Dota 2 Image
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 33 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 10798 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Dota 2 features the characters and factions from the original Defense of the Ancients title with new features.

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
DOTA 2 - Official Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. Aug 30, 2013
    100
    A great PvP game that offers some of the most intriguing and nuanced team combat around.
  2. Feb 19, 2014
    95
    Simply irresistible and addictive as hell.
  3. Jul 19, 2013
    90
    Those who choose to commit to Dota 2 will find many happy hours within this immaculate update.
  4. Jul 16, 2013
    90
    All of which makes Dota 2 an absurd video game to try to recommend. Being the largest and most immediately open MOBA, with Valve showcasing its talent for rewarding and fostering a community, it demands and offers more than literally any game I can think of. It's almost more comparable to basketball than most commercial games. Something utterly opaque bearing no endgame, but that could happily fill every waking second of your life.
  5. VideoGamer
    Jul 26, 2013
    90
    You’ll need knowledge, skill, and a smidge of spider-sense. Friends to learn with are a must, and don’t be deceived by the lack of a pricetag: Dota 2 will cost you hundreds of hours.
  6. PC PowerPlay
    Aug 27, 2013
    90
    There's a steep, daunting learning curve, but DOTA 2 offers one of the most rewarding game experiences you can find on PC today. [Sept 2013, p.80]
  7. Jul 18, 2013
    70
    A strategic adrenaline rush, but the graphics are dated and the learning curve is steep.

See all 33 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Aug 22, 2013
    10
    The same heroes, items and game dynamics from the original Defense of the Ancients with a big improvement in gameplay and in graphics. TheThe same heroes, items and game dynamics from the original Defense of the Ancients with a big improvement in gameplay and in graphics. The best team pvp game that we have at the moment, this is the sport of the future. It's free to play but not pay to win and you play it online. Expand
  2. Nov 8, 2013
    10
    A good, high-quality MOBA with varied but mostly balanced characters, built in spectating, item drops, and events. Although Valve doesn'tA good, high-quality MOBA with varied but mostly balanced characters, built in spectating, item drops, and events. Although Valve doesn't always communicate the best, they care about the community still. GAVE DIRETIDE Expand
  3. Jul 10, 2013
    10
    This game improved so much since it was released on the beta. There are over 90 heroes to choose from currently and the gamplay is as intenceThis game improved so much since it was released on the beta. There are over 90 heroes to choose from currently and the gamplay is as intence and as rewarding as DOTA 1. I know alot of people will be hesitant to try it at first but there has been a new tutorial system implemented in DOTA 2 and I think it will help new comers. I know some people who play LOL might bash in this game, but both games are compleatly different. Its like comparing COD and Battlefield, they are so different that connot be compared. (no preference on either game, I think bot of them are good) Give this game a try, the learning curve is very steep but it is rewarding when you learn. I think this is the best gave valve has ever developed and has been the most played game on steam ever since the second year of beta development. Try it out, its free and badass! Expand
  4. Aug 21, 2013
    7
    This is by far Valve's best F2P game so far, way better than Team Fortress 2 and Alien Swarm combined, and even better than League of Legends.This is by far Valve's best F2P game so far, way better than Team Fortress 2 and Alien Swarm combined, and even better than League of Legends. It may not be Steam's biggest game or PC's biggest online game, but this one has some great potential even with the great tutorials, skirmish plays, online plays, graphics, mechanics and the elements. Even better, there's no need to pay for getting and playing a better hero and of course there are lots of choices and options to choose for a hero except for paying the clothing. This game could be more worth the sequel if more map types and modes are added similar to LoL. Expand
  5. Nov 2, 2013
    0
    This years Diretide was very good, I like the Lil' Roshan mini boss and these good halloween items, but that Jeratla pissed me off.

    And as
    This years Diretide was very good, I like the Lil' Roshan mini boss and these good halloween items, but that Jeratla pissed me off.

    And as always, GIVE DIRETIDE
    Expand
  6. Nov 2, 2013
    0
    NO Diretide
    NO New Hero
    NO Updates NO Normal matchmaking system New updates is new sets and tickets New updates is new sets and tickets
    NO Diretide
    NO New Hero
    NO Updates
    NO Normal matchmaking system
    New updates is new sets and tickets
    New updates is new sets and tickets
    New updates is new sets and tickets
    New updates is new sets and tickets
    Expand
  7. Jan 7, 2014
    0
    Una druegaUna druega Expand

See all 3535 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2013

    The Best Videogames of 2013 Image
    Published: December 30, 2013
    In our annual ranking of the year's best video games, get a list of 2013's best and worst releases by platform, view a comparison of the various game consoles, and find out which title earned Metacritic Game of the Year honors.