Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 11123 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Dota 2 features the characters and factions from the original Defense of the Ancients title with new features.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. Aug 30, 2013
    100
    A great PvP game that offers some of the most intriguing and nuanced team combat around.
  2. Feb 19, 2014
    95
    Simply irresistible and addictive as hell.
  3. Jul 19, 2013
    90
    Those who choose to commit to Dota 2 will find many happy hours within this immaculate update.
  4. Jul 16, 2013
    90
    All of which makes Dota 2 an absurd video game to try to recommend. Being the largest and most immediately open MOBA, with Valve showcasing its talent for rewarding and fostering a community, it demands and offers more than literally any game I can think of. It's almost more comparable to basketball than most commercial games. Something utterly opaque bearing no endgame, but that could happily fill every waking second of your life.
  5. Jul 26, 2013
    90
    You’ll need knowledge, skill, and a smidge of spider-sense. Friends to learn with are a must, and don’t be deceived by the lack of a pricetag: Dota 2 will cost you hundreds of hours.
  6. Aug 27, 2013
    90
    There's a steep, daunting learning curve, but DOTA 2 offers one of the most rewarding game experiences you can find on PC today. [Sept 2013, p.80]
  7. Jul 18, 2013
    70
    A strategic adrenaline rush, but the graphics are dated and the learning curve is steep.

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Jul 10, 2013
    10
    This game improved so much since it was released on the beta. There are over 90 heroes to choose from currently and the gamplay is as intenceThis game improved so much since it was released on the beta. There are over 90 heroes to choose from currently and the gamplay is as intence and as rewarding as DOTA 1. I know alot of people will be hesitant to try it at first but there has been a new tutorial system implemented in DOTA 2 and I think it will help new comers. I know some people who play LOL might bash in this game, but both games are compleatly different. Its like comparing COD and Battlefield, they are so different that connot be compared. (no preference on either game, I think bot of them are good) Give this game a try, the learning curve is very steep but it is rewarding when you learn. I think this is the best gave valve has ever developed and has been the most played game on steam ever since the second year of beta development. Try it out, its free and badass! Expand
  2. Nov 2, 2013
    10
    Volvo where is my car?
    Volvo fix it pls!
    No mechanics! Volvo fix it pls! Garbage report system! Volvo fix it pls! Volvo fix it pls!
    Volvo where is my car?
    Volvo fix it pls!
    No mechanics!
    Volvo fix it pls!
    Garbage report system!
    Volvo fix it pls!
    Volvo fix it pls!
    Volvo fix it pls!
    Expand
  3. Nov 2, 2013
    10
    This is literally the worst game I have ever played in my entire life, The developers are lazy and don't care about the people who play thisThis is literally the worst game I have ever played in my entire life, The developers are lazy and don't care about the people who play this game at all but would rather make millions off of cosmetics and hats instead. Expand
  4. Nov 9, 2013
    10
    One of the best, most difficult and truly competitive games I've ever played. It is free and doesn't have any pay-to-win, all heroes are free,One of the best, most difficult and truly competitive games I've ever played. It is free and doesn't have any pay-to-win, all heroes are free, the only paid content are cosmetical items that DO NOT change gameplay. Expand
  5. Nov 3, 2013
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Garbage matchmaking
    Garbage report system
    Garbage game engine results in 9 games without someone being able to load and you reenter the queue
    0 communication and 0 visibility no visible MMR no ladders)
    No region locks.
    You take a perfect game and turn it into worst game ever created.
    GG WP
    Expand
  6. Nov 2, 2013
    0
    This gaem has turned into hats sale. No new heroes, no bug fixes, no communication. How Valve can reject so big community? GG, Valve. ded gaemThis gaem has turned into hats sale. No new heroes, no bug fixes, no communication. How Valve can reject so big community? GG, Valve. ded gaem

    RIP DIRETIDE 2013-2013
    Expand
  7. Nov 1, 2013
    0
    Give DIRETIDE...................
    TAKE YOUR HATS BACK..................
    No diretide 2013, valve abandoned the game............ VOLVO
    Give DIRETIDE...................
    TAKE YOUR HATS BACK..................
    No diretide 2013, valve abandoned the game............
    VOLVO DISBAND..................
    Expand

See all 4776 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2013

    The Best Videogames of 2013 Image
    Published: December 30, 2013
    In our annual ranking of the year's best video games, get a list of 2013's best and worst releases by platform, view a comparison of the various game consoles, and find out which title earned Metacritic Game of the Year honors.