Dota 2 PC

Dota 2 Image
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 10675 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Dota 2 features the characters and factions from the original Defense of the Ancients title with new features.

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. Aug 30, 2013
    100
    A great PvP game that offers some of the most intriguing and nuanced team combat around.
  2. Feb 19, 2014
    95
    Simply irresistible and addictive as hell.
  3. Jul 19, 2013
    90
    Those who choose to commit to Dota 2 will find many happy hours within this immaculate update.
  4. Jul 16, 2013
    90
    All of which makes Dota 2 an absurd video game to try to recommend. Being the largest and most immediately open MOBA, with Valve showcasing its talent for rewarding and fostering a community, it demands and offers more than literally any game I can think of. It's almost more comparable to basketball than most commercial games. Something utterly opaque bearing no endgame, but that could happily fill every waking second of your life.
  5. VideoGamer
    Jul 26, 2013
    90
    You’ll need knowledge, skill, and a smidge of spider-sense. Friends to learn with are a must, and don’t be deceived by the lack of a pricetag: Dota 2 will cost you hundreds of hours.
  6. PC PowerPlay
    Aug 27, 2013
    90
    There's a steep, daunting learning curve, but DOTA 2 offers one of the most rewarding game experiences you can find on PC today. [Sept 2013, p.80]
  7. Jul 18, 2013
    70
    A strategic adrenaline rush, but the graphics are dated and the learning curve is steep.

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Aug 26, 2013
    10
    First of all, this game is not for everyone. It has a steep learning curve that not many players will be able to digest, but once you get theFirst of all, this game is not for everyone. It has a steep learning curve that not many players will be able to digest, but once you get the game-play mechanics and the hero basics, it will most definitely rock your world. Although you are always playing on one map, the replay possibilities are endless and the fascinating thing is, it's always fun no matter how many times and hours you've already played this incredible game. My real score is 9, but i gave the game a 10 just to compensate for the unrealistic 0 scores many people have given. To all future players, GL HF. Expand
  2. Nov 8, 2013
    10
    A good, high-quality MOBA with varied but mostly balanced characters, built in spectating, item drops, and events. Although Valve doesn'tA good, high-quality MOBA with varied but mostly balanced characters, built in spectating, item drops, and events. Although Valve doesn't always communicate the best, they care about the community still. GAVE DIRETIDE Expand
  3. Jul 10, 2013
    10
    This game improved so much since it was released on the beta. There are over 90 heroes to choose from currently and the gamplay is as intenceThis game improved so much since it was released on the beta. There are over 90 heroes to choose from currently and the gamplay is as intence and as rewarding as DOTA 1. I know alot of people will be hesitant to try it at first but there has been a new tutorial system implemented in DOTA 2 and I think it will help new comers. I know some people who play LOL might bash in this game, but both games are compleatly different. Its like comparing COD and Battlefield, they are so different that connot be compared. (no preference on either game, I think bot of them are good) Give this game a try, the learning curve is very steep but it is rewarding when you learn. I think this is the best gave valve has ever developed and has been the most played game on steam ever since the second year of beta development. Try it out, its free and badass! Collapse
  4. Nov 8, 2013
    8
    I absolutely love this game! This game's replayability is off the charts, and every single hero is carefully balanced, with now and again oneI absolutely love this game! This game's replayability is off the charts, and every single hero is carefully balanced, with now and again one slightly out. The hours I've spent learning this game (which is a substantial number) was completely worth it, as every win I get makes me feel invincible, and every loss really makes me think about what went wrong.

    However, some parts of the developer's work is a little bit confusing, and perhaps even downright disappointing. Valve has, for a long time, been a community friendly company, at least very much above the average. So when updates come for months at a time and offer only hats, when proper game mechanics updates are promised more regularly, and seemingly trivial bugs aren't fixed, the frustration is quick to set in.

    All in all, a real great game to play with a couple friends regularly. The cosmetics are a very awesome addition to the game, and are usually very fitting, and really cool, but now and again a couple questionables get in. When Icefrog updates heroes and their abilities, there's always a very interesting change that changes the game substantially, which once again just adds to the replayability.

    I highly recommend this game, but only if you have a few hundred hours you can dedicate to just learning game mechanics, hero's abilities, and the map. It will seriously take that long.
    Expand
  5. Nov 2, 2013
    0
    Garbage gameGarbage matchmaking
    Garbage report system
    Garbage game engine results in 9 games without someone being able to load and you
    Garbage gameGarbage matchmaking
    Garbage report system
    Garbage game engine results in 9 games without someone being able to load and you reenter the queue
    0 communication and 0 visibility no visible MMR no ladders)
    No region locks.
    You take a perfect game and turn it into worst game ever created.
    GG WP
    Expand
  6. Nov 3, 2013
    0
    Once apon the time was a legendary wacraft 3 mod called Dota, all Europe played this mod it computer clubs (game clubs). That game had perfectOnce apon the time was a legendary wacraft 3 mod called Dota, all Europe played this mod it computer clubs (game clubs). That game had perfect balance, nice graphics for its time and the most important perfect balance. Rock-paper scrissors principle was it its grace. In the end of 2010 company named valve desided to make a sequel. Big mistake. Everything we loved dota 1 was destoyed and raped. First they did was DONAT to make money from the game. U see? VALVE DOES NOT NEED A GOOD GAME. ALL THEY WANT IS MAKING MONEY ON THE PLAYERS. Thats sad, they had such a good experince with left 4 dead in making a perfect online game. and such a fail lwith dota 2. Shame on u valve! Expand
  7. Nov 1, 2013
    0
    Absolutely zero communication between developers and the player-base. Diminishing community. Huge delay between patches, updates andAbsolutely zero communication between developers and the player-base. Diminishing community. Huge delay between patches, updates and bug-fixes. Annual events canceled without any type of announcements. Nothing more to say tbh. Expand

See all 3513 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2013

    The Best Videogames of 2013 Image
    Published: December 30, 2013
    In our annual ranking of the year's best video games, get a list of 2013's best and worst releases by platform, view a comparison of the various game consoles, and find out which title earned Metacritic Game of the Year honors.