Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 11108 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Dota 2 features the characters and factions from the original Defense of the Ancients title with new features.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. Aug 30, 2013
    100
    A great PvP game that offers some of the most intriguing and nuanced team combat around.
  2. Feb 19, 2014
    95
    Simply irresistible and addictive as hell.
  3. Jul 19, 2013
    90
    Those who choose to commit to Dota 2 will find many happy hours within this immaculate update.
  4. Jul 16, 2013
    90
    All of which makes Dota 2 an absurd video game to try to recommend. Being the largest and most immediately open MOBA, with Valve showcasing its talent for rewarding and fostering a community, it demands and offers more than literally any game I can think of. It's almost more comparable to basketball than most commercial games. Something utterly opaque bearing no endgame, but that could happily fill every waking second of your life.
  5. Jul 26, 2013
    90
    You’ll need knowledge, skill, and a smidge of spider-sense. Friends to learn with are a must, and don’t be deceived by the lack of a pricetag: Dota 2 will cost you hundreds of hours.
  6. Aug 27, 2013
    90
    There's a steep, daunting learning curve, but DOTA 2 offers one of the most rewarding game experiences you can find on PC today. [Sept 2013, p.80]
  7. Jul 18, 2013
    70
    A strategic adrenaline rush, but the graphics are dated and the learning curve is steep.

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Jul 10, 2013
    10
    This game improved so much since it was released on the beta. There are over 90 heroes to choose from currently and the gamplay is as intenceThis game improved so much since it was released on the beta. There are over 90 heroes to choose from currently and the gamplay is as intence and as rewarding as DOTA 1. I know alot of people will be hesitant to try it at first but there has been a new tutorial system implemented in DOTA 2 and I think it will help new comers. I know some people who play LOL might bash in this game, but both games are compleatly different. Its like comparing COD and Battlefield, they are so different that connot be compared. (no preference on either game, I think bot of them are good) Give this game a try, the learning curve is very steep but it is rewarding when you learn. I think this is the best gave valve has ever developed and has been the most played game on steam ever since the second year of beta development. Try it out, its free and badass! Expand
  2. Nov 2, 2013
    10
    Volvo where is my car?
    Volvo fix it pls!
    No mechanics! Volvo fix it pls! Garbage report system! Volvo fix it pls! Volvo fix it pls!
    Volvo where is my car?
    Volvo fix it pls!
    No mechanics!
    Volvo fix it pls!
    Garbage report system!
    Volvo fix it pls!
    Volvo fix it pls!
    Volvo fix it pls!
    Expand
  3. Nov 2, 2013
    10
    NO new hero.Huge of BUGS have been ignored by valve.The matchmaking make me wait less than 4min. Sometimes I have to wait half an hour. NoNO new hero.Huge of BUGS have been ignored by valve.The matchmaking make me wait less than 4min. Sometimes I have to wait half an hour. No Diretide just a fuse,do you understand? Some bugs fix every 3 month, but the NEW TRASH SETS and TRASH KEYS update every week.Just only 2 man supervise dota2 server in valve.JUST 2!!!!!!!CAN YOU BELIEVE JUST TWO MAN??? The trash server will break down every week.You never play in weekend.I just play a game which I like.But you just want to make money through keys and sets.It is not Defense of the Ancients,It is Defense of trading accessories.. Expand
  4. Nov 9, 2013
    10
    THNX FOR DIRETIDE づ。◕‿◕。)づ
    THNX FOR DIRETIDE づ。◕‿◕。)づ
    THNX FOR DIRETIDE づ。◕‿◕。)づ THNX FOR DIRETIDE づ。◕‿◕。)づ THNX FOR DIRETIDE づ。◕‿◕。)づ
    THNX FOR DIRETIDE づ。◕‿◕。)づ
    THNX FOR DIRETIDE づ。◕‿◕。)づ
    THNX FOR DIRETIDE づ。◕‿◕。)づ
    THNX FOR DIRETIDE づ。◕‿◕。)づ
    THNX FOR DIRETIDE づ。◕‿◕。)づ
    THNX FOR DIRETIDE づ。◕‿◕。)づ
    THNX FOR DIRETIDE づ。◕‿◕。)づ
    THNX FOR DIRETIDE づ。◕‿◕。)づ
    THNX FOR DIRETIDE づ。◕‿◕。)づ
    THNX FOR DIRETIDE づ。◕‿◕。)づ
    THNX FOR DIRETIDE づ。◕‿◕。)づ
    THNX FOR DIRETIDE づ。◕‿◕。)づ
    THNX FOR DIRETIDE づ。◕‿◕。)づ
    THNX FOR DIRETIDE づ。◕‿◕。)づ
    THNX FOR DIRETIDE づ。◕‿◕。)づ
    THNX FOR DIRETIDE づ。◕‿◕。)づ
    THNX FOR DIRETIDE づ。◕‿◕。)づ
    THNX FOR DIRETIDE づ。◕‿◕。)づ
    THNX FOR DIRETIDE づ。◕‿◕。)づ
    THNX FOR DIRETIDE づ。◕‿◕。)づ
    THNX FOR DIRETIDE づ。◕‿◕。)づ
    THNX FOR DIRETIDE づ。◕‿◕。)づ
    THNX FOR DIRETIDE づ。◕‿◕。)づ
    THNX FOR DIRETIDE づ。◕‿◕。)づ
    v
    Expand
  5. Nov 3, 2013
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Garbage matchmaking
    Garbage report system
    Garbage game engine results in 9 games without someone being able to load and you reenter the queue
    0 communication and 0 visibility no visible MMR no ladders)
    No region locks.
    You take a perfect game and turn it into worst game ever created.
    GG WP
    Expand
  6. Nov 2, 2013
    0
    This gaem has turned into hats sale. No new heroes, no bug fixes, no communication. How Valve can reject so big community? GG, Valve. ded gaemThis gaem has turned into hats sale. No new heroes, no bug fixes, no communication. How Valve can reject so big community? GG, Valve. ded gaem

    RIP DIRETIDE 2013-2013
    Expand
  7. Feb 7, 2015
    0
    The game could have been nice, but the community is a toxic waste. Unless you have a 5 man party, you will get **** on almost every game. TheThe game could have been nice, but the community is a toxic waste. Unless you have a 5 man party, you will get **** on almost every game. The matchmaking is a bad joke, gaben laughs his fat cash grabbing face about it. Russians everywhere? Sure, why not? Balance? That is cute. Give cash to gaben and enjoy the spit in your face. Expand

See all 4773 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2013

    The Best Videogames of 2013 Image
    Published: December 30, 2013
    In our annual ranking of the year's best video games, get a list of 2013's best and worst releases by platform, view a comparison of the various game consoles, and find out which title earned Metacritic Game of the Year honors.