Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 5 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.9

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 90 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Mark of the Assassin is the next set of DLC for Dragon Age II.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Nov 3, 2011
    90
    This is an easy recommendation to make and a far more satisfying experience than the previous Legacy DLC.
  2. Oct 18, 2011
    85
    A neat little expansion, well formed and surprisingly well-paced; if you enjoyed the main game, it's definitely worth a download.
  3. Nov 7, 2011
    80
    The only serious drawback of this DLC is that you cannot change the outcome of its story.
  4. Nov 23, 2011
    80
    A fine add-on offering diverse and fun gameplay variations, some of those never before seen in the series. [December 2011, p.92]
  5. Nov 15, 2011
    78
    You never know what to expect from Bioware when they create a new DLC. Sometimes they are decent, more often not. Legacy and Mark of the Assassin are pleasant surprises in the continuum. The adventures are well written, Tallis is a compelling new character and the combat is challenging enough. The add-ons are solid work, but not extraordinary by any means. [Nov 2011]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 17
  2. Negative: 7 out of 17
  1. Oct 11, 2011
    10
    Bioware does it again! A truly worthy addition to what PC Gamer crowned the "best RPG of this decade" Dragon Age II Mark of the Assassin surpasses everything gamers have come to expect from DLC. The lovely Felicia Day comes alive as Tallis in a performance so convincing and immersive it as if you were actually exploring the world of Thedas with the actress herself. The new stealth based mechanics are simply amazing and add hours of replay value to an already incredible game. Now not only can you think like a General and fight like a Spartan, but you can now sneak like a Ninja as well. Bioware has shown that they are the modern day masters in the gaming industry, providing in a DLC better stealth based combat and avoidance than seen in the Metal Gear Solid and Assassins' Creed series. Truly this is a must buy and one can only marvel at what next exciting chapter awaits Dragon Age II. Expand
  2. Oct 13, 2011
    10
    I just have to say this Dlc is good, interesting, stealthy, misterious and a big diamond as a present. I just hope that there will b more DLC for Dragon age 2 until Dragon age 3 Exiting date will be reviled! Expand
  3. Oct 12, 2011
    8
    Let me start with what's bad. The biggest issue here is, of course, the price. Ten bucks is a lot of money to ask for a single-player DLC that can be finished in less than five hours. To top it off, it does not add much to the core game, without any real impact on Hawke's saga as a whole. The second issue is the stealth-gameplay. While I can appreciate the effort Bioware put in to this section, it feels out of place, and can be very frustrating. How do my stealth skills not work here? I've crafted a guile and shadowy Hawke, yet he's unable to use the abilities I purposely gave him. Lastly, the puzzles are a mixed bag, while challenging and engaging at times, they also become tedious. There addition feel a bit heavy-handed and superficial. It's also a bit unrealistic that a manor's vault and treasure will be protected by color-coded magical doors and pressure plates, when I'm sure locks will be more efficient (I know this because the outside locks cannot be picked by either you or Tallis, meaning they work better at protecting your stuff than puzzles do).

    Now for the good, while I cannot recommend one to pay this much for the game, I can certainly tell you there is a beautiful and complex story here, one worth hearing and experienced. Packed with numerous exploratory elements, with more sidequests than I thought they can put in a typical DLC, this part of Hawke's tale is the most interesting and most involving I've come across. There is a personal sidequest for all your companions, there is significant interaction between who you take with you. They aren't just staring into blank space at all times. There is much you might miss if you rush it, and what you might miss feels so personal, that I would implore you to try again with another character with different companions. No matter the gameplay flaws, Bioware remains the king of videogame writing, and Mark of the Assassin is a shining jewel in the crown that king wears. And for this, I don't regret the purchase.

    In the end, the DLC is almost a return to form in Bioware's legacy. It has its awkward and sometimes forced gameplay mechanics, muddling a well-told, immersive, and engaging tale, which is the right balance of linearity and open-endedness. So buy it, if you want to play a subtle, endearing, and personal gaiden in Hawke's life; otherwise, RSVP "No" to this party.
    Expand
  4. Aug 24, 2013
    5
    Once bitten twice shy. I bought played and disliked DA2 immensely. When offered this DLC it was a no-brainer to absolutely ignore it. I remembered buying all the DLC for DA Origins and yet every single but of it was rubbish. So I will avoid every DLC Bioware ever cooks up from here on out. Suggest that if the broad community of players refuses to buy their bad DLC they will have to adapt and start making DLC that actually enhances the game and represents true value for money.

    THE GROT REVIEW CRITERIA: After a long time writing reviews like an anus, think its time to set a few bad habits straight: Stop insulting designers. Show some respect for the design process and getting games in circulation. Hence (1) No Red scores. (2) Game scores as follows: Bad Game 5/10. Poor Game 6/10. Mediocre Game: 7/10. Good Game 8/10. Great game 9/10. Stella Game 10/10. To get 10/10 it must be a game that can be (theoretically) play-able for 1000+ hours. Not only great but near endless fun. Games may be bad or poor but making them should earn respect. Thus even the worst POS will still be a 5/10. 0/10 no longer exists in my vocabulary. Yellow is the new red. For the sake of accountability: you can reply if needed: Orctowngrot: Tim Rawlins: timtimjp@yahoo.com
    Expand
  5. Oct 27, 2011
    3
    Sigh. Another failure from Bioware, something we've become all too familiar with lately. This DLC has much promise but in the end leaves off all substance. Conversations with NPCs are virtually non-existent and the ones that are are cut short. The ending is infuriating as Bioware continues its penchant for removing all choice from the player's hand, turning their games into the adventure genre rather than role-playing despite claiming to have listened to their fans who have repeatedly complained of this kind of laziness from the writers. The only positive to this DLC is the new scenery and enemies, but when looking at it objectively, it only looks good in comparison to how bad the original game was. One NPC even comments on that, saying that it's a nice change of scenery since all of Kirkwall looks exactly the same, a tongue-in-cheek reference to the developer's reuse of maps in the original. Guess what? Not funny. Kind of like this DLC. It's a bad joke. Expand
  6. Dec 4, 2011
    1
    "Cities always teem with evil and decay. Let's give it a good shake and see what falls out!"
    so i tried to shake DA2 and it's boring city,
    nothing fall out
    "Fool me once, shame on you; fool me twice, watch it! I'm huge!"
    so i avoided buyin DLc for this game, still i was curious, so went to a friend of mine and tried it...

    i'm happy i didn't pay for this, Felicia Day is good in the Guild (or in Buffy etc..)leave her there and out of DA
    if you loved DA2 (there's something wrong in you?) you can like also this money milking content, if like many others you didn't like DA2 avoid this stuff at all costs.
    " I hit, to no effect!? I need a bigger sword!"
    Minsc comes handy again, stop buyin their games if they don't make games that suit you
    Expand
  7. Apr 10, 2014
    0
    Yaaay this DLC is total garbage. Well at least it is not 100% copy pasted like dragon age II, but story and everything in this DLC is boring. Mark of the Assasin is also very short . It is same cash in garbage lik half of the original dragon age DLC, but Original Dragon age was superb RPG, where dragon age II is total trash. Expand

See all 17 User Reviews