Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 10664 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Dota 2 features the characters and factions from the original Defense of the Ancients title with new features.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. Aug 30, 2013
    100
    A great PvP game that offers some of the most intriguing and nuanced team combat around.
  2. Feb 19, 2014
    95
    Simply irresistible and addictive as hell.
  3. Jul 19, 2013
    90
    Those who choose to commit to Dota 2 will find many happy hours within this immaculate update.
  4. Jul 16, 2013
    90
    It's an amazing game - technically outstanding, showing all of Valve's usual polish and attention to detail, especially in the all-important multiplayer aspects. The continual balance tweaks and new heroes combined with the vast amount of content in the game offer countless hours of enjoyment. It's hard to master but good wins with your teammates are incredibly satisfying. It took me a long time to warm up to, but I'm helplessly addicted and every day look forward to getting home to fire this up with my friends. If you can spare the time - play it.
  5. Jul 26, 2013
    90
    You’ll need knowledge, skill, and a smidge of spider-sense. Friends to learn with are a must, and don’t be deceived by the lack of a pricetag: Dota 2 will cost you hundreds of hours.
  6. Aug 27, 2013
    90
    There's a steep, daunting learning curve, but DOTA 2 offers one of the most rewarding game experiences you can find on PC today. [Sept 2013, p.80]
  7. Jul 18, 2013
    70
    A strategic adrenaline rush, but the graphics are dated and the learning curve is steep.

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Jul 10, 2013
    10
    This game improved so much since it was released on the beta. There are over 90 heroes to choose from currently and the gamplay is as intence and as rewarding as DOTA 1. I know alot of people will be hesitant to try it at first but there has been a new tutorial system implemented in DOTA 2 and I think it will help new comers. I know some people who play LOL might bash in this game, but both games are compleatly different. Its like comparing COD and Battlefield, they are so different that connot be compared. (no preference on either game, I think bot of them are good) Give this game a try, the learning curve is very steep but it is rewarding when you learn. I think this is the best gave valve has ever developed and has been the most played game on steam ever since the second year of beta development. Try it out, its free and badass! Expand
  2. Nov 2, 2013
    10
    Probably the deepest and most meaningful pvp experience you can have in an online game. From Hero choices, to lanes and item selections, this game has the possibilities of chess wrapped around a ridiculously skilled rts game. Expand
  3. Nov 8, 2013
    10
    Fantastic! Excellent balance and addictive competitive play! A gamer for many maaaany years, I always come back to Dota as no other game is quite as engaging. Expand
  4. Nov 9, 2013
    10
    Awesome game. Developers keep adding content and make good changes.
    This game is free to play. You can't purchase a competitive advantage.

    The learning curve is steep, but you can easily find the info to improve your play.
    Expand
  5. Nov 1, 2013
    1
    Terrible developers. If you played tfw before mannconomy you know for sure where this is all going. Hats, hats, and more hats. Bugs bugs, more bugs. No content, no content, no content.

    Into the trash it all goes
    Expand
  6. Nov 2, 2013
    0
    The game itself is pure awesome the developer is the opposite

    Garbage matchmaking
    Garbage report system
    Garbage game engine results in 9
    games without someone being able to load and you reenter the queue
    0 communication and 0 visibility no visible MMR no ladders)
    No region locks.
    You take a perfect game and turn it into worst game ever created.
    GG WP

    At least we got useless hats
    Expand
  7. Nov 6, 2013
    0
    6.79 patch have very bad metagaming changes (no hardline/easyline enaugh now like a LoL), no new hero... over few mounth only tickets and sets... more action that strategy(bot dota 2 is MOBA)... pfffff, gj icefrog and valve. Expand

See all 4666 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2013

    The Best Videogames of 2013 Image
    Published: December 30, 2013
    In our annual ranking of the year's best video games, get a list of 2013's best and worst releases by platform, view a comparison of the various game consoles, and find out which title earned Metacritic Game of the Year honors.