User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 10626 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 17, 2014
    10
    After you get past the learning curve, this game will give you the best PvP adrenaline rush you could possibly want. Great to play with friends and even on your own.
  2. Aug 15, 2013
    10
    Extremely difficult to get into, but once you find a few characters your good at you'll start doing well and having fun. In the span of one match with Tusk I went from 1-5-3 to 4-5-8 by just getting the hang of the character in one match. DOTA 2 is definitely a step over LOL in the difficulty department, so i would use LoL as a starter to learn how to play MOAB games, then once you get good at that jump into DOTA. Overall I do enjoy LoL a little more, but DOTA is something i like to switch to to keep my MOAB experience fresh. Expand
  3. Jul 21, 2013
    10
    Few games manage to be both entertaining as well as extremely challenging, with a high learning curve, tons of different classes, customuzation, and in-game item builds. The game looks gorgeous, matches are lengthy, the community is friendly and well groomed, and the gameplay is as solid as it can get.
  4. Aug 7, 2013
    9
    Good grief, another amazing video game by VALVe! I was shocked when I heard the announcement that VALVe was publishing this game. After all, this game was originally a mod for Warcraft III, a really fun strategy game made by Blizzard Entertainment for the PC. VALVe is a company well known for their first person shooters (Half-Life, Team Fortress, Counter-Strike), so I was wondering why they were even entering Blizzard's territory with this game. My questions were soon put to rest when I played the game. All I can say is that this game is simply amazing. To start, the gameplay is a mixture between Real-Time Strategy and role-playing games. In this game however, you are not controlling your factions, you are only controlling your heroes. Basically, your heroes level up over time like in a Role-playing game, and the way you control them is like a strategy game. This is actually quite a good mixture. It worked in Warcraft III, and it works perfectly here. However, there is more to the gameplay than just that. This game pits two mighty teams against each other (the radiant and the dire). One side is noticeably more heroic, guarding a lush green forest, while the other is noticeably darker, guarding an ashen wasteland. The overall goal is to destroy the enemy team's ancient (base of operations). To do this, you really need to coordinate with your teammates, and let them know what is happening around the battlefield. I think that this is a very good approach, especially considering that the game is entirely multiplayer. The graphics of this game are also quite good. Everything is quite beautiful, and enjoyable for anyone who loves video game graphics. There is no real story to this game, which although I have criticized in the past, I don't feel the need to here. All of the characters in this game have their own stories to read if you ever want a good story in this game. There is only one real complaint that I have with this game as a matter of fact. This game does have a very steep learning curve. It is easy to learn, but incredibly difficult to master. You need to find a hero that suits your playstyle, which if you ask me, can take ages to figure out considering that there are over one-hundred of them. However, having over one-hundred heroes is not a bad thing. In fact, I'd say it's a great thing. It gives you so much more variety on what kind of hero you can play as. Overall, I'd say that this is another fantastic game by VALVe software. It is ultra-competitive, fast, furious, and one heck of a lot of fun. It's steep learning curve may be a tad bit problematic, however, that does not stop me from awarding this game with a 9 out of 10. Expand
  5. May 17, 2014
    10
    This game is the best MOBA ever. Some peoples says "League Of Legend is better than Dota", but League Of Legend is a copy of Dota (it's my opinion). But we are don't here to discuss about the Dota/League Of Legend fight. I want to say my opinion about Dota 2, and my opinion is very positive ! This game has no limit, you never get bored ! This is so fabulous ! I think Dota has a great future, and will remain for some years a very popular and great game ! Expand
  6. Jan 11, 2014
    10
    Very amazing, great graphics, gameplay, and community. Better than LOL, guardians of middle earth, torchlight, and any moba game out there!

    TY VALVE
    TY VALVE
    TY VALVE
    TY VALVE
    TY VALVE
  7. Jul 10, 2013
    9
    There's 2 things about Dota 2 it's completely free and it's developed by VALVe. If that's not enough for you to try this game I don't know what is. The only thing that you have to spend in order to play this game is time. That's right, Dota 2 is not like most other games and that's because it's very complex, so be patient, learn the mechanics and once it's in your system then you'll start having a hell lot of fun. I wouldn't recommend it if you're a casual gamer and can't be bothered to invest that time. If that's the case and you want to play a MOBA then that's where LoL comes in. If you already play LoL and want something more challenging and more rewarding then by all means try Dota 2. Plus it has way better graphics, great character customization and doesn't require any money to unlock heroes (which I find very frustrating in LoL). It is also more balanced imo. As for the community, well it's still a MOBA so don't expect too much, although it's not so bad. Expand
  8. Jul 20, 2013
    10
    Ok, so, DotA 2 is going to be what makes e-sports a mainstream thing in the West like it is over in S. Korea w/ Starcraft. I really believe this. Valve has done a simply amazing job of bringing the game over into its own while retaining the character and solid mechanics of its WC3 counterpart. It's a highly challenging game that will immerse you for hours, the support of the pro scene is phenomenal, and the little holiday events that Valve puts on just ads to the charm of the game. The characters are well developed and feel unique not only in their gameplay styles, but also in their personalities. They do not feel static, but feel very alive, just like an RPG should. It's the perfect blend. If you're into games that are addicting, have high skill caps, e-sports, team play, and community, then definitely try DotA. The community CAN be a little brutal sometimes, but once you find some good, mature, and patient friends to play with, that's when this game really shines. Their matchmaking system would be my only complaint. They are still sorting it and are actively looking at ways to improve it, but it's really put a damper on the game since its launch. The temporary issues with MM aside, this game is an absolute masterpiece. What could you expect from Valve though? These guys are the new Blizzard. Expand
  9. Sep 21, 2013
    10
    Its a great game!!! I waited for 3-4 hours for the game to finish downloading. Its worth downloading the game. The graphics are good. Firstly, it felt nothing but after i allocated some time learning to get used to the game. Its hell amazing. It was a great experience playing the game. This game has sophisticated mechanics which are even better than LoL game. This is a must try for all online game lovers of this kinds of games!!!! Expand
  10. Jul 16, 2013
    9
    I love the game. I played original DotA, HoN and tried Smite and LoL. For me Dota 2 is the best of the bunch. Entirely free, no pay2win aspect, everything in the game is unlocked, purchable are only cosmetics, no content or powerups. The balance is great due to 8+ years of tweaking by icefrog. Enormously high skill ceiling and an extremely hard game to get into. Some jerks here and there can ruin games for you, as is the case in most mobas. Overall a great successor. 9/10 Expand
  11. Aug 13, 2013
    9
    A game with some serious depth. Millions of hero and lane combos not to mention item builds, it is a little bit daunting. Fortunately for new players and hell even experienced ones, there are co-op and single player bot matches for you to practice and experiment new things against. The community has its ups and downs and people are quick to abuse and blame others for the team's misgivings. But you will also come across many friendly players as well who are quick to dish out praise, teach unfamiliar players and work as a team. The experience is made more fun with friends, but beware, relationships may be strained at times. Expand
  12. Dec 8, 2013
    10
    Lets put it this way. Not only is it the best MOBA game, it is the game that redefines what F2P means. Everything is unlocked from the beginning. It takes over 4k hours of gameplay to unlock every hero in League of Legends.

    Everything in Dota 2 is free, its cosmetic. Not only is this a great f2p model, but it is also so well done that it becomes a serious addiction. Just look at
    the marketplace and the prices some of the items are going for. It is truly the new standard in how a f2p model should work. Not only are items available, they are made by the community itself, giving modders and creative people an opportunity to make money and do what they love.

    Dota 2 is a complex game. It is not easy. It has a steep learning curve and it will kick your ass. However, it is the most satisfying experience in multiplayer gaming since the quake arena days.

    Winning a match two barracks down is the best feeling in the world. Not only this, but you will identify yourself with the heroes. Players will not call you by your username or name, but by your hero name, putting you in the role of that hero.

    Dota 2 is by far the best MOBA game ever made hands down. If you want a simple MOBA, casual with lots of players go play League of Legends, it has its advantages such as a ranked MMR system.

    Dota 2 is for the serious players and the hardcore gamers.
    Expand
  13. Jul 23, 2013
    9
    It's depth and complexity results in a strategic and action packed game that is worth committing the 20-60 minutes per round. The down side to it's complexity is the super steep learning curve, and lack of anything really useful for learning in game. There are a huge amount of characters and effective builds for them. It can take quite a while memorize and become comfortable with all of it, but it's well worth the price. Low ranking matches can be quite frustrating with how long a rounds are. New and confused teammates will take out frustration on each other, but mid-high level players all have social skills and communicate effectively. The low level community is one of the worst I have seen in a game, yet the high level community is one of the best. Overall I think the game's complexity, and balance results in one of the best online multiplayer experiences you can get, but Free 2 Play isn't actually free as it will require a substantial time investment. It's a brilliant and polished game on so many levels, but until Valve develops a more effective teaching method I don't think it deserves a 10. Expand
  14. Jul 28, 2013
    10
    Its simply the Greatest PC game ever made. Yes its hard, yes its unforgiving, and yes some of the community are a bunch of idiots... but don't let that put you off. Keep going with it.. once you have learned how to play there is no video game PC game in the world that can touch it for awesomeness.
  15. Jul 16, 2013
    10
    I have been playing Dota2 for two years through the beta I have not even scratched the surface of this game in almost a thousand matches. I have become perhaps a novice. I've not even played all and definitely not learned all of the characters. There is one map I still discover new tricks on. Not to mention it is updated and patched once if not more weekly. The market thrives without giving any real benefit but cosmetics. The underground market with its own prices is so large that there are betting sites with items and money. People will pay thousands for the right items. Then you have all of the live feeds and tournaments. All of which you can watch from any perspective. I could go on forever about this game. This game requires forever to go into detal. This is the best game ever created. Bow to your new God. Resistance is futile. Expand
  16. Jul 27, 2013
    9
    Dota 2 is exactly what it should be, a hardcore player vs. player arena game, with endless replay ability. Dota 2 has 102 characters so far, that means you'd have to play 102 rounds of dota to experience and learn each character, or more, with each round taking about 20-30 minutes. There's lots to do in this game, and it's great considering you can get it for free, the dota shop is optional and not game-play related too. The only downside to the game is that although it is being constantly patched, some characters shine stronger than others, but I suppose that problem will always be there with games like this. Expand
  17. Jul 31, 2013
    10
    I used to be an warcraft DotA addict and a hater not willing to play LoL, HoN or similar dota-like games. This is a genuine DotA successor. Of course it takes few games to get used to it, but when you do you realize it's the good old DotA additionally enhanced beyond your imagination since it's a standalone game, not limited by the warcraft. Everything that was ever missing in the old dota has been added and upgraded. Currently this is the best multiplayer & coop arpg game available. And it's for free Expand
  18. Nov 2, 2013
    10
    Developers don't communicate with the fanbase and no real updates or heroes in MONTHS. I don't play LoL, but I'm considering going to that because at least the devs care and there is constantly new content. All Dota 2 has is HATS. HATS AND COURIERS.
  19. Feb 26, 2014
    9
    I have 800 hours into this game and am still deeply engaged and learning. Amazing depth in skills, interactions and repeat play. It is Free to Play, but I have spent $ on vanity items, but that is just it, they are VANITY items. No pay to win here. I am largely a solo player, so I have to rely on random or half stack teams. Though I play BOTS games will my less competitive friends and have a good time with them, I do see where causal players can be turned off.

    Cons: I wish that VALVE would do some IP restrictions on their servers, playing US EAST or WEST with players Pinging in at 500+ is pretty brutal. People can be real jerks and make it unfun.

    DOTA2 is a love hate for sure, you will love it and hate yourself and your team.
    That is MOBAs in general and it is best in class.

    Plus drafted ability mode is ridiculously fun. Just stay the hell away from All Pick.
    Expand
  20. Nov 9, 2013
    10
    This game improved so much since it was released on the beta. There are over 90 heroes to choose from currently and the gamplay is as intence and as rewarding as DOTA 1. I know alot of people will be hesitant to try it at first but there has been a new tutorial system implemented in DOTA 2 and I think it will help new comers. I know some people who play LOL might bash in this game, but both games are compleatly different. Its like comparing COD and Battlefield, they are so different that connot be compared. (no preference on either game, I think bot of them are good) Give this game a try, the learning curve is very steep but it is rewarding when you learn. I think this is the best gave valve has ever developed and has been the most played game on steam ever since the second year of beta development. Try it out, its free and badass! Expand
  21. Apr 25, 2014
    10
    Best game ever with worst community there is. You cant blame the game for the player community tho! So play it with friends or use mute function frequently. It's worth every minute. It's deep and complex.
  22. Jul 19, 2013
    10
    Good graphics, addictive team-based gameplay, free to play with no cash shop items that affect the gameplay in any way, very good replayability, steap learning curve. The only problems are: flaming school kids in the community (but hey, this is not the developers fault!), a rather small variety of heroes (Heroes of Newearth provide much more) and a certain lack of balance for heroes (some heroes are OP). Also there is no "concede" button so you end up playing matches much longer than you should: this is probably the biggest problem, which would be so easy to fix. Despite this the game deserves a 10. Expand
  23. Sep 13, 2013
    10
    As far as the MOBA market goes, they don't get any better than Dota 2. All the content is freely and instantly available, no points or in game dollar system for those to pay to win. All cosmetics are just that, cosmetics.

    Play with 5 friends for the best experience, solo queue suffers from racial tensions brought on by communication problems (South Americans, Russians are the more
    popular scapegoats). This weakness shows what Dota2 is really about, communication. The teams that are able to talk, plan, and think, will almost always win. Which for me, means the game has done something very right.

    10/10, constant updates, extremely well made game, great voices, what lore there is is thought-out and well written, unbeatable team-experience.
    Expand
  24. Sep 24, 2013
    10
    This is a great game, and possibly the one game that will require the most out of you: quick thinking on your feet, reflexes, communication, pretty much everything that a person can put in a game will be required of you if you will be any good at this deep, deep game.

    And here I want to address the review by the user iseeall: You do not get it in the least. Play an actual game. The
    training part of the game is just to give you an idea of the basics, but the magic of this game isn't about towers or creeps or even the single hero you know. It's about the interaction between heroes, and about the items that you buy in the shop. Those items are bought with the in-game gold, which you start every game with a small fixed amount, depending on mode, and you get more by doing various things. You cannot buy gold with real money. The items that enhance your hero can only be "purchased" with the gold you get in the game, and this resets every game. The only things you can buy with real money for this game are purely cosmetic. You do not need any of them. Plus, by playing actual matches, you will receive such items.

    This is a free-to-play game that does NOT require *ANY* money at all. More than that: Spending *ANY* amount of money in this game will give you absolutely ZERO competitive advantage against other players. Spend $10,000 if you can, go right ahead. You will gain only a variety of cosmetic items.

    So why do people buy things? Because they LOVE this game. They WORSHIP this game. Why? Because it is a fantastic game, one that you will never, ever be bored with, and one that costs nothing. What more could you possibly ask for in a game?
    Expand
  25. Jul 12, 2013
    10
    One of the best, most difficult and truly competitive games I've ever played. It is free and doesn't have any pay-to-win, all heroes are free, the only paid content are cosmetical items that DO NOT change gameplay.
  26. Nov 26, 2013
    9
    i'ts one of the best rpg that i have ever played in my computer, i'ts completely free, not an pay-to-win, and have a very nice gameplay i really loved it!
    Valve are doing quite of a job in here
  27. Jul 17, 2013
    10
    Dota 2 is what a real "sequal" should be like. The game is free, the graphics are pleasnt, the gameplay is fluid, and the game has great balance. Valve has done a great job, and hopefully the e-sports scene becomes bigger, because League of Legends is a joke in terms of quality and balance.
  28. Jul 22, 2013
    10
    This game is great. It's free, it's competitive, it's fun. No stall meta-game, every hero is useful and deadly, good balance due to the DotA-Allstars dev team and the age of the game with constant patches. Pros: -Non-stall metagame -Fun with friends or if you're lucky enough then with PuGs as well -Every hero is useful -Only some heroes are somewhat-the-same, all others are very unique
    -Game rewards players for learning advanced mechanics (use of terrain, etc.)
    -A lot of heroes to choose from
    -Deep mechanics
    Cons:
    -Huge learning curve
    -Community
    -Matchmaking often does a bad match with players

    This game is worth playing. When you'll overcome the learning phase of the game, the game will become fun as hell.
    Expand
  29. Aug 25, 2013
    9
    This game is extremely addictive and can be even more fun if in a party of people. Teams really make the game the best and the more you play, the better you are as the character. enjoy sitting down and spending an hour or two playing this game. Anyone who has given this game below a 4 seriously needs to replay this game. One crappy game does not mean the game is bad. Nor does having a group of players who can't help you first game either. Expand
  30. Aug 27, 2013
    9
    It's hard to separate an online game from it's community and be objective about it, because let's face it, when it comes to online games the community often makes the game. For example, I raved about world of warcraft when I had a community of friends/guilds to play with but hated to game when those relationships waned. Dota2 is similar. If you don't have friends to play with you may be left wanting more. The reason is the US servers aren't locked at all so often times you have a lot of eastern europeans who speak very little English or a lot of south americans. The south americans are worse, they tend to be in groups or 2 or 3 and use the in game chat as a social hours going back in forth in Spanish or Portuguese the entire time (that's why private mumble servers are for). When I play with my friends we use mumble and only use in game chat for relevant in game things. If we want to vent about a player or socialize we keep it out of the game. And other times you just get plain old jerks who always roll carry heroes, complain if you don't babysit the crap out of them despite their bad positioning, poor farming, overall lack of knowledge etc. In short the community is hit or miss. Half the games suffer from obnoxious players while half are fine.

    There's also some serious matchmaking issues. Skill levels are rarely equal unless you queue with a full group. Valve also hides their matchmaking ratings so you don't really know why or how you got in the match you got into. I'll go from a match against obvious brand new players to one against a full 5 who are on top of everything. So again hit or miss.

    As far as gameplay though I couldn't ask for a more balanced and well designed game. The graphics are mediocre but the art style is good and I love the brightness of it. Compared to Heroes of Newerth (HoN) it looks so much more appealing. Some complain a lot about the animations say they're too slow and your heroes react far to slow, but this is appealing to me as well and part of the strategy. Not every hero last hits at the same pace so you need to learn them. By contracts HoN seemed very frantic to me without much time between decisions because every animation is so fast.

    The balance and strategic depth are amazing. Valve does a great job patching and keeping every hero in order. There's so much strategy to picking teams and counter matchups and what to do in your lanes. It's a deceptive deep game. The downside is this creates a very high skill barrier to entry. It takes literally 30-50 games to understand the nuances of the game at all. Many players will become frustrated with this learning curve and simply won't like the game and that's fine. It's not for everyone. But if you take the time to learn what you're doing it's a wonderful pvp game.

    There's a few things I think could be done a lot better like more maps, fixing the matchmaking, etc. There also really needs to be a vote to surrender and end obvious losses earlier. A blowout can be recognized 20 mins in but take another 20 mins to resolve. In general tech support is very good, game almost never crashes.

    Overall judging the game for what it is, I give it a 9 because it simply is the best of the moba genre. But if you don't like mobas or online games stay away. If you want to really enjoy all dota2 has to offer do yourself a favor, dive in, expect to lose your first 10 games or so, read a lot of guides, watch some youtube clips and find a group of friends to play with.
    Expand
  31. Oct 5, 2013
    10
    It's a great game, probably the best MOBA. All the haters, who give 0 score because of the community, amuse me so much :D Showing their ignorance. First solution play with FRIENDS (Find some if you don't have) Dota Teamplay, TEAM-based game. If you are greedy and not polite, of course everyone will mock you and it will be a gg. Second try some different mods! If you know all the heroes (which is quite essential to be able to have a good experience) try CM, CD? The game mode where there is a captain, and the whole point of picking heroes is to counter enemies and communicate with the team. If you hate the community that much, well I guess you got no friends who play dota? Also if you don't like the European servers, play in US. The ping is not that high even if you are in Europe. And yeah, if you are new, best would be to have a friend who can teach you. Or just watch a lot of videos in youtube/tournaments in order to better understand the game. Don't cry just because you play online and knowing nothing makes your teammates angry. Of course, every second is gold and experience in dota :D Expand
  32. Jul 18, 2013
    9
    Not a 10 because of the matching system. You jump from very good games to complete nonsense where you just wonder wtf (and you know that you have to waste 40 mins in a bad match-up)?

    Overall a very good game.
  33. Jul 22, 2013
    10
    I can honestly say that DOTA2 is the best game I played in my 31 years of life, and I played quite a lot of them The depth of mechanics, fun and speed of combat, brutality of mistakes and joy of skillful play all compose into a perfect mix. Strongly recommended to be played with friends over VOIP. 700 hours played and I still feel like I was starting. So much to learn, grasp, so much satisfaction from actually doing it. Pick it up. It will take over your life if you want to play it well, but you're in for the best ride of your gaming years. It's free, but you will spend money on cosmetics because they look really, really cool, they can be traded which is fun in its own self, and they give you that feeling of supporting this game that you will wish to never stop existing Easiest 10 out of 10 ever. Expand
  34. Apr 12, 2014
    10
    Theres a reason this is the most played PC game of all time as of the moment. The first few games suck yes but when you learn you cant put it down. If one person on your team feeds you lose but i dont have a problem with losing i still have fun. A game can take from 20mins to 1 or so hours its a joy to play with friends i recommend it highly. 10/10 Ruined my life.
  35. Jul 18, 2013
    10
    One of the best multiplayer games of all time and it's FREE. Much better than League of Legends, all heroes are FREE and it's deeper and more complex. Very steep learning curve, may be too hard for the average Call of Duty casual gamer.
  36. Jul 28, 2013
    10
    You can say what you want about the community, but the game is great. I love it and played it 400+ hours so far Never had problems with being reported and the bad games that happen sometimes usually get countered by a great and fun match afterwards.
    I would recommend everyone t at least try it for a small time once.

    (get past the first waves of newcomers (aka the raging noobs) and
    you will be fine. At higher rating/level matches there is alot more optimistic and fun people... while the ragers/trolls etc. (usually free players just coming in) are at the bottom rating matches were sadly they make the life of other newcomers a misery. Expand
  37. Aug 22, 2013
    10
    Very good game i have to say it's the most good PVP games,there's a lot of skilled players i dont really know what to say it's a great game,I recommend it to play it!
  38. Jul 17, 2013
    10
    Dota 2 is 100% skill based. You need to learn a lot in order to be successful. This is not for the casual, or is it? Its fun from the get go. You can constantly improve and that makes it fun.

    But there are other Dota-esque game out there, why Dota 2? Well, LoL is to World of warcraft what Starcraft 2 is to Dota 2.

    There you have it. If you want a DotA game where the best skilled team
    wins, you choose Dota 2. Expand
  39. Jul 19, 2013
    9
    Never got into Dota....But i love Dota 2 and i'm not into MOBA games or even MP games that much that are not coop games. But dota 2 has coop! I love the UI and how it has it's own Friends and invite UI and lessons on how to play. Fun game.
  40. Aug 15, 2013
    10
    One of my favorite MOBAs ever. It is completely free to play and you get all heroes from the get go. You do not need to buy ANYTHING from the store to play this game to it's fullest (most of that stuff is just cosmetic goodies). Just keep in mind that this game has a steep learning curb and like with ANY game you are bound to run into some bad apples. Ignore those people and keep playing if you want to improve. Expand
  41. Sep 2, 2013
    10
    simply the best game in the world
    not newbie friendly though if you just started playing the game feel free to play with bot solo or co op
    dont flame and report or ignore players that annoys you :D
  42. Sep 11, 2013
    9
    The gameplay is complex and thoughtful, there are a lot of heroes that can be customized and a lot of different approaches to the battlefield.

    The Source Engine has been perfectly shaped, giving excellent graphics performance and a characteristic style to the entire game.

    Too good to be true? Precisely! In fact the Dota 2 community is one of the worst I've ever found in an online
    game. It totally ruins the game experience. Expand
  43. Sep 11, 2014
    9
    Let me be clear and say that this game is absolutely not for everyone. If you shy away from pvp, if you do not like communicating and working with other people you have never met before then you will likely not enjoy your experience with Dota 2 or any game within the larger MOBA genre. However, if you enjoy a game that provides actual challenges, does not grow stale, and that has absolutely no beginning and no end you may just enjoy this.

    The learning curve for new players is extremely steep. You are dropped into a completely alien system of last hitting, denying, warding, ganking, feeding, and many other words you will eventually learn how to use properly. It is perhaps the most situational game ever as there is never just one proper way to do things and frequently many wrong ways. Things that you believe should work will not and things that seem absolutely crazy and wrong will yield incredibly favorable results and eventually you will learn why. The addition of a tutorial allows completely new players to ease themselves in a bit before jumping into a game with 9 other strangers yelling at them about how badly they suck.

    And now to the good part, I love this game. It has provided me with hundreds of hours of pain and pleasure. There are times where you will want to quit and times you believe you never will. The word balance seems like a distant dream in a game with over 100 heroes but Valve does a very good job of keeping the game balanced at the highest level of competitive play. The in game client allows you to watch professional tournaments as they are happening along with the commentary provided by the various casters. The game is always providing new experiences, especially after each major patch when Valve completely changes how the most favored heroes work by sometimes not touching them at all.

    Gameplay and Mechanics are different than any other genre with the exception of the close cousin RTS games as MOBAs originated from the original Starcraft and Warcraft 3. Getting a handle on all necessary tasks for any given role (Carry, Support, etc) in a given situation takes time. You will not master the game in 5 games played and start wrecking everyone. You will always have something new to learn, that is just the nature of this sort of game. Once you learn where you are supposed to be and why you are supposed to be there your life will get much easier and your grasp of the controls will follow.

    Story doesn't really exist. There are short backgrounds for the heroes and some of them even feature other heroes but there isn't a reason you should want to kill the enemy's giant tree other than competition. And in a game like this that is a good thing, rather than worry about ruining the lore of the game by making some change that will get them in trouble with the community Valve just has to worry about how to balance things with each patch as well as what new features will be beneficial.

    Music is actually very well done, when the music picks up you will find yourself feeling like you are fighting in an epic battle for the virtual world. Occasionally the sounds or announcer will drown out parts of the music or vice versa but overall it is a very positive experience. They actually just released a new music pack for those who contributed to the prize pool for TI4.

    Announcers are something that need mentioning. As each match begins, there is an announcer telling the player various things. Many of these things are inconsequential at the beginning of the match. But as the players take their positions and the action begins the announcer keeps you updated on important events taking place on the map including but not limited to who is dying and what towers are under attack, etc. There are many different announcer packs available and some of them are absolutely hilarious (Glados for example). Is your team losing handily to a team that you should absolutely not? That's okay, let Glados tell you how badly you are doing. Fan of the game Bastion? There is an announcer for you then.

    The Steam Workshop is directly integrated with Dota 2 and users have access to the Source engine as well so user created content comes in by the truckload. There are many incredibly good looking "hats" for the various heroes that have been created by members of the community and those members actually get paid for the sales of the items, it is not just a cash grab for Valve. Currently there are even custom game modes being created to allow any number of possibilities.

    As I began this post I will end it, this game is not for everyone but if it does happen to strike a chord with you then you are quite likely to love it.
    Expand
  44. Jul 19, 2013
    10
    Amazing game with a mountainous learning curve. The gameplay (once you get the hang of it) is hella fun. However there is so much more than just the gameplay that I love about dota 2. The trading is just as fun as playing, with a similar learning curve. Overall this game was very well done, is updated constantly, and is exactly on par with the kind of game valve typically puts out.
  45. Sep 1, 2013
    10
    Biggest learning curve of any game out there, but once you surpass that it is the most fulfilling gaming experience ever. I am still learning new tricks and strategies and im slightly over 2000 hours played. I'm still addicted, definitely most gratifying if you're playing with friends as a team. Only negative thing that could be said is the community can be filled with trash talking and people who ruin your game doing one of many things, that being said after playing a ton and moving up in experience I have seen much less of this and I rarely have to report people anymore. This game takes immense amounts of time to learn and become competitive with but that aside, its the best multiplayer game to ever have been made. Expand
  46. Nov 12, 2013
    10
    dt given dt given dt given dt given dt given dt given dt given dt given dt given dt given dt given dt given dt given dt given dt given dt given dt given dt given dt given dt given dt given dt given dt given dt given dt given dt given dt given dt given dt given dt given dt given dt given dt given dt given dt given dt given dt given dt given dt given
  47. Nov 19, 2013
    9
    The game itself is a great experience, full of teamwork and strategy. There is a wide variety of heroes that can be played (I think at this point there are 100+) and many different ways to play the game. There are also a large number of items that your hero can buy during the game that make each game different. With so many combinations, there will never be two games that feel the same. The community can be harsh, but the in game mute function easily deals with the problem. There is a lot to learn in this game, and after playing now for almost a year and a half, I am still learning new things almost every game. Expand
  48. Jan 6, 2014
    10
    DOTA 2 is the best online game I've ever played. I love how the community shows sportsmanship to each other. I've played the original DOTA mod and I really hated it. Not because I suck at it. The controls were difficult and the game design irritated me. But with DOTA 2, everything has changed! I like the heros' new design, the brighter atmosphere, and the much more better controls. If you're a true DOTA fan, you must play this amazing successor and stop playing LoL! Expand
  49. Feb 17, 2014
    10
    I had so much fun punching elephants to death when i wasnt stunned. I got some good punches on this fat ass elephant but not many because everyone has a stun. Worst lego game ever. I might aswell go watch the lego movie coming out in the cinemas because im a 12 year old. either way, dota 2 sucks big black galaxy bars.
  50. Jul 19, 2013
    9
    This is a really top notch, excellent game for strategy game players. It features strong PvP, team elements and a vast variety of play styles paired with a steep learning curve. As you may have seen in other reviews the biggest knock against the game is the juvenile, petulant players that you will frequently encounter in random games. While playing some public matches is required to learn different strategies and techniques, I strongly advise you to find a stable group of friends who want to be responsible and fun to play with in order to enjoy this game fully. Expand
  51. Jul 27, 2013
    10
    I have to say the learning curve for this game is higher than what you'd think it would be. I remember going through the tutorial, and thinking i can't believe it wants me to play all these games against bots and other noobs. I found, to my enjoyment, that it is long for a reason, which is that the game is incredibly in depth, so much more so than it may appear on the surface prior to playing.

    I've sunk way too many hours into this if that is any indication of it's level of excellence. Simply amazing, and it's free too!
    Expand
  52. Nov 2, 2013
    10
    November 2, 2013. I revert my 9/10 score to a 1/10 due to a change of opinion about the game's developers.

    More than 4 months of waiting for any actual content that aren't cosmetic items and the community got nothing. On November 1, Valve chose to update the game with more cosmetic items instead of giving the community the highly anticipated ANNUAL Halloween Dota2 event "Diretide", a
    huge slap to the face of their fans who were waiting for any sort of actual content. The game was in beta for more than 2 years and they still couldn't port all the Dota 1 heroes because they choose to shove as much cosmetic items down their costumers' throats instead of working on actual game content, better matchmaking, or bug fixes.

    Meanwhile, Valve apologists still defend this company's terrible practices of keeping the community in the dark and berate people who are angered by Valve's practices. I bet these same people would shove a horse's penis up their anuses if Valve ordered them to do it, not surprising too because Gabe and the majority of the community are Bronies and they'd love nothing more than getting screwed by ponies.

    1/10 Bad developers, terrible community, dead game.
    Expand
  53. Jul 24, 2013
    9
    Let me start at the good points, DotA 2 is simply one of the best MOBA's out there today. LoL may be popular, but so is CoD, and is that a good game? No, absolutely not. DotA 2 basically shows gamers that games don't need to be extremely popular in order to be good. The graphics are on the verge of being out-of-date, however you eventually get used to them. Now, the community is one of the factors that SO many people have been complaining about, they say "OH!, they hate new players" or "They report us if we do something wrong!," that's only in the serious situations where someone is doing it intentionally, when they are actually experienced with the game. And yes, you will get one idiot who reports you for not knowing what to do, but hey, they're idiots, just remember that. The only time I had to report someone was when he was stealing my last-hits as a support and when I repeatedly kept telling him to do the opposite, he kept on doing it, and no, he wasnt a different nationality. Another thing I love about the game is the in-depth trading and cosmetic item system, quite similar to Team Fortress 2. I love the way people can design items on the workshop and then be able to have them sold on the official store. People have also made unofficial trading websites where players can make offers for trades, or place bets on tournament matches. Yes, the community can be a bit uptight sometimes, but they are just passionate people who love the game, although it may not seem that way. If you are new, occasionally, you will get one player who will be willing to help you learn, there have been days where thats all my friend and I do, help new players in public matches to get better at the game and to learn its rules and strategies. I think DotA 2 is a step up from other MOBA's like LoL, and i can almost guarantee that one day it will be as popular Expand
  54. Jul 24, 2013
    9
    I personally find dota and dota 2 to be the most addictive multiplayer games I have ever played. No single match is like another... Everything in my heart screams at me to give dota 2 a 10/10 but, unfortunately, dota 2 has plenty of problems. The worst, in my opinion, is match making, closely followed by the community. The content in this game is massive, there are literally hundreds of heroes to learn, and maybe thousands of item and laning combinations as well... The community is raging, but considering that dota brings out the competitive spirit in players, it is understandable. Very fun and addictive! Expand
  55. Aug 12, 2013
    10
    Dota2 in the hands of Valve. That is all that should honestly be said. All negative reviews are due to new player not having the patience to understand the mechanics of this game. While League of Legends is often the one most compared to dota, the two are vastly different and drawing this parallel is futile as their target audiences are wholly different.

    To make something absolutely
    clear, every single hero is a viable option, it all depends upon the player's style, skill level, and the team composition. Many will tout that this game's lacking is in its community, yet do not strive to take the effort to find the players worth adding as friends and developing partners whom compliment your play style. You might as well say your local coffee shop has a bad community, but that doesn't accurate reflect the coffee shop as a whole does it now?

    To those new, give it time. It's a game that (very much like counter strike) you have to take a bit more seriously to truly enjoy. Once you hit the base level of understanding specific characters and being rewarded for such, it's a satisfaction unlike any other.

    Updates are regular, players can report and feedback, plus there are built in skins, mods, and collectibles to enhance what once was a 1 dimensional experience.
    Expand
  56. Nov 9, 2013
    10
    A spectacularly crafted, deep, and engaging multiplayer game. I have put in more hours to Dota 2 than any other video game that I can remember (perhaps Jedi Knight 2 had more; but that was a long time ago). It has a few flaws, such as its steep learning curve and occasionally corrosive community; but overall, the experience is an overwhelmingly positive one.
  57. Aug 28, 2013
    10
    Probably the best MOBA/PvP game I have played so far. Your decisions mean a lot, playing as a team is important. So far I have clocked in 200 hours and more of them are coming!
  58. Oct 16, 2013
    10
    At 3000 hours played, it's difficult to make an accurate review when there is no real way to describe the game, any description that involves the word "Moba" should be disregarded.
  59. Nov 8, 2013
    10
    DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN Expand
  60. Nov 9, 2013
    10
    Although the learning curve is a bit steep, the depth to the Dota gameplay and mechanics provide a fun and challenging experience. Dota is a game about strategy, skill, timing, and coordination with your team. And of my 1600 games played, no two have ever felt the same. Although having to put up with valve time for updates and new content can be annoying at times, it is well worth it for the quality of the updates that is gained as a result. Expand
  61. Nov 11, 2013
    10
    Great game. Has a learning curve, but with time will outshine other similar games. Able to pick all heroes from the start. Pay for items don't have any effect on skill/ability. Ignore the review bombs from haters.
  62. Jul 16, 2013
    10
    Simply the best "Dota" game out there.
    Stop blaming about community, making the community better is everyone's duty, anyway, it's not the game's fault.

    Try it, especially if you are tired of LoL-- Dota2 is far more challenging and flexible.
  63. Jul 16, 2013
    10
    This game is actually too good for your health. If you're in a relationship where you're living together, you must make a decision: dota 2 or your relationship.
  64. Jul 17, 2013
    10
    Best free to play game in a true sense. There's no need to buy new heroes, no Pay-to-win issue at all. The game is absolutely fantastic especially after Valve has been putting focus on server stability, balance and the most importantly, community. It's amazing how the game has been improved since its first Beta launch back in 2011. I've played Dota 1, LoL, HoN, and Smite but I;m certain this will be my go-to ARTS game. Expand
  65. Jul 24, 2013
    10
    I scarcely give the highest score for anything, but in my opinion DotA2 is currently the best multiplayer experience both in the MOBA genre and for PvP games in general.

    If you can live with the poisonous community (that is inherent in every competitive PvP game, but especially in MOBAs the "block player" checkbox helps in DotA2), you'll spend a LOT of hours trying to master the game,
    which contains many combinations of heroes, items and tactics.

    If you're new and interested in this kind of PvP gameplay, don't give up too early. The learning curve is quite steep, but the newly introduced tutorial missions should help a lot. There are also helpful guides on the web, and the matchmaking will create even matchups after a couple of ranked matches.
    Expand
  66. Aug 17, 2013
    10
    I have just 3 words -
    Not for quitters.................................................................................................................
  67. Sep 6, 2013
    10
    You’ll need knowledge, skill, and a smidge of spider-sense. Friends to learn with are a must, and don’t be deceived by the lack of a pricetag: Dota 2 will cost you hundreds of hours.
  68. Nov 2, 2013
    10
    This game is just perfect, mostly for me: a guy who played dota for a long time, this game can be played by anyone, thing is, DotA 2 is not an intuitive game, you have various tutorials however. I know people can be a bit hostile, I am too, that is because in this game, if someone mess it up real hard, then you most likely lose the game. People have to know which role they are playing and play it at its best in order to win the game, but also, if you play perfectly but your team or some mates doesn't then you probably won't win the game, and if you are competitive like me, then you will get mad haha. But try it out, DotA has a matchmaking system so you will play with other people with the same skills as you probably, you will stand a chance there, and eventually get more skilled. Expand
  69. Dec 21, 2013
    10
    I have never seen aesthetics like those in Dota 2. Something about the graphics is very visually appealing and unique. It's the best free to play game I've ever experienced. There is so much to enjoy without spending a penny, yet so many positives that I WANT to spend the money if for no other reason than to support the developers. Few games make me appreciate them so much that I willingly give extra money towards them. I love their seasonal events, frequent updates, and creativeness of the community. My only request is that valve keeps giving this game the attention it deserves. Expand
  70. Jul 10, 2013
    10
    This game improved so much since it was released on the beta. There are over 90 heroes to choose from currently and the gamplay is as intence and as rewarding as DOTA 1. I know alot of people will be hesitant to try it at first but there has been a new tutorial system implemented in DOTA 2 and I think it will help new comers. I know some people who play LOL might bash in this game, but both games are compleatly different. Its like comparing COD and Battlefield, they are so different that connot be compared. (no preference on either game, I think bot of them are good) Give this game a try, the learning curve is very steep but it is rewarding when you learn. I think this is the best gave valve has ever developed and has been the most played game on steam ever since the second year of beta development. Try it out, its free and badass! Expand
  71. Jul 16, 2013
    9
    I have to say, DotA is the best moba ever.BUT, I don't wanna look like a racist but those Russians keep raping the game.I can't even report them because Valve gives us only 2 reports a day.If Valve actually does something about Russians, I'd gladly change my score to 10.
  72. Jul 18, 2013
    10
    Dota 2 is the most addictive game I've ever played in my entire life. And it's legitimately free, with all heroes playable at all times unlike LoL.

    I don't often feel compelled to write video game reviews, but I felt that I owed it to you, my fellow gamers, to do it for this game.

    If you can get around the daunting learning curve, the game in incredibly immersive, action-packed and
    full of strategy at the higher levels of play. When I first played I was totally lost. I felt it would be impossible to learn all of the 102 (At the time of this writing) hero's 4 or more abilities, let alone all their specific interactions.

    However, I realized how amazing the game was and I kept playing. It probably took me around 200 hours to fully grasp all the basics. Was it worth it? If I was going to be playing video games anyways, I'm glad I was playing something this enthralling.

    Sure, it truly can be an emotional rollercoaster ride with some of the ignorant, rude douchebags you will inevitably play with, but if you use the ignore feature intelligently and don't feed the trolls, it's not a problem.

    I currently have 1400 hours in Dota 2 and counting. I would say it rates as my number 1 most played game of all time (2nd being Warcraft 3, 3rd being Pokemon Red/Blue/Yellow/Silver).
    Expand
  73. Jul 23, 2013
    9
    I've been playing this game for quite some time now and I can say that while I enjoyed original DotA, this one is more polished and the gameplay is very smooth. The graphics are amazing too and the community has been quite helpful so far (even though some people say otherwise).

    I totally recommend this game to any MOBA fan.
  74. Jul 28, 2013
    10
    DotA Allstars, a real time strategy game with some RPG/Fantasy elements, the most successful and competitive Warcraft III mod, now has it's own game. Nothing has changed in the gameplay, it's all the same as the original DotA, only with a much better game structure, engine, graphics, customizable controls, matchmaking system, etc.

    It is not an easy game to master, with over 100 heroes
    and a lot of different strategies to learn, but Valve has done a good job introducing new players to Dota 2. There are several tutorials within the game, along with item, hero and strategy guides, and you can play with 4 other people against a team of bots to practice your skills.

    But if you can't take the challenge, try League of Legends, a DotA ripoff designed for casual players.
    Expand
  75. Jul 30, 2013
    10
    This game has a lot to offer and its fun. Sure there is space for improvements but its barely out of Beta. Newcomers might dislike the community but thats the way it is. League of Legends is a lot worse. All so called "MOBA"-Games tend to have a toxic playerbase.

    Other than that, just ignore all the Haters from the LoL-community. Just proves how toxic they can be. This game is designed
    for the hardcore veterans and offers a lot more tactics and ways to outplay the other team. Its far more complex and interesting and of course technically superior. You cant compare LoL and Dota 2 anyway because they feel so different. LoL is also fun because its casual and easy to pick up.

    So far, i really like the visuals of the Map and the Spells in Dota 2. The delay and sometimes clunky controlls arent that bad.
    Expand
  76. Aug 4, 2013
    10
    Time-consuming pointless game, with a toxic community.
    It's not fun, it won't lead you anywhere, it'll try to make you addicted to it and ever-miserable for being so.
    Nothing to see here except vanity.
  77. Aug 5, 2013
    10
    500+ hrs in and I still feel like I'm just starting to learn. Extremely fun when played with friends. Community little bit harsh overall and of course many to deal with but it doesn't take away from the awesomeness of the whole thing.
  78. Aug 5, 2013
    10
    Pure perfection......you cant want more from this genere oh and did i menitoned its completely free? and every new hero will be so you dont need to spend a penny for this game and you are on same ground like ppl who put $1000s into it, skill is only thing which matters in dota and tahts what makes it so great...
  79. Aug 30, 2013
    10
    Don't let the fear of a steep learning curve keep you from playing this very deep, very challenging, yet very fun game. This was the first time I ever played a MOBA and I gotta say, I love it. Been having so much fun with it, also, the community really isn't that bad. Most of the time everyone keeps to themselves (oftentimes to the detriment of the team)
  80. Sep 10, 2013
    9
    There is a GIANT learning curve and a very unforgiving community that goes with this game. But if you do your research and find a good group to play with, then DOTA 2 is, IMO, the best MOBA game currently out today.
  81. Nov 2, 2013
    10
    Russian community is best.................. Please, do not pay attention to this morons. Game is best! Thanks Valve for the great work about the game.
  82. Nov 8, 2013
    10
    YEAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAH. We are getting Diretide back. I was going to thumbs it down because valve made a booboo and had to be punished but now they learned from their mistake and are fixing. Thats one thing activision and EA will never do. So Good job valve. You listened to our tantrum and fixed up what we wanted and now your getting a reward. Keep up the good work. In actual review talk the game is god damn awesome. Just play it. Its god tier. Expand
  83. Nov 9, 2013
    10
    And so it was that the impatience of the human race allowed Dota 2's user score to sink by several points, and metacritic was deemed the worst way of judging if a game is worth playing.
  84. Nov 12, 2013
    10
    Easily the best PC game out right now. Biggest competitive scene in the history of gaming, and an overall amazing game for everyone.

    Not only that the developer listens to its community for good suggestions and ignores them for bad ones.
  85. Dec 22, 2013
    10
    All in all this game is a good one.
    Since the first beta days there was a large improvement.
    As a result you have a normally balanced gameplay, a lot of heroes to choose, different events and a lot of patches.
    Valve has proved that they know how to create a real special game.
  86. Jan 6, 2014
    9
    Great game addictive as hell while the game is a MOBA so obviously it is quite similar to other MOBA games like LoL but unlike LoL the best feature is how there is now pay to win as all heroes are available from the start so although with OVER 100 heroes it will take at least 15 games to find the right one once you do it is incredibly fun and the game is one with huge strategic complexity.
    And although there is quite a steep learning curve to help you climb the hill quicker there are several community created builds and guides for all the characters and there is the ability to watch professional teams and top rated players play so you can see how to play each characters also the graphics a beautiful.
    Expand
  87. Jan 8, 2014
    10
    Come on people with games like this you really can't look at the user score. If you read a lot of these reviews of people who gave it a 1 or a 0 the only negative thing they can say is "other players were mean to me so I stopped playing!!" wow haha they got to you that bad? I practiced until I got good and ignored the talkers along the way but I suppose that's what you do when your self esteem doesn't hinge on what other kids say to me in a video game. Play Dota 2 if you want a highly competitive multiplayer experience that requires a great deal of skill, practice, and teamwork. Expand
  88. Mar 25, 2014
    10
    Dota 2 is the revolution in cybersport. It makes e-gaming feel like real serious sport, as it was football or basketball. And this is the main merit of Dota2 and Valve.
    Besides game is really great, it is deep, variative, competitive, hard.
    The ones who dislike it are the fans of LoL(which is another great MOBA Btw), conservative fans of Dota1, or the ones who doesn't want to spent like
    1000 hours(real 1000 hours) to understand mechanics of game(Usually they want to be pro after completing tutorial, like in every SP shooter, never playing MP coz, surprise there are always bunch of players playing much better then you) .
    Love it or hate it, DOTA 2 is the BIGGEST GAME that was created by industry.
    Expand
  89. Sep 13, 2014
    10
    I have often normally had the "high five" with Sweetie Pearl J. Padilla and Maegan Ysabelle M. Belardo from Academy of Jesus by playing favorites with heroes with Naga Siren (Slithice), Moon Rider (Luna), and Skywrath Mage (Dragonus).
  90. Nov 14, 2013
    10
    This game is great because of its steep learning curve and a vast variety of heroes and strategies. Anyone who likes MOBA -type games should love Dota 2.
  91. Nov 8, 2013
    10
    This game improved so much since it was released on the beta. There are over 90 heroes to choose from currently and the gamplay is as intence and as rewarding as DOTA 1. I know alot of people will be hesitant to try it at first but there has been a new tutorial system implemented in DOTA 2 and I think it will help new comers.
  92. Jul 25, 2013
    10
    Free to play, high skill ceiling and 100% skill based gameplay. No need to spend a cent in order to "have a chance", all the paid items are cosmetic and gives 0 advantage. This game have no room for the "casuals" to just join up and mash buttons until they occasionally win. if you're not willing to learn about the game and earn your victories, then I suggest you stay away from DOTA 2.
  93. Jul 27, 2013
    10
    I've got almost 900 hours on record so far. I've played other games form this genre (LoL and HoN), and I have to say, DotA2 is by far the best.

    I love games with steep learning curves, where accumulating knowledge and sharpening skill is absolutely necessary for it to be playable.

    The game is very fun to play, the true online sportsmanship. Best game I've played in 10 years.
  94. Aug 14, 2013
    9
    A really good team game. Many many heroes, nice graphics and visual effects and good atmosphere.

    I only recommend to play with at least 4 of your friends because the public matchmaking with strange people isn't really good. There are so many trolls in this game that can ruin the whole game for you if you play solo. I don't want to sound racist but most of the trolls are russian, sadly
    this is a fact and has grown to a real problem. When valve finaly solves the problem with the russian speaking players who
    really dont think about comunicating with their english-speaking teammates, I will rate this game 10/10.

    It is really time consuming and I would not recommend to start playing when you have important stuff to do.
    Expand
  95. Nov 8, 2013
    9
    I really cannot understand why this game would have so many down votes It is an incredible MOBA game. The graphics are much better than in any other MOBA, the mechanics are flawless and most similar to the original DOTA, which is a good thing. Playerbase is good, it could be better. Lags are essentially non-existent, because the servers are great. All of the heroes in the game are available for everybody all the time, unlike many other games in which you had to buy characters using money in-game resources. I bet that the reason this game has so many downvotes from users is because they are all League of Legends players who are in one word: children.
    I highly recommend this game for any hardcore moba fan like myself.
    Expand
  96. Aug 28, 2013
    10
    Lets begging with the fact that the game is amazing. Real gamers will love it, its a challenge and never-ended tactics moba. That say, lets talk about Bad things:

    1. Matchmaking: Im a graphic designer, web developer and i know that coding is rly dificult, every fix bring 2 bugs. Match making is based on experience, records, roles, etc of a player, but some players as me, keep geting
    horrible teammates with bad behaviour, quiters, "reporters" (troll that report u for nothing), noobs, and first time players. making me lose, and getting a bad record, that send me more players like those... this must change.

    2. Server Locations & Filters: US, EU, LA, everywhere we get russians, (we all agree that rusians trolls can be rly insane), if i want russians i would pick RU server, why i keep getting them? dunno...

    Dota should have an auto critic bar, where i say witch my level is, so he can do a better job matchmaking. If the player is right about the level, then the bar stay still, if dont, it goes down.

    3. Reports: i know this have perma fixes and changes everyday, but we are not ok with the way it works atm. Actually u can be a pro and be banned by trolls whom report you. That its insane, there should be certain of restrictions on who, how, and when u report players with better record than you.

    Las and more important...

    4. THE INTERNATIONAL TOURNAMENT How do teams participate? rules? request? where to sign? Steam/Valve is very noob there, this game requires more tournaments, and more important, Regional Tournaments (Like Soccer world cup, but less corrupted). SEA Tournaments, South America Tournaments, Central America Tournaments... This is crucial in order to get a better community and better gamers. Players needs it, The game Needs it, Valve MUST do it, and Players must demand it.

    ... And let the battle Begin's!.
    Expand
  97. Sep 8, 2013
    9
    An extremely deep and complex game with a steep learning curve. Compared to League of Legends, which is an easy game to pick up and understand (I am 2000+ hours in LoL), this game is pretty tough to learn straight from the start.

    If you can get over the steep learning curve (the only reason I am giving it a 9 and not a 10), you will find a really wonderful game.

    Graphics: Top Notch


    Characters (Variety, design, voice acting): Top Notch

    Items (Build possibilities): Top Notch

    User Interface: Top Notch (really extremely well made)

    Spectating (Tournaments, friends): Top Notch (A real delight to be able to buy a ticket for a tournament and watch it in the game engine, pick your own commentators, who's camera you want to follow etc)

    Words can't describe the genious of it all. Also, all characters are unlocked from the beginning. All you need to buy is cosmetics for your favourite champs.
    Expand
  98. Oct 23, 2013
    10
    What about this game is that this game is the symbol of an era, of the specific decade among gaming history. DotA 1 was only a map, and when War3 gets too old there's concerns about this game that people may give it up some time in the future, and the glory of DotA will be finally forgotten. However, after Valve's taken their hands on it, they have renewed the masterpiece, and taken it to a new level. They have kept every single thing that's original in DotA1, every single tree, every skill, every hero, finest details, so that when old players get to play DotA2, they find it all new but all familiar. They know where they could hide in the forests, they know where the wards could be placed, etc. etc. Heroes change their posture upon injured, and if you are hit by the QOP's dagger you could see a dagger stuck on the hero's butt. Details like that could cost me days talking about! If the only thing they haven't restored, it's got to be the hero models, which are actually impossible to restore because of the copy rights.

    DotA's mechanism, no offence, is very complex to every single new player, and is very hard to master. It doesn't matter how clever you are, but you are certainly almost 100% gonna play like a fool in the first few games. My suggestion is that you play the tutorial, which is the easiest way to learn the game fast. The matchmaking system means you are not likely to be playing against someone who has won 100 times in the first few games in your life (although they could be someone who has already mastered DotA1), so do not take it too seriously. The system allows you to ban all the massages from other players, and if there is someone offending you, he could always be reported. I admit that the community is a bit like chaos right now, because of the sudden increment of players. New players only searching for fun won't be adoring this game even after months, because DotA is no fun if you don't know the rules and tricks. I say those because there are certain large amount of players who know nothing about the game itself, but only cursing and offending other players. Why do I value this community? Because DotA is a community-based game. Every game is 5v5, so that people will hear each other, and know each other. It's not like Battlefield 3 in which there are 32 people in a team and you have no idea who is the rookie. If the DotA community sucks, then the gaming experience sucks, then everything sucks. It is just this simple.

    Like every other game. DotA is not for everyone. Its most reasonable price means it could be played by everyone, but it's just a game and have its own fan base. If you don't like it, you can delete the game and play what you like for losing absolutely nothing. But if you liked it, I guarantee this is still the best choice for you.
    Expand
  99. Oct 29, 2013
    10
    I'm not good at these type of games, but I know people who love these type of games will worship this game. I don't see anything wrong with this, it's how a game should be.
  100. Nov 9, 2013
    10
    volvo reband volvo reband volvo reband volvo reband volvo reband volvo reband volvo reband volvo reband volvo reband volvo reband volvo reband volvo reband volvo reband volvo reband volvo reband volvo reband volvo reband volvo reband volvo reband volvo reband volvo reband volvo reband volvo reband volvo reband
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. Feb 19, 2014
    95
    Simply irresistible and addictive as hell.
  2. Sep 1, 2013
    90
    Unforgiving from the get-go, but a landmark in competitive multiplayer design. [Oct 2013, p.68]
  3. Aug 30, 2013
    100
    A great PvP game that offers some of the most intriguing and nuanced team combat around.