Doom II PC

User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 277 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 13 out of 277
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Anonymous
    Apr 4, 2007
    10
    How dare anyone rate this anything below 9.99! Deserves an 11! However, just plain Doom is the greatest ever, besides for Half-Life.
  2. Jul 27, 2014
    10
    Doom is (in my own personal opinion) the best first person shooter, or any sort of first person game involving combat, ever made. The puzzle factor is huge in the first two games, and the sequel pretty much improved on everything. Despite being much longer, Doom 2 is a much tamer and easier experience. If you're up for a challenge get the original. If you just wanna shoot stuff up, exploreDoom is (in my own personal opinion) the best first person shooter, or any sort of first person game involving combat, ever made. The puzzle factor is huge in the first two games, and the sequel pretty much improved on everything. Despite being much longer, Doom 2 is a much tamer and easier experience. If you're up for a challenge get the original. If you just wanna shoot stuff up, explore and have crazy fun in both multiplayer and single player (something many games just don't seem to be able to accomplish), go for the sequel. Expand
  3. WilliamT.
    Jan 20, 2008
    10
    The only game I have ever rewarded with a 10/10 on this site. Doom 2 demands to be respected with it's hardcore action and simple but addicting gameplay. A triumph in the game industry even 15 years later and a "Hell" of a lot fun to play.
  4. TomG.
    May 6, 2007
    10
    If alot of people play this game nearly 15 years after it was released, you can probably already tell, that Doom 2 will not disappoint. Sure, the graphics are old, and decrepit, but the level of action, and replayability, and... what's that? Online multiplayer? If all that makes for a good game which is 15 years old, then you must go out, and buy it.
  5. J.N.
    Feb 25, 2005
    10
    Simply amazing, a truly engrossing and much longer journey than the original. As an extension, the game really delivers a kind of disturbingly appocalyptic plot,(it circumvents the cliches of D3, horror movies, ect. by its extremely conservative exposition,) coupled with [as mentioned above] a dark, dark story. Personally, I found the atmosphere and plot of this game (keeping in mind the Simply amazing, a truly engrossing and much longer journey than the original. As an extension, the game really delivers a kind of disturbingly appocalyptic plot,(it circumvents the cliches of D3, horror movies, ect. by its extremely conservative exposition,) coupled with [as mentioned above] a dark, dark story. Personally, I found the atmosphere and plot of this game (keeping in mind the plot 'cut scenes' consist of text and the ocasional picture!) superior to Doom3 (sorry, had to make the comparison). Its simple, its depressing, and its really really visceral. A+ for style, coupled with challenging and interesting level design. One among the best specimens of a previous era of computer gaming. Expand
  6. Nov 9, 2011
    9
    Graphics 8/10
    Gameplay 10/10
    Controls 9/10
    Story 6/10
    Characters 9/10
    Level design 10/10
    Weapons 9/10
    AI 8/10
    Multiplayer 8/10
    Presentation 8/10
    User Interface 10/10
    Sounds 10/10
    Music 10/10
  7. Jan 29, 2012
    10
    If you like "real" first person shooters, you will love Doom 2!
    This game brings 1 new weapon an1d atleast 4 new monsters!
    So 'cmon everyone, play a real game
  8. Mar 27, 2012
    10
    Best classic ever. This is one of the few games that still stumps me no matter how many times I play it. And the only game to make me scream bloody murder while mowing down a room full of imps (or having a room full of imps appear behind me). This game has hardcore nostalgic value for me, I grew up with this, Wolfenstein, and many games alike; but Doom was always my favorite. The mazes areBest classic ever. This is one of the few games that still stumps me no matter how many times I play it. And the only game to make me scream bloody murder while mowing down a room full of imps (or having a room full of imps appear behind me). This game has hardcore nostalgic value for me, I grew up with this, Wolfenstein, and many games alike; but Doom was always my favorite. The mazes are so complicated and twisted, you never know when you're going to be teleported back to the beginning or in the middle of a room filled to the brim with Imps, Cacodemons, Lost Souls, Chaingunners, or worse... Hell Knights. This game never ceases to get old for me. Collapse
  9. Sep 27, 2013
    9
    This is more like an expansion than an actual sequel. However, it still kicks some major demonic Everything they did right in Doom 1, they did again in doom 2, but a 100% better. Better enemies, better visuals, better handling of weapons, better levels, better soundtrack, etc. etc. etc. i.e. Doom 2 rocks!

    If I had to make a gripe, I did miss the campaign overview maps that the first
    This is more like an expansion than an actual sequel. However, it still kicks some major demonic Everything they did right in Doom 1, they did again in doom 2, but a 100% better. Better enemies, better visuals, better handling of weapons, better levels, better soundtrack, etc. etc. etc. i.e. Doom 2 rocks!

    If I had to make a gripe, I did miss the campaign overview maps that the first Doom had. Not really necessary, but I did miss it as I always thought it was a nice touch in the first game.

    Overall:
    While I don't really see this as a true sequel, it's still fantastic and die hard fun from start to finish.
    Expand
  10. Aug 28, 2013
    10
    Its just a fantastic game i have been playing doom since i was 7 and it just never gets boring...its one of those game i can also go back to and play and i know i will have fun
  11. Sep 22, 2013
    10
    Classic.
    Fun.
    Demon Killing Epicness. What more can you ask for? Even if you do get bored of the original doom there are thousands Literally thousands of mods and add-ons for doom and programs that bring DooM To a modern port like Zandronum, Which allows Multi-player, Graphical enhancements, Mouse aiming, Fully customisable controls, A developer console, Player Set-up and much much
    Classic.
    Fun.
    Demon Killing Epicness.
    What more can you ask for? Even if you do get bored of the original doom there are thousands Literally thousands of mods and add-ons for doom and programs that bring DooM To a modern port like Zandronum, Which allows Multi-player, Graphical enhancements, Mouse aiming, Fully customisable controls, A developer console, Player Set-up and much much more.
    If you have an old copy of doom, you are still in luck, you just need the .WAD file of doom and download zandronum for free and you'll have Hours...no, Days...Nope, Months...nah...YEARS of fun!
    Expand
  12. Sep 25, 2013
    10
    Oh wow, the memories. This game has become the most successful and widely-modded classic first person shooter ever as far as I can tell, and being in the Zandronum community myself I can say that this game will forever be in the history books of technology. Outstanding for its time, still great fun now, very flexible and fun to work with. a+
  13. Jul 23, 2012
    10
    For kids saying COD/BF3/Any think else is better, don´t forget that this is where those games came from!
    If I mean game, guys from ID software did great job about Doom, every think worked, so the put that into Doom II and make it bigger and better!
  14. Dec 31, 2011
    10
    The ORIGINAL DOOM! Oh my good, DOOM 1! Without all of these stupid Doom 2, Doom 3, Doom 4, Doom 5, Doom 6... All I am saying is back in the day, Doom the original was the bomb. I still love it: I have it on my laptop. Sure the graphics suck, but it is so addicting and fun. Plus, it is probably the first FPS ever made. WITHOUT DOOM, THERE WOULD BE NO COD! NO BATTLEFIELD OR HALO, OR WHATEVERThe ORIGINAL DOOM! Oh my good, DOOM 1! Without all of these stupid Doom 2, Doom 3, Doom 4, Doom 5, Doom 6... All I am saying is back in the day, Doom the original was the bomb. I still love it: I have it on my laptop. Sure the graphics suck, but it is so addicting and fun. Plus, it is probably the first FPS ever made. WITHOUT DOOM, THERE WOULD BE NO COD! NO BATTLEFIELD OR HALO, OR WHATEVER YOU LIKE THESE DAYS!!!! Expand
  15. Oct 4, 2010
    10
    For some it may seem as if it's an expansion pack or an add-on but rest assured this one stands alone, with addictive action, more monsters, more guns (well it's just one gun actually), more power-ups, more terror and most of all: MORE DOOM!!!
  16. Oct 10, 2011
    10
    Greatest game ever made.EVER. Best gameplay. Best story. Best mutiplayer. Best sounds. Best graphics. Best sequel. Best game franchise. Best psychics. Best game engine. Best game.
  17. Mar 28, 2013
    8
    At first, it's kind of funny to see this game with a user score much higher than most newer games made after 2004. Then after a while, you realize that Doom is where it all started. On the tree of FPS games, you see games like Half-Life 2, Black Ops 2, Halo and Battlefield hanging on the higher branches. But when you dig down to the roots, you see Doom, Doom II, 1992 Wolfenstein and hell,At first, it's kind of funny to see this game with a user score much higher than most newer games made after 2004. Then after a while, you realize that Doom is where it all started. On the tree of FPS games, you see games like Half-Life 2, Black Ops 2, Halo and Battlefield hanging on the higher branches. But when you dig down to the roots, you see Doom, Doom II, 1992 Wolfenstein and hell, maybe even Catacomb 3D down there. When you play an old Doom game, you don't just play a classic game, you get a portal of what the gaming world was really like back in the early 90's. Where the graphics didn't matter, if the gameplay was good enough, the game itself was good enough. I don't know any game community that's older than Doom's people still make mods for the game. Perhaps it's just the nostalgia talking, but Doom is just a franchise that can most likely never ever spoil. The classic versions at least. Whether you were around to experience the first Super Mario game ever made, or you became a gamer just 2 years ago, Doom 2 is still good stuff. Nowadays, it might seem super cliche to have a game with demons, miniguns and chainsaws, but after 19 years, the game still tightly holds onto its charm. As expected, I prefer Doom 2 over the first Doom, just because you get the same classic feel, but some nice new extras thrown in that don't overspoil the game. Expand
  18. Jul 5, 2011
    10
    One of the greatest works in PC gaming in it's time. This game and also the first Doom were my childhood, playing it on the Playstation 1 at the time. It is a great game.
  19. Dec 12, 2012
    10
    This is a classic game! I remember when I was 5 years old, and I was playing this game :X Such fun I had playing both single-player and multyplayer... I will never forget this period, such memories. Doom 2, Heretic, Hexen, Blood and Duke Nukem 3D, those were my action games at that time. And Doom, that's just where action games came from. And if people say something bad about this game, isThis is a classic game! I remember when I was 5 years old, and I was playing this game :X Such fun I had playing both single-player and multyplayer... I will never forget this period, such memories. Doom 2, Heretic, Hexen, Blood and Duke Nukem 3D, those were my action games at that time. And Doom, that's just where action games came from. And if people say something bad about this game, is just because they haven't had the pleasure to play it in 1994-1995. If someone wants to try it with improved graphics, I recommend downloading Doomsday from doomsdayhq website, or ZDoom. From the source ports I've tried, those ones are my favourite! I really hope, if they make a Doom 4, to relate the gameplay to the old ones, not like Doom 3 (which is not bad, a horror game, but not even close to the old ones). Expand
  20. RichieB.
    Oct 24, 2004
    6
    Very disappointed in the game. I don't see how people can rate this a 10. Graphics and audio are awesome but didn't get pulled into the game. Waiting for Half Life 2.
  21. Oct 21, 2013
    10
    Even though i was born in 97, i was lucky enough to be able to play Doom 1 2 duke nukem 3d and many other kick-ass fps games, THESE are the fps games that started the whole genre, and it's such a shame that it became a cashgrabbing, sequel spamming of a genre
  22. Jul 20, 2013
    10
    Great game. Still after about 15 years, the game is still great. Graphics are actually still good, because the enemies are so personal looking, not just grey blobs, i mean if you get custom engine to it like doomsday engine, or something like that it will improve resolution so stuff doesnt look blocky. Sounds was, and are still great. Gameplay is the best aspect of the doom series, killingGreat game. Still after about 15 years, the game is still great. Graphics are actually still good, because the enemies are so personal looking, not just grey blobs, i mean if you get custom engine to it like doomsday engine, or something like that it will improve resolution so stuff doesnt look blocky. Sounds was, and are still great. Gameplay is the best aspect of the doom series, killing is based on skill and finesse, rather than just reaction game just like todays games, because most of the enemies does not have hitscan weapons(weapons that hits instantly), so when they shoot their fireballs/slimeballs or what ever, you can dodge them even if several of them shoots you at the same time just if you are skilled enough. This what makes combat very fun even after so many years. There is also some hitscan weapon enemies, but they are really easy to drop and basically you can drop them with one shotgun blast, exept one boss enemy. Enemies also can fight each other if they hit other creature that is not same creature type that accidently shooted it. Also there is pain stat for each enemy, so certain enemies are better killed by chainguns and some other with shotguns and rocket launcher, etc. From internet there is plenty of custom made wads to doom 2. There is many reviews sites that you should look for to get help what wads would be recommended to download. Expand
  23. Jun 10, 2015
    10
    An epic follow up sequel to Doom, this game improves on its prequel by adding more crazier enemies, more insane difficulties, and more mind puzzling levels. New levels include fighting demons in the cities, fighting them in underground labyrinths, and in even unknown darker sections of hell. Even though there aren't any new bosses, or weapons, except for the super shotgun, Doom II stillAn epic follow up sequel to Doom, this game improves on its prequel by adding more crazier enemies, more insane difficulties, and more mind puzzling levels. New levels include fighting demons in the cities, fighting them in underground labyrinths, and in even unknown darker sections of hell. Even though there aren't any new bosses, or weapons, except for the super shotgun, Doom II still keeps the charm and challenging craziness of the prequel. A must play sequel if you want to continue the story from Doom! Expand
  24. Jun 24, 2015
    10
    My childhood my childhood My childhood my childhood My childhood my childhood My childhood my childhood My childhood my childhood My childhood my childhood My childhood my childhood My childhood my childhood My childhood my childhood My childhood my childhood My childhood my childhood My childhood my childhood My childhood my childhood My childhood my childhood My childhood my childhood
  25. MiKE
    Mar 2, 2005
    10
    A really good game!
  26. KristN.
    Dec 7, 2007
    10
    It's been 14 years since Doom was first released, and I'm still playing it as obsessively as I was back in Dec '93. Fast action, big guns, eternal hordes of screaming monsters to mow down; It's the perfect game... Quake is released - 4 weeks later, I'm back to Doom. Half-Life is released - It takes only a few days before I put myself toe-to-hoof against a Baron Of It's been 14 years since Doom was first released, and I'm still playing it as obsessively as I was back in Dec '93. Fast action, big guns, eternal hordes of screaming monsters to mow down; It's the perfect game... Quake is released - 4 weeks later, I'm back to Doom. Half-Life is released - It takes only a few days before I put myself toe-to-hoof against a Baron Of Hell for the 1000th time. Halo is released - Doom takes instant priority, and Master Chief doesn't even get a day's look in. My addiction only grows. With an ever expanding WAD base, I'm never out of new maps to run amok in. With the source code released, enhanced source ports are everywhere, and even though the engine is updated with new features, the core gameplay remains the same - Kill stuff, Win. I don't even need to mention how unbeatable the MP modes are. The day I stop playing Doom will be the day I die. My only criticism? I'll never live long enough. Expand
  27. AaronF.
    Mar 13, 2004
    10
    My first PC game and my all-time favourite PC game! Nothing else comes close!
  28. DickC.
    Aug 11, 2004
    10
    The new enemies are all great and the level design is better then the original. Doom II also had the Super Shotgun which kicks ass. The best game EVER.
  29. H.H.
    Jan 30, 2005
    8
    Hey buddy, if you're playing a 10+ year-old game while waiting for Half-Life 2, then expect to be somewhat disappointed. Back when this came out (probably before this website even existed [Ed: Indeed!]), it stinking rocked everybody's socks. anyway, i give doom 2 an 8 simply because it is a followup to a classic (although it did not add much to the original). the original wouldHey buddy, if you're playing a 10+ year-old game while waiting for Half-Life 2, then expect to be somewhat disappointed. Back when this came out (probably before this website even existed [Ed: Indeed!]), it stinking rocked everybody's socks. anyway, i give doom 2 an 8 simply because it is a followup to a classic (although it did not add much to the original). the original would get an 11. Expand
  30. NunoJ.
    Oct 22, 2005
    10
    Easy to say why I gave it a 10... I couldn't find a bigger number! New games are too practical, too fast. If you want a game for it's story and thrill, having a big dose of frightening stuff this is the one and only. Like Metallica, old school rules.
  31. Mar 27, 2012
    0
    Best classic ever. This is one of the few games that still stumps me no matter how many times I play it. And the only game to make me scream bloody murder while mowing down a room full of imps (or having a room full of imps appear behind me). This game has hardcore nostalgic value for me, I grew up with this, Wolfenstein, and many games alike; but Doom was always my favorite. The mazes areBest classic ever. This is one of the few games that still stumps me no matter how many times I play it. And the only game to make me scream bloody murder while mowing down a room full of imps (or having a room full of imps appear behind me). This game has hardcore nostalgic value for me, I grew up with this, Wolfenstein, and many games alike; but Doom was always my favorite. The mazes are so complicated and twisted, you never know when you're going to be teleported back to the beginning or in the middle of a room filled to the brim with Imps, Cacodemons, Lost Souls, Chaingunners, or worse... Hell Knights. This game never ceases to get old for me. Collapse
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 5 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. A dark, disturbing game. And while it may not bring anything new to the genre, it can create obsession-level loyalty if you tend not to look beyond the barrel of a gun.
  2. In addition to multiple difficulty settings and configurable graphics and controls, DOOM II features online support. You can challenge opponents via modem, LAN or a supported IPX protocol to a brutal, no holds barred deathmatch competition.
  3. PC Gamer
    90
    Go ahead and buy Doom II - if you think you can take the heat. [Dec 1994, p.134]