Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 10398 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Dota 2 features the characters and factions from the original Defense of the Ancients title with new features.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. Aug 30, 2013
    100
    A great PvP game that offers some of the most intriguing and nuanced team combat around.
  2. Feb 19, 2014
    95
    Simply irresistible and addictive as hell.
  3. Jul 19, 2013
    90
    Those who choose to commit to Dota 2 will find many happy hours within this immaculate update.
  4. Jul 16, 2013
    90
    It's an amazing game - technically outstanding, showing all of Valve's usual polish and attention to detail, especially in the all-important multiplayer aspects. The continual balance tweaks and new heroes combined with the vast amount of content in the game offer countless hours of enjoyment. It's hard to master but good wins with your teammates are incredibly satisfying. It took me a long time to warm up to, but I'm helplessly addicted and every day look forward to getting home to fire this up with my friends. If you can spare the time - play it.
  5. Jul 26, 2013
    90
    You’ll need knowledge, skill, and a smidge of spider-sense. Friends to learn with are a must, and don’t be deceived by the lack of a pricetag: Dota 2 will cost you hundreds of hours.
  6. Aug 27, 2013
    90
    There's a steep, daunting learning curve, but DOTA 2 offers one of the most rewarding game experiences you can find on PC today. [Sept 2013, p.80]
  7. Jul 18, 2013
    70
    A strategic adrenaline rush, but the graphics are dated and the learning curve is steep.

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Jul 10, 2013
    10
    This game improved so much since it was released on the beta. There are over 90 heroes to choose from currently and the gamplay is as intence and as rewarding as DOTA 1. I know alot of people will be hesitant to try it at first but there has been a new tutorial system implemented in DOTA 2 and I think it will help new comers. I know some people who play LOL might bash in this game, but both games are compleatly different. Its like comparing COD and Battlefield, they are so different that connot be compared. (no preference on either game, I think bot of them are good) Give this game a try, the learning curve is very steep but it is rewarding when you learn. I think this is the best gave valve has ever developed and has been the most played game on steam ever since the second year of beta development. Try it out, its free and badass! Expand
  2. Nov 2, 2013
    10
    Very good game Very good game
    Very good game
    Very good game
    Very good gameVery good gameVery good gameVery good gameVery good gameVery good
    gameVery good gameVery good game Expand
  3. Nov 8, 2013
    10
    this game is great. screw the naysayers. Really? you need 150 characters to review the game? That's annoying. The dota 2 community is a bit crazy, but I think that's bound to happen to any popular f2p game. Expand
  4. Nov 8, 2013
    10
    One of the best online MOBA i have ever played; and they actually listened to us now by giving us diretide in the next update. We need to fix this score people, should have never went down this low. Expand
  5. Nov 1, 2013
    1
    I think, there is a lot of people misunderstanding wats going on here.
    We are not whining about a simple Halloween event but we are whining
    about all the lack of communication from Valve, the release of horribles cosmetics, and the time to port the heroes. Still remember when we used to get a hero or twice per week, I admit that one week is way too short to create a hero, record the voice etcaera.. but still. 3 months and havent got except cosmetic bundles for about 8 bucks.
    The game is free some people might say, yes it is a F2P but do you have an idea about how much money is valve making on us. If they can allow the International price, they are making a bloody bunch of dollars here. I"m really scared about the future of DotA 2 right now. A game is living only by the community, so if you are screwing with the community, your game is gonna be in a pretty bad shape.
    Expand
  6. Nov 2, 2013
    0
    no Diretide i etim vse skazano kkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkk Expand
  7. Nov 7, 2013
    0
    No normal matchmaking system No balance not interesting. Dota 2 is an amazing game, made by an absolutely terrible team. Hasn't been updated in almost a half a year, no community interaction on what's going on, while the only thing that gets added is cash shop items. Expand

See all 4610 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2013

    The Best Videogames of 2013 Image
    Published: December 30, 2013
    In our annual ranking of the year's best video games, get a list of 2013's best and worst releases by platform, view a comparison of the various game consoles, and find out which title earned Metacritic Game of the Year honors.