Dota 2 PC

User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 11727 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 30, 2016
    10
    NO RUSSIANS NO RUSSIANS NO RUSSIANS NO RUSSIANS NO RUSSIANS NO RUSSIANS NO RUSSIANS NO RUSSIANS KAPPa........................................................................................................
  2. Jan 25, 2016
    9
    Great game... also it's free. ONE COMPLAINT: Seriously? Such a great game with only one map? It gets boring sometimes, but its usually made up with the fact that the game just is great.
  3. Jan 15, 2016
    8
    Dota is by far the best moba i have played. It is complex and ever changing. Its fun and punishing, but also rewarding. Its played best when witch friends.
    However, when u don't have the luxury of playing with people you know it is filled with the most toxic player base I have ever seen.
  4. Jan 12, 2016
    10
    Very challenging, strategical, too much to understand but once you learned the mechanics it's easy, I tried a different MOBA and this is my favorite and it's the BEST EVER
  5. Jan 9, 2016
    9
    MOBA molto popolare e ben realizzato, è costantemente seguito ed aggiornato. Quindi avendo consolidato che il lato tecnico di questo gioco è buono, consiglio questo moba solo a chi vuole cimentarsi in qualcosa di impegnativo, non nascondo il fatto che all'inizio si avranno molte difficolta a trovare le giuste combinazioni per vincere le partite, ma una volta presa la mano questo giocoMOBA molto popolare e ben realizzato, è costantemente seguito ed aggiornato. Quindi avendo consolidato che il lato tecnico di questo gioco è buono, consiglio questo moba solo a chi vuole cimentarsi in qualcosa di impegnativo, non nascondo il fatto che all'inizio si avranno molte difficolta a trovare le giuste combinazioni per vincere le partite, ma una volta presa la mano questo gioco regala grandi soddifsazioni. Unica pecca,molti eroi di Dota 2 sono sbilanciati, ciò può rendere fastidiose alcune partite. Detto questo vi consiglio di provarlo con mano e invito chiunque a scaricarlo (in quanto il gioco è free-to-play). Expand
  6. Dec 19, 2015
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The new dota 2 update is great. Graphics are better than before and heroes abilities are slight balanced.
    A lot of different heroes (Characters to choose from)
    Each hero has their own set of moves
    Competitive
    Customized
    Ability to learn
    Constantly puts cosmetic items into the game (Items that don't do very much)
    Has things set up for new players
    Very nice looking
    Can be fun in some games
    Expand
  7. Dec 7, 2015
    8
    It's a great misery simulator for an average guy like me but even I can see how great of an impact to the industry it is and for a good reason. It's a great game for who's cup of tea it is.
  8. Dec 4, 2015
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. word yes alrigth beautiful handsome pretty nice cool ugly duck dog cat rose rise rissen crook fake face fare fun pants clouds cloth me very lock locky smile mad water liquid solid gas air glass broom game items ratings summary critical videos ideas gift christmas Expand
  9. Nov 16, 2015
    10
    Great game ruined by terrible company that is not involved enough with it's playerbase, zero communication, dubious approach to bug fixing and balance.
  10. Nov 13, 2015
    10
    Very good game Very good game Very good game Very good game Very good game Very good game Very good game Very good game Very good game Very good game Very good game Very good game Very good game!!!! Very good game Very good game Very good game Very good game Very good game Very good game Very good game Very good game Very good game Very good game Very good game Very good game Very good game!!!!
  11. Nov 12, 2015
    8
    DOTA a well known and a respected game in the industry of MOBA games aside from it's top competitor know as LOL. This game is pretty much good on one end and has some dark characteristics on the other end. Let's talk about the good side first, knowing that this game is very popular, people around the world gather just to see what this game will hand out to them. Mainstream doesn't matterDOTA a well known and a respected game in the industry of MOBA games aside from it's top competitor know as LOL. This game is pretty much good on one end and has some dark characteristics on the other end. Let's talk about the good side first, knowing that this game is very popular, people around the world gather just to see what this game will hand out to them. Mainstream doesn't matter to this game at all. Its adrenaline never fades to a player so eager to win. Now on the dark side, yeah it does have great gameplay and mechanics, but... the updates are just freaking annoying sometimes. Some days will have a 10mb update which is so good, then here comes the day where it updates at nearly 300mb and another day which updates a harsh fit of 1gb which is very frustrating to players who have a very slow internet connection. Overall this game is very good game, with it's mechanics and gameplay, a player can't argue no more. I give this game a rating of 8/10. Till next time, Game on! Expand
  12. Oct 31, 2015
    10
    ༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ Give DIRETIDE 2015 ༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ ༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ Give DIRETIDE 2015 ༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ ༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ Give DIRETIDE 2015 ༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ ༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ Give DIRETIDE 2015 ༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ ༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ Give DIRETIDE 2015 ༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ ༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ Give DIRETIDE 2015 ༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ
  13. Oct 31, 2015
    10
    ༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ Give OLD DIRETIDE༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ ༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ Give OLD DIRETIDE༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ ༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ Give OLD DIRETIDE༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ ༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ Give OLD DIRETIDE༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ ༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ Give OLD DIRETIDE༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ ༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ Give OLD DIRETIDE༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ ༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ Give OLD DIRETIDE༼ つ༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ Give OLD DIRETIDE༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ ༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ Give OLD DIRETIDE༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ ༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ Give OLD DIRETIDE༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ ༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ Give OLD DIRETIDE༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ ༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ Give OLD DIRETIDE༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ ༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ Give OLD DIRETIDE༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ ༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ Give OLD DIRETIDE༼ つ
  14. o0o
    Oct 30, 2015
    10
    I lost my life.
    I lost my friends.
    I lost my girlfriend.
    I lost my personality.
    I forgot my hobbies.
    I forgot my studies.
    I forgot my manners.
    And finally, when I thought life would get better, I lost my family.

    GGWP 11/10 Would P[l]ay Again.
  15. Oct 19, 2015
    10
    AMAZING! I Just got myself 3620 Free Riot Points for League of Legends at www.riotgenerator.com Check it out it really works! AMAZING! AMAZING! I Just got myself 3620 Free Riot Points for League of Legends at www.riotgenerator.com Check it out it really works!
  16. Oct 18, 2015
    10
    Dota 2 is a tonne of free content, no other game out there can compare with the amount of free content Dota 2 has. Want a break from the usual Dota 2 action, go to custom games where you can find hundreds of completely free content. This is in stark contrast to most other mobas where their heroes/champions are way overpriced. Oh and did i mention that the gameplay is the best of all mobasDota 2 is a tonne of free content, no other game out there can compare with the amount of free content Dota 2 has. Want a break from the usual Dota 2 action, go to custom games where you can find hundreds of completely free content. This is in stark contrast to most other mobas where their heroes/champions are way overpriced. Oh and did i mention that the gameplay is the best of all mobas out there. Expand
  17. Oct 14, 2015
    10
    esentialy hon

    amazing game would recomend the learning curve is steep but once you get the hang it feels like your in a amazing jet powered chicken shooter(a-10 thunderbolt) while league is the easy mode of mobas
  18. Oct 13, 2015
    10
    10/10 no camsluts streaming.
    10/10 actually requires skill and team work.

    Fack diretide because source engine 2.

    Origional heroes that look non big titted. Runs better than runescape.

    No garbo cosmetics for bigger bubbz on sniper compared to slut of legends.

    10/10 ign

    No cap in ranked, so whos da best?
  19. Oct 1, 2015
    10
    Tier 1
    + An abundance of awesome mechanics and designs that interplay in glorious ways
    + Endless "fun" with diverse "teammates" in a battle to "glory"
    ? The game might lack perfect balance
    ? つ◕_◕༽つ Volvo Please, Give Diretide つ◕_◕༽つ
    - Has consumed over 800 hours of my life to date
  20. Sep 15, 2015
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Not bad game but the Reborn updated made it worst! If not it was 1 of the best game plus it has a better graphic then Dota 1 but i would prefer the old Dota 2 Expand
  21. Sep 7, 2015
    10
    WoW, Another great game beside CS and Half Life, one of the greatest game of all times - Dota- that was created from a map for Warcraft, Now even greater Thanks to valve. its one of the few games that have the least possible bugs and most bug fix updates, not a pay to win game like any other - you must buy new heroes - and very high reflex, I have 700 - 800 hrs on record and one of theWoW, Another great game beside CS and Half Life, one of the greatest game of all times - Dota- that was created from a map for Warcraft, Now even greater Thanks to valve. its one of the few games that have the least possible bugs and most bug fix updates, not a pay to win game like any other - you must buy new heroes - and very high reflex, I have 700 - 800 hrs on record and one of the best players, Thank you valve for creating such a beauty. Expand
  22. Sep 6, 2015
    9
    yes the graphics are out dated but this game is really good it dosent have op heroes, if you play too much it might get addicting and frustrating over all its a pretty good game
  23. Sep 6, 2015
    10
    This game reminds me a lot of cigarettes, it costs you a buttload of money, it is unhealthy and you hate it, but you can't stop playing. The first matches are awful "no way I'll play this game ever again", but then a friend offers you to play again and you start "liking" that, after a couple of years you realize that you are wasting money, time and health after this thing and you want toThis game reminds me a lot of cigarettes, it costs you a buttload of money, it is unhealthy and you hate it, but you can't stop playing. The first matches are awful "no way I'll play this game ever again", but then a friend offers you to play again and you start "liking" that, after a couple of years you realize that you are wasting money, time and health after this thing and you want to quit, but you can't. Expand
  24. Sep 4, 2015
    9
    Dota 2 is a really fun game you can choose 100 heroes to play as, i know the dota community is bad but come on just enjoy the fun and ignore those stupid people that are hating
  25. Aug 19, 2015
    10
    e-Sports can't be rated. It's competitive so it shouldn't be compared to traditional games or what we expect from a video-game. Therefore it shouldn't be rated, you don't set a score for traditional sports like football or basketball too, so why would you rate e-Sports titles like this one? This game was never meant to be a single player game or beginner friendly. Unfortunely it is a teame-Sports can't be rated. It's competitive so it shouldn't be compared to traditional games or what we expect from a video-game. Therefore it shouldn't be rated, you don't set a score for traditional sports like football or basketball too, so why would you rate e-Sports titles like this one? This game was never meant to be a single player game or beginner friendly. Unfortunely it is a team based game, which means you either put in hard work, get better, work with your team and love it or you will fail, stagnate, curse your team and hate the game forever. Winning and losing is part of every Sport, but either way only happens with the team. Expand
  26. Aug 14, 2015
    10
    Best game ever. 1500 hours omg just cant stop playing this thanks valve to give me such a great game much better than lol or any another moba recomended
  27. Aug 10, 2015
    10
    The perfect video game – Dota 2 is pure heroin and no two matches will ever feel the same. Only years and years of frustration and pain will harden you to the point where you are truly a competitive player. Nothing is lacking from Dota 2 – the only downfalls will be due to your own misery or the misery of your teammates. Valve does everything within their power to punish players for beingThe perfect video game – Dota 2 is pure heroin and no two matches will ever feel the same. Only years and years of frustration and pain will harden you to the point where you are truly a competitive player. Nothing is lacking from Dota 2 – the only downfalls will be due to your own misery or the misery of your teammates. Valve does everything within their power to punish players for being awful to play with, but ultimately this single shortcoming is out of their hands. Prepare to be called every profanity ever created on your path to the dark side of video gaming.

    The lack of people in the middle on this page says it all. Those that get it know it's a 10. Those who've had their feelings hurt and been pwned one too many times have nothing good to say.
    Expand
  28. Aug 3, 2015
    9
    Shining beacon that shows how F2P SHOULD BE MADE!

    Like Dark Souls, requires a lot of skill to play, requires patience to learn all the mechanics and probably as new player will have to use a lot of internet to browse things to find out tricks. But once you have played 1 decent game where you didn't play like retard and run into enemy 24/7 or didn't just mindlessly push lanes like
    Shining beacon that shows how F2P SHOULD BE MADE!

    Like Dark Souls, requires a lot of skill to play, requires patience to learn all the mechanics and probably as new player will have to use a lot of internet to browse things to find out tricks.

    But once you have played 1 decent game where you didn't play like retard and run into enemy 24/7 or didn't just mindlessly push lanes like some 9 year old who doesn't know about lasthitting. When you finally play a game that you actually managed to influence positively, managed to build some big item and start turning games around with YOUR INDIVIDUAL EFFORTS, then the game starts to become good.

    Unfortunately new generation of kids don't know what they are missing and playing their Angry Birds and Mario Worlds with White Tanooki Suits and other BS mechanics that reduce challenge to near 0. If you are old PC gamer who grew up with games like Warcraft 3 and Age of Empires, this game is very easy to grasp.

    Bugs are almost non-existant and you get free rewards every few games, all heroes are free. What more could you with for?

    The reason this isn't 10/10 I think has to be with last hitting, which while allows to make difference between bad and good players in lane, it is also tedious and not really rewarding thing. It would be 10/10 if for example you'd miss last hit but would still be able to grab the gold from ground.
    Expand
  29. Jul 30, 2015
    10
    Great game!!!! I don't see why people are giving this game a low rating just for the community. Yes they are really aggressive and that is something that should not dictate a games rating but I think this game is great and its free so why complain if you don't like it no problem its free.
  30. Jul 28, 2015
    10
    A great PVP game and the best MMO-RPG game in the world thanks to valve we have great servers and we can play without any lag.If you trying to decide between LOL or Dota 2 then now you are looking to right game's review have fun be positive to your teammates =).
  31. Jul 24, 2015
    10
    The Best game ever i will and gonna play in my entire life i play this game for 8 years and im still playing this game becase is the best game ever!!!
  32. Jul 22, 2015
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The best MOBA in the world. but need some little improvements at the description of heroes about heroes level and heroes name is too small, hard to find the description for me as a new player Expand
  33. Jun 28, 2015
    9
    This game really has a lot of depth to it. The learning wall, because it is much harder than a curve is very VERY rough.

    With that said, this is not an easy game for the lighthearted. This game takes patience, this game takes though, and this game is about improving. It will take you a long time before you really start to understand everything. It has a great pro scene to watch and
    This game really has a lot of depth to it. The learning wall, because it is much harder than a curve is very VERY rough.

    With that said, this is not an easy game for the lighthearted. This game takes patience, this game takes though, and this game is about improving. It will take you a long time before you really start to understand everything.

    It has a great pro scene to watch and engage in. The solo play's are fun and challenging. They are constantly adding to the game. Including new heroes, new items, and even a new engine. This is THE most played game on Steam for a good reasons!

    You should actually stop reading this and go play it... It is free by the way.
    But be warned.... This game.
    Is.
    Like.
    Crack.

    No joke. You will put in 100's of hours and still feel like a n00b.
    You will start watching the pro's play to improve your game.
    You will see why The Internationals prize pool is at $15 MILLION!!!

    11/10 See you in the queue lines!
    Expand
  34. Jun 23, 2015
    9
    I've spent a lot of hours playing this game. If you're really into competition gaming then I do NOT recommend this game.
    Matchmaking system is a joke. Game is brilliant but if you're up to increasing your skills and fighting vs good opponents with good players in your team then forget it. Just abandon this game and don't play it unless you have 4 friends going the same way you're going.
  35. Jun 20, 2015
    10
    You are either wasting your time or winning.
    There are no compromises or hand holding.
    You hate it because you're scared to adapt.
    MOBAs can't get more realistic than this one.
  36. Jun 10, 2015
    8
    Great game, constant game improvements/changes keep the game fresh. Very addictive.
    Cons, community is populated by toxic players. Hopefully this game doesn't ruin any of your friendships.
  37. Jun 4, 2015
    10
    The most competitive game I have ever played. I have thousands of hours in this game and not one is like another. Dota's lead developer, Icefrog, has been around for more than 10 years now and listens to the communities feedback for balances and changes. Best part is that it is completely free, any money you put into the game will have no impact on your game play, it will only change howThe most competitive game I have ever played. I have thousands of hours in this game and not one is like another. Dota's lead developer, Icefrog, has been around for more than 10 years now and listens to the communities feedback for balances and changes. Best part is that it is completely free, any money you put into the game will have no impact on your game play, it will only change how the game looks. Expand
  38. Jun 3, 2015
    10
    Always the best of all games, steam I'm proud of you, I played this game a 6 years ago, and now is all perfect, I never imagine that game was so awsome.
    For sure is the bes of all ages and times.
    You have to ply this game.
  39. May 16, 2015
    9
    most of the reviews on here are from like 2 years ago with complaints about diretide and how the community sucks and Gabe is a money whore and how there is no support. THIS IS UNTRUE this game is a solid 9/10 and i keep coming back to it and i have over 1100 hours on this game to prove a point that there is so much replayability, there are infinite amount of combinations of heroes andmost of the reviews on here are from like 2 years ago with complaints about diretide and how the community sucks and Gabe is a money whore and how there is no support. THIS IS UNTRUE this game is a solid 9/10 and i keep coming back to it and i have over 1100 hours on this game to prove a point that there is so much replayability, there are infinite amount of combinations of heroes and whether they lane or jungle etc. do invest some time in this game as you will find this to be very rewarding Expand
  40. May 8, 2015
    10
    Ignore the reviews that say there are no bugs/patches and the ones saying there is a ton of advertising. The game is constantly bug fixed - and when I say that I have to point out, I have encountered maybe 2 bugs in over 700 hours of play. Now, some people are complaining about no new heroes? I think they forgot that this is the game all the other ones COPIED its heroes from. The onlyIgnore the reviews that say there are no bugs/patches and the ones saying there is a ton of advertising. The game is constantly bug fixed - and when I say that I have to point out, I have encountered maybe 2 bugs in over 700 hours of play. Now, some people are complaining about no new heroes? I think they forgot that this is the game all the other ones COPIED its heroes from. The only reason you "think" the other games are updating themselves is because you didn't play dota to begin with. This being said, dota 2 lets you use every hero in the game without paying, so that also nullifies the money hungry argument as every other game makes you purchase any new hero, and that hero is overpowered for about a month, so isn't that pay to win whereas dota's system is absolute fairness? The only thing you can purchase in the game is cosmetics, Whereas in LoL you can buy runes and different abilities to supplement the characters you also had to pay for. Dota 2 offers everything you could want, a bug free game that is completely free to play and you can be as competitive as you want, you can play as much as you want, you can try any hero you want. Without paying a dime. And you'll have a good time as long as you are actually trying to enjoy and get to know the game and everyone that plays it will encourage you to do so. The bad reviews on this site come from people who are bad at games in general or from diehard LoL fans that can't stand that their game is a shadow of the original and now an even uglier shadow in the face of the new Dota. Expand
  41. May 6, 2015
    10
    Esse jogo é fantástico demais! Tenho mais de 4.000 horas de jogo e nunca me canso, cada partida é única. O melhor MOBA de todos. LOL, Smite, Hon e HotS são todos imitações baratas. Se você é um jogador como eu que aprecia a originalidade de cada proposta, então esse jogo será maravilhoso! É o mais original que existe! Os outros Mobas são apenas vapores que logo se tornarão invisíveis seEsse jogo é fantástico demais! Tenho mais de 4.000 horas de jogo e nunca me canso, cada partida é única. O melhor MOBA de todos. LOL, Smite, Hon e HotS são todos imitações baratas. Se você é um jogador como eu que aprecia a originalidade de cada proposta, então esse jogo será maravilhoso! É o mais original que existe! Os outros Mobas são apenas vapores que logo se tornarão invisíveis se comparado com esse jogo aqui: Dota 2. Expand
  42. May 5, 2015
    10
    There isn't much to say about Dota 2. Just that how fun and awesome it is, the game has a big learning curve but it feels like an accomplishment when you simply learn the basics. It's a very strategic and tactical game and is so much better to play with friends. The community that plays this game is pure dog-sh*t but if your better than them you don't have much to worry about. I veryThere isn't much to say about Dota 2. Just that how fun and awesome it is, the game has a big learning curve but it feels like an accomplishment when you simply learn the basics. It's a very strategic and tactical game and is so much better to play with friends. The community that plays this game is pure dog-sh*t but if your better than them you don't have much to worry about. I very much enjoy playing dota, but it isn't anyone's cup of tea. Expand
  43. Apr 26, 2015
    10
    A game hard to master but with an amazing sense of reward! Cyka Blyat and privet rule EU servers which is always fun! A game that contributes into a roller-coast and funky but worthy dementia. Welcome into the rabbit hole, we can only hope you can't get out anymore!
  44. Apr 3, 2015
    10
    Beginners are screwed at first, but eventually they will discover a new, extremely satisfying level of gameplay. Dota 2 is an amazing game because of its strategic depth, constantly varying games, and established highly competitive scene. This game generates challenges both for the casual and the more serious player.
  45. Mar 17, 2015
    10
    As gamers on any platform begin to evolve, gaming becomes more than just a leisure activity, and as streaming of player versus player experiences starts to popularize, I find it is very easy to review Defense of the Ancients 2. DOTA 2 is a Multiplayer Online Battle Arena (MOBA) that heavily and competitively focuses on the player versus player (PvP) aspects of gaming. As the PC gameAs gamers on any platform begin to evolve, gaming becomes more than just a leisure activity, and as streaming of player versus player experiences starts to popularize, I find it is very easy to review Defense of the Ancients 2. DOTA 2 is a Multiplayer Online Battle Arena (MOBA) that heavily and competitively focuses on the player versus player (PvP) aspects of gaming. As the PC game develops with its impressive accumulation of unique players every month and its paucity of cons, DOTA 2 achieves the, “Best Free Online Game” award from me. I continue to invest many hours into the game for more than just one reason, merely ranging from the price to its in-depth lore, gameplay, and intense community.
    First thing is first, DOTA 2 is a free downloadable game you can obtain from Steam, an internet-based digital distribution, digital rights management (DRM), multiplayer, and social networking platform developed by Valve Corporation. Everyone enjoys free things, but what greatly separates this game from different and popular games is the necessity of a computer (desktop or laptop) rather than a console like a PlayStation 4 or an Xbox One. Gaming on computers and laptops is out faming the consoles simply because computers and laptops offer a much more spread out genre of video games. The only upside, in my opinion, of a console over a computer are the graphics and how cheap it is to obtain such graphics, but as beautiful and real as graphics seem on console games, DOTA 2 manages to create some vigorous and vibrant edges and textures. Instances of these tactile textures, cuts, shadowing, and rendering are the heroes or characters and the environment. The trees, rivers and even floors are covered in variances of colors shapes and sizes. Since the map of the MOBA consists of two insanely distinct sides, it is not hard to visualize the crazy and imaginative graphics on either sides of the map. So because the graphics are optical and make it easy to differentiate allies, enemies, and the actions of each means that the game is easy to play. That does not mean the game itself is easy.
    Not only are the graphics outstanding for this free PC game, but its gameplay is very smooth if you have a computer that can run it. The motions on the screen are compared by no other MOBA out there in addition to its skill level. Although its gameplay is easy going and greatly enjoyable by anyone, one has to master the ways of the game. The skill level required to play such a MOBA is extremely difficult to learn right away. Hours must be strictly put into DOTA 2 in order to familiarize and become comfortable with the intricate mechanics. Learning Defense of the Ancients 2 back to front will be a challenge but with commitment, rewards along the DOTA 2 path will be provided. Winning a game will become much more satisfying and random drops of player customization will pop out of nowhere. The only thing to deal with after that is the community.
    Any online multiplayer hosts a community in which they all vary from each other. DOTA 2’s community is a bumpy road to travel across with its intense and competitive gamers to the ignorant fools that mess up the gaming experience for everyone. Competitive players are those who do not like to joke around as they take the game very serious. DOTA 2 to a competitive player is like the law to a police officer. It is also like cancer when a competitive player meets up an ignorant child that destroys the gameplay for everyone else, but more importantly to the serious player. It is very intriguing but difficult to cross over that swaying bridge of trolls (gamers that intentionally negate the gaming experience for others) and the competitiveness of the rest of DOTA 2, but the game becomes much more enjoyable. Similar outcomes to mastering the game are achieved when getting over that bridge. This certain game also includes a neat little lore behind all the characters that may take one’s mind of the skill requirement or the annoyance the community brings for just enough time to get back into mindless gaming.
    It is a clear-cut to me that the writers of DOTA 2’s lore have really put some thought into its characters. Where one hero like Omniknight may support and help others, another may slice through his or her enemy with ease and without remorse like Phantom Assassin. Some characters revolve opportunistic kills that travel across the map without fault like Nature’s Prophet and others are stationary and defensive that wait for a miscalculation in opposing steps like Techies. There is one specific hero that seems quite nice and generous but is really the mastermind behind why a whole war between The Radiant and The Dire broke out. The Radiant are normal and loving human beings and animals that fight against hellish monsters and beasts known as The Dire. The objective of every game is to destroy the opposing team’s ancient.
    I have spent over 1500 hours on this game and to a committed player, DOTA2 nears perfection.
    Expand
  46. Feb 23, 2015
    8
    Please forgive this review it is part of my desire to strengthen my reviewing prowess and is the first all multiplayer game I am reviewing. (Also MetaCritic was crashing hard when posting this) Sorry if it looks weird I couldn't get it to work so many times.

    Gameplay/Playability - Can I just put a 10 and call it good? I’ve never played a game with more addicting gameplay. There is a
    Please forgive this review it is part of my desire to strengthen my reviewing prowess and is the first all multiplayer game I am reviewing. (Also MetaCritic was crashing hard when posting this) Sorry if it looks weird I couldn't get it to work so many times.

    Gameplay/Playability - Can I just put a 10 and call it good? I’ve never played a game with more addicting gameplay. There is a reason this Mod Birthed five games and a new genre of gaming. It is addictive. The constant updates mean that after a Six month break it will be vastly different. The game is hard, and requires time and effort but it will reward you for it. I could spend years discussing the finer side of the gameplay of this game and the way it evolves over time without breaking the surface. 10

    Sound – Routinely impressive. The sound quality is great, music to fit the mood and the voice work is incredible. There are well past 90 characters each with multiple layers of voice work. Heroes in the game have lines to interact with each other as they: Walk past each other (friend or enemy), kill a hero, fight a hero and run, assist in killing a hero, survive a big attack. The spells and hero motions become so resourceful that you can react to a sound from a hero well out of sight who is en-route to murder you. Yet you hear it coming and run. Honestly the part of the game that most of the community ignores but it is such a strong factor in the gameplay. 10

    Graphics – It is beautiful and graphics intense. Think WoW level of spell textures and scenery/shadows. You need some power to crank this game to full and it will be beautiful and worth it. 10

    Story (Community!) – Seeing as this is multiplayer and has no story I will call this Community for this game. The community is crap, I’ve played potentially tens of thousands of hours at this point since the release of Dota Mod back in Warcraft 3. I can say without a shadow of a doubt that ever massive arrogant **** in the world is playing DOTA 2, Right Now! The game is riddled with terrible attitudes and bad sportsmanship. Your games will start with someone who sits in dead silence waiting to last pick then rages at everyone because something happened that they disagree with, these items that invoke such rage would usually be prevented with a simple amount of effort or giving a **** but they would rather stay silent and flame everyone when they don’t get there way. The developers are of no help and have done nothing to fix this issue in three years. At this point im not 100% sure this is a game, it could be a social experiment based on anonymity and arrogance. 0

    Replay ability – The game is nothing if not replay-able. With matches averaging around 45 minutes there is nothing to prevent a person from sinking hours of their life into just one more match. 10
    Expand
  47. Feb 20, 2015
    10
    This game is wonderful with so much depth that even after over 8 years of playing it I still have much to learn. But all of that depth and beauty is ruined by the horrible community. If you want to enjoy this game and have fun it's best to play with friends. Otherwise be ready for a lot of frustration if you play solo.
  48. Feb 16, 2015
    10
    Started my first game, client recommended that I play some bot games to learn as I started out, I said "Awww, nah, I'll just jump into normal matchmaking". Immediately lost 10 games in a row, and was subject to an entire life's worth of abuse and reports for being a noob. 700 hours later I do not regret my decision.
    11/10, would get flamed again.
  49. Feb 13, 2015
    10
    This is an exceptional game with cool heroes to play as. Dota 2 is the king of moba. Enjoy playing as a dragon or a ranger or a wizard or a bug dude or an elemental thingy or another wizard.
  50. Feb 12, 2015
    10
    It's one of the best, I really love this game. I hope they will add more heroes and maps to the game. There are over 90 heroes to choose from currently, and it's truly competitive games I've ever played.
  51. Feb 3, 2015
    10
    Addictively fun clickfest mixed with crushing frustration. If there was a symbol to describe the feeling you get playing Dota 2, it would be the yin-yang. A balance of good and bad elements that create an epic game. It is hard to properly describe a game that has acended to this height of audacious creativity. One can only stand and stare in awe.
  52. Jan 26, 2015
    10
    Great game, very hard for casuals to learn, even now, after beeing noobed down to 5% difficulty. Mixing verterans and newbies doesnt solve the eternal question "whose fault it is". Some cant read, some cant think, some dont give a **** So, thats your base of operations, your team. You *can* create your own team, unfortunately you have to evaluate your team members, whichs is still hardGreat game, very hard for casuals to learn, even now, after beeing noobed down to 5% difficulty. Mixing verterans and newbies doesnt solve the eternal question "whose fault it is". Some cant read, some cant think, some dont give a **** So, thats your base of operations, your team. You *can* create your own team, unfortunately you have to evaluate your team members, whichs is still hard and sometimes quite surpring as with any other normal D2 game. Playing with real life friends is your best option here, otherwise, you wont have fun at all. Alone 1/10 vs team of friends 10/10. Expand
  53. Jan 5, 2015
    10
    BEST GAME IN STEAM,BEST GAME IN PC for you guys that hate this at least learn how to play i wonder why soo many peps hate this its free you dont need to use money/play 1 hour to unlock heroes,thank you gabe newell
  54. Dec 27, 2014
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Dota 2 this game is just awesome, you can play it with your friends ,that I really enjoy this game,The game is wonderful when you get into a good game, with opponents and team mates equal of your skill. However, the game is a horrible experience Expand
  55. Dec 27, 2014
    9
    Just play it. You will love it. But you'll need some friends, cause the community is generally terrible and full of angry dicks. Also its free. That's a **** value.
  56. Dec 25, 2014
    10
    nice but it's all just about game, don't be serious. sometime you need to back in your life. game is game, your life must go on. chase what you want. But for overall. it's very nice game. i really enjoy play this game. Just try , and let your brain make a good way to be a winner.
  57. Dec 23, 2014
    10
    fantasy game with e-sports games! its all made of the game, so...
    This game improved so much since it was released on the beta. There are over 90 heroes to choose from currently and the gamplay is as intence and as rewarding as DOTA 1. I know alot of people will be hesitant to try it at first but there has been a new tutorial system implemented in DOTA 2 and I think it will help new
    fantasy game with e-sports games! its all made of the game, so...
    This game improved so much since it was released on the beta. There are over 90 heroes to choose from currently and the gamplay is as intence and as rewarding as DOTA 1. I know alot of people will be hesitant to try it at first but there has been a new tutorial system implemented in DOTA 2 and I think it will help new comers. I know some people who play LOL might bash in this game, but both games are compleatly different. Its like comparing COD and Battlefield, they are so different that connot be compared. (no preference on either game, I think bot of them are good) Give this game a try, the learning curve is very steep but it is rewarding when you learn. I think this is the best gave valve has ever developed and has been the most played game on steam ever since the second year of beta development. Try it out, its free and badass!
    Expand
  58. Dec 21, 2014
    9
    Playing This game for a long time and it is still fun! Together with my friends we always have fun playing this game. The Game Improved great! Challenging other people's heroes,Teamwork is really needed and must be the first thing keep in mind,don't Be an **** 2 is great Moba game!
  59. Dec 20, 2014
    9
    I'll start off with a 10/10 and work backwards to the score.
    Graphics: Pretty good for this type of game. I've played other MOBAS. Dota 2's graphics are the best out of the bunch. They have a relatively higher degree of fidelity than the others. +2 (Not pushing the limits) Score: +2
    Community: The Community is intense. This results in a lot of negativity directed towards those who are
    I'll start off with a 10/10 and work backwards to the score.
    Graphics: Pretty good for this type of game. I've played other MOBAS. Dota 2's graphics are the best out of the bunch. They have a relatively higher degree of fidelity than the others. +2 (Not pushing the limits) Score: +2
    Community: The Community is intense. This results in a lot of negativity directed towards those who are learning the game, trying new things etc. You also get very positive interactions due to the intensity, but it’s hit or miss. You also get a fair number of people who troll a game. This is common amongst all online games, but, due to the competitive nature, it really stands out. This game seems to bring out the best and worst of people. It is arguable that this is part of the fun. Score-3

    Mechanics/controls: The Game Mechanics are Simple and easy to grasp. Mouse driven, only a few hotkeys to use in order to perform the majority of tasks and the more detailed functions are easily identifiable, and customizable. Score: +2
    Complexity: Dota 2 is relatively complex compared to the other MOBAS. The trees are destructible so you can carve paths that do not normally exist, and create optimal angles for certain abilities, You can use them to escape to; the multitude of existing paths create varied and numerous ‘juking’ possibilities. You have to last hit and deny, Heroes also interact with the map in different ways, some gain vision, others have map-wide abilities etc. The degree of complexity is not for everyone. Other games cut back on complexity. It’s a play-style preference, but if you enjoy a high degree of competitiveness the complexity (you ease into it over time) is beneficial. Score +1
    Content: The best thing about Dota 2 is all content that affects gameplay is free to everyone, and stays free. All pay-content or grind content is cosmetic. Sound, effects, textures, graphical aspect etc. Other games have you pay for this or grind for hundreds of hours. The WHOLE game of Dota 2 is free from the start. This is a big benefit. If one player didn’t have access to some heroes then that would be a HUGE disadvantage. Score +2

    Balance: The game is very balanced. The balancing has literally taken place since 2003 when it was a mod for Warcraft 3. Many minds have balanced this. Even still, changes are made, and the game continues to improve Score +0 (Games must be balanced only negative scores possible)

    Valve: The parent company is a detractor in how they police the community. It assumes players are dumb and cannot police their own experience. The first time you have a muted player on your team, and you cannot properly interact with them, and lose the game you’ll understand why I bring this up as a negative. Just because other people said he’s a rude dude; doesn’t mean I would have, but I do not have the choice. I have to put up with the handicap on my team. Sure a person may just be a jerk; this should be up to me, not Valve. It is also difficult to get customer support for the game. The company is also slow to improve old hero models, and adding in missing heroes… I’m sure this is intentional to decrease their ongoing development costs. Score -3
    Player base: Hit or miss, the game has dedicated roles with the various heroes. When others ignore them you’ll likely lose the match. This can be one of the most frustrating aspects about the game. You just learn to live with it, and find another game. Score -3
    Heroes/items: MOBAS generally have heroes. In other games there isn’t much real difference between them. Sure they have some different abilities, but Dota 2 really differentiates these abilities, and has an added element of early/mid/late game heroes. If your team selection focuses on early play you have to do sufficient damage to the enemy early on before the other team can push into the later game where your selections are weaker. If you picked a lategame mix of heroes you have to delay the game to get to the stage of the game where your composition shines. You can also have a balanced team and that poses its own challenges. I played LOL and heroes generally scale much more consistently to the later stage of the game, where in Dota your selection plays a bigger role. Items are pretty much a universal aspect in MOBAS, and nothing any of them really stands out, so items don’t play into my score. +1
    Conclusion: This is a great game. It could be a 10/10 if Valve did a little less parenting of its players, and gave us more options to police our own experiences by ourselves. Communities will always be what they are. It’s too many variables to control, and valve has tried to do this and, in my opinion, failed. This game is a LOT of fun, has tremendous replay value, and is constantly being adjusted, updated, tweaked etc.

    You will need patience to get past the initial harshness of the community, but when you do it’s worth it.
    Expand
  60. Dec 7, 2014
    9
    There are a lot of negative reviews for this game. Most of them are probably written by people who are angry because they just lost a string of games or got matched with bad team-mates. Don't be put off by them.

    Let's make one thing clear; this game is hard. You will have to commit, and learn. When you start, you will feel completely confused and out of your depth, and you will have no
    There are a lot of negative reviews for this game. Most of them are probably written by people who are angry because they just lost a string of games or got matched with bad team-mates. Don't be put off by them.

    Let's make one thing clear; this game is hard. You will have to commit, and learn. When you start, you will feel completely confused and out of your depth, and you will have no idea what is going on. But you'll have some fun. By the time you get to your fourth try at a game, you're getting things together. Within a couple of weeks, you can see your progress. In 6 months, you might even be ok at the game. By a year later, you could even be good. This game takes a hell of a lot of time, because of its innate complexity and intricacy.

    That's what makes this game arguably the best in its genre. Not only does it have a fantastic design team led by Icefrog, not only is it completely free (aside from purely cosmetic items), but it is fascinating, intricate, and often beautiful. It is a game that will challenge you, change you, and teach you a lot about persistence and patience, as well as the value of a positive attitude and team skills.

    It does have its problems. The skill curve is intense, and sometimes it feels like you've hit a wall. The people who write such negative reviews are often those who have not pushed through their current wall and chose to give up, when all they had to do was choose to learn or not be bothered by bad players. Speaking of bad players...

    The biggest problem is matchmaking. If you're in Europe, you will consistently be matched with Russians (since they are such a huge community) who often play on high ping and do not speak english; even when you get matched with good Russians, it is hard for them to have a significant impact due to the terrible connectivity and servers in Eastern Europe. If you're in the US, you'll have the same thing from Peru/South America and the Philippines. Be prepared for shouting teenagers, drunk/high players, people who troll, feed, afk, flame. At least one of these per game, but three or more if you're at the lowest skill levels (where you'll start off. Fun fun fun.) If you don't have a thick skin, this will get to you until you learn to have a thick skin or you leave the game. Often it's a good idea to take a break for a month or so and come back with a fresh attitude.

    However, this is worth it for the huge strategic depth, variety and enjoyment the game can bring (in my view). I'm much more patient than I was, much calmer and slower to anger. If someone chucks an insult at me, it doesn't get to me, because it's nothing compared to feeding, screaming idiots (which actually gets funny after a short while thanks to helpless rage directed into a language they don't know by virtue of google translate. I've seen some hilariously convoluted insults).

    This game is NOT for everyone, and is not for those easily angered/offended. If you are persistent and dedicated, the game will reward you for months or years with great, exciting games (yes, there are bad ones and you'll lose 50% of the time, but it's easy to forget the bad and remember the good). This is the best game I have ever played, and it has changed my view of things and my attitude for the better.

    It's also free, so you may as well give it a go. If you choose to stick with it, who knows, I might meet you in matchmaking some day! Good luck, have fun.
    Expand
  61. Nov 28, 2014
    10
    This is by far the best video game i have ever played. It is fun, it is in depth, and it is competitive. There is endless amounts of innovation, and a constantly evolving meta game. Dota 2 is more than just a video game for me. I don't even play the game every day. Sometimes i go weeks without even getting on the game, but i am still connected to professional matches and am always "theoryThis is by far the best video game i have ever played. It is fun, it is in depth, and it is competitive. There is endless amounts of innovation, and a constantly evolving meta game. Dota 2 is more than just a video game for me. I don't even play the game every day. Sometimes i go weeks without even getting on the game, but i am still connected to professional matches and am always "theory crafting" because of the possibilities. This game has so many negative reviews its funny lol. Its a super competitive game no one wants to lose. It is frustrating for new players because no one is good enough to solely carry a game unless they get lucky, and when they don't get lucky instead of understanding why they are losing they look to blame others. It really isnt impossible to start playing the game, it just takes patience, and dedication. They are working on making better tutorials, its pretty funny actually. But if you want to get good you need to take self interest to get better, you cant just mindlessly play the game and magically end up an amazing player. Expand
  62. Nov 24, 2014
    10
    I have played over 450 hours of this game and it never gets boring, its a great free to play game that the things you buy in game have no effect of how good you are at the game, by far, the best free to play game ever.
  63. Nov 23, 2014
    10
    Good Game! Well Made! Have Fun! Good Luck!Good Game! Well Made! Have Fun! Good Luck! zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz Expand
  64. Nov 23, 2014
    8
    Since I spend more than 1 thousand hours playing a game I cant say it's not enjoyable. Game has nice style, music, voices, effects and most importantly - gameplay. The only disappointment are players.
  65. Nov 20, 2014
    10
    Absolutely brilliant game that pioneered and defined the MOBA genre. Best of its kind and the most difficult too; new users may have trouble acclimating to the level of competitiveness.

    But it's an absolutely excellent game. At least try it!
  66. Nov 19, 2014
    9
    I keep coming back to this game no matter what other games come out. Basically once I'm done with any other game this is my default time sink. Sure people are annoying sometimes, but that's what the mute button is for... and I prefer using it to debating some teenager. Besides that game-play is satisfying and you get a rush when your team pulls of some nice combos.

    If anything this
    I keep coming back to this game no matter what other games come out. Basically once I'm done with any other game this is my default time sink. Sure people are annoying sometimes, but that's what the mute button is for... and I prefer using it to debating some teenager. Besides that game-play is satisfying and you get a rush when your team pulls of some nice combos.

    If anything this game is too addictive, but your experience will highly depend on the team you get. Thankfully, as of writing this review, Nov, 2014, the crowd has gotten a lot better than when I started playing this game a while back. Most people are normal, retards are far and few in between.
    Expand
  67. Nov 19, 2014
    9
    This game is for sure the most interesting and fun team game I've ever played. Leads compared to other MOBAs for graphics, balancing of the heroes and possibilities. Really hard to learn but still incredibly fun once learned. I'd say this game is more 9 than 10 just because there are some mechanics that need to be fixed or some heroes need to be rebalanced as in any MOBA game. No lagThis game is for sure the most interesting and fun team game I've ever played. Leads compared to other MOBAs for graphics, balancing of the heroes and possibilities. Really hard to learn but still incredibly fun once learned. I'd say this game is more 9 than 10 just because there are some mechanics that need to be fixed or some heroes need to be rebalanced as in any MOBA game. No lag problems if playing on servers like EU or Russia even with an avarage internet connection. Probably the thing that makes me say this game is not perfect is the community, often filled up with flamers... Expand
  68. Nov 18, 2014
    8
    The balance is good, graphics are fine, hero diversity is great, and the depth is amazing.
    Its one of the few games that is really F2P. No need to pay to avoid grinding, the only things you pay for are cosmetics
    I've put over 3000 hours into it and I'm still learning stuff and hopefully improving. The only bad part is that its made by valve... That means the content comes out
    The balance is good, graphics are fine, hero diversity is great, and the depth is amazing.
    Its one of the few games that is really F2P. No need to pay to avoid grinding, the only things you pay for are cosmetics
    I've put over 3000 hours into it and I'm still learning stuff and hopefully improving.

    The only bad part is that its made by valve...
    That means the content comes out incredibly slow.
    The game officially released in 2013, now its almost 2015 and they still haven't ported every hero. I'm not talking new heroes, just a straight up copy/paste of their skills with a graphics/audio update.
    The game frequently goes 5-6 months with no updates.
    About 6 months ago they promised customizable buildings and new mega creep appearances.
    Still nothing about that.
    Expand
  69. Nov 18, 2014
    10
    omg dota is so goods it is basically my life once i started playin i cant stop i am only writing this now because im in a lobby waiting for a match and i thought it was a good idea to get more people playing.Now first of all the graphics are AMAZING. they make the female characters look so hot i dont even need to watch porn anymore and have learnt to play with one hand you get what imomg dota is so goods it is basically my life once i started playin i cant stop i am only writing this now because im in a lobby waiting for a match and i thought it was a good idea to get more people playing.Now first of all the graphics are AMAZING. they make the female characters look so hot i dont even need to watch porn anymore and have learnt to play with one hand you get what im sayin ;))) dota i sbasically life i dont need anythin else other than food of course but my grandma brings me so many snacks which is great. since i dropped out of school i have been able to focus more time on dota cos i dont have any dumb homework to do anymore so i can literally get 14 hours a day in (i would play more but grandma says i need some sleep). on the downside my skin has got much worse and i have this green spot on my man parts, does anyone know what this is? it hurts when ive been playing for like 10 hours which is very annoying cus i need to play more. my grandma says im addicted i say stfu grandma, play some dota, drink some pepsi max - life sorted.
    peace
    add me on steam ~ Demented ~ i am fun and need more players for my teaam which is called Ankor, my team are all skrubs and i need better support
    Expand
  70. Nov 13, 2014
    10
    Within a year, I could speak fluent peruvian and russian.

    In all seriousness, Dota 2 is a highly addictive real time strategy game. It looks beautiful and is very rewarding. Hard to learn, hard to master. I definitely recommend it to anyone.

    10/10
  71. Nov 11, 2014
    10
    - Hard as hell, require skill and brain .... check
    - "Good" matchmaking system ... check
    - Servers full of !@#$%^& noob / re!@#$ (sorry if this is offensive) russians, pinoys and peruvians ... check
    - Nice cosmetic system ... check
    - And last one: "Fun? You must be new"
    10/10 would play again
  72. Nov 8, 2014
    10
    This is a game that I thoroughly enjoy playing. It uses RTS (Real Time Strategy) in a fun, exciting and very challenging way. The only real problem is the largely volatile community, but that is found in all games of this kind (LoL, for example). Overall: a very well-developed, well-polished game that fully deserves 10/10.
  73. Nov 5, 2014
    10
    A really great online battle game, loads of depth, lots of heroes and lots of replay-ability. Very nice business model in that you only really pay for vanity gear, just wish they updated the game a bit more regularly. Still a 10 from me due to the sheer value for money and quality of the product.
  74. Oct 31, 2014
    8
    Dota 2 was the sequel (its basically a HD remake, not a sequel) to the hugely popular Warcraft 3 mod. It was based off you select one hero from a pool and you control that hero and your creeps (AI minions) would just come wave after wave and go down a preselected lane. The original game created the MOBA genre.

    Now years after the original game, huge popularity and many games to follow
    Dota 2 was the sequel (its basically a HD remake, not a sequel) to the hugely popular Warcraft 3 mod. It was based off you select one hero from a pool and you control that hero and your creeps (AI minions) would just come wave after wave and go down a preselected lane. The original game created the MOBA genre.

    Now years after the original game, huge popularity and many games to follow in its path do we get Dota 2. When they announced this game I was really excited, and even after thousands of hours of playing I do still enjoy it...at times.

    The game runs flawlessly in the source engine, every animation looking amazing. It makes vast improvements over the original game from pregame hero selection to patches and updates to balance out heroes and items.

    Since the launch of HoN (Heroes of Newerth) and LoL (League of Legends) I felt less inclined to play the older brother of the 3 and gravitated more to HoN where it got most of its ideas from Dota. S2 games is quite a bit smaller then Valve obviously, but I've found they have done a few things right.

    First off, Dota has the option of what region you want to play in, but no region lock like HoN did. You will queue up for US East, and still get Brazilian and Chinese players. Now nothing against playing with people from different regions, but when you play a game that is reliant on communication, and you speak 2 different languages it makes it difficult. The game really should be region locked.

    Another thing S2 did was provide a concede vote. When a player leaves the game in a ranked game, you are forced to play out the game or take a leaver status if someone leaves or you are losing. Some teams will drag out the game to an hour if the game could of ended 15 mins in.

    Another very minor thing would of adding skins for your heroes over very minor pieces of gear. Some barely make your hero unique in any way and basically looks like the same as the default skin, but like i said this is a minor gripe that doesn't affect game play at all.

    Overall ive spent 1000's of hours in the game and still play it, so they must of done something right, if only they would add a concede vote and a region lock I would finally be able to fully enjoy the game.
    Expand
  75. Oct 25, 2014
    9
    I personally think this game has a bit of a learning curve, but: when you know how to play it can make time pass by and you just want to play another game after you won one, you can make friends from Dota 2 and in some situations it can give you a thrill. I would have rated this game higher if they had an option to vs people at your own level. 9/10
  76. Oct 21, 2014
    10
    I used to play League of Legends. God damn that game was complicated, Dota 2 is another level on top of that though, its _insanely_ complex. The complexity and freedom that the game provides over its clones just demonstrates that any form of simplification of the form just doesn't do it justice. This is the Mona Lisa to their pop art posters.
    On top of that Valve have done a fantastic job
    I used to play League of Legends. God damn that game was complicated, Dota 2 is another level on top of that though, its _insanely_ complex. The complexity and freedom that the game provides over its clones just demonstrates that any form of simplification of the form just doesn't do it justice. This is the Mona Lisa to their pop art posters.
    On top of that Valve have done a fantastic job bringing the old game to the new. Ported it bug for bug, made everything as close to the original as it possibly could, now looking forward it can start to change to do things the old WC3 engine couldn't manage.
    If you haven't tried this game out I recommend it with all the will in my body. It's crazy, it's very deep and even once you've played it for literally thousands of hours you'll still be some way off mastery.
    Definitely the best action (clicky, clicky) game I've ever played where a combination of both deep game knowledge, mechanics and social strength is rewarded.
    Expand
  77. Oct 21, 2014
    10
    Its a MOBA, the father os MOBAs; a nice one. The game its hard as hell, and require friends to play. One of the excellent thing, its free; real free. You download the game, and play it. Its not for everyone.
  78. Oct 10, 2014
    8
    3,729 lol fan here :) But to tell the truth, Dota 2 is the best MOBA game that currently is f2p. And it is not left alone. They still upgrade it and patch. I believe in valve.
  79. Sep 30, 2014
    8
    To explayin my opinion about why this game have a lot of 10 and 0...
    First is FREE for real, you can pay or play only to estetic rewards that have not gameplay impact.
    probably many Zero are from players that love the competitors.. Now, the game is a Strategy game, and very deep so is not a game for all! And more important is not a COD, here if you don't play with the team..you
    To explayin my opinion about why this game have a lot of 10 and 0...
    First is FREE for real, you can pay or play only to estetic rewards that have not gameplay impact.
    probably many Zero are from players that love the competitors..

    Now, the game is a Strategy game, and very deep so is not a game for all!
    And more important is not a COD, here if you don't play with the team..you loose.
    The map is only one because the game follow a simple rule... destroy the enemy base.

    108 fantastic different unlock character at your disposition.

    if you don't know the rule..if you don't try to know one hero at time..if you don't speek english, if you don't follow or play whit your team YOU CAN'T ENJOI THIS GAME.

    The best to play ifact is 5 friends (5 is the team) but if you play not well but triing to do ..you'll find a lot of friends.
    Expand
  80. Sep 24, 2014
    10
    I am use to playing FPS games COD, Battlefield,Soldierfront and all my mates told me to give this game ago and i watched a few videos on it and thought it was rubbish but one day i downloaded it as my mates were very pertistent and let me tell you its one of the best games ive played by far! i have racked up 1220 hours on this game already in about 7 months and play it everyday just aboutI am use to playing FPS games COD, Battlefield,Soldierfront and all my mates told me to give this game ago and i watched a few videos on it and thought it was rubbish but one day i downloaded it as my mates were very pertistent and let me tell you its one of the best games ive played by far! i have racked up 1220 hours on this game already in about 7 months and play it everyday just about with my mates. so much strategy involved and alot of fun once you get past the first few bad games you have. trust me give this game a go you wont play anything else i promise. add me on steam and i can give anyone a hand if they want :Dord. good luck and have fun playing see you in there! Expand
  81. Sep 21, 2014
    9
    Dota 2 it's one of the most complete, difficult, competitive and addictive games out there. The gameplay it's brilliant allowing infinite amount of strategies, all the heroes are mostly balanced with only a few heroes that are really superior to the rest when used right, also it's one of the few real F2P games out there, you only have to pay for cosmetics that doesn't give you anyDota 2 it's one of the most complete, difficult, competitive and addictive games out there. The gameplay it's brilliant allowing infinite amount of strategies, all the heroes are mostly balanced with only a few heroes that are really superior to the rest when used right, also it's one of the few real F2P games out there, you only have to pay for cosmetics that doesn't give you any advantages on the match.
    While Dota 2 community(one of the worse) and the game's steep learning curve can make enjoying the game difficult at the beginning; the game it's really great and it's full of good people that will try to help you get better, you just have to keep playing and try to get better.
    Expand
  82. Sep 18, 2014
    10
    Seriously awesome game, even though it's a bit addictive, so watch out for that.
    - Not ONE gameplay aspect requires payment.
    On a sidenote though, this game is more about competition than it is about "fun", and while playing it you may find yourself on a toxic environment, this being especially true for new players.
  83. Sep 13, 2014
    10
    I have often normally had the "high five" with Sweetie Pearl J. Padilla and Maegan Ysabelle M. Belardo from Academy of Jesus by playing favorites with heroes with Naga Siren (Slithice), Moon Rider (Luna), and Skywrath Mage (Dragonus).
  84. Sep 11, 2014
    9
    Let me be clear and say that this game is absolutely not for everyone. If you shy away from pvp, if you do not like communicating and working with other people you have never met before then you will likely not enjoy your experience with Dota 2 or any game within the larger MOBA genre. However, if you enjoy a game that provides actual challenges, does not grow stale, and that hasLet me be clear and say that this game is absolutely not for everyone. If you shy away from pvp, if you do not like communicating and working with other people you have never met before then you will likely not enjoy your experience with Dota 2 or any game within the larger MOBA genre. However, if you enjoy a game that provides actual challenges, does not grow stale, and that has absolutely no beginning and no end you may just enjoy this.

    The learning curve for new players is extremely steep. You are dropped into a completely alien system of last hitting, denying, warding, ganking, feeding, and many other words you will eventually learn how to use properly. It is perhaps the most situational game ever as there is never just one proper way to do things and frequently many wrong ways. Things that you believe should work will not and things that seem absolutely crazy and wrong will yield incredibly favorable results and eventually you will learn why. The addition of a tutorial allows completely new players to ease themselves in a bit before jumping into a game with 9 other strangers yelling at them about how badly they suck.

    And now to the good part, I love this game. It has provided me with hundreds of hours of pain and pleasure. There are times where you will want to quit and times you believe you never will. The word balance seems like a distant dream in a game with over 100 heroes but Valve does a very good job of keeping the game balanced at the highest level of competitive play. The in game client allows you to watch professional tournaments as they are happening along with the commentary provided by the various casters. The game is always providing new experiences, especially after each major patch when Valve completely changes how the most favored heroes work by sometimes not touching them at all.

    Gameplay and Mechanics are different than any other genre with the exception of the close cousin RTS games as MOBAs originated from the original Starcraft and Warcraft 3. Getting a handle on all necessary tasks for any given role (Carry, Support, etc) in a given situation takes time. You will not master the game in 5 games played and start wrecking everyone. You will always have something new to learn, that is just the nature of this sort of game. Once you learn where you are supposed to be and why you are supposed to be there your life will get much easier and your grasp of the controls will follow.

    Story doesn't really exist. There are short backgrounds for the heroes and some of them even feature other heroes but there isn't a reason you should want to kill the enemy's giant tree other than competition. And in a game like this that is a good thing, rather than worry about ruining the lore of the game by making some change that will get them in trouble with the community Valve just has to worry about how to balance things with each patch as well as what new features will be beneficial.

    Music is actually very well done, when the music picks up you will find yourself feeling like you are fighting in an epic battle for the virtual world. Occasionally the sounds or announcer will drown out parts of the music or vice versa but overall it is a very positive experience. They actually just released a new music pack for those who contributed to the prize pool for TI4.

    Announcers are something that need mentioning. As each match begins, there is an announcer telling the player various things. Many of these things are inconsequential at the beginning of the match. But as the players take their positions and the action begins the announcer keeps you updated on important events taking place on the map including but not limited to who is dying and what towers are under attack, etc. There are many different announcer packs available and some of them are absolutely hilarious (Glados for example). Is your team losing handily to a team that you should absolutely not? That's okay, let Glados tell you how badly you are doing. Fan of the game Bastion? There is an announcer for you then.

    The Steam Workshop is directly integrated with Dota 2 and users have access to the Source engine as well so user created content comes in by the truckload. There are many incredibly good looking "hats" for the various heroes that have been created by members of the community and those members actually get paid for the sales of the items, it is not just a cash grab for Valve. Currently there are even custom game modes being created to allow any number of possibilities.

    As I began this post I will end it, this game is not for everyone but if it does happen to strike a chord with you then you are quite likely to love it.
    Expand
  85. Sep 8, 2014
    9
    Very good game especially with friends. Being one of over 100 heroes is an awesome feeling and it's awesome to play. The only bad think is learning the game, tutorials are good, but you have to figure out some things by yourself.
  86. Sep 7, 2014
    10
    Best game so far. A real time strategy packed with action ... it's ARTS ! The game have many strategies and combo you can do with heroes. The game is not a pay to win game, so you will only find cosmetics to buy or anythings related to this.
  87. Sep 4, 2014
    10
    Please do not listen to the bad reviews these are from people who have ether been put off by the extreme learning curve or are fanboys of other MOBA's this (in my opinion) is the best game ever made not only is it an amazing game to play but it is very good to watch this is proved with the internationals.

    You will have to play this game for a long time before you will like it but it is
    Please do not listen to the bad reviews these are from people who have ether been put off by the extreme learning curve or are fanboys of other MOBA's this (in my opinion) is the best game ever made not only is it an amazing game to play but it is very good to watch this is proved with the internationals.

    You will have to play this game for a long time before you will like it but it is worth the time you put into it.
    Expand
  88. Aug 31, 2014
    8
    If you liked original dota like me, you will like Dota 2. Dota 2 is same as original Dota with upgraded graphics and controls. Plays still 5v5 in some mods like random pick (random heroes). I am glad Valve did not changed game play of original dota. I know some people expected more than old dota in better graphics, but i am glad it is still same game. I recommend to try this game, its freeIf you liked original dota like me, you will like Dota 2. Dota 2 is same as original Dota with upgraded graphics and controls. Plays still 5v5 in some mods like random pick (random heroes). I am glad Valve did not changed game play of original dota. I know some people expected more than old dota in better graphics, but i am glad it is still same game. I recommend to try this game, its free after all. Just if you did not liked original Dota, you wont like Dota 2.

    On the other hand this game got horrible community full of nerds raging just about anything. If you want to start plaing this game, or got friend who who wants to start play this game, get prepared for raging nerds. I really didnot seen so many ragin idiots in dota 1, well i guest its because it was Warcraft 3 mod, but this game got the worst community i ever seen. Even CoD community is great in compare to Dota 2 community.
    Expand
  89. Aug 30, 2014
    10
    The best MOBA game!! Awesome graphics and animations!!! Also very helpfull with the new players!! You can win with your skills and not with your money!!!
  90. Aug 29, 2014
    10
    Thank you Valve for Techies! I take it all back! It's happening! Thank you Valve for Techies! I take it all back! It's happening! Thank you Valve for Techies! I take it all back! It's happening! Thank you Valve for Techies! I take it all back! It's happening! Thank you Valve for Techies! I take it all back! It's happening! Thank you Valve for Techies! I take it all back! It'sThank you Valve for Techies! I take it all back! It's happening! Thank you Valve for Techies! I take it all back! It's happening! Thank you Valve for Techies! I take it all back! It's happening! Thank you Valve for Techies! I take it all back! It's happening! Thank you Valve for Techies! I take it all back! It's happening! Thank you Valve for Techies! I take it all back! It's happening! Thank you Valve for Techies! I take it all back! It's happening! Thank you Valve for Techies! I take it all back! It's happening! Thank you Valve for Techies! I take it all back! It's happening! Thank you Valve for Techies! I take it all back! It's happening! Thank you Valve for Techies! I take it all back! It's happening! Thank you Valve for Techies! I take it all back! It's happening! Expand
  91. Aug 29, 2014
    9
    Great game, free to play, free updates, hell even the cosmetics you pay for you can get for free, well not realistically, but you get the point. Fiddling with the custom map maker, also free, having fun with that. Wish more people played least played mode, I feel that's the best environment to learn heroes.
  92. Aug 28, 2014
    9
    Since the game started as a patch on WC3 TFT, the game kept evolving. But when it was released as Dota 2, the game mechanics, heroes and features are not getting better in means that dont make profit. But it is the best MOBA out there.
  93. Aug 26, 2014
    10
    best best best game ever in the world no games can say anymore front thisbest best best game ever in the world no games can say anymore front this game.............................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................. Expand
  94. Aug 17, 2014
    9
    Awesome. Game Nice graphics.Just Server issues which really suck as they Give Low priority. Otherwise its good game.Its best game in Free to play category.
  95. Aug 16, 2014
    10
    The game has come a long way since 2013, the only problem I could really find was the few miss behaved people who float around in the community. They should really try to respect the people trying to have some fun.

    Don't misunderstand, I've spent around 800 hours of my life playing Dota 2, and there's not always insolent and jerks to play with, I've met really nice people whom I've the
    The game has come a long way since 2013, the only problem I could really find was the few miss behaved people who float around in the community. They should really try to respect the people trying to have some fun.

    Don't misunderstand, I've spent around 800 hours of my life playing Dota 2, and there's not always insolent and jerks to play with, I've met really nice people whom I've the luck to play with.
    Expand
  96. Aug 13, 2014
    10
    I've played this game for 273 hours and I think this game is great with good replay value but its gets competitive quick + it becomes a race for the toxic heroes or for there counters but its worth playing if you like mobas
  97. Aug 11, 2014
    10
    Awesome game needs time to learn but at all its just god damn awesome, i would everybody recommend to play it if u like MOBAS/ARTS i go about 3k hours now and i will play way more :) awesome!. Btw the company is talented not like riot haha, i mean the content patches are AWESOME and big
  98. Aug 11, 2014
    10
    Certainly the most addictive game I played. I love the minimalist core concept combined with an almost unlimited depth. If you play it (semi-)regularly with a team consisting of friends it's at its best. A competitive game avec brio!
  99. Aug 8, 2014
    10
    This is totally my favorite game of my favorite genre. Lots of characters, lots of items, lots of strategies and, of course, lots of fun! Graphics were improved since Warcraft Dota, too.
  100. Aug 3, 2014
    10
    Playing this over 10 god damn years. Still not done yet - game to freakin deep - the neverstopping process of learning new, analysing data, mastering all the little aspects will literally drive you nuts if you brain loves to keep working. But nobody forces you to - you can just have fun like most of the players do.
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. Feb 19, 2014
    95
    Simply irresistible and addictive as hell.
  2. Games Master UK
    Sep 1, 2013
    90
    Unforgiving from the get-go, but a landmark in competitive multiplayer design. [Oct 2013, p.68]
  3. Aug 30, 2013
    100
    A great PvP game that offers some of the most intriguing and nuanced team combat around.