretty unforgiveable. In a world where online play is critical to a FPS's survival, it's lucky for Doom that they hyped it up so well. The multiplayer is pretty pathetic. I'm sure that there are patches that will come out and new kinds of servers that will arise, but it's almost insulting to be forced to buy such a crappy multiplayer game ...isn't this supposed to be a "blockbuster"? Expand
  18. Tybo
    Aug 2, 2004
    10
    Simply the most atmospheric game ever! a must buy!
  19. PatrickO.
    Aug 3, 2004
    9
    This game rocks! I've never been scared playing a video game before, but this game will make me afraid to go to bed tonight. Monsters jumping out from any and everywhere is one thing we are all familiar with, but hearing the constant screams of hapless victims over the comlink and oh so realistic graphics of this game makes this the scariest game of all time! Cool stuff!!!! The only This game rocks! I've never been scared playing a video game before, but this game will make me afraid to go to bed tonight. Monsters jumping out from any and everywhere is one thing we are all familiar with, but hearing the constant screams of hapless victims over the comlink and oh so realistic graphics of this game makes this the scariest game of all time! Cool stuff!!!! The only downside I see is that the gameplay of running and gunning can get a bit tiring. But that's what Doom is about, right? Expand
  20. PoteD.
    Aug 4, 2004
    9
    1? 0? Honestly, I don't know who these people think they are kidding. It might sound intelligent to speak of a lack of gameplay and of the critics lauding the game on a superficial basis, but it sure doesn't when what you're claiming is absolute backward nonsense. Everything from the design to the pacing to the art direction is positively unbelievable, and you're just 1? 0? Honestly, I don't know who these people think they are kidding. It might sound intelligent to speak of a lack of gameplay and of the critics lauding the game on a superficial basis, but it sure doesn't when what you're claiming is absolute backward nonsense. Everything from the design to the pacing to the art direction is positively unbelievable, and you're just going to sound like the silly, blinded and bitter fool that you are to suggest otherwise. Only a 9 because it takes a game of the scope and spectacle of say...Half-Life ;) to earn a 10. Expand
  21. GregA.
    Aug 5, 2004
    8
    WOW this game is drop dead beautiful. Its just a little too dark and scary for my taste. Can't to wait to play mods and other games based on the great engine.
  22. AndrewP.
    Aug 5, 2004
    7
    This game deserves an 11 in graphics, sounds, effects, etc..., but as for the story goes, its your typical shoot'm up Doom story. Chase the bad guy, find keys, back track, beat the Devil! I thought the AI could have been better. Creatures hiding in places the same time, ie behind bookshelves and walls, got to be old. I thought Call of Duty had better AI than this. But the up side to This game deserves an 11 in graphics, sounds, effects, etc..., but as for the story goes, its your typical shoot'm up Doom story. Chase the bad guy, find keys, back track, beat the Devil! I thought the AI could have been better. Creatures hiding in places the same time, ie behind bookshelves and walls, got to be old. I thought Call of Duty had better AI than this. But the up side to this game is there is a great game engine to work off of for better games finally. I expect HL2 to out due Doom 3. Expand
  23. Lyle
    Aug 6, 2004
    9
    Wow. 9.5 is my real score. What a shooter! I am normally not a fan of straightforward action games. This one I am a big fan of. I'm a hardcore RPG'er normally but I have to say that this game doesn't really need anymore story because it does the things it does so well. I actually think the PDA thing is pretty cool. The atmosphere sucks you in. And bottom line.. IT'S Wow. 9.5 is my real score. What a shooter! I am normally not a fan of straightforward action games. This one I am a big fan of. I'm a hardcore RPG'er normally but I have to say that this game doesn't really need anymore story because it does the things it does so well. I actually think the PDA thing is pretty cool. The atmosphere sucks you in. And bottom line.. IT'S VERY FUN TO PLAY!!! A great experience. Knocked off half a point for fishy AI. Beautiful game ID! Thanks! Expand
  24. Alen44
    Aug 6, 2004
    8
    Good, but it ain't Halo.
  25. LizaS.45
    Aug 6, 2004
    8
    Made all the less impressive by the graphics crown already belonging to the excellent Far Cry.
  26. BrianJ.
    Aug 7, 2004
    6
    I've just purchased the game and played through the first two levels. I'll admit, the creatures look scary as heck and they often do startle me when they jump out, growl, and attack. The visuals are stunning...really stunning. Using the flashlight and coming across a zombie or alien-thing is the creepiest. I don't get the sense that the AI is all that bright. So far its I've just purchased the game and played through the first two levels. I'll admit, the creatures look scary as heck and they often do startle me when they jump out, growl, and attack. The visuals are stunning...really stunning. Using the flashlight and coming across a zombie or alien-thing is the creepiest. I don't get the sense that the AI is all that bright. So far its mostly close quarters battling with the shotgun or the machine gun. You can pretty much march through the game and aim at the creatures faces with the shotgun. For me, this game is not as fun as the Jedi-Knight Academy game in which, even if the levels get repetiitive, you can find new ways to destroy everyone with force powers. With Doom, you still just run around looking for ammo, using your flashlight and shooting up stuff. Occasionally, you have to read other people's e-mail to get codes to open up their lock boxes to get, guess what, ammo, health, and body shields. It's an amusement park ride, pure and simple. It will probably entertain you if you know what you are getting into. If you want to be creeped out and startled, its a good buy. Is it worth 50 bucks? Well, not for the gameplay...perhaps for the visuals and audio. Expand
  27. AaronG.
    Aug 9, 2004
    8
    Doom III is essentially doom with better graphics. Period! Yes the lighting engine makes the game spookier, but with the ability to save your game every 5 sec., there is no sense of danger and no sense of OH CRAP when you die. What REALLY bothers me is how professional review sights are gushing over the graphics. Yes the game has the best character models ever, but the environmental Doom III is essentially doom with better graphics. Period! Yes the lighting engine makes the game spookier, but with the ability to save your game every 5 sec., there is no sense of danger and no sense of OH CRAP when you die. What REALLY bothers me is how professional review sights are gushing over the graphics. Yes the game has the best character models ever, but the environmental textures are AWFUL. Try walking up to a wall or console. It looks workse than the original unreal tournament engine. Far Cry was a far superior game in terms of AI, gameplay, and even humor. The trigents freaked me out more than anything Doom 3 offered up because dying actually had consequences. AND while the character models aren't as good, the environment in Far Cry was infinitely superior. The fact that Doom III got a higher rating than Far Cry is just more proof that most reviewers are not doing their job. If you want more proof, just look at the reviews of Master of Orion III (which came out broken and was getting 9's and 10's). Expand
  28. LordYupa
    Aug 9, 2004
    8
    ID invented FPS and somehow got lost within its own skills. An excellent engine that is the most advanced tech-demo ever seen (until now) wraps the game that we all played more than 10 years ago. I have the deepest admiration for Carmack team achievements and they deserve respect. But simply they doesn't know anything about gameplay. Somebody should give them a GBA or gamecube as a ID invented FPS and somehow got lost within its own skills. An excellent engine that is the most advanced tech-demo ever seen (until now) wraps the game that we all played more than 10 years ago. I have the deepest admiration for Carmack team achievements and they deserve respect. But simply they doesn't know anything about gameplay. Somebody should give them a GBA or gamecube as a present. I give a 8 because Doom3 will push other publishers with great ideas to use THIS very technology to present their new products. The Doom heritage. Expand
  29. DaveH.
    Sep 18, 2004
    5
    Distinctly average. All looks and no substance. Another ID classic.
  30. Chimp
    Sep 19, 2004
    8
    First of all, let me point out that most people have this idea of doom 3 of being some amazing game that requires nothing less than a pentium 4 with a geforce 6800 or whatever to run on high settings with a good framerate. On my 2.0ghz amd athlon xp with 512 ram and a geforceFX5700(all of that didnt cost more than $500) it runs great on high setting with 1024 res. OK but now onto the First of all, let me point out that most people have this idea of doom 3 of being some amazing game that requires nothing less than a pentium 4 with a geforce 6800 or whatever to run on high settings with a good framerate. On my 2.0ghz amd athlon xp with 512 ram and a geforceFX5700(all of that didnt cost more than $500) it runs great on high setting with 1024 res. OK but now onto the game. Yes, yes, the graphics and sound is amazing. And i mean AMAZING. the shadows and reflections, the textures, the demonic howls and everything else really feels like your there. the atmosphere is great, and the many dark rooms are really cool at first, but then they do start getting a bit annoying. and yes if youre just the type of gamer who wants to walk through the game and take in the sights and sounds, too bad. even on easy enemies take several bullets to go down. the normal hand to hand zombies are easy, but once you start fighting faster, ranged enemies, it will get quite hard if your not experienced with shooters, especially since its so often hard to see. if youre used to shooters its not gonna give you to many headaches. but i think the developers should of put in a very easy setting for people who just want to see the game, not have to worry about getting shot in the dark every five seconds. Expand
  31. BarryC.
    Sep 6, 2004
    8
    It's doom, what more can you say. some people obviously wanted more than that. the middle gets a bit repetitive i'd have to say but the initial hours of scares and then eventually travelling to hell more than make up for it. i had to laugh at the guy/girl proclaiming "don't believe the hype" and then "roll on duke nukem forever".
  32. SteveH.
    Jan 3, 2005
    5
    The game was bogged down by the constant need to listen to audio logs, watch video discs, and read e-mails. Additionally, the first 2/3rds of the levels were highly repetitive. I only persisted because I wanted to see the ending. But I don't want to be entirely negative. The last third was a lot of fun though. Graphics were nice too.
  33. WilliamT.
    Nov 9, 2007
    8
    While it lacks most of the crazy blastiness that its forefathers so rightly hold, Doom 3 is still a game you should invest in. Not particulary scary or innovative but when you are shooting demons from Hell, it doesn't have to be.
  34. Passive
    Dec 2, 2004
    10
    The most graphically accoomplished game ever, a real treat for people who want to die (of claustrophobia, fear, heart attack, etc.). This game's all about the atmosphere, not much to say about the gamelay except 'normal', lets see what the expansion pack has in store for us.
  35. AnonymousMC
    Jul 22, 2004
    0
    This is wasted throwback to the old days. Dont buy this. It will either bore you to death or make you wish you actually had all the money needed to buy the machine that can play this.
    JK

    Now go line up and make it sell out faster than the DVD version of UT2004
  36. JohelV.
    Aug 10, 2004
    7
    Just as expected: doom3 doesn't beat the originals! Great graphics, sometimes absolutely stunning, though the surroundings' darkness is too omnipresent. Any way, beyond the eye candy, the game lacks the same thing EVERY FPS I've played lacks - excluding such classics as Wolfenstein and the original dooms (and maybe quake): unscripted surprises. Why can't they just Just as expected: doom3 doesn't beat the originals! Great graphics, sometimes absolutely stunning, though the surroundings' darkness is too omnipresent. Any way, beyond the eye candy, the game lacks the same thing EVERY FPS I've played lacks - excluding such classics as Wolfenstein and the original dooms (and maybe quake): unscripted surprises. Why can't they just concentrate on the gameplay? In doom 1 or 2, the whole level could be alive at some places, and the voices around weren't just scripted or an omen of an enemy behind the next corner. It could a voice of an enemy that has been following you for the latest 10 minutes, and just about to get to you! This DOES NOT exist in Doom3 nor any other modern eye-candy game, where all the effort is in the visuals and "cool" pre-determined scenes. Besides, these "scripted sequences" lack imagination in doom3 and with the combination of the whole game being so dark, it gets so damn repetitive. And a couple of other things: hits to a particular body part, especially head, should be more rewarding. Also,.there is NO way in hell the Doom3 boomstick could even nearly compare to the original shotgun in Doom1 & Doom2... Make a REAL Doom with modern graphics and effects, and then I'll be satisfied! This is not Doom, this is a mere Alien versus predator with Doom's enemies. As things are now, for me the original dooms still remain the absolute kings in the history of FPS games! Living environment, that's what I want!! Doom 1 & 2 Forever! Expand
  37. Signal
    Aug 12, 2004
    8
    Like everyone else has said so far: Amazing graphics, but basically the same as Doom 2. Only this time, instead of randomly running around a map until you find the exit, this game will guide you from point to point through a series of scripted events that unfold the plot. Also, about half the time you will be in complete darkness using your flashlight to light the way (this may be a turn Like everyone else has said so far: Amazing graphics, but basically the same as Doom 2. Only this time, instead of randomly running around a map until you find the exit, this game will guide you from point to point through a series of scripted events that unfold the plot. Also, about half the time you will be in complete darkness using your flashlight to light the way (this may be a turn off to many gamers). Other than that, the spooky atmosphere they created is amazing and very immersive. Also, it's important to note that graphics resolution is NOT important when playing this game. If the game is playing slowly on your mid-to-upper range system, drop the resolution to 640x480 while keeping all the other graphic options turned on. Trust me, the game will still look AMAZING. Or better yet, just hit the button that lets the game scan your hardware and determine the best settings FOR you. Expand
  38. DaveyDJ
    Aug 16, 2004
    6
    Yep... it's pretty good fun... and scary in places... But, man... the hardware you must need to run it decently... I'm sure it looks lovely on 2 grands worth of kit, but for average Joe Public, it's graphics are going to be pretty average. It's also way too dark. I'd agree with 'Raggende' review in that respect. They really need to get the contrast Yep... it's pretty good fun... and scary in places... But, man... the hardware you must need to run it decently... I'm sure it looks lovely on 2 grands worth of kit, but for average Joe Public, it's graphics are going to be pretty average. It's also way too dark. I'd agree with 'Raggende' review in that respect. They really need to get the contrast sorted. Shame. Expand
  39. BenjaminL.
    Mar 29, 2005
    0
    Least funny game to be released this year. what a joke, didnt make me laugh once. and all the cliches in the game really suck, like that gravity gun? what was up with that!? and there is only one boss fight, and it is waaaaay too easy. what a joke. go play halo 2, it is better written then this game will ever be.
  40. JoeD.
    Jun 29, 2005
    7
    This game is more than the sum of its parts. For some reason I found it had just enough to keep me coming back to complete it on the first run-through. I even went back to replay the entire game. However, just like Half-Life 2, the game is far too linear. There really is hardly any reason to come back and play it again, aside from the gorgeous graphics. Doom 3 has to be commended for This game is more than the sum of its parts. For some reason I found it had just enough to keep me coming back to complete it on the first run-through. I even went back to replay the entire game. However, just like Half-Life 2, the game is far too linear. There really is hardly any reason to come back and play it again, aside from the gorgeous graphics. Doom 3 has to be commended for generating a really chilling atmosphere, which does add to the enjoyment first time through. The graphics (especially the intricate and detailed level design) and sound effects are superb. The story isn't too bad, just not very original with no twists. The enemy A.I. should have been improved before this was released. All the enemies attack mindlessly. I mean come on! It is about time developers offered us some decent A.I in games these days (I'm looking at you Doom3 and Half-Life 2). All in all Doom 3 looks and sounds great, but doesn't offer much in the way of interesting or vaired gameplay, which of course means it has a very short shelf-life. Expand
  41. BradT.
    Mar 12, 2005
    10
    Awesome game, and an absolute blast to play, and not as gimmicky as half life 2.
  42. Aug 18, 2012
    10
    One of the most excitin games I have ever played! The only problem I had was the dark setting. Given the length of the game, the darkness became somewhat tedious. All in all, great weapons, challenging enemies, and many surprises.
  43. Oct 7, 2013
    10
    A masterpiece. Deep atmosphere and immersion. You play the role of a space marine as you investigate some serious problems going on in mars base. The AI is brutal and the terrain can be confusing but that is just a test of your survival capabilities. I hope you have good reflexes.
  44. Oct 27, 2013
    6
    Doom 3 does a lot of things right. However the story is not one of them. Doom 3 is a game set on the surface of mars, you play an unnamed space marine coming to mars for security reasons. the game takes of well and the action is fun for a while but about 4 or 5 hours in you notice that the level development is not very varying and the AI is basic and boring after about 100 of the same 8Doom 3 does a lot of things right. However the story is not one of them. Doom 3 is a game set on the surface of mars, you play an unnamed space marine coming to mars for security reasons. the game takes of well and the action is fun for a while but about 4 or 5 hours in you notice that the level development is not very varying and the AI is basic and boring after about 100 of the same 8 enemies. Luckily you get to go to hell and the game takes off again. after that the game is more than fun.

    The graphics were stellar for the time of 2004 but does not hold up too well. The music consists of the title music but the sound effects are Eire and the games tone is nice and dark. The story is almost non existent taking a back seat to the action. The levels are largely the same and the multiplayer is lack luster. Doom 3 is a nice action horror game but the AI, Story and Variety need a little bit of tweaking.

    I give this game a 6/10

    Anybody exited for DOOM 4?
    Expand
  45. Oct 26, 2012
    9
    DOOM is a legendary game series. Now in its third major entry the series goes modern. Everyone knows the story to the DOOM games, your a marine who is on a space station when Hell literally breaks loose and its up to you to stop the demons. The gameplay is everything I want in an FPS and the game has an atmosphere so tense that I would almost call it a horror title too. The only gripe IDOOM is a legendary game series. Now in its third major entry the series goes modern. Everyone knows the story to the DOOM games, your a marine who is on a space station when Hell literally breaks loose and its up to you to stop the demons. The gameplay is everything I want in an FPS and the game has an atmosphere so tense that I would almost call it a horror title too. The only gripe I have with it...lack of story, but its DOOM so it cant help it. Expand
  46. Jan 5, 2013
    7
    The only thing "Doom" about this game are the classical Imps and Hellknights and a glorified Hell level towards the end, homaging Doom II's art style. Cramped hallway style gameplay that tires after 4 of the 12 hours of gameplay, with the same old tricks of enemies jumping out from secret compartments or darkened corners whilst you tediously search for keycards in order to progress toThe only thing "Doom" about this game are the classical Imps and Hellknights and a glorified Hell level towards the end, homaging Doom II's art style. Cramped hallway style gameplay that tires after 4 of the 12 hours of gameplay, with the same old tricks of enemies jumping out from secret compartments or darkened corners whilst you tediously search for keycards in order to progress to something more interesting. Even on hard mode you trip over health and ammo which i guess is OK only in the context of the fact that this is DOOM and not a survival horror.

    The enemies aren't much of a threat when you realise they can barely hit you when you get inside their shooting arc, but not too close to melee; although i guess most players wont figure that out since they are scarey enough to try to avoid getting too close too. Although they do have this nasty habit of trapping you against a bulkhead and smacking your lower region to pieces just below your FoV which would be annoying if it wasn't for the fact this'll probably be the only time they take seasoned FPS players below 75% HP.

    The shotgun is the staple weapon of the game as you will always have ammo for it, unfortunately the infamous BFG feels a little lack luster when you can carry 328 shells but only 38 BFG rounds and it only takes 8 shotgun shells to take out a Hellknight compared to 4 BFG rounds. The BFG was famous for its room clearing capacity but in the extremely linear hallways of DOOM 3 you're more likely to have an enemy marine detonate the round in your face than use it effectively in anything but the rarest of circumstances.

    The game would have felt more classical DOOM like if there was more open space to strafe enemies and less time spent dropping into your PDA to read employee emails and audio logs. It's basically DOOM with all the corners cut off and the narrative shoved down your throat.

    In the context of its time it is a pretty game and the weapons are generally fun in that you can shoot to your hearts content without fear of needing that ammunition for something important later. There is also a traditional shooter feel in regards to how curiosity is often rewarded, such as the discovery of vents or spaces under stairs hiding some armour shards or ammo or other goodies like easter eggs.

    The final boss is a little disappointing however and ironically probably the easiest part of the game. I scored it a little higher than what i felt like because the game has obviously aged in the past 9 years and it deserves a score relative to its release date. The game was OK, but it does just make me want to play the originals.
    Expand
  47. Oct 14, 2012
    9
    This game scared the hell out of me in 2004 with my bada$$ setup and speakers. I couldn't even finish it because I was a baby, and the BFG edition still has the same great scary atmosphere after all these years! Can't wait until Doom 4!!!!!
  48. Jan 2, 2013
    7
    Amazing game. This is a freaking good game with competitive gameplay and a lot of weapons. It was, later, dumbed dom with "Doom 3 BFG Edition". Mind blowing graphics for its time, but which are still good now. Amazing plot. Good longevity. This is a real game. 7/10
  49. May 19, 2013
    9
    Frightening as hell and hard as hell. Many people have complained about the story... You cannot expect literary greatness from a series titled 'Doom.'
  50. Nov 7, 2013
    10
    When I first played this as a kid I was very scared of it for some reason. Now I go play it and enjoy the leap from 2.5D to 3D! One day there is going to be two super countries Valve and iD
  51. May 9, 2014
    8
    Gory, Dark, Demonic themes, Scary enough, Great graphics for it´s time but still being good to date and a good enemies design, perfect for a true FPS survival horror experience.
  52. Apr 29, 2014
    9
    DOOM 3 is an amazing game. Back when it first came out, I was literally too scared to even play it. Even as an adult now, the game still has it's frightening moments. With a massive weapon selection and immerse story line, you can get lost for hours in Mars City killing demons and sending them back to Hell. A true work of art.
  53. May 31, 2014
    8
    Regardless of its repetetive nature, this is the only game I have ever played that gave me a scare... in broad daylight... in a room full of people... The atmosphere makes up for other less competent parts of the game.
  54. D.Q.
    Aug 7, 2004
    10
    I amped up my machine for this game and it's worth it. I was blown away by the graphics, it's like actually being in there and that's 10x scarier than anything. When a game with this kind of evil pulls you right into it, it's definitely unsettling to say the least. I've been really limiting myself on when and how I play it. I only do a level per night and I go as I amped up my machine for this game and it's worth it. I was blown away by the graphics, it's like actually being in there and that's 10x scarier than anything. When a game with this kind of evil pulls you right into it, it's definitely unsettling to say the least. I've been really limiting myself on when and how I play it. I only do a level per night and I go as slow as humanly possible to let my nerves get the full load of adrenaline and terror that each corner, closed door and hidden place where evil lurks provides. I was surprised with the story, it's like being dropped right in there, I wasn't ready to be so immersed in this kind of world. Expand
  55. RodrigoG.
    Sep 7, 2008
    2
    When it comes to show off the power of the id Tech 4 engine, Doom 3 is a triumph. However, it is supposed to be a game, not a tech demo. And as a game, it is terrible. Enemies often spawn in manners that leave the player without a chance of reaction, unless he knows beforehand where they will appear; getting hit is too disorienting, although the enemies do not seem to get disoriented by When it comes to show off the power of the id Tech 4 engine, Doom 3 is a triumph. However, it is supposed to be a game, not a tech demo. And as a game, it is terrible. Enemies often spawn in manners that leave the player without a chance of reaction, unless he knows beforehand where they will appear; getting hit is too disorienting, although the enemies do not seem to get disoriented by the player's fire at all; the weapons take too long to reload, and the enemies take too much fire to die; the whole game is too bleak, repetitive, and frustrating to be enjoyable. One can even wonder if it was developed in the same mindset as the infamous "Takeshi's Challenge" - a game intended, not to amuse, but to frustrate and infuriate. That would make sense, the plot is about a journey into hell after all. Artistic, in a sense, I suppose. Fun? No. Expand
  56. Jul 5, 2011
    6
    I have to be honest here i didn't like the game i liked the classic better there was no story just killing demons. anyway it was a good attempt so i have to give them some credit hopefully doom 4 will be better.
  57. ArmageddonP.
    Jun 5, 2006
    3
    Wow, this was a bad bad game. A total letdown from ID software. All graphics and no gameplay. I'm sure halo fans will enjoy this watered down shooter.
  58. DXO
    Aug 12, 2004
    2
    Gameplay is mediocre to the point of no redemption. There's nothing you can do except walk into a trigger point and wait to be attacked. I cant help but notice that the monsters can only run straight up to you to scratch you. I think id got too caught up with the engine and forgot about writing AI. Also, monsters still appear even after you've checked that there's nothing Gameplay is mediocre to the point of no redemption. There's nothing you can do except walk into a trigger point and wait to be attacked. I cant help but notice that the monsters can only run straight up to you to scratch you. I think id got too caught up with the engine and forgot about writing AI. Also, monsters still appear even after you've checked that there's nothing in the room. And the whole intro is ripped off STRAIGHT from half life. Worse still, you spend the whole time tryin 2 figure out whats happening in the dark. What kind of shooter does not allow you to see what you're shooting? Graphics are nice but...wait, i carn actually see them!! i run P2.6 512ram and Rad9600, with everything turned down at 1024res, and framerates are 20 max. What the hell is id thinking? Do they expect us to keep the game in our shelves until comp processin can run the game smoothly?? Gameplay receives a 0 due to zero replayability and cos' its entirely scripted. Its completely devoid of innovation. Also, the whole feel of the game is SO dark, claustrophobic and sick that its simply NOT FUN. Graphics could have gotten a 8 but since i cant see them, 2 would be sufficient. There you go, 2 pts for this f***ed up game. Expand
  59. Sep 21, 2010
    10
    I loved playing this game, It was really scary and really in your face. It tries to scare you in the game by popping out instead of the chills down your spine scary you get in the F.E.A.R Series. It has alot of erie moments in the game. I loved all the detail they put in the game. It was one of my favorite. It is a must buy for any FPS shooter fan. Get it and you wont regret it!!
  60. Oct 9, 2010
    5
    Good graphics amazingly boring gameplay campaign storyline and i don't get scared by a mutant jumping on my face.
  61. Apr 30, 2011
    8
    I don't mean to be a gushing fanboy, but Doom 3, in my opinion, is the best PC FPS I have ever played (next to the original Quake) and certainly the best looking also. The plot is the same as every Doom before it, you play as a nameless space marine who must make it out alive after the demons of hell overrun the base you reside in. What follows are scary moments, epic boss battles and aI don't mean to be a gushing fanboy, but Doom 3, in my opinion, is the best PC FPS I have ever played (next to the original Quake) and certainly the best looking also. The plot is the same as every Doom before it, you play as a nameless space marine who must make it out alive after the demons of hell overrun the base you reside in. What follows are scary moments, epic boss battles and a sh*tload of guns to play around with. The folks at ID really pulled out all the stops on this one, and serve up a game that entertains just as much as it frightens. One of my favorite games of all time. Expand
  62. Mar 12, 2012
    9
    Doom 3 is, and always will be, one of my favourite shooters around. It is very scary (no wonder it was packaged with a disclaimer to keep the volume down at night), as you can never see the enemies coming. The shooting is tough but fun, and is addictive to play. The graphics are good (the brains popping out are a little disturbing) and the story is simple but that isn't what Doom is allDoom 3 is, and always will be, one of my favourite shooters around. It is very scary (no wonder it was packaged with a disclaimer to keep the volume down at night), as you can never see the enemies coming. The shooting is tough but fun, and is addictive to play. The graphics are good (the brains popping out are a little disturbing) and the story is simple but that isn't what Doom is all about. Hopefully Doom 4 will be an excellent sequel in an excellent franchise. Expand
  63. JamesC.
    Aug 2, 2007
    4
    This is just simply a high graphics shooter with mediocre everything else. Mediocre gameplay, less than mediocre plot, and more than anything else mediocre level design. Unless you like your games shallow, this game will feel like a chore to play after you get 25% through the game.
  64. BobB.
    Aug 8, 2004
    5
    Too linear... a half life clone nice graphics and atmosphere though boring until the last quarter of the game.
  65. AnonymousMC
    Aug 29, 2007
    1
    As other fellow users have already pointed out, this game can be seen as an example of what is wrong with the contemporary video game industry. Why do some think this is scary? You move, trigger a script, and ZAP! ONE Monster spawns before you, ready to be blasted into oblivion (After playing for some time, I always knew where I´d trigger a script). If you stand still, no script isAs other fellow users have already pointed out, this game can be seen as an example of what is wrong with the contemporary video game industry. Why do some think this is scary? You move, trigger a script, and ZAP! ONE Monster spawns before you, ready to be blasted into oblivion (After playing for some time, I always knew where I´d trigger a script). If you stand still, no script is triggered, nothing happens. Why were Doom 1 and 2 so fun to play? Oh yeah, because there was a ****load of creatures just waiting to be slaughtered in every friggin´ room! But no, today it´s all graphics and no substance. It is crystal clear that id was forced to release a game with superior (Are they even really superior to other games in that genre? I don´t know and I don´t really care much about that aspect) graphics, but at what price? I want to kill hordes of monsters, not just one or two (I believe there were five at maximum) at a time! I miss monster infighting! I miss the fun! What about replay value? Would anyone play through this whole experience again? Crawling through extremely repetitive, dark levels is not my idea of enjoying a game. I played through it once, uninstalled, and in the corner with the game. It would have to be the last game on earth before I´d consider reinstalling. Another classic franchise ruined, replay value is simply non-existent. That game so wants to be a Half-life but it ends up being a franchise-ruining dreck. Expand
  66. Patchy
    Nov 1, 2004
    2
    Considering all the hype this game was a real disappointment, zero AI, all the monsters are at fixed/trigger points ready to attack, no point in trying to stealth it - the graphics are cool but the maps are unnecessarily complicated and circuitous - a flop, sadly.
  67. AndreasM
    Aug 10, 2004
    2
    I don't really see the big deal. It has cool graphics and runs well with 800x600@high on my 2600+ & R9700, but it's boring as hell. And it's about as scary as a useless slasher movie ala Scream or Halloween.
  68. Gangleri
    Aug 18, 2004
    3
    I give the game 3 just because of the good engine. Actually I was not impressed. UT2004 looks better. The game is boring and lame. Nothing to do with the old Doom 2 a classic. What spoils the game : 1.Monsters AI -totally lame - they just run to you or shoot from a position . 2. Scripted situations . That make the game unplayable more than 1 time 3. Your character is mute and as it seemsI give the game 3 just because of the good engine. Actually I was not impressed. UT2004 looks better. The game is boring and lame. Nothing to do with the old Doom 2 a classic. What spoils the game : 1.Monsters AI -totally lame - they just run to you or shoot from a position . 2. Scripted situations . That make the game unplayable more than 1 time 3. Your character is mute and as it seems dumb as a rock. 4.The number of monsters does not increase 3-4 max at a time. boring 5. it is not scary at all. It is just dark . 6. no flashlight on the weapons. i think the idea was to shoot at the things in the dark but it is more annoying than scary. 7. Boring movies 8. Boring storyline. I actually tried to play the game for more than 3 days. I really try to like it . The conclusion is : !!!! THE ENGINE DOES NOT MAKE A GAME GREAT !!!! Expand
  69. Fabre
    Aug 3, 2004
    8
    Higly overrated in my opinion, No real innovation, sadly it is only like the title suggest Doom II with better graphics. Had more Fun playing Far Cry. I give it a 8 for the beauty and for keeping me busy while I wait for Half-Life 2.
  70. AngusM.
    Sep 7, 2006
    3
    Seriously disappointing. Yes, the graphics are lovely. The game, however, is tedious. One long procession of entering dimly lit rooms then waiting for the monsters to spawn or jump out of cubbyholes. Sure, the first couple times that zombies or imps jump out at you from the dark are exciting, but after the 30th time in an hour, it's just annoying. Unfortunately, that's also the Seriously disappointing. Yes, the graphics are lovely. The game, however, is tedious. One long procession of entering dimly lit rooms then waiting for the monsters to spawn or jump out of cubbyholes. Sure, the first couple times that zombies or imps jump out at you from the dark are exciting, but after the 30th time in an hour, it's just annoying. Unfortunately, that's also the entire game. Expand
  71. MegatronDecepticon
    Dec 28, 2004
    0
    No plot,xbox makes better graphic visuals on riddick,no self -shadowing,no bullet stay,crapy wall textures reminding older doom versions,pretty boring after 2 hours,I "ve seen scarrier games.Far Cry and Riddick beat the s**t out of this poor and hyped game in terms of both gameplay and graphics!!Is anyone that blind to support the hype and not the game itself???This is a casual gamers No plot,xbox makes better graphic visuals on riddick,no self -shadowing,no bullet stay,crapy wall textures reminding older doom versions,pretty boring after 2 hours,I "ve seen scarrier games.Far Cry and Riddick beat the s**t out of this poor and hyped game in terms of both gameplay and graphics!!Is anyone that blind to support the hype and not the game itself???This is a casual gamers game,not for the truly hardcore!Support the hole expierience of the game ,not the hype!! Expand
  72. MonkeyDude
    Aug 16, 2004
    4
    Great looking linear FPS that plays like it was designed 10 years ago & gets really boring after 3-4 days. If you like running around in dark metallic hallways & blasting the same monsters over & over & over again, while looking for a button or keycard to progress to the next level, you will love D3. Looking forward to HL2.
  73. Groundfisher
    Aug 10, 2004
    7
    Mediocre FPS. Great sound, great graphics. Doom 3's contribution to today's 'gaming' is its engine and that's all. No innovation here. In fact, game-play is repetitive. There aren't 20+ hours of gameplay here. There are 2-3 hours of gameplay repeated again and again. I give it a 7 for how it looks and sounds and because I'm sure its engine will be Mediocre FPS. Great sound, great graphics. Doom 3's contribution to today's 'gaming' is its engine and that's all. No innovation here. In fact, game-play is repetitive. There aren't 20+ hours of gameplay here. There are 2-3 hours of gameplay repeated again and again. I give it a 7 for how it looks and sounds and because I'm sure its engine will be licensed to other developers, who will make good games. If you haven't bought this game, wait until the price drops. Pick it up in 12 months or so. Collapse
  74. KarlD.
    Aug 3, 2004
    8
    Great graphics engine, great sound and awesome atmosphere. But what about some innovation in gameplay?
  75. AnonymousMC
    Mar 30, 2005
    0
    whoa, this game is terrible! no wonder it's score is so low! i mean, c'mon, there is a part of the game where you have to stay in one spot for 30 minutes and shoot the same enemys over and over again. Is THAT Fun!? No, its boring and sh#tty, complete and utter crap. the level where you go to heaven is soo stupid. i mean, come on!? you turn out to be a angel!? how stupid is that.whoa, this game is terrible! no wonder it's score is so low! i mean, c'mon, there is a part of the game where you have to stay in one spot for 30 minutes and shoot the same enemys over and over again. Is THAT Fun!? No, its boring and sh#tty, complete and utter crap. the level where you go to heaven is soo stupid. i mean, come on!? you turn out to be a angel!? how stupid is that. Halo 2 rocks this game off of the planet. plain and simple Expand
  76. jpkkez
    Aug 24, 2007
    6
    Good graphics but everythings so clunky and the only fights is someting jumps out of a dark corner not very fun.
  77. DazX
    Jan 10, 2010
    10
    Scary, fun, José Luccioni on french voiceovers (xD), I can't think of anything bad in this game. I never met any bug, glitch or anything. The game's beautiful, even nowadays, AND fun as hell.
  78. Ryder
    Aug 30, 2004
    6
    Well first off Doom 3 looks amazing. Super detail, heaps of atmosphere, good lookin enemy movement animation's and good lookin enemies. But it also has stupid futuristic guns that are inferior to modern ones. They are balky, weak, (the flashlight does more damage pr hit then the pistol) and stupidly designed, i could have dun better(way better). O ya the physics are substandard and Well first off Doom 3 looks amazing. Super detail, heaps of atmosphere, good lookin enemy movement animation's and good lookin enemies. But it also has stupid futuristic guns that are inferior to modern ones. They are balky, weak, (the flashlight does more damage pr hit then the pistol) and stupidly designed, i could have dun better(way better). O ya the physics are substandard and you should spend more game in hell, hell was sweet. Expand
  79. OpiateC.
    Oct 22, 2004
    2
    This game is boring. It's a pretty version of the old doom games. People are saying its great that it kept the doom fomula. Games are about evolving a concept. If we kept doing make overs of games we would have pretty side scrolling mario clones and nothing more. i can have the same experience with doom 2. Realistically this is an average, repetitive, boring pretty shooter. OMG like far cry.
  80. Mar 26, 2011
    10
    This title was pretty controversial when it came out. Not because of the content, but because of te quality: many said that the final product failed to meet their expectations. This hwever was not the case with me. Furthermore, i consider it one of the best FPS games there is: I Actually still play it, so its up there with Quake and Doom 1. The graphics are lovely, and even though they noThis title was pretty controversial when it came out. Not because of the content, but because of te quality: many said that the final product failed to meet their expectations. This hwever was not the case with me. Furthermore, i consider it one of the best FPS games there is: I Actually still play it, so its up there with Quake and Doom 1. The graphics are lovely, and even though they no longer are as breathtaking as they were 7 years ago when the game came out, they still may impress. The game is painfully linear, but that's something I'm willing to look over for the sake of a good time spent playing. Expand
  81. Oct 4, 2010
    9
    While not as classy and genre defining as the original, Doom 3 contains a rich scary atmosphere, outstanding visuals and creepy sound effects. It's just a shame about the actual gameplay and the horrible multiplayer. But for a Doom fan this is a must.
  82. Nov 23, 2010
    9
    It is a game that you either love, or hate; and to me, it still holds up to this day. I can never get bored of it; maybe it makes me a freak in the gaming community. Gorgeous artwork, that if you invest the effort into to get 1440 by 900 resolution (or higher) working along with max settings, that really holds up even to this day despite it's somewhat retro status. Solid shooting elementsIt is a game that you either love, or hate; and to me, it still holds up to this day. I can never get bored of it; maybe it makes me a freak in the gaming community. Gorgeous artwork, that if you invest the effort into to get 1440 by 900 resolution (or higher) working along with max settings, that really holds up even to this day despite it's somewhat retro status. Solid shooting elements are complimented by near perfect pacing for each combat encounter in each room as you progress; accented by scary sound effects, and stellar sound design. The only flaw with the game is the horrid multiplayer, somewhat lackluster storyline, and the effort it takes to get the game to run on higher resolutions; you'll find the solution to THAT one is easier than you think! Otherwise, this game stands out in my Steam library as a true classic regardless of the divided Doom fan base and it's opinions on this game. Expand
  83. Jan 10, 2011
    8
    This game may be repetitive but its still enjoyable. For the time it must of had some very good graphics. The story could of been better but the dialogue is just ok. This is good game worth checking out.
  84. Nov 13, 2011
    9
    Trapped on that Hellish world known as Mars, which is in fact, under siege by the forces of hell, Doom guy finds himself in a bit of a pickle; all of the his companions are dead, and he has a machine gun. Getting right down to the point, Doom 3 is a great game, even with present day games, I find it harder and harder to find a game that has great action, and one that is also a challenge,Trapped on that Hellish world known as Mars, which is in fact, under siege by the forces of hell, Doom guy finds himself in a bit of a pickle; all of the his companions are dead, and he has a machine gun. Getting right down to the point, Doom 3 is a great game, even with present day games, I find it harder and harder to find a game that has great action, and one that is also a challenge, and Doom 3 was quite challenging. The story for Doom 3, it wasn't bad, but it certainly doesn't stand out , but you don't really play Doom for the story, you play it to kill demons! This is a game where monsters are plentiful, but medpacks are not, a game that makes you fight for any kind of reward, with no regenerating health. However, This is not a horror game, although the developers wanted to put a horror twist into the game, when it comes right down to it, not everyone will be scared by this game, although I sure was, this game kept me tense most of the way through, and although I could predict a few scares, it just depends on what scares you. All i can say is, this is a great shooter, and although the enemy AI has it's flaws, the large amount of enemy variety has always kept this game fresh for me, I would highly recommend Doom 3 for anyone who wants a fun and addictive shooter game. The game does make me a bit mad that you have to beat the game in order to unlock the night mare difficulty. but what ever : P Expand
  85. Sep 4, 2011
    6
    My review and score is based entirely on the singleplayer portion of the game.

    Doom 3 both has a lot in common with previous Doom games and differs in other areas. In terms of similarities, like its predecessors, Doom 3 features a great arsenal of the familiar weapons used against a variety of pure evil enemies. Players will often find themselves searching for that key (or in Doom 3's
    My review and score is based entirely on the singleplayer portion of the game.

    Doom 3 both has a lot in common with previous Doom games and differs in other areas. In terms of similarities, like its predecessors, Doom 3 features a great arsenal of the familiar weapons used against a variety of pure evil enemies. Players will often find themselves searching for that key (or in Doom 3's case, PDA) in order to unlock that nagging door and progress through the game. Unlike previous Doom games, players in Doom 3 will fight far fewer enemies at once, level design is incredibly cramped and far more linear, and the game attempts to deliver (somewhat successfully) more substance in terms of story.

    id really likes to show off their new engine in this game, too - especially the lighting effects. Every room you enter is either dimly lit or pitch black. Computer screens or impressive industrial technology in the background often provide the only illumination. You have a flashlight, but equipping it to see what's going on means you can't use any weapons. Switch back to your weapons and depending on how well lit the area is it's like fighting blind folded. Constantly switching between your flashlight and weapons got so annoying I downloaded a mod that adds a narrower beam flashlight to the shotgun and assault rifle. I felt this provided a nice balance between the tense atmosphere the developers were going for and actually being able to see what the hell was going on.

    Along the way, you can interact with various screens and keypads. PDAs along the way may contain codes for storage lockers for those careful enough to scour the emails and audio logs. These PDAs also advance the story as you gain slivers of information in piecing together the already painfully obvious plot. While it isn't necessary to read or listen to everything you come across, it helps you fill in some gaps when considering the big picture.

    Exploring every inch of the levels often triggers secret doors or walls revealing secret items and enemies alike. In fact, entering a new area almost always triggers some sort of trap behind your back where a possessed worker will attempt to sneak up on you or some demon will teleport in. Rather than appearing in hordes, enemies in Doom 3 often appear in waves. Dispatch two or three enemies, and a few more will usually appear. Eventually, you defeat them all and are able to advance. This does not describe every encounter, as sometimes encounters will only trigger if you explore certain areas and enemies can also be found in plain sight. But the lack of variety often becomes tedious. When you look behind you after hearing that demon teleport sound or door opening, the process becomes formulaic rather than tense or genuinely frightening as it does the first few times. The enemies are familiar to anyone who has played a Doom game before with a few exceptions. The pacing is good and the shooting is fun, but the level design and nature of the encounters gets repetitive to the point of being irritating. If you can see past the overdone darkness gimmick and super cramped rooms you'll have a good time blowing heads off bodies like I did. But once the ride's over, there's little redeeming value aside from a Nightmare run for masochistic.
    Expand
  86. Jun 12, 2011
    8
    Good shooter, unfortunetly sometimes too hard, which leads you to play same level 50 times. It create awsome atmosphere of dark and scary Mars base with monsters and other mysteries. Graphics is good, with awsome shading and shadows, as well models. Unfortunetly often textures are of poor quality. It is also unacassarly too linear, if there is any non-linearity, then if you choise one ofGood shooter, unfortunetly sometimes too hard, which leads you to play same level 50 times. It create awsome atmosphere of dark and scary Mars base with monsters and other mysteries. Graphics is good, with awsome shading and shadows, as well models. Unfortunetly often textures are of poor quality. It is also unacassarly too linear, if there is any non-linearity, then if you choise one of the way, you will definietly will need to go back and go using "good" path, somehow stupid. Expand
  87. Jul 25, 2011
    7
    I remember this was amazing-looking when it first came out and actually the lighting and environments are still brilliant, the opening when all hell breaks loose (literally) still makes me jump at times. I recommend playing Doom 3 late at night with all the lights turned off, at full volume on headphones (try it), somehow the game gets ten times better. Doesn't hold up well to most modernI remember this was amazing-looking when it first came out and actually the lighting and environments are still brilliant, the opening when all hell breaks loose (literally) still makes me jump at times. I recommend playing Doom 3 late at night with all the lights turned off, at full volume on headphones (try it), somehow the game gets ten times better. Doesn't hold up well to most modern FPS titles but it's a great benchmark in the evolution of the genre, as is its predecessor. Expand
  88. Sep 29, 2011
    10
    One of my favorite semi-classic FPS. First off, it's id software, the engine they have created is perfect. Unified shadows, and a new Doom. Beaufitul, period.
  89. Oct 26, 2011
    8
    Let me get this out of the way, just so many of you are clear on the fact. A generic shooter IS NOT A BAD shooter, it simply means that that is really the focus of the game, as it is with 90% of all top-quality shooters today (even CoD can be called a generic shooter). This games is incredibly scary throughout its expanse, sure it uses cheap monster-door tricks, but that only helps keepLet me get this out of the way, just so many of you are clear on the fact. A generic shooter IS NOT A BAD shooter, it simply means that that is really the focus of the game, as it is with 90% of all top-quality shooters today (even CoD can be called a generic shooter). This games is incredibly scary throughout its expanse, sure it uses cheap monster-door tricks, but that only helps keep you on your toes and the situation tense. They are not spammed as some reviews mention and are sometimes easy to spot as they lay next to an essential healthkit, but in what it strives to do, it succeeds and dominates all competition. Ground breaking graphics for its time and still okay even now in 2011, it provides one with some of the most intense and nerve-wrecking experiences possible in a horror focused shooter. The level design can become tedious towards the end but you'll be to busy trying to survive and scavenging for health and ammo caches to even notice. It has a great length for the asking price and what I consider to be one of the scariest and intense games of all time. The immersion, audio and monster design are top-notch, the voice acting may seem iffy at times but this is so few and far between it really doesn't affect you. And lastly the story, which unfolds through cut-scenes and the many hundreds of emails and audio logs you come across in the game and are as a whole expertly executed. I truly recommend this to anyone looking for a good scare mixed with some great classic shooting and a deep story, all the while surrounded by one of the most immersive environments ever designed. Expand
  90. Nov 3, 2011
    8
    Good Doom action, lenghty game (over 20 hours). The action gets exhaustive later in the game, there's too little varying, seeing same kind of corridors over and over again. Still, I enjoyed this game but it does lack those memorable moments you always remember afterwards like some parts of HL.
  91. Nov 14, 2011
    9
    I won't say it's a Game of the Year, but definitely worth to play. Great atmosphere and sound effect make every dark corner a source of fear. The graphic was outstanding even by today's standard. I love how it feel and sound when I use my shotgun to kill a devil, very satisfying. This was some id's classical great work during the old days and must give a try.
  92. Jan 8, 2012
    9
    6 years on this game still has some of the best visuals and sound around. Level design is gorgeous and interesting with countless creative touches and detail. Sound quality is also excellent and quite spooky. The monsters are fun to fight and a few parts made me jump in my seat, although they are a little too easy. I understand some people getting bored with it after a few levels but6 years on this game still has some of the best visuals and sound around. Level design is gorgeous and interesting with countless creative touches and detail. Sound quality is also excellent and quite spooky. The monsters are fun to fight and a few parts made me jump in my seat, although they are a little too easy. I understand some people getting bored with it after a few levels but overall it was a rewarding experience and one of my favorites. Expand
  93. Razot1
    Mar 26, 2008
    2
    i have to say that it is a great environment but it is far to boring. I'm waking through the game , to dark to see shit listening to crap noises made my the zombies. it is very annoying trying to shoot something you cant see. the game would probably be 10 times better if it were brighter.
  94. Nov 24, 2012
    10
    Exactly what you expect from the Doom franchise. It's amazing in every way. Anyone complaining about it, is either a moron or has never played the other Doom games.
  95. [Anonymous]
    Aug 3, 2004
    0
    This is actually an engine without a game. Probably the most uninspired and overrated game ever. What a waste of time and money.
  96. IanF.
    Oct 24, 2004
    0
    This game is trash. Its fun for about 15 minutes until you realize that it is just a pretty version of the old game. I hate to break it to you id but games with no point, purpose, and with boring AI aren't what people are looking for anymore. What a dissapointment. Lets just hope that Half-Life 2 is better. Or maybe we should all just play Far Cry instead, because that game rocks.
  97. Aug 30, 2011
    4
    This game was just plain not fun. The first hour of gameplay can get pretty tense, and was flat-out awesome. After the demo levels are over though, you start to realize "Wait a second, have I just seen everything this game has to offer?" It's only once that sinking feeling sets in your stomach that you realize you wasted your money. This game has gorgeous graphics (especially for theThis game was just plain not fun. The first hour of gameplay can get pretty tense, and was flat-out awesome. After the demo levels are over though, you start to realize "Wait a second, have I just seen everything this game has to offer?" It's only once that sinking feeling sets in your stomach that you realize you wasted your money. This game has gorgeous graphics (especially for the time), horrendously underwhelming guns (they sound like toys, seriously), insanely frustrating enemies (whoever designed the screen to shake like a paint-mixer every time you're hit needs to be fired. Like communism, it's an interesting idea that just plain doesn't pan out), and let's not forget the ol' Monster-In-The-Closet trick. If there's ammo or armor on the floor, there's seriously a 95% chance a monster will jump out of the wall to attack. It's so ridiculously predictable that you start to plan out which wall you think they will come out of when you pick up the stuff. This game had a lot of potential to be scary, but playing it annoyed me so much that I was beyond scaring. I did complete it though, against my better judgement. Expand
  98. G.F.
    Aug 5, 2004
    5
    Okay, given a workhorse of a gaming rig, this game looks & plays incredible. Unfortunately my P4 1.6 Ghz PC with 512MB RAM, a 64MB Geforce 4 MX card is unable to run the game very well at all. I disabled ALL eye-candy, disabled shadows, reduced the size to 640x480, and did everything I could to improve frame rates. In this config, in small rooms with no activity, the frame rate is in the Okay, given a workhorse of a gaming rig, this game looks & plays incredible. Unfortunately my P4 1.6 Ghz PC with 512MB RAM, a 64MB Geforce 4 MX card is unable to run the game very well at all. I disabled ALL eye-candy, disabled shadows, reduced the size to 640x480, and did everything I could to improve frame rates. In this config, in small rooms with no activity, the frame rate is in the upper 50s. Great. Once a baddie jumps out at me (or two), and I attempt to defend myself, the frame rate drops under 10 fps. This kills the experience, and I'm not prepared to purchase faster hardware right now. Gameplay: In my opinion, the ambient sound is effective, the mood is set well. But the overall gameplay is repetitive. Wonder through the base, pick up PDAs to help you through the labbrynth, oh yeah and kill the monsters, repeat, rinse. Honestly I'm reminded of Unreal. This game looked incredible for it's time, was single-player focused. Fought plenty of monsters. People struggled to get the most frames per sec out of it. I guess to give ID credit, or what they set out to achieve, for the specific sub-genre (Sci-fi demon horror scary shoot-em-up) they have accomplished that goal. I think personally I have outgrown this genre. Expand
  99. BuffaloBill
    Oct 22, 2004
    6
    I thought I
  100. H.Raggende
    Aug 13, 2004
    3
    Am I blind or should I clean my glasses! Where are those beautiful graphics everyone talks about? I can agree that creatures and people look more realistic than in most other games. But the environment does not look good. You are not expected to have a resolution above 1024 x 768 which means that strait lines do not look like strait lines. Most of us have to get down to 800 x 600 and then Am I blind or should I clean my glasses! Where are those beautiful graphics everyone talks about? I can agree that creatures and people look more realistic than in most other games. But the environment does not look good. You are not expected to have a resolution above 1024 x 768 which means that strait lines do not look like strait lines. Most of us have to get down to 800 x 600 and then every line or edge looks like a saw-blade. I tried high quality at 1280 x 1024 just to look at the graphics. Anyone noticed that the contrast is too high, the shadows too black? Feels like wearing sunglasses at night. It is just stupid and does nothing to add to the experience. Very disappointing! Expand
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 83 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 77 out of 83
  2. Negative: 0 out of 83
  1. The graphics are amazing (mind you, even on a mediocre system), the sound is amazing (if you don’t have a 5.1 system yet, consider it), and the game is downright scary.
  2. DOOM 3 smashes through all the hype and delivers a grand slam of action, story, atmosphere, and pure terror.
  3. So perfectly constructed, so deliciously immersive and downright elegant, that demands for more seem crass. It might not be the very best shooter out there, but it's the more visually stunning and successfully atmospheric than any game we've had the pleasure to play.