Dragon Age: Origins PC

User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 3689 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. RichardS
    Jan 2, 2010
    0
    I want to like this game, there is so much to this game and it could be great but sadly bioware released an unfinished product and left it up to YOU to script the AI. In order to play anything above easy you have to babysit your entire team because if you don't they'll run backwards into walls, blast you in the back with their spells, or the rogue will constantly try to tank and I want to like this game, there is so much to this game and it could be great but sadly bioware released an unfinished product and left it up to YOU to script the AI. In order to play anything above easy you have to babysit your entire team because if you don't they'll run backwards into walls, blast you in the back with their spells, or the rogue will constantly try to tank and the tank try to sit off in a corner somewhere and play with his thumbs. Bioware placed a tactics page in the game, which is script sets with sugar-coated labels on them so it doesn't look like script sets. The Preset script sets make the AI about as retarded as the AI on Halo, leaving it to you to do bioware's job scripting the game's AI. I am sorry, but no matter how good a game is the company has no right to release a product unfinished and leave it to the consumers to complete their job. Expand
  2. AngusC
    Nov 27, 2009
    1
    The good part of this game is that it runs when you click the icon. Past that it is a relic. The interface was cutting edge at the turn of the century filled in with almost as many cutscenes as final fantasy series about a world which you will have to force yourself to care about. If you play the Dwarf Noble story arch, expect a no win situation after a few hours of play to remove your The good part of this game is that it runs when you click the icon. Past that it is a relic. The interface was cutting edge at the turn of the century filled in with almost as many cutscenes as final fantasy series about a world which you will have to force yourself to care about. If you play the Dwarf Noble story arch, expect a no win situation after a few hours of play to remove your items, especially the DLC items you paid for, and there is no way to get them back. Did I say a few hours of play? No I meant 10 to 20 minutes of running around learning the interface and an hour and a half plus of dialogue that rambles on and that your choices in the dialogue have no bearing on affecting the story or your inevitable exile. This game could have been a dvd and the UI ran by a simple TV remote. It should be 20 bucks to watch as a movie. The archaic baldurs gate/and MMO out there UI is junk for todays gamer. I have forced myself to play through the first 15 levels of a few of the story archs and they are all the same after the 2 hours of initial dialogue and the DLC is nothing to write home about, providing an extra character which should render the Dwarf Story Line of the game useless and a keep which gets you slightly better than beginning armor and 2 merchants who have sets of armor for each of the tiers and some crafting mats. The game can be played on Auto pilot and should be for that fact, any deviations from your parties default tactics and you will be forced to manually control them which would be a good thing if there was any control on the characters, but no its a simple auto attack game that you can program each character to fight specifically. Every few minutes expect 10 minutes of dialogue all repeating dialogue either read or spoken in the Codex or cutscene. Perfect game for people who do not like to control many aspects of the game. Less control than your average mmorg ui. If you are looking for an epic fantasy game, wait for Elder Scrolls 5. If you are looking to play a game that uses a 10+ year old ui with an upgrade to the textures file then this is your game. On my last note customizing your character's class is annoying until you play through the whole game and get it right a second complete play through. If you want to play a specific set of Class Specializations like an Arcane Warrior/Blood Mage you need to know how to find these specs or like my mage you will find them too late and not even use your Specialization before the end of the game. Bioware had a good reputation for games, I have always been happy with them, but this game shows that like all companies, when you get successful you becomes lazy and trying to revive a 10 year old UI by covering it up with new graphics, too much blood that almost never goes away and a tedious ammount of dialogue is just plain lazy. Even if they had tried an action base ui where clicking a mouse button meant something other than activating an icon it would have been 100 times better. This game is no where near the quality that Bioshock or Mass Effect were and I am worried that they will be lazy on the sequels to those great titles and personally I hope there is no Dragon Age: Origins 2 as it will further my belief that Bioware is going the route of so many companies before it and just getting all mighty dollar by any short cut possible. Expand
  3. KannedFarU
    Jan 14, 2010
    4
    I think this game was overrated. It feels like I'm playing KOTR all over again, and to be honest I never really liked those games. I don't get any thrill out of pushing a button and watching my characters do all the work. That's what separates this game from Mass Effect really. The character progression and story telling is interesting but none of the endings are really I think this game was overrated. It feels like I'm playing KOTR all over again, and to be honest I never really liked those games. I don't get any thrill out of pushing a button and watching my characters do all the work. That's what separates this game from Mass Effect really. The character progression and story telling is interesting but none of the endings are really good enough for me to waste my time saying the right things. I'd almost rather have the storyboard pre-written. As far as gameplay goes I found the camera to be very frustrating at times. When you're in RTS mode the camera is stationary but can be difficult to select certain characters without pausing the game and moving it ever so slowly into position. So I find that selecting while in 3rd person was easier. This was not the case as selecting a character in 3rd person mode even when clicking and dragging caused the camera to fly over to the newly selected character. It seems to have failed at being an RTS and failed at being a 3rd person RPG. There are times where the game becomes entirely too frustrating. I believe that for an enjoyable experience the average user should be able to survive every encounter on their first try, where as in this game you tend to get ambushed a lot and die, only to have to try 3 different strategies while the game nags you to turn down the difficulty setting. Money in the game is scarce, so if you want the best equipment you usually have to substitute it for junk you pick up from monster drops just so you can spend all of your hard earned cash purchasing elfroots so you can create enough health potions to make it through the next dungeon. I know the solution to health potions should be get a healer, but the healer abilities in this game suck. They don't heal for many points. Towards the end of the game my warrior had a 37 constitution and the healer couldn't even fill 1/4th his health with the best healing spell. The health potions were really the only way I could drag myself to the horrible ending. Mass Effect had similar moments but I think the healing system was much better balanced and moving and shooting made survival more skill dependent rather than dice roll. Other than the healing issue, the spells were another big issue. Everyone who loves to play as a mage will find that only the beginner spells are useful as most of the higher level magic has lots of splash damage that will hurt your own teammates. Since health is a very limited resource to begin with, unlocking the higher level attack spells was pointless because every encounter where you would want to use splash damage was against warriors that were guess what, standing right next to your teammates, sometimes even right next to the spell caster >:O. The story here isn't anything to get excited about. The game literally copied the style of the LOTR movies even down to Dwarven architecture. The same old type cast (The Dwarves dug too deep and got bum rushed by demons) stories are told. Also I didn't see a NewGame+ which is always a big deal for me when I play RPGs. I always loved playing Crono Trigger from the beginning but with the characters I left off with. This allows me to really explore the characters abilities without having to look for something to kill at the end of the game with nothing to do to kill time. What can I take from this game that's good? Well the game has a lot of movie references which at times are fun to keep an eye out for. I haven't found a lvl cap in the game @ 21 though I'm sure it's there (Should never be a lvl cap on single player games :P). Though I felt the environments were kinda copied stylistically they were very beautiful and fun to explore. The quests required you to read the dialogue rather than get a quest pointer and off you go without any real clue as to what you're doing. This made the game more immersive. Building relationships with your party members was actually challenging at times. You really had to pay attention to how the characters acted so you would know how to talk in front of them and to them. I take Morrigan for example, she's kind of cynical and tries to do lots of things to her own benefit. When I tried to be nice to her, she would tend to dislike me more because I'm concentrating more on her than myself. This was a good feature as it made the characters seem more like real people than shoddy cardboard characters with one purpose in the whole game. I really felt like this game should have been balanced a little better, and that every single spell/ability had a specific use for some point in the game. Another EA title feels entirely too rushed to me, and I was ready to give them a second chance hearing that they changed management and fixed all their problems. EA needs to stop accumulating companies and cutting their budgets, let the developers make the game not the publishers. Expand
  4. JasonW
    Jan 22, 2010
    4
    I am so sorry I didn't like this game. Perhaps it's bc I got the xbox 360 version, perhaps it was bc it has been so long since I've played a good fantasy rpg that my sights had been set too high. Either way I stopped playing this game after the third time I feel asleep. Twice I nodded off during dialog, but the last time I was in combat and it was so boring I found myself I am so sorry I didn't like this game. Perhaps it's bc I got the xbox 360 version, perhaps it was bc it has been so long since I've played a good fantasy rpg that my sights had been set too high. Either way I stopped playing this game after the third time I feel asleep. Twice I nodded off during dialog, but the last time I was in combat and it was so boring I found myself unable to keep my head up. I never fall asleep playing a game, and it was the middle of the day, not like I had been up playing till the wee hours of the morning. As a matter of fact I dozed off after having only played the game for 30 minutes! I love rpgs, they are my favorite genre, and until this game I've loved every Bioware rpg they have produced. I spent hours searching every nook and barrel in Baulder's Gate, Icewind Dale, and Torment. Played through the xbox version of Baulder's Gate 1 and 2 single, then multiplayer. I even played through Mass Effect 5 times!! I'm sorry I don't like this game. I really wanted to. Expand
  5. FrancisC.
    Jan 29, 2010
    3
    Dragon Age has the most annoying control and combat system of any RPG I have played. Also It's almost hard to call it a game with all the stupid conversations with NPC's that are far far far to longwinded. The game world is also far to rigid as to where you can and can't go, it's so terribly scripted. A major disappointment. You are much better off with an open free Dragon Age has the most annoying control and combat system of any RPG I have played. Also It's almost hard to call it a game with all the stupid conversations with NPC's that are far far far to longwinded. The game world is also far to rigid as to where you can and can't go, it's so terribly scripted. A major disappointment. You are much better off with an open free flowing game like Oblivion. Expand
  6. GaryR
    Jan 9, 2010
    4
    Too many bugs, I have had to restart more than once, or use other means to get around shoddy programming.
  7. GordonF
    Feb 8, 2010
    4
    Dragon Age: Origins was a very disappointing game for me. I played most of the good RPGs and I played this because the fan community recommended me to do so. I had high expectations since Bioware made the best RPGs this far. This game is just dull. First of all, conversations are boring and you can even curse someone's mother without any serious consequence. Of course some party Dragon Age: Origins was a very disappointing game for me. I played most of the good RPGs and I played this because the fan community recommended me to do so. I had high expectations since Bioware made the best RPGs this far. This game is just dull. First of all, conversations are boring and you can even curse someone's mother without any serious consequence. Of course some party members may disagree with you, but you can always give them a ring or pendant to make them feel better after you forced them to slaughter innocent puppies. Party AI is ridiculous. Forst I started a warrior but my team hardly survived without healing. Okay then I started a healing (wtf?) mage. I ended up being a healbot of my fellow NPCs. If I dared to shoot a fireball or something like that, all mobs started to attack me and if I unfortunately went down, only the limited amount of healing potions could save my little lemmings. Turning AI on/off didn't help much. So you might call me gay but I died a lot. I didn't know first that this game has a console version, then after 3 hours of gameplay I became suspicious... "hey... this game is dumb and primitive... it must have a console version." And yes, I was right. Nowadays PC games become more and more dull, they lack original ideas. Of course they give us spectacular graphics (in case of DA:O I could argue) but on the cost of story, excitement. If this is the future of PC gaming I think I'd rather buy a dog, or hang myself. Expand
  8. jayk
    Dec 1, 2009
    0
    40 % of the game is watching cut scenes. 20% is answering multiple choice questions on what to say and how to reply. 40% is running and combat. this is a very slow paced game with invisible walls everywhere. not an open world.
  9. DonnieB.R.
    Dec 7, 2009
    0
    Insanely claustrophobic. Mindnumbingly boring conversations. Horribly boring, cliche' story. Terribly boring items. Did I say boring? Almost no customizations. No advancement, generic skills. NO freedom at all (Is this some kind of joke, years after games like Gothic 3 or Oblivion? Playing on 15 x 20m areasy? Loading screens every minute? You gotta be kidding me. There is absolutely Insanely claustrophobic. Mindnumbingly boring conversations. Horribly boring, cliche' story. Terribly boring items. Did I say boring? Almost no customizations. No advancement, generic skills. NO freedom at all (Is this some kind of joke, years after games like Gothic 3 or Oblivion? Playing on 15 x 20m areasy? Loading screens every minute? You gotta be kidding me. There is absolutely nothing in this game that warrants a good score. No, not even the graphic. A true shame on Bioware, and its reviews are marking the death of independent gaming journalism. Expand
  10. GregS
    Jan 10, 2010
    0
    It has most of what makes a great RPG. The story is interesting, the voice acting is good, and I loved manipulating everyone to my own ends in the beginning as a mage. However, this game is completely and utterly broken for one reason - the combat. It plays similar to a WoW clone sans actual people controlling your allies, and it works about as well as it sounds. To attempt to fix the It has most of what makes a great RPG. The story is interesting, the voice acting is good, and I loved manipulating everyone to my own ends in the beginning as a mage. However, this game is completely and utterly broken for one reason - the combat. It plays similar to a WoW clone sans actual people controlling your allies, and it works about as well as it sounds. To attempt to fix the problem of having all these abilities at your allies' disposal and no humans to give them orders (unless you pause the game and micromanage every single action of your allies), Bioware has essentially copied the gambit system from FFXII, and that works about as well as it did in that game. Which is not at all. While there is an obvious advantage to scripting your allies' AI to suit your own purposes, even with scripts that should have had my allies fighting the sames things as I was, they acted retarded. Apparently, it makes more sense to spread to the four corners of the world where you can be picked off easily than to fight in one group. What could have been a great game has had all its potential destroyed by the absolute worst AI I have ever seen; AI even worse than that of Call of Duty 4 and Medieval II: Total War. Expand
  11. NathanA
    Jan 4, 2010
    4
    This game is absolutely terrible. The companion AI is so bad as to make the game practically unplayable without pausing the game between EVERY action. I literally had warriors sitting there doing nothing while my mage character took a beating from all the monsters. The so-called morally ambiguous dilemmas are absolutely terrible. In real life, many situations have a clear "right" This game is absolutely terrible. The companion AI is so bad as to make the game practically unplayable without pausing the game between EVERY action. I literally had warriors sitting there doing nothing while my mage character took a beating from all the monsters. The so-called morally ambiguous dilemmas are absolutely terrible. In real life, many situations have a clear "right" decision, which usually conflicts with what you want to do. Hence, the dilemma. In Dragon Age, there are no right answers. No matter what you do, you end up feeling like a jerk because you screwed over virtual people. The cutscenes are waaaay too boring and numerous. Thankfully they are skippable. If they weren't, this game would have a negative score. I have to admit that I am more of an action RPG fan. I was hoping this would be playable as a decent action RPG to tide me until Diablo 3 comes out, but apparently I was wrong. The AI is simply too terrible. From the screenshots it looked as if it would play rather like an RTS, but it's too hard to click on your units in the middle of battle. I guess you could click on the pictures to select them but that requires moving your mouse outside of the battle zone. This seems like it would be a pretty fun game if it didn't have so many issues. Honestly I can't believe the reviewers rated it so high. I think the user reviews much better reflect the quality of the game, since it has a VERY VERY VERY limited appeal. I played this game for 2 hours and can't stand it anymore, I'm uninstalling it from my computer. I was going to rate it a 0, but I CAN see how it would be appealing to some people, so I decided to go with a 4. Expand
  12. MichaelN
    Jan 8, 2010
    4
    I'm not sure whether people are still bursting with love from Bioware's previous efforts, but this game is nowhere near a 9, much less above a 7. Fans of slow dungeon crawling, where reading endless amounts of text and stiff, turned base combat is everyday fare might enjoy SOME of this game, but the rest of us will rip our hair out in frustration. AI is nonexistent, the graphics I'm not sure whether people are still bursting with love from Bioware's previous efforts, but this game is nowhere near a 9, much less above a 7. Fans of slow dungeon crawling, where reading endless amounts of text and stiff, turned base combat is everyday fare might enjoy SOME of this game, but the rest of us will rip our hair out in frustration. AI is nonexistent, the graphics aren't worthy of a $50 game, and the controls are terrible. The camera is forced to follow you around, which in turn forces you to use W, A, S, and D to move, since clicking the landscape to move is impossible with a frantic camera moving every time you turn an inch. Lastly, the story has been done a million times, the "mature" themes come off as a joke, and the dialogue takes forever. The cutscenes are almost as bad, but at least you can skip them. If you are looking for a game that plays or feels anything like the trailer for this, look elsewhere. If you are looking for a boring, sluggish game with graphics from three years ago, this is for you. Expand
  13. mikeF
    Feb 11, 2010
    3
    I am not sure who are the professionals that rated this game but they were paid off if they rated it any higher than 3. The game is just a choose your own adventure of dialogue. The combat was an after thought in the worst way possible. On the first playthrough i set it to hard and 20 minutes into the game i had to put it on nightmare to see if it was any more challenging. Sadly it I am not sure who are the professionals that rated this game but they were paid off if they rated it any higher than 3. The game is just a choose your own adventure of dialogue. The combat was an after thought in the worst way possible. On the first playthrough i set it to hard and 20 minutes into the game i had to put it on nightmare to see if it was any more challenging. Sadly it wasn't as the AI is appears to be programmed from games 20 years ago. Compound that with the ability to chain chug potions and you have a game that's not even remotely as tactical as they say it is. Reminded me a lot of Diablo 2 just with a bunch of dialogue. How much does it say for a game when you can setup the IN GAME AI and watch it beat itself on the hardest setting??? Expand
  14. SandorV
    Dec 10, 2009
    0
    cite: "Donnie B. R. gave it a0: Insanely claustrophobic. Mindnumbingly boring conversations. Horribly boring, cliche' story. Terribly boring items. Did I say boring? Almost no customizations. No advancement, generic skills. NO freedom at all (Is this some kind of joke, years after games like Gothic 3 or Oblivion? Playing on 15 x 20m areasy? Loading screens every minute? You gotta be cite: "Donnie B. R. gave it a0: Insanely claustrophobic. Mindnumbingly boring conversations. Horribly boring, cliche' story. Terribly boring items. Did I say boring? Almost no customizations. No advancement, generic skills. NO freedom at all (Is this some kind of joke, years after games like Gothic 3 or Oblivion? Playing on 15 x 20m areasy? Loading screens every minute? You gotta be kidding me. There is absolutely nothing in this game that warrants a good score. No, not even the graphic. A true shame on Bioware, and its reviews are marking the death of independent gaming journalism." i agree at all Expand
  15. CharlieA
    Dec 21, 2009
    2
    I was really excited when I got this game, but it soon faded as the harsh reality of a boring combat system emerged, I tried to play on but to no avail. I really struggle to see why everyone loves this game, sure the graphics are nice, yeah it has quite rich content, but that doesn't redeem the RTS/RPG reject offspring of a combat system, I've mass effect and i thought it was I was really excited when I got this game, but it soon faded as the harsh reality of a boring combat system emerged, I tried to play on but to no avail. I really struggle to see why everyone loves this game, sure the graphics are nice, yeah it has quite rich content, but that doesn't redeem the RTS/RPG reject offspring of a combat system, I've mass effect and i thought it was brilliant, but this was a complete let down tbh. Expand
  16. antoniod
    Dec 24, 2009
    3
    It's only good when compared to games in the crpg category released in recent years. Now, if I were to compare it to Vamp: Bloodlines, Planescape: Torment, Arcanum or Fallout 2 then it was a major disappointment. Especially considering how even Baldur's Gate was done better, a game that's pretty much its predecessor.
  17. ChrisM
    Dec 28, 2009
    4
    After having played the game for a sum total of 5 hours, I was surprised it had not gripped me as I thought it would. RPG's from BioWare are always amazing games but after having recently finished Mass Effect (twice, one after another) I can honestly say BioWare lost the plot here. The graphics were lacklustre, dialogue was completely appauling and contributed almost nothing of real After having played the game for a sum total of 5 hours, I was surprised it had not gripped me as I thought it would. RPG's from BioWare are always amazing games but after having recently finished Mass Effect (twice, one after another) I can honestly say BioWare lost the plot here. The graphics were lacklustre, dialogue was completely appauling and contributed almost nothing of real value and the combat system gets boring after a few hours after which it becomes to feel grind-like. Add this to the extremely linear world (fast-travel map system), common load screens, inability to form an emotional connection with party members (within the first 5 hours I lost atleast 4 through the story, which gave little time to connect or feel for these NPCs). I am bewildered like many other users' as to how this game got rated so highly. It is completely unoriginal and definitely not an all-time great "RPG" by any means. The only redeeming quality of the title has to be voice acting and the origin stories which I found quite interesting, but nevertheless hardly original. If you're expected to soak up to and exceeding 50+ hours in this game it has to be amazing from start to finish and this game wasn't even amazing from the start. Do yourself a favour; if you don't have lots of spare time, aren't a hardcore RPG fan or enjoy having a compelling storyline in your games, stay away from this title! Play another RPG such as Fallout 3 or another BioWare offering of Mass Effect. It will be a much better use of your time. Expand
  18. GabeT
    Jan 23, 2010
    1
    The only appeal of this game is the extensive story line, but I found that after about 6 hours of game time I'd gotten in maybe 10 combat encounters. The only reason to play this game is to see the storyline to it's conclusion, but sadly interest in that goal is lost long before that. Unless you are a fiend for boring NPC cutscreens, stay the hell away from this game.
  19. Gyrolin
    Jan 27, 2010
    2
    After completing Dragon Age: Origins, I was sorely disappointed. The high reviews made the game seem like it would be something innovative or new, when it was really just a cheap Neverwinter knockoff with no multiplayer or campaign editor. Below is my breakdown: Pros: Party members have diverse personalities Good voice acting Challenging Mildly interesting story Decent NPC After completing Dragon Age: Origins, I was sorely disappointed. The high reviews made the game seem like it would be something innovative or new, when it was really just a cheap Neverwinter knockoff with no multiplayer or campaign editor. Below is my breakdown: Pros: Party members have diverse personalities Good voice acting Challenging Mildly interesting story Decent NPC interaction(Though way too much of it) Cons: Unoriginal concept Controls not intuitive Poor gear system(lack of decent upgrading system) Repetitive questing Inventory system makes selling a pain Very linear after the 'origin' quests Not enough options for party tactics Leveling up was unrewarding Crafting system is poor Way too much talking to NPCs Limited skills planned for Fighters/Rogues Prestige classing was pointless Shameless DLC plugs everywhere throughout the game Graphics sub-par for what was advertised Boring all the way through The cons list can go on and on, but I have to stop at some point. As hard as I've tried I really cannot come up with any more pros than are listed. The reason that I gave this game a 2 is that at the end of the 25 hours it took me to beat the game, I felt that all the time had been wasted. This is the first time I've played a fantasy RPG and not enjoyed myself in the 15+ years I've been PC gaming. My personal opinion is that DAO is a no buy/no play. If you respect what little free time you have to play games, just stay away from this one. Expand
  20. RobertW
    Nov 28, 2009
    4
    Slow moving throwback to about 2004. Too much replay required and slow loads make gameplay unfullfilling. I guess I have been spoiled by Fallout 3 and Bioshock.
  21. DennisW.
    Nov 3, 2009
    1
    The DLC redemption process so completely extracts whatever fun there is in the game and beats with a spiked club until it disappears in to the ground. There are multiple ids, emails, passwords, screen names, account names, etc. to create to get even ONE piece of DLC that you get for FREE with purchase that I am no so angry I have no desire to play the game. And wobetide the person who The DLC redemption process so completely extracts whatever fun there is in the game and beats with a spiked club until it disappears in to the ground. There are multiple ids, emails, passwords, screen names, account names, etc. to create to get even ONE piece of DLC that you get for FREE with purchase that I am no so angry I have no desire to play the game. And wobetide the person who enters something WRONG - there are no error messages - just start over and guess. Expand
  22. Methesda
    Dec 13, 2009
    1
    I can't get what has impressed everyone... there is a story here, but it's not in anyway interesting or original. Voice acting is good, but the animation and graphics are either wooden or horribly glitchy ('antialiasing' of hair, head rotation at a constant speed making actors seem robotic). The comabt system is the same combat system that has been in use for decades; I can't get what has impressed everyone... there is a story here, but it's not in anyway interesting or original. Voice acting is good, but the animation and graphics are either wooden or horribly glitchy ('antialiasing' of hair, head rotation at a constant speed making actors seem robotic). The comabt system is the same combat system that has been in use for decades; to my limited experience it is basically a FF generic RPG system. in itself is not bad But combined with the constant interuptions for cut scenes compounded by the seriously limiting gameplay areas, i found it impossible to get into any kind of flow with the game. The crafting and loots systems are inferior to many other games. I've enjoyed most Elder Scrolls games, Final Fantasy games, and a handful of other games, including MMO's. Most tellingly, i've enjoyed MMO's story and combat systems better than this game, which simply shouldn't be the case. I'm not sure why I'm even giving this game one point. Expand
  23. NabiguzojeK
    Dec 16, 2009
    4
    I have played for 5 hours only, but nevertheless i'm already getting bored by the game. And rating is failing with time that i have spend on this game, so probably in couple of gameplay hours i will rate the game even worse. In my eyes RPG is not so about weapons or magic that i'm wielding but about my impact to imaginary world and in this game my impact is 0 since everything is I have played for 5 hours only, but nevertheless i'm already getting bored by the game. And rating is failing with time that i have spend on this game, so probably in couple of gameplay hours i will rate the game even worse. In my eyes RPG is not so about weapons or magic that i'm wielding but about my impact to imaginary world and in this game my impact is 0 since everything is preset and you will follow the main qest straight forwardly. Blood and gore are too boring, and i have switched it off immediately since i dont want to be covered with blood constantly. Dog is nice, but it cannot be compared with beloved Dogmeat (Fallout one) On good side, i like wielding the sword, but since this is pure hack and slash (with load of cinematic and stupid dialogs that are useless since story is obvious) Diablo (or any clone) is much better option for gaming 50 euros for this is waaaaay to much Expand
  24. MarkH.
    Dec 2, 2009
    4
    Yes, it's pretty. Yes, the soundtrack is excellent. Beyond this, it's nothing you haven't already seen or played a thousand times, it's excruciatingly tedious, and I've more often than not found all but one character in the party dead, with the lone survivor running laps around a tree while being chased by an adversary, waiting for my mana or stamina to recharge Yes, it's pretty. Yes, the soundtrack is excellent. Beyond this, it's nothing you haven't already seen or played a thousand times, it's excruciatingly tedious, and I've more often than not found all but one character in the party dead, with the lone survivor running laps around a tree while being chased by an adversary, waiting for my mana or stamina to recharge so I can actually fight. All in all, it's tedious, long, and I'm giving it another hour before I delete it. Expand
  25. ManuelA
    Dec 24, 2009
    0
    It's decent for the kind of games the industry's been feeding us. The dumbing down is certainly out of hand. This is pretty much a simplified, in all its features, version of Baldur's Gate. And even BG wasn't all that good to begin with if you were to compare it to Arcanum or PS:T.
  26. DanS.
    Dec 24, 2009
    0
    Overrated. Conversation options are merely cosmetic; almost all of them are inconsequential and lead towards the same path. Mindless dungeon crawl with a weak combat system. The antagonists lack depth.
  27. [ANONYMOUS]
    Nov 21, 2009
    3
    By the time I started this game I was already certain that I'd played it before. Why is that? That's because it's practically identical to any other RPG in the genre. The only redeeming quality is that it's decently pretty to look at. The spells however aren't really anything to be excited about. The incredibly linear character development progression is a shame. By the time I started this game I was already certain that I'd played it before. Why is that? That's because it's practically identical to any other RPG in the genre. The only redeeming quality is that it's decently pretty to look at. The spells however aren't really anything to be excited about. The incredibly linear character development progression is a shame. It seems the developers of this game had never heard of a "Skill Tree" Yes, there are options, but they're all in a line. Nothing branches off. This game just took an old concept and tried to beautify it. Mission Accomplished. But it did nothing to improve it on any meaningful basis. If you like games like this, I'd have to recommend Dungeon Siege. It's older, but it's a step up. WAY UP. Expand
  28. WonderWorm
    Nov 22, 2009
    2
    Compared to Elder Scrolls, Dragon age is very disappointing with its linear closed world. It puts up this facade that makes it seem you have some options and a non-linear game, but the game world is tiny and all paths lead to the same conclusion. The Battle system is really lacking as well, as if they could not decide if they wanted to make an RPG or an RTS/RTT. Although consequently as Compared to Elder Scrolls, Dragon age is very disappointing with its linear closed world. It puts up this facade that makes it seem you have some options and a non-linear game, but the game world is tiny and all paths lead to the same conclusion. The Battle system is really lacking as well, as if they could not decide if they wanted to make an RPG or an RTS/RTT. Although consequently as the critics point out you could spend more time in the pause screen than actually doing anything. Basically this game has nothing new or interesting to offer the RPG genre and that alone would be 5/10. The insanely numerous load screens that fairly often crash and the very dated design polished with fancy graphics 2/10 seems generous. Expand
  29. CallanR
    Dec 13, 2009
    2
    I am truly mystified by the universal acclaim this game has gotten. The first few hours of the game ARE good, very good even. However the novelty quickly fades as you progress further into the game. The game is totally linear with little to do other than the main 'quest' that furthers the storyline; all but one or two of the side quests are brief, uninteresting and completely I am truly mystified by the universal acclaim this game has gotten. The first few hours of the game ARE good, very good even. However the novelty quickly fades as you progress further into the game. The game is totally linear with little to do other than the main 'quest' that furthers the storyline; all but one or two of the side quests are brief, uninteresting and completely unrewarding. Furthermore the emphasis the game places on the overarching purpose of the main character is bizarre: you are warned of a big bad archdemon and a giant army of evil darkspawn, but these are quickly forgotten as you trudge through boring, uninteresting dungeons/quests for 50 hours in order to 'get ready' to fight the darkspawn army. While playing on hard, the combat is rewarding in the sense that the game is difficult and you will be forced to tweak your tactics for each particular battle, which is a good thing. The problem is that there are really only a handful of skills that are worthwhile, I couldn't imagine playing this game without Cone of Cold. Some skills/spell trees border on unuseable, and with such a slim selection of skills this narrows down your selection quite a bit. The absence of a concrete storyline in the twilight portions of the game is particularly frustrating. While having a direct influence on the outcome on the main storyline/other characters is obviously a must for an RPG, Bioware literally leaves almost everything up to the player in the latter portions of the game. Having a choice is good: giving the player too much choice leaves the experience empty and kind of hollow as you no longer feel like you are immersed in a storyline, rather you are just finishing the ending yourself for the writers. In the end, the game is long, grindy, boring and unrewarding. The items, skills and sidequests are all incredibly bland, and the world has little charm. Some of the characters ARE interesting (Zevran, Sten) while others are cookie cutter characitures and feel completely dead and predictable (Alistair and Leliana, and Morrigan is one of the most awful annoying characters to ever grace video games). The world is filled with red tape, and 90% of the gameplay is in effect waiting as all you are doing for dozens of hours is getting ready gathering an army for one battle sequence that lasts no more than an hour or two. I really wanted to like this game but was sorely disappointed in it. Expand
  30. MattG
    Dec 23, 2009
    4
    good storyline, voice acting, graphics? ok, but the gameplay is what killed the game. Oh look an enemy. "click".. 5 seconds later oh look another enemy. "click" and then theres the boss, lets use tactics and our skills to kill it! oh wait, we only have stun abilities which dont work on bosses... Overall the gameplay was depressing, but i thought it had an epic storyline, i loved having good storyline, voice acting, graphics? ok, but the gameplay is what killed the game. Oh look an enemy. "click".. 5 seconds later oh look another enemy. "click" and then theres the boss, lets use tactics and our skills to kill it! oh wait, we only have stun abilities which dont work on bosses... Overall the gameplay was depressing, but i thought it had an epic storyline, i loved having people at my knees begging for mercy, that was the best part of the game. Expand
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 67 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 66 out of 67
  2. Negative: 0 out of 67
  1. If you're into rpgs, or rather if you love roleplaying in general, there's really no need to waste time reading any reviews of this game. The same goes if you regard games like Planescape: Torment, Fallout 2 and the Baldurs Gate-series among the best computer games ever made. Because this game is everything a person like you look for in a game, and so much more. Be aware though, Dragon Age: Origins is not a revolution of the genre, rather it is an evolution, where Bioware has refined everything that made them into a formula as close to perfection as possible. Without a doubt one of the strongest Game of the year-candidates so far this year and a game we will remember with warm feelings many years to come.
  2. PC Gamer
    92
    An outstanding story-driven RPG with fantastic writing, RPG depth and tough tactical combat. It's BioWare's best RPG since Baldur's Gate 2. [Holiday 2009, p.38]
  3. Dragon Age Origins will keep you in front of your computer for hours! Graphics, sounds and the controls couldn’t be much better!