Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 45 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.4

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 4247 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: EA announced that a new installment in the Dragon Age series will arrive in the first quarter of 2011.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 45
  2. Negative: 0 out of 45
  1. Mar 14, 2011
    95
    If you were like me and worried about Dragon Age II, you can relax. It's not quite the same game, but where it's different it is better.
  2. Mar 8, 2011
    91
    It may be difficult for hardcore gamers to ignore the revamped combat system, but once you calm down and excuse some minor flaws, you'll find an amazing game in Dragon Age II.
  3. Mar 21, 2011
    88
    Dragon Age II might stir up a little controversy for the radical changes BioWare implemented in the series, but many of them were done to make the game more accessible. It's still the Dragon Age many of us know and love, it's just growing up a bit. If you're looking for a fantastic adventure with incredible dialogue, vastly improved visuals and visceral combat, this game won't disappoint.
  4. Mar 31, 2011
    82
    I found Dragon Age II to last about 27 hours for my first playthrough, split almost evenly between its three acts (though the last was a bit shorter). This was disappointing compared to Origins, which took more than 50 hours, considering both were fully explored at a fairly leisurely pace...With that said, DA2 is still a pretty darn good game.
  5. Mar 20, 2011
    80
    Ultimately, Dragon Age 2 still manages to be a good game, but it will also be a VERY divisive title among RPG fans.
  6. Mar 8, 2011
    80
    But as a game, its streamlined mechanics and more action-oriented combat should appeal to console players, but hardcore fans of PC RPGs may feel slighted.
  7. Apr 12, 2011
    58
    Despite some advancement in storytelling approach and liberal borrowing from Bioware's Mass Effect approach to gameplay, Dragon Age 2 on the PC has a lot of bugs and is populated with re-used settings that make this feel like a play performed on a stage with two sets.

See all 45 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Mar 8, 2011
    10
    I really enjoyed the new combat. Characterization is fantastic. I love the new dialogue system and improved character development.
    This game
    I really enjoyed the new combat. Characterization is fantastic. I love the new dialogue system and improved character development.
    This game is a lot of fun.
    Expand
  2. May 26, 2011
    9
    Dragon Age 2 is a really awesome game. Besides a few bugs (Which will probably be fixed in a couple of patches) it delivers the storyline andDragon Age 2 is a really awesome game. Besides a few bugs (Which will probably be fixed in a couple of patches) it delivers the storyline and gameplay of an RPG. Really, a terrific game Expand
  3. Mar 16, 2011
    7
    shame people cant be realistic with reviews...

    just finished the game and heres what i think PROS: the new combat sysytem is great,
    shame people cant be realistic with reviews...

    just finished the game and heres what i think

    PROS:
    the new combat sysytem is great, allows for more fluid fights so great if you dont like to pause all the time. skill trees that are unique to chracters other than the main, encourages people to try diferant teams rather than the one team all the time. character stats remake, stats are much more role specific making it less strenuous by not having to balace stats. the storyline is extreamly adaptive and unless you actuly try to you will never play it the same way twice, also with the ability to create the backbone of the story with a DAO save.

    CONS:
    the game is based in a single town so the landscape get old. some DAO cons are follow into DA2 such as multiple sotryline 'busness ventures' that the player may invest into or buy and that do not actuly bring in any income other than a possible longer quest line for that 'venture'. some parts of the game put you at a fork with quests allowing you to take one and not the other however it does not specify that you wouldnt be able to do both you simply need to figure it out the hard way. gold just like in DAO is extreamly hard to come buy if your wanted decent items, if you do all the quests and sell everything you find you wil get about 250g total, depending on the dificulty alot of that will be spent on potions, runes and armour for your team so you will only ever have enough gold to buy one item that is 120g or there abouts and saving for it will take all game if you dont skimp.

    even tho this game has alot of cons i dont know any game that doesnt
    i had fun playing this game, i probly wont beat it with every class but i will certainly beat it one more time over on the hardest possible trying to get everything

    with a few patches this game will be much better

    and to all those people who rated this a bad game, i certainly hope your not waiting for D3 to come out coz it wont have much more specially not in the graphics department
    Expand
  4. Mar 18, 2011
    3
    llllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllll Expand
  5. Apr 12, 2011
    2
    A game so totally devoid of all the depths and charm that made the first in the series interesting that it is a wonder to me how Bioware couldA game so totally devoid of all the depths and charm that made the first in the series interesting that it is a wonder to me how Bioware could shove this out the door. It is so dumbed down in quests, background and especially combat that its just a travesty. I feel combat is in such a state of disrepair with teleporting waves of enemies that all tactics and thought is effectively eliminated from the game, all there is left is a "press whatever cooldown is ready" retardations that its worthy of a bungled flashgame Expand
  6. Dec 20, 2011
    1
    Terrible game on pc mediocre graphics, mediocre gameplay, underwhelming story. Just go replay Dragon Age: Origins or Neverwinter Nights 2Terrible game on pc mediocre graphics, mediocre gameplay, underwhelming story. Just go replay Dragon Age: Origins or Neverwinter Nights 2 instead and avoid this disaster. Spiritual successor to Baldur's Gate, MY **** ASS!!!! Expand
  7. Jan 1, 2015
    0
    This is the best RPG in the history of gaming It's better than Baldur's Gate,The Elder Scrolls,The Witcher,World of Warcraft,Fallout,TeraThis is the best RPG in the history of gaming It's better than Baldur's Gate,The Elder Scrolls,The Witcher,World of Warcraft,Fallout,Tera Online,Planescape,Diablo,Star Wars KOTOR,Vampire the Masquerade Bloodlines,Divinity,Mount&Blade,Torchlight,Fable,Gothic,Everquest,Guild Wars,LOTR Online,Legend of Grimrock,Dragon's Dogma,Kingdom of Amalur,Risen 2,Alpha Protocol,Last Remnant

    This game deserves 100 Metascore

    Just kidding this is worst rpg ever made
    Expand

See all 1691 User Reviews