Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 38 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 295 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Designed and written by the same team that brought you Dragon Age: Origins, the Awakening expansion pack offers a brand new area of the world to explore known as Amaranthine, featuring an epic story that will allow players to unravel the secrets of the darkspawn - and their true motivations! Players face a range of horrific and terrifying creatures including an evolved, intelligent breed of darkspawn and other menacing creatures such as the Inferno Golem and Spectral Dragon. Dragon Age: Origins – Awakening provides exciting new ways for players to customize their heroes and party, including the ability to re-spec their character attributes, allowing even greater customization and replayability. Featuring an increased level cap, new spells, abilities, specializations and items, plus five all-new party members, players can continue their adventures from Dragon Age: Origins, or begin with a brand new character. [BioWare] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. It admirably accomplishes what an expansion is supposed to do, and doesn't in any way diminish what made the great one of the best RPGs ever made.
  2. Awakening is a superb expansion to Bioware's role-playing epic and delivers 20+ hours of exciting adventures in Ferelden. The gameplay changes compared to the main game are minimal.
  3. New enemies and ordeals, a bunch of killer abilities, fat loot and a couple of well-fed dragons – what else can a level 20 character wish for?
  4. Dragon Age: Origins - Awakening has the same strengths and weaknesses as the original game. The world is still a bit too generic and everything feels like it was designed by a cold computer who learned about all the possible fantasy worlds out there before deciding what to pick from each of them. Still it's a worthwhile addition to the game, there is loads of stuff to do and managing you own lands is fun. Also the few big decisions are handled very well. The end feels rushed, though, and the lower difficulty level in combat is a bit disappointing. [Apr 2010]
  5. If Dragon Age didn't float your boat, neither will Awakening. Dragon Age enthusiasts, however, should consider it an essential purchase. It offers more of the same - no bad thing - in a great value package.
  6. Awakening is a great expansion. It delivers around 20 hours of role-playing goodness, which flows better and is more varied than what we got in the original game. We also get new and interesting characters and a bunch of new abilities and items to play with.
  7. For your money you get about 15 hours worth of gameplay in a single playthrough, and while that seems a little light in comparison to Origins, it's a decent price for a stand alone expansion pack on a console.

See all 38 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 38
  2. Negative: 4 out of 38
  1. Nov 18, 2011
    10
    it more like a direct sequel than DLC. the skills and specializations have increased in amount and there is so much to do that one could get sucked in all over again. definitely worth the money and then some. Expand
  2. JoshT
    Mar 22, 2010
    9
    I've played 4 days of DAO Awakening so far (about 25 hours). I enjoyed the original DAO (dragon age origins) and I'm loving this expansion just as much. The game entails a lot of good humor and ironies throughout the story line just as in the original DAO. All the detail that is put into the game is remarkable. If you loved DAO, you will love DAO Awakening. The new class abilities are pretty interesting too and allow you to have more buttons to press during combat. I'll make another review when i finish the game. Good so far though. Expand
  3. Jun 9, 2012
    8
    Its definately not bad. It just lacks some of what made Dragon Age Origins great. Its characters are pretty good (especially Justice, Nathaniel, and Anders). However, the lack of romances and the okay plot hold it back a bit. Now that you can get it for like 12 dollars at gamestop, you might as well go buy it. Expand
  4. rpm
    Apr 26, 2011
    7
    I played DA:O and then started Awakening right after that. I think Origins is an excellent game, and the fact that it was so involving is perhaps why I struggled at first to get into the expansion. I spent dozens of hours developing my character, establishing relationships with NPCs (yes, even romantic), and making hundreds of seemingly significant decisions.

    Then, whether you import your Origins character or begin a new one, Awakening seems to pay only cursory notice to what you did in the main game. The only returning NPC companion was the last one I'd have chosen (but I guess that is personal preference), and the new companions may have been interesting but I only got to spend a couple of days with them so they were not very fleshed out.

    The expansion asks more questions than it answers. Very few, if any, of the unresolved plot elements from Origins are answered here, so don't play the expansion expecting closure. I suppose that will be for DA3.

    While it did take me a while to start enjoying this expansion, once I got out and away from the opening location I did find the story to be intriguing, and if it had lasted more than the approximately 15 hrs. of gameplay I am sure I would have enjoyed getting to know the new companions.

    The new skills/talents/spells and other new elements also seem to be logical "expansions" of the original.

    On a negative side, Awakening did have a few "no u-turn" areas where you can play through and follow one path, miss other areas that you can't revisit. Once you "finish" and area you cannot go back and explore to see if you missed anything. One of those areas is the Fade. If you go through a certain area you cannot benefit from full exploration of the previous area.

    Al in all, I'd say it is an odd expansion that was fun to play but seemed more like a separate game unaffected by the original. It is fun though.
    Expand
  5. Mar 11, 2011
    6
    I was looking forward to a continuation of DAO, and Awakening wasn't bad. I did like the political parts of the game, and I wish there was more of them. The only noteworthy character was Anders and the rest were dull. I was disappointed that Awakening added nothing to the plot of DAO and didn't give any closure to the cliffhangers of DAO.

    I'm largely indifferent to this game. It wasn't great, but it could've been worse. I suppose Bioware just wants to give the player another view of the fantasy setting they're attempting to set up.
    Expand
  6. Nov 2, 2012
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The first small disappointment I had with Bioware. True, it's an addon to Origins, but the lack of depth that's now rapidly becoming Bioware canon is already there on the horizon of Awakening. Starts out with not having the option to interact with companions at will and have to wait upon the pleasure, continues with being taken by the hand when it comes to gifts, in case you're to stupid to figure it out by yourself and ends with a very short story. Enjoyable, but the mediocrity is already there and tries to pave the road for the later distasters under that brand. Expand
  7. Sep 8, 2011
    0
    I LOVED origins. Loved it. I loved it so much as soon as I finished it I made a new character and played it again as something different. Then I got to Awakenings....wow, really? It took me three tries to get into it because of the BUGS ( OH MY GOD, SO MANY) and the HUGE story hole right in the beginning. I won't spoil too much, but....suddenly the secret Warden ceremony, remember that? Well it's not so secret anymore and what a joke. I lost all faith in the story from that point and it does get worse. On my third attempt to get through this xpac during the quest in the forest there is a bug where you can lose all of your gear. It is deleted. I'm serious. In fact, now I'm angry about that again and gonna lower this score to 0, it was 3 because the graphics and new spells are good. But, the bugs, oh god the bugs. Expand

See all 38 User Reviews