Dragon Age: Origins PC

User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 3676 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JohnG
    Nov 26, 2009
    10
    I usually don't stop to rate games on review websites like this, but seeing the lousy 8.6 score gave me a bit of pause. I believe that this is far and away the most immersive RPG I've ever played. It is also the first RPG that actually made me feel that the choices I made had real consequences. The dialogue options have a lot of variety and at times I find myself wondering what I usually don't stop to rate games on review websites like this, but seeing the lousy 8.6 score gave me a bit of pause. I believe that this is far and away the most immersive RPG I've ever played. It is also the first RPG that actually made me feel that the choices I made had real consequences. The dialogue options have a lot of variety and at times I find myself wondering what would have happened in response had I chosen something else. The combat system is wonderful, I love the tactics involved. Although the system of pausing and issuing orders makes combat seem almost turn based in complicated situations it also feels more rewarding to me personally after having out matched my opponents on a strategic level. The only real critism I have is that outside of specialization, character customization is a bit limited, there aren't really many important talent trade offs. Any time I make a Tank character it's pretty much going to be the same build or if I make a rogue or archer or healer or mage. I would have liked it more had I been forced to choose talents that would make a more magic oriented tank or more single target oriented damage dealer etc. Maybe I was just looking for a more fleshed out specialization system. Anyway back to how awesome the game is; Dragon Age Origins is definitely a game that I recommend buying even just as a salute to the developers for great game making. Even though I haven't finished the game I already see myself spending hours and hours repeatedly playing it through with different classes and on different difficulties; and even now I feel a bit anxieous that I might finish it too soon and have to dread waiting for a new expansion or sequel. Expand
  2. andrzejr
    Nov 23, 2009
    10
    Love it. I'm enjoying this way more than Baldur's Gate, and I was very happy with that one. This is definitely a successor to that in every way that matters and then some. Too bad all the console gamers won't get to enjoy the visual beauty that the pc version offers.
  3. Mark
    Dec 10, 2009
    10
    Dragon Age Origins is not a perfect game, but I can't rate it at an even 9. The game takes you into a fantasy world that you don't want to leave. It is a single player experience that I haven't had since I played Oblivion. While the gameplay is not exactly like that of the Elder Scrolls series, it is close in its theme. I had never played an RPG like this before, because I Dragon Age Origins is not a perfect game, but I can't rate it at an even 9. The game takes you into a fantasy world that you don't want to leave. It is a single player experience that I haven't had since I played Oblivion. While the gameplay is not exactly like that of the Elder Scrolls series, it is close in its theme. I had never played an RPG like this before, because I found the whole concept rather tedious. After my friend saying that he was pretty jazzed about getting this game, I vowed to give it an honest try. By the time I'd finished the origin portion of the game, I was completely hooked. The voice acting is excellent for the most part, and the graphics are pretty good, although the PC version requirements seem to be considerably high for the graphics quality. My son has no trouble with playing it with his dual core AMD CPU, but he has a pretty good graphics card. I guess the best thing I could say about the game, is that I don't want it to end. After playing for more than 50 hours I still have a way to go before finishing my first play through. I will play it through again after giving it a break for a couple of months, and try my hand at a different class of character. That must tell you something. Expand
  4. Oct 21, 2010
    10
    The best. Ever. Sure, game preference is entirely subjective, but I cant help but feel that the negative review scores this game received were provided by people who never actually played the game. From the start, it's clear that the world of Thedas is an epic place, with conflict, nuances, and thousands of years of history. Likely you disagree, but don't believe the gamers giving thisThe best. Ever. Sure, game preference is entirely subjective, but I cant help but feel that the negative review scores this game received were provided by people who never actually played the game. From the start, it's clear that the world of Thedas is an epic place, with conflict, nuances, and thousands of years of history. Likely you disagree, but don't believe the gamers giving this game a poor score. Beyond being a sublime game, dragon age origins pushes the boundaries of emotion, choice, and freedom within gaming. DAO doesn't simply faithfully receive Baldur's Gate II's mantle of best game out there, it rips that mante from BG2's cold, dead hands, then uses it as a weapon to single handedly enslave every other game in existence. Expand
  5. KennethR
    Jan 10, 2010
    10
    Out of dozens and dozens, this is one of the few 100 hour games I played to the end, and the only one I played twice in a row to the end. I had to say something...the criticisms are mostly wildly off target. I'm a professional writer, and this is the only game where I played long scenes just to hear the dialog and get the backstory. Micromanagement? Yeah, but you can still win just Out of dozens and dozens, this is one of the few 100 hour games I played to the end, and the only one I played twice in a row to the end. I had to say something...the criticisms are mostly wildly off target. I'm a professional writer, and this is the only game where I played long scenes just to hear the dialog and get the backstory. Micromanagement? Yeah, but you can still win just by making quick guesses. No graphic sex? Duh, read the label it reads "Partial Nudity". It's obviously a PC game? You Xbox and PS don't know what a relief it is not to have some dumbed-down version of a game made to suit those who don't have a mouse. One day, we'll actually be able to type letters in. (Again) The biggest con is the load times...I have RAID, without it, there's occasionally enough time to make a quick sandwich. Small potatos. Expand
  6. LeahR
    Dec 26, 2009
    3
    Most overrated RPG of the year. The AI is terrible. Left alone, it will either sit around doing nothing, which means you go nowhere if you've chosen to play a ranged or back-line support class--or else it will rush blindly into enemies, leaving you to perform damage control and clean up behind as it continues to charge forward without pause. If you play on anything above casual Most overrated RPG of the year. The AI is terrible. Left alone, it will either sit around doing nothing, which means you go nowhere if you've chosen to play a ranged or back-line support class--or else it will rush blindly into enemies, leaving you to perform damage control and clean up behind as it continues to charge forward without pause. If you play on anything above casual difficulty, you'll fight the AI every step of the way and end up having to constantly micromanage your party. The game offers "tactics" slots which you can use to assign conditional behavior patterns to NPC teammates, e.g. "Heal yourself if your health gets below X%," yet for some insane reason, you have to spend skill points to unlock these tactics slots. Essentially, you must spend skill points to make the AI slightly less stupid. The tactics also need far more flexibility and generality, e.g. "Use any debuff skill not on cooldown" instead of "Use specific skill X." Because of this, the tactics end up being mostly useless on harder difficulty levels and require you to micromanage the team anyway. On top of these gameplay issues, DAO has a ridiculous amount of dialogue, even by Bioware's verbose standards. It's well-written dialogue, for the most part--but it's still redundant jawing. Too much of the narrative is talked about rather than shown in action. This tendency to tell rather than show has been creeping deeper into each successive Bioware game for years, but it feels like DAO finally crossed the line into self-indulgent writing. Ultimately, the game is simply formulaic: it's the same linear, on-rails RPG with the same linear, on-rails dialogue "choices" which are supposed to give us the illusion of making moral decisions in tense, finely-shaded conflicts. Bioware has been making this same well- (if over-) written, painstakingly-realized, yet ultimately stultifying and narratively-funneled game for years. While playing, I kept thinking how cinematic the game felt, and how much more I would have enjoyed it as an animated film, or a novel. Dragon Age: Origins is a throwback RPG addled by last-gen gameplay and self-indulgent, tedious writing. Expand
  7. DmanG
    Feb 14, 2010
    8
    An Incredibly deep story driven game. It will probably not appeal to 2 hardcore RPG audiences. The first are the Diablo/Korean-RPG, grind-fest, fans, as this game has no grinding, enemies never re-spawn, and once you clear an area, that's that. This adds a HUGE additional challenge, as XP points are as valuable as rare items, and leveling must be taken with great care. I hate An Incredibly deep story driven game. It will probably not appeal to 2 hardcore RPG audiences. The first are the Diablo/Korean-RPG, grind-fest, fans, as this game has no grinding, enemies never re-spawn, and once you clear an area, that's that. This adds a HUGE additional challenge, as XP points are as valuable as rare items, and leveling must be taken with great care. I hate grinding more than anything in the world, so I loved this "feature". The other people who will probably not like this game are the hardcore D&D fans. Much of the nuances of D&D are not in this game, and for me that is welcome. I don't think walking empty fields in games like Oblivion and Fallout 3 is fun, granted that every once and awhile you find a "cool" hidden area or side quest, its not worth the time, for some mundane quest with little to nothing to do with the storyline. Every quest in Dragon Age, down to the leveling "Request Board" quests, are expertly crafted into the main plot and often branching. No, there are no find the +16 mace in the randomly generated dungeon with the same enemies you have been fighting for the last 120 hours...and I'm fine, no I'm ecstatic, about that. I play a game to enjoy it, but to complete it in a "timely" fashion, so I can move on to the next game. For me, games like Diablo and Neverwinter nights cheaply increased there length with pointless side-quests or by including equally mundane multiplayer, and I don't understand how they can be fun other then by the mind trick they employ, of using a gauged-reward system (similar to what you find with slot machines in a Casino). Dragon Age trims the fat, and while there is plenty to explore, a after-work gamer will still be able to beat it (for the first time) in a month or 2 and probably a month if you want a second go...which for me, is perfect. But don't get me wrong, this isn't halo were you can beat the game with your eyes closed, on the normal difficulty the game is challenging and will require you to think, which I really enjoyed. I logged 45 satisfied hours at my first run, and after beating some of the new games that are out. I will most surely give it another go. 3 major problems though. 1. the DLC sucks, i got all 3 and they were all a waste of money, they are also integrated into the main game so much that you feel almost as if you "have" to do them...they are all skip-able. 2. To many pointless NPC interactions, half the time you can give 2 different responses and get the exact same answer, I'm not a real "role-player" maybe if you are one, this makes the game more "realistic" but for me, it was just annoying. 3. The game has memory leaks, if you sit for a long session the loading times get longer and longer and longer, this is fixed by a restart of the game, but an annoying problem never-the-less Highly Recommend for any normal gamer like me, who enjoys a well thought out, well put together game for (I can't after reading the other reviews on here emphasize this enough) NORMAL people. Expand
  8. N.V.
    Nov 21, 2009
    10
    Huge game, tons of replay value. Interesting story. No need to follow a specific line through the game, but you can decide more freely where to go and when to go there (granted you need to do major plot quests to advance, but the order you do it in is up to you). Overall, it is a highly recommended RPG game for anyone that love the genre. Personally I have spent well over 300 hours in Huge game, tons of replay value. Interesting story. No need to follow a specific line through the game, but you can decide more freely where to go and when to go there (granted you need to do major plot quests to advance, but the order you do it in is up to you). Overall, it is a highly recommended RPG game for anyone that love the genre. Personally I have spent well over 300 hours in this game now, wich results in nearly 100 hours a week. Expand
  9. Nov 2, 2010
    10
    This is one of my favorite games. Extremely interesting story, with a lot of replayability. I ripped through it, and then instantly started again, one of the only times I have done that on any game.
  10. Dec 23, 2010
    10
    Firstly this is the best fantasy RPG ever released, it has its problems but none of them take away from its epicness.

    Gameplay The gameplay, which is instantly familiar to anyone who has played Star Wars Knights of the Old Republic which itself it another Bioware wonder, is based around a team of 4 controlled in a semi real time manner, meaning the game is based of a background clock
    Firstly this is the best fantasy RPG ever released, it has its problems but none of them take away from its epicness.

    Gameplay
    The gameplay, which is instantly familiar to anyone who has played Star Wars Knights of the Old Republic which itself it another Bioware wonder, is based around a team of 4 controlled in a semi real time manner, meaning the game is based of a background clock which is sometimes refered to as ticks, so for instance your character may swing there weapon every 4 ticks. you choose one of 3 classes which each have the own starting story to expllain how they got the start of the game. the biggest complaint i have seen is that your ai partners are sometimes a bit slow, however there is a option to give them custom tactics and set parameters for activating moves, changing targets, when to use items etc. Some people who clearly missed the point say that bioware just couldnt be bothered to script the ai itself, where as i say that they have given the ai the ability to the basics of there build such as a healer healing but they have also constructed a command input system that will allow you to set up a custom team just as you like. if u cant be bothered with this ai is perfectly capable. The gameplay is smooth and easy to maintain control of with a zoom feature from over the shoulder to a battlefield view, which is this kind of game is possible the most useful feature ever i cannot praise the zoom featue enough. But should the combat get out of hand u can just hit space and pause the game give your team the commands to help tip the balance and then unpause as you watch your actions lead your team to victory ( lol i sound like a roman general/nerd). When your not fighting you will be talking to NPC's or exploring, your repsonce is not spoken instead you select it from a list of responses, but all major and some non major characters have full diologue in other words the only things you have to read are a few lines at most. The characters are voiced beautifully and the actors give some amazing performances worthy of any voice over movie. Should be the reading type then you can hunt for entries to the codex which is basically a history of dragon age book, and will tell u all about the extensive backstory and lore of the game.

    Graphics Well what can i say but WOW, i have a high end gaming machine hooked up to a 32 inch Hd-TV and the game looks absolutly amazing, to anyone with a good pc ignore the console versions of this game its much better on with added depth from the modding community but more on that later. The characters both major and non major look stunning., with great facial animations and movement. In combat all enemies look stunning and without spoiling anything some of the early cinematics are just jaw droppingly good. The animations in general are top notch with anything from swing a sword to waving goodbuy looking awesom. My personal faveorite part though are called death animations and these are basically random when fighting most enemies with a few exeptions and your character will kill the target in some sort of cool way, especially on the bigger monsters/creatures you fight they are a joy to watch. Linear Vs non linear This game is not fully open ended, such as fallout 3 or the eldar scrolls oblivion, but i have never had a problem with scripted games. This game gives the impression of a go any where do anything which is my opinion is harder to do than a big game world full of trees. All it means is that the bits that you see are beautiful to behold the dwarven cities being right up my street. At the game time though the game is no so linear as to force a player down a path and there are many to choose from esepcially when choosing to help/kill weather to be good/evil etc.

    The modding community
    2 words "amazingly epic", so many well done mods out and a great community to ask for help should you need it. The modders on sites like dragon age nexus are masters of the craft and should be hired this second by a company such as bioware. Bioware themselves are pretty clever giving an easy way to install/remove mods from your game. Conclusion
    Going into this game i was not sure as i am not the biggest fan or these kinds of combat systems but i have eaten my words with my foot in my mouth, it blew me away. Not once during this game have i ever felt stressed. I have enjoyed every minuite of playing this game, and being a game with 50 hours+ in one play though and having completed the game around 9 times (yes im sad but it should tell u how good it is lol ), it is alot of time. I know i said at the start of this review there are bad points and well erm i suppose i should mention one, erm............ errrrrrrrr..................hmmmmm well i cant think of any :P oh yeah it consumed a lot of my time lol. i would have mentioned the story in detail but no enough words, so i will simply say that which ever way you take the story its epic.
    Expand
  11. Mar 30, 2012
    10
    Easily the best RPG I've played for at least a decade, if not ever. It's like Baldur's Gate all over again without all the glaring deficiencies of the old D&D ruleset. Great story, great characters, good voice acting, and it's a party-based RPG! The biggest downside to the game is that it has to end at some point. Oh, and the AI is a bit daft if left to its own devices. If you're evenEasily the best RPG I've played for at least a decade, if not ever. It's like Baldur's Gate all over again without all the glaring deficiencies of the old D&D ruleset. Great story, great characters, good voice acting, and it's a party-based RPG! The biggest downside to the game is that it has to end at some point. Oh, and the AI is a bit daft if left to its own devices. If you're even mildly interested in the premise of the game, you really should play Dragon Age: Origins. I want more of the same please! Expand
  12. Apr 2, 2012
    10
    One of the best games that I have played in all my live. It is one of the few ones that you will be able to remember some years later as one exclusive experience. Original, entertaining, long and the most important, exciting. Only a few games will leave you this way.
  13. Apr 2, 2011
    10
    This is probably one of the best RPG's i've played. The Origins stories and multiple endings really add to the replayability, as if you don't get enough entertainment and playtime in one playthrough. The combat system is exciting, and i like the tactical element.
    Overall a fantastic game.
  14. Jun 11, 2011
    10
    With Dragon Age Origins Bioware showed quite well that when it comes to telling a story and putting you at the head of it, their are still the best around. Someone could complain that the interface is not perfect, the graphics now always top level, the battles somewhat repetitive after a while. But in the end what makes the game great is that you have a run through a wonderful story whileWith Dragon Age Origins Bioware showed quite well that when it comes to telling a story and putting you at the head of it, their are still the best around. Someone could complain that the interface is not perfect, the graphics now always top level, the battles somewhat repetitive after a while. But in the end what makes the game great is that you have a run through a wonderful story while meeting truly memorable characters which will hold a place in your heart all along those from your favourite movies and books. And this is something which largely compensate for every minor flaw, making it rather irrelevant... Expand
  15. Jun 20, 2011
    10
    Player through this game 6 times and found something new each time. Read both books, The Stolen Thrown and The Calling. Great story telling and attention to detail; truly epic.
  16. Dec 11, 2011
    9
    Played through to about three-quarters of the PC version of the game so far, so I would say I'm not being too quick to give my rating. Engaging storyline, fun mechanics, natural and well paced leveling up (unlike most leveling systems - makes you feel stronger but not overpowered, and fun even playing warriors, unlike traditional hack and slash, there are actually fun clickable abilitiesPlayed through to about three-quarters of the PC version of the game so far, so I would say I'm not being too quick to give my rating. Engaging storyline, fun mechanics, natural and well paced leveling up (unlike most leveling systems - makes you feel stronger but not overpowered, and fun even playing warriors, unlike traditional hack and slash, there are actually fun clickable abilities for them). Their stats system is quite enjoyable - there are no "wasted" stats - even Magic (something like intelligence in classical DnD) is specifically useful for a warrior. Be warned though, battles are challenging - in some cases, you'll need several reloads trying out different tactics or just hoping for the best (along the lines of: COME ON! DANG MAGE, JUST LET YOURSELF BE STUNNED ALREADY and don't unleash that damn lightning storm... ), especially if you refuse to lower the difficulty to easy mode (which I insisted on) (also please heed the advice by the game: don't always expect a full frontal assault of your party of four versus twenty enemies to work - please... you're powerful, but not godlike powerful...). You'll also need to master the pause button (IT"S NOT MEANT TO BE A REAL-TIME BATTLE SYSTEM), much like the Baldur's Gate series, which may be a bit confusing for some players, but once you get the hang of it, it is actually very enjoyable - e.g. it lets you tell the character to cast the high level blizzard storm, and you can watch the effects only when you are ready, and prepare combo spells to follow up without it being a confusing click-fest. As for the critics, who seem to be mainly the Oblivion converts (I payed to play it too, and it is fun in its own way), but this is a different type of RPG - one where the focus is on a strong story line, and less on things like getting lost in a maze or spending eight hours doing something mundane like fishing and perhaps never managing to get on with the story (as per Oblivion). The most impressive facet of this game to me is the amount of detail put into it - every SINGLE line is actor-voiced, and you can actually feel the emotions. The back story is also rich, including mini-treatises and actual wordings on plot items, but the game mechanics give you the option to read them only if you feel like it (warning: if English isn't one of your language, you may not be able to enjoy it much, some side quests require you to do "reading comprehension" to get it right; and you may also not appreciate the often interesting and amusing banter between companions). The developers also make sure to include snippets in the game that flatter the player, which actually succeed in making you feel smug about yourself when they do happen. Note: you're not doing justice to the game if you aren't playing in maximum graphics capability. Anyway, after I first played it for like five hours, and it was only starting to dawn on me that the attention to details were actually going to persist throughout the game, I was going like - "OMG! I can't believe I payed only thirty (Singapore) dollars (~20 USD) to play this game. How in the world are the developers going to recoup their losses from hiring all these graphic designers and voice actors? They must have spent a gazillion hours making the game. Please don't go bust anytime soon, I really want more of these priceless pieces of art...". Apparently, there are also different back stories depending on which class and race you choose to play (no, I'm not going to spoil them by wiki-ing them up), so there's going to be replayability. You can also pick different companions for next time, or just rotate them as you like - backbenchers will level up together with your main party, so you don't have to farm for xp (there's actually not much mindless farming you can do in this game). All in all, you won't regret buying this game UNLESS 1. you want to live in an alternate world literally and maybe never get on with the story (get Oblivion instead, it's a great game too), 2. you want a five minute learning curve ("why can't i just click UP UP DOWN DOWN LEFT RIGHT and make the enemy drop dead instantly?"), 3. you want to play ONLY a single player ("Can dang Morrigan and Alistair just do your own thingies without me needing to tell you what to do? I don't care if you two can make wonderful sophisticated combos out of the range of the capacity of any computer AI, I'm only interested in controlling ME AND ONLY ME!!!"), 4. you don't actually want a DnD-ish RPG title and got to this page by mistake, 5. you are a disgruntled EA employee fired for scolding your boss's mum a whore or something like that, 6. I can't think of a 6... Expand
  17. Dec 18, 2012
    9
    At first I was not attracted by the tactical gameplay approach that Bioware had chosen. However, Dragon Age: Origins quickly changed my mind with its compelling storyline and perfect balance between action and dialogue.

    In the character selection you can select between different races, origins and classes, which will influence your game experience. This results in extremely customizable
    At first I was not attracted by the tactical gameplay approach that Bioware had chosen. However, Dragon Age: Origins quickly changed my mind with its compelling storyline and perfect balance between action and dialogue.

    In the character selection you can select between different races, origins and classes, which will influence your game experience. This results in extremely customizable characters. You will need to choose one of six unique origin stories, which will determine how the different races of Ferelden will treat you throughout the game.

    With blood, gore, and dragons you will experience scary cutscenes that introduces you to the life as a Grey Warden. You travel through Ferelden trying to free the country from the darkspawn and the arch demon. Murder, treason and politics; all interfering with your epic quest. It is now up to you and your comrades to liberate this country. The experience was a perfect balance between beautiful outdoor areas and the frightening depths of the Deep Roads lurking with darkspawn.

    The innovating gameplay implemented by Bioware does work brilliantly and instead of the usual hack-n-slash RPG you get a more strategic and at times more challenging adventure. At any time, you will have the opportunity to pause and consider the situation. This gives you a chance to regroup and plan the perfect way to get rid of your foes. Another twist compared to the Elder Scrolls and The Witcher series is that you do not only control your protagonist, but you control a band of heroes fighting your way through hordes of darkspawn, bandits and dragons! Bioware has truly created a game with an epic storyline. The personalities you will meet throughout the game are creative and original because of the intelligent voice acting that brings the characters to life. Even when you walk through town they will chat about numerous things, such as their pasts, races and classes.

    As player you should expect gorgeous graphics, but also a challenging game with difficulties that can get even the most hardcore players on their toes! The game mechanics are easy accessible and very fast to learn. Dragon Age: Origins is definitely a must buy for all RPG fans!

    Dragon Age: Origins is one of the best roleplaying games of this decade all up there with the Elder Scrolls and Fallout.
    Expand
  18. ChuckS
    Nov 9, 2009
    10
    Others here have done a great job at describing game mechanics. I started with a female wizard. After only the introductory scenario I was blown away by the scripted events that follow. Dark fantasy indeed. Then soon afterward I was treated to another video interlude that was the most spectacular, soul stirring two minutes I have experienced in my long gaming life. I restored the game so Others here have done a great job at describing game mechanics. I started with a female wizard. After only the introductory scenario I was blown away by the scripted events that follow. Dark fantasy indeed. Then soon afterward I was treated to another video interlude that was the most spectacular, soul stirring two minutes I have experienced in my long gaming life. I restored the game so I could save and replay that moment again. If this is what I get in the first day of play, I lick my chops at the prospect of what follows. Expand
  19. TomB.
    Nov 13, 2009
    10
    An incredible game. At the end of the third decade of PC gaming, a near perfect role playing game was delivered to us gamers. Superb and intuitive game controls (on the PC) combined with a way to tell the stories that I am surprised again and again.
  20. JanX
    Nov 14, 2009
    10
    I was a bit sceptical when I learned that they weren't getting a license for the D&D universe this time, but what BioWare has provided us with here simply blows my mind. I've played every BioWare rpg from Planescape Torment on and the experience of Dragon Age surpasses even Baldur's Gate 2 for me. Yes, it is pretty linear and sometimes I thought to myself "okay, this would I was a bit sceptical when I learned that they weren't getting a license for the D&D universe this time, but what BioWare has provided us with here simply blows my mind. I've played every BioWare rpg from Planescape Torment on and the experience of Dragon Age surpasses even Baldur's Gate 2 for me. Yes, it is pretty linear and sometimes I thought to myself "okay, this would have worked differently without EA" - but the world they created is so vivid and believable you instantly become immersed in it and want to play it again several times with different characters, because it will be a whole different experience depending on your race, class and good/evil alignment. Expand
  21. TobiasB
    Nov 5, 2009
    10
    If you enjoy classic RPG gameplay, then you will love this fabulous game. Great story telling, combat, graphics and more. The only complaint is that the interface could be slightly improved, but outside of that it's near perfection. If you are an ADD twitch FPS type gamer, this is not for you.
  22. CerealLover
    Nov 6, 2009
    10
    Do NOT buy/play this game if you do NOT have a lot of time on your hands. This game is highly addictive and can make you completely lose track of time passage. I regret buying this game so soon because I spent too much time on it and too little time studying for my midterm... The game's story is pretty much all inter-connected so it's very difficult to "finish this part and Do NOT buy/play this game if you do NOT have a lot of time on your hands. This game is highly addictive and can make you completely lose track of time passage. I regret buying this game so soon because I spent too much time on it and too little time studying for my midterm... The game's story is pretty much all inter-connected so it's very difficult to "finish this part and stop". If you DO have lots of time on your hands though, totally go for the game. The story will suck you in. Expand
  23. Zac
    Nov 6, 2009
    10
    Incredible RPG experience, they story is compelling and the decisions you make effect the outcomes making for a very satisfying experience. Party interactions are very amusing at times, and add to the overall atmosphere of the game, really making it come alive.
  24. Tom01255
    Nov 6, 2009
    10
    Traditional RPGs seem to have fallen out of favour of late. Whilst turn based games have almost certainly seen their demise on main stream consoles and PCs; replaced with their action-RPG counterparts, there seem to have been even fewer Baldur
  25. AustinM
    Nov 8, 2009
    10
    This is an epic fantasy RPG like we have come to expect from Bio-ware. The combat is fast paced, and depending on the level of difficulty, very tactical. The voice acting is amazing, better then any I have ever heard. The writing is as good as any New York Times bestseller, keeping you at the edge of your swivel chair the whole way through. The only complaints are almost irrelevant, long This is an epic fantasy RPG like we have come to expect from Bio-ware. The combat is fast paced, and depending on the level of difficulty, very tactical. The voice acting is amazing, better then any I have ever heard. The writing is as good as any New York Times bestseller, keeping you at the edge of your swivel chair the whole way through. The only complaints are almost irrelevant, long loading times and somewhat subpar graphics. But honestly, those will matter so little to you as soon as you hear your characters exchange a few pieces of witty dialog (mix and match your party members for some absolutely hilarious exchanges, Alistar and Morigran and Lelina and Sten have particularly funny bits) that they do not impact the game at all. A 9.5 at the least. Expand
  26. ironmike
    Nov 13, 2009
    10
    A game that doesn't "go with the flow": it's very long, difficult and with a story and characters well made...casual players please stay away.
  27. Jet
    Nov 17, 2009
    10
    Just stopping by to say that DA rocks! If you love old BG series and the witcher, you'll bathe in sunlight in this latest title from Bioware.
  28. Aug 21, 2010
    9
    This is one of the best story driven RPG's ever released. The great strength of this game lies in its immersive story and compelling characters. Bioware has created an epic fantasy world that draws you in from the opening scenes and holds you up till the final credits and beyond. The sound track is hauntingly beautiful and sets the mood wonderfully.
    The weakness of this game is that the
    This is one of the best story driven RPG's ever released. The great strength of this game lies in its immersive story and compelling characters. Bioware has created an epic fantasy world that draws you in from the opening scenes and holds you up till the final credits and beyond. The sound track is hauntingly beautiful and sets the mood wonderfully.
    The weakness of this game is that the game play does not quite match up quality wise to the story. The graphics, while not horrible, aren't overly impressive either. The combat can get repetitive after a while and the AI can be buggy in places. And it's almost too easy even on higher difficulties. Despite these flaws I found it to be a highly riveting game. It's like an epic fantasy novel that you can play instead of read. If your the kind of person who can get lost in a good book for hours on end, then Dragon Age: Origins is a must have. If however you play RPG's strictly for the combat and item collecting, you may be disappointed with this title.
    Expand
  29. Mar 11, 2011
    9
    Pretty good, overall. I enjoyed the storyline and the world it set up. I can imagine Bioware will have a few sequels for this.
    It's no NWN or BG, but we're not gonna see anything like those for a while, I imagine. They're just not popular anymore.
    Characterisation was great, dialogue was good, voice acting was good, graphics were good, plot was interesting. Combat was good, although the
    Pretty good, overall. I enjoyed the storyline and the world it set up. I can imagine Bioware will have a few sequels for this.
    It's no NWN or BG, but we're not gonna see anything like those for a while, I imagine. They're just not popular anymore.

    Characterisation was great, dialogue was good, voice acting was good, graphics were good, plot was interesting. Combat was good, although the blood effects were over the top. Disappointed me that there were party members committed to fighting the blight who just sat around in camp all day doing nothing, but the only way around that is to have less party members.

    One of the best RPGs I've played. Sure, it's not the best, but I enjoyed it.
    Expand
  30. Jan 20, 2012
    10
    As time goes on, I look back with more and more fond memories of Dragon Age: Origins. When I first played the game, I was lukewarm to it. I thought it was decent, but too much of an old-school RPG. But as I played the game more, and after I beat it the second time, I realized that Dragon Age may be one of the finest RPGs ever created. The same warm feelings I have for classic RPGs likeAs time goes on, I look back with more and more fond memories of Dragon Age: Origins. When I first played the game, I was lukewarm to it. I thought it was decent, but too much of an old-school RPG. But as I played the game more, and after I beat it the second time, I realized that Dragon Age may be one of the finest RPGs ever created. The same warm feelings I have for classic RPGs like Baldur's Gate, Icewind Dale, and Neverwinter Nights are now applying to Dragon Age as well. Bioware's singular ability to create a world and populate it with interesting characters, events, and locations is on full display. It's such a shame that Dragon Age 2 was a disappointment. Hopefully DA3 will live up to this amazing game. Until then, I shall be playing this game over and over, and forgetting that DA2 even exists. Expand
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 67 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 66 out of 67
  2. Negative: 0 out of 67
  1. If you're into rpgs, or rather if you love roleplaying in general, there's really no need to waste time reading any reviews of this game. The same goes if you regard games like Planescape: Torment, Fallout 2 and the Baldurs Gate-series among the best computer games ever made. Because this game is everything a person like you look for in a game, and so much more. Be aware though, Dragon Age: Origins is not a revolution of the genre, rather it is an evolution, where Bioware has refined everything that made them into a formula as close to perfection as possible. Without a doubt one of the strongest Game of the year-candidates so far this year and a game we will remember with warm feelings many years to come.
  2. PC Gamer
    92
    An outstanding story-driven RPG with fantastic writing, RPG depth and tough tactical combat. It's BioWare's best RPG since Baldur's Gate 2. [Holiday 2009, p.38]
  3. Dragon Age Origins will keep you in front of your computer for hours! Graphics, sounds and the controls couldn’t be much better!