Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 11267 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Dota 2 features the characters and factions from the original Defense of the Ancients title with new features.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. Aug 30, 2013
    100
    A great PvP game that offers some of the most intriguing and nuanced team combat around.
  2. Feb 19, 2014
    95
    Simply irresistible and addictive as hell.
  3. Jul 19, 2013
    90
    Those who choose to commit to Dota 2 will find many happy hours within this immaculate update.
  4. Jul 16, 2013
    90
    All of which makes Dota 2 an absurd video game to try to recommend. Being the largest and most immediately open MOBA, with Valve showcasing its talent for rewarding and fostering a community, it demands and offers more than literally any game I can think of. It's almost more comparable to basketball than most commercial games. Something utterly opaque bearing no endgame, but that could happily fill every waking second of your life.
  5. Jul 26, 2013
    90
    You’ll need knowledge, skill, and a smidge of spider-sense. Friends to learn with are a must, and don’t be deceived by the lack of a pricetag: Dota 2 will cost you hundreds of hours.
  6. Aug 27, 2013
    90
    There's a steep, daunting learning curve, but DOTA 2 offers one of the most rewarding game experiences you can find on PC today. [Sept 2013, p.80]
  7. Jul 18, 2013
    70
    A strategic adrenaline rush, but the graphics are dated and the learning curve is steep.

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Nov 2, 2013
    10
    thos mad kids... after day they all will be back and hoping for next update with free stuf, they even dont care about mod just everyone wasthos mad kids... after day they all will be back and hoping for next update with free stuf, they even dont care about mod just everyone was hoping on free items Expand
  2. Nov 14, 2013
    10
    Great game! Don't be fooled by the 1% of the idiots who ruined the score because of something stupid, valve gave us a great game and lets hopeGreat game! Don't be fooled by the 1% of the idiots who ruined the score because of something stupid, valve gave us a great game and lets hope that it goes the distance! Expand
  3. Jul 10, 2013
    10
    This game improved so much since it was released on the beta. There are over 90 heroes to choose from currently and the gamplay is as intenceThis game improved so much since it was released on the beta. There are over 90 heroes to choose from currently and the gamplay is as intence and as rewarding as DOTA 1. I know alot of people will be hesitant to try it at first but there has been a new tutorial system implemented in DOTA 2 and I think it will help new comers. I know some people who play LOL might bash in this game, but both games are compleatly different. Its like comparing COD and Battlefield, they are so different that connot be compared. (no preference on either game, I think bot of them are good) Give this game a try, the learning curve is very steep but it is rewarding when you learn. I think this is the best gave valve has ever developed and has been the most played game on steam ever since the second year of beta development. Try it out, its free and badass! Expand
  4. Nov 26, 2013
    9
    i'ts one of the best rpg that i have ever played in my computer, i'ts completely free, not an pay-to-win, and have a very nice gameplay ii'ts one of the best rpg that i have ever played in my computer, i'ts completely free, not an pay-to-win, and have a very nice gameplay i really loved it!
    Valve are doing quite of a job in here
    Expand
  5. Nov 2, 2013
    0
    NO Diretide
    NO New Hero
    NO Updates NO Normal matchmaking system New updates is new sets and tickets New updates is new sets and tickets
    NO Diretide
    NO New Hero
    NO Updates
    NO Normal matchmaking system
    New updates is new sets and tickets
    New updates is new sets and tickets
    New updates is new sets and tickets
    New updates is new sets and tickets
    Expand
  6. Nov 2, 2013
    0
    You are Dead, Dead Dead
    You are Dead, Dead Dead
    Thought you were hot, guess what you're not You are Dead, Dead Dead Brought your whole
    You are Dead, Dead Dead
    You are Dead, Dead Dead

    Thought you were hot, guess what you're not
    You are Dead, Dead Dead
    Brought your whole adventure to a screeching hault
    You are Dead, Dead Dead
    Your heart has stopped and your brain is cold,
    you are so so dead
    and now your body is starting to mold,
    you are so so dead

    This dimension, cuts like a knife
    You are Dead, Dead Dead
    What a pitiful waste of a game's life
    You are Dead, Dead Dead

    Your heart has stopped and your brain is cold,
    you are so so dead
    and now your body is starting to mold,
    you are so so dead

    Aww, such a sad sad story
    You're gone empty head in the red, Game Over
    You're Through, Gone

    How does it feel to be dead? (You are dead~)
    Bye Bye, You're history, You're Through! You're Dust
    I hope you improve your lousy score
    Adios, See you later, Bye Bye

    Try Again

    You are Dead, Dead Dead
    You are Dead, Dead Dead
    You are Dead, Dead Dead
    You are Dead, Dead Dead
    Expand
  7. Feb 25, 2014
    0
    Before that, all was bearable until Valvil not released fit and offerings ... I was disappointed in the event, and even more from theBefore that, all was bearable until Valvil not released fit and offerings ... I was disappointed in the event, and even more from the offerings. Over 40 + pages of rare eventually got no use to anyone. So let oppressive VALVE on! Expand

See all 4794 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2013

    The Best Videogames of 2013 Image
    Published: December 30, 2013
    In our annual ranking of the year's best video games, get a list of 2013's best and worst releases by platform, view a comparison of the various game consoles, and find out which title earned Metacritic Game of the Year honors.