Dota 2 PC

Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 11307 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Dota 2 features the characters and factions from the original Defense of the Ancients title with new features.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. Aug 30, 2013
    100
    A great PvP game that offers some of the most intriguing and nuanced team combat around.
  2. Feb 19, 2014
    95
    Simply irresistible and addictive as hell.
  3. Jul 19, 2013
    90
    Those who choose to commit to Dota 2 will find many happy hours within this immaculate update.
  4. Jul 16, 2013
    90
    All of which makes Dota 2 an absurd video game to try to recommend. Being the largest and most immediately open MOBA, with Valve showcasing its talent for rewarding and fostering a community, it demands and offers more than literally any game I can think of. It's almost more comparable to basketball than most commercial games. Something utterly opaque bearing no endgame, but that could happily fill every waking second of your life.
  5. Jul 26, 2013
    90
    You’ll need knowledge, skill, and a smidge of spider-sense. Friends to learn with are a must, and don’t be deceived by the lack of a pricetag: Dota 2 will cost you hundreds of hours.
  6. Aug 27, 2013
    90
    There's a steep, daunting learning curve, but DOTA 2 offers one of the most rewarding game experiences you can find on PC today. [Sept 2013, p.80]
  7. Jul 18, 2013
    70
    A strategic adrenaline rush, but the graphics are dated and the learning curve is steep.

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Nov 2, 2013
    10
    I'm from Ukraine, and I do not care whether or not Diretide, I thing in this game is a team game, and because of the lack of Diretide, I'm notI'm from Ukraine, and I do not care whether or not Diretide, I thing in this game is a team game, and because of the lack of Diretide, I'm not going to put this game a bad score. But, I will say only one thing, Valve, do not forget about the players, and they will not forget about you.
    +1 "do not forget about the players"
    P.S. dota 2
    Expand
  2. Nov 14, 2013
    10
    Great game! Don't be fooled by the 1% of the idiots who ruined the score because of something stupid, valve gave us a great game and lets hopeGreat game! Don't be fooled by the 1% of the idiots who ruined the score because of something stupid, valve gave us a great game and lets hope that it goes the distance! Expand
  3. Jul 10, 2013
    10
    This game improved so much since it was released on the beta. There are over 90 heroes to choose from currently and the gamplay is as intenceThis game improved so much since it was released on the beta. There are over 90 heroes to choose from currently and the gamplay is as intence and as rewarding as DOTA 1. I know alot of people will be hesitant to try it at first but there has been a new tutorial system implemented in DOTA 2 and I think it will help new comers. I know some people who play LOL might bash in this game, but both games are compleatly different. Its like comparing COD and Battlefield, they are so different that connot be compared. (no preference on either game, I think bot of them are good) Give this game a try, the learning curve is very steep but it is rewarding when you learn. I think this is the best gave valve has ever developed and has been the most played game on steam ever since the second year of beta development. Try it out, its free and badass! Expand
  4. Nov 26, 2013
    9
    i'ts one of the best rpg that i have ever played in my computer, i'ts completely free, not an pay-to-win, and have a very nice gameplay ii'ts one of the best rpg that i have ever played in my computer, i'ts completely free, not an pay-to-win, and have a very nice gameplay i really loved it!
    Valve are doing quite of a job in here
    Expand
  5. Nov 2, 2013
    0
    Thanks for killing another great game, Valve.
    First TF2 and now this...do you take pleasure in butchering your popular games?
    No halloween
    Thanks for killing another great game, Valve.
    First TF2 and now this...do you take pleasure in butchering your popular games?
    No halloween event (or even recognition), no new heroes in over 100 days, no bugfixes, no fun game modes, only hats hats and more hats.
    And you barely even have to do any work to develop them, they're ALL community-submitted and made designs that you happen to profit greatly off of.
    Expand
  6. Nov 2, 2013
    0
    Developers do not cooperate with the community. They produce only hats hats hats and all! The forum http://dev.dota2.com/ no answer at all.Developers do not cooperate with the community. They produce only hats hats hats and all! The forum http://dev.dota2.com/ no answer at all. This is sad. Developers League of Legends are more sociable and professional. I'm going to LOL Expand
  7. Sep 21, 2013
    0
    This game get's old really fast. The objectives are linear and boring. When I play a strategy game I usually favorite skirmishes, this gameThis game get's old really fast. The objectives are linear and boring. When I play a strategy game I usually favorite skirmishes, this game has skirmishes[kind of], but I wouldn't recommend anyone to play them. The A.I. is stupid and does not support the major areas that get attacked. Also, half of the team goes to one corner of the map, while the other goes to the other corner. Yeah, not much to play in here. Expand

See all 4799 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2013

    The Best Videogames of 2013 Image
    Published: December 30, 2013
    In our annual ranking of the year's best video games, get a list of 2013's best and worst releases by platform, view a comparison of the various game consoles, and find out which title earned Metacritic Game of the Year honors.