User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 700 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 91 out of 700

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 30, 2011
    4
    This game was just plain not fun. The first hour of gameplay can get pretty tense, and was flat-out awesome. After the demo levels are over though, you start to realize "Wait a second, have I just seen everything this game has to offer?" It's only once that sinking feeling sets in your stomach that you realize you wasted your money. This game has gorgeous graphics (especially for the time), horrendously underwhelming guns (they sound like toys, seriously), insanely frustrating enemies (whoever designed the screen to shake like a paint-mixer every time you're hit needs to be fired. Like communism, it's an interesting idea that just plain doesn't pan out), and let's not forget the ol' Monster-In-The-Closet trick. If there's ammo or armor on the floor, there's seriously a 95% chance a monster will jump out of the wall to attack. It's so ridiculously predictable that you start to plan out which wall you think they will come out of when you pick up the stuff. This game had a lot of potential to be scary, but playing it annoyed me so much that I was beyond scaring. I did complete it though, against my better judgement. Expand
  2. Jul 5, 2011
    6
    I have to be honest here i didn't like the game i liked the classic better there was no story just killing demons. anyway it was a good attempt so i have to give them some credit hopefully doom 4 will be better.
  3. Nov 30, 2011
    3
    Doom 3 fails is every aspect except graphics. But eye candy does not make a game great. The weapons are underpowered, demons spawning behind you gets old, very old, no ability to explore the surface of the planet, maps are confusing with lots of backtracking. In case id does not know, having to find a key to open a door is lame. That style of game might have been ok in the 1900s, but today its just a dumb idea. If you want to play a real doom game, go play the Ultimate Doom. Expand
  4. Nov 24, 2012
    10
    Exactly what you expect from the Doom franchise. It's amazing in every way. Anyone complaining about it, is either a moron or has never played the other Doom games.
  5. Aug 5, 2013
    9
    Not sure why this game has a mixed or average 7.3 as a user score and only an 87. This is by far one of the best survival horror games I have ever played. The game looks like a 2010 title yet its only a 2004 one. I never really paid much attention to Doom 3 when it first came out because I was never into scary games, but Doom 3 really pulled me into its atmosphere, something video games rarely do to me let alone one made nine years ago. Some silly design choices like not being able to hold a flashlight and a gun at the same time and a lack of enemy variety are some of the flaws this game has, but nevertheless is an amazing title. I hope this franchise's future is still intact, I really want to see Doom 4 on Id Tech 5. Expand
  6. Sep 30, 2013
    8
    Linear game, with stunning visuals, and good weapons/monsters, and with acceptable story.
    So linear, and sometimes so boring, but for some reason, it keeps me hooked, and calls me back to play all over again.
  7. Sep 21, 2010
    10
    I loved playing this game, It was really scary and really in your face. It tries to scare you in the game by popping out instead of the chills down your spine scary you get in the F.E.A.R Series. It has alot of erie moments in the game. I loved all the detail they put in the game. It was one of my favorite. It is a must buy for any FPS shooter fan. Get it and you wont regret it!!
  8. Apr 30, 2011
    8
    I don't mean to be a gushing fanboy, but Doom 3, in my opinion, is the best PC FPS I have ever played (next to the original Quake) and certainly the best looking also. The plot is the same as every Doom before it, you play as a nameless space marine who must make it out alive after the demons of hell overrun the base you reside in. What follows are scary moments, epic boss battles and a sh*tload of guns to play around with. The folks at ID really pulled out all the stops on this one, and serve up a game that entertains just as much as it frightens. One of my favorite games of all time. Expand
  9. Jan 1, 2013
    9
    Must own game even in this age of gaming. Great shooting game that should be played by anyone that calls themselves an FPS fan, but don't think you can handle the graphics? There's a mod for that. Rather have the falshlight on your weapons? There's a mod for that, Want faster-paced gameplay closer to the original Doom? There's a mod for that. Rather have a medieval fantasy setting with Shield and melee combat? There's a mod for that. Want a completely different, stealth based game a-like to the kinds of Thief, but with better graphics and 100's of community made maps and missions? There's a mod for that. Have a look for some examples here, gamefront.com/5-must-play-doom-3-mods/, and, moddb.com/games/doom-iii, for the examples given and use you trusty friend Google to find out more about these countless mods, many of which can improve any problems you personally have with the game, or that many have with it. I cannot think of a reson you should not buy it.

    Have fun
    Expand
  10. Nov 23, 2012
    10
    I have to be honest. DOOM3 BEST GAME EVER AND YOU SHOULD BE PLAYING IT RIGHT NOW NOT READING MY REVIEW ARE YOU STUPID WHY AM I WRITING THIS REVIEW I HAVE TO GO PLAY DOOM3 100000000000000000/10 GAME AT LEAST THE GRAPHICS REALLY PLEASURE MY EYES AND THE SOUND MAKES ME CRY FROM HAPPINESS GAMEPLAY GOT MY SOUL ITS AWESOME. ANOTHER SUCCESS FROM id software, our creator and ruler. AND YES THIS IS SCARY AS HELL! GOT IT? HELL?? heha Expand
  11. Mar 12, 2012
    9
    Doom 3 is, and always will be, one of my favourite shooters around. It is very scary (no wonder it was packaged with a disclaimer to keep the volume down at night), as you can never see the enemies coming. The shooting is tough but fun, and is addictive to play. The graphics are good (the brains popping out are a little disturbing) and the story is simple but that isn't what Doom is all about. Hopefully Doom 4 will be an excellent sequel in an excellent franchise. Expand
  12. Feb 21, 2014
    9
    A great game even after a decade its a timeless master piece. If your looking for a good fun adventure with tons of violence gore and exploration. The story isn't good but the game sure is and for a cheap price of just ten dollars its worth it.
  13. Mar 26, 2011
    10
    This title was pretty controversial when it came out. Not because of the content, but because of te quality: many said that the final product failed to meet their expectations. This hwever was not the case with me. Furthermore, i consider it one of the best FPS games there is: I Actually still play it, so its up there with Quake and Doom 1. The graphics are lovely, and even though they no longer are as breathtaking as they were 7 years ago when the game came out, they still may impress. The game is painfully linear, but that's something I'm willing to look over for the sake of a good time spent playing. Expand
  14. Oct 4, 2010
    9
    While not as classy and genre defining as the original, Doom 3 contains a rich scary atmosphere, outstanding visuals and creepy sound effects. It's just a shame about the actual gameplay and the horrible multiplayer. But for a Doom fan this is a must.
  15. Dec 12, 2010
    9
    After replaying this game, it has stricken me yet again just how masterful id Software is at crafting no-excuses video games. They took a simply story, tried and true since 1993, and crafted such a fantastically detailed, depressingly immersive world around it that you will understand exactly why the pioneer of the modern video game experience spent a full five years working on it. A lot of soul was poured into this game, with expansive, breathtaking, claustrophobic levels that clock in at nearly a day's worth of playtime -- not something that can be said of the shooters of 2010.

    While the antics of a deranged scientist might not be all that deep an contemplative, and while the scares might sometimes come across as cheap and closet-popping, the action for the last two-thirds of the game is absolutely frantic and paced very much like the Doom we all loved, while the demonic invasion pulls you in with no apologies for its themes. From the poorly-lit blood-soaked halls of the Delta Labs, to the awe-inspiring swathes of Martian landscape traversed on the Monorail, to the distinctly otherplanar and highly disturbing realm of Hell itself, there truly is no substitute for the world Doom 3 pulls you into with the crushing grip of a Hellknight.

    If you use a flashlight mod for your weapons, or complain about the stifling darkness of the locales, you really are missing the point. This is Mars, suffering a demonic invasion. If you want a well-lit seizure-inducing action-packed experience, the Call of Duty series might be for you. For the rest of us, this dark, disturbing romp will suffice.
    Expand
  16. Sep 21, 2010
    10
    Awesome visuals, terrifying environment make it the best horror FPS game till date. Darkness in the game is just perfect to engross you. The game also has a great repeat value.
  17. Oct 9, 2010
    5
    Good graphics amazingly boring gameplay campaign storyline and i don't get scared by a mutant jumping on my face.
  18. Nov 23, 2010
    9
    It is a game that you either love, or hate; and to me, it still holds up to this day. I can never get bored of it; maybe it makes me a freak in the gaming community. Gorgeous artwork, that if you invest the effort into to get 1440 by 900 resolution (or higher) working along with max settings, that really holds up even to this day despite it's somewhat retro status. Solid shooting elements are complimented by near perfect pacing for each combat encounter in each room as you progress; accented by scary sound effects, and stellar sound design. The only flaw with the game is the horrid multiplayer, somewhat lackluster storyline, and the effort it takes to get the game to run on higher resolutions; you'll find the solution to THAT one is easier than you think! Otherwise, this game stands out in my Steam library as a true classic regardless of the divided Doom fan base and it's opinions on this game. Expand
  19. Jan 10, 2011
    8
    This game may be repetitive but its still enjoyable. For the time it must of had some very good graphics. The story could of been better but the dialogue is just ok. This is good game worth checking out.
  20. Nov 13, 2011
    9
    Trapped on that Hellish world known as Mars, which is in fact, under siege by the forces of hell, Doom guy finds himself in a bit of a pickle; all of the his companions are dead, and he has a machine gun. Getting right down to the point, Doom 3 is a great game, even with present day games, I find it harder and harder to find a game that has great action, and one that is also a challenge, and Doom 3 was quite challenging. The story for Doom 3, it wasn't bad, but it certainly doesn't stand out , but you don't really play Doom for the story, you play it to kill demons! This is a game where monsters are plentiful, but medpacks are not, a game that makes you fight for any kind of reward, with no regenerating health. However, This is not a horror game, although the developers wanted to put a horror twist into the game, when it comes right down to it, not everyone will be scared by this game, although I sure was, this game kept me tense most of the way through, and although I could predict a few scares, it just depends on what scares you. All i can say is, this is a great shooter, and although the enemy AI has it's flaws, the large amount of enemy variety has always kept this game fresh for me, I would highly recommend Doom 3 for anyone who wants a fun and addictive shooter game. The game does make me a bit mad that you have to beat the game in order to unlock the night mare difficulty. but what ever : P Expand
  21. Sep 27, 2011
    9
    Having completed Doom 3 twice on Xbox and once on PC, I'd give it a solid 9. In my opinion one of the better FPS games around. Doom 3 is very intense and atmospheric and would keep you on the edge from start to finish. Should you let your guard down for a second and an enemy would pop out of nowhere and damage you greatly. Doom 3 manages to place enemies in all the right spots. Even later on into the game once you get used to monsters doing that, it still manages to make you jump. With some FPS games all you do is just shoot as many monsters coming your way as fast as you possibly can. No brain cells involved, just let all the ammo loose. *coughPainkillercough* With Doom 3 it's not like that. Enemies come out at unexpected moments, they ambush you, they actually use various attacks (as opposed to just plainly charging head on towards you). Now admittedly Doom 3 can get repetitive, because majority of areas and levels look very much alike. However the game at least puts effort in varying the gameplay slightly by introducing new monsters every now and then, which get tougher further into the game, and also you find a lot of new guns, such as minigun, plasma gun, rocket launcher, chainsaw and even the good ol BFG. And all this is done in fantastic graphics, which are truly mindblowing, managing to engross you. Apart from just going and shooting monsters, you do need to pay attention to things such as PDAs which you pick up from dead guards and scientists, and read through the emails and listen to audio logs, for they often have valuable information, such as cabinet codes and such. Although mostly linear, and lacking in bonus content, Doom 3 is still a solid game. Expand
  22. Sep 4, 2011
    6
    My review and score is based entirely on the singleplayer portion of the game.

    Doom 3 both has a lot in common with previous Doom games and differs in other areas. In terms of similarities, like its predecessors, Doom 3 features a great arsenal of the familiar weapons used against a variety of pure evil enemies. Players will often find themselves searching for that key (or in Doom 3's
    case, PDA) in order to unlock that nagging door and progress through the game. Unlike previous Doom games, players in Doom 3 will fight far fewer enemies at once, level design is incredibly cramped and far more linear, and the game attempts to deliver (somewhat successfully) more substance in terms of story.

    id really likes to show off their new engine in this game, too - especially the lighting effects. Every room you enter is either dimly lit or pitch black. Computer screens or impressive industrial technology in the background often provide the only illumination. You have a flashlight, but equipping it to see what's going on means you can't use any weapons. Switch back to your weapons and depending on how well lit the area is it's like fighting blind folded. Constantly switching between your flashlight and weapons got so annoying I downloaded a mod that adds a narrower beam flashlight to the shotgun and assault rifle. I felt this provided a nice balance between the tense atmosphere the developers were going for and actually being able to see what the hell was going on.

    Along the way, you can interact with various screens and keypads. PDAs along the way may contain codes for storage lockers for those careful enough to scour the emails and audio logs. These PDAs also advance the story as you gain slivers of information in piecing together the already painfully obvious plot. While it isn't necessary to read or listen to everything you come across, it helps you fill in some gaps when considering the big picture.

    Exploring every inch of the levels often triggers secret doors or walls revealing secret items and enemies alike. In fact, entering a new area almost always triggers some sort of trap behind your back where a possessed worker will attempt to sneak up on you or some demon will teleport in. Rather than appearing in hordes, enemies in Doom 3 often appear in waves. Dispatch two or three enemies, and a few more will usually appear. Eventually, you defeat them all and are able to advance. This does not describe every encounter, as sometimes encounters will only trigger if you explore certain areas and enemies can also be found in plain sight. But the lack of variety often becomes tedious. When you look behind you after hearing that demon teleport sound or door opening, the process becomes formulaic rather than tense or genuinely frightening as it does the first few times. The enemies are familiar to anyone who has played a Doom game before with a few exceptions. The pacing is good and the shooting is fun, but the level design and nature of the encounters gets repetitive to the point of being irritating. If you can see past the overdone darkness gimmick and super cramped rooms you'll have a good time blowing heads off bodies like I did. But once the ride's over, there's little redeeming value aside from a Nightmare run for masochistic.
    Expand
  23. Jun 12, 2011
    8
    Good shooter, unfortunetly sometimes too hard, which leads you to play same level 50 times. It create awsome atmosphere of dark and scary Mars base with monsters and other mysteries. Graphics is good, with awsome shading and shadows, as well models. Unfortunetly often textures are of poor quality. It is also unacassarly too linear, if there is any non-linearity, then if you choise one of the way, you will definietly will need to go back and go using "good" path, somehow stupid. Expand
  24. Aug 18, 2012
    10
    One of the most excitin games I have ever played! The only problem I had was the dark setting. Given the length of the game, the darkness became somewhat tedious. All in all, great weapons, challenging enemies, and many surprises.
  25. Jul 25, 2011
    7
    I remember this was amazing-looking when it first came out and actually the lighting and environments are still brilliant, the opening when all hell breaks loose (literally) still makes me jump at times. I recommend playing Doom 3 late at night with all the lights turned off, at full volume on headphones (try it), somehow the game gets ten times better. Doesn't hold up well to most modern FPS titles but it's a great benchmark in the evolution of the genre, as is its predecessor. Expand
  26. Sep 19, 2011
    10
    The first couple of levels scared me a bit. But then the game just dragged on. All of the environments look the same, the guns feel akward, and the scares just turn silly. Also, if your going to make a game where it is incredibly dark, be sure to add night vision, not a flash light that you have to hold instead of a weapon.
  27. Sep 29, 2011
    10
    One of my favorite semi-classic FPS. First off, it's id software, the engine they have created is perfect. Unified shadows, and a new Doom. Beaufitul, period.
  28. Oct 26, 2011
    8
    Let me get this out of the way, just so many of you are clear on the fact. A generic shooter IS NOT A BAD shooter, it simply means that that is really the focus of the game, as it is with 90% of all top-quality shooters today (even CoD can be called a generic shooter). This games is incredibly scary throughout its expanse, sure it uses cheap monster-door tricks, but that only helps keep you on your toes and the situation tense. They are not spammed as some reviews mention and are sometimes easy to spot as they lay next to an essential healthkit, but in what it strives to do, it succeeds and dominates all competition. Ground breaking graphics for its time and still okay even now in 2011, it provides one with some of the most intense and nerve-wrecking experiences possible in a horror focused shooter. The level design can become tedious towards the end but you'll be to busy trying to survive and scavenging for health and ammo caches to even notice. It has a great length for the asking price and what I consider to be one of the scariest and intense games of all time. The immersion, audio and monster design are top-notch, the voice acting may seem iffy at times but this is so few and far between it really doesn't affect you. And lastly the story, which unfolds through cut-scenes and the many hundreds of emails and audio logs you come across in the game and are as a whole expertly executed. I truly recommend this to anyone looking for a good scare mixed with some great classic shooting and a deep story, all the while surrounded by one of the most immersive environments ever designed. Expand
  29. Nov 3, 2011
    8
    Good Doom action, lenghty game (over 20 hours). The action gets exhaustive later in the game, there's too little varying, seeing same kind of corridors over and over again. Still, I enjoyed this game but it does lack those memorable moments you always remember afterwards like some parts of HL.
  30. Nov 14, 2011
    9
    I won't say it's a Game of the Year, but definitely worth to play. Great atmosphere and sound effect make every dark corner a source of fear. The graphic was outstanding even by today's standard. I love how it feel and sound when I use my shotgun to kill a devil, very satisfying. This was some id's classical great work during the old days and must give a try.
  31. Jan 8, 2012
    9
    6 years on this game still has some of the best visuals and sound around. Level design is gorgeous and interesting with countless creative touches and detail. Sound quality is also excellent and quite spooky. The monsters are fun to fight and a few parts made me jump in my seat, although they are a little too easy. I understand some people getting bored with it after a few levels but overall it was a rewarding experience and one of my favorites. Expand
  32. Jan 29, 2012
    2
    It has good graphics, but that is it!
    The gameplay sucks, you have to reload and you can't see a bloody thing!
    Wanna play a doom game? Buy Ultimate Doom and learn dosbox!
  33. Oct 7, 2013
    10
    A masterpiece. Deep atmosphere and immersion. You play the role of a space marine as you investigate some serious problems going on in mars base. The AI is brutal and the terrain can be confusing but that is just a test of your survival capabilities. I hope you have good reflexes.
  34. Oct 27, 2013
    6
    Doom 3 does a lot of things right. However the story is not one of them. Doom 3 is a game set on the surface of mars, you play an unnamed space marine coming to mars for security reasons. the game takes of well and the action is fun for a while but about 4 or 5 hours in you notice that the level development is not very varying and the AI is basic and boring after about 100 of the same 8 enemies. Luckily you get to go to hell and the game takes off again. after that the game is more than fun.

    The graphics were stellar for the time of 2004 but does not hold up too well. The music consists of the title music but the sound effects are Eire and the games tone is nice and dark. The story is almost non existent taking a back seat to the action. The levels are largely the same and the multiplayer is lack luster. Doom 3 is a nice action horror game but the AI, Story and Variety need a little bit of tweaking.

    I give this game a 6/10

    Anybody exited for DOOM 4?
    Expand
  35. Oct 26, 2012
    9
    DOOM is a legendary game series. Now in its third major entry the series goes modern. Everyone knows the story to the DOOM games, your a marine who is on a space station when Hell literally breaks loose and its up to you to stop the demons. The gameplay is everything I want in an FPS and the game has an atmosphere so tense that I would almost call it a horror title too. The only gripe I have with it...lack of story, but its DOOM so it cant help it. Expand
  36. Nov 18, 2013
    8
    The old Dooms are like 10/10 games back in the day. Doom 3 is a great game in its own right, but I feel it plays like Quake 2 enemies and level design with a Doom reskin.
  37. Jan 5, 2013
    7
    The only thing "Doom" about this game are the classical Imps and Hellknights and a glorified Hell level towards the end, homaging Doom II's art style. Cramped hallway style gameplay that tires after 4 of the 12 hours of gameplay, with the same old tricks of enemies jumping out from secret compartments or darkened corners whilst you tediously search for keycards in order to progress to something more interesting. Even on hard mode you trip over health and ammo which i guess is OK only in the context of the fact that this is DOOM and not a survival horror.

    The enemies aren't much of a threat when you realise they can barely hit you when you get inside their shooting arc, but not too close to melee; although i guess most players wont figure that out since they are scarey enough to try to avoid getting too close too. Although they do have this nasty habit of trapping you against a bulkhead and smacking your lower region to pieces just below your FoV which would be annoying if it wasn't for the fact this'll probably be the only time they take seasoned FPS players below 75% HP.

    The shotgun is the staple weapon of the game as you will always have ammo for it, unfortunately the infamous BFG feels a little lack luster when you can carry 328 shells but only 38 BFG rounds and it only takes 8 shotgun shells to take out a Hellknight compared to 4 BFG rounds. The BFG was famous for its room clearing capacity but in the extremely linear hallways of DOOM 3 you're more likely to have an enemy marine detonate the round in your face than use it effectively in anything but the rarest of circumstances.

    The game would have felt more classical DOOM like if there was more open space to strafe enemies and less time spent dropping into your PDA to read employee emails and audio logs. It's basically DOOM with all the corners cut off and the narrative shoved down your throat.

    In the context of its time it is a pretty game and the weapons are generally fun in that you can shoot to your hearts content without fear of needing that ammunition for something important later. There is also a traditional shooter feel in regards to how curiosity is often rewarded, such as the discovery of vents or spaces under stairs hiding some armour shards or ammo or other goodies like easter eggs.

    The final boss is a little disappointing however and ironically probably the easiest part of the game. I scored it a little higher than what i felt like because the game has obviously aged in the past 9 years and it deserves a score relative to its release date. The game was OK, but it does just make me want to play the originals.
    Expand
  38. Oct 14, 2012
    9
    This game scared the hell out of me in 2004 with my bada$$ setup and speakers. I couldn't even finish it because I was a baby, and the BFG edition still has the same great scary atmosphere after all these years! Can't wait until Doom 4!!!!!
  39. Jan 2, 2013
    7
    Amazing game. This is a freaking good game with competitive gameplay and a lot of weapons. It was, later, dumbed dom with "Doom 3 BFG Edition". Mind blowing graphics for its time, but which are still good now. Amazing plot. Good longevity. This is a real game. 7/10
  40. May 19, 2013
    9
    Frightening as hell and hard as hell. Many people have complained about the story... You cannot expect literary greatness from a series titled 'Doom.'
  41. Aug 4, 2013
    9
    Odlična je grafika i sve ostalo, veliki broj misija, priča, samo je previše mračna i strašna..........................................................
  42. Nov 7, 2013
    10
    When I first played this as a kid I was very scared of it for some reason. Now I go play it and enjoy the leap from 2.5D to 3D! One day there is going to be two super countries Valve and iD
  43. May 9, 2014
    8
    Gory, Dark, Demonic themes, Scary enough, Great graphics for it´s time but still being good to date and a good enemies design, perfect for a true FPS survival horror experience.
  44. Apr 29, 2014
    9
    DOOM 3 is an amazing game. Back when it first came out, I was literally too scared to even play it. Even as an adult now, the game still has it's frightening moments. With a massive weapon selection and immerse story line, you can get lost for hours in Mars City killing demons and sending them back to Hell. A true work of art.
  45. May 31, 2014
    8
    Regardless of its repetetive nature, this is the only game I have ever played that gave me a scare... in broad daylight... in a room full of people... The atmosphere makes up for other less competent parts of the game.
  46. Mar 28, 2013
    7
    I made the mistake of waiting too long before playing Doom 3, but that didn't seem to drastically change my opinion of it. The graphics weren't mindblowing, but they were still extremely good. The weapons and gameplay are alright, and even by today's standards, I think still the game retains some original gameplay elements not yet seen in newer games (that I know of). I kept hearing the hype about how scary this game was, and come to find out, the hype was quite accurate. The game held up some great atmospheres and delivered the scares quite nicely. On the negative side, I found the controls a little awkward, the character development is a little weak and unoriginal and some things just drag on. That includes the audio diaries you can collect, and go on for like 2 minutes before you finally hear the access code you wanted so bad to some mechanical box or locker. It's really no secret that Doom 1 and 2 will live on while Doom 3 kinda fades into the gray void. Still, it's a good game from start to finish, but it doesn't fall into the "games that ALL types of gamers should try out!" category, but I still consider giving it a play if you happen to come across it. Expand
  47. Nov 2, 2013
    7
    When this originally came out it blew my mind. Unfortunately since then other people have took similar mechanics and ideas and took them to the next level so this is no longer an essential purchase. It is however worth it, especially for the atmosphere.
  48. Nov 9, 2011
    7
    Graphics 10/10
    Gameplay 8/10
    Controls 9/10
    Story 6/10
    Characters 5/10
    Level design 8/10
    Weapons 8/10
    AI 4/10
    Presentation 6/10
    User Interface 8/10
    Sounds 7/10
    Music 4/10
  49. May 20, 2012
    0
    Creators of Doom 3 never even played DooM 1 and DooM 2 and I dont want to talk about how and why Doom 1 and 2 are one of the best games ever created. DooM 3 in nothing like them the game is to Hollywood and try to be more serious trying to combine genres, the game speed is 5 times more slower then doom 1 and 2 for example, where is magic? fast gameplay? red blue keys? strange magic and gothic design the game sold out to hollywood kids just as Quake 4, Starcraft 2 and Diablo 3 Fun - 1/10
    Gameplay - 2/10
    Controls - 10/10
    Graphics Design - 0/10
    Story - 4/10
    All Time Graphics - 0/10
    Sound - 5/10
    Music - 0/10
    Replayability - 0/10
    Graphics for its time - 0/10
    22/100
    Expand
  50. Jul 26, 2013
    4
    this game. First of i at one stage LOVED DOOM 3, sadly i never finished the game when I LOVED IT, I still haven't finished the game but i am getting very close to the end. BORING, doom 3 is boring, the level designs are dull, the character models look stiff and the same. Stupid story, i honesty don't care about doom story's because the game is supposed to be about mindless violence, but the story in doom 3 is absolutely Bonkers, its crazy, basically demons invade a space station on mars and GETS REAL. Graphics AWESOME, the graphics for doom 3 are honestly really good, especially considering the fact that the game was made in 2004-05. ITS NOT FUN, Doom 3 is not fun, its repetitive, dull and feels more like a chore trying to get past level after level, Doom 3 gets a 4/10 not because its the worst game I've ever played but Because it is amazingly dull and doesn't even feel like a doom game, THE GAME FEELS LIKE FEAR MIXED WITH SPACE DEMONS THAT IS FUELED BY COCAINE BABIES, 4/10, BTW i haven't finished the game yet and will eventually i'm like 2-3 hours away from finishing the game peace out Expand
  51. Aug 5, 2012
    7
    I played for a total of 3 hours and stopped. Had no interest to play again. Great Graphics but not enough exploring feature to engauge the player. Seems ike a beef up graphics of the orginial story.
  52. Mar 21, 2013
    6
    Doom 3 is a fast paced old style first person horror shooter with exciting gameplay and will constantly remind you to be aware of your surroundings as you progress through the game. I had never played Doom 3 till now and the first thing I noticed is that the graphics although not great, are still remarkably good even in today's standards. Furthermore the lighting effects from the flash light helped make the game look great and an all more fun experience when entered into rooms of pure darkness. The gameplay for Doom 3 is solid with a nice variety of weapons and enemies. As you get further into the game you will find yourself picking up new weapons and being entered into a cutscene to introduce a new mob you will be fighting throughout the game. The weapons themselves are great however I found myself only sticking to a minority of weapons due the play through since some were greatly more powerful and efficient than others. The enemies in Doom 3 are somewhat unique in there own ways and provide an enjoyable experience throughout the game as you learn how to avoid their attacks and learn their weaknesses however I found some enemies to be impossible to get around such as the mini gun enemies which give no opportunity to avoid getting damaged. Bonuses such as collecting PDA's is a nice touch in Doom as it allowed you to search through peoples PDA's to unlock bonuses in the game and find items earlier. This also increased the urge to explore as it would benefit you hugely as you progressed through a level. The occasion encounters of bosses are OK (except the final boss) and I found myself defeating the bosses on the first try on the medium difficulty which shows the lack of skill required since I usually just found myself spamming a rocket launcher in the bosses faces. Whilst the bosses do look cool, they didn't seem to do much other than run at you and smack you in the face or throw balls of poison, fire or whatever at you. For example in the final boss I found myself kiting the boss around in circles firing a launcher and another weapon for about 5 minutes. In general the level design is good however I found myself not knowing where to go and a lack of indication of where to go which in some ways I agree is good as it allows the game to seem less linear and allow for exploration, however are a few minutes or wandering around cluelessly it does get a little frustrating. The levels towards the end also to me became repetitive and spawning of enemies became extremely predictable. However there are some issues which I really did not like about Doom 3. The lack of an auto save feature. As you get really immersed into the game and die, you find yourself having to repeat half a level because of no autosave even in cut scenes or in boss encounters. Secondly were the small things such as dieing because a door closed when you were standing between it which I thought was unnessary. Finally I found the story was extremely weak which to be honest I don't really care about however a good storyline would have been a nice touch. In short Doom 3 is a fun action packed shooter and will have you always needing to be aware as mobs spawn in all directions as you progress though a level. The campaign is at a fine length, graphics are acceptable in today's standards and in general is longer than most of the latest FPS releases. However the lack of exciting bosses, predictable repetitive enemies, minor frustrating game elements and repetitive maze like levels really held the game back from getting a higher score than 7 in my eyes. The war between the 2004 FPS hits Half Life 2 and Doom 3 leads me to declare that Half Life 2 won this little battle however Doom 3 is still a great game and if given the opportunity, you should give Doom 3 a go. Expand
  53. Nov 13, 2012
    7
    Doom 3 is graphically phenomenal. The graphics are incredible, even by today's standards. The game is scary- demons will teleport in when you least expect it. The environments are great as well- I loved the utility in activating switches and interacting with computers. These are the strengths- the weaknesses are the repetitive gameplay (when you feel like you should be done with the game, you're only halfway through), weak guns (I feel like the weapons had very little oomph to them at all), and storyline (it is nonexistant. You go from point A to point B with no reason for it at all). Doom 3 is great but repetitive. Expand
  54. Sep 10, 2013
    7
    Coming back to Doom 3 in 2013 I was surprised by how little I enjoyed iD's biggest title of last decade. The graphics still looked crisp but the shooting mechanics and physics have aged horribly. The storyline is delivered well but the fast-paced combat tended to nullify the game's attempts at horror segments.
    Compared to other heavyweight titles of the same year, like Half-Life 2, Doom 3
    is not a classic game. Expand
  55. Mar 29, 2013
    3
    Very bad game. Empty levels, same monsters, not at all frightful horror. Dont waste your time, I feel really disappointed by spent time playing this. Only last boss kicks ass, but this does not worth it anyways.
  56. Aug 7, 2014
    10
    This game is the **** **** 8/8 m8 .
  57. Jun 18, 2013
    7
    Definitely short of a few missions compared to the originals however it was a great adaption and had what the old dooms did not have. although some of the creatures were quite disappointing in appearance, and some of the missions were quite boring. I still enjoyed the game but just wouldn't pick this over the originals.
  58. Jun 25, 2014
    5
    Regardless of how suitable a sequel this game is, it's a mediocre FPS.

    Combat lacks challenge & nuance. It's unsatisfying as practically all enemies are bullet sponges, and stunning/suppressing enemies (an FPS staple- see Doom's "pain chance" mechanic) is almost nonexistent. The latter leads to goofy cartoon-gag pursuits around columns and such as the only means of avoiding damage.


    Happily, sprinting is fast & doesn't prohibit gunfire. Mobility alone has a nice feel, and it might've redeemed the combat, but for the way it's framed. Namely: ambush after ambush. You are NEVER on the offensive in Doom 3. All good FPSes have a mix of offensive & defensive gameplay, while this one is hideously lopsided. The worst part is once you learn the handful of tricks used over and over by the level designers, you may as well have played the entire game. Not scary. Very obnoxious.

    Some high points are superlative ambient audio design, lots of good lighting design, nice texturework. Shame about the game.
    Expand
  59. Dec 3, 2013
    7
    This game is an old classic. its good horror and fun to play. i recommend this game for the fans of scary games. Now days this game is a little old fashioned and wont look that good i guess, but i think this game is great in any other way.
  60. Jun 28, 2014
    8
    This is a modern-version of the classic DooM. The enemies are familiar and so are the weapons The characters you encounter are quite decent and you can get along with their ways. The cut-scenes put you on the edge and make you exited for the next event however, the only problem i have encountered are the difficulty settings... To me there's "Very easy" "Easy" "Hard" and "impossible"
    I want something in between the "Easy" and "hard"

    Still, Great game.
    Expand
  61. Nov 15, 2013
    6
    I was somewhat dissapointed that they pushed Graphics beyond Gameplay. Sure it was nice to see familiar monsters with great textures. But the tight/tiny corridor feeling just wasnt Doom. 90s run and shoot action game turned into 20s stealth horror game. Remember when you pumped your shotgun into the monsters body thus screaming in agony and falling into the ground? Not anymore. They simply fall and vanish. Remember the kick ass music that got your adrenaline pumped? Well you dont need any music in this just listen to voice records, thats your music what you get b1tch! Remember the chaing gun and rocket launcher where you could go rambo? Well fyck you reload reload reload. Remember the DoomGuy that could fall from an skyscraper and dont feel a thing? Well this is a Marine that brokes hes legs when jumping off an two feet ladder. And what a joke the Cyberdemon was...What i liked about it was the lenght of the game but thats basically it. Expand
  62. Feb 24, 2014
    7
    This game is ok. It does have very good atmosphere and setting. It is immersive and fun. It does create fear and claustrophobic feelings. Not many games can do it to such an extent. Yet there is something that does not feel right. It seems to be made of pieces that does not fit very well together. One of which is textures that seem to have variable depth of graphic detail. It feels fragmented somehow. In terms of difficulty it does not scale very well either. Overall however, the game was pretty good. Expand
  63. Oct 8, 2014
    4
    BOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOORING

    Walk with flashlight in the darkness -> monster jumps out of a closet after you pass by -> change to weapon and shoot -> wander around to find a audio record -> read the stupid audio file to find a password -> open the keylock -> repeat x10000000

    God.
    One of the most overrated game of all time.
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 83 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 77 out of 83
  2. Negative: 0 out of 83
  1. The graphics are amazing (mind you, even on a mediocre system), the sound is amazing (if you don’t have a 5.1 system yet, consider it), and the game is downright scary.
  2. DOOM 3 smashes through all the hype and delivers a grand slam of action, story, atmosphere, and pure terror.
  3. So perfectly constructed, so deliciously immersive and downright elegant, that demands for more seem crass. It might not be the very best shooter out there, but it's the more visually stunning and successfully atmospheric than any game we've had the pleasure to play.