Dota 2 PC

Dota 2 Image
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 12129 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Dota 2 features the characters and factions from the original Defense of the Ancients title with new features.

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. Aug 30, 2013
    100
    A great PvP game that offers some of the most intriguing and nuanced team combat around.
  2. Feb 19, 2014
    95
    Simply irresistible and addictive as hell.
  3. Jul 19, 2013
    90
    Those who choose to commit to Dota 2 will find many happy hours within this immaculate update.
  4. Jul 16, 2013
    90
    All of which makes Dota 2 an absurd video game to try to recommend. Being the largest and most immediately open MOBA, with Valve showcasing its talent for rewarding and fostering a community, it demands and offers more than literally any game I can think of. It's almost more comparable to basketball than most commercial games. Something utterly opaque bearing no endgame, but that could happily fill every waking second of your life.
  5. VideoGamer
    Jul 26, 2013
    90
    You’ll need knowledge, skill, and a smidge of spider-sense. Friends to learn with are a must, and don’t be deceived by the lack of a pricetag: Dota 2 will cost you hundreds of hours.
  6. PC PowerPlay
    Aug 27, 2013
    90
    There's a steep, daunting learning curve, but DOTA 2 offers one of the most rewarding game experiences you can find on PC today. [Sept 2013, p.80]
  7. Jul 18, 2013
    70
    A strategic adrenaline rush, but the graphics are dated and the learning curve is steep.

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Oct 15, 2013
    10
    Okay let me elaborate on my high rating of this game.

    Been around the block: First of all I have been playing these kind of games since
    Okay let me elaborate on my high rating of this game.

    Been around the block:
    First of all I have been playing these kind of games since the early wc3 DOTA days. Throughout the years I have tried mostly every game within the genre and can't seem to find a game that offers me the same complexity as DOTA, yet this is just a personal preference of mine.

    The game and it's features:
    DOTA offers a F2P(Free To Play) model unlike any other of it competitors, you open the game and every hero is unlocked and ready for your command, no unlocking anything, so no one have an in-game advantage of any kind. This to me is the only way for a competitive game to present it self.
    If you want a professional player base, why would you limit newcomers to 5-10% of the hero base?
    Further more I'm very pleased with the result of DOTA2, smooth movement, each hero feels unique and original. I've had my beta key since the earlier stage of the game, and there have been bugs to say the least, I would though have to credit valve for their very fast respond time of fixes, and listening to the community and making changes accordingly. Now the game have been released and I can only think back at the process I have seen this game come through. Must admit I'm huge fan of the result.

    NOOB go un-install:
    I'm sincerely sorry for all the new-comers to the game that they have had bad experiences in so many games in a row. But DOTA is an extremely frustrating game you just have to get your head around it, it's like the first time you play counter-strike and misses everything, the game changes character once you start hitting your opponents before they hit you.
    The same goes for DOTA once you you figure out how to manage all the little things, the bigger things starts to make more sense. The high learning curve makes this game the most time consuming game I've ever played, there is always something new to be learned.
    This I understand can be a huge challenge to new-comers and to people that somehow lack the patience to learn the essence of why things goes wrong.
    Luckily I can tell you this; If you keep improving and keep understand how/why things happens, and try to figure out how to avoid the bad things and do more of the good things, you must be willing to learn the mechanics of the game and understand them properly. I have friends who have played this game for years without improving much, the have stopped learning beyond the names of the heroes and their abilities, and they sometimes rage over skype when being out-played by opponents, then i explain to them what happened and why, further more suggestions how to avoid it in the future. Rage will never help you, common sense on the other hand, remember there is a counter to everything and every hero, you just have to figure it out.

    One does simply not just play good DOTA..
    Expand
  2. Nov 8, 2013
    10
    DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN Expand
  3. Jul 10, 2013
    10
    This game improved so much since it was released on the beta. There are over 90 heroes to choose from currently and the gamplay is as intenceThis game improved so much since it was released on the beta. There are over 90 heroes to choose from currently and the gamplay is as intence and as rewarding as DOTA 1. I know alot of people will be hesitant to try it at first but there has been a new tutorial system implemented in DOTA 2 and I think it will help new comers. I know some people who play LOL might bash in this game, but both games are compleatly different. Its like comparing COD and Battlefield, they are so different that connot be compared. (no preference on either game, I think bot of them are good) Give this game a try, the learning curve is very steep but it is rewarding when you learn. I think this is the best gave valve has ever developed and has been the most played game on steam ever since the second year of beta development. Try it out, its free and badass! Expand
  4. Nov 8, 2013
    8
    It's definitely a great game, really fun and addicting. Not perfect at all, there are far too many bugs that have yet to be patched for it toIt's definitely a great game, really fun and addicting. Not perfect at all, there are far too many bugs that have yet to be patched for it to be a 10. The community can be very frustrating in game and on forums but that doesn't detract from the gameplay. Expand
  5. Nov 2, 2013
    0
    Give DIRETIDE
    ༼ Give DIRETIDE༼ Give DIRETIDE༼ Give DIRETIDE༼ Give DIRETIDE༼ Give DIRETIDE༼ Give DIRETIDE༼ Give
    Give DIRETIDE
    ༼ Give DIRETIDE༼ Give DIRETIDE༼ Give DIRETIDE༼ Give DIRETIDE༼ Give DIRETIDE༼ Give DIRETIDE༼ Give DIRETIDE༼ Give DIRETIDE༼ Give DIRETIDE༼ Give DIRETIDE༼ Give DIRETIDE༼ Give DIRETIDE༼ Give DIRETIDE
    Expand
  6. Nov 3, 2013
    0
    6.79
    nuff said, you ll be much better playing the masterpice Dota1, on 6.78 or 6.73
    Both are the most balanced the game will get also
    6.79
    nuff said, you ll be much better playing the masterpice Dota1, on 6.78 or 6.73
    Both are the most balanced the game will get
    also diretide
    6.79
    nuff said, you ll be much better playing the masterpice Dota1, on 6.78 or 6.73
    Both are the most balanced the game will get
    also diretide
    6.79
    nuff said, you ll be much better playing the masterpice Dota1, on 6.78 or 6.73
    Both are the most balanced the game will get
    also diretide
    6.79
    nuff said, you ll be much better playing the masterpice Dota1, on 6.78 or 6.73
    Both are the most balanced the game will get
    also diretide
    6.79
    nuff said, you ll be much better playing the masterpice Dota1, on 6.78 or 6.73
    Both are the most balanced the game will get
    also diretide
    6.79
    nuff said, you ll be much better playing the masterpice Dota1, on 6.78 or 6.73
    Both are the most balanced the game will get
    also diretide
    6.79
    nuff said, you ll be much better playing the masterpice Dota1, on 6.78 or 6.73
    Both are the most balanced the game will get
    also diretide
    6.79
    nuff said, you ll be much better playing the masterpice Dota1, on 6.78 or 6.73
    Both are the most balanced the game will get
    also diretide
    Expand
  7. Aug 22, 2013
    0
    been a fan of the game since warcraft days. Can't fault the game play at all. HOWEVER, it literally disconnects be at least 5 times a GAME.been a fan of the game since warcraft days. Can't fault the game play at all. HOWEVER, it literally disconnects be at least 5 times a GAME. There is NOTHING wrong with my internet nor am i running anything else. i know its free and all but this is TERRIBLE. I've stopped playing looking to start playing on League of Legends.

    what a let down, sort it our valve.
    Expand

See all 5052 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2013

    The Best Videogames of 2013 Image
    Published: December 30, 2013
    In our annual ranking of the year's best video games, get a list of 2013's best and worst releases by platform, view a comparison of the various game consoles, and find out which title earned Metacritic Game of the Year honors.