Dota 2 PC

User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 11317 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 5, 2014
    6
    DOTA2 is a very hit and miss game. On one hand you can get a game where everyone if cooperating well, when this happens the game is an easy 10/10, however this games major flaws are the users themselves. When checking "English" in the language pref's and in the USA servers, you are almost guaranteed to find a lot of non-English speakers with terrible ping. This leaves the game unfair andDOTA2 is a very hit and miss game. On one hand you can get a game where everyone if cooperating well, when this happens the game is an easy 10/10, however this games major flaws are the users themselves. When checking "English" in the language pref's and in the USA servers, you are almost guaranteed to find a lot of non-English speakers with terrible ping. This leaves the game unfair and quit a few people quit out.

    Good when everyone is in game, absolutely terrible otherwise.
    Expand
  2. Jan 6, 2014
    7
    Pros:
    Great graphics/interface
    Easy matchmaking Sucessful ported game from dota 1 Cons: Colision system is so high Camera distance very low Heroes are visual polluted Battle is very polluted, you need take a good look to understand wath is happening Matchmaking system fails Lack of local player baning system The given priority to cosmetic itens Were is the dam raking system,
    Pros:
    Great graphics/interface
    Easy matchmaking
    Sucessful ported game from dota 1

    Cons:
    Colision system is so high
    Camera distance very low
    Heroes are visual polluted
    Battle is very polluted, you need take a good look to understand wath is happening
    Matchmaking system fails
    Lack of local player baning system
    The given priority to cosmetic itens
    Were is the dam raking system, no rank no moba valve!
    Expand
  3. Mar 18, 2015
    5
    Valve's version of Defense of the Ancients can either excite you to point where you feel like a God or as miserable as a worm with a fever. Why this discrepancy? Well, you play with 4 more ppl, and in this version of the game you don't have as many admin resources as DotA 1 used to have to prevent bad behavior from the players. This means that at a times you will end up playing with greatValve's version of Defense of the Ancients can either excite you to point where you feel like a God or as miserable as a worm with a fever. Why this discrepancy? Well, you play with 4 more ppl, and in this version of the game you don't have as many admin resources as DotA 1 used to have to prevent bad behavior from the players. This means that at a times you will end up playing with great ppl and having a lot of fun or the opposite, very rude and childish ones that can ruin a match really quickly and there is nothing you can do about it. Expand
  4. Mar 24, 2015
    5
    While it is a good multiplayer game in theory, it's actually a sub-par gaming experience in general because of the terrible playerbase and community, horribly flawed matchmaking system, blatant cashgrab events, and overpriced cosmetic market.
  5. May 24, 2015
    7
    pro: - a variety of heroes with different skills (most of them have 4 while some have more)
    - a strategy game
    - features a report system - graphics is nice - have item sets cons: - sometimes quite lag which causes "Poor network conenction has been detected,This game will not be score and game is safe to leave" >> therefore if any team play very well, the effort are wasted. -
    pro: - a variety of heroes with different skills (most of them have 4 while some have more)
    - a strategy game
    - features a report system
    - graphics is nice
    - have item sets

    cons: - sometimes quite lag which causes "Poor network conenction has been detected,This game will not be score and game is safe to leave" >> therefore if any team play very well, the effort are wasted.
    - community can be improve
    - has no section to grant player's demand (not item demand)
    - a loop game

    would be nice if IceFrog could create new hero. But i understand that a nice hero takes quite a long time to design and testing. Because a hero that is released too early wont be nice i guess
    Expand
  6. Jun 7, 2015
    7
    This is still the best MOBA/Team Brawler out there. Personally I'm ready for a new game to take this genre to the next level but for now DOTA 2 is on top. Also I don't see why so many people say this game isn't for the casual player. I have always found this game extremely fun to just pop in and play a match a few times a day.

    1 Point off for extremely negative community. Just like
    This is still the best MOBA/Team Brawler out there. Personally I'm ready for a new game to take this genre to the next level but for now DOTA 2 is on top. Also I don't see why so many people say this game isn't for the casual player. I have always found this game extremely fun to just pop in and play a match a few times a day.

    1 Point off for extremely negative community. Just like League, you are best just ignoring chat all together unless you know your team mates. You can still be a team player anyway. But this is just one of those games that needs to really put their foot down, hire a couple dozen game monitors to watch games and ban trolls.... because it feels like you're playing with a bunch of terrorists a lot of times.

    Overall 7 out of 10. Best moba out there, but without innovation it's getting old.
    Expand
  7. Jun 22, 2015
    5
    This Comunnity is garbage, nobody cares about you and they want you banned for being a new player. I've started playing with the bots them, noobs were a little more friendly, i had some fun with them, but this game still the same old warcraft III Dota

    Just better graphics and sound effects, my friends are playing this game 10 hours per day like idiots, i can't undestand how they managed
    This Comunnity is garbage, nobody cares about you and they want you banned for being a new player. I've started playing with the bots them, noobs were a little more friendly, i had some fun with them, but this game still the same old warcraft III Dota

    Just better graphics and sound effects, my friends are playing this game 10 hours per day like idiots, i can't undestand how they managed to play something so repetitive that much and for such long time...

    Now their memory are f***** up now, they lost many brain cells playing this
    Expand
  8. Aug 21, 2015
    6
    Items pretty much take away from the pacing of the game. Heroes of the Storm takes DOTA 2 and makes it much better, eliminating the tedium parts of the game that exist here and in LoL.

    However, the game looks great and controls well.
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. Feb 19, 2014
    95
    Simply irresistible and addictive as hell.
  2. Sep 1, 2013
    90
    Unforgiving from the get-go, but a landmark in competitive multiplayer design. [Oct 2013, p.68]
  3. Aug 30, 2013
    100
    A great PvP game that offers some of the most intriguing and nuanced team combat around.